You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
It’s Sinéad O’Carroll here to take you through the preamble. (Almost wrote pre-drinks there. We promise we’re not imbibing.)
According to our poll this morning, a lot of you won’t be tuning in to see Donald Trump take the oath of office so we’ll make sure to bring you every word, song, dance and reaction.
It seems Democrats *really* want to avoid seeing the man who beat their candidate today.
But there is generally less interest across the entire US population about today’s event, compared to the swearing in of Barack Obama for the first time in January 2009.
He was also happy about last night’s musical performance at the Lincoln Memorial.
Thank you for joining us at the Lincoln Memorial tonight- a very special evening! Together, we are going to MAKE AMERICA GREAT AGAIN! pic.twitter.com/5d774OCx5o
There has been a big kerfuffle about Trump’s people not being able to land ‘big name’ musical and entertainment acts to keep the expected 700,000-900,000 spectators busy ahead of the official proceedings today.
Trump saying that his work will begin on Monday – and not today or over the weekend – came as a surprise to many.
He told The Times of London that he didn’t want to be “signing and get it mixed up with lots of celebration”.
And there were commentators lining up to criticise him. Stephen Colbert used his show to warn the president-elect that the new job doesn’t come with weekends off.
In all, Mr. Trump has named only 29 of his 660 executive department appointments, according to the Partnership for Public Service, which has been tracking the process. That is a pace far slower than recent predecessors, falling far short of the schedule originally outlined by Gov. Chris Christie of New Jersey, who was Mr. Trump’s transition director before Mr. Trump ousted him 10 weeks ago.
AP / Press Association Images
AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images
This just in from the wires:
Outgoing US President Barack Obama has left the Oval Office for the last time, as he prepares for the inauguration of his successor Donald Trump.
Obama walked into the Oval Office holding a letter, which he placed on the Resolute desk – a 19th-century desk used by many presidents.
It is customary for the outgoing president to leave a personal note for his successor. Obama is now to have morning tea with Trump before they make their way to the Capitol for the inauguration ceremony.
—AFP
He has also taken some time to tweet to his 13.7 million followers.
“It’s been the honor of my life to serve you. You made me a better leader and a better man. I won’t stop; I’ll be right there with you as a citizen, inspired by your voices of truth and justice, good humor, and love.
“As we look forward, I want our first steps to reflect what matters most to you. Share your thoughts with me at http://Obama.org.
“I’m still asking you to believe – not in my ability to bring about change, but in yours. I believe in change because I believe in you.”
It's been the honor of my life to serve you. You made me a better leader and a better man.
We’ve got the first images of the Trumps in and the internet has already blown up with commentary about how she is ‘channelling Jackie O’ in blue Ralph Lauren. (John F Kennedy’s wife wore something similar in 1961 as he was sworn in).
AP / Press Association Images
AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images
After two hours of listening to the jaunty, jaunty music being played over the speakers as the guests arrive to the National Mall, I’m not that sad to hand over the reins to my colleague Daragh Brophy who will take you through officialdom until America has a new president.
While we’re on the subject of Obama’s 8th cousins (how’s that for an awkward link) – we paid a visit to another of them a few weeks ago.
Henry Healy showed us around the Offaly motorway service station named after America’s first black president, and the visitor centre where people can learn about his links to the area.
Boos ring out from the crowd in Washington as a picture of Hillary Clinton is displayed on the big screen.
20 Jan 2017
4:21PM
On Sky News, Kay Burley has been talking to two women in the crowd about that ‘October surprise’ video of Donald Trump boasting about groping women, which many commentators thought would derail his campaign.
They didn’t think what he said was right but added that it shouldn’t have been dragged up during the campaign, because it was so many years ago.
One of them also added:
I’ve heard worse. I’ve heard women speak worse. Nobody should speak like that.
The chairman of the inauguration committee Senator Roy Blunt is now addressing the crowd.
