You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dail hopeful Councillor Deirdre Wadding (left) pictured at a protest against the selling off of Coillte's harvesting rights Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

She's a witch! Meet the woman who could be Ireland's first Pagan TD

But Deirdre Wadding hopes it will be her radical left policies rather than her religion that will have voters under her spell.

A FORMER WITCH is hoping to put a spell on voters next year and become the first Pagan TD in the Dáil.

However, Deirdre Wadding, who currently sits on Wexford County Council, insists that voters should forget her religious choices and instead focus on her political policies.

“I’m running as a radical left wing candidate and not as a Pagan,” she told TheJournal.ie

“My faith is a very personal matter to me in the same way that there are many TDs who hold the Christian faith.

“I want people to focus on my policies rather than my religious beliefs.”

Wadding first became a witch aged 18 and has since embraced the Pagan faith with a special focus on the religion’s tightly held principles of fairness and equality.

She also worked as a teacher before becoming a councillor for the People Before Profit Alliance.

“If elected, I want politics to be different,” she said.

“Personally, I believe that every person on this earth should be treated equally and right now that isn’t the case.

If I were given the opportunity, I would like to help implement policies to ensure a fairer society and a more equal world for everybody.

Speaking about her policies , the 53-year-old claims she will focus on taxing the country’s big earners.

“We need to enforce corporation tax and take appropriate tax from those who are earning most in society.

“I look at who is on the left in Ireland right now, I certainly don’t want us to enter an alliance with a pro-austerity party,” she added.

Speaking about the future, Wadding claims she would like to see her party enter a coalition with any left wing party – including Sinn Féin.

“I sit on Wexford county council with Sinn Féin members and other left leaning politicians and we work well together.

“Obviously there are certain red line issues that would need to be discussed but if we were able to emulate our local success on a national level then I believe we could work with Sinn Féin.”

The People Before Profit Alliance has yet to make an official statement on whether the group as part of the Right2Change movement would agree to a vote transfer deal with Sinn Féin.

Media reports earlier this week claimed that Anti-Austerity Alliance TD Paul Murphy had ruled out any such deal with Gerry Adams’ party after the idea for a left-wing vote transfer pact was put forward by Sinn Féin earlier this week.

Sinn Féin wants a vote pact with other left-wing parties – but not everyone’s up for it>

New left-wing party could make Gerry Adams the next Taoiseach> 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 80 comments
80 Comments
    Mute Tonybeegood
    Favourite Tonybeegood
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:08 AM

“Are you going to be armed?” Great question. Not much good sending an army to a war zone with their lads in their hands now is there?

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:22 AM

There’s plenty of unarmed observer missions on the go; it was a valid question.

Mute Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Favourite Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:58 AM

This is not an unarmed observer mission though.

This is already known.

So it was a stupid question.

Mute Geraldine Lee
    Favourite Geraldine Lee
    Aug 25th 2013, 10:05 AM

Joey Joe ur an argumentative weed

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Aug 25th 2013, 10:40 AM

Given the general level of disinterest & lack of knowledge the public has when it comes to the Defence Forces, it mightn’t have been well known.

Mute Nelly
    Favourite Nelly
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:57 AM

There’s no such thing as a stupid question just stupid answers

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Aug 25th 2013, 2:33 PM

Ah jeez,what a stupid question,are you going you be armed,what next,will you have to ask someone that is about to put a bullet in you to produce their firearm certificate first.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Aug 25th 2013, 10:35 PM

Is there 10 days in a week? I’d say that’s a pretty stupid question.

Mute Foxtrot Hotel
    Favourite Foxtrot Hotel
    Sep 1st 2013, 1:14 PM

Nelly, I think you mixed that saying up. Isn’t it “There are no stupid questions, just stupid people”?

Mute Patricia Mc Cann
    Favourite Patricia Mc Cann
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:06 AM

Safe tour of duty to all concerned .

Mute John O'donnell
    Favourite John O'donnell
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:13 AM

Best of luck on this dodgy mission lads

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Favourite Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:29 AM

They could have had plenty of dodgey missions in the north, they chose not to, they ran away.

Mute Dave O'Shea
    Favourite Dave O'Shea
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:17 AM

Me and you clarke, handball alley, 1400hrs, we will see who runs away, big man behind an egg.

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:23 AM

a coward wants to fight an Irishman….lmao, i’d embarrass you in front of everyone in your café.

