You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sotho men in small village in Lesotho, Africa. Shutterstock/meunierd

China's demand for medicine fuels African donkey slaughter

The donkey gelatin industry is said to be worth millions of dollars in China, which is now looking to Africa to satisfy new demand.

UNDER A CLOUDLESS sky in South Africa’s northwestern farming region, donkeys still amble along muddy paths, pausing to nibble on grass, oblivious to the threat from a demand for Chinese medicine.

The gelatin found in the animals’ skin has made them a target, leading to a growing wave of donkey slaughtering in several African countries, as gangs seek to fuel a lucrative, and in South Africa illegal, trade.

Animal rights groups say the docile beasts of burden are often cruelly bludgeoned to death before being skinned in backyards and clandestine slaughterhouses.

Around Mogosani village, in South Africa’s North West province, residents say syndicates catch the animals in grazing fields and pens.

Soon after, skinned carcasses with hooves chopped off are found nearby.

“The thieves are after the skins,” donkey keeper George Sising told AFP.

“We never used to have this problem, donkeys here used to roam free, but now people are afraid of what might happen.”

Like many of the village’s poor and unemployed, Sising, 65, relies on the animals to make a living, using a donkey-drawn cart to collect recycling material, firewood and sand for sale.

The donkey-hide gelatin has no commercial value in Africa but is highly sought after in China as an ingredient for traditional medicine to treat health problems such as anaemia and menopause-linked ailments.

Hooves also contain gelatin, while the meat, consumed in parts of China, is believed to be more nutritious than beef and is enjoyed in burgers or stewed.

‘Our animals ‘

Egypt Economy Animal Shelter Nariman El-Mofty / PA Images Nariman El-Mofty / PA Images / PA Images

“Many people here don’t eat donkey meat, they are just our animals,” said Sising.

The gelatin, known in China as ejiao, is dissolved into hot beverages, or mixed with nuts and seeds as a snack.

The industry is said to be worth millions of dollars and China is increasingly looking to Africa to satisfy demand after its own donkey population dropped sharply.

Donkey numbers in China have nearly halved from 11 million in the 1990s to six million in 2013, according to the country’s national animal husbandry yearbook.

“Jobs are scarce here, and donkeys are our source of income, if you own donkeys you can work for yourself,” said Ikgopeleng Tsietsoane, 25, another Mogosani donkey owner.

In October, six of his nine animals were stolen and the perpetrators never found.

“The theft is taking away our livelihood. If nothing is done, this village will soon have no donkeys left,” he said, adding his family had begun keeping the animals in 1991.

He said the long-eared creatures were normally bought or sold for 400 rand (€29), but the price had surged to up to 2,000 rand.

Tsietsoane was adamant that he would never let go of his remaining three animals.

Two months ago, police in Johannesburg uncovered a storage container with more than 5,000 donkey hides, in what was described as the biggest bust so far.

The collection is believed to have come from across the country and police have made several large finds in the city this year, suggesting a growing trend.

“In one instance, donkey skins were found inside the yard of a tavern owned by a Chinese man,” said North West province police spokesman Sabata Mokgwabone.

After the police busts prompted a public outcry, the Chinese embassy in January issued a statement insisting no formal trade existed with South Africa. “There is no Chinese company importing donkey skins from South Africa through legal channel(s),” it stated.

But plans revealed in September to formalise the trade between North West province – believed to have the country’s biggest donkey population – and China’s Henan region may change that.

Donkey prices shot up after the announcement.

‘A cruel death’

shutterstock_56604670 Shutterstock / Villiers Steyn Shutterstock / Villiers Steyn / Villiers Steyn

“The aim was to create commercial opportunities for people in rural areas who own these animals,” said Patrick Leteane, director general at the North West provincial government’s agriculture department.

“We wanted to unlock a whole value chain that would involve breeding, feedlots, slaughtering and export,” he said.

