You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Stephen Donnelly is joining Fianna Fáil but he hasn't always been the party's biggest fan

The Wicklow TD has been less than glowing when talking about the party in the past.

HE’S FACED DOWN rumours about joining Fianna Fáil in the past and responded with an unequivocal ‘no’ but, today, it’s been announced that former Social Democrat TD Stephen Donnelly will join Fianna Fáil.

Back in 2013, then-Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore predicted Donnelly would be “wearing the Fianna Fáil jersey at the next General Election”.

donnelly

The Wicklow TD responded online, telling his constituents that he had no intention of joining Micheál Martin.

PastedImage-44965

PastedImage-15669

Gilmore may have been out by a few years but, nonetheless, it appears Donnelly will eventually run under a Fianna Fáil ticket in his Wicklow constituency, where he topped the poll last year.

Donnelly had, with co-leaders Catherine Murphy and Róisín Shortall, represented the Social Democrats party in the Dáil before he stepped down from the party last September.

At the time, he said that he would love to be in government, but could still make a difference from the opposition benches.

When an independent and in other parties, Donnelly was quick to point out flaws in Fianna Fáil’s conduct, making reference to the party during a debate on Budget 2015.

“Despite this largesse, potentially before an election, government satisfaction ratings continue to drop in the polls,” he said.

Perhaps the public has decided the Fianna Fáil-style of politics should no longer be tolerated.

He also had this to say on the question of funding for the Fianna Fáil party in 2012:

When I compare what I do and what my team and office do here and in Wicklow, it is not apparent to me that there are millions of euro extra things Deputy Micheál Martin does as leader of Fianna Fáil.

“A situation where Deputy Micheál Martin gets more than four times the funding per Fianna Fáil Deputy than I get sounds imbalanced. Maybe it is the case that every single Fianna Fáil Deputy creates at least four times more value in our democracy than I do.”

At other times, Donnelly has publicly taken issue with his new party, including in this Twitter exchange before the general election last year.

And that wasn’t the first time, either. A vocal critic of the Fine Gael governments of recent years, he occasionally drew parallels with the previous Fianna Fáil administrations.

Tweet by @Stephen Donnelly Stephen Donnelly / Twitter Stephen Donnelly / Twitter / Twitter

donnelly Twitter Twitter

donnelly 2 Twitter Twitter

Read: Stephen Donnelly is joining Fianna Fáil

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

86 Comments
    Mute john healy
    Favourite john healy
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:31 PM

Credibility now = 0. Well done Stephen..

Mute Patches O Houlihan
    Favourite Patches O Houlihan
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:51 PM

The capitalist system is fundamentally based on the exploitation of the majority working class. Therefore any party or Independent which operates under the rules of this system will ultimately be forced to betray the majority of people who voted for them. Hence Donnelly’s acceptance of FF’s 30 pieces of silver.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:58 PM

Clever guy, clever move.

The days of the populist Looney Left are numbered.

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:10 PM

@john healy:
    It is all about being a minister in the next government. And I bet you the next government will be FF led. It just goes to prove what a shower of Muppet’s the general Irish electorate are, the party that destroyed the country will be back in power within 7-8 years of destroying it.

Mute Dick Durkin
    Favourite Dick Durkin
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:14 PM

Politics comes from the words Poly = many and tic= which is a parasite. So many parasites. They even tell you what they are but still people believe in their bull.

Mute Patches O Houlihan
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:40 PM

@Diarmuid:
    Ah yes, the “looney left” who loaded a €100+ billion of odious banking debt on to the peoples’ backs and broke the economy. Oh no wait………… That was the entire right wing establishment of FF/Green and FG/Labour . And the “clever guy” has just thrown in his lot with those parasites.

This is a valuable lesson though for those who have illusions in the bogus “Independents” always ready to prop up the elite . The working class needs a mass party to represent its interests as our establishment political class have protected big capital at great cost to the majority since the foundation of the state.

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:47 PM

human nature is the problem. jesus tried to change it. It ended up with the crusades and the inquisition. muhammed tried to change it. ended with Isis. Marx tried to change it. gave us stalin. aaa/pbp are trying to change human nature. good luck with that.

Mute Emeralds
    Favourite Emeralds
    Feb 2nd 2017, 2:19 PM

“That was the entire right wing establishment of FF/Green and FG/Labour”

No it wasn’t. It was just FF/Green. They were in government, no-one else. And saying that the Green Party is right wing just makes you look even more foolish.