Mute CD
    Favourite CD
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:52 AM

Tom having read most of this thread I note that you have yet to inform us of your brave deeds in the north…

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:54 AM

So you’d have to be cowardly to want to fight an Irishman? Ok

FYI, armies don’t choose their own missions – governments do. When the army starts deciding policy you have a military dictatorship

Mute Dave O'Shea
    Favourite Dave O'Shea
    Aug 25th 2013, 12:21 PM

Café??

Mute royston T justice
    Favourite royston T justice
    Aug 25th 2013, 2:25 PM

Safe trip boys & girls!

Mute karl o fhionlaoich
    Favourite karl o fhionlaoich
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:08 PM

pity the handball alley isnt used as much as it should. some of the gombean people making gombean comments need a visit to the alley.

Mute karl o fhionlaoich
    Favourite karl o fhionlaoich
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:11 PM

@ tom just so you know i know dave o shea he is a top quality bloke quality morals and would not even break a sweat dealing with you

Mute Brian O'Donnell
    Favourite Brian O'Donnell
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:43 AM

Irish soldiers are among the best in the world.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:59 AM

Eh?

Mute Siobhan Clifford
    Favourite Siobhan Clifford

Blah blah blah… another gobsh*te living in the past. (yawn)

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 10:08 AM

I live in the present but I am very much aware of what the free state army did, which is to say that they aided the brits in their slaughter of irish innocents.

Mute cooperguy
    Favourite cooperguy
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:26 AM

Tom shut the hell up and stop flooding the thread with rubbish that is irrelevant to the story. Your an obvious troll, you wanted the Irish army to invade NI. Your heads only use seems to be as some form of hat stand.

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:41 AM

what I say is not irrelevant, people are saying that these soldiers are brave because they are going to Syria to have tea and biscuits.

I’m saying that they were too cowardly to go north in case they were shot at.

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Aug 25th 2013, 12:13 PM

No, they are not going up north because there is absolutely no need to. Have you been living under a rock for the last 20 years?

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 12:45 PM

i’m talking about 1969 to 94 you clown, when the free state army sided with the brits.

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Aug 25th 2013, 1:00 PM

Grand, so rather than been living under a rock, you’re actually just living in the past.
    Thanks for trolling the comments section of an article regarding peacekeeping with irrelevant nonsense.

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 1:38 PM

peacekeeping?

Sure they couldn’t keep the peace in this country, they allowed the brits to murder kids, women and men.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Aug 25th 2013, 2:35 PM

When they are fighting for someone else that is.
    “The Irish have been fighting and winning wars for everyone else ,except themselves.”
    Spike Milligan

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Aug 25th 2013, 2:42 PM

SHHHHHH ! Its the new therapy for patients up in the NI funny farms!!
    Let them work out on the Internet their fustrations and angsts.Tom obviously has been an inmate for awhile now as he keeps going on about the laughable plan to invade NI in the 1970s,he doesnt recognise its 2013 and the NI conflict is all over.
    Just curious about one thing…Is he typing with his toes or nose???As I cant see how you can type otherwise wearing a sleveless nut suit.

Mute Kevin Whyte
    Favourite Kevin Whyte
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:40 PM

You are showing your true colours now, ragheads? How dare you!

Mute David Orde
    Favourite David Orde
    Aug 26th 2013, 12:16 AM

He’ll yeah there is a reason Ireland has participated in so many UN peace keeping missions. The Irish Defence Forces are amongst the most respected in the world. There is a long and proud tradition of peace keeping in the Irish Defence Forces

Mute Mark Barrett
    Favourite Mark Barrett
    Aug 26th 2013, 3:45 AM

Well said Simon! The American Union was defended by the NY Irish!

Mute Adrian quinn
    Favourite Adrian quinn
    Aug 26th 2013, 4:12 AM

Ragheads? I’m delighted your racism is spread across the globe. A disease upon your house.

Mute MasterMockMan
    Favourite MasterMockMan
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:49 AM

Yet irish people generally mock our army.
    I think a lot of countries could take a leaf out of our book .

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:34 AM

600,000 of our citizens were being brutalised and murdered while the free staters were drinking tea and scratching their balls.

Mute MasterMockMan
    Favourite MasterMockMan
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:35 AM

I hate tea

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Anthony Bartley
    Favourite Anthony Bartley
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:36 AM

Tom Daly Clarke . Eamon De Valera gave the British government the 6 counties . To take back those 6 as much as we would like but the large majority want to stay with the UK because their NHS is better than the HSE among other things

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:44 AM

Bartlett,
    fine gael sold the 6 counties, get your facts right.

