You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

David Davis: Irish border can be solved by 'a whole load of new technology'

“You can’t just say we haven’t done it anywhere else: we haven’t attempted to do it anywhere else,” the Brexit negotiator said.

THE UK’S BREXIT negotiator David Davis has said that the Irish border problem could be solved by technology.

On the BBC’s Andrew Marr Show, it was put to Davis that it’s impossible to avoid a hard border on the island of Ireland if there isn’t an amicable deal struck between the UK and the European Union.

His reply was: ”There is a risk in trying to focus just on the downsides.

The likely outcome is we get a free trade agreement, we get a customs agreement, all of those make the Northern Ireland issue much much easier to solve. Not easy, but easier.

He was told that there’s no border solution in history that would work, and replied:

That’s because we’ve got a whole load of new technology now, we’ve also had one European Parliament report, we don’t agree with it entirely… saying technology can help here.
You can’t just say we haven’t done it anywhere else: we haven’t attempted to do it anywhere else.

His comments come after a UK-EU agreement on guidelines that will govern negotiations on future relations and trade links with Britain after Brexit, which has been described as a “decisive step” in negotiations.

In the aftermath of that deal being struck, Davis stated that the UK government “remains steadfast” in its commitment to avoiding a hard Irish border after Brexit.

On the Andrew Marr Show, Davis said that the UK and EU have agreed “to find an Option C – that is the backstop”.

In December last year, a “regulatory alignment” deal was struck that said in the event of no deal aimed to ensure there would be no return of an Irish border on the island of Ireland.

Speaking on The Week In Politics, Minister of State for European Affairs Helen McEntee said that since the backstop provision, “there had been no engagement between the UK and the EU” on the agreement.

What we’ve now gotten since last week is a letter from Theresa May to the head of the council saying that all of the issues that includes the Section 49 which deals directly with the border that all of those issues must be included in the withdrawal agreement.

She added that the aim was to completely legally translate the document by June.

McEntee said that work was being done to look at the future relationship with the UK post-Brexit, including industries such as the environment, agriculture and fisheries.

“[We're looking at the] key issues that might arise with the UK, that work is continuing, we’re now talking about what that relationship will look like.”

Sinn Fein spokesperson for Brexit David Cullinane welcomed Davis’ remarks that a border solution will be found, but questioned the legitimacy of the Brexit deals that have been made thus far.

It is clear that the protocol itself is nothing more than a diplomatic sleight of hand to park the Irish issue until the wider trade talks are concluded.

“By the time October comes around the Irish government will be under enormous pressure to accept whatever agreement is put on the table.

The hope is that it will be enough to avoid a hard border – but that itself is not guaranteed.

Read: EU leaders approve guidelines for negotiations on post-Brexit relations and trade talks

Read: Brexit could increase cost of milk, cheese and eggs by 46%

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

105 Comments
    Mar 25th 2018, 1:53 PM

One way to solve the Irish border; give us back our 6 Counties.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan

@Jamie McCormack:
    Assuming we want it.

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:09 PM

@P.J. Nolan: you’ll have no say in the matter

See 38 more replies ▾
    Mute Ciaran Fairley
    Favourite Ciaran Fairley
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:12 PM

@Jamie McCormack: That’ll never happen! Also consider that our government can’t seem to look after the 26 we already have.

Mar 25th 2018, 2:14 PM

@Jamie McCormack: why would the majority of the people in NI want to join the basket case of a republic run by Sock Boy and featuring the worst health service in the EU? Corrupt from top to bottom.Dream on!

Mar 25th 2018, 2:15 PM

@Abortionismurder: Stolen? I seem to remember a treaty signed in 1922, still that does not fit in with your fantasy.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:24 PM

@Patrick Agnew:
    I presume if there is a vote in NI on the subject there would have to be a vote on it down south?

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:30 PM

@P.J. Nolan: the crowd down south threw their own people to the wolves before. They’ll not get a second chance

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:37 PM

@Gus Sheridan: a treaty which came with the highly ominous threat of ” immediate and terrible war”. Directly in the face of a massively majority vote..

