You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Donald Trump says Iranian general 'should have been taken out many years ago'

The US President has also claimed that Iranian leaders aren’t as saddened as they will “let the outside world believe”.

Tweet by @Donald J. Trump Donald J. Trump / Twitter Donald J. Trump / Twitter / Twitter

US PRESIDENT DONALD Trump has claimed that leaders in Iran are “not nearly as saddened” as they are letting the outside world believe over the death of top general Qasem Soleimani.

He also said that the influential military figure “should have been taken out many years ago”, and was responsible for the deaths of Americans. 

Soleimani – who commanded the Revolutionary Guards Quds Force – was killed in the early hours today by a US airstrike in Baghdad.

The killing has provoked outrage in Iran, with supreme leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei warning of “severe revenge” for “the criminals who bloodied their foul hands with his blood”. 

Russia, Syria and Iraq were among countries condemning the US’s actions while China appealed for both sides to “remain calm”. France’s Europe Minister Amelie de Montchalin said: “We have woken up to a more dangerous world.”

The US has so far defended calling the airstrike, with the Pentagon describing it as a “decisive defensive action”.

Tweeting this afternoon, Trump said that Soleimani was responsible for the death or wounding of “thousands of Americans”.

He said: “General Qassem Soleimani has killed or badly wounded thousands of Americans over an extended period of time, and was plotting to kill many more…but got caught! He was directly and indirectly responsible for the death of millions of people, including the recent large number of PROTESTERS killed in Iran itself.

While Iran will never be able to properly admit it, Soleimani was both hated and feared within the country. They are not nearly as saddened as the leaders will let the outside world believe. He should have been taken out many years ago!

His only earlier comments on the dramatic news included a tweet featuring a picture of a US flag and another, cryptic tweet stating that “Iran never won a war, but never lost a negotiation!”

Trump’s Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, meanwhile, said today that the US “remains committed to de-escalation” following the airstrike. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

79 Comments
    Mute Smidgen Dublin
    Favourite Smidgen Dublin
    May 9th 2017, 4:29 PM

Every three months the government will print TDs itemised expenses and bankers monthly net salaries.

Mute Fred Jensen
    Favourite Fred Jensen
    May 9th 2017, 4:41 PM

@Smidgen Dublin:

Why would they do that, is there evidence they are cheating the state, as is the case with this welfare fraud?

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    May 9th 2017, 4:53 PM

Will it now be rolled out to include all areas where fraud takes place that is money belonging to the state . Only right to target other areas as well.. because it’s not just social welfare where fraud is taking place . So only right that it’s rolled out .. otherwise it’s just targeting a certain area..

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    May 9th 2017, 5:06 PM

@Fred Jensen: Yep – there is evidence. Planning councillors have been in receipt of more income than their job entails, banking officials have been transferring large sums to avoid regulation and politicians and big business men have been transferring money between their accounts for no apparent reason. Should be more than enough for you.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 9th 2017, 5:09 PM

@Fred Jensen: There’s more than welfare fraud cheating the state, and costing a hell of a lot more. How about he deals with that in the same manner.
    Or is he afraid he might rat out a few of his well heeled mates.

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    May 9th 2017, 5:13 PM

@LITTLEONE: You were posting the other day that you wouldn’t report welfare fraudsters, yourself. This is a big step in the right direction – but there’s simply no way of pleasing you, or stopping you moaning!

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    May 9th 2017, 5:22 PM

Fank. I said the other day i wouldn’t rat for leo because that’s what welfare inspectors are for . To investigate people and since. I have no idea what my neighbours social welfare status is. I wouldn’t get involved .. sorry for not wanting to put myself in line of fire for leo and government .. now it’s moaning to ask if this will be rolled out to cover other areas where fraud is taking place that involves state money??? Are you confused fank… Surely thats only right.. unless you think we shouldn’t roll something out where fraud is costing this state in other areas..? Now fank you feel free to interfere in your neighbours business and find out if they are cheating the state , sure they won’t take offence.. leo will get delighted with your service…

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    May 9th 2017, 5:36 PM

@LITTLEONE: Never said we shouldn’t roll the system out, or even build more public toilets! Welfare fraud is the subject – and, if I came across someone working and (say) drawing the dole – I would report them. People like you who refuse to – and just blame everyone else – just make the problem worse.