Don’t believe the hype, more and more people want a united Ireland.

Nothing changes the fact that they stood idly by while irish people were been slaughtered by the brits.

Mute MasterMockMan
    Favourite MasterMockMan
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:47 AM

A cynic is a man who knows the price of everything, but the value of nothing.

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:53 AM

@Tom Daly Clarke – Yeah probably because we didn’t want idiots like you as part of our country. If Northern Ireland floated off into the Atlantic tomorrow there’d be precious few down here or in Britian who would care.

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:54 AM

@Tom Daly Clarke – Fine Gael didn’t even exist at the time. Get YOUR facts right.

Mute Tom Daly Clarke

jim walsh,

Cumann na Gaedhael sold out the 6 counties for a write down on the free states debt.
    Who were Cumann na Gaedhael?

Well, according to fine gael themselves, Cumann na Gaedhael was fine gaels ‘parent’, a very bad fcuking parent given how fine gael turned out.

LEARN YOUR HISTORY

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Aug 25th 2013, 10:31 AM

Tom, do you realise that the army doesn’t just go around doing what it wants or randomly deciding on its own initiative to wander into another country to do whatever it is you think they should have done? Which is what by the way? Commit mass suicide by invading the north and taking on the British army?

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:08 AM

free state cowards.

Mute Liam Lyons
    Favourite Liam Lyons
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:22 AM

The people of Ireland democratically voted to accept the treaty. A fact that is conveniently forgotten

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:27 AM

The people of Ireland? My Belfast grandparents never had the chance to vote for or against any treaty, are you having a laugh?

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Aug 25th 2013, 12:09 PM

Tom, I’m finding it hard to decipher whether or not you are a troll or one of these misdirected “nationalists” that appear to love nothing more than to drag this country back in to the dark ages. Although I’d like to think you are the first, unfortunately I have a feeling it is probably the latter that is true.

It’s sad to think there are still simpletons out there there that don’t recognise the progression we have had in this country. These same people usually still spout the IRA as the countries freedom fighters when we all know that todays IRA and it’s various forms is nothing more than a front for criminal activity and drug dealing. The British are not the problem. It’s the ignorance of these criminals, the real modern day plague of this country, and their profiting on the misery of unfortunate Irish men and women that is the real problem.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Aug 25th 2013, 12:32 PM

Tom, were the IRA not slaughtering anyone?

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 12:40 PM

pedro, after the ira won democracy and civil rights they left the scene.

if your looking for drug pushers the cia and mi6 are the people you should be looking for.

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 12:41 PM

Declan,
    this is not about the ira, this is about free state cowards refusing to help irish passport holders in the north.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Aug 25th 2013, 2:28 PM

Funny that most in the North who supposedly suffer under the British combat boot are the least likely to echo your opinion.Might have something to do with a better lifestyle under “enemy occupation”than being liberated by a bunch of “Mexicans” from South of the border boglands,and seeing the mess the 26 is in I wouldnt blame them at all.

Mute Kevin Whyte
    Favourite Kevin Whyte
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:31 PM

Be proud of our security forces, professional, well trained and equipped for the job, brave unselfish men and women.
    Well done all.
    Be safe.

Mute Donal O Neil
    Favourite Donal O Neil
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:34 PM

What have the British ever done for us ?

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:37 PM

Didn’t they civilise us then?

Mute Jack F
    Favourite Jack F
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:52 PM

Just shut the hell up Tom. That crap is over. Stop bringing it up. Most of the people in Ireland have copped on, so just stop.

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:27 PM

The Irish army didnt invade Northern Ireland for a large number of reasons, though plans were drawn up for it. Thankfully the politicians were smart enough to realise it would’ve been suicide. We didnt even have the machinery to get most of the troops to the border and would’ve had to resort to buses and trains. Any attack on the UK, no matter how successful initially, would’ve been met by a UK counterattack which within hours would’ve wiped out the Irish army, attacks on military installations in the south would have decimated numerous towns and probably led to many more casualties. As a member of NATO an attack on the UK would’ve been seen as a declaration of war on ALL member states including the USA. It would also have seen Ireland in breach of UN resolutions with regard to attacking neighbouring countries. So you can call them cowards all you like, they correctly followed sensible orders from their political masters.

Mute Martin O Connell
    Favourite Martin O Connell
    Aug 26th 2013, 1:49 AM

I love the way you keep using the words “free staters” this from a man who more than likely draws the Queens unemployment benefit. Us down south don’t even really want the six counties back we can’t afford to keep you in the comfort ye are accustomed too.

