You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pablo Martinez Monsivais AP/Press Association Images

Reports of Muslim students being targeted at colleges after Trump win

A number of incidents are said to have taken place since Donald Trump’s victory.

AUTHORITIES AT TWO universities in California have said police are investigating reports of attacks against female Muslim students, one of which was described as a hate crime.

Both attacks allegedly happened on Wednesday, the day after Donald Trump was elected president at the end of a campaign during which the Republican was criticised for divisive and inflammatory language against Muslims.

In one of the incidents, two assailants are said to have confronted their victim at San Diego State University and “made comments about President-elect Trump and the Muslim community”, according to campus police.

The woman had her purse, backpack and car keys stolen. She went to get help and returned to the scene with police officers, only to find her car had been stolen, police spokesman Ronald Broussard said.

The case is being investigated as a suspected hate crime as well as a strong-arm robbery and auto theft, Broussard said.

“Comments made to the student indicate she was targeted because of her Muslim faith, including her wearing of a traditional garment and hijab,” university president Elliot Hirshman and interim police chief Josh Mays said in a joint statement.

‘Bigotry grips America’

San Jose State University police said in a statement they were investigating a similar attack against a female student at a campus parking garage.

A male assailant allegedly approached the victim from behind, pulling at her headscarf, choking and throwing her off balance, according to a statement circulated to students on Wednesday.

“Campus officials are closely monitoring the situation as the investigation continues. No arrests have been made,” university spokeswoman Pat Harris said in a statement.

We are, of course, very concerned that this has occurred on our campus. No one should experience this kind of behavior at San Jose State.

New York University’s Muslim Students Association issued a statement on Wednesday saying engineering undergraduates had arrived that morning to find ‘Trump’ scrawled on the door of their prayer room.

The organisation said members were “realising that our campus is not immune to the bigotry that grips America”.

Meanwhile, a Muslim student at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette told police on Wednesday that she was attacked by two men, one of whom was wearing a white hat emblazoned with Trump.

Local media reported a police statement yesterday, however, alleging that she had made up the attack.

The Lafayette Police Department did not immediately respond to a request for comment.

© AFP 2016

Read: Second night of protests in US cities against Trump victory

Read: How the US president-to-be picked up a Clare golf resort for a song

View 126 comments
126 Comments
    Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:25 AM

Seems some are just made up.
    A college student in Louisiana claimed she was attacked by two Trump voters, one wearing a “Trump hat.” These two terrible excuses for human beings jumped out of a car, beat her, stole her hijab, and also stole her money. Or not.

The woman called police Wednesday to say that two white men, one wearing a Trump hat, hit her several times, screamed racial slurs at her and stole her wallet and hijab. Lafayette police have been investigating the incident as an armed robbery and hate crime. However, Thursday afternoon police issued a terse statement, saying that she had admitted she made up the story.

I’m glad police took the time to investigate this incident and that it was easily proven false. One of the two source articles has been updated to reflect she will be charged with filing a police report.

Fox News
    KATC3 News

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:26 AM
    Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:00 AM

Seems media still are playing the game of trying to make trump people out to be the bad ones. Yet it’s Clinton supporters who are out rioting and damaging property. It’s trump supporters who are being beaten up by Clinton supporters.

See 29 more replies ▾
    Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:08 AM

Even if it did happen, an article in Ireland about a stolen car in America?

Nov 11th 2016, 10:18 AM

Typical Trump supporter. It didn’t happen, no one saw it happen, she’s a Muslim. Through the post truth looking glass.

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:24 AM

@Deborah Behan: “According to Lafayette Police, the student who fabricated the story about being robbed is now facing a charge of filing a false police report.”

Get a grip

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:40 AM

@Deborah Behan:

She admitted herself that the claim was false and charges may be brought against her according to the police. I could make a comment about Clinton supporters and baseless accusations of racism but there’s no point even bothering at this stage.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:45 AM

The other incidents in the article are not made acceptable by the disgraceful actions of one

Mute Can't Think of One
    Favourite Can't Think of One
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:46 AM

@Deborah Post truth is right, although not in the way that you mean.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:48 AM

@Deborah Behan: typical Deborah. Another person that just throws out random stuff with out actually reading the story. Did you miss the part from the police about filing a false police report. How hilarious you talking about truth and then spouting lies. Grow up

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:49 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: and my comment clearly says some are made up. Didn’t say all are made up.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe

One out of four is false. Why don’t you condemn the ones that aren’t false as well?