Mute Patches O Houlihan
    Feb 2nd 2017, 2:35 PM

@Emeralds:
    Really? You appear to have forgotten that FG supported the blanket guarantee and both the and Labour eagerly continued the austerity program to pay for the banker’s debts when the entered government in 2011.
    And the Irish Green party are enthusiastic free marketeers with a focus on the environment as evidenced by their support of FF in the coalition government which destroyed the living standards of the majority to save the banking parasites.

Mute Patches O Houlihan
    Feb 2nd 2017, 2:37 PM

@Patrick Gough:

The problem is not with human nature. If humanity was a blindly selfish species as capitalist propaganda would have us believe, then we would have been wiped out by more powerful creature eons ago. Mankind has an innate affinity and empathy with fellow humans and we’re an inherently co-operative, social and community based species.

Rather it’s capitalism which is the great problem of our time as it’s a system which is based on the exploitation of the majority working class in order to enrich the minority capitalist class. Capitalism will not manufacture a single item, provide a single service of employ a single person without the expectation of profit. That profit is generated by the workers in the excess value they create over and above their wages. That is the essence of capitalism and it’s inherently exploitative.

This model results in a chasm of inequality with abject poverty on one side and obscene wealth on the other. Our politics, media and education systems are designed to obscure this harsh reality while our governments fully support this exploitative socioeconomic system.

The reality is that there is more than enough real resources (land, energy labour etc) to provide everyone on the planet with proper nutrition, a decent home, healthcare, education, recreation and a job. It’s a political and ideological choice to deny people these basics, not economic misfortune.

The solution is to manage our economic activity with the objective of meeting human need rather than for the purposes of accumulating obscene profit and hence power into private hands as occurs under capitalism. The choice facing us now is socialism or barbarism represented today by Trump, Le Pen etc etc

Mute Willie Murphy
    Favourite Willie Murphy
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:37 PM

Wow… a politician who says 1 thing and does the opposite.. He’ll fit in like a glove.

Mute Scarlett Milton
    Favourite Scarlett Milton
    Feb 2nd 2017, 2:17 PM

@Willie Murphy: ha ha haaaaa,he denied it for the last few years that he was joining FF, JUDAS Donnelly,people you have been had

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:24 PM

Has he now left the technical group of social democrats and greens of having no speaking rights in the dail now…

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:49 PM

So Donnelly is joining the most corrupt party in the history of our state to further his political career.

I sincerely hope that the good people of Wicklow see through this foolish chancer.

Mute Joe Mc
    Favourite Joe Mc
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:31 PM

Bye bye Stephen. You just committed political suicide

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:07 PM

100%…just shows how little any of them are to be trusted. Shame on him for selling out to the corrupt ideals of a shower of parasites. Absolutely no time for him anymore…

Mute Jonathan Pearson
    Favourite Jonathan Pearson
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:50 PM

I’m actually gutted to hear this. I always found him to be a great politician and overall an honest man. To see him join a party with dishonesty at its core is saddening.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:20 PM

@Jonathan Pearson:
    Well said.
    I too had great respect for Mr Donnelly

Mute Lord Clanricarde
    Favourite Lord Clanricarde
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:40 PM

Ya me too, I liked him and genuinely thought the SocDems could grow. I was hoping for a candidate in my constituency in next election! Now they are a bit of a mess and he’s at FF!

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Feb 2nd 2017, 2:24 PM

Me too, just sent him an email in total disbelief having criticized the old civil war politics.

Mute Jim Kirby
    Favourite Jim Kirby
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:38 PM

His comments on FFto date indicate that this conversion eclipses that of St . Paul on the road to Damascus by an Irish mile.

Mute Patches O Houlihan
    Feb 2nd 2017, 2:47 PM

@Jim Kirby:
    Well that gave me a good laugh :)

Mute Tony Byrne
    Favourite Tony Byrne
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:45 PM

Hypocrite, I for one will not be voting for him again.

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Favourite Mr Snuffleupagus
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:52 PM

@Tony Byrne: He’s taking a big political gamble as many of his own constituents won’t vote for him either after this. But there’s no point spending your political career on the opposition benches and that’s what his destiny was up until today. Unlike a lot of TDs he has written his own proposals and budgets. even though I didn’t find any of his ideas particularly ground breaking or impressive, if he wants them enacted, he has to be in government.

I think he’s been promised a big job in FF, and will sooner or later go back to his constituents and say “look, I can have a bigger impact on the locality as a minister and we need a minister here”. And that will get him considerable voting clout again. People love to have ministers in their locality as they are the ones who can make things happen in an area.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:56 PM

@Mr Snuffleupagus: if his taking a big political gamble as many of his own constituents won’t vote for him after this and what happens if he fails to get elected Because of this.. no minister will he be , possible not even a TD so what good was his gamble if he is out of the game..

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:19 PM

See on Twitter people within his constituency are saying he should resign his seat on principle , . Then bye election would happen and he should re run as a ff TD Because people didn’t give their vote to him and for him to join a party he ran against.. not sure if such thing is possible ….

Mute Adrian Henchy
    Favourite Adrian Henchy
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:48 PM

Would be more than willing to bet you not only will Stephen Donnelly be elected for Wicklow in the next Election, he will be elected for many elections to come. Just my opinion.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:28 PM

@Adrian Henchy: going by Twitter.. a lot of his constituents are not happy….

Mute Blue MARIGOLD
    Favourite Blue MARIGOLD
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:38 PM

Stephen Donnelly has been shown up to be (at best) economical with the truth. He will be a perfect fit for FF. A devious, opportunist of the highest order.

Mute Dissisus Corr
    Favourite Dissisus Corr

Well im v/sorry to hear this Stephen. But you lied when asked about joining ff . I have lost all faith in you as a person of integrity “shame on me” but you have to live with that . Ah well i live in hope of an truthful politician representing de people of Ireland. But your now in good company

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Favourite Mr Snuffleupagus
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:54 PM

@Dissisus Corr: Lied, or changed his mind? Maybe he got an offer he couldn’t refuse and some promises from MM that will benefit his constituency?

Mute Tony Doyle
    Favourite Tony Doyle
    Feb 2nd 2017, 2:17 PM

@Dissisus Corr: hopefully the god people of Wicklow will have the final (right) say…#sodisappointedinstephend

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:37 PM

Beware of Cone Heads. They can’t be trusted.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:34 PM

FF hiring mercenaries, must be planning for fight.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:55 PM

I’d never presume to tell anybody how to vote, but based on this evidence it generally seems a vote for an independent is a wasted one, they never act in the national interests, only their own. We need a unified approach to rebuilding the country after FF’s mess.

Mute Pa Cantillon
    Favourite Pa Cantillon
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:32 PM

Yuck

Mute William Clay
    Favourite William Clay

Another sellout.

Mute 3monkey
    Favourite 3monkey
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:44 PM

Goodbye Stephen.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:40 PM

So going by his tweets above. He once said ff and fg are the same. So now his joining up with ff who are in bed with fg and basically the one party. Talk about a u turn Stephen.. disappointed .
    So what you now are all for these parties….

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:39 PM

All the fools here and elsewhere telling me he is a great Td and so on, only out for himself!

Mute gowfc@yahoo.com W
    Favourite gowfc@yahoo.com W
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:33 PM

This guy knoes how to party! He seems to be doing the rounds. And while I do still admire him – he seems articulate and aware – for the life of me I cannot understand why he would join a party that wrecked the economy just a few short years ago.

Mute james r
    Favourite james r

No surprises here folks the mans a leech just like the rest of ff

Mute John Somers
    Favourite John Somers
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:41 PM

Jaysus if I was one of his constituents I’d be pretty livid. What a fukcing turncoat. He’s probably paying attention to the polls and thinking of the quickest way to get his nose to the trough. Hope his constituents see through him and give him the well deserved boot in the next election.

Mute Douvan
    Favourite Douvan
    Feb 2nd 2017, 2:01 PM

I voted for him in the last election but no more. What a sellout !!

Mute Seán J. Troy
    Favourite Seán J. Troy
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:09 PM

Hope he gets booted out. Such a shitebag.

Mute Sean Beinead
    Favourite Sean Beinead
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:30 PM

so stephen was being mean to ff all this time because deep down he really liked them,good man stephen now theyll ruin u from within although youve just made a good start at it yourself

Mute jimmypnufc
    Favourite jimmypnufc
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:38 PM

Just another parasitic career politician

Mute Liam Flag
    Favourite Liam Flag
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:34 PM

Absolutely disgusted I voted for him in 2011