Mute mick867
    Favourite mick867
    Aug 25th 2013, 10:47 AM

Our Defence Forces are one more reason to be proud of Ireland. They willingly volunteer to put themselves in harms way so that other poor unfortunate humans can live a better life. For that I thank them and pray for and wish them a safe return.
    The whys wherefores and the should ofs is for politicians- our Defence Forces deserve our respect, our support and our gratitude.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester

Why dont you move down here to the South then??No one is stopping you or denying you a visa ,not that you need one if it is such an utopian dream of all republicans?? We havent been the “free state” for quite awhile now.This is and was back in the 1970s,[an era you seem to be stuck in BTW],The Republic of Ireland or Irish Republic.Any true Iris Republican would know that.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Aug 25th 2013, 5:10 PM

@tom daly there’s loads of decent people living in Northern Ireland that Ireland or the uk would be proud to call their own, but you are definitely not 1 of these, it’s only a pity that we can’t put you and your like onto an iceberg and just float ye out to the middle of the Atlantic never to be seen or heard from again

Mute Cuddle Flips
    Favourite Cuddle Flips
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:52 PM

@Simon
    The successor state to the Irish Free State is Ireland – not the ‘Republic of Ireland’ or ‘Irish Republic’.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Aug 26th 2013, 12:16 AM

The Irish Constitution of 1937 says: “The name of the State is Éire, or, in the English language, Ireland”.

The Republic of Ireland Act, 1948, says: “It is hereby declared that the description of the State shall be the Republic of Ireland.”

Irish passports simply bear the name Ireland.

Irish government regulations and official statements frequently refer to “the Republic of Ireland”.
    Can we not even make up our minds as what we call ourselves?????

Mute Cllr. John Brady
    Favourite Cllr. John Brady

I wish the Irish troops a safe tour of duty. I hope the UK and US tell their proxy Al Qaeda jihadist terrorists, (sorry rebels) not to interfere with their work or to kidnap them like they did with the Filipino UN soldiers.

Mute Brian O Cinneide
    Favourite Brian O Cinneide
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:31 AM

Go neiridh an t-adh leo agus go mbeannaidh Dia ar saighdiuri croga.

Mute fergalreid
    Favourite fergalreid
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:54 AM

Article 29 of Bunreacht na hEireann, to say nothing of the State’s UN membership obligations, should be sufficient to deflect criticism of this mission (or any peacekeeping mission) as some sort of violation of our neutrality.

“Ireland affirms its devotion to the ideal of peace and friendly co-operation amongst nations founded on international justice and morality.”

We may be neutral but we’re not pacifist.

Ireland’s long commitment to Lebanon will surely have some spillover effect in terms of experience when it comes to the Golan Heights in Syria.

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:28 AM

the fact that they are working for the UNSA is reason enough to criticise them. They wouldn’t help our own citizens in the north. fcuk them.

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 10:14 AM

ah joey,

joey is fergal reid….lol

Mute cooperguy
    Favourite cooperguy
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:21 AM

The constitution also doesn’t specify that we actually are neutral so there is always that too!

Mute Nathan Conroy
    Favourite Nathan Conroy
    Aug 25th 2013, 1:14 PM

It’s not their responsibility to help the “citizens” in the North.. Northern Ireland is under the british flag therefore its the british armies responsibility… This “great” knowledge of yours is obviously all coming from your previous army service… Pfffft!! Go join the force or read a few books before ya start dissing cause ya havent a clue ya clob!!

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:14 PM

Tom Daly Clarke. If you are such a Hero why do you hide behind a fake twitter account? Why don’t you use your real name and real FB/ Twitter account?

Mute Foxtrot Hotel
    Favourite Foxtrot Hotel
    Sep 1st 2013, 1:16 PM

You mean the Irish military should have invaded another country, basically? Yeah, because that’s a real clever thing to do.

Mute Alan Duffy
    Favourite Alan Duffy
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:32 AM

Hey, Tom.
    Change the f**king record will you?? Your ignorance is truly breathtaking!!

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:43 AM

ignorance about what exactly?

give me a link to one ignorant thing that I am supposed to have said.

Mute Karl Harty
    Favourite Karl Harty
    Aug 25th 2013, 12:44 PM

stop feeding the troll and it will soon vanish.

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 1:39 PM

I hope he goes soon.

Mute Michael Mc Mahon
    Favourite Michael Mc Mahon
    Aug 25th 2013, 7:09 PM

Ah lads, how the hell did this turn into a United Ireland debate, wish all the soldiers going abroad a safe tour, tis pretty crazy over there!