China produces 5,000 tons of ejiao each year, requiring some four million hides, according to the China Daily.

Speaking to AFP, Kabelo Nkoane, of the Highveld Horsecare Unit, said the animal welfare group’s staff began noticing donkey killings two years ago and now discover piles of donkey hides and meat in backyard slaughterhouses at least four times a week.

“The animals are killed in a very cruel manner, bludgeoned in the head with a hammer or stabbed,” said Nkoane.

“They are then skinned and, according to our sources, their skins taken to China, where they harvest the gelatin used in medicines.

“If nothing is done, we might find ourselves with a similar situation to the rhino poaching crisis in the country.”

South Africa’s landlocked neighbour, Botswana, currently legally exports donkey meat to China, as does Kenya, and Namibia is in the process of setting up an abattoir to service the Chinese market.

But formalising the trade has not stopped illegal, cruel killings.

After facing an unsustainable donkey slaughter, Burkina Faso last year announced a ban on the export of donkey meat and skins to Asia.

© – AFP 2017

Read: Bodies of five tigers with missing organs found in Vietnamese man’s freezer

Read: The sea turtle who swallowed almost 1,000 coins has died

View 24 comments
24 Comments
    Mute Craic-Hommy
    Favourite Craic-Hommy
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:08 PM

So basically less than 24hrs after he eviscerated the CMO on national tv fir saying the same thing he now suggests it! His attack has emboldened covidiots and 5Gemmas who are already ignoring public health advice. Leo is a danger to the elderly and unwell in this country and not just because of his beloved Tory policies

Mute James Fox
    Favourite James Fox
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:10 PM

@Craic-Hommy: would you give it a rest

Mute Billy Big Baws
    Favourite Billy Big Baws
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:15 PM

@Craic-Hommy: That’s a perfectly cromulent point.

Mute Craic-Hommy
    Favourite Craic-Hommy
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:16 PM

@James Fox: Excuse me?

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:27 PM

@Craic-Hommy: 100% agree with 1st 2 sentences of your comment,I was thinking the same myself!

Mute Craic-Hommy
    Favourite Craic-Hommy
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:45 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: if you agree with the first two the second locality follows in my opinion

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Oct 6th 2020, 10:12 PM

@Craic-Hommy: I have been critical of Government lack of urgent effective response to the ongoing National Health Emergency developing over the years way before this coronavirus pandemic hit us.
    In the Exit Poll done after people voted in the General Election this year asking why they voted the way they did,the majority put Health as the No 1 Reason!

Mute Eddie O'Neill
    Favourite Eddie O'Neill
    Oct 7th 2020, 12:14 AM

@Craic-Hommy: What a 24 carat plonker Varadkar really is, shooting his mouth off yesterday and today and now he tries to claw his way back as he knows a level 4 or 5 is on the way. Circuit Breaker, another new term to confuse the masses, does that have some film reference? He should consider getting out of politics, it’s not for him and he has little to offer us.

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Oct 7th 2020, 2:56 AM

@Eddie O’Neill: Fair play Eddie your spot on, the man is a phoney.

Mute Suil Amhain
    Favourite Suil Amhain
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:12 PM

No. This is shock and awe to distract and nothing more.

If Dublin and Donegal were policed properly when they went in to LV 3.5 then they wouldn’t have had the chance to spread it so liberally everywhere they went. (Sorry to single out the people of Dublin and Donegal). Raves until 5am with hundreds, street parties en-masse in Dublin and we all suffer because the Gardai cannot police our streets?

They have the COVID numbers now by electoral area, we can do hyper localised lockdowns if required. Let each area police its own community. This madness has to stop. People need to be certain of their employment, of their lives of their plans and hopes.

We have had 6 months to add ICU beds, buy respirators, and increase testing capacity and all that is happened is FG have increased the spin machine. Rightly sick of listening to these “leaders” now.