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:44 PM

@Jamie McCormack: we can’t look after 26 counties

Mute Joseph Blocks
    Favourite Joseph Blocks
    Mar 25th 2018, 3:01 PM

@Aidan: what are you on about? Our problems are no greater than any other country. We have one of the most democratic societies in the world, so any problems that we do have are our own, and if you want to do something about it then run for election. Alternatively if you think other countries have it better then I invite you to go and live there instead.

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Mar 25th 2018, 3:13 PM

@Jamie McCormack: Majority of people on this island wanted Home Rule just over 100 yrs and it was decided in westminister to give Ireland home rule but a minority up north kicked up and got their own way home rule for a 6 county ho e rule for themselves where that had a protestant majority which decriminated against their Catholic neighbours. Lloyd George has a lot to answer for because after 100 years the Irish problem just won’t go away. And won’t go away until Ireland is reunited.

Mar 25th 2018, 3:18 PM

@Gus Sheridan: People like you are quite content with the enforced division of our country but you cannot hold the rest of us to ransom for very much longer. Partition has failed and will never be workable. You’ll have to accept that fact.

Mute William T Smith
    Favourite William T Smith
    Mar 25th 2018, 3:20 PM

@Gus Sheridan: “Northern Ireland” was created in 1920,before any treaty was signed,the people in the 6 counties got no vote on the treaty.

Mute Ger Healy
    Favourite Ger Healy
    Mar 25th 2018, 3:34 PM

@Joseph Blocks: What are you on about? Your rant is straight out the FG playbook. Our health service is the worst in Europe. People can barelly afford to rent due to the mess FF created and FG promised to clean up. We have an unprecedented homeless crisis and we have 12 yr old boy with a sock fetish as Taoiseach.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Mar 25th 2018, 3:37 PM

@Patrick Agnew:
    Keep up an arrogant attitude like that my friend and if there ever is a vote down south on the subject, you will lose.

Mute Mentis Green
    Favourite Mentis Green
    Mar 25th 2018, 4:37 PM

@Gus Sheridan: You seem to want to live here and seem to be english. Ireland is the 4th time richest country in the world GDP per capita and has a far higher happiness index than the UK, which you should go back to if you dislike Ireland. Irelands economy is will be closing in on 400 billion annually soon while NI under a occupation is a wasteland of 39 billion. Ireland has the fastest growing economy in EU now for 4 years in a row. UK are rock bottom and the 6 counties are bottom of all. Your NHS is also a complete mess and crumbling so I’d hardly brag about that one thing in the food bank capital of Europe.

Mute Mentis Green
    Favourite Mentis Green
    Mar 25th 2018, 4:42 PM

@Gus Sheridan: A treaty to get rid of a brutal murderous occupation that unless agreed to intended to cause countless thousands more deaths so they got their pound of partition flesh and then dishonourable reneged on their word on boundary commission forcing hundreds of thousands of Irish people into another oppressive sectarian gerrymandering english propped up regime. You should be very proud

Mar 25th 2018, 4:59 PM

@Abortionismurder: you forget that the majority in NI prefer to stay out of the Republic, probably with good reason.

Mar 25th 2018, 5:00 PM

@Jamie McCormack: the MAJORITY want to stay with the UK and looking at the mess the government is making of the republic I don’t blame them.

Mute Mentis Green
    Favourite Mentis Green
    Mar 25th 2018, 5:07 PM

@Gus Sheridan: I would take our Taoiseach and foreign minister over your pathetic ignorant clowns like Boris Johnson or lying corrupt oily snakes like Gove and Mogg any day of the week and their red buses. The overwhelming majority of Ireland wanted the brutal occupation gone your country had no right to force partition. Responsible for brutal murderous occupations all over the world. Hang your head in shame rather than shooting your ignorant mouth off against other countries.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 25th 2018, 5:15 PM

@P.J. Nolan: Ireland was partitioned under the threat of war if members of the Free State government didn’t sign up to a treaty with Britain. This then led to a civil war in the south and later conflict in Northern Ireland causing the deaths of thousands of innocent people on the island of Ireland.
    Whatever way you want to look at it Ireland has suffered greatly from decisions made one hundred years ago and it is right for people to seek a solution which leads to peace and prosperity for the whole of Ireland and not another fudge between rival politicians.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 25th 2018, 5:21 PM