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:25 AM

A propaganda piece if ever I saw one. Are we not neutral? They have absolutely no business going to Syria unless it it is to fight for ASSAD against terrorist skum.

Mute Ian Jennings
    Favourite Ian Jennings
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:31 AM

You’re supporting the guy using chemical weapons on civilians?? Really?

Mute WanderArch
    Favourite WanderArch
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:33 AM

We are neutral. Perhaps you missed the first line where it says “United Nations Mission”? Which in turn would suggest peacekeeping? Which in turn wouldn’t have an affect on neutrality? Which in turn makes your point moot?

Mute Alan Grouse
    Favourite Alan Grouse

@ Ian

Is there clear, unequivocal evidence showing that Assad did indeed use chemical weapons? Its a messy messy conflict and im not sure what side is more in the right but i do know there are plenty of online vids of extremists showing themselves in possession of such weapons. Whatever force from whichever country goes over there will potentially be seen as a threat and ultimately a despised one.

There are some extreme elements involved in that war and while its heartbreaking to watch whats happening i cant help but feel the West would be better to leave it to the Arab league to sort out.

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:24 AM

ian,
    you brainwashed idiot,

Assad is not using chemicals, the unsa backed opposition is.

Mute Conor McGuinness
    Favourite Conor McGuinness
    Aug 25th 2013, 10:33 AM

The UN mission has nothing to do with the civil war, however just to note that anyone who believes that Assad, the Syrian government or its military were responsible for the gas attack are ignoring logic and evidence.
    1. The last chemical weapon massacre in Syria, the one that almost had the French dropping bombs, was proven, ( and to be fair, accepted by the Western powers and media) to have been carried out by the rebels.
    2. The Syrian army is a professional army comprised of Syrian citizens and is well integrated into Syrian society, with regiments from every area and tribe. The rebels are primarily foreign-born jihadists, western mercenaries, or Syrians that have spend many years studying in Al-Qaeda aligned madrasahs in Pakistan.
    3. Eight days before the attack, a company of rebels were arrested by Turkish troops on the Turkish side of the boarder, and were discovered to use been transporting 3 chemical weapons canisters. This was reported on Al Jazeera, which despite a veneer of neutrality is on the intervention of things.
    4. The chemical attack happens deep within rebel held territory, and were reportedly delivered by artillery, yet the same area has not come under normal artillery fire prior or since this event, possibly because its out of range, or maybe because the army does not have the resources.
    5. UN chemical weapons investigators were in Syria at the time of the attack, the attack provides a great excuse for intervention. Ask yourself, who would that serve?

Mute Bad Panda
    Favourite Bad Panda
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:56 AM

No, we aren’t neutral.

And if you think we are, please show me where it says so in our constitution, or tell me when we signed 1907 The Hague Convention, or show me where it is written in our laws

Mute royston T justice
    Favourite royston T justice

Well done Connor! ;-)

Can’t believe people could begin to assume the deployment & civil war were any way linked..

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Aug 25th 2013, 2:42 PM

Bad panda,
    Our neutrality is just a matter of foreign policy. I don’t know why everyone kicks up a fuss about it anyway, it was adopted to avoid getting dragged into WWII and isn’t really relavent to nowadays.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Aug 25th 2013, 2:47 PM

By rights our neutrality,is better described as Non belligerent.

Mute Bad Panda
    Favourite Bad Panda
    Aug 25th 2013, 4:47 PM

Ireland isn’t in any formal alliances but that’s not what makes a neutral state in international law. Switzerland, Sweden, Austria & Finland have all enshrined it in their constitutions/national law and have signed up the The Hague Convention. We haven’t done any of those things and the actions of our state would actually be in direct breach of the Convention and we wouldn’t be entitled to claim neutral status even if we had signed it. Ireland is NOT a neutral state

Mute Kevin Whyte
    Favourite Kevin Whyte
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:59 PM

Alan, did u see one uniform among the victims?
    Did you see one uniform among the helpers?

Mute Kevin Whyte
    Favourite Kevin Whyte
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:06 PM

The chemical attack was preceded by artillery to break windows etc to allow the gas do maximum damage.
    Looks very much like Government work to me.

Mute Alan bang
    Favourite Alan bang
    Aug 26th 2013, 12:07 AM

What’s this “we” business your a Brit you live in Northern Ireland from what you say, we don’t want you the Brits don’t want you, take the hint and F!CK off.

