You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Donald Trump: 'No politician in history has been treated worse or more unfairly'

The US President was addressing Coast Guard graduates today.

https://www.facebook.com/Channel4News/videos/10154849555341939/

DONALD TRUMP GAVE vent to frustrations over his mounting political problems Wednesday, declaring that no president in US history had been treated “more unfairly.”

During a commencement address at the US Coast Guard Academy, Trump urged graduating cadets to follow his example and “fight, fight, fight. Never, ever, give up. Things will work out just fine.”

“Look at the way I’ve been treated lately,” he said.

Especially by the media. No politician in history, and I say this with great surety, has been treated worse or more unfairly. You can’t let them get you down.

The outburst came amid intensifying pressure on the president in the wake of his firing of James Comey as director of the FBI last week, in the midst of a probe into whether Trump’s campaign colluded with Russian attempts to tilt the US election in his favour.

The Senate Intelligence Commitee announced today that they have asked Comey to testify.

The New York Times, citing sources close to Comey, reported yesterday that Trump asked the FBI director in an Oval Office meeting to drop its probe of former national security adviser Michael Flynn.

A day earlier, the Washington Post, citing unnamed sources, reported that Trump had shared highly classified intelligence with Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov regarding an Islamic State group terror threat.

© – AFP 2017

Read: Putin offers to hand over ‘recording’ of Trump’s meeting with Russian minister >

Read: Top Republican writes to FBI for all details of communications between Comey and Trump >

View 74 comments
74 Comments
    Mute Brian Dunleavy
    Favourite Brian Dunleavy
    May 17th 2017, 6:20 PM

I’m sure Presidents Lincoln, Garfield, McKinley, and Kennedy would be in total agreement with him.

You know, if they hadn’t been assassinated….

Mute Duncan
    Favourite Duncan
    May 17th 2017, 6:39 PM

@Brian Dunleavy:
    Brilliant

Mute wiklagirl
    Favourite wiklagirl
    May 17th 2017, 8:01 PM

@Brian Dunleavy: Or Nelson Mandela if was still alive. Robben Island must be a piece of cake in comparison to the hardship of The White House, New York, golfing in Florida …

Mute hallelujah
    Favourite hallelujah
    May 17th 2017, 10:41 PM

@Brian Dunleavy:George Wallace (Alabama governor) was left paralyzed after a shooting in 1972 too.

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    May 17th 2017, 10:59 PM

@hallelujah: Reagan was never right after his attempted assassination as well…

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke

But he’s not a politician. That’s his problem.

Mute George Orwell
    Favourite George Orwell

@Alan Cooke: That’s lefties problem

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    May 17th 2017, 9:59 PM

@Christopher Treacy: how did “he make it business wise” ? He inherited his money and would be far richer had he just left it in the bank earning interest.

Mute ocJBI3Df
    Favourite ocJBI3Df
    May 18th 2017, 12:06 AM

@Christopher Treacy: How many times did he file for bankruptcy? 5? It’s one thing driving a business into the ground or losing your personal finances but to drive the biggest superpower in the world into the ground, that’s the worry people have. Justified? Absabloodylootly

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    May 17th 2017, 6:22 PM

How short is this man’s memory . The more disrespected President in recent history is President Obama who had to put up Disgusting and offensive comments like been called ‘ ape’ and ‘terrorist’ and they are the mild ones . ! Let alone being called out publicly by Trump himself over his place of birth .
    When you are a lying sexual predator Trump you can expect to be called out …..it’s called Karma

Mute Joe Caulfield
    Favourite Joe Caulfield
    May 17th 2017, 6:29 PM

@Mary Mc Carthy: Oh god the irony of it all.

Mute Darren Tully
    Favourite Darren Tully
    May 17th 2017, 8:47 PM

@Mary Mc Carthy: They went after Obama’s wife and children too

Mute Keaneland
    Favourite Keaneland
    May 18th 2017, 1:15 PM

@Mary Mc Carthy: did he get tgis treatment from the media?

Mute Matthew Kaufman
    Favourite Matthew Kaufman
    May 17th 2017, 6:26 PM

Puhleeze. Fake tough guy losing it when his bullying shtick stops working, and he can’t buy his way out of this one. Guy’s been president for barely 4 months and is whining like a slapped baby.

Sad thing is it’ll be President Pence soon enough, who’ll pardon Trump and let him waddle off into the distance to cash in on a lifetime of notoriety. With free Secret Service protection for as long as he and his misbegotten offspring live.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    May 17th 2017, 9:50 PM

@Matthew Kaufman: The Democrats are out to get Trump because they lost the election. In that sense they are unpatriotic. To be a patriot means to accept peacefully the result of the election. The idea that Russia of all places could decide the minds of nearly 400 mln people in the U.S.A. is laughable. Vested interests who prospered under the Democrats – especially the bankers – are out to get him. They want Wall St. status quo restored ie. taxpayer bailouts if they lose on their bets. This Trillion Dollar industry sees Trump as a risk to their safety net in case they get it wrong. HRC/Democrats are in their pocket.

Mute Cathal Flood
    Favourite Cathal Flood
    May 18th 2017, 12:32 PM

@gregory: How far right are you, but shur blame Obama, it’s not fair, it only crying lefties
    Cop on !!!
    Russia didn’t have to turn 400 million in trump fans , just release enough leaked (just enough) info to throw doubt into 0.5 % of voting public minds, all info now proved to be false, misleading without context.
    Staunch GOP politicians are aghast at this man’s bumbling, lowest approval rating for a new president ever, one gaff after another, one cock up after another, cover ups, scandal following scandal.
    This guy has the strongest house and senate any president has had for years and his own party can’t back him
    But Yeah, so so much better than Hillary !!!!!!!!!!

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    May 17th 2017, 6:26 PM

The poor Trumpflake!

Mute George Orwell
    Favourite George Orwell

He’s the voice of resistance against the ever encroaching Nanny State.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    May 17th 2017, 6:36 PM

@George Orwell: My hole he is. He wants more regulation on the free press because they keep criticising him.

Does that seem like an anti-nanny state position to you?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    May 17th 2017, 7:53 PM

Oh no, the lefties want to help everyone with their medical expenses, ba$tards!

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    May 17th 2017, 10:05 PM

@George Orwell: different day, different crisis, same old same old from yourself. You really need to get a life.

Mute ianglen
    Favourite ianglen
    May 17th 2017, 6:33 PM

He is such a whining Baby Man. He knows he is out of his league, things are unraveling and so is his mind. He needs to put his big boy pants on..

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    May 17th 2017, 8:27 PM

@ianglen: All the President’s Babysitters…
    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C__9dOyVwAAOmg8.jpg

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    May 17th 2017, 7:42 PM

Trump is well able to dish it out; he just can’t take it, especially when well deserved.

Mute Joe Loughrey
    Favourite Joe Loughrey
    May 17th 2017, 6:37 PM

‘I say this with great surety’

Mute Is Mise jay
    Favourite Is Mise jay

Love him or hate him hes not wrong in what he said they never let up on him

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    May 17th 2017, 6:33 PM

@Is Mise jay: In fairness he is the gift that keeps on giving. Poor Trumpy

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    May 17th 2017, 6:35 PM

@Is Mise jay: Just because you are paranoid does not mean that they are not out to get you.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    May 17th 2017, 7:25 PM

@Is Mise jay: Let up on him? World leaders should be scrutinised and held accountable for their actions. Where’s the problem?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    May 17th 2017, 7:58 PM

@Is Mise jay: fired the head of an investigation into his campaign, gave sensitive Intel to Russians in a room with people who weren’t cleared to hear it (unless the Russian cameraman has codeword clearance), allegedly asked the head of the FBI to end an investigation into one of his associates. Yeah, none of that is worth reporting at all. I wonder how his little meeting with Erdogan went?

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    May 17th 2017, 9:57 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: do you really believe everything that’s in the news ?

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    May 17th 2017, 10:12 PM

@Scorpionvenomm: it’s what’s not in the news that’s more damning; the machinery of government is how you get things done, ignore it and you’ll just be ineffectual, declare war on it and that’s a war you can’t win!

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    May 18th 2017, 1:39 AM

@Scorpionvenomm: which part hasn’t been verified?

Mute chinaski
    Favourite chinaski
    May 17th 2017, 6:28 PM

“You know what uranium is, right? It’s this thing called nuclear weapons, and other things, like lots of things are done with uranium, including some bad things.”
    Donald J Trump
    The man is an idiot.

Mute Giovanni Battista
    Favourite Giovanni Battista
    May 17th 2017, 6:55 PM

What’s all the hullaballoo about Trump befriending Russia? Correct me if I’m wrong but isn’t the ‘Cold War’ over and has not Russia, for almost thirty years, embraced capitalism fully? And, isn’t Russia committed to the destruction of ISIS too? Anything to do with oil vested interests in the Middle East?

Mute The IMF are here
    Favourite The IMF are here
    May 17th 2017, 7:36 PM

@Giovanni Battista: Then why are they hacking into political party servers and pushing fake news onto the general public?

Mute Joe Caulfield
    Favourite Joe Caulfield
    May 17th 2017, 8:50 PM

@The IMF are here: No they didn’t. It was Seth Rich.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    May 17th 2017, 9:32 PM

@Giovanni Battista: The Cold War is over for who? Russia has invaded and annexed 3 of its neighbours territory in the past 10 years because they dared to look to the West. Has involved its self in Elections in Austria, Netherlands the US and France in an effort to cause chaos and disruption in the EU, has attempted to bully Finland, Sweden away from NATO. Has allied itself with Syria and Iran two vociferous opponents of the West. As far as the Russians are concerned the Cold War never ended.

May 17th 2017, 11:14 PM

@Giovanni Battista: Russia is, and will continue to be the enemy of Western governments.That is the bottom line.You can be polite to them but they still are working against us.

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    May 18th 2017, 2:28 AM

@Joe Caulfield: Seth Rich. Right. Wasn’t he about to dish on Pizzagate? LMAO!

Mute kevin
    Favourite kevin
    May 17th 2017, 6:19 PM

The looney left are just peeved that their jobs with abortion promotion services worldwide will be gone soon.

Mute The Dunes Of Inchy
    Favourite The Dunes Of Inchy
    May 17th 2017, 7:17 PM

@kevin: There must be a wicked stench coming from your fingers,after pulling that amount of shit from your buttocks ..

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    May 17th 2017, 7:44 PM

@kevin: in addition to you, there are 28 crazies reading the journal.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    May 17th 2017, 7:52 PM

@Tony Daly: ah yeah but quite a few are duplicates

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    May 17th 2017, 7:55 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: that helps to put my mind at rest.

Mute Ken Burke
    Favourite Ken Burke
    May 17th 2017, 6:46 PM

Silly Trump and his disillusioned auld head. The media (fake or real) are loving him. He’s the president that just keeps giving.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    May 17th 2017, 6:54 PM

US media and the BBC hate Trump the same way the Sunday Independent hate Sinn Fein…..Many would argue Sunday Independent is right only reporting the truth….However they are a bit biased…

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    May 17th 2017, 8:00 PM

@John003: because quoting him and talking about allegations made against him is totally wrong, even when he comes out and brags about having done what it on some occasions

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    May 17th 2017, 8:12 PM

Snowflake in Chief whines again. Poor Trumplethinskin, but I suppose he needs something to distract from his Russian connections and pilfering a speech from Legally Blonde! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SSLyFiHOC5I

Mute Red Marauder
    Favourite Red Marauder
    May 17th 2017, 7:16 PM

Astonishing and we’re barely just a few months into his presidency, it is like a real life soap, everybody is wondering what the hell is coming next

Mute Tom the Bomb
    Favourite Tom the Bomb
    May 17th 2017, 8:56 PM

I’m pretty sure Jeremy Corbyn gets a harder time from the media

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    May 17th 2017, 9:21 PM

@Tom the Bomb: Let’s be fair to ol’ Jeremy he talks through his mouth, Trump talks through his A

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    May 17th 2017, 9:18 PM

It’s not that Trump has a problem, He is the PROBLEM. Listen ! Ye all know this guy should never have been elected, the man is not a politician and never will understand the meaning of diplomacy.

Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady
    May 17th 2017, 7:08 PM

Couldn’t agree more.
    The way this man has been treated by the American press is nothing short of disgraceful.
    Absolutely disgraceful.
    Keep fighting Donald, prove those critics wrong, the free world is behind you.
    MAGA!

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    May 17th 2017, 7:22 PM

@Jack Cassady: good man yourself.

A lot of Irish people like you love, adore and worship Donald. He loves us, we love him. We are best friend as best friends can be.

We are organising a collection of $500 a head to show him our adoration.

Please email

irishFriendsofDonald@outlook.com

Join in love and support of the most wonderful man in the universe ever. Feel his love. Join us.

Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady
    May 17th 2017, 7:34 PM

@Tony Daly:
    Cheers for the link Tony, great comment, I might have to plagiarize some of the wonderful sentiment for future reference.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    May 17th 2017, 7:40 PM

@Jack Cassady: nobody does unctuous half as well as you.

Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady
    May 17th 2017, 8:15 PM

@Tony Daly:
    Credit where credit is due.

Mute hallelujah
    Favourite hallelujah
    May 17th 2017, 10:43 PM

@Jack Cassady: I like President Trump, but he has to stop whinging. President Kennedy and Martin Luther King payed t he ultimate price, George Wallace was left in a wheelchair in 1972 after shooting.

May 17th 2017, 11:17 PM

@Jack Cassady: yes stand up for a lying, sexual predator. A purveyor of “alternative facts”

Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady
    May 18th 2017, 12:55 AM

@Gus Sheridan:
    Bill Clinton and the liberal press?
    No.

Mute Rockhopper617
    Favourite Rockhopper617
    May 17th 2017, 7:20 PM

He’s not a politician. So it’s game on

Mute Carol Dee
    Favourite Carol Dee
    May 17th 2017, 7:47 PM

“No politician in history has been treated worse and more unfairly” – true, but with good reason!

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    May 17th 2017, 7:51 PM

Nelson Mandela?

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    May 17th 2017, 8:31 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: And his bad treatment in the media was actually unjustified…

Mute Anthony Ross
    Favourite Anthony Ross
    May 17th 2017, 8:33 PM

Trump is a bozo and soon he will be no longer a risk to world peace

Mute Stouts O Shea
    Favourite Stouts O Shea
    May 17th 2017, 9:16 PM

Like him or not
    The man has been villified by the fake news organisations

May 17th 2017, 11:08 PM

What a self obsessed cry baby, poor me….what happened to the USA?

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    May 17th 2017, 9:29 PM

We should all try to make Trump’s statement true.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    May 17th 2017, 7:31 PM

He is up there with Roy Keane for dividing public opinion

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    May 17th 2017, 11:00 PM

No smoke without fire Donald! Suck it up you snowflake!

Mute Jackson Bollovks
    Favourite Jackson Bollovks
    May 18th 2017, 12:51 AM

Then fire yourself Trumpy, go eat your chocolate cake in Florida, you are a narcissist and a loser who has no respect from anyone, sad!

Mute cleargoods
    Favourite cleargoods
    May 17th 2017, 9:21 PM
    Mute Rachel Didleu
    Favourite Rachel Didleu
    May 20th 2017, 7:19 AM

@cleargoods: nice one cleargoods…ponder this one The Js have been meddling in religion/politics since the 1550s but why is it only now they have their man in Vatican….l am guessing the saw the writing on the wall and realised the common man was getting uncommoningly educated and wise to their plans….l will argue that was their biggest mistake…..clandestine operations cannot work with the worlds press on your heels and your leader is pigging out on pasta……