@P.J. Nolan: Since Britain has now decided to leave the EU and the majority of people in the North voted to remain it would be right and fair to put an alternative argument on the table for Irish people to decide their own future for peace and prosperity where everyone can benifit. Lets not forget how Germany was a divided nation and came together once the barriers were removed and is doing well as a result.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 25th 2018, 5:29 PM

@Joe Johnson: You are right, every Irish person wants a peaceful solution but feels that it is best achieved as a united Ireland. Remember that religion was never a factor in Home Rule, Irishness is for everyone catholics and protestants to work together for the good of our generation and future generations. Northern Ireland got left behind in 1920 and suffered the consequences of bigotry and a fractured economy. The way to solve this is through inclusivity, set aside religious differences and work for a better more prosperous future in a country we can call our own.

Mute 2good2b4gotten
    Favourite 2good2b4gotten
    Mar 25th 2018, 5:55 PM

@Patrick Agnew: Ah, you’re full of it.

The Principle of Consent in the Good Friday Agreement, as EVERYONE with any education knows, proposes a referendum in the Republic that coincides with one in the North.

Article 1 (ii) of the Good Friday Agreement says that the participants

recognise that it is for the people of the island of Ireland alone, by agreement between the two parts respectively and without external impediment, to exercise their right of self-determination on the basis of consent, freely and concurrently given, North and South, to bring about a united Ireland, if that is their wish, accepting that this right must be achieved and exercised with and subject to the agreement and consent of a majority of the people of Northern Ireland.”[2]

Mute Todd
    Favourite Todd
    Mar 25th 2018, 6:05 PM

@Gus Sheridan: absolute fear grinning.

Mute Todd
    Favourite Todd
    Mar 25th 2018, 6:10 PM

@Gus Sheridan: Latest poll shows a majority of people in the 6 counties want to re-unify with the south.

Mute G O'Rourke
    Favourite G O'Rourke
    Mar 25th 2018, 6:34 PM

@P.J. Nolan: Assuming the six counties would want us…..

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Mar 25th 2018, 7:21 PM

@G O’Rourke:
    Ha ha now that might be the only true statement here!!

Mute Joseph Blocks
    Favourite Joseph Blocks
    Mar 25th 2018, 8:07 PM

@Ger Healy: is that it? France – massive immigrant & identity issues, Belgium – terrorist problems, Brittan – absolute basket case & Brexit, NHS not working, Spain – Catalan, debt & unemployment, Italy – underperforming economy, debt, no industry & unemployment, Greece – defaulted, debt, country has been sold to the lowest bidder, youth emigration, USA – they’re all murdering eachother and have a re-tard as a president. Not to mention any of the third world countries. Our problems are very surmountable compared to any of these countries. I have no political allegiancies, I just know that there’s not a person in the country who could solve them over night, and possibly at all.

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Mar 25th 2018, 8:08 PM

@P.J. Nolan: what’s arrogant about a country wanting to be unified? Irish history shows that the Irish people voted for partition. How many 6 county Irish catholics do you think voted for partition?

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Mar 25th 2018, 8:09 PM

@Gus Sheridan: bullish!t

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Mar 25th 2018, 8:11 PM

@Mentis Green: 4th richest – in financial terms ? – how much is the country in debt ? – please remind us.

Mute tom McCormack
    Favourite tom McCormack
    Mar 25th 2018, 8:58 PM

@Gus Sheridan: Treaty at gunpoint..

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Mar 25th 2018, 9:00 PM

@Abortionismurder:
    When the majority votes for that, then it will happen. That’s all part of the deal that the whole of Ireland voted for.

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Mar 25th 2018, 9:09 PM

@M Bowe:
    Correct. It’s part of the Irish constitution that both jurisdictions within Ireland must support Irish unity.

Mar 25th 2018, 9:49 PM

@Gus Sheridan: Show me this MAJORITY you speak of, because the unionist vote has historically dipped below the 50% mark and there’s no going back. The demographics are only heading in one direction Gus, you need to accept the reality. The Irish nation will endure always, our culture is too strong.

Mar 25th 2018, 9:52 PM

@tom McCormack: indeed, it’s called coercion. Nothing free and democratic about it. The people of the 26 voted under duress and suffering from war-weariness. They were also sold a pup regarding the Boundary commission. Collins was no fan of the Treaty, that’s why he was dispensed with.