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    May 9th 2017, 5:45 PM

@LITTLEONE:
    Does that include the “aquiring” of €50,000.00 worth state Ink cartridges?
    Just asking as you seem to be suggesting naming and shaming fraudsters.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE

@Fank Pulman: excuse me. People like me… You know nothing about me so maybe keep your smart opinions to yourself… You report away fank … I prefer to keep my nose out of other people’s business and let the social welfare inspectors do their job…No intention of putting myself in harm’s way for leo..

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    May 9th 2017, 5:48 PM

@Alan Cooke: absolutely anyone that defrauds the state even those that make phone calls to Kenya.. don’t see why some just get to quietly pay back the money and that’s the end of it.. should cover all no matter what.. don’t you agree Alan…. Why certain people are not held to account? Name and shame all…

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    May 9th 2017, 5:55 PM

@LITTLEONE: That’s exactly the same as ignoring other crime – like violent burglaries in rural areas, sex attacks in cities and plain vandalism everywhere. Don’t stick your nose out – because it’s someone else’s job! But when your child is a victim – you’ll sing another tune, and won’t be too fussed who helps you out!

Mute Dilean MacSearraigh
    Favourite Dilean MacSearraigh
    May 9th 2017, 6:05 PM

@Fred Jensen: How naive can you be? The mind boggles.

Mute Paul Gallagher
    Favourite Paul Gallagher
    May 9th 2017, 6:05 PM

This is really grinding the gears of a lot of journal commentators. Dont want to pay for anything, contribute nothing only their usual anti society angenda. As long as tax payers hand over half their earnings to pay for your cans of dutch gold.

Mute Daithí Uí Ciarmhic
    Favourite Daithí Uí Ciarmhic
    May 9th 2017, 6:10 PM

@Paul Gallagher: and free sky HD packages, and two holidays a year and the free prams and and

Mute joe o hare
    Favourite joe o hare
    May 9th 2017, 6:19 PM

@Fank Pulman: are you implying that there is no violent burglaries in the cities or sexual assaults in rural areas.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    May 9th 2017, 6:26 PM

@Fank Pulman: are you actually comparing a murder or sexual assault to someone that gets a bit of money on the side… Dear lord no comparison.. your something​ else… If that’s a snide remark in relation to my child .. keep them to yourself…. Your one messed up person… Like i said you know nothing about me but yet your full of opinions. Go play outside, get some fresh air.. because suggesting things like that .. you need to get out more.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    May 9th 2017, 6:30 PM

@joe o hare: he is actually trying to say because you wouldn’t​ put your self in harm’s way and report unsavoury characters that fiddle the dole then have to deal with them afterwards somehow you wouldn’t report someone for murder, serious assaults or sexual assaults . His delusional.

Mute Catherine Ryan
    Favourite Catherine Ryan
    May 9th 2017, 6:35 PM

@Fred Jensen: I think the main objection to the expensive campaign directed at welfare fraud is not that welfare fraudsters should escape penalties but that all abuse whether legal or not should be addressed. Only the extremely idiotic or desperate would break the law when there are loopholes built into the system to avoid paying tax if one can afford a tax specialist.This is just one example & although perfectly legal it is extremely unfair to most of us who pay more tax than this per week let alone annually. https://www.thesun.ie/archives/irish-news/222572/revealed-starbucks-paid-only-e45-tax-in-ireland-last-year/.

May 9th 2017, 6:38 PM

@Smidgen Dublin: Great Idea. I believe Leo claiming thousands yearly in travel expenses to the dail is fraudulent behaviour and also cheating the state, since he lives in dublin.

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    May 9th 2017, 6:42 PM

@LITTLEONE: Have no idea about your children – if any. But it seems that you have made a decision as to which crimes should be reported – and those which should be ignored. You don’t have that right as a citizen and do such a disservice to your community and family (if you have any). Most of us would react strenuously if their family was affected in any way – but you won’t stick your nose in! And moan about everything from services to transport (daily), not realising or appreciating that a major contributory factor is theft from the state…which you consider acceptable and unworthy of either action or attention. I sincerely hope I’m not your neighbour….

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    May 9th 2017, 7:03 PM

@Fank Pulman: Or Littleone – is the type of offence relevant, as well as whether the victim is from yours or not?