Mute Canyon
    Favourite Canyon
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:18 PM

@Suil Amhain: street parties en masse? Exaggerate much…

Mute Gareth Murran
    Favourite Gareth Murran
    Oct 6th 2020, 10:37 PM

@Suil Amhain: I couldn’t agree more. Way too many people from the country continued to go home over the past few weeks. Added to that the arrogant minority who still went on holiday. Strict enforcement of L3 is the answer.

Mute Lorraine Mac Rory
    Favourite Lorraine Mac Rory
    Oct 6th 2020, 10:56 PM

@Suil Amhain: I was with you until you mentioned icu beds. We’ve plenty of beds. what we don’t have are the 6 ICU trained nurses we need with EACH bed… and that’s just the nurses. and while beds can stand by waiting for a surge in cases nurses etc don’t hang out unpaid in cupboards waiting to be taken out and dusted off when needed

Mute SandraMeyler
    Favourite SandraMeyler
    Oct 7th 2020, 8:10 AM

@Gareth Murran: which country

Mute The Red Devil
    Favourite The Red Devil
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:12 PM

Ahh today’s buzz word people – we’re heading for the “ circuit breaker” phase

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:15 PM

After 6 months why doesn’t this government have the plans in place to cover every option. Wave 2 has been flagged since April/May. If a sudden circuit break/ another lock down. whatever it’s called, is required the plan should have been of the shelf ready at this stage.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:38 PM

@M Bowe: Plus where is the financial plan for each of the Government’s 5 Levels response to SARS-COV-2 emergency? Already, Varadkar mentioned we can’t afford Level 5 so can we afford Level 4,etc?
    The so called ‘circuit breaker’ option advised by CMO,which Varadkar ridiculed on Clare Byrne Live might be the more effective and more economical in the long run!

Mute Aoiffe NíhÁscín UíhÁodhá
    Favourite Aoiffe NíhÁscín UíhÁodhá

Didn’t take him long to completely reverse what he said yesterday. It’s a case of we’ll do it when I say and not before.

Mute Michael J Flynn
    Favourite Michael J Flynn
    Oct 6th 2020, 10:23 PM

@Aoiffe NíhÁscín UíhÁodhá: he seems to be saying that we need to plan it fully, which is what we elect politicians to do.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 7th 2020, 5:36 AM

@Michael J Flynn: They should be planning it since March. How many more months do you want to give them Michael?

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone

Seriously TheJournal.ie give the Covid stuff a rest, I’m absolutely totally sick of it, I’m doing my bit but my head is wrecked listening to this 24/7, and I’m sure the vast majority of the population are, we know what to do after seven months, no matter how much you say it, there’s always those who won’t comply and you won’t charge that.

Mute Steve
    Favourite Steve
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:49 PM

@Joan Featherstone: Don’t open the app then, ffs

Mute James Browne
    Favourite James Browne
    Oct 6th 2020, 10:42 PM

@Joan Featherstone: So to clarify, you opened an article about Covid to complain about articles about Covid.

Genius!!

Mute RJ
    Favourite RJ
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:14 PM

Not a fan of Varadkar, but he tops the list of leaders when it comes to communicating to a nation while he was leading the country.
    Respect and calmness when nobody had a clue. Except Trump, he knew it, he’s even still questioning why Obama failed to have a vaccine ready.

Mute Craig Clancy
    Favourite Craig Clancy
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:25 PM

@RJ: sorry what………

Mute RJ
    Favourite RJ
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:30 PM

@Craig Clancy: who was better, no, who was equal?

Mute Da_Dell
    Favourite Da_Dell
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:32 PM

@RJ: What are you on about ? He done a Trump style attack on NPHET and Tony last night and tonight hes singing from the same hymm sheet.

Seems like its only a good idea when Leo says so.

Mute ed o brien
    Favourite ed o brien
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:39 PM

@RJ: Talk is talk.
    He went in front of the camera and talked, threw in a few movie quotes to be hip and cool, but just talked.