Mute paddy fox
    Favourite paddy fox
    Mar 26th 2018, 1:48 AM

@P.J. Nolan: typical free state mentality.

Mute Marcus o Dhonnghaile
    Favourite Marcus o Dhonnghaile
    Mar 26th 2018, 7:54 AM

@Jamie McCormack: Cant afford it and certainly after Brexit we wont be able to afford it. ireland is a country with very little opportunity outside Dublin. The tax is too high and the country owes 200 billion to the EU. We are very lucky to have Britain to be able to emigrate to (some of us anyway).

Mute Marcus o Dhonnghaile
    Favourite Marcus o Dhonnghaile
    Mar 26th 2018, 7:56 AM

@Ger Healy: I agree with your analysis of ireland as a failed welfare state.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish

And that’s the delusional brexit mindset summed up. Believing that non existent technology will solve the mess they’ve made.
    These people really should be held to account and I have a feeling that’s exactly what the EU has planned for them.

Mute Oliver Klozov
    Favourite Oliver Klozov
    Mar 25th 2018, 1:57 PM

@Ricky Spanish: what do you mean the technology doesn’t exist? Of course it does, we have frictionless travel between north and south side liffey bridge on a daily basis. Couple this with the addition of moder drone technology and a frictionless border with NI is very possible.

Mute Karl Doran
    Favourite Karl Doran
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:05 PM

@Oliver Klozov: And who is gonna fund your drone army. And the manpower to run them 24/7… Too many sci-fi movies…

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Favourite Gerald Kelleher
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:10 PM

@Oliver Klozov: Don’t be silly, the border will become a big hole in the fence and once hormone beef or some other frankenfood gets a stamp with an Irish seal of approval on its way to the Continent, say goodbye to our food standards and reputation. Its going to happen anyway with or without a border and anyone who imagines differently is fooling themselves.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:17 PM

@Clever Jake: It’s a Putinbot account. Ignore it.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:32 PM

@Oliver Klozov: If it did why then has no other country in the world used it? Every country outside the EU have “Manned” Customs and Border checks. That is just a fact of life.

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:51 PM

@Sandra O’Fucáif: I’d say that was a tongue in cheek meme of Boris Johnston’ gaff.

Mute Jay Jay
    Favourite Jay Jay
    Mar 25th 2018, 3:04 PM

@Oliver Klozov: wtf is a bridge in the middle of a city going over a river got to do with crossing over international borders with close to 300 crossings? Let alone a once contested border where there was once a guerilla campaign raged! also add in illegal contraband such as fuel etc.

Mar 25th 2018, 3:24 PM

@Ricky Spanish: they really talk a load of shite!

Mute Ciaran Bolton
    Favourite Ciaran Bolton
    Mar 25th 2018, 4:43 PM

@Karl Doran: UK / EU border…let the UK/EU pay for it.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 25th 2018, 5:36 PM

@Ricky Spanish: David Davis is a deluded fool, told British people that they would get a Canada +++ deal. I wouldn’t believe a word out of his mouth and Irish people north & south need to set their sights on a united Ireland, not another fudge deal like the (GFA) Belfast Agreement. The Irish economy will see some very positive outcomes if we are a united country.

Mute Terry McClatchey
    Favourite Terry McClatchey
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:04 PM

Yes. As Boris Johnson has explained, it just needs and adaptation of the London congestion charging technology. It won’t be long now before BJ works out how this will verify the number and Common Travel Area status of vehicle occupants, check the number and veterinary status of live animals and take account of the the secret underground tunnels with colour coded lines known only to the lower classes. Another simple adaptation will ensure that the technology cannot be disabled by political opponents armed with bin bags and spray paint. There can be no doubt that the IT experts riding unicorns will be all any time now to ensure these systems can be commissioned and tested well in advance of April next year.

Mute James Maloney
    Favourite James Maloney
    Mar 25th 2018, 3:23 PM

Cambridge Analytica & Brexit Leave vote… interesting?

https://youtu.be/nQ0bFAgTGwk

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:01 PM

What does he not understand when the EU and Ireland have repeatedly told the UK Government that “ANY” form of border checks are unacceptable to them.
    He is even ignoring the PSNI who have said that using technology would be immediately targeted and by extention those personel required to carry out maintenance and as they would then require Police protection the Police themselves would become the targets.