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    May 9th 2017, 7:05 PM

@Fank Pulman: your family*

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    May 9th 2017, 7:05 PM

@Fank Pulman: dear lord… If someone is murdering someone in front of me… Then i see the murder… If someone is beating someone up in front of me , then i see it… If i see someone i know is unsavoury but can’t say with certain are fiddling their dole … Then only a fool would compare the 2 as the same… Once again your making assumptions and an opinion… Are you suggesting i wouldn’t report a murder or sexual assaults if if occured and i witnessed it… Because i think you are and that’s where your delusional… Complaining about services and transport daily .?. Dear lord your a right idiot… Considering i live in an area where we have no public service transport and services have been cut..? In your own words as a citizen of this state who relied on these for medical reasons.. then i am perfectly within my rights to complain.. or are you suggesting i shouldn’t complain when services that i used were cut…. Believe me . Thank god i don’t have someone like you had a neighbour because dear lord the village wouldn’t be able to contain you with the amount of hot air you spout…

Mute Séamus Longshanks
    Favourite Séamus Longshanks
    May 9th 2017, 7:16 PM

exactly, it is guys in suits who commit gigantic fraud, not the little guy. There is no comparison.

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    May 9th 2017, 7:21 PM

@LITTLEONE: You are ‘live’ proof of why this country is so flawed…biased people/key board warriors like you have virtually told our politicians not to answer questions. Parish pump stuff….don’t report crime…it’s their job…except it’s really serious…in my view…/O!\

Mute Joan Murphy
    Favourite Joan Murphy
    May 9th 2017, 7:39 PM

@Séamus Longshanks: its both and both should be investigated and charged. .

Mute John Connor
    Favourite John Connor
    May 9th 2017, 8:02 PM

@littleone: Why not report them? I’m not too happy about funding dole cheats,and they’re not all unsavoury. You can moan about politicians all you want, they are the same all over the world,and its not going to change, we voted them in, they made the decisions, at the very least, no matter how crooked they are, they have a job (and the article is about welfare cheats) Fraud is fraud, big or little, not reporting someone for cheating the system does not help the situation. Keeping your nose out of other peoples business? It is your business if you are a tax payer. But for me, a tax payer, paying for people cheating you (assuming you work) and me for lying in bed or getting a total tax free income, i would report them in a heartbeat. No need for the insults to frank, entitled to his opinion. But just for future use, i suspect you will use it again, it’s you’re an idiot and not your an idiot.

Mute Farty Towels
    Favourite Farty Towels
    May 9th 2017, 8:59 PM

@Smidgen Dublin: clown

Mute Gerard Kavanagh
    Favourite Gerard Kavanagh
    May 9th 2017, 9:18 PM

@Fred Jensen: the reason they should do that is for example the case of the T D who added two miles on t o their journey to “work” and then Claimed an extra 12,000 in additional expenses and when asked why the extra two miles said it was a ” more efficient ” route . Let’s start with her !!

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    May 10th 2017, 7:31 AM

@LITTLEONE: nice one!!! Unfortunately the Kenyan phone call lady was punished by her voters but rewarded by our great leader. So it’s always going to be do as I say and not as I do for the little people. Cream gets its own reward. No wonder they voted to say a quick prayer before ripping us off

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    May 9th 2017, 4:24 PM

GREAT IDEA

Mute Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh
    May 9th 2017, 5:04 PM

@Fank Pulman: great publicity stunt. Only people who have been found guilty by a court could be named Legally and they will already have been published in the court sections of newspapers. You would swear there was an election brewing

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle

@Fank Pulman: Would it not be better to stop the fraud from happening? We were able to minimise tax defaulting by automating everything and taking tax at source. Can they not just get there fingers out and get rid of the cash and paper that enables this crap to go on? NB: This won’t prevent John next door from claiming more that he would get from working, but only when he is doing both, so there will still be an abundance of moaners out there.

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    May 9th 2017, 5:31 PM

How much did the government put into the Banks?

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    May 9th 2017, 7:04 PM

@Whoswho: I like everyone else are sickened by the level of fraud in this country at certain levels but defrauding Social Welfare is a sickening style of greed and it is making Ireland a very attractive people from all over the world to come here to milk a system they have never contributed to. I suggest that more of these schemes will give enough fraudsters to give enough rope that they can be made to hang themselves.

