You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
Sinn Fein TD’s High Court challenge to government’s 'super junior' ministers adjourned
Death toll from earthquake rises to more than 2,700 people in Myanmar
Parents banned from driving kids to four schools' gates in new Dublin initiative
savita
Crowd gathers outside Dáil for abortion rally
They met as members of the Dáil voted on an abortion bill put forward by Deputy Clare Daly. Also today, members of Youth Defence launched their latest campaign outside Leinster House.
A LARGE GROUP gathered outside the Dáil again this evening calling for legislation for the X Case following the death of Savita Halappanavar.
They gathered as members of the Dáil met to vote on TD Clare Daly’s proposed abortion bill. This is Daly’s second version of the abortion bill, and comes after the first was rejected in April.
The bill was debated for the second night tonight and is currently being voted on. It is anticipated that those taking part in the protest outside the Dáil will stay there until the voting has concluded.
Earlier today, members of the pro-life campaign also gathered outside the Dáil for the launch of their campaign to make sure that Fine Gael ‘keeps its pro-life promise’. Their placards said ‘Every Child Matters – Not to Fine Gael?’
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
If I have to pick someone to run the country, it would have to be stephen. Pity he isn’t running a candidate in my constituency. He is the only one on that stage that has a clue. When Enda or Joan speak, I take off the headphones, Jesus their voices would go through ya.
Finipops, same here. It’s a pity alright. I have to applaud his performance and attitude. Listened to him talking about the economy the other day and he said he wouldnt promise anything, he said he couldn’t make promises unless he had all the facts.
Lol. Even the most ardent of Sinn Fein supporters have realised Gerry is speaking a load of nonsense (Politely put). Stephen most certainly speaks the Syriza language, but don’t be fooled people. Think Robbie Keane, Paul O’ Connell, fresh Guinness, nice pubs, good food, safety for your children. People, seemingly, are happy to put an Irish punt on losing everything.
Gerry Adams having a nightmare. This man has no plan. His jittery response about rural development was an embarrassment. Joan’s arms must be controlled from the strings above, she’s gonna take Enda or Stephen out with all those movements.
I’d definitely put them on my ballot if they were in my constituency.
Can see a lot of “Labour” members/voters disgusted with their leaders’ betrayal of the workers giving them preference or even changing their allegiance.
Stephen Donnelly just virtually bitch slapped Claire Byrne on her question on him wanting to just talk to everyone rather than providing tangible solutions. He is flying tonight. Cool, calm, collected and most important logical.
Joe Travers you can go to his constituency and vote for him you are not bound to vote in your own local area you can vote for who you like once you go to their constituency bring your voting card and ID. If there is not anybody that you like in your area you like you go where there is someone you like and vote there not many people know this,, that is the law
Donnelly won that by a landslide, Kenny looked like a rabbit in headlights, Martin just spewed the old FF policy, Adams – sooner he goes the better he’s a liability. As for the man in drag in the red dress, no idea what he/she was on (maybe a bottle of coke). Sorry I’m not into a 50′s style matron who still lives in the past and the boy? Interesting
Definitely Gerry Adams is past his sell by date, a tired poor performance and couldn’t get his words out. By far Richard Boyd Barrett was most popular with the audience and is a very good speaker.
@ Chris yes Richard was popular, and great on generslities but waffled when asked specifics! Lucinda did ok, Kenny was pretty good as was Martin, Joan has all the facts but waves that hand too much, Jerry was good on generalities but didn’t want to talk about the SCC, funny all singing the praise of the UK NHS, yet there was major criticism of the same 15 min later on BBC . I think we all know what part of the problem with the health service is but no one wants to mention it!! Similarly with certain crime, travelling/traveller criminal gangs , …..don’t mention the war!!!!!!
yes. He is. Up to recently he was a very poor debater in that he was far too tame and polite. He allowed others walk over him and shout him down. He was too placid. I hope he has more fight in him now as nominated leader for this debate.
Richard Boyd Barrett is playing a stormer too, Thank god he is in Dunlaoghaire, nice chap, i have been on the water marches with him, knows his stuff and is passionate about it to boot
One thinks for sure, if Clare Byrne doesn’t break up the squabbling, it’s going to be a mess of gargantuan proportions.
Looking forward to Stephen Donnelly’s contribution. His knack for common sense and simplifying concepts is second to none, probably the best communicator in the Dail.
Right to change has absolutely no ability to hold the candidates that sign up to their word as it says on their website’s FAQs, so all he would have been doing would be signing up to an empty promise, something that he and any other good politician would studiously avoid.
Agree , Donnelly is brilliant, speaks well, speaks logically and clearly.,this really could be a brilliant country for all of we would vote out the gombeen politicians. The majority of Irish people are light years ahead of them.
