You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

Credit union research finds we have more disposable income than this time last year

The credit union tracker shows early signs of recovery, as more people have money to spend and save.

THERE HAS BEEN a fall in the number of people who say their disposable income has decreased.

The Irish League of Credit Unions (ILCU) has today published the first ‘What’s Left’ tracker of 2014 which shows that since April 2013, disposable income has increased slightly.

In April 2013, 65 per cent of people said their disposable income had decreased, however, in April 2014 , just 54 per cent said it had.

For all adults, disposable income has increased by €13 since April 2013, while for working adults, disposable income has increased by €20 since April 2013.

Disposable income 

Speaking about the April 2014 tracker results, Kieron Brennan, CEO of ILCU said “over the past 12 months we have begun to see the first signs of possible economic recovery”.

He added:

This is certainly good news and should the results continue like this throughout 2014 it is quite possible that we will see a strengthening in consumer confidence which will impact on savings and spending levels.
Those struggling to pay their bills on time every month are becoming savvier and are shopping around for the best deals or switching providers in an effort to keep costs down.

Other findings from the research shows that more people are in a position to save compared to this time last year with 44 per cent in April 2014 as opposed to 39 per cent in April 2013.

The average amount saved is €177, up from €170 in April 2013 and an increase from €175 in December 2013.

An average family household is left with €327 at the end of a typical month, a slight decrease from €367 in December 2013. This may be due to the overall increased costs per household and may take account the impact of expenses like the property tax.

The average net income for a household in Ireland is €2,710 per month, up from €2,707 in December 2013.

Education

The cost of education has increased, according to the results. There has been a jump in third level education costs by €67 per month from December 2013 to €355 per month.

There has been a significant increase in school related costs for both primary and secondary by €86 per month from December 2013 to €138 per month.

There has also been an increase in cost of extra-curricular school activities by €15 to €86 per month since December 2013.

In terms of charitable giving 62 per cent of adults donate to charity in Ireland giving an average €25 per month.

Irish donors show strong preference for supporting Irish charities, 53 per cent, as opposed to international charities, at 7 per cent.

The recent financial scandals in the charity sector has caused 9 in 10 to rethink where they donate with 20 per cent saying they have stopped donating to charity completely.

Read: 250,000 households have less than €15,000 a year to live on>

Read: More households borrowing money to pay “increasingly unaffordable” energy bills>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

35 Comments
    Mute Gina Carroll
    Favourite Gina Carroll
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:06 PM

What a load of b….. , too late by now. Not needed, built a whole hospital.in China in TEN days.

Mute Just Some Guy
    Favourite Just Some Guy
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:10 PM

@Gina Carroll:

Build a hospital in 10 days? Lol. That is pure lies from China

Mute colm connolly
    Favourite colm connolly
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:13 PM

@Gina Carroll: they fitted out a hospital in an existing building

See 38 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul Lee
    Favourite Paul Lee
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:14 PM

@Gina Carroll: no they didn’t

Mute Marc Walsh
    Favourite Marc Walsh
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:17 PM

@Gina Carroll: everyone seems to think this pandemic is over when it’s only just begun. The warmer weather and precautions put in place to fight the virus have worked well for us but if you think the virus is gone your very wrong, there will be a resurgence in the winter months ahead.

Mute john flynn
    Favourite john flynn
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:18 PM

@Paul Lee: what was the live stream of the hospital being built I watched?

Mute Ajax Penumbra
    Favourite Ajax Penumbra
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:19 PM

@Gina Carroll: Do you really want to start comparing Ireland to China as a like for like comparison? It’s amazing what can be done when a totalitarian government with no regard for health and safety is calling the shots. You do know it wasn’t a permanent structure that they built? It was a prefabricated structure based on plans and materials used to build something similar for the SARS epidemic in 2003— ie: stuff they already had. As far as I’m aware, no such stockpile exists in Ireland.

Mute Wheresmyjumper
    Favourite Wheresmyjumper
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:27 PM

@Marc Walsh: are you a doctor?