Mute Robert Rusk
    Favourite Robert Rusk
    May 9th 2017, 8:37 PM

@Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh: A leadership contest. Blueshirts love all that “tough on the poor” shtuff

Mute eastsmer #IRExit
    Favourite eastsmer #IRExit
    May 9th 2017, 10:54 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: A fair way would be to give everyone a minimum wage to start with, (the basic dole) including self employed and PAYE workers.
    OK – I would end up paying my own in taxes but at least the so called ‘fraud’ would not then exist.

Mute An_Beal_Bocht
    Favourite An_Beal_Bocht
    May 9th 2017, 4:28 PM

No problem with this as such, but it’s a bit like the insurance fraud, it’s all a cynical deflection ploy to draw our attention away from the real issues. I’ve never drawn the dole but I hear it’s notoriously difficult to get. This kind of stuff just reminds me of the conservatives tactics in England and their attempts to divide and conquer the classes

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    May 9th 2017, 4:30 PM

It was a nightmare for me to get for the few weeks I was unfortunate enough to be on it; but if you go to a relieving officer with a sob story you can get a cheque payable to cash at your local post office on the spot. Seen it done a lot.

Mute Fred Jensen
    Favourite Fred Jensen
    May 9th 2017, 4:42 PM

@An_Beal_Bocht:

“Divide and conquert the classes”

The only one doing that is the hard left by leeching off the hard working middle classes.

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    May 9th 2017, 4:47 PM

@Darren Bates: It is difficult to get and can take weeks. For this reason a system is in place to receive payment until your claim goes through. You are paid from the day you apply and any payments received to tide you over are deducted from your back paid money. They do this so people don’t starve etc. No need for a sob story.

Mute Clare Maurer
    Favourite Clare Maurer

@Lily Martin: I waited 8 months for one parent, not a penny in that, the problem was I did not claim the moment my child was born – even though I was not entitled at that time

Mute Dilean MacSearraigh
    Favourite Dilean MacSearraigh
    May 9th 2017, 6:10 PM

@Fred Jensen: most of the middle classes are public or civil services and therefore dont pay tax anyway in reality. They are paid out of taxes. Same goes for private service providers on state contracts. While the services are needed, and they work hard perhaps, dont be under the cozy illusion that they create any wealth. They are as reliant on the exchequer as those on social welfare.

Mute joe o hare
    Favourite joe o hare
    May 9th 2017, 6:24 PM

@Fred Jensen: surely its the lower classes who do any hard working.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    May 10th 2017, 7:34 AM

@Dilean MacSearraigh: I’m a public servant and I pay tax

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    May 9th 2017, 4:35 PM

Should publish names of criminals on bail that re-offend…..and the judges that released them or did not electronically tag them….

Mute Liam O'Reilly
    Favourite Liam O'Reilly
    May 9th 2017, 5:42 PM

@John003: @John003: Now THATS an idea for a name and shame scheme. “Today the right honourable Hu Givzafuk sentenced Frankie 4 fingers to exactly zero time in prison despite his 486 previous convictions for fraud, attempted murder, witness intimidation, supply of controlled substances and membership of a banned organisation styling itself AAA PBP. The Dalkey based judge took into consideration the accuseds poor upbringing, history of substance abuse, and the fact that the all of the crimes were committed north of the Liffey.”

Mute Coleen
    Favourite Coleen
    May 9th 2017, 6:22 PM

@John003: YES

Mute Morizy
    Favourite Morizy
    May 9th 2017, 4:49 PM

When he says “Welfare Cheats Cheat us all” does he mean him or the public because that muppet supported a rejection of €13 billion in unpaid taxez that’s owed to the people of this country.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 9th 2017, 4:57 PM

@Morizy: no owed to us at all

Mute Sean Keating
    Favourite Sean Keating
    May 9th 2017, 6:34 PM

Its estimated we’d come out with less than €300 million, its payable to the EU not to Ireland directly. Please stop peddling lies

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola
    May 9th 2017, 6:36 PM

@Morizy: What about all that dodgy bankers and developers owing billions to Irish Banks then being declared bankrupts in the UK and starting new business now with new property bubble in Ireland ??

