You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Newstalk

Dil Wickremasinghe's Newstalk show has been cancelled

Wickremasinghe had announced that she would not present her radio show following the comments made by George Hook before he was suspended.

BROADCASTER DIL WICKREMASINGHE has announced that her Newstalk career has come to an abrupt end.

In a statement, which she posted to her followers on Twitter, the presenter said, “Earlier today I met with Newstalk management who told me that despite positive ratings and performance, my Saturday night radio show ‘Global Village’ has been cancelled.

I am shocked and deeply disappointed at this sudden news.

Wickremasinghe described presenting Global Village on Newstalk as “one of the greatest privileges of my life” and thanked the production team and voluntary and community groups who collaborated on the show.

Last month on 14 September, before George Hook was suspended, Wickremasinghe had announced that she would not present her radio show following the comments made by George Hook about rape.

Hook was suspended the following day after widespread condemnation of his comments about rape on his lunchtime show where the presenter asked “is there no blame now to the person who puts themselves in danger?”.

Hook is returning to Newstalk from December to take on a new weekend slot after stepping down from his afternoon show High Noon.

The comments section on this article has been switched off.

Read: Newstalk bans Irish Times journalists from its airwaves after George Hook furore>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

235 Comments
    Mute Humphrey De Fluff
    Favourite Humphrey De Fluff
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:47 PM

Great news. Something positive out of the Hook debacle.

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:01 PM

@Humphrey De Fluff: Amen, brother.

Mute MaryLoonyMcDonald
    Favourite MaryLoonyMcDonald
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:40 PM

@Titus Groan: the show was pure manure anyway

Mute Shane Murphy
    Favourite Shane Murphy
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:01 PM

@Humphrey De Fluff: sounds like George and Dennis had a liquid lunch and got done stuff figured out.

Mute Randal McNally
    Favourite Randal McNally
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:27 PM

@MaryLoonyMcDonald: agree

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Oct 6th 2017, 10:27 AM

@Titus Groan: Amen sisters

Mute Hall Monitor
    Favourite Hall Monitor
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:57 PM

Her 25 listeners will be devastated.

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:12 PM

@Hall Monitor: You’re being generous.

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:54 PM

@Eamonn Sheen: yeah, you’re right. They probably won’t be.

Mute Stiofán Ó Cléirigh
    Favourite Stiofán Ó Cléirigh
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:35 PM

@Hall Monitor: it was the token show but all pic out the window now

Mute Robert T Pooner
    Favourite Robert T Pooner
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:01 AM

@Hall Monitor: Have they disabled comments on this?

Mute Robert T Pooner
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:01 AM

@Robert T Pooner: Guess not… says at the bottom of the article that they had. Weird

Mute LE CHIFFRE
    Favourite LE CHIFFRE
    Oct 6th 2017, 10:01 AM

@Hall Monitor: But that amounts to 18000 genders and other labels

Mute Al coholic
    Favourite Al coholic
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:46 PM

Who?

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:02 PM

@Al coholic: You mean Woo hoo!!

Mute Minom Pnom
    Favourite Minom Pnom
    Oct 6th 2017, 2:46 AM

@Sinead Hanley: Christmas has come early this year. What a self-righteous udder she is.

Mute Tony Shaw
    Favourite Tony Shaw
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:54 PM

Delighted at that news. She jumped on the PC narcissistic bandwagon and got caught out. Enjoy the dole.

Mute Randal McNally
    Favourite Randal McNally
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:59 PM

@Tony Shaw: your dead right. There’s hope for the world yet !

Oct 5th 2017, 9:05 PM

@Ruth McCann: no I’d say she breached her contract…

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Mary Elizabeth Whittle
    Favourite Mary Elizabeth Whittle
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:11 PM

@Ruth McCann: she’s being let go because she failed to do her job..

Mute Simon Carroll
    Favourite Simon Carroll
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:30 PM

@Ruth McCann: if I went onto social media and blasted a colleague for doing something in work, I’d probably be sacked or reprimanded too, rightly so.