For anyone engaging in some kind of drinking game (not that we’d necessarily endorse that kind of thing) there have already been namechecks for Ronald Reagan and George Washington.
In a few minutes Mike Pence will take the oath of office, taking over from Joe Biden.
Back in Ireland, a number of protests are planned for this evening.
One supported by left-wing groups including the Anti-Austerity Alliance-People Before Profit party takes place outside the Central Bank Plaza in Dublin at 5pm to coincide with the Trump swearing-in.
In Cork, People Before Profit have arranged a protest to take place between 5.30pm and 6.30pm at Daunt Square.
Trump begins his speech by thanking the former presidents present to watch his ceremony.
The opening lines of his address differ little from his campaign stump speech as he tells supporters how power will be handed back to the people from the elite of Washington.
20 Jan 2017
5:07PM
January 20th will be remembered, he says, as the day “the people became the rulers of this great nation again”.
20 Jan 2017
5:08PM
So far, there’s really not much here that’s all that different to the speeches he’s been making during the campaign, and in the months since the election.
20 Jan 2017
5:11PM
For many decades we’ve enriched foreign industries at the expense of our industries, Trump says.
US leaders have also failed to invest properly in the American military.
One by one, factories shuttered and left American shores, he says.
The wealth of the middle class has been ripped from their homes and distributed across the world.
But that’s the past, he says to applause. We’re here to talk about the future.
“From this day forward it’s going to be only America first. America first.”
More of this sort of thing later – but here’s some instant reaction.
Incredible, unprecedented inauguration speech by President Trump. Smart crowd will hate it, ordinary Americans will be cheering him on. pic.twitter.com/dklWDsgyBB
Dublin anti-Trump protest: "Yes, these are scary times, but we people of conscience…we will not be silenced. We will redouble our efforts." pic.twitter.com/SekRyw8Ncs
— Migrant Rights Centre Ireland (@MigrantRightsIr) January 20, 2017
Our editor Susan Daly was at a viewing reception at the American Embassy in Ballsbridge. She writes:
“At the US Embassy, Chargé d’affaires Reece Smyth (who is running the show until Trump appoints an ambassador to Ireland) told assembled US citizens, embassy staff and media, that Ireland should not forget ‘that it is the only country in the world whose leader has a standing appointment with the US president’. So that would imply that the shamrock-in-a-bowl Patrick’s Day meeting is still a safe bet for this year.
“There was a life-sized cardboard cutout of Donald Trump beside a large screen showing the inauguration, and some red-white-and-blue bunting but the inauguration ‘party’ was a subdued affair, lasting just the two hours around the ceremony from 4-6pm.
“Smyth said that ‘despite speculation in the press’, if he was to be asked who would be the next Ambassador of Ireland, he could only say: ‘I don’t know’. He also said that he had no idea and no indication of when one would be appointed.”
We’d love to bring you a photo of the Trump cardboard cutout, but all phones and other recording devices were taken from guests on the way in the embassy gates…
This just in from the deputy weather editor at the Washington Post.
Whoops!
We couldn't find this Tweet
From the plan:
“For too long, we’ve been held back by burdensome regulations on our energy industry. President Trump is committed to eliminating harmful and unnecessary policies such as the Climate Action Plan and the Waters of the U.S. rule. Lifting these restrictions will greatly help American workers, increasing wages by more than $30 billion over the next 7 years.”
POLICE DEPLOYED PEPPER spray in a chaotic confrontation blocks from Donald Trump’s inauguration as protesters registered their rage against the incoming president.
Spirited demonstrations unfolded peacefully at various security checkpoints near the Capitol as police helped ticket-holders get through to the inaugural ceremony. Signs read, ‘Resist Trump Climate Justice Now’, ‘Let Freedom Ring’, ‘Free Palestine’.