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:53 AM

@Dave O Keeffe. Because these are being investigated. It hasn’t been determined if they are real. . Yet or not. This one was also reported as true till it was investigated. So I will reserve my opinion till the investigation is done.

Mute Brian Healy
    Favourite Brian Healy
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:55 AM

None of the American people have covered themselves in glory. By voting for Clinton you get more of the same. But ny voting for Trump you get a racist bigot who sees women as sexual objects, which doesn’t seem to bother his supporters. America is in a bad way.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:01 AM

And the majority of the electorate didn’t bother to vote at all. I imagine a lot of the protesters the last few days stayed home on election. Also LITTLEONE, we both know that an accusation is enough proof for you when it suits.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:13 AM

Sure Dave all those college students didn’t bother go out and vote really? Your actually saying that.
    No longer protestors now rioters.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:20 AM

Portland police, citing “extensive criminal and dangerous behavior,” declared the protest a riot at 8:30 p.m. The bureau said it warned the crowd about the designation, then tweeted that rioting is a class C felony.
    About 9 p.m., the bureau tweeted: “Crowd throwing projectiles at police. Significant damage to area car lot.” Police in riot gear began assembling downtown as the crowd moved west along Northeast Broadway toward the Broadway Bridge.
    Big have of Clinton Dave Soros.
    Billionaire globalist financier George Soros’ MoveOn.org has been revealed to be a driving force behind the organizing of nationwide protests against the election of Donald Trump — exposing the protests to largely be an organized, top-down operation

MoveOn.org released the following press release yesterday afternoon:
    Americans to Come Together in Hundreds Peaceful Gatherings of Solidarity, Resistance, and Resolve Following Election Results
    Hundreds of Americans, dozens of organizations to gather peacefully outside the White House and in cities and towns nationwide to take a continued stand against misogyny, racism, Islamophobia, and xenophobia.
    Tonight, thousands of Americans will come together at hundreds of peaceful gatherings in cities and towns across the nation, including outside the White House, following the results of Tuesday’s presidential election.
    The gatherings – organized by MoveOn.org and allies – will affirm a continued rejection of Donald Trump’s bigotry, xenophobia, Islamophobia, and misogyny and demonstrate our resolve to fight together for the America we still believe is possible.
    Within two hours of the call-to-action, MoveOn members had created more than 200 gatherings nationwide, with the number continuing to grow on Wednesday afternoon.
    Now come reports from various protest locations that reveal a substantially coordinated effort, and not the organic grassroots showing by concerned Americans, as the mainstream media is reporting. Photos from Austin, Texas reveal a line of busses the “protestors” arrived in, making their appearance seem substantially less than organic – with a direct implication of being strategically orchestrated.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:21 AM

LITTLEONE, I think you’ll find that my comment was actually talking about the protesters negatively if you read it again.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:28 AM

Where Dave? All you said was
    I imagine a lot of the protesters the last few days stayed home on election.
    That’s hardly negatively.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:29 AM

That’s just you trying to portray these protestors, rioters has people who didn’t even vote. Which is not true.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:39 AM

The point I was making is that they are probably the kind that would rather riot at the decision than actually go and vote for what they wanted. 50% of the electorate didn’t bother, says it all really. More people claim not to have voted for him already than voted for the other candidates. There’s no point in anybody being angered by a result when they chose not to participate

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:43 AM

Dave . Again that’s just your assumption. College students are protesting. Are you saying they are the kind not to vote really.
    Or maybe this fella.
    a clip yesterday of CNN interviewing a protestor. Next thing at the end of interview, the anchor outs him as a cameraman for CNN. Pathetic.
    https://youtu.be/eOCcRnvMPEU.
    Say nothing of Soros and MoveOn.org .