Mar 25th 2018, 10:01 PM

@Mick Jordan: They really didn’t think the whole thing through. One thing I’m sure we can agree on is that the last thing we need is armed men manning border crossings on this island again.

Mar 25th 2018, 10:02 PM

@Jamie McCormack: thing, Viking word.

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:05 PM

Davis talking through his hole again.

Mute Declan Joseph Deasy
    Favourite Declan Joseph Deasy
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:26 PM

@Ted Murray: although a bit crude I wouldn’t disagree

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:45 PM

@Declan Joseph Deasy: __ Well, his idiocy (and that of his chum Boris) does tend to bring out the worst in me.

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:58 PM

Anybody get the feeling this guy doesn’t know what he’s talking about?

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:04 PM

The Tory politicians are oblivious to the GFA as an International achievement that it remains that any return to checkpoints will be a failure for their establishment regardless how it is presented. Diminishing the achievement where people move without thinking about borders but think about shopping, GAA matches, Country and Western dances has become so natural that all the technology now or in future will not compensate for restrictions among people on this island.

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:19 PM

David “thick as mince” Davis just kicked the can down the proverbial technological road.

Mute Mick Tobin
    Favourite Mick Tobin
    Mar 25th 2018, 3:04 PM

I doubt even the Tories themselves really believe this. There is only one reason this ‘solution’ is being proposed, and it is that the DUP are propping up May’s govt.

Without that, the proposal would have been for Northern Ireland to remain in the Customs Union (and possibly the EEA as well), and the border to effectively be in the Irish Sea where it should be.

As soon as the DUP are out, this is what will happen. Any sane person knows that it makes no sense to have it otherwise.

Mute Anita OGalligan
    Favourite Anita OGalligan
    Mar 25th 2018, 3:50 PM

@Mick Tobin: Well said. Tessie is afraid of the DUP and afraid that they will bring the Tories down. Bring it on, general election and rid the country of these right wing extremists. Very many years ago I was a Conservative voter when they were more moderate under Ted H. No way I would support that party now. Ted Heath brought us into the EU (EEC then)

Mute Red Ruskie
    Favourite Red Ruskie
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:29 PM

Anther €100m for consultants coming right up!

Mute Danny Rafferty
    Favourite Danny Rafferty
    Mar 26th 2018, 12:19 AM

@Red Ruskie: That’s NOTHING. They’ve already spent the guts of a bill ion on automated border technology that gassed too be canned.
    The British are a joke at this sort of thing.

Mute Irish big fellow
    Favourite Irish big fellow
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:21 PM

We will all have cattle tags and be scanned like a car passing on the M50. What a great future to look forward to. How are we going to allow the EU agree to such a backward arrangement? This is a UK problem to be solved to the satisfaction of the remaining 27 members. No more no less.

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    Mar 25th 2018, 1:57 PM

That must be the cast iron solution leo was talking about ,whats all the fuss about ?

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:44 PM

@Anthony Gallagher: from where i am now there is 15+ road routes into Derry city alone. That only covers about 12 mile of an almost 400 mile border. That line on our map is a sieve which was unpluggable by thousands of military personel and technology throught out troubles.

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:52 PM

@Anthony Gallagher: A painful backstop for Leo.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Mar 25th 2018, 3:40 PM

@M Bowe:
    There are more crossing points on the Irish border than the entire EU eastern border from Latvia to Romania

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Mar 25th 2018, 4:28 PM

@P.J. Nolan: I assume you mean Russia?

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Mar 25th 2018, 7:27 PM

@Mick Jordan:
    Russia, Belarus, Ukraine and Moldova.