But at one point, police gave chase to a group of about 100 protesters who smashed the windows of downtown businesses as they denounced capitalism and Trump. Police in riot gear used pepper spray from large canisters and eventually cordoned off the protesters, who shouted, “Hands up, don’t shoot,” as a helicopter hovered overhead.
The confrontation happened about an hour before Trump’s swearing-in at the Capitol.
Closer to that scene, lines for ticket holders entering two gates stretched for blocks at one point as protesters clogged entrances.
For those unfamiliar with Facebook Live, you have six options: A like, a laughing face, a heart, a shocked face, a sad face, and an angry face – the final option proved to be the most popular by far.
Angry reactions peaked during the following line of the speech:
We will no longer accept politicians who are all talk and no action — constantly complaining but never doing anything about it.
Shocked faces peaked as religious readings began after Trump finished his speech, and sad reactions at the start of the broadcast just as Vice President Mike Pence finished his oath.
There are no obvious highs for the other reactions.
The most liked moment? When Trump left the stage – take from that what you will.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Over 600 people on hospital trolleys, seven million overspent on a hospital which not one patient has ever set foot in.. Yet in Ireland we have people out on the roads protesting about a new elected president thousands of miles away..
@Cosmo Kramer:
The leader of the US does affect Ireland. Apart from being a massive employer and large trading partner we have a lot of Irish citizens living in the US.
Do say US doesn’t matter is to be blind to what happened in 2008, they started the global financial crisis..
Ireland has one of the most open economies in the world, if America get a cold we get pnemonia.
And if that happens there will be no money for hospitals…
They don’t wanna get anything DONE they’re attention seekers
Americans have plenty of reason to protest, the fact that 54% of the country voted for someone else worry over him being a fascist but do you ever see people protesting the UK pm here?
It’s weird, when he starts a war yeh ok but he’s not even sworn in yet ffsake
Notice be it protesting invasions or leaders this shower never protest Russia or China or Serbia or Turkey plenty of fascist leaders and human rights abuses and invasions there…not s word
@Cosmo Kramer: People protesting a guy democratically elected, yet when taxes are raised, rights swindled away, corruption of the highest order rampant throughout, nobody bothers there ass’s….. good riddance to these people. Hope Trump gives them something to cry about…..
@Peedur Dante: You would think that, but he has not been in charge yet, and these have already happened. Wars started in the last 8 years under Obama…. corporations getting huge contracts to fund a war…. yes, Obama’s have shown grace and class…. and people believe that crock of shlt.
@Cosmo Kramer:
The elevation of Trump and our crumbling public health system here are both symptoms of the same problem. That is the capitalist system which exploits the many to enrich the few.
The purpose of the AAA-PBP bill last night was to prevent opportunistic evictions by landlords. Sale of property and family transfers are the most common justification used by landlords to remove tenants before the Part 4 tenancies expire and many of them are bogus in order to remove tenants and hike up the rent. The AAA-PBP bill was an attempt to close those loopholes and prevent the homeless crisis getting worse.
Interesting to note also that even neoliberal Labour party and free marketers like Stephen Donnelly voted for the bill as they understand that homelessness is a national crisis and cannot be allowed to escalate via forced evictions.
Turkey
“Enough is enough! The government has long violated democratic rights, the rights of workers, trade unions and minorities. The violence in Gezi Park was only the tip of the iceberg. Around 8,000 trade union and Left activists, journalists and Kurdish politicians are imprisoned. And Turkish media broadcast – supposedly on Erdogan’s orders – TV cooking shows while the people try to find out through foreign media and the internet what is going on in their country!