Mute Eddie Simon
    Favourite Eddie Simon
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:50 AM

Dave O’Keefe one of the leading Clinton supporting losers on the journal. You have been wrong at every turn, your credibility is totally shot Dave.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:57 AM

Eddie, why the insults? I have been here for the last few days not interfering in the glow of victory that you and your fellow Trump supporters have gained. I’ve been telling people to cop on and get on with it when they question the result or the outcome. Also, I made no predictions, I backed a horse and it lost. I’m able to admit that. But what I don’t understand is the antagonistic language used by you and others to try to shutdown a conversation.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Nov 11th 2016, 12:12 PM

@Eddie Simon: I’ve asked you a few times on here how will Trump carry out his promises,and every single time this was the answer that you gave back to me ->

Mute Eddie Simon
    Favourite Eddie Simon
    Nov 11th 2016, 12:17 PM

Dave it’s called schadenfreude with a touch of gloating also. You backed a career loser and I’m reveling in your defeat.

Mute Eddie Simon
    Favourite Eddie Simon
    Nov 11th 2016, 12:18 PM

@Francis another Clinton loser who got everything wrong consistently for the last 18 months. Trump will carry out many of his promises because he controls the White House and the party he leads control the House and the Senate.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Nov 11th 2016, 12:26 PM

@Eddie Simon: And that is the best answer that you can come up with? You really don’t have a clue,do you? Laughing at you,Eddie.

Mute Eddie Simon
    Favourite Eddie Simon
    Nov 11th 2016, 12:31 PM

Oh right Francis and we’re supposed to believe you know better with your track record of predicting Trump’s failure at every turn. You were wrong about it all and just like dave you have little credibility left.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 11th 2016, 12:45 PM

Eddie, believe it or not I’m not suffering or hurting in any way. I had a preferred candidate and they lost. The thing that needs to happen now is that everyone needs to move on. The new president will have a house and Senate majority but will need to work to keep it that way with midterms two years away. I hope he is as good as you believe. I won’t be judging his presidency before it starts.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Nov 11th 2016, 12:53 PM

@Eddie Simon: Just because I predicted and hoped that Clinton would beat him,it doesn’t automatically mean that I don’t know what I’m talking about,especially when it comes to pesky things like the Constitution.I also know that Mr Trump has said that he would replace Obamacare & I wish him well on that ..I just hope that those 20+ million poor people who now have insurance have not shot themselves in the foot by voting for Trump..Their children were covered right up until the age of 26 ..Do you not know what happened to people before Obamacare? Nah,don’t bother answering that one..Have a great day Eddie..

Mute Can't Think of One
    Nov 11th 2016, 12:54 PM

@Brian If there weren’t so many people like you around these days, Trump would never have won. Holier-than-thou types who look down their noses at others and pontificate about sexism and racism. America is sick of them, and Trump was an antidote. By the way, you’re implying that you’ve never made casual comments of a sexual nature about a woman in front of your friends? Give me a fecking break.

Mute Eddie Simon
    Favourite Eddie Simon
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:27 AM

“Trump Voter Dragged from His Car, Brutally Beaten, and Robbed by Gang of Hillary Supporters”…http://www.dailywire.com/news/10664/video-trump-voter-dragged-his-car-and-beaten-gang-chase-stephens

Mute David Carroll
    Favourite David Carroll
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:44 AM

@Eddie Simon: isn’t it amazing that the journal has chosen to print the Muslim girl’s now-debunked story, but wouldn’t dream of writing about that incident where the video evidence is plain for all to see?

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect

@David Carroll: not amazing at all really. Fairly standard for the Journal.

Mute Ó Connmhaigh
    Favourite Ó Connmhaigh
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:03 AM

@Eddie Simon:
    Strange, as black gangs usually like to fight one-on-one….

Mute Frederick Burden
    Favourite Frederick Burden
    Nov 11th 2016, 2:41 PM

@Eddie Simon:
    Shocking.
    Absolutely shocking.
    Deep down inside every liberal is a fascist itching to get out.

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:22 AM

Muslim student made up report of assault, robbery by man wearing ‘Trump’ hat, police say

http://www.foxnews.com/us/2016/11/10/muslim-student-made-up-report-assault-robbery-by-man-wearing-trump-hat-police-say.html

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:25 AM

If you watch Fox News it says a lot…..