Mute Morizy
    Favourite Morizy
    May 9th 2017, 6:46 PM

@Sean Keating: Rules are Rules Sean regardless of the final fee I won’t listen to a man who “misplaced” €600M

Mute Ann Moles
    Favourite Ann Moles
    May 9th 2017, 11:22 PM

@Morizy: Like the water meter king himself who got €100 million written of a debt by IBRC to buy a company who were given a contract to install meters 2 weeks after the closing date that cheat. Or the horse racing king who has not paid tax in Ireland for 20 years

Mute Christine Downey
    Favourite Christine Downey

What about tax dodgers?

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    May 9th 2017, 4:33 PM

@Christine Downey: Regularly published, been named and shamed for years.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    May 9th 2017, 4:36 PM
    Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    May 9th 2017, 4:38 PM

@Christine Downey:

The article even refers to the fact that tax dodgers names are published. Perhaps you read the heading and not the actual article

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola
    May 9th 2017, 6:31 PM

@Reg: “http://www.payeanytime.ie/en/press/defaulters/index.html” – €600 tax dodgers there – I wouldn’t be surprised if they spent more to chase them then they got back.

Mute Rob
    Favourite Rob
    May 9th 2017, 4:25 PM

Great news

Mute abcyz
    Favourite abcyz
    May 10th 2017, 12:45 AM

Where is the list of ALL the bankers & VULTURE FUNDS who destroyed this country???

WHERE is the list of EVERY BONDHOLDER etc???

Why has the RULES OF CAPITALISM NOT APPLIED to the above who dish it out to the poorest & most ill in society????

DEMONISE THE POOR is the new FG & Leo’s slogan

Mute Elizabeth Eccles
    Favourite Elizabeth Eccles
    May 9th 2017, 4:36 PM

Oh Great so they will name and shame the bankers and corrupt garda who have robbed us blind for years ….oh sorry wrong they are going after social welfare fraud just wanted to clarify that this will not happen to other members of the government …well done Leo pity you dont go after your colleagues

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy

They better publish them in the racing post

Mute tottkingham
    Favourite tottkingham
    May 9th 2017, 4:35 PM

@Steve Hardy: Ha!Ha! Good one!

Mute abcyz
    Favourite abcyz
    May 10th 2017, 12:59 AM

The FORMER BANK “REGULATOR”??? on 640,000+euro lump sum & annual EARLY pension FOR THE FIRST HIS LIFE OF 140,000+euro CHEATED US ALL. FG FF & Labour & of course the PDs whose Boston over Berlin bubble capitalism destroyed this country CHEAT US ALL & CONTINUE with their PENSIONS & RECENT INCREASES in wages.
    Eamon Gilmore,Pat Rabbitte & Ruari Quinn CHEAT US ALL with EARLY MULTIPLE PENSIONS. But they are CHAMPAGNE SOCIALISTS so it’s ok???
    WHO ARE THE REAL CHEATERS???Less than half 1% fraud but Leo’s EGO for leadership of FG is worth??? spending hundreds of thousands of euros on signs kicking the 99% of the genuinely poorest & most sickest citizens.

Mute Morizy
    Favourite Morizy

Why not just execute them via live stream on the RTE player and you can only watch if you have a tv licence killing 2 birds with one stone pardon the pun.

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    May 9th 2017, 5:18 PM

@Morizy: I bet you’d get lots of people buying a TV licence if they could see that.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE

Expect to see this rolled out now on everything….
    TDs expenses
    Fraud within public service
    Tax evasion etc.
    Only right if you are going to target social welfare recipients for fraud why not roll it out and name and shame all that are trading the state…

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    May 9th 2017, 4:43 PM

Frauding the state

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    May 9th 2017, 4:59 PM

@LITTLEONE:

I take it you didn’t bother reading the article either

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    May 9th 2017, 5:05 PM

@Nick Allen: you can take it your wrong. I did read article…
    Where in the article does it talk about rolling this out to include what i mentioned above … Please feel free to point it out…

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    May 9th 2017, 5:11 PM

Surely nick . It’s only right not to target just people on social welfare that commit fraud … When other areas Fraud also takes place.. after all it’s all our money and only right to highlight where else it happens and name and shame them too. Surely government would want to highlight people where fraud takes place that involves state money no matter what.. might save state millions if it was rolled out everywhere… Naming and shaming everyone…

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    May 9th 2017, 5:36 PM

@LITTLEONE:

Tax evasion names are published, try reading the article against maybe

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    May 9th 2017, 5:55 PM

@Nick Allen: didn’t just mention tax evasion…. Now did I ? Seriously what’s biting you. Did it upset you somehow that i suggested roll it out to cover other areas like public sector…. TDs expenses and you must have missed the etc …Part… Are you against rolling it out all over.? Seems like your not happy i mentioned it since your be very picky..