We call for:
• The immediate release of all people imprisoned during the protests and freedom for all political prisoners
• An independent working-class commission formed by unions and democratically elected representatives of the movement to investigate the police repression and bring those responsible to justice
• Full democratic rights, including the right to demonstrate and to form trade unions and political parties
• Abolishment of anti-terror laws and special courts and of all the repressive and reactionary laws implemented by the AKP in the past years
• An end to the repression of Kurds
“Nadezhda Tolokonnikova, a Russian political activist and member of the punk group Pussy Riot, was jailed in August 2012 for hooliganism and blasphemy. Her crime was to stage an anti-Putin protest, along with two other performers, inside Moscow’s Orthodox Cathedral. Despite claims that Russia has made steps towards becoming a more open society, those in power took immediate steps to silence the band’s radical feminist message…… Under these circumstances it is vital for the international community of working people to mobilise, demanding the release of Russian dissidents like Nadezhda, and an immediate end to state repression.”
“ In the quarter century since the June 4th massacre, China’s economic growth achieved ‘miracle’ status, and despite its current slowdown is widely tipped to overtake the US as the world’s biggest economy before the end of the decade. The CCP’s model of ‘state capitalist’ development has created more dollar billionaires than anywhere outside the US, most of whom hold strong connections to the dictatorship and even sit in its auxiliary organs. The apparent successes of the CCP regime, after wading through the blood of anti-government protesters in 1989, has produced admirers among the world’s capitalists (even if many governments increasingly view China as a military and economic threat). This has also spawned the theory of “resilient authoritarianism” – a regime that has adapted, co-opted, and imitated, in order to stay in power.”
While you’re at it, how many sick or hungry people could be saved with the millions of dollars being spent on this inauguration charade?
Bread and circuses.. without the bread
@Cosmo Kramer: True there is a national demonstration tomorrow protesting about those issues and more and most of the people there this evening wont go to that ,why ? no politician will be let speak ,A.A.A/P.B.P. Sinn Fein ,wont support it ,as they cant control the agenda , shame on them
I find Trump to be loathsome, but the vapid whinging about him is a very entertaining silver lining.
For example, you heard about the “women’s march”? They wanted to get as many women as possible to voice their concern about his attitude to women, and to represent ‘marginalised groups.’
Then they banned pro-life feminists from taking part. But not the Council on American Islamic Relations. Lol!
@Emeralds: Yeah! I heard that one of the “Pro Life” groups (Students for Life) wasn’t going to’stand in solidarity with women.’ Their intention was to change viewpoints.So yeah,they were probably told to pi$$ off.Rightly so, too..
That’s nice, Francis. But not what I was talking about.
New Wave Feminists were due to take part in the rally (not protest against it) but were kicked out for being pro-life. The organisers of this march claim to be speaking for women. So firstly, they presume to speak for women (including the tens of millions who voted for Trump) and secondly their “intersectional”-ism doesn’t extend to women who disagree on one issue…….but it’s ok for Muslims to disagree. Oh, but they still claim to speak for those women they’ve banned
Students for Life have their own protest. Their right to assemble and express themselves are just as valid as your hypocritical feminist friends’. The fact that you’re so blasé about squashing those rights by simply “[telling] them to pi$$ off and rightly so” reveals your authoritarian leanings. This is where words like “feminazi” come from.
Fortunately, you’re impotent. They can protest if they want.
But they are women. For some reason these protesters think women are one homogenous group that think exactly the same as them. I suppose the point is that nobody can claim to speak for all women.
“Fortunately, you’re impotent. They can protest if they want.”
So the “new wave feminists” were going to march in solidarity with the organisers of this march who said : “We believe in Reproductive freedom.We believe in safe,legal affordable abortion”? Hahaha..Let them protest away with the other “pro life ” yokes …
@Emeralds: Muslims aren’t inherently anti-choice, in fact I don’t think there’s a single Muslim country with more restrictive abortion laws than Ireland. Look it up.
I wouldn’t deny most Muslim majority countries are conservatives in other ways, but the reality is usually a lot more complicated. Same with the “vapid whinging” which is actually minority groups terrified for their safety, and rightly so. They already faired badly enough under Trump, let alone someone who puts avowed white supremacists and anti-LGBT extremists in his cabinet.
I think all the next 4 yrs will show trump being the same as every other politician taking care of his wealthy friends and breaking the majority of his promises, the swamp is already as full as ever
@johnp: So why are people not out there protesting every other politician? Because they are stupid, from a pussy generation, who devoutly follow fake news.
@Barnes: he meant poor turnout on thejournal.ie comments sections. The usual losers who talk rubbish yet turn a blind eye to the many atrocities committed by Obama.
A lot of his voters contrary to popular perception are bit racists they voted for him cos he marketed himself as a populist
That groups gonna get huge buyers remorse when :
•They loose their health insurance or premiums explode even more (polls show many don’t realise the affordable care act and obamacare are the same thing)
•He signs an executive order as planned to kill overtime rules
•signs bill privatising social security so pensions are wiped in the next stock crash
….and on and on it goes
yes he’s been such a champion of the working man his whole life,stiffing contractors and putting people or e if business because he wouldn’t pay up, and then the wonderful trump university that screwed people out of there money, for nothing, you are so right he’ll be great for the working class and what an inspiring speech!?!!d*#k
@Barnes: People like you are a literal cancer on politics on society. Fascism isn’t a word you can take and apply to anything and there’s good reason why it’s come up in terms of Trump. Just as Jews & Roma from holocaust surviving families – many of them have made the comparisons themselves.
Fascism is not the same thing as “violence” and in fact a myriad of other ideologies, including no doubt your own, justify or use violence. The difference is you most likely believe in bombing the middle east and executing black people in cold blood as opposed to physically resisting a fascist regime.
So were the allies in WW2 by the same extension “the real fascists”? I guess you root for the Empire in Star Wars huh?
Haha the amount of whinging losers in town earlier was hilarious, could barely contain their rehashed, Clinton sponsored talking points long enough to stop shaking. What a glorious day, look forward to seeing how much the losers rampaging through the streets let themselves down even further tonight as darkness falls and the paid protesters ramp it up. May even raise a beer later on, brilliant.
@Henry Krinkle: It’s not about whinging. It’s about the fact that the US elected a borderline fascist and people are terrified for their safety and rights. The LGBT & Civil rights sections were removed from the White House website, and you still don’t think we have anything to worry about?
@Leighanna Rose Walsh: Why is it every time lunatics on the left run out of reasonable/logical arguments you retreat under the Nazi/fascist/Hitler banner, grow up ffs.
Perhaps it would be good idea to give him a year before judgment…….Trump has some new ideas let’s see how they work out ….He is not all evil and neither was Obama all good….Let’s hope he stops bombing countries in the middle east like Obama did yesterday Libya on his last day in office
In a show of solididarity to The Easily Offended, let’s all gather around a pyre of Riverdance cds, join hands, and belt out a few bars of ‘I’d like to teach the world to sing’.
There’s no one more easily offended than trump – ever see his early morning tweets? If trump was a duck, he’d drown with all the water stuck to his back.
@Tony Daly: The media did their best and CNN worked their hardest with even as it seemed to many, on giving ideas on how to kill Trump and acting like they wanted someone to do that?
“From this day forward it’s going to be only America first. America first.” What a statement when standing in front of the world. What an idiot made many promises to red neck America wonder how long before they start pointing their squirrel gens at Trump……
Before even looking I know this comment section is going to be full of people who value unsmashed windows more than the lives of minorities & LGBT people.
Government formation negotiations in race to finish line as talks continue today
1 hr ago
Last Round on Michael
Ryanair is begging airport bars to cut patrons off after two drinks
1 hr ago
Cavan
Woman killed in Cavan home named locally, as gardaí launch murder investigation
Updated
4 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 138 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 95 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 123 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 93 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 68 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 67 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 32 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 28 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 115 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 56 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 67 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 74 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 33 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 39 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 23 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 77 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 87 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 64 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 46 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 75 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 54 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say