Mute Alan Grouse
    Favourite Alan Grouse
    Aug 26th 2013, 5:03 AM

@ Kevin

Would i be wrong in thinking the Rebels also have artillery? Is it really inconceivable that some rebel faction(s) were behind both the chemical weapon attack and the artillery assault?

I haven’t seen any evidence so im reserving judgement until i do

Mute Fong Wannapho
    Favourite Fong Wannapho
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:54 AM

The Irish army are the equivalent of ‘Dad’s Army’, a complete joke and Ireland has never been neutral either, ask the US administration.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Aug 25th 2013, 5:00 PM

And you would know this through your vast military experience I take it or did you decide that after playing too much playstation.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Aug 25th 2013, 6:52 PM

stephen, you can tell by looking at the equipment and funding of the Irish army. As brave as these men and women are, they would only be able to defend the country for about 10 minutes. I don’t understand why our brave government insists on putting them in harms way without the proper resources. Shameless PR BS for our masters I’ll bet.

Mute Karl Nugent
    Favourite Karl Nugent
    Aug 25th 2013, 6:53 PM

The PDF is one of the best trained modern forces in the world as are the ARW who regularly train with special forces all over the world specialising in anti terrorist activities. You obviously don’t know what you are talking about.

It is why the Irish soldiers are respected the world over for being both professional and friendly with the local population and have built up a great relationship with the people of Lebanon.

How are the US and British troops getting on with the locals in Afghanistan and Iraq?

Another thing to remember is that in a recent Special Forces competition conducted by the UN Irish Special Forces came in second over all in a competition covering a huge array of disciplines.

Get your facts right and show a bit of resect.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:17 PM

@censored what equipment exactly are you talking about and what’s wrong with it in your opinion

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:24 PM

As your mother said to your father Fong “your some useless pice of shi7″. It was a common ground for them.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:44 PM

Second last would be more like it. A bunch of lager louts

Mute Kevin Whyte
    Favourite Kevin Whyte
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:54 PM

They have proudly served Ireland as peace keepers in many conflicts around the world, gaining the respect of many nations and both sides of many conflicts.
    The Congo, the Lebenon, Liberia, Sierra Leone, Syria,
    The list grows as respect for the manner they carry out their duties brings new requests for the services they provide so well.
    Well done all

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:13 PM
    Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    Aug 26th 2013, 12:28 AM

Karl ..That SF competition was over five years ago!!!Have ARW been in the top five since??? Its a bit like saying Almost won the world cup….once!Also anti terrorist activity is something completely different to going and fighting a counter insurgency or gureilla war.Be like sending a Garda to deal with the PLO.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Aug 26th 2013, 8:07 AM

@simon that competition was actually last year at the international United States sniper competition at fort benning

Mute Ray Adamson
    Favourite Ray Adamson
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:27 PM

Wish a safe tour of duty to all involved. We have an exceptional army, good story Journal.

Mute Ray Adamson
    Favourite Ray Adamson
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:01 PM

You obviously missed the part where they’re going into a war zone, as Peacekeepers.

Perhaps hiding behind the egg behind blinded ya…?

Mute Alan Kelleher
    Favourite Alan Kelleher
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:21 PM

@rodrigo the soldier in the photo doesn’t fit your stereotypical image.

Mute Cian O Criodain
    Favourite Cian O Criodain
    Aug 25th 2013, 7:16 PM

Seems like a very serious and professional guy. Wishing them all a safe trip. Beanncht leo go léir.

Mute Cian O Criodain
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:22 PM

Beannacht*

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:55 AM

Unless they are defending their own country in their own country. Soilders are nothing more than paid murderers. Risking their life for a little money so that big business can make loads of money

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 10:12 AM

exactly john,
    they didn’t have the balls to help nationalists in the north.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Aug 25th 2013, 4:57 PM

@john what exactly is a soilder

@tom daly I don’t think I’ve ever seen an army reject as bitter as you

Mute Cian O Criodain
    Aug 25th 2013, 7:18 PM

Completely agree. The British and Americans should have left France, Belgium and the rest of Europe to the Germans back in the 40′s. What business did they have liberating those people from a totalitarian, genocidal régime?

You’re an idiot.

Mute Gus Whearity
    Favourite Gus Whearity
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:21 AM

‘We have military stuff as well’ lol you Irish crack me up.

Mute Killian Lynch
    Favourite Killian Lynch
    Aug 26th 2013, 7:27 PM

I see the xenophobe is back.

