You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Local councils are getting help to rid dog poo from our streets

Not picking up after your dog can land you with a fine of up to €150.
If your dog fouls inside your home, you would not contemplate for a second not cleaning it up, yet so many owners simply do not apply the same logic when they are walking their dogs in public for some unfathomable reason.

THESE ARE THE words from Communications, Climate Action and Environment Minister Denis Naughten who last night announced that he is allocating extra resources to tackle the prevalence of dog poo on our streets.

Speaking in the Seanad yesterday evening, the minister said the scourge of dog fouling “is a particular bugbear” of his.

Irresponsible dog owners who ignore the law and allow their pets to foul the streets are posing a health risk to young children, according to the minister.

Fine of €150 

Although it is an offence under section 22 of the Litter Pollution Acts not to clean up after your dog has fouled (which can result in an on-the-spot fine of €150 or a summary conviction to a fine up to €4,000) the reality is that many dog owners are not doing so.

Statistically, dog poo represented just 1.22% of overall litter in 2016. Despite this low figure, the minister said he believed it is the most intrusive type of litter.

shutterstock_429281701 Shutterstock / Monika Wisniewska Shutterstock / Monika Wisniewska / Monika Wisniewska

“Dog faeces contain bacteria and worms which can be particularly harmful to young children. It is picked up on the wheels of bikes and buggies and is brought into homes across the country. It is also a particular problem for wheelchair users,” he said.

Toxocariasis is an infection caused by roundworm parasites. It is spread from animals to humans via infected faeces. Young children are particularly at risk of getting toxocariasis because their play habits make them more likely to come into contact with contaminated soil.

No excuse 

“Some dog owners seem to think it is acceptable for their dog to foul and just walk on. This is disgusting, dangerous to human health and completely antisocial,” said Naughten, who added that there is no excuse for it.

In a bid to tackle the issue of dog poo on the streets, in the parks and on beaches, he said he intends to “allocate extra resources to local authorities under the Environment Fund and capital resources to roll-out initiatives to combat the problem”.

He said many initiatives to deal with dog fouling have already been introduced around the country.

These include the provision of signage, talking lamp-posts, dog waste bins and bags and awareness campaigns such as The Green Dog Walkers scheme, which the minister said been successful across Roscommon.

Talking lamp posts with audio devices that remind people to clean up after their dog have been installed on poles at locations including Baldoyle, Fingal, Mullingar, Athlone, Lahinch, Kilkee, and Limerick.

“With a dog comes pleasure, but also responsibility and I would urge owners to show some pride and clean up after their dog,” concluded Naughten.

Read: TD warns mobile phones give children access to ‘unlimited pornography of every type’>

Read: Ticketmaster and Seatwave aren’t happy with proposed new ticket touting law>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

29 Comments
    Mute Gasher
    Favourite Gasher
    Aug 5th 2018, 9:13 AM

Can’t really see the problem. I’m sure the “Sky Fairy ” won’t mind if people don’t worship him for one Sunday, especiall when the CEO of Sky Fairies Inc. Is addressing his minions in a field and telling 500k people how wonderful he is.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Aug 5th 2018, 9:23 AM

@Gasher:” sky fairy” is getting a bit old. All the cool kids are using the “god squad” for their mocking, unfunny statements.

Mute Peadar117
    Favourite Peadar117
    Aug 5th 2018, 9:33 AM

@Seamus Mac: Isn’t it more a talking fire? Glad Nobody is onto this: http://ourladyisgod.com/i-the-nobodyEditorial-3-10-2013-CatholicismForDummies.php

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Aug 5th 2018, 9:52 AM

@Gasher: If you went you might gain a new perspective on existence and you would be welcome.

Mute Gasher
    Favourite Gasher
    Aug 5th 2018, 10:03 AM

@Tom Molloy: been there done that. I find the track record of the Catholic church in Ireland as a disgrace. They have treated the Irish like dirt for generations with their better than thou attitude while raping our kids selling our babies or throwing them into pits without a proper “christian” funeral. All the time poor mouthing to the congregation and begging for coppers. Because the poor church haven’t any money. I could also bring up the redress schemes in place that they are not complying with and the total lack of responsibility for the behaviour of their priests and nuns…. I could go on….

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 5th 2018, 1:44 PM

@Tom Molloy: unless he’s gay right?

Mute Ciarān
    Favourite Ciarān
    Aug 5th 2018, 1:49 PM

@Gasher: Dont be a sap. We know you’re an atheist. I dont believe in any of it either but why be so childish?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 5th 2018, 5:17 PM

@Ciarān: he’s not the one with imaginary friends

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Aug 5th 2018, 8:31 AM

Is there anything to be said for another mass ….

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Aug 5th 2018, 9:50 AM

@Stephen Devlin: Yes.

Mute Jimmy Coltrane
    Favourite Jimmy Coltrane
    Aug 5th 2018, 11:38 AM

@Stephen Devlin:
    Is there anything to be said for an original joke?