Mute Reagan Smash
    Favourite Reagan Smash
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:29 AM

Could say the same thing about the Journal. Pure fiction and propaganda.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:34 AM

@Rosa Parks: That just reminds me of the story that I read last month,it was about the police officers wife who allegedly faked a robbery and vandalised her own house,and to top it all off,she then went ahead and put up a graffiti sign of ‘Black Lives Matter..’

Mute Philip Kenna
    Favourite Philip Kenna
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:38 AM

If you watch CNN it says more!

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:42 AM

All media is biased just listened to 15 minutes of Trump bashing on morning Ireland Just the opposite bias to Fox
    If Hillary has won would have been an hour of praise

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Nov 11th 2016, 5:17 PM

True enough

Mute Magnus Diccus
    Favourite Magnus Diccus
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:46 AM

Will the media ever realise that the jig is up? People aren’t buying the BS anymore.

Mute denisj
    Favourite denisj
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:59 AM

What do you mean? People just elected a man who lies about his own statements and espouses half-baked policies that will hurt the people he claims to represent. People are buying the BS wholesale, like they have never bought BS before.

Mute John Martin
    Favourite John Martin
    Nov 11th 2016, 1:24 PM

People are getting wide to the liberal left media. There has been very little about the cotton wool libtards rioting in the states. Numerous reports of trump supporters being attacked. That’s not in the mainstream media

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:31 AM

“New York University’s Muslim Students Association … said members were “realising that our campus is not immune to the bigotry that grips America”.”

I’ll just leave that there.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:42 AM

@Ben McArthur:

I’m guessing they haven’t released a statement to apologise now that these reports are being proven to be false.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:48 AM

Is the New York University report false?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:02 AM

I’m pretty sure there’s a word for judging people en masse based on one thing they have in common

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:26 AM

If the thing they have in common is a belief system that has lead to atrocious terrorist attacks, real misogyny and bigotry against gays then it’s ok to judge them as their beliefs are a choice. Judging doesn’t mean attacking these people, just acknowledging that their religion can be dangerous and more likely than not a Muslim will hold opinions I find abhorrent. There is a problem with Islam and ignoring that fact is what has gotten Trump elected. It needs to be reformed but extreme liberals won’t even amit there is a problem. Vilifying all Muslims won’t help either as it needs to be reformed from within. But if that’s not possible I would rather keep them at a distance until they sort out their religion.

Mute Gordian Knot
    Favourite Gordian Knot
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:26 AM

It’s the mythical mass backlash against Muslims that gets hyped by liberal media after every Islamic atrocity. Meanwhile an actual genocide of Christians and other non-Muslim religions continues in the Middle East.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:35 AM

Gordian, you’ve just done the very same yourself by not pointing out that Muslims are also being slaughtered by ISIS in the Middle East

Mute Eddie Simon
    Favourite Eddie Simon
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:43 AM

Christian Lives Matter

Mute Gordian Knot
    Favourite Gordian Knot
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:44 AM

Your point is moot . Firstly I didn’t mention ISIS, because only the naive and uneducated believe ISIS are the only Isla

Mute Gordian Knot
    Favourite Gordian Knot
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:47 AM

Islamic group slaughtering non Muslims. Secondly Muslims are not in danger of being completely cleansed from the Middle East. Their numbers are increasing exponentially.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:52 AM

The numbers of Muslims in the Middle East is increasing exponentially? You mean while they are killing each other? While they are leaving?

Mute Gordian Knot
    Favourite Gordian Knot
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:56 AM

Yes they are. You should familiarise yourself with Middle Eastern demographics.

Mute Kieran Graham
    Favourite Kieran Graham
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:29 AM

Non story about teen angst..The lazy media who got it so wrong, trying so hard to be relevant..

Mute denisj
    Favourite denisj
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:56 AM

Much of the media painted Trump as a bigoted, unqualified, reckless buffoon. What did they get wrong?

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Favourite Screaming Toddy
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:08 AM

They completely misread how the American people felt. They ignored what has been bubbling for a long time. They painted Trump as a buffoon rather than tackle what put trump in this position. The US media and democratic party have only themselves to blame and the way people are behaving since the election tells me it won’t change. People need to pull their heads out of their arses and see what’s going on instead of blaming everyone but themselves

Mute denisj
    Favourite denisj
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:15 AM

@Screaming Toddy: And what is ‘going on’? What put him in that position in the first place?