Boyd Barret has out shone him hands down, Donnellt badly dropped the ball on primaty care and let Martin run with it…..Shorthall will be shorting a fuse!
I’ve said it before and i’ll say it again. There may, in all seriousness, need to be a military coup were Sinn Fein ever to get power in the Republic. The thought of these provos being in charge of justice, education and representing Ireland abroad would be too much for the Irish people to bear. The Irish Army would need to rise up to take back the country.
I see you’re following the government spindoctors lead, as reported in the SBP, to “frighten the shite” out of people till polling day” about the prospects of a SF government.
Remember there are cases where democracy does not produce an acceptable outcome. For example Hitler was elected by democratic vote. SF getting into power would certainly be such a case and the Irish Army would need to make clear the result is unacceptable.
Soon as I read hitler and Sinn Fein in your comment I stopped reading.You sound like one of those soldiers hiding in the jungle only realising the war is over 20 years later.
Silly comment a lot of soldiers vote SF All that would happen is European commission would reject SF budget if it involved big increase in public spending Same as they rejected Portuguese budget last week. Part of the Lisbon treaty
The Irish Army would defence the State against those who would seek to engage in treason. Cal Cryton is trying to preach sedition on a contingency basis. It’s an eye opener in relation to the lengths to which some in FG would go to retain power.
Ah Cal you would disrespect the possibility of a democratic vote that might see SF sharing power so much you want the army to take power? Seriously? Have you talked to your advisor’s in FG about this?
First question in by audience member on broken promises. Kenny easily deflects, and Claire Byrne lets him. In fact, she throws in a second question that was even more off topic.
This woman is bloody clueless and unfit for a job of such a nature.
“This may be the highlight of the night so far, Claire Byrne dealing a spectacular smackdown to the Taoiseach and Tánaiste who had started talking as one:”
And do you think she would have walked away? Of course she wouldn’t. So it wasn’t a smackdown, it was a stupid thing to say.
Jasus Cal. Displays a chilling lack of respect for democracy. A coup would destroy this country for decades… Get a grip. Bet an ‘irish Spring’ sounds good to you (rolls eyes)
If I wasn’t already voting Social Democrats, Stephen Donnelly would have won me over. He’s the only one actually speaking hard, cold sense and not trying to buy votes.
There seems to have been no acknowledgement from any of the other parties that the economy was fecked and there was barely any money. It’s so easy to argue from the position of an economy that’s recovering that we should’ve done this and done that.
The problem in this country is that we waste so much money providing an inferior public service for such a high cost. More spending is just going to exacerbate the problems.
Nelson Mandela.Seriously NELSON MANDELA.Your comparing a man who killed huge amounts in the North to a anti -arpatheid activist.Soon it’ll be Gandhi and Hitler.
I actually am not aligned.If im anything its Soc. Dems. Fine Gael,Fianna Fail and Labour are all corrupt.I’ve made my point about Sinn Fein so really no I’m not a blueshirt
ah stop. in this day and age waffling that ff/fg/lb point scoring rhetoric. thats like saying bertie ahern won his money on the horses. simply not true.
Aaron, quit making a fool of yourself. The ideology was exactly the same, Catholics in Northern Ireland threated as 3rd class citizens , same with blacks in SA. Catholics denied a vote, same with blacks in SA. Catholics routinely lifted and tortured by an oppressive police force, same with blacks in SA. Nelson Mandela felt he had no other option only to go down the route of violence.
Joan plans for five years in the future. Took her 5 months for a 180 last time. We have to invest in our colleges? How about our students with graduate loans? Ah ye did that already….. Wagon.
Boyd makes a good point but it is easily knocked down by fear of a drain on investment to the country.
Martin v Adams. Enjoyed that….Adams won…Topical Martin. Topical.
Donnelly. Hopefully the grown up conversation we will see in our political future. Actual sense. Breath of fresh air.
Sorry Lucinda. Your neo-liberal libertarian nonsense has no place here now. Your power play may work for you sadly…You are for full “tax equality”. Stop will ye…
Kenny…Jaysus. Can anyone look at that man and be happy he is Taoiseach.
So Joan went with the nail gun for the coffin with Kelly soon to pick up the shovel. Sad day. Biggest giggle was Burton at her most serious. Dead in the water.
Really surprised at how impressive Boyd was. His usual boisterous nature I am used to in the Dail was replaced with and very level headed and articulate approach. Have to say I am not as mocking as I was towards right2change as before..Bleedin exhausted now.
Please, can anyone defend the performance of Kenny?
Joan and Enda have been sidelined. They’re absolutely irrelevant. Joan isn’t being allowed to interrupt and Enda has no answers. Time for serious change
Worth tuning in to see Enda being told he crawled in front of Europe,with not a defaulter stamped on his forehead..loved the line”you didn’t represent Ireland in Europe,you represented Europe in Ireland”…every true word of it..