Mute John Baylon
    Favourite John Baylon
    Mar 25th 2018, 9:38 PM

@Anthony Gallagher: If they want a hard border let them man it .Ireland just sit back and let them country the cost

Mute Alan McDonald
    Favourite Alan McDonald
    Mar 25th 2018, 4:34 PM

Northern Ireland will be further disenfranchised within a post EU Britain. They won’t be able to afford a 10 billion a year black hole.
    Britain will offer up a referendum within 5 years.
    With the majority of Unionists taking advantage of Irish passports, it will be difficult to argue against unification.
    Just like Britain can’t be out of the EU but enjoy the benefits, NI can’t do so with Ireland.
    And in the long run a United Ireland will be better for all.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:26 PM

The border would be impossible to secure using technology, the only realistic and economically viable option is at the point of entry.

Mute Steven Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Steven Fitzpatrick
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:08 PM

Was he walking backwards, because it’s helpful while talking out of your ar5€.

Mute Brendan O'Reidenbach
    Favourite Brendan O'Reidenbach
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:59 PM

Nothing is going to happen and the UK knows it. If they were going to install anything such as ANPR cameras etc. they would have had to initiate compulsory purchase legislation already, because all of the land previously allocated to border control has been sold. I’ll eat my hat if I’m wrong.

Mute F. Wood
    Favourite F. Wood
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:35 PM

Will all the tourists need a visa to go to donegal? ….considering they have to go through the North.

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Mar 25th 2018, 4:10 PM

Best thing to do in the interim is for Ireland and the UK to hold joint authority over the north, and the north to remain in the EU.

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Mar 25th 2018, 4:45 PM

@Seán Ó Briain: What joint authority !, the Brit politicians are showing criminal irresponsibility with a peace treaty that has International significance as a template for other violent disputes. When the checkpoints disappeared along with the bombs and guns then everything went to being as close to normal ,at least for everyone besides the DUP.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 25th 2018, 5:50 PM

@Seán Ó Briain: This is the way it is supposed to be under the Good Friday Agreement. Until the DUP pulled their plug on shared devolved government and are now working with the conservatives to arrange budgets. Remember that Arlene Foster caaused the RHI scandal and refused justice for families of innocent victims of the troubles.
    Time now for Irish polititians to send a stronger message to Britain and the EU that we want a united Ireland and no more fudge politics.Germany knows what it is like to be a divided country, let them help us to unshackele from Britains colonial past.

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:56 PM

He also said that the EU were united over the money they required from UK but he expects that they’ll divide to look after their industries that need the UK.
    It’s probably at that point that he expects Ireland to be thrown on the scrap heap by the EU and given the way we were shafted to bail out the big Euro bankers it wouldn’t be unexpected and at the same time show us that Leo is way out of his depth.

Mute 680199
    Favourite 680199
    Mar 25th 2018, 5:51 PM

How
    25,000 troops failed, the RUC failed, the Gardaí failed, RoI C&E failed, HMCE failed.
    There is no technology which will deal with the criminality of smuggling – and this will destabilise both administrations.
    UK combined operating costs were enormous and they won’t and can’t do the same again.
    The EU doesn’t trust them to administer a border given that they haven’t done too well currently where there are billions missing from LAX administration in Southampton!
    Answers on a postcard to Mr. Davis.

Mute mark Lingard
    Favourite mark Lingard
    Mar 25th 2018, 3:14 PM

This clown Davis has lied about brexit and trade deals from day one, every time he gets caught out he just grins and lies some more .

Mute Anita OGalligan
    Favourite Anita OGalligan
    Mar 25th 2018, 3:53 PM

@mark Lingard: here here,I agree. Davis is like a sly fox!

Mar 25th 2018, 2:20 PM

A Robot Army, Androids, Replicants????!!!

Mute Karl Charlie O'Reilly
    Favourite Karl Charlie O'Reilly
    Mar 25th 2018, 3:32 PM

i love how the uk is using northern ireland to get a eu trade deal

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:11 PM

Do they really think I’ll register to go across an imaginary border in my own country? Will I fcuk!

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Mar 25th 2018, 2:47 PM

@Patrick Agnew: ___ Any dissenters will have to drop their pants for a rectal scan.

Mute Malachy
    Favourite Malachy
    Mar 25th 2018, 3:28 PM

Everything can solved if your delusional

Mute PJ Long
    Favourite PJ Long
    Mar 25th 2018, 3:25 PM

Sounds like they’re trying to sort the Brexit / boarder issue with a whole load BULL***T….

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Mar 25th 2018, 6:15 PM

electronic measures.. !!!