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:21 AM

People are disenfranchised by politics and nothing has been done to address this. If people think this won’t happen in more countries then they are in for a shock. And it’s not just politics that is at fault. For too long people have been too concerned with censorship of people who might offend someone when they should have been tackling real issues that will affect them. Generation of pussies is an understatement

Mute denisj
    Favourite denisj
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:26 AM

And yet actual disenfranchised people voted in large part for Hillary. Trump voters being largely white, Christian and relatively high earners, how precisely are they disenfranchised?
    And what does the second part of your comment mean? Which people, who should have been tackling ‘real issues’, have been concerned with censorship of people who disagree with them? Even if that was true, which I don’t think it is, what does it have to do with Trump’s rise to power?

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:34 AM

@denisj: But it wasn’t only white, christian relatively high earners that voted for him. Then you also have the millions of people who stayed at home and didn’t bother to vote at all. Everyone in the media and democratic party focused on Trump the monster when Clinton herself is despised by millions.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:43 AM

Toddy, 50% of the American people couldn’t be bothered to show up, that’s the real take away from this election. That is the real will of the people. 76% didn’t vote for the president. No majority, no plurality, no mandate.

Mute denisj
    Favourite denisj
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:49 AM

Of course it wasn’t only white, christian relatively high earners who voted for him, but significantly more than half of his supporters cut that demographic, while significantly more than half of Clinton supporters do not. He won on the back of support from people who are not disenfranchised, as you claim. Trump’s genius has been in stoking up and legitimating non-grievances, while effectively making huge numbers doubt the sincerity of much of the media and even people in ‘his’ party.
    And again, which people who should have been tackling ‘real issues’ have been concerned with censorship of people who disagree with them?

Mute Can't Think of One
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:45 AM

@Dave The same would have been true of Hillary if she’d won. People who had a chance to have their say and didn’t take it don’t count. Enough of those who bothered to vote, voted for Trump. That’s all that matters. He has more of a mandate than anyone else.

Mute Angry Gaming
    Favourite Angry Gaming
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:53 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: When the left fell behind Hillary the rest of the normal people voted Trump.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:04 AM

Can’t think of one, I agree on everything you said except that there are no degrees of mandate, you either have it or you don’t.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:06 AM

Angry Gaming, and 50% decided neither candidate was good enough

Mute Can't Think of One
    Nov 11th 2016, 1:01 PM

@Dave All right, he doesn’t have a mandate. But it’s a moot point, because nobody else does either.

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:28 AM

As ever the stark headline is not matched by the facts. Journal, suck it up! Trump is the next POTUS.

Mute Shane Kinsella
    Favourite Shane Kinsella
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:37 AM

“Reports”of Muslim students being attacked but when there was actually democratic rioting takin place the journal keeps quite. Joke of a new outfit.

Mute The Bob
    Favourite The Bob
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:45 AM

@Shane Kinsella: Well except they have reported on the protests and arrests. Repeatedly.

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:30 AM

The great thing about the journal is you can skip the mostly useless article and head for the comments.

Mute Mrs M
    Favourite Mrs M
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:41 AM

More anti Trump bias in the media professional protesters organised & funded through George Soros what happened to when they go low we go high lol .

Mute MackPilon
    Favourite MackPilon
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:45 AM

@Mrs M: They are being paid up to $20 an hour to post propaganda on the interweb, I can post the link if any of the leftards need it .

Mute Warthog
    Favourite Warthog
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:21 AM

We can all now see who are the real bigots. They are the same ones who are no more liberal than the man in the moon! The same ones who have no truck with free speech. As to them being left what a load of BS. The anti Trump Brigades are generally, middle class, university educated, well paid, pampered and selfish. Who don’t give a Shiite about those who are not part of their snowflake safe place world. The snow is melting so you “so called” libitards best stock up on tissues!

Mute Patrick Mac
    Favourite Patrick Mac
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:39 AM

@Warthog: correct Warthog. These illiberal liberals (re: fascists) have been getting away with this crap for decades at this stage.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Nov 12th 2016, 6:47 AM

@Warthog: You should try using pesky facts sometime,because Trump won the votes from everyone earning over $50,000

Hope that I haven’t upset you with this,my precious snowflake

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Nov 12th 2016, 6:49 AM

he won the bigger % of votes

precious..