While he talked and stood for the camera opportunities, people died. We have one of the highest death rates in the world for people in nursing homes, all on his watch while he stood in front of the cameras.

They ignored what was going on in the nursing homes for 2 months and only started to do something about it in May.

Leo loves the camera more than the mirror and nothing else.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Oct 6th 2020, 10:04 PM

@RJ: It isNPHETS role to advise on the health implications of covid to the government, it is government role to have plans in place to implement that advice.
    It wasn’t a case that NPHET hadn’t thought through their advice, its a case that this sham of a government hasn’t planned for the 2nd wave we were told back in April/May was sure to happen.
    Leo came across as the spoilt brat shouting ‘ mammy our Tony won’t tie my shoe laces and I have a date”!!!

Mute Gareth Murran
    Favourite Gareth Murran
    Oct 6th 2020, 10:40 PM

@RJ: I was a fan of his but his interview last night was a disgrace. If I were Taoiseach I would have asked for him to publicly apologize. Separate to that they need to close the leak at NPHET and make sure it doesn’t happen next time.

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Oct 6th 2020, 11:02 PM

@RJ: Jacinda Adern. Whoever is in charge of Iceland, Finland, Denmark. Leo has some nice speeches written for him and hoodwinked a few people. He’s now running around like a brat trying to put others in their place while spending the rest of his energy attacking Sinn Féin on Twitter

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Oct 6th 2020, 11:05 PM

@Gareth Murran: It’s highly unlikely that NPHET chair CMO leaked his email to Minister for Health cc to Department of the Taoiseach because those letters are published anyway!! There’s a long list of : Latest letters from CMO to Minister for Health that the public can see!
    I queried today where are Government’s financial plans for these 5 Levels.
    It would be reasonable for the public and CMO to assume that the Government 5 Level plan would be underpinned by a financial plan.
    Tanaiste said to Clare Byrne that we can’t afford Level 5.
    So I was wondering was the email leaked,(not by CMO)knowing it was to be published the next day or two and knowing that we can’t afford Level 5 like Tanaiste said…to undermine the CMO,frighten the public on Sunday and publicly personally critisize and disagree with the CMO yesterday and by saying Government would increase to Level 3 instead!

Mute Mary Walshe
    Favourite Mary Walshe
    Oct 6th 2020, 11:13 PM

@RJ:
    And he’s not wrong about having to plan things either.
    A relative of mine, who had a pub/restaurant leased in a midlands town, closed his business for the last time this evening. Spent a lot of money making the premises Covid ready last time, but couldn’t afford a second lockdown.
    And that’s the reality for a lot of people tonight

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:14 PM

20th covid article today. Give it a rest.

Mute RJ
    Favourite RJ
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:16 PM

@Alan: talking it up sher. Lol,
    Cases are rising because its plastered on the journal.

Mute Ray Lawler
    Favourite Ray Lawler
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:19 PM

He won’t stop until he totally wrecks the country.

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:42 PM

I feel like I am in an abusive relationship with the state – we wont hit you hard ’5′ if you’re good just a slap ’3′ phew the releaf it’s my fault but then comes the fear of ’5′ again, I dream of a separation a move to Sweden where democracy prevails where the state police don’t threaten me with law’s that don’t exist in a state of fear.

Mute Dub Cell
    Favourite Dub Cell
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:49 PM

@Joeohah: what about the Sharia Law in Sweden? Does that not scare the living daylights out of you?

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Oct 6th 2020, 10:29 PM

@Joeohah: How about the fact they allowed the virus to kill many retirees in nursing homes. What if they categorize your life as not important too?

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Oct 6th 2020, 11:03 PM

@Dub Cell: sharia law in Sweden?

Mute Badger the witness
    Favourite Badger the witness
    Oct 7th 2020, 12:24 AM

@Joeohah: You feel abused by the state? Well just remember that at election time.