Mute Gus Whearity
    Favourite Gus Whearity
    Aug 26th 2013, 7:30 PM

You have me mixed up kind sir I don’t play a percussion instrument

Mute Killian Lynch
    Favourite Killian Lynch
    Aug 26th 2013, 8:08 PM

How droll. I definitely don’t have you mixed you up though. I picked you up on a similar comment about ‘us Irish’ several weeks ago. I’m glad to see you’ve learned from that experience.

Mute Sammy Sausages
    Favourite Sammy Sausages
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:04 PM

28 seems young to be a Captain. Fair play to him. He must be one of the army’s promising officers. Best of luck to him and his comrades.

Mute Morticia
    Favourite Morticia
    Aug 25th 2013, 10:21 AM

Surely they are just going to see what the Israeli’s are doing and not to watch Assad and the MB ?

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Aug 25th 2013, 6:49 PM

They’re probably just going to watch what everybody is doing, “watch” being the operative word. I doubt any of the various factions will be too worried about 150 Irish peacekeepers. If anything happens they can offer tea and biscuits to the aggressors as they pass through.

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:48 AM

You have to ask the question, whether Ireland are sending troops in order to get the Rangers over there (quietly) for some more specific operations?

Mute Bobbie Byrne
    Favourite Bobbie Byrne
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:01 AM

True. And with them out of the way the path is clear for Celtic to win the championship.

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:25 AM

the rangers had plenty of ‘specific reasons’ to help irish nationalists but they ran away from the brits.

Mute Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Favourite Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Aug 25th 2013, 10:17 AM

Explain that one Tom.

Explain how the ARW could conquer Northern Ireland?

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:57 AM

Why do you have to ask that?

Mute Woof
    Favourite Woof
    Aug 25th 2013, 1:44 PM

Quite frankly no-one should be engaging with guerrillas until they learn to behave properly and stop exposing themselves in front of innocent children in Zoo’s the world over.

Mute Woof
    Favourite Woof
    Aug 25th 2013, 1:45 PM

How did the comment end up here? Apologies, it was aimed at my cultured and dignified friend Tom.

Mute Sinead Fay
    Favourite Sinead Fay
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:52 PM

Safe trip to all the armed forces see you all in march 2014

Mute Thomas Hanlon
    Favourite Thomas Hanlon
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:06 PM

Good Luck to the lads in Syria, they’ll do us proud

Mute phunkyboy
    Favourite phunkyboy
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:39 AM

The irish army didn’t even come out in the snow when the country was nearly in emergency. Or when they was floods , they’re as useful as a dog with 2 mickeys.

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:51 AM

They did, on both occasions.

Mute Tom Daly Clarke
    Aug 25th 2013, 12:43 PM

sure didn’t they make sandwiches and tea for nationalist refugees instead of of fighting brit terrorists.

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Aug 25th 2013, 12:58 PM

You seem obsessed with sandwiches & tea.

Mute micheal285
    Favourite micheal285
    Aug 25th 2013, 6:16 PM

Quite a chip u have on ur shoulder there Tom : u shud do a little more research especially on Border incidents and u might be pleasantly surprised in face it might even knock that chip of ur shoulder .

Mute Martin O Connell
    Favourite Martin O Connell
    Aug 26th 2013, 1:51 AM

I think fake names should be banned on the Journal. A bunch of idiots hiding behind fake names.

Mute Tim Higgins
    Favourite Tim Higgins
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:42 AM

I presume this a voluntary deployment, and anyone that volunteers will be handsomely compensated?

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Aug 25th 2013, 10:46 AM

Soldiers can & have been directed to deploy overseas. How much would you pay someone to go into a conflict zone where there’s a real chance of being killed or injured?

Mute David F O'Connell
    Favourite David F O'Connell
    Aug 25th 2013, 1:50 PM

Depends on your definition of “handsomely compensated”, or what you think might be appropriate financial reward for going to a potential war zone…

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Aug 25th 2013, 3:43 PM

You can earn a couple of million just by sitting behind a big desk in a business with absolutely no risks to your safety. Potentially putting your life on the line to prevent two countries blowing each other to pieces offers a paltry sum in comparison.

Mute eric grixy
    Favourite eric grixy
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:11 PM

ah right ; story of kids dying in syria then this old story pulled out again ; preparing paddy for war are we dahlings ?

Mute Jer Lonergen
    Favourite Jer Lonergen
    Aug 25th 2013, 10:23 PM

Some people in Ireland would like to compare the Irish Rangers to the Israeli special forces, or even the SAS, or American marines, but in fact it’s like comparing a shitzu to an Irish wolfhound.