Mute Mark O'Byrnes
    Favourite Mark O'Byrnes
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:05 AM

You won’t see the Journal report stories like this though will you ? No, you sure won’t.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r4IHncggbTM

Mute Mark Mcloughlin
    Favourite Mark Mcloughlin
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:07 AM

@Mark O’Byrnes: Exactly

Mute Imran Ali
    Favourite Imran Ali
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:41 AM

More lefty lies, I wonder how much she got paid for this?

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:24 AM

What an embarrassment it is to be Human

Mute Jonny Irish
    Favourite Jonny Irish
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:28 AM

That’s a bit harsh. What about all the wonderful things humans do?

Mute canuckandgo
    Favourite canuckandgo
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:30 AM

The real embarrassment is to be human and believe in this religious and all drivel. Religion deserves nothing but ridicule.

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:34 AM

True, saying that it’s scary these days reading the news

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:38 AM

But too early to come to that conclusion yet best to wait for the next life

Mute Can't Think of One
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:52 AM

@David It’s scary these days to read the news if you’re stupid enough to unreservedly believe it. Millions of people were stupid enough to unreservedly believe everything they read and watched in the heavily-biased mainstream media throughout the campaign; hence all the shock and disbelief when Trump won out. The media are still at it, still spouting shyte, and a lot of people are still believing every word. Lemmings, the lot of them.

Mute denisj
    Favourite denisj
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:02 AM

@Can’t Think of One: And yet here you are, reading the mainstream media and commenting on it. Trump’s victory can be explained in part thus: He says outrageous stuff knowing the media will lap at up and call it out of bounds. He then describes them as biased against him, making him the only one telling the truth. And it’s shocking to see how many people fell for it.

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:39 AM

All you have to do is listen to radio Clinton (RTE) you would think you were listening to a party political message from the Democratic party, (what Hilary was doing, where, blah! Blah! and a clip of one of Bills speeches , oh and by the way Trump caught his michael in his zip while abusing someone (the last trump bit wasn’t mentioned!!)

Mute Can't Think of One

@denisj Reading and commenting on it and believing it are very different things. The media are indeed biased, outrageously so. This article is a case in point. It’s heartening to see how many people *didn’t* fall for it.

Mute Can't Think of One
    Nov 11th 2016, 10:12 AM

Being a Trump supporter, I’m off now to set fire to an old age pensioner. That’s the sort of thing that us types do. You’ll probably read about it here later on.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:49 AM

@denisj: So you believe in Penis Politics?

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:52 AM

@Bill Madden: Well said. Trump won despite the entire media being firmly against him, the whole establishment being against him. He promised to Drain the Swamp of Washington and I expect he will sack a lot of them (or force them to retire). So he is a revolutionary candidate, He better deliver.

Mute denisj
    Favourite denisj
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:55 AM

What’s penis politics Val?

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Nov 11th 2016, 3:33 PM

@Val Martin: He’ll “drain the swamp” .No better man .

http://edition.cnn.com/2016/11/10/politics/donald-trump-transition-drain-the-swamp/index.html

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:14 PM
    Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:38 AM

What happened to go cast your stop off for a pint on the way to have a chat about your forecasts for the outcome , these people should be reminded the Election is over get on with it.

Mute Mark Mcloughlin
    Favourite Mark Mcloughlin
    Mute Warthog
    Favourite Warthog

@Mark Mcloughlin:
    TSLM…….Trump Supporters Lives Matter….

Mute Ms. Shannon Napier
    Favourite Ms. Shannon Napier
    Nov 11th 2016, 12:12 PM

So you will report on hate crimes caused by Donald Trump presidency but you won’t report on the hate crimes that are being committed by the Hillary supporters where they are dragging white men out of their cars in the Middle Street and beating the crap Outta them – some of these men are of the age of 55.
    you won’t report on this now because that doesn’t push your agenda that Donald Trump as president is going to mean America becomes a hotbed of racism and bigotry.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:44 AM

A genius on the radio from Galway University bemoaning the defeat of Hillary. Says she got the majority of the popular vote. The fact is neither got a majority. One cannot compare one electoral system to a different one. The day of the media running our lives. Please don’t buy a newspaper any more. There is no objectivity there. Next we need Irexit

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:40 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: There are lots of words for people who conflate an organization with its members as you just did. And for those who assume that if a group calls itself the ‘Muslim Students Association’ it must represent all muslim students. And for people who have no idea what the MSA is, who founded it, what it does and why.