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:30 PM

@Just Some Guy: you obviously don’t watch or listen to the news as video and pictures of it getting done we’re plastered all over the media at the time!!

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:31 PM

@colm connolly: Your wrong, they did not and get your facts right.

Mute Eoin Scanlon
    Favourite Eoin Scanlon
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:31 PM
    Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:34 PM

@Gina Carroll: it’s not necessarily for Covid it’s more to free up hospital beds to deal with the usual overcrowding which will inevitably happen again when people are no longer afraid to go to GP/A&E, and also be available should there be a second wave, but looking at the layout it’s not for Covid.

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:35 PM

@Eoin Scanlon: that’s the one!

Mute paul kelly
    Favourite paul kelly
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:36 PM

@Gina Carroll: Actually needed more than ever now, regular patients coming back means that Limerick is always overcrowded.

Mute Alan Watts
    Favourite Alan Watts
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:42 PM

@Wheresmyjumper: he doesnt need to be, If you cant understand just how more difficult this will get in the winter season and the flu. All our immune systems once healthy should be as strong as they can get in these months, come winter our immune systems aren’t as strong.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:51 PM

@colm connolly: The two temporary hospitals were built in Ten days using a prefabricated modular design used for the previous SARS epidemic in 2002-03 developed by the Chinese military.

It is quite worrying that the design appears look a lot like a prison layout, there were prison bars on the windows inside the hospital and secure locked doors. I suspect it’s a dual use design that could also be used to imprison Chinese citizen if there’s widespread riots against the government (they have flat pack hospital/prisons in storage).

There were live webcam footage of the builds, and now many time-lapse webcam videos of the build is still available on YouTube. There is no doubt they built them in 10 days.

https://youtu.be/zzU0tXKa2bI

https://youtu.be/53nhErXUd9A

Mute alphasully
    Favourite alphasully

@Eoin Scanlon: Sorry but that was a hotel that was being used for covid patients that collapsed, not the new built corona hospitals

Mute Decko49
    Favourite Decko49
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:55 PM

@Wheresmyjumper: Are you a doctor?

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:00 PM

@David Jordan: More video, notice the bars on the windows:

https://youtu.be/yqHamNnPb4A

That’s why I think these were repurposed fast build prisons modified as hospitals. They were build by a construction company connected to the Chinese military.

Here’s the inside of the hospital: https://youtu.be/-p4NE-e1gMU

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:03 PM

@Gina Carroll: There’s a backlog of patients who need treatment. In Ireland. They can’t go straight home after a serious operation or sickness. Okay? They aren’t going to be in nursing homes. This is for people served by Limerick hospitals who don’t have Covid-19, but still need nursing care, while they recover. IDK why you imagine they should go to China.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:05 PM

@Paul Shepherd: But that was a field hospital for people in China who had Covid-19. It wasn’t anything to do with people in Ireland who need nursing and don’t have Covid-19.

Mute john flynn
    Favourite john flynn
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:17 PM

@Eoin Scanlon: nope two different things

Mute Karllye kripton
    Favourite Karllye kripton
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:20 PM
    Mute Karllye kripton
    Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:28 PM

@Gina Carroll: There’s a growing realsation that many people do not fully recover from COVID-19, many are left with debilitating sequelae and need long term rehabilitation and support.

Over 4000 severely and critically ill people with COVID-19 were admitted to Irish hospitals during the epidemic, 55% survived. There are just over 2000 survivors of severe COVID-19, and many are left with long term debilitating sequelae e.g. lung scarring/damage, kidney damage, debilitated by strokes or pulmonary embolisms due to blood cots induced by the illness, and even heart damage.

https://www.vox.com/2020/5/8/21251899/coronavirus-long-term-effects-symptoms

There is also psychological damage. Many survivors experienced psychosis when in hospital and many continue to suffer from depression, PTSD, suicidal thoughts and anxiety following discharge.

https://www.psychologytoday.com/ie/blog/expressive-trauma-integration/202005/neuropsychiatric-implications-covid19

Mute Gina Carroll
    Favourite Gina Carroll
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:49 PM

@Just Some Guy: actually if u look at tv, u would have seen it, the rest of the world saw it, where were u, under a stone.