Mute Pat Ryan
    Favourite Pat Ryan
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:25 PM

The mindset of some people in their responses to the government and NPHET advise have a ring of “Lord of the flies” to it. The whole Bo!!ox to the rules and the childish nature to in understanding where the responsibility lies in this. It’s not the responsibility of the government or NPHET to control anyone or their movements in reducing the spread of the virus. It is everyone’s individual responsibility to do what the can to protect themselves and others. It’s not as though people don’t know what they must do but it appears obvious that guidelines they seem not to know where to draw the line. We would be disgusted with out children if they acted as irresponsibly as we are about this as adults.

Mute Dave McCabe
    Favourite Dave McCabe
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:28 PM

@Pat Ryan:
    Surely personal responsibility means you weigh up the risks and act accordingly , hence many may see a lower risk then others

Mute Da_Dell
    Favourite Da_Dell
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:35 PM

@Pat Ryan: Well I am taking a leaf out of Leos book and will chose wheter to accept advise or not .. Leo leads by example and sure we can all follow his disregard for advice.

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Oct 6th 2020, 11:06 PM

@Pat Ryan: he was in charge for years while the health service crumbled. He was in charge from March to June when we never set up a contact tracing system and we fired 100s of millions at private hospitals for nothing. People have to take responsibility but so do the Government. Lots of people have to work places where social distancing is impossible. Meat factories were allowed bully their staff to work in unsafe conditions. The Government stood by and did nothing.

Mute Emmett Currie
    Favourite Emmett Currie
    Oct 6th 2020, 10:08 PM

What’s the point if the airports and ports remain open to anyone who wants to come here.

Mute Mark Behan
    Favourite Mark Behan
    Oct 6th 2020, 10:30 PM

Leo is look to be popular with everyone one day he against lockdowns as it bad for half million citizens next he can lock us down when he see fit, let him and all his part take the pup payment during lockdown or let’s reduce the number of TD’s as some other countries half

Mute Dave McCabe
    Favourite Dave McCabe
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:26 PM

Good man leo , we need someone to speak rationally on this

Mute Mick C
    Favourite Mick C
    Oct 6th 2020, 10:32 PM

Arse covering after last night’s comments about NPHET. Too late.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Oct 6th 2020, 10:53 PM

Circuit break is not new. It was the original plan in March. Remember the graphics with the matches? They said 2 weeks. We never fully reopened. Why do they think it will work now?

Mute kevin mc cormack
    Favourite kevin mc cormack
    Oct 6th 2020, 11:03 PM

A tale of 2 faces

Mute billybigballs
    Favourite billybigballs
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:19 PM

I blame the 5G network for all this. I mean surely 5G has something to do with all this

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Oct 6th 2020, 9:56 PM

@billybigballs: don’t forget SF

Mute mary o dwyer
    Favourite mary o dwyer
    Oct 6th 2020, 10:29 PM

Really concerning . Minister of health Stephen Donnelly on prime time saying we can increase capacity for ICU . I want to hear plan for stopping people get to icu . Where is the strategy . Icu is last chance saloon .Are we just hoping all the rule breakers now obey . They won’t . I want to stay at level three but five is the only way to stop overrunning the hospitals . Deaths and surges were in nursing homes last time this time the surge will be in the community and then Hospitals this time From seeing what is happening . It’s impossible to get many people to just cop on and act better .These infection numbers are from at least a week ago so the numbers can only go the one way in the next weeks unfortunately . Icu is not the place to be focusing on building efforts . Scary

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Oct 6th 2020, 11:51 PM

Does no one remember the graphic from the beginning? A row of matches with one taken out. That is a circuit breaker. Didn’t work then, won’t work now

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Oct 6th 2020, 10:43 PM

U.K. copy cats. All that is bad is copied.

Mute Tony Kennedy
    Favourite Tony Kennedy
    Oct 7th 2020, 11:33 AM

It’s all about Narcissistic Varadkar being very jealous of Tony Holohans popularity. Nothing more, nothing less