I judge all IS members en masse based on the one thing they have in common – they joined IS. I judge all Muslim Brotherhood members based on what they have in common – joining the MB. And all members of the Iona Institute etc…

I don’t judge all members of the MSA because it’s a front group, and students are often young and naive, so they don’t necessarily have much clue what the group is really about. Like people who join one of the SWPs many front groups, except without the sharia agenda. But I do judge the MSA as an organization – because I’m not ignorant of what it is.

And you clearly don’t understand what genocide means.

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Nov 11th 2016, 12:50 PM

For those who don’t know what the Muslim Students Association is, please look it up. The journal has deleted my comment which could have saved you the trouble.

Mute Warthog
    Favourite Warthog
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:17 PM

@Marlowemallow:
    The MSA need to be stopped in their tracks, they are a racist/sectarian 6th column inside US Universities and they block, just like the libby left, any criticism of Islam or Muslims!

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Nov 11th 2016, 1:55 PM

Are you going to cover the story of the man beaten up in Chicago while bystanders egged them on by shouting anti-Trump comments? Seems he got it much worse. There are awful people who don’t need much of a reason to get violent.

Mute Frederick Burden
    Favourite Frederick Burden
    Nov 11th 2016, 2:39 PM

‘Local media reported a police statement yesterday, however, alleging that she had made up the attack.’
    So the whole article is just a slanderous slur on Donald Trump’s character.
    Unbelievable.

Mute John Martin
    Favourite John Martin
    Nov 11th 2016, 1:31 PM
    Mute dell lyons
    Favourite dell lyons
    Nov 11th 2016, 2:10 PM

Wait till the very end to add it was made up! Jesus

Mute Phil Hegarty
    Favourite Phil Hegarty
    Nov 11th 2016, 2:12 PM

This story stinks of false flag

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:55 AM

And so it starts. The president elect reaping what he has sown.

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Favourite Shea Fitzgerald
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:37 AM

The Trump dogs are out now and he will have no control over them because I don’t believe he has any leadership skills, only the illusion of leadership that comes with being the loudest voice. Things might get a bit ugly.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Nov 11th 2016, 11:47 AM

@Shea Fitzgerald: What leadership skills have you? A man who built up such successful companies has no leadership skill?? What planet are you on?

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Nov 11th 2016, 12:50 PM

My leadership skills are not under discussion here and I haven’t just been elected to be president of the USA. As for his skill as a businessman, The Economist magazine seems to think that his perfomance has been “mediocre”. He was handed control of his fathers empire; nothing wrong with that but it would be a mistake to credit his wealth to his success in business alone.

Mute Warthog
    Favourite Warthog
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:19 PM

@Shea Fitzgerald:
    Yep and they are sorting out the “libitard” dogs who have been trying to control what we watch, what we say, what we think and what we do!

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:53 PM

Well Warthog, you’ve said about all that needs to be said about the situation, perfectly demonstrating the sort of bile and vitriol that has been given legitimacy with Trump’s election. Good luck with that. If you can’t make up your own mind about what you say/think/do, the “libitard dogs” will be the least of your problems.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Nov 11th 2016, 6:21 PM

If its happening its not right and should stop

Mute Jonathan Baselle E.
    Favourite Jonathan Baselle E.
    Nov 11th 2016, 8:01 PM

Its funny because most of you trump supporters on here would not even share your views in person because your stay at home keyboard warriors, your all bitter go suck a lemon

Mute Barry Casey
    Favourite Barry Casey
    Nov 12th 2016, 10:02 PM

You come across as a real intelligent guy. ‘Suck a Lemon’ ….. Have not heard that one since the 80′s.
    I’m sure it’s easy to find someone willing to express their views in person , provided your not the type whom only engages with others who reflect your own opinion back at you. Many find that too gratifying and are too defensive to change tack , which might be the reason you have not yet encountered someone to challenge your notion.