Mute Gina Carroll
    Favourite Gina Carroll
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:50 PM

@colm connolly: no actually they didnt, they built a new one, not bricks etc, a prefabricated.

Mute Seriousnojoke
    Favourite Seriousnojoke
    Jun 8th 2020, 6:16 PM

@Gina Carroll: Impressive stuff done by China indeed especially when it comes to construction and engineering. Was wondering whether we could hire them to finish the Children’s Hospital here…

Mute Seriousnojoke
    Favourite Seriousnojoke
    Jun 8th 2020, 6:18 PM

@Just Some Guy: You’re quite ill-informed, sadly

Mute Seriousnojoke
    Favourite Seriousnojoke
    Jun 8th 2020, 6:21 PM

@colm connolly: No. They actually built a 1,000 beds hospital in 10 days, and another one with 1,500 beds about the same time. They were living streaming the construction sites on YouTube in January/February. People spent those days laughing at them instead of learning the reason why they had to do it was because Wuhan’s hospitals were getting overwhelmed. We never prepared until the virus reached our own shores.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Jun 8th 2020, 6:35 PM

@Seriousnojoke: That’s grand if you want to be replacing it every few years as it falls to bits.

Mute Wheresmyjumper
    Favourite Wheresmyjumper
    Jun 8th 2020, 6:35 PM

@Alan Watts: are you a doctor?

Mute David Walters
    Favourite David Walters
    Jun 8th 2020, 6:38 PM

@Decko49: Are you a doctor?

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Favourite Bernard Sweeney
    Jun 8th 2020, 6:47 PM

@Gina Carroll: no they didn’t, they slapped together a load of prefabs on a site they cleared that was already in the process of being cleared when this started.

Mute Seriousnojoke
    Favourite Seriousnojoke
    Jun 8th 2020, 6:48 PM

@Tommy Roche: You sound like someone who’s never been to China and get all information from social media.

Mute Tony Gordon
    Favourite Tony Gordon
    Jun 8th 2020, 7:01 PM

@Marc Walsh: bet your a bundle of laughs at a party.

Mute Berkieahern3
    Favourite Berkieahern3
    Jun 8th 2020, 8:28 PM

@Jun Stone: which sounds great, till they have to pull it all down in September, when we will be heading into the hospitals busiest time of the year. Why not build something permanent FFS?

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 8th 2020, 10:51 PM

@alphasully: It wasn’t – it was a quarantine centre. Everyone there tested negative, at least. Rotten luck to be put in a building that collapsed. The interesting thing is that the owner has been arrested. Imagine if faulty buildings here resulted in the owners being held responsible?

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jun 8th 2020, 11:07 PM

@Paul Lee: they assembled a number of stockpiled prefabricated modules to create a basic hospital. Once the site had been prepared, the first phase of the project was operational in ten days.
    It was hailed as some kind of major achievement, but it was just good logistics. Any decent construction company here could have done the same if they had access to the modular units.

Mute Dino
    Favourite Dino
    Jun 9th 2020, 2:36 AM

@David Jordan: Very scientific scaremongeringthere, “many people”. There’s a growing realisation that for people under 65 without underlying conditions this virus is little more dangerous than the flu and there is a growing realisation that the vast majority of people don’t have any lasting effects from contracting this virus and there is a growing realisation that once someone contracts the virus they can’t contract it again and there is a growing realisation that the period of immunity is likely to be years. There is also a growing realisation that fear mongers like you have been talking out your hoop for months now

Mute Philo
    Favourite Philo
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:09 PM

Will it be staffed by spin doctors?

Mute Pat Casey
    Favourite Pat Casey
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:33 PM

@Philo: The spin doctors don’t play anymore.

Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Favourite Mairead Jenkins
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:11 PM

Great idea for the winter flu overflow if it is still open then. Limerick seems to have major trolley issues in the winter.

Mute Arch Angel
    Favourite Arch Angel
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:54 PM

@Mairead Jenkins: A field hospital is a temporary hospital or mobile medical unit that takes care of casualties on-site before they can be safely transported to more permanent facilities. The danger is that, like most temporary things in this country, they become permanent and the real issue is never addressed.
    Field hospitals are intended to address the needs of war zones, disaster areas, or major incidents. Exactly which one of these the University of Limerick is we can only guess and I’m sure the government spin doctors will present it as a marvelous solution everyone asked for to a problem nobody wanted. They haven’t mentioned exactly how many nurses, health assistants or doctors will staff this 68 bed infection trap… I mean ward.

Mute Jimmy Murray
    Favourite Jimmy Murray
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:49 PM

@Arch Angel: agree totally. This is warehousing patients and open for cross infection of bugs

Mute Rose Larkin.
    Favourite Rose Larkin.
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:22 PM

This really proves how madness has taken hold , very convenient location for university student research purposes , especially if patients aren’t allowed visitors. So much about what is happening doesn’t add up and it becomes more unbelievable and sinister by the day .

Mute just me
    Favourite just me
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:44 PM

@Rose Larkin.: you’re right it is sinister…word on the street has it bill gates himself is going to go down and vaccinate everyone with microchips but keep it under your tinfoil hat

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:13 PM

@Rose Larkin.: What exactly do you thinking is happening in UL?

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:18 PM

@Rose Larkin.: Over 4000 severely and critically ill people with COVID-19 were admitted to Irish hospitals during the epidemic, many were critically ill, 45% died. There are just over 2000 survivors of COVID-19, and many are left with long term debilitating sequelae e.g. lung damage, kidney damage, or are debilitated by strokes or pulmonary embolisms due to blood cots induced by the illness.

They require rehabilitation.

https://www.vox.com/2020/5/8/21251899/coronavirus-long-term-effects-symptoms

There is also psychological damage, many survivors experienced psychosis, and continue to suffer from depression, PTSD, suicidal thoughts and anxiety.

https://www.psychologytoday.com/ie/blog/expressive-trauma-integration/202005/neuropsychiatric-implications-covid19

There appears to be a very unfortunate misunderstanding here that wrongly assumes a person fully recovers from COVID-19 and walks out of hospital just as healthy and happy as before their illness. This very wrong.

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Favourite Bernard Sweeney
    Jun 8th 2020, 6:49 PM

@Rochelle: she hasn’t a clue and no answer to that very simple question.

Mute James Butler
    Favourite James Butler

Did they not get the memo?

Maybe they only heard about Covid19 now, surely this can’t be correct?

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:08 PM

What’s Covid-19 got to do with this? It’s not for people with the virus. It’s more like an overflow ward for all the other patients.

Mute Dave Nomates
    Favourite Dave Nomates

Would love to see the paper trail on this, Who fitted it out etc, Someone got a few €.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:56 PM

@Dave Nomates: They hardly did it for free!!

Mute Dave Nomates
    Favourite Dave Nomates
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:19 PM

@NotMyIreland:
    DAW!

Mute Sean Fahey
    Favourite Sean Fahey
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:27 PM

@Dave Nomates: These conspiracy theories are getting lazier by the day. “Look, an invoice! Somebody got paid!”. Follow the money, Dave. Bank of Ireland created the Corona virus.

Mute Dave Nomates
    Favourite Dave Nomates
    Jun 8th 2020, 6:34 PM

@Sean Fahey:
    What’s it like being so gullible Sean, believing everything that doesn’t gel with your thinking is a conspiracy theory, You really should get that state of mind looked at.

Mute Kem Trayle
    Favourite Kem Trayle
    Jun 8th 2020, 7:03 PM

@Dave Nomates: That’s not how it works. What evidence do YOU have that this wasn’t a straightforward business transaction? If you supply the theory then you supply the evidence.