Mute Anthony McGovern
    Favourite Anthony McGovern
    Aug 5th 2018, 12:18 PM

@Jimmy Coltrane: no

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Aug 5th 2018, 12:27 PM

@Jimmy Coltrane: ‘Is there anything to be said for an original joke?’

A Higgs Boson goes to church. The Parish Priest stops him at the gates and exclaims ‘Sorry, we don’t allow anything to do with science through these doors’. The Higgs Boson replies ‘but without me, how can you have mass??’

(I have my coat already….)

Mute Rosemarie Martin
    Favourite Rosemarie Martin
    Aug 5th 2018, 10:37 AM

Happy Sunday everyone. Nice to see the Bashers are out in force this morning. I am a woman who abhorrs abuse, the cover ups etc., but the pope is not Hitler, nor is he God, he is just trying to bring the flock back, many people despite it all, get solace and peace of mind from Mass, from the Sacraments, they are not doing any of you any harm. Unfortunately Ireland has thrown the baby out with the bathwater and now there is a hatred for anything connected to God. What is your alternative ? and is allowing diversity such a bad thing? The comments today are sickening.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Aug 5th 2018, 10:48 AM

@Rosemarie Martin: If only throwing the baby out with the bathwater was the worst thing to happen to babies in this country…..

Mute happinessnow
    Favourite happinessnow
    Aug 5th 2018, 10:51 AM

@Rosemarie Martin: We are no longer brain washed and now have the cop on to know this like all religion was made up to control people.

Mute Toby Thedogk
    Favourite Toby Thedogk
    Aug 5th 2018, 11:16 AM

@happinessnow: Over 3m Irish consider themselves catholic. I’d say you have many brainwashed friends, do you try znd help them escape or leave them to their beliefs?

Mute LE CHIFFRE
    Favourite LE CHIFFRE
    Aug 5th 2018, 11:21 AM

@Pauliebhoy: Yeah imagine?! the abortion mills will be on shortly to tear said babies to bits in ‘progressive Ireland’

Mute Rosemarie Martin
    Aug 5th 2018, 11:40 AM

@Pauliebhoy: I have suffered abuse from Clergy. I did not seek redress. I am trying to say, that despite the horrific past, cover ups, that many have turned completely against a God. Many people still believe in Catholicism why not leave them alone. Would you attack a Muslim get together, me thinks not, t’would be too politically incorrect. The present pope is not responsible for what happened in Tuam etc., he can only do so much. As a human being is seems a nice man. Let the Catholics have their day and don’t be such a bloody bully. Peace

Mute Rosemarie Martin
    Aug 5th 2018, 11:42 AM

@happinessnow: Wow, so can you prove to me there is no God,? I certainly can’t prove to you there isn’t . Tolerance and a bit of growing up is what you need. Your hatred is palpable. Most genuine Atheists are calm people.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Aug 5th 2018, 11:42 AM

@Rosemarie Martin: thank you for your beautiful sentiment . Makes a refreshing change on here.

Mute happinessnow
    Favourite happinessnow
    Aug 5th 2018, 11:46 AM

@Rosemarie Martin: all religions are man made and were originally used to control people. Many of us now see them for what they are toxic, with lots of evil people involved, that have caused and still cause horrific abuse.

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Aug 5th 2018, 11:56 AM

@Rosemarie Martin: I can fly, can you prove to me that I can’t fly? If you can’t that must mean I can. The burden of proof lies with the claimant. I’ve no problem with your beliefs but you’ve got to come up with a better comment than “can you prove he doesn’t exist”. Enjoy the day in the Phoenix park and hopefully it won’t rain.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Aug 5th 2018, 12:09 PM

@Gary: “I’ve no problem with your beliefs” are you sure Gary?

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Aug 5th 2018, 12:20 PM

@Rosemarie Martin: ‘Unfortunately Ireland has thrown the baby out with the bathwater and now there is a hatred for anything connected to God. What is your alternative ?’

Reason, rationality, thinking for yourself?

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Aug 5th 2018, 12:35 PM

@Seamus Mac: Yes.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Aug 5th 2018, 12:51 PM

@Rosemarie Martin: A flock of sheep?

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Aug 5th 2018, 9:49 AM

Good to see theJournal having a positive concern for mass goers. For Catholics it is a valuable chance to see in body the successor on Earth of the apostle Peter.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan

@Tom Molloy: and to see how their Sunday morning cash contributions are spent.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Aug 5th 2018, 11:46 AM

@Tom Molloy: One day you’ll read the factual history of your church and wake up.

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Aug 5th 2018, 12:37 PM

@Tom Molloy: on Earth? Does he not normally tour this far out of the galaxy?

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Aug 5th 2018, 1:51 PM

@Tom Molloy: I never did understand the part where a magical being created a thinking lifeforce with the sole intention of worshipping him/her/it while burdening them with a sin they did not commit. Seems like your God has a massive confidence issue and inferiority complex.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Aug 5th 2018, 2:17 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: “You know what? I’m going to come down, take human form, sacrifice myself to myself, to act as a loophole for rules I created that I can’t circumvent.” – God

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Aug 5th 2018, 9:10 PM

@The Risen: Pádraig Pierse understood

Mute Robin Pickering
    Favourite Robin Pickering
    Aug 5th 2018, 9:58 AM

I don’t know whether to not go to mass or not go to the Phoenix Park.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Aug 5th 2018, 10:34 AM

@Robin Pickering:
    Why not both?