Mute Ann Moles
    Favourite Ann Moles
    May 9th 2017, 11:32 PM

@Nick Allen: Not the big fish those who profit here but live in Malta for instance and only spend 183 days in Ireland and of course rock stars

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    May 10th 2017, 7:40 AM

@Nick Allen: and what about our dishonest politicians? Ohh wait one very public liar got to go on a world tour instead of resigning even tough we all know he lied and shamed himself as well as us.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath

Perhaps we.could get them to wear a pink triangle on their cloths !!!

Mute Fred Jensen
    Favourite Fred Jensen
    May 9th 2017, 4:43 PM

@john g mcgrath:

They should be grateful we don’t make them wear a chains in a prison where they belong for crimes against the state.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 9th 2017, 5:13 PM

@Fred Jensen: The real criminals wear the expensive suits, or blue uniforms.

Mute Joan Murphy
    Favourite Joan Murphy
    May 9th 2017, 7:40 PM

@Dave Doyle: it’s both ..

Mute Farty Towels
    Favourite Farty Towels
    May 9th 2017, 8:52 PM

@Dave Doyle: dick

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    May 9th 2017, 4:44 PM

Cynical deflection which Leo is great at, indeed it suitably qualifies him to be leader of FG, given the alleged decline on people signing on (complete nonsense) incidentally, Leo must be terribly bored.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    May 9th 2017, 5:01 PM

@Joseph Dempsey:

As Leo is minister for social protection could you please explain what he is deflecting from. Surely this is part of his area of responsibility

Mute Turlough O' Connor
    Favourite Turlough O' Connor
    May 9th 2017, 7:39 PM

@Nick Allen: and you think he’s doing a good job as minister for social protection Nick?
    The people would want to be protected from the likes of Varadkar and his ilk

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    May 10th 2017, 7:42 AM

@Turlough O’ Connor: don’t upset Nick he’s not taken his meds yet.

Mute tottkingham
    Favourite tottkingham

About time.

Mute The Unknown Souldier
    Favourite The Unknown Souldier
    May 9th 2017, 5:32 PM

Fine Gael is the party of fraud, Leo Varadkar like his “opponent”, wants to present himself to the electorate as a hero, while’s he complicit in banks being allowed to decide the future of an entire generation and systematically increase deprivation & suicide, all while enabling the housing, health and political corruption crises that are detrimentally affecting the nation. No social welfare fraudster will ever cost this country as much as him and his ilk but he’ll do nothing about the corporate fraudsters who take as much as they can with their corporate welfare. He’s “strong against the weak and weak against the strong”.

Mute Ann Moles
    Favourite Ann Moles
    May 9th 2017, 11:41 PM

@The Unknown Souldier: In the UK the tories are going after the most vulnerable and weakest people in society, and that’s how it started with Thatcher targeting the poor and those in need suggesting they were committing fraud.
    While the wealthy got all the tax breaks. They focus on the marginalised and turn everyone against them.

Mute Laurence O Neill
    Favourite Laurence O Neill
    May 9th 2017, 4:34 PM

They could publish my name every day of the week if I was cheating….it would only bother people with morals and I have none

Mute mursim
    Favourite mursim
    May 9th 2017, 5:51 PM

Are they also printing the names of corporate welfare cheats like Apple.

Are they also going to print a list of companies that pay their staff minimum wage?

If not then why not?

Mute Ger Quinn
    Favourite Ger Quinn
    May 16th 2017, 10:11 AM

@mursim: Paying staff minimum wage is not fraud. That is why.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 9th 2017, 4:27 PM

Delighted!

Also good to see the disability /blind work changes.

Mute Anne Finnegan
    Favourite Anne Finnegan
    May 9th 2017, 5:51 PM

I thought the new idenity social cards, that cost how much? Where introduced to stop fraud, really need to stop scapegoating the most vulnerable and focus on the big guy’s

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates

This is class. Love Leo!