Mute Mick Duffy
    Favourite Mick Duffy
    Sep 29th 2013, 4:01 PM

On what experience do you base that little gem of an opinion. My guess is that you are pure …..100% civilian…… JOIN UP OR SHUT UP !!!!!

Mute COOM
    Favourite COOM
    Aug 25th 2013, 10:20 AM

Unarmed defence force are not in anyway an Army. These missions are purely for financial gain for the people volunteering.

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Aug 25th 2013, 10:46 AM

Unarmed?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Aug 25th 2013, 3:44 PM

Someone clearly doesn’t understand the definition of the word army.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Aug 25th 2013, 6:55 PM

They might as well be unarmed, relatively speaking.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Modern_weapons_of_the_Irish_Army

I think the word “Modern” is being used in Ironic fashion. Check out the “Modern vehicles” section for more laughs.

Mute Nyal Maku
    Favourite Nyal Maku
    Aug 25th 2013, 7:00 PM

Read the article, actually here you go, a bit of ctrl+v for your convenience;
    “Are you going to be armed?”

“Yes. We bring our own protection and weapons. We, the Irish Army, have very good Force Protection Measures.

“We will have our Armoured Personnel Carriers (APCs) for force protection. We also each have our own individual protection issued to each soldier, as well as weapons. Both are very, very good. We’re a modern, Western, professional army and we’re well equipped and well trained because of that.”

As for the financial gain bit, yes of course there is incentive but you won’t see soldiers returning wearing Versace combat fatigues and gold-plated Steyrs. It’s a fair reward for the hard work, dedication and bravery of these soldiers who do a phenomenal job of representing Ireland.

Mute Nyal Maku
    Favourite Nyal Maku
    Aug 25th 2013, 7:06 PM

@censored, it’s not the kit, it’s the training that makes the difference. The most dangerous weapon any soldier has is the grey matter between the ears and the troops next to them who watch their back.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Aug 25th 2013, 8:51 PM

@censored which of the vehicles would you change the mowags are modern the Americans copied them and now call them Strykers the scanias are used by the Germans and are only in around 5 years and the LTAVs are in around the same time

Mute Johnny Cobblepot
    Favourite Johnny Cobblepot
    Aug 26th 2013, 12:40 AM

Bang on.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Aug 26th 2013, 1:14 AM

http://usatoday30.usatoday.com/news/world/afghanistan/2011-08-14-stryker-IED-protect-troops_n.htm

Just one example. Of course, there will no danger from IEDs. Even the militias in that area have been better armed and equipped than the Irish army. No disrespect to our soldiers.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Aug 26th 2013, 8:20 AM

@johnny what experience do you have of any army apart from the odd war movie or call of duty. you’re the sort of person who thinks they’re a hard man but only when they’re hidden behind a keyboard or have had a few drinks. Other than that ul always b a coward

Mute Gearóid O Machain
    Favourite Gearóid O Machain
    Aug 26th 2013, 12:47 AM

history will judge those who took part in todays bullshit wars! this should be the Irish peoples red line for crying out loud!!

Mute Mark Barrett
    Favourite Mark Barrett
    Aug 26th 2013, 3:51 AM

I love the Irish but how are 5 Irish soldiers going to separate the Israelis and Homas/ Syrians?

Mute Kirby Matt
    Favourite Kirby Matt
    Aug 25th 2013, 2:07 PM

Don’t know why the north comes up in these discussions, fact is a lot of men from the south were involved in the troubles.

To be honest I don’t think any Irish soldier should be sent to this situation as they may have the training but will lack the equipment and the kind of mental regime present in other arms like the Brits and Americans. In other words they are more intelligent and come from a caring society but you’d never guess that from reading these comments,this mission will be mental torture given the madness at play over there. Kids been knee capped on sight for the last 12 months is just one such unreported fact,

Mute MB
    Favourite MB
    Aug 25th 2013, 11:09 AM

G-UN.

Mute Aaron Doody
    Favourite Aaron Doody
    Aug 25th 2013, 9:30 PM

Stupid questions should be answered with a stupid response! :-/

Mute Pauline Ryan
    Favourite Pauline Ryan
    Oct 21st 2013, 12:20 AM

Considering this article was about the Irish Army being deployed to Syria I think that a lot of contributors should not have bothered with their posts. They missed the point. Nothing to do with past northern Irish deployments, these men and women are being sent to Syria and hopefully will return safe and sound to their families. Take care lads and safe home.