Lucinda making a good point in tackling rural crime. 3 strike rule and life imprisonment. No place in society for those with 30 previous convictions etc. But we have an issue with prison capacity so investment needs to be made. And it will be well worth it
Lucinda actually providing some right wing viewpoints in this GE. May not like her but at least she’s changing the dialogue from civil war politics to right/left wing ideology.
I know. Can’t believe I’ve had to wait since the last debate in the hopes of once again seeing enda kenny read a minute long opening statement off a sheet of paper, and then spend the rest of his time read numbers and soundbites off another sheet of paper.
They all had their moments. Steven Donnelly was very strong at the start but often had no solutions as Claire Byrne kept saying. Gerry looked rattled especially when he waffled about the rural economy. Joan’s voice was annoying. Enda was average. Micheal lacked the spark of last week’s debate. Lucinda did well and stayed out of any altercations and Boyd-Barret was just populist saying he would give everybody everything they wanted for free!
You couldn’t be more wrong, you may have noticed he was by far the most interrupted by CB trying to break up his train of though, most others were afforded a reasonable chance to answer but because he spoke clearly she decided I ain’t having this and bulldozed in
For logical, honest, socially conscious, business/market intelligence… Stephen Donnelly for Taoiseach. Richard Boys Barrett for a passionate, pro the people, Tanaiste. and keep Gerry to the end of the table for negotiation experience (the ‘grrr’ factor ;-) … he wouldn’t have rolled over like the current lot ).
Shows how much Clare dislikes sf as Gerry has gotten next to no time to speak…. And typical of other parties digging up history on sf its in the past leave it there and move on
Enda keeps trying to interject & he’s being rightly ignored so far. He just hasn’t got any charisma or clue. He sounds so unconvincing – bluffer extraordinaire. Joan has been predictably vacant. It’s saddening that these plebs reached such dizzy heights in Irish political life & no wonder we are saddled with 42% of Europes Bank debt.
Gerry is a spoofer
Enda is a spoofer
Joan is a spoofer
Meehole is a spoofer
Party political parties have been the ruination of this country. Vote independants
Yes, no solutions just nonsense such as the government should create jobs out of nothing to solve unemployment. As if we already don’t have a problem with jobs for the boys.
Stephen Donnelly passed off his lack of policies by saying he needs to ask gardai, nurses etc etc what they think to form their polices but yet why hasn’t he not done that yet.
Why wait until they are in government to do that, now that is crazy and they want to keep the property tax as well…
FACT CHECK:
The government has “put tens of millions extra into rent supplement” – Joan Burton.
Verdict: Very FALSE.
Total spending on rent supplement dropped by 40% from 2011 to 2015.
The number of individuals on rent supplement also dropped 36.7% during the same period.
Pity the issue of mental health and why is it now taking 2 year to get a autism assessment carried out and why a it’s impossible to get a sna wasn’t brought up as it is lacking in most manifestos oh wait a child doesn’t matter
I thought Kenny took his pen to be a rocket the way he was playing with it?
Joan became more and more like Trump AND VERY FEW CLAPPED HER IN THE AUDIANCE.
Hmm…should be interesting. Fg no usc but lpi+water taxes. Sf usc but no lpt or water tax. And ff reduced usc, lpt but not water tax, malcolm-in-the-middle. I dont like iw. I dont like the possibility of it being sold to private enterprise w/ escalating charges. Already approved 3.70/m3 increased rate kicks-in 01 jan2019 if fg remain in. Vat went up and stays. 2nd highest in eu. Vrt highest in eu. Carbon tax hitting the elderly/poor on a bale of briquettes/bag of coal must be repealed imho. I’ll wait f us/china/india ++ to lead the way on co2. Up to you guys, have a happy election.
Right on Kerry and the energy bills are too high. Sittin’ here in the cold what with carbon tax, pso tax, vat tax. Beyond a joke. If u use nought u’ve still a hefty bill.
Steven and lucinda clearly the winners tonight. Both focusing on policy and ideas. whether you like those ideas or not, they highlight the waffle and jargon of the 4 main parties
Enda Kenny has been anonymous and when he does talk he gives cringe-inducing clichés. Gerry has been poor again tonight,no substance at all. Joan’s red jacket is all she has left. Donnelly & Boyd Barrett seem to have passion and a genuine desire to improve the situation in this country and while Lucinda has performed well enough,it’s a wasted vote for a highly conservative entity. Claire Byrne has been excellent at directing the debate compared to what we’re used to and the shambolic shouting match that was the TV3 debate. A vote for FG & Lab will be destructive to the Irish citizen,that’s the only thing I’m certain of.