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    May 9th 2017, 4:38 PM

@Dilly Dong: Rubbish…you’re against highlighting thieves?¡

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    May 9th 2017, 4:39 PM

@Dilly Dong:

Yawn

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 9th 2017, 5:18 PM

@Fank Pulman: Why just one class of thief, from the lowest echelons of society? I bet his leadership contender would have a few questions to answer if an Ansbacher account was properly examined.
    Moriarity left to rot while the tax dodger and benefactor of hundreds of millions in writedowns is still walking around free and still getting government contracts.
    All very selective and divisive from this Blueshirt rabid right Fascist.

Mute Negan
    Favourite Negan
    May 9th 2017, 6:09 PM

@Fank Pulman: he’s more than likely against highlighting himself.

Mute Turlough O' Connor
    Favourite Turlough O' Connor
    May 9th 2017, 7:41 PM

@Fank Pulman: tell me Frank.. if a builder was doing a job in your house for 20k but he could do it for cash for 14..what would you do?

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    May 9th 2017, 5:03 PM

If the government were sued every time someone on bail or on suspended sentences or on temporary release committed crimes, maybe then they might actually do something constructive!

Mute Ger Quinn
    Favourite Ger Quinn
    May 16th 2017, 10:12 AM

@Paul Mc: My god, your stupidity has actually surpassed Donald Trump.

Mute Anne Parsons Dunne
    Favourite Anne Parsons Dunne
    May 9th 2017, 5:37 PM

I think it’s a cynical attempt to divide and conquer.

Mute James Carpenter
    Favourite James Carpenter
    May 9th 2017, 5:39 PM

Did they do that with the bankers? Don’t think so.

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    May 9th 2017, 5:15 PM

You don’t get your name published for tax fraud unless the amount is above 30K. I have no problem if the welfare fraud is of that scale, but it’s unnecessary for small amounts.

Mute joe o hare
    Favourite joe o hare

Would they publish the names of employers whose pay is bad that their employees receive family income support, these companies then win government contracts by putting in a lower tender than decent employers. Despite that the government are subsidising these cowboys, who may or may not be members of the f.g party.

Mute Guybrush Threepwood
    Favourite Guybrush Threepwood
    May 9th 2017, 6:49 PM

Any chance the Blueshirts will do the same in regards the banking and financial sectors….nah didn’t think so!

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    May 9th 2017, 6:18 PM

Veradker has turned into a weapon of mass distraction.

Mute Jackie M Keegan
    Favourite Jackie M Keegan

About time

Mute Marcus Philpott
    Favourite Marcus Philpott

Excellent news, something very Trumpian about it also.

Mute Daithí Uí Ciarmhic
    Favourite Daithí Uí Ciarmhic
    May 9th 2017, 6:12 PM

@Marcus Philpott: Leo has backed tracked on it yet so hold yer horses

Mute #knowingitall
    Favourite #knowingitall
    May 9th 2017, 7:32 PM

And how are they gonna get the addresses that fly in once a month on cheap flights to sign and head off home again???

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    May 9th 2017, 6:59 PM

JUST LIKE THE NEW MATERNITY HOSPITAL TWO DOORS SYSTEM MEDICAL CARDS TO THE LEFT PRIVATE PATIENTS TO THE RIGHT ..THEY TRIED THAT STUNT SOME YEARS AGO WHERE A NOTICE SAID THOSE WITH MEDICAL CARDS Q HERE OTHERS ON OTHER Q

Mute Alan Browne
    Favourite Alan Browne
    May 9th 2017, 6:48 PM

Is this not a breach of the data protection act?

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull
    May 9th 2017, 8:51 PM

TD travel expenses during Dail recess.
    Let’s have a goo…

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    May 9th 2017, 10:28 PM

Creating divide once again .A witch hunt created by little Leo the man who wants to be King. If you see a person on the dole with a new coat so they must be a cheat how can any body on the dole have something new, It was the likes of Leo and his kind that brought this once prosperous island of almost full employment to it knees with the begging bowl in hand for EU bailouts.

Mute Ann Moles
    Favourite Ann Moles
    May 10th 2017, 12:15 AM

@Michael Maher: Remember Joan Burton in her speech in the Dail after a water protest Some people were recording gardai as evidence throwing people on the ground and roughing them up. She said they had extremely expensive phones and tablets that would put Hollywood in the halfpenny place. What was she implying, was she saying how dare they have phones they’re peasants. In the court this week her assistant called the Jobstown people dregs.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino

Will they also be stripped and marched around town while someone rings a bell and cries out “shame” repeatedly?