Under current rules if NI left the EU then cross border shoppers would be allowed 200 cigarettes, 1 litre of spirits, 4 litres of wine, 16 litres of beer and €300 of other goods (toys, perfume, electronic devices, etc)… and one would expect that “allowance” to apply in the opposite direction as well

There is more to this then just businesses and market access…. there is the issue of the free market whereby people can currently cross the border to buy their 999 euro television without any controls – if this is to continue it gets very complicated as to how the EU collects it’s share from NI Sales (and UK sales where appropriate) and all without any border controls or checks????

Who is going to stop me going to Newry and buying that case of wine or are we going with a whole new EU – NonEU set of rules and regulations…???

I just think that so much is assumed at the top that the day to day lives of people living near the border, as well as the occasional shopping tripper, are not even thought about. Was fine when it is Ireland and the UK but now it is EU and NonEU rules and regulations…

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Mar 25th 2018, 6:02 PM

Davis is a Victorian edg

Mute Stevie Doran
    Favourite Stevie Doran
    Mar 26th 2018, 1:11 AM

A lot of dirty cars and number plates will be crossing the border every day

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Mar 25th 2018, 10:40 PM

Plan A didn’t work. So Plan B is to do nothing for a year, then start work on Plan C.

Mute Ruth McCann
    Favourite Ruth McCann
    Mar 25th 2018, 7:39 PM

The whole Irish border issue could be solved by NOT going through with the Brexit shite nonsense

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Mar 25th 2018, 8:12 PM

@Ruth McCann: true, unfortunately it’s happened though

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Mar 25th 2018, 10:54 PM

David Davis has said that the Irish border problem could be solved by technology.

He is correct. Put 6 good engineers and Customs brights in a room for 3 weeks and there is no doubt a range of good workable technical solutions will emerge with exception handling function bolted on …

Luddites … never designed anything …

Mute George Mills
    Favourite George Mills
    Mar 26th 2018, 9:06 AM

The hapless David Davis doing what he does best, not answering a question. Why doesn’t he visit the Derry/ Donegal border to see where 60,000 tonnes of ingredients per year cross to an animal feed mill in Donegal from our nearest deep-water port in Derry. Where is the checks to be carried out on these loads that could now be under a different “regulatory alliance” and what delays will that cause. Any frontier anywhere in the world creates opportunities for illegal behaviour and by necessity involves security, from there it is a slippery slope and downward spiral to the past, that is not a threat but just a simple fact.

Mute Liam Rogers
    Favourite Liam Rogers
    Mar 25th 2018, 8:13 PM

Solved by technology?? Seriously??
    Why over complicate things! Simple solution.. sit down and talk, Put a pen to paper.. jaysus

Mute Joe Mcpeake
    Favourite Joe Mcpeake
    Mar 26th 2018, 9:30 PM

What your really saying is that the British government does not have a clue how to solve this problem..hoping that a magician will conjure up a trick to fool people.It shows how little thought went into the the ramifications of the Brexit campaign….keep digging seems to be the philosophy.

Mute Maria Mc Coy
    Favourite Maria Mc Coy
    Mar 25th 2018, 9:47 PM

Foster shouldn’t be the only one to decide about the Irish border all the political parties in the entire island of Ireland should have a say in it

Mute Maria Mc Coy
    Favourite Maria Mc Coy
    Mar 25th 2018, 9:41 PM

Put it in the middle of the Irish Sea and let the British patrol that – obviously they don’t want to patrol a 3q0 mile border on land maybe they’ll prefer to go to sea to do it instead. We all know who to blame for this mess Foster has put they’ll brakes on a reasonable solution every time she could – why don’t they realise this border issue concerns the whole island of Ireland and there’s many more political parties here who should have a say in what happens. Nevermind the people in N Ireland who voted to remain in the EU, unlike Foster who wants to stay with Brexit – why is she the only one to get an opinion people in politics listen to ?

SF might have had a violent paramilitary history but then so did the DUP – blowing bombs up in Dublin and Monaghan. Don’t kid yourself the DUP are just as nasty as everyone else they point a finger at, but, that’s never mentioned – Britain knows sfa about Ireland North and South and cares precious little about the peace people have fought so hard to keep.