Boyd-Barrett did very little aside from spout populist nonsense. He just shouted the problems the state has! He didn’t offer any tangible solutions. Donnelly did fairly well but he was too often diverting to his USC chant. Hard to pick anything to get behind across the board
Enda made a comment that the motorways contributed to rural crime at one stage. Nobody picked him up on it. I could not believe he was looking for an alternative reason to blame the fact that rural garda stations being closed were not at fault. The man is just a moron!
One thing I think 90% of us would agree on is Stephen Donnelly is the most sensible and honest of all the leaders. Is his party big enough to lead a government?
The experienced leaders just using fail-safe get out of jail one-liners and mumble through a big incoherent rant. Donnelly on the other hand almost bullet point style of debate, logical, crisp, and strong grasp of the accounting behind it all. Well done sir.
Richard Boyd Barrett is a passionate speaker and an intelligent and principled individual. Need lads like him and Donnelly running this country/administering on the behalf of the people.
He talked about supporting the needy and not giving preferential treatment to the fat rats. I’d shout for him based on that alone. This Republic that we aspire to belongs to everyone. The Gentry need a land.
Good man Enda…he meets all the people from the man with two pints in one hand to the man who was crying in the street at his family to be able to come for a christening. ..
So what exactly did we learn: Claire Byrne won hands down, Social Democrats are surprisingly well lead by Donnelly. Lucinda and her Creightons in Renua scared off most the people with her 3 strikes your out justice system.
Gerry Adams survived, not to be sniffed at considering his poor debating skills. Sorry but its just a plain fact that compared to the other leaders he comes up short. Mary Lou is much much better.
Boyd Barrett to be fair was not bad, but still needs to buy a proper shirt and tie.
And then we have poor auld Joan Burton, who got blasted from all sides, the labour boat is sinking fast
Finally an allied health professional mentioned….more to HSE than doctors and nurses! !! And as someone working in primary care, it is a farce currently.
The small parties are the winners in that debate. Social democrats, Renua and Boyd talking the most sense. Burton was a disaster, Adams not far behind. Martin….well, would you put an alcoholic in charge of the brewery?
SocDem guy people on more than €35000 already pay Nordic tax levels It is just people on less than €35000 that pay much less than Nordic levels We don’t pay US tax levels
Lets see, the Social Democrates have no polices because they want to talk to the Gardaí, ambulance drivers, doctors, nurses etc etc before making their polices but yet they wait until they get into government before they do this?
My question is what have they been doing since they formed or is this the new the dog ate my homework?
Then Renua wants to bring in legislation like the U.S. for criminals knowing that the European Court of Justice will fine Ireland if they do what they say they are going to do and their idol is to copy Germany or is that Merkel. A few in the audience were that shocked at them that a few had they mouths open as she spoke about punishing parents for their children..
Then Enda acting like a school boy in body language with a pen flying about the place as he ways it in the air and everytime he spoke, you could see the eyes of those in the audience glazing over as he spoke, no leader material at all.
Then the more Joan spoke the more I thought she was trying to act TRUMP, was it a debate or just slagging with her. She got the least claps from the audience…
And someone told Stephen Donnelly Tony Blairs body language skills, namely using your fist with the thumb to make your points seem more genuine… Like putting bluetac onto a table…
Richaed Boy hadn’t a clue about Gardaí and tried to excuse criminality and drugs on the poor gits needing help from the HSE, A BOOT UP THE REAR BE MORE THERAPUTICAL in my view…
The three strikes law works according to research. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Three-strikes_law” “Violent crime, but especially homicide, has fallen in the Los Angeles area, as well as other areas of Southern California: Los Angeles’s 2010 homicide count was 297, less than a third of the 1992 high of 1,000 homicides. This statistic reflects overall national trends of decreasing violent crime and may be unrelated to the three-strikes law.[27] A 1999 study, in which, pre-three strikes crime rate (1991-1993) were compared to post-three strikes crime rate (1995-1997).[28] The dropping crime rate in California was compared directly to how severely counties enforced the three strikes law. The dropping crime rate was the same in counties with both light and harsh enforcement, sometimes being even greater in counties with lighter enforcement of the three strikes law. Does Three Strikes Deter? A Non-Parametric Estimation, was a study published by researchers at George Mason University in Virginia and said that arrest rates were 17 to 20 per cent lower for the group of offenders convicted of two-strike eligible offences, compared to those convicted of one-strike eligible offences. The authors concluded this indicated that the three-strikes policy was deterring recidivists from committing crimes.[29]“
Sinn Fein TD’s High Court challenge to government’s 'super junior' ministers adjourned
10 mins ago
Earthquake
Death toll from earthquake rises to more than 2,700 people in Myanmar
Updated
53 mins ago
On Yer Bike
Parents banned from driving kids to four schools' gates in new Dublin initiative
21 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say