Mute Dave Nomates
    Favourite Dave Nomates
    Jun 8th 2020, 7:32 PM

@Kem Trayle:
    I did not supply a theory, I asked a question that clearly got some agitated and as of yet has not been answered,

Mute Kem Trayle
    Favourite Kem Trayle
    Jun 8th 2020, 8:39 PM

@Dave Nomates: Ah, the old question mark technicality. Trump would be proud. And who exactly owes you an answer to a question you plucked out of the air that implies someone has behaved illegally?

Oh wait, you didn’t imply anything – you just asked a question right?

Mute Dave Nomates
    Favourite Dave Nomates
    Jun 8th 2020, 8:43 PM

@Kem Trayle:
    Looks like your the one doing the implying here, Still no answer to my question.

Mute a politicians promise is as good as a lie
    Favourite a politicians promise is as good as a lie
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:24 PM

Imagine the noise… How could you sleep/recover in a ward like that?

Mute Niamh O'Galvin
    Favourite Niamh O'Galvin
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:11 PM

Hospital wards are closed in Limerick because they can’t staff them. Who’s vanity project is this!

Mute Mislav Smok
    Favourite Mislav Smok
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:29 PM

Late only 3 months

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:37 PM

@Mislav Smok: is not for Covid, read the article.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:10 PM

No one’s reading the article first! Maybe they thought everyone else could fit into some random nursing home.

Mute John Reilly
    Favourite John Reilly
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:36 PM

It’s a good idea in the short term. Everyone is prepared to stand in line to get into shops are they prepared to wait outside hospitals for treatment? Hospitals face the same social distancing issues as all other premises open to the public and anything that adds capacity has to be a good thing.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:12 PM

True indeed. Also, I’m guessing it is a temporary measure to clear some of the backlog. At some point the uni will get their hall back.

Mute James Butler
    Favourite James Butler

Did they not get the memo?

Maybe they only heard about Covid19 now, surely this can’t be correct?

Mute D Mems
    Favourite D Mems
    Jun 8th 2020, 4:14 PM

@James Butler: maybe you didnt read the article? It’s for non-covid patients, and even without a pandemic, such is the pressure on our health system a few extra beds won’t do any harm

Mute Emmett Currie
    Favourite Emmett Currie
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:47 PM

Bit late from these spoofers in power

Mute El Poblo Escobar
    Favourite El Poblo Escobar
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:09 PM

All I want to know is how much did this cost ? Fair play for getting it in place but 68 beds not going to do much tbh but at least it’s 68 more bed in the system temporarily

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 8th 2020, 5:14 PM

@El Poblo Escobar: Well they can’t go into nursing homes, sure they have to have some separate wards for people.

Mute El Poblo Escobar
    Favourite El Poblo Escobar
    Jun 8th 2020, 7:36 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: Is this just for the people who cannot be transferred to a nursing home ? I would not like to be sent to a nursing home myself the way they been handled atm.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 8th 2020, 10:58 PM

@El Poblo Escobar: Well, according to the article, yes. It’s for people who aren’t well enough to go home and frees up hospital beds.

Mute Eileen O'Sullivan
    Favourite Eileen O'Sullivan
    Mute Niall Bourke
    Favourite Niall Bourke
    Jun 9th 2020, 8:36 AM

How much will it cost to transfer patients across the city by ambulance? As there are no kitchen facilities (a pantry is not a kitchen), what will the patients eat? If they are fed hot meals they will need to be made off site, bought onto site and taken away. How much will that cost? Where is the nurses canteen? If a patients condition changes and they have to be taken back across the city (another costly ambulance journey) will they be in increased danger because they are not on the hospital site?
    That’s not there for the good of the people. It’s so next winter no press people can get pictures of a dangerously overcrowded hospital.
    I didn’t think things in our healthcare system could get worse. This is a whole new level.