Regardless of what was said by whom, she gave an ultimatum so you could say she made her bed and now she has to lie in it. Lots of people work with people they dislike or disagree with but they don’t expect management to make decisions based on who “gets along and shares the same opinions”

Mute Feach News
    Favourite Feach News
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:32 PM

@Ruth McCann:
    She was given a privileged platform to air her extremely niche programme and refused to turn up for work because she disagreed with the views of a fellow presenter.
    ‘Don’t bite the hand that feeds you” springs to mind.

Mute declan leonard
    Favourite declan leonard
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:03 PM

@Tony Shaw: she’s self employed…..wont get the dole

Mute Ruth McCann
    Favourite Ruth McCann
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:36 PM

@Mary Elizabeth Whittle: “is there no blame now to the person who puts themselves in danger?”. This is what she was protesting against. and it wasn’t just her

Mute Randal McNally
    Favourite Randal McNally
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:30 PM

@Tony Shaw: trouble is that our Media are riddled with these self righteous PC fascist brigade who are intolerant to any contra opinions

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:41 PM

@Ruth McCann: nope.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:43 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: it could be argues that her employment was terminated because she presented her employers with an ultimatum..

Mute nick mullen
    Favourite nick mullen
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:06 AM

@Feach News: luckily she did

Mute Aisling Ní Bhróithe
    Favourite Aisling Ní Bhróithe
    Oct 6th 2017, 5:07 AM

@Randal McNally: ah here, I was looking forward to moving back to Ireland in a few weeks time, until I saw your comment. How much of the population has become a mouthpiece for the Trump/ Farage agenda? By all means have your own opinion but at least come up with the idea yourself and stop being a parrot. Has having a debate in Ireland also been reduced the headache inducing sound bites (on both sides) like it has here in the UK since the referendum?

Mute Bewarethebeardz
    Favourite Bewarethebeardz
    Oct 6th 2017, 6:23 AM

@Aisling Ní Bhróithe: utterly pointless comment. You want everyone to have a unique opinion on everything? Are you 14?

Mute Nial D
    Favourite Nial D
    Oct 6th 2017, 7:50 AM

@Ruth McCann: Hook was dead right in what he said.

Mute Mondo
    Favourite Mondo
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:26 AM

@Ruth McCann: well done ruth. You have continuously proved that all he did was ask a question. Case closed you can come down from your own arse now

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:56 PM

Person refuses to do job. Gets fired from job.

Next.

Oct 5th 2017, 9:06 PM

@Ben McArthur: that a pretty much it I’d say !

Mute James Bishop
    Favourite James Bishop
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:49 PM

@Ben McArthur: She should have kept her mouth shut. That is what anyone sensible would have done. Cost her big time.

Mute Super Ted
    Favourite Super Ted
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:05 PM

What goes around comes around Dill, I’m delighted that you got a taste of your own medicine. Chris Donoghue should also be ran out of newstalk by his bosses, he’s not somebody you’d want with you in the trenches.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:23 PM

@Super Ted: Now that is true. He got on a PC bandwagon at the expense of his collegue and a decent man George Hook. Shame on you Sir!!

Mute Les Boyd
    Favourite Les Boyd
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:48 PM

Good ridence

Mute David Gantly
    Favourite David Gantly
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:09 AM

@Les Boyd: Good what?

Mute John Mc Grath
    Favourite John Mc Grath
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:49 PM

again no one will notice.

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:09 PM

@John Mc Grath: I notice because it’s brightened up my night a little bit. Does that count?

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:49 PM

@TonyF: hahahaha…That was harsh. Made me laugh.

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:16 AM

@The Girl: think it was pretty tepid for thejournal to me honest. You’re expectations are clearly low..

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:23 AM

@Titus Groan: I’m referring to the hash “No”! reply you got. Just thought it was funny as I pictured Squidward saying it. Sorry if I hurt your feelings…it’s still funny though…:-)

Mute Gareth Gill
    Favourite Gareth Gill
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:19 PM

Brutal show dripping in contrived multicultural motifs. Was like attending diversity training at work. Forced right-on’ anecdotes about ‘progress’ and ‘embraces’. Just make ‘Off the Ball’ longer, schedule fixed…

Mute Noel Barnes
    Favourite Noel Barnes
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:57 PM

@Gareth Gill: spot on

Mute WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Favourite WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Oct 6th 2017, 5:37 AM

@Gareth Gill: off the ball is a brilliant show isn’t it . I don’t like sports at all and I love the show cause the lads are so funny and the interviews are brilliant !

