You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Atlantis Images

Cyclist dies in hospital after crash in Galway

The man was airlifted to hospital last Thursday with head injuries.

A MALE CYCLIST involved in a road traffic collision last week has died in hospital.

The 43-year-old man was seriously injured in a crash with a car outside of Kinvara in County Galway on Thursday 6 August.

The accident happened on the N67 at around 1.30pm.

The cyclist was airlifted to hospital with head injuries. The driver of the car was uninjured in the crash.

Gardaí confirmed the man died in University Hospital Galway on Saturday.

Read: Cyclists and truck drivers are being told to look out for each other to stop road deaths>

Read: New fines begin the overdue fightback against pesky cyclists>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 30th 2019, 7:52 PM

Dosent go near far enough

Mute Anthony Joseph
    Favourite Anthony Joseph
    Nov 2nd 2019, 8:40 PM

@Mark Dawson: Far enough for most 3 star soldiers to have a family, A holiday n a nice army pension after 21 years

Mute Anthony Joseph
    Favourite Anthony Joseph
    Nov 2nd 2019, 8:49 PM

@Mark Dawson: This guy posts photos of himself n
    His family enjoying themselves on holidays
    Plastered on Facebook yet he’s the cheek here… Yous get enough money. Cut officers wages…. Or would they not be happy working easy
    Numbers for under a grand a week!

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Oct 30th 2019, 7:42 PM

Glad that’s sorted. They deserve to be regonised for what they do and the help and support they provide in so many facits of our country. Obviously people who ridicule the need for such a dept do not understand or have not encountered them, they’re worse off for that fact.

Mute Paul White.
    Favourite Paul White.
    Oct 30th 2019, 8:02 PM

@ThatLJD: Less than a euro a day b4 tax is not a recognition of anything.

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Oct 30th 2019, 8:06 PM

@Paul White.: it’s not but it’s getting back to the agreement of terms of where they should be which is the recognition I mention. Obviously there is additional scope for investment in resources and facilities but again I think the dept and also senior officers are no where near knowing or planning for the future. I think if you pay more that’s obviously a help but other factors and motivations need to be catered for to keep the good people within the service and also force relevant going forward into the next few decades.

Mute Marty from Sligo
    Favourite Marty from Sligo
    Oct 30th 2019, 7:54 PM

The Irish Defence soldiers are the best in the world at peace keeping. I was in the FCA a few years ago and we did a few manoeuvres with them and their fitness and combative skills were top class and I must be honest we was not the same standard as them.So they deserve all the money they get in my opinion.

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Oct 30th 2019, 8:14 PM

@Marty from Sligo: not to denigrate our soldiers but being better than the FCA is hardly a high bar. And what other military have you experience of to compare them to and declare ours the worlds best peacekeepers?

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 30th 2019, 9:20 PM

@GMCManning: we are the most ecperienced and our ordance disposal are regarded accross europe for thier skills . Soldiers from 5th batt recently won gold in the british army cumbria challenge even beating a french legion section, our arw snipers won an international competition so we do have an exceptional army

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Oct 31st 2019, 8:36 AM

@Mark Dawson: never said we didn’t. Just pointed out being better than the FCA is hardly praise and there’s no metric by which to claim our soldiers are the worlds best peacekeepers.

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 31st 2019, 10:02 AM

@GMCManning: dont underestimate our reserves they now a days are in some cases as good as and more than capable of steping up if asked. We need make more use of them

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Oct 31st 2019, 10:40 AM

@Mark Dawson: I didn’t. Merely pointed out how Marty was exaggerating and making stuff up with nothing to back it up. Nowhere was I putting down any of our defence forces.

Mute Anthony Joseph
    Favourite Anthony Joseph
    Nov 2nd 2019, 8:34 PM

@Marty from Sligo: Daft Comment.

Mute Anthony Joseph
    Favourite Anthony Joseph
    Nov 2nd 2019, 8:37 PM

@Mark Dawson: Is This guy for real! That’s something like a Montessori child would say.

Mute Mac Dara Powell
    Favourite Mac Dara Powell
    Oct 30th 2019, 10:01 PM

Well we do have the best snipers in the world beat all other countries including the Americans in the world championship last year.

Mute james foley
    Favourite james foley
    Oct 30th 2019, 11:03 PM

@Mac Dara Powell: sure. We could keep the few hundred snipers and get rid of the rest and put money into crime prevention

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 31st 2019, 1:14 PM

@james foley: on average 3 times a day eod called out. Our aircore chop pilots save lives with sea rescue , transport sick kids, our navy protect our waters and involved in drug operations, our peace keepers who in syria came under fire after taking an ied hit …i can go on

Mute james foley
    Favourite james foley
    Oct 31st 2019, 6:03 PM

@Mark Dawson: a 1b euro budget excluding retired pensions. 99 percent of sea resume done by outsourced supplier. Most drug bust done by coast guard and customs. I don’t know cost of Navy. We don’t need to be in Syria and if we are we don’t seem to be doing a lot to protect the Kurds. We are also paid separately for our in work does not come out of the general expenditure budget. Mind you in a country where tax payers fund horse racing and greyhound racing to the tune of 70 m a year the dept Def seems reasonable value. Still image the gaurds getting an additional budget of 750 m a year still seems a lot more value than dept Def.

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 31st 2019, 6:19 PM

@james foley: ied heli rescue prisoner escort, prison security , 6 months away from family on un missions , fishery protection, aid to civil power under COD6 , even bin men during strikes , helping with flood defence , central bank security , even local fire service in the curragh , low wages long hours , using weapons , ordanance and driving large apc or tcvs tired cold and in darkness worth every penny and more

Mute Anthony Joseph
    Favourite Anthony Joseph
    Nov 2nd 2019, 8:42 PM

@Mac Dara Powell: wow… here’s a lollipop for that! Lol

Mute Kevin Sheridan
    Favourite Kevin Sheridan
    Oct 31st 2019, 6:53 AM

This is not a pay deal, it’s an increase in allowances. The Government prevented the pay commission to look at pay.

Mute William Mcgee
    Favourite William Mcgee
    Nov 1st 2019, 9:19 AM

less than the price of a packet of fags per week sure they will lose the run of themselves as they travel through war torn countries keeping the peace .