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Aug 5th 2018, 11:49 AM

@Robin Pickering: who cares?

Mute Robin Pickering
    Favourite Robin Pickering
    Aug 5th 2018, 9:43 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: a cracking idea!

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Aug 5th 2018, 10:08 AM

Will the phenix park mass be like a music gig, with a few support masses in the morning before the headline mass by the pope?

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Aug 5th 2018, 11:39 AM

@Do the Bort man: the hari krisnas coukd do a drum solo first.

Mute Martin Stapleton
    Favourite Martin Stapleton
    Aug 5th 2018, 9:59 AM

Look,
    lads, if there’s no mass, what ever ye do don’t let a woman up to the alter to say prayers. ‘twill cause holy war.

Mute Robin Basstard
    Favourite Robin Basstard
    Aug 5th 2018, 9:44 AM

That would be an ecumenical matter…

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Aug 5th 2018, 9:58 AM

@Robin Basstard: Many representatives of the breakaway Churches and open hearted non believing individuals will be there.

Mute Ian Phillip Creaner
    Favourite Ian Phillip Creaner
    Aug 5th 2018, 10:18 AM

@Tom Molloy: oh Tom. No hope for a dope.

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Aug 5th 2018, 11:50 AM

@Tom Molloy: All predate Christianity
    Cybele was the virgin mother of Attis.
    Myrrh was the v.m of Adonis.
    Semele was the v.m of Dionysus.
    Isis was the v.m of Osiris.
    Do you see a pattern?
    Here’s another one……
    The god Horus was worshipped since 2,200 B.C and was born of a virgin, had 12 disciples, healed the sick, rose from the dead after being crucified after 3 days. Doesn’t seem so original now, does it? Google it for yourself.

Mute Slim Shady
    Favourite Slim Shady
    Aug 5th 2018, 10:21 AM

Wouldn’t do for the local churches to miss out on a collection.

Mute Rosemarie Martin
    Aug 5th 2018, 10:34 AM

@Slim Shady: A low punch. Not all priests are perverts, not all are living in huge house, go to Balally, very ordinary men, living ordinary lives and always apologising for what happened. Kicking below the belt is never a wise thing to do.This is a great time for Roman Catholics, let them be.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Aug 5th 2018, 11:44 AM

@Slim Shady: the collection to run the parish paid willingly by parishioners you mean. What’s your point?

Mute Slim Shady
    Favourite Slim Shady
    Aug 5th 2018, 12:49 PM

@Seamus Mac: ‘The collection to run the parish’. What is the parish then?

Mute Slim Shady
    Favourite Slim Shady
    Aug 5th 2018, 12:51 PM

@Seamus Mac: My point is no wonder the Catholic Church is so wealthy with people like you to feed the money machine.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Aug 5th 2018, 1:09 PM

@Slim Shady: what business is that of your’s?

Mute Slim Shady
    Favourite Slim Shady
    Aug 5th 2018, 2:43 PM

@Seamus Mac: The church feels it has the right to condemn others. I feel I have the right to condemn the church. You haven’t answered my question, what is the parish? When does the church contribute to the parish or is it just a one way street?

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Aug 5th 2018, 7:09 PM

@Slim Shady: call into your nearest parish centre & educate yourself.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Aug 5th 2018, 8:39 AM

Decisions, decisions.

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Aug 5th 2018, 9:55 AM

@John Mulligan: The practical difficulties of attending for people not living nearby are significant, transport, accomadation, health etc.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan

@Tom Molloy: simple. Don’t attend.
    I’m sure they’ll show him handing over the billion euro on the news anyway.

Mute Jimmy Coltrane
    Favourite Jimmy Coltrane
    Aug 5th 2018, 11:13 AM

On behalf of the good people of Ireland I’d just like to take this opportunity to thank the atheist community and other various disgruntled non religious folk here for making this magnificent religious event happen. Without your tax contributions none of this would have been possible.
    Your munificence will not go unrewarded.

Mute Stiofán De Priondárgas
    Favourite Stiofán De Priondárgas
    Aug 5th 2018, 10:09 AM

Won’t make much of a difference, 3 parishes around me don’t even have a priest

Mute David Cagney
    Favourite David Cagney
    Aug 5th 2018, 11:34 AM

Wait till God hears about this

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Aug 5th 2018, 10:47 PM

Amazing that so many non believers are jealous of believers. It’s going to be a great day, why not join in and be more open hearted, tolerant and chill out.

Mute Lisa Byrne
    Favourite Lisa Byrne
    Aug 6th 2018, 2:34 AM

It’s like skipping school and going to a rock concert, let the church going folk feel bold, I hope the pope comes onto the stage and begins with…”make some effing noise phoenix park” to a raucous crowd.