Mute Jason L. Reid 
    Favourite Jason L. Reid 
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:31 PM

Going to be a long walk down off that moral high ground to her local social welfare office. Delighted for her

Mute TravellingTheWorld
    Favourite TravellingTheWorld
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:57 PM

HAAAaaaaaaàaaaaaaaaaaaa HAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Mute sean nihill
    Favourite sean nihill
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:58 PM

She used to say we’re all part of a global village. Except when you say something she doesn’t agree with it seems.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:28 PM

@sean nihill: razor sharp comment

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:08 AM

@sean nihill: 10/10. Exactly. You reap what you sow.

Mute MyBrokenKnees
    Favourite MyBrokenKnees

Not surprised the axe will fall on a few more over the coming months.

Mute Donal O Cofaigh
    Favourite Donal O Cofaigh
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:12 PM

Delighted!!

Mute Donal Ring
    Favourite Donal Ring
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:37 PM

@Donal O Cofaigh: Let´s have more right wing fogies like Bobby, Ivan and George.

Mute kevin
    Favourite kevin
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:17 PM

Karma maybe? Talk about overplaying your hand during the hook controversy.

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen

Good riddance. The few times that I had the misfortune of hearing it, all I heard was toxic western man hating.

Mute Frank Dubogovik
    Favourite Frank Dubogovik
    Oct 6th 2017, 8:41 AM

@Eamonn Sheen: I resent the “western” part there………that ridiculous excuse of a programme was ALL INCLUSIVE..ALL males were hated equally

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:13 PM

Could get a gig on the journal – need to fail a spelling test and report stuff 2 days after it happened to meet the standards of excellence they demand

Mute Andrew Nolan
    Favourite Andrew Nolan
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:17 PM

@Goldberg: And yet here you are.

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:23 PM

@Andrew Nolan: I don’t go on here for news, merely to observe the fruitcakes in the comments section, bit like a parallel universe of the Daily Mail comments section

Mute TravellingTheWorld
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:35 PM

@Goldberg: 2 days? How about 20 years?

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:04 PM

@TravellingTheWorld: Fair point, I rounded it down

Mute Jazz Buckler
    Favourite Jazz Buckler
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:19 PM

@Goldberg: same here!

Mute Mise Éire
    Favourite Mise Éire
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:02 PM

Great news. She knew her show was rubbish and likely to be scrapped in the near future so she took it out on those around her and tried to play the martyr. Maybe the Irish Times will take her on so the majority of Irish people never have to hear or read about her again.

Mute mrmeade
    Favourite mrmeade
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:52 PM

I found her hard to listen to, constant gay issues all the time, she couldn’t go one show without bringing up Gay Gay Gay. I’ve nothing against Gays but her show was called global village not gay village. a self promoting attention grabber.

Mute mr non snowflake
    Favourite mr non snowflake
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:46 PM

Who cares.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:26 PM

@mr non snowflake: From what i know about her, i don’t think i would enjoy her show; however, we should all care. Not because she lost her job, but because of increasing control of the media by one individual. Are you really happy that a thin-skinned, perma-tanned billionaire tax dodger with suspect business ties is banning members of the media from the airwaves?

Mute Coco86
    Favourite Coco86
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:36 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: I take your point, but IMO this was a PR / Business decison similar to the stance taken with the Irish Times.

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:46 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: what’s Donald got to do with it?

Mute Jackie Caruana
    Favourite Jackie Caruana
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:03 PM

@Coco86: I think Newstalk have to show all of its employees that they are employees. For an employee to refuse to do their job in an effort to force the hand of the employer in a disciplinary matter is in itself deserving of disciplinary action. Personally I think she took a gamble in jumping on the PC bandwagon in order to increase her popularity. Did she really think she could walk out of a broadcast without any repercussions?

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:29 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: I’d love to see O’Brien rot in Mountjoy. But credit where it’s due. A mob of self appointed worthies tried to tell him who he can and cannot have on his radio station, and they got more than they bargained for. You’d want a heart of stone not to laugh at them.

Mute Stiofán Ó Cléirigh
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:39 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: this has nothing to do with @realdonaldtrump

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:25 PM

@Jackie Caruana: Excellent analysis to be fair Jackie. You nailed it.

Mute Randal McNally
    Favourite Randal McNally
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:04 PM

Presenting her program a privilege ? I’m a conservative with a small c, and have a lot of liberal leanings, Her program was an abuse of privilege !

Mute Jackie Caruana
    Favourite Jackie Caruana
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:55 PM

@Randal McNally: I think there’s a treatment for that.

Mute ian kennedy
    Favourite ian kennedy
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:42 PM

@Randal McNally your a conservative with a small C , women say it make,s men better lover,s, as they have more to prove.

Mute Randal McNally
    Favourite Randal McNally
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:56 PM

@ian kennedy: maybe

Mute Daniel O'Neill
    Favourite Daniel O'Neill
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:43 PM

The only good news to come out of Newstalk of late. Global village was mediocre at best. The Right Hook with George Hook excellent. She was diluded in her protest v Hook (and his fans) and her employers.

Mute Randal McNally
    Favourite Randal McNally
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:56 PM

Good !

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:53 PM

I always thought that show was quite weak, but is her firing anything to do with her refusing to host her show in protest against a work colleague?

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:58 PM

@Mike: coming so soon after Irish Times journalists were banned from all Denis o Brien media, I say Mr o Brien has made a few phone calls recently. He’s obviously a Hook fan.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:08 PM

@Dermot Lane: Thats because George has the Order of The Brown nose!!!!

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:14 PM

@Dermot Lane: If it’s him, I’m in danger of becoming a DOB fan so. In fairness thejournal were all out to get Hook.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:39 PM

@Mike: yeah but do you not think it’s dangerous if DOB is hands on and interfering, given the huge stake he has in the media in Ireland?

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike

@Dermot Lane: He shouldn’t control so much media in Ireland full stop. Today FM and Newstalk should be separate imo. Controlling biggest print, online and radio should be prevented too. We end up having corporate interests dictating the talking points the way it is now.

I suppose we don’t know why Dill was fired, maybe, maybe not DOB. I’m thinking she was only there as a sop to the progressives and she’s bitten the hand that feeds. RTE will suit her down to the ground.

Mute Terry Cunningham
    Favourite Terry Cunningham
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:04 PM

It was cancelled cause it was s***e.

Mute Aaron G
    Favourite Aaron G
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:03 PM

Who,?

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:58 PM

Breach of contract?

Mute Michael Wynne
    Favourite Michael Wynne
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:30 PM

Good riddance . You and all 4 of your listeners wont be missed

Mute ian kennedy
    Favourite ian kennedy

DILIGHTED

Mute sportsmad
    Favourite sportsmad
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:49 PM

Nope, still don’t know who she is

Mute Soft Wind Roses
    Favourite Soft Wind Roses
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:26 PM

Now give him back his High Noon show and feck the bregrudgers. We miss him.

Mute Richard Griffin
    Favourite Richard Griffin
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:43 PM

Thank you George

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:30 PM

fantastic news .Good to see Newstalk standing by their man.

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:59 PM

Excellent news, made my day. Welcome back george.

Mute Brian Lonergan
    Favourite Brian Lonergan
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:33 PM

Nice piece of Karma there maybe?

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan

Day day!!

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:09 PM

Whilst admiring her standing up to be counted, her niavity was breathtaking. Her show had become a one women show against all things non LGTB, she seemed obsessed at the slightest notion of discrimination and more disturbing she failed abysmally in understanding the gold rule of broadcasting, OBJECTIVITY. I predicted she would be dismissed, was pillared for such a thought but Hook was always going to to triumph and oddly enough, Denis O Briens intervention tonight re Irish Times journalists will perhaps seal the utterly ghastly Hooks faith. Seems newstalk too will suffer, I for one will be switching the dial.

Mute Gerry Murphy
    Favourite Gerry Murphy
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:12 PM

@Joseph Dempsey: I think it’s wonderful- she was some pain

Mute Una Nolan
    Favourite Una Nolan
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:40 PM

Thought she was a bit of a pain ,

Mute Ruth McCann
    Favourite Ruth McCann
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:01 PM

It absolutely shocks me that the majority of idiots on this thread, who are men by the way, saying good riddance to a FEMALE radioshow host who stood up for herself and protested Hook’s comments on HIS show about how victims are to blame for being raped or sexually abused. So she gets fired, but HE gets moved to a new slot in December? and people wonder why incidents of rape, sexual abuse go unreported. George Hook should have been fired. It’s not surprising that he wasn’t because Newstalk is male dominated.

Oct 5th 2017, 9:09 PM

@TravellingTheWorld: you forgot to ask for the biscuits. .

Mute seanmccann
    Favourite seanmccann

@Ruth McCann: She was probably sacked for breach of contract. She refused to work essentially abandoning her job. There needs to be diversity of opinion in public discourse but not tolerence of mediocrity. I dont take any glee in her dismissal but its no surprise.

Mute Mary Elizabeth Whittle
    Favourite Mary Elizabeth Whittle
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:14 PM

@Ruth McCann: Ruth you need to go back & listen to the interview.. that’s not what he said.. .. you owe it to yourself to find out what he actually said… less people will keep disagreeing with you then..

Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:20 PM

@Ruth McCann: I’m not shocked at all really. Dil and the rest of her merry bandits in tights believe their opinions are widely shared with the rest of the country. Newsflash!!..They’re not. That’s why she got the graveyard shift and that’s why she got sacked. Her ratings sucked. Her opinions sucked. She refused to work for Newstalk as long as a fellow employee with higher ratings was employed. It was only going to end one way. If she didn’t see this eventual outcome arrising then she ain’t that bright.

Mute Niall Power
    Favourite Niall Power
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:21 PM

@Ruth McCann: boo hoo, evil men, delighted she got sacked.

Mute Coco86
    Favourite Coco86
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:39 PM

@Ruth McCann: #goodmangeorge

Mute Simon Carroll
    Favourite Simon Carroll
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:31 PM

@Ruth McCann: So any one that disagrees with you is an idiot? Gotcha!

Mute Ruth McCann
    Favourite Ruth McCann
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:32 PM

@Dj: she was sacked because of her refusal to host a show in the wake of hook;s comments about rape and victim blaming.. do you think if it was a man who protested against a woman saying these things, would we be having this debate? We have Trump who is WORSE than Hook as the president of the world even though he’s said some despicable things about women, foreigners, etc

Mute Stiofán Ó Cléirigh
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:45 PM

@Ruth McCann: she would love a new slot

Mute James Bishop
    Favourite James Bishop
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:53 PM

@Ruth McCann: Ruth, I am not being facetious, but sometimes the best thing to do is ignore, and keep your mouth shut and she would still have job if she did that. Her behaviour was abhorrent.

Mute Randal McNally
    Favourite Randal McNally
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:49 PM

@seanmccann: agree. she, and her program were 5th rate standard, and she was a boring “Single Issue” (Gay) campaigner all the time even though there was no need for it anymore. Like a dog this chases the Bus and when it stops, doesn’t know what to do with it ?!

Mute A H
    Favourite A H
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:54 PM

@Ruth McCann: Jezusss christ

Mute Eamonn O'Riain
    Favourite Eamonn O'Riain
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:30 PM

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!
    I’m so glad.

Mute willow moon
    Favourite willow moon
    Oct 6th 2017, 7:40 AM

She tried to take a person’s livelihood from them. Serves her right. Politically correct virtue signalling has backfired for once.

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:15 PM

I never heard of her or her show until her inflated protest against Hooks opinion. It looks like she rattled too loud and like what would happen to any employee in the land she brought down unwelcome attention from her employer.

Mute gowfc@yahoo.com W
    Favourite gowfc@yahoo.com W

Newstalk is doomed…..

Mute Liam Austin
    Favourite Liam Austin
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:13 PM

Brilliant

Mute Bewarethebeardz
    Oct 6th 2017, 6:37 AM

I left the front door of my house wide open all day. House was robbed. ‘is there no blame on me?’

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Oct 6th 2017, 7:26 AM

@Bewarethebeardz:
    I left mine open for a whole weekend by mistake while I was away and I was not robbed. It’s a miracle!

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 6th 2017, 8:13 AM

@Bewarethebeardz: just goes to show how stupid you are for using such a stupid comparison, when you leave the front door of your house open there is always a possibility of been robbed. How ever no one knows when they are about to be raped, no person would put themselves in the company of some one that has raped someone, it is never the victims fault it is and always will be the responsibility of the culprit. I can’t believe so many stupid people like you and other journal comments exist

Mute Bewarethebeardz
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:02 AM

@Casper: I agree with you that the rapist is totally wrong. That isn’t the issue.

Mute Robert T Pooner
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:45 PM

That’s easy for you to say

Mute Brian McDonnell
    Favourite Brian McDonnell
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:36 PM

…..and in about 3-6 weeks time (I am being generous with that estimate) this story will be more or less forgotten about as social media moves on to the next great outrage when someone else puts their foot squarely in their mouth, causes uproar and gets the mob baying for blood, which will then more or less be forgotten about in 3-6 weeks……etc, etc, etc…..I have disposable razors that last longer than social media’s disposable memory.

Mute Niamh O Connor
    Favourite Niamh O Connor
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:19 PM

I liked her show and so did my husband . There is very few good women broadcasters and she is one of them

Mute Nigel Griffin
    Favourite Nigel Griffin
    Oct 6th 2017, 10:01 AM

@Niamh O Connor: did he? …….. really?

Mute SYM-Metal
    Favourite SYM-Metal
    Oct 6th 2017, 7:31 AM

She should consider herself lucky to have had a show on National radio.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:45 PM

Newetalk holds a deep resentment towards women.

Mute Austin hickey
    Favourite Austin hickey
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:07 AM

We want George we want George I love contraversy he made a big mistake. Let he with out sin cast the first stone

Mute dangermouse
    Favourite dangermouse
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:47 PM

DOB sacking journalist again.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Oct 5th 2017, 8:49 PM

@dangermouse: you’re playing fast and loose with the word journalist there.

Mute Nigel Griffin
    Favourite Nigel Griffin
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:56 AM

great news, think she was starting to run out of things that oppress the lgbtq community anyway

Mute Mondoburley
    Favourite Mondoburley
    Oct 6th 2017, 7:31 AM

Hurry back George, the afternoons aren’t the same without your rants..

Mute Ne
    Favourite Ne
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:34 AM

One of the most boring programmes on the station.

Mute carodeer
    Favourite carodeer

Hope she sues the socks off them. Disgusted with Menstalk. Didn’t enjoy her show but no way to be treated. Awful Trumpian women hating comments on here again.

Mute Chad Rockett
    Favourite Chad Rockett
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:21 PM

I wonder what odds Paddy Power offers on a Journal comment section that doesn’t mention Trump.

Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:24 PM

@carodeer: Sue for dismissal due to breach of contract. She’d be laughed out of court!

Mute nick mullen
    Favourite nick mullen
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:20 AM

@carodeer:

Mute Stevie Doran
    Favourite Stevie Doran
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:39 PM

It was crap anyway

Mute Paddy Sparky Power
    Favourite Paddy Sparky Power
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:23 PM

Pushers out!

Mute Broadoak
    Favourite Broadoak
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:50 PM

Sad to see so many people celebrating the perceived demise of people with integrity. Blaming a victim for being raped cannot be condoned in any civilised society.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:57 PM

@Broadoak: only that didn’t happen. Interesting to see why she was fired

Mute GizmoIrl
    Favourite GizmoIrl

Are they going to fire the men who came out against Hook, of course not. Living up to the Misogyny they’ve been charged with. And yes the Director is a woman, women can hate women too.

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:54 PM

@GizmoIrl: Don’t be so sure. There could be a certain male presenter with the initials CD following in her slipstream. I’d be worried if I were him. You know, cherry on top of the cake and all that.

Mute Arnold Lane
    Favourite Arnold Lane

@Deano Cracow: Yeah and then they should get rid of Paul Williams for being Paul Williams.

Mute Stiofán Ó Cléirigh
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:51 PM

@GizmoIrl: I love women

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:13 AM

@Deano Cracow: that pr!ck needs to go. Absolute slimeball

Mute Paul Humphries
    Favourite Paul Humphries

Hhhhbhbbuhhhuhhhuuhuhuhuhhh

Mute Gavin Foley
    Favourite Gavin Foley
    Oct 6th 2017, 2:23 AM

Thank God. I think her show is useless. She is a very poor presenter.

Mute Paul Humphries
    Favourite Paul Humphries

Hhhhbhbbuhhhuhhh

Mute James Bishop
    Favourite James Bishop
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:57 PM

@Paul Humphries: Totally agree.

Mute Mari
    Favourite Mari
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:49 PM

Its a disgrace to cancel her show..newstalk should hv suspended george hook straight away..but they only did it because of public out cry..and Dil gets fired fr doing the right thing..makes newstalk look sexist .?? At the very least..see ur legal team Dil

@Mari: why ? She refused to work and therefore was in breach of her contract which has now led to her being sacked ..

Mute Ruth McCann
    Favourite Ruth McCann
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:27 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: She refused to work because she was protesting against hook’s comments about rape and sexual abuse LIVE on AIR

Mute James Bishop
    Favourite James Bishop
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:56 PM

@Ruth McCann: That was naive on her part. Should have just kept to herself. Would still be in a job if she had.

Sometimes the best play is to remain silent.

Oct 5th 2017, 11:16 PM

@Ruth McCann: makes no odds what it was for ..she refused to do her job and she was sacked for it .

Mute Observer
    Favourite Observer
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:20 PM

And so the big tough men of newstalk have huddled together and decided to strike a blow for freedom of speech .. by putting hook back on his show ..eh no ..that would cost them ad revenue
    ..so in order to soothe their damaged little egos they take on and defeat …the lesbian immigrant with the one hour show!
    I think it shows what these guys are made of..was a bit worried about their influence but not anymore ..hook deserved to go but the guys who used him for ad well

I wish that woman well.

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:30 PM

@Observer: well said

Mute A H
    Favourite A H
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:58 PM

@Observer: You know what? If I don’t show up for work tomorrow because I don’t like what soneone I work with said….I’ll get let go tooo. Wakey wakeeyyyyy.

Mute Observer
    Favourite Observer
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:28 AM

@A H: you might be right about that ..my point was her actions were based on principle ..not because she disliked what he said ..their actions were and are mercenary ..she was prepared to lose her job they were not prepared to lose money..don’t know the woman or the sky over her
    But would respect her call

Mute yildun
    Favourite yildun
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:52 AM

Good for Snoweflake FM

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:15 AM

White, male, straight and conservative is the mainstream.

Plurality, diversity and catering to minorities is nit a huge money spinner.

Commercial reading is about money and that is about attracting viewers who agree with the Presenter’s perspective.

Right speak is the way.

Mute TravellingTheWorld
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:44 AM

@Fiona deFreyne: horsesh!te

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:55 AM

The worst part of this debacle for me is the fact I have to defend george bleedin hook

Mute Exit Eire
    Favourite Exit Eire
    Oct 6th 2017, 1:19 AM

@Fiona deFreyne: “Right Speak”, you mean the genuine opinions of Irish people who have been born and bred in Dublin, for many generations, who now find that they can’t even find a place to rent on the suburbs of the county that they were born in, because the likes of Dil Wickremasinghe wants to equate the rights of those who have no right in law to even be here, with the rights of people who have lived here and paid tax all their lives and are caught up in this housing crisis, which we all know is down to economic migration?

Mute tflynn
    Favourite tflynn
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:55 PM

Another female voice taken off the radio. Newstalk sexism continues

Mute Jimmy Ireland
    Favourite Jimmy Ireland
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:17 PM

@tflynn: Think you’ll find she took herself off the radio in protest at a colleague instead of leaving it to her employers to sort out.

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:27 PM

‘From the depths of hell I stab at thee’
    Khan (ST), Captain Ahab aaaand!! George Hook.

Mute Paul J. Redmond
    Favourite Paul J. Redmond
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:53 PM

@Deano Cracow: Actually that’s Hermann Melville from Moby Dick as quoted by Khan…

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow

@Paul J. Redmond: What Herman Melville book was Captain Ahab in?

Mute Stiofán Ó Cléirigh

@Deano Cracow: ooooooo k

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:39 AM

@Stiofán Ó Cléirigh: A bit melodramatic I will admit. Apt all the same.

Mute Niamh O Connor
    Favourite Niamh O Connor
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:22 PM

Do any of the haters have a woman or daughter at home who was raped before . ???

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:14 AM

@Niamh O Connor: change the channel Marge!!

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:41 AM

@Niamh O Connor: that has nothing whatsoever to do with why this woman was dismissed from her job though..

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:05 PM

Her show is canceled cause she’s a woman.

Mute Charles Murr
    Favourite Charles Murr
    Oct 6th 2017, 7:42 AM

Well done The Journal, I have never seen the Trolling clans so united on a topic. Nobel laureate institute take note!!

Mute Andrew Corrigan
    Favourite Andrew Corrigan

tbh l always though she was crap pandered to much to everyone

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:16 AM

@Andrew Corrigan: yea, I’d say that you were a regular listener.

Mute Mari
    Favourite Mari
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:52 PM

Well said Ruth Mccan..all men backing george hooks disgusting remarks..typical

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:40 PM

@Mari: trust me I am a man and I don’t back Hooks victim blaming remarks not one bit, it’s proper order he got the boot from his show I just don’t understand why they would bring him back in December,

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:57 AM

Is everyone gone mad or what.

Mute María Eugenia Baiardi
    Favourite María Eugenia Baiardi
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:43 AM

So she protests against George Hook and loses her programme and George Hook gets a slot during the weekend!
    So fewer women on the air than before! Well done Newstalk!

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper

This is disgraceful the way Newstalk have treated this lady I personally believe she is a great broadcaster and she has a good show which is very informative, but this is the kind of treatment you can expect when you speak out against a conservative radio station, shame on Newstalk the way they treat women is a disgrace

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:33 PM

@Casper: I also wonder what’s in store for the other staff in Newstalk that penned a letter to management to have Hook removed.

Mute A H
    Favourite A H
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:56 PM

@Casper: keep talking to yourself there Dil ahhh I mean Casper…..

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:09 AM

@A H: blah blah blah lolololololol

Mute A H
    Favourite A H

@Casper: you sound more like her every minute

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:23 AM

@A H: blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah lololololol

Mute Karen Brennan
    Favourite Karen Brennan
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:48 AM

George Hook..*sigh*… gone but not ..oh..wait.. actually totally forgotten!! Yippee! . He’ll come back, perhaps, to draw a raspy breath and spread spleen for a year or 2 max. Then, we can all breath a sigh of relief and let other more intresting, balanced and equally qualified hosts fill our airwaves!

Mute Paul Humphries
    Favourite Paul Humphries

HThe

Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj
    Oct 5th 2017, 11:15 PM

@Paul Humphries: well said. Much more accurate than your first two comments which in my opinion, was complete gibberish.

Mute Thequarewan
    Favourite Thequarewan
    Oct 5th 2017, 9:47 PM

Go Dil, go. I mean it, Go

Mute Kenneth Finnerty
    Favourite Kenneth Finnerty
    Oct 5th 2017, 10:52 PM

To err is human, and to forgive is divine,
    good luck Dil