Mute Spilt Pint
    Favourite Spilt Pint
    May 9th 2017, 6:47 PM

A cheat has a name

Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady

The Journal commentariat will be decimated.

Mute kenneth clohessy
    Favourite kenneth clohessy
    May 9th 2017, 9:01 PM

Hope he prints one for tax evaders & defaulters & the media gives that as much headlines as this story will when published instead of obscure gazette & while were @ it a corruption list of those convicted of it in while in so called public office even though that would be a short one ? Propaganda for the masses

Mute Fred Jensen
    Favourite Fred Jensen
    May 9th 2017, 4:41 PM

Fair play Leo. And best of all the moaners wouldn’t vote for you in a million years anyway, so just ignore them.

Mute Spilt Pint
    Favourite Spilt Pint
    May 9th 2017, 4:46 PM

This is going to turn into a status symbol, just wait!

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    May 9th 2017, 4:55 PM

This current government are without a doubt dirty rotten scoundrels.

Mute Dolly White
    Favourite Dolly White
    May 9th 2017, 10:23 PM

There is nothing healthy about a bloated welfare state. Why should hard working taxpayers subsidise the lazy indefinitely?

Mute Me
    Favourite Me
    May 9th 2017, 6:08 PM

What about people that illegally dump their rubbish on our streets they definitely should be named and shamed. It’s horrible and sad to see bags of rubbish strewn all over some streets and fields of dublin what an eyesore.

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    May 9th 2017, 10:01 PM

What if someone get it wrong and accuses someone in the wrong are they not liable for defamation as such there will be a lot of cases against the State and it will cost taxpayers millions in compensation.

Mute Ann Moles
    Favourite Ann Moles
    May 9th 2017, 11:57 PM

@Michael Maher: No its the state against an individual and the state always has the power. They tried to intimidate the abused survivors of the industrial schools when they tried to bring a case, against the state. The Magdalene survivors who haven’t received all the compensation. Last but not least the women who were infected in the Anti D blood transfusion scandal when Michael Noonan hounded a woman while she lay dying when he was a health minister

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    May 10th 2017, 1:08 AM

What does the Data protection ones say about printing someones address to the public?

Mute Ann Moles
    Favourite Ann Moles
    May 10th 2017, 12:23 AM

FG Labour and FF are the only ones who should feel the shame of their policies and broken promises. Recovery what recovery

Mute Living The Laws
    Favourite Living The Laws
    May 9th 2017, 8:40 PM

delete the word cheat and you have the real message

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    May 10th 2017, 7:26 AM

No a word about how much fraud our TDs get away with every quarter. And I’m sure the bill is going to be a lot higher when they leave office. But sure it’s another great slogan to go with their previous funny ones

Mute Eóghain Pádraig MacEochagáin
    Favourite Eóghain Pádraig MacEochagáin
    May 9th 2017, 6:22 PM

Good.

Mute Alan McCartney
    Favourite Alan McCartney

Sweet as a nut joey

Mute Stouts O Shea
    Favourite Stouts O Shea
    May 9th 2017, 8:52 PM

Good ol Catholic shame
    Ya can’t bate it

Mute io music
    Favourite io music
    May 10th 2017, 6:53 PM

Here is the real problem.

Ireland facilitates multinationals in avoiding paying €50-100 billion tax a year to our exchequer.

Ireland’s shadow banking contains over €2,200,000,000,000 (financial assets held by funds, special-purpose companies and so called securitisation structures).

The public and our politicians really do not understand this.

We have the resources for the entire country to have free education, medical, power, all local services, with no need for car tax, vrt or any other taxes.

Mute Chris Boyd
    Favourite Chris Boyd
    May 10th 2017, 7:20 AM

Corporate Cheats Cheat Us All

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    May 10th 2017, 9:53 PM

Picking on the poor is easier than going after the rich with their lawyers and accountants dreaming up tax avoidance scams. It’s also easier than going after large multinationals who pay little tax here again as a result of legal scamming. It’s easier than going after politicians falsifying expenses. That awful hypocrite varadakar hates the poor and regardless of whether or not an offence has been committed he saves his venom for the tge fortunate of this country. I am not condoning fraudulent activity I’m just pointing out the hypocrisy of dual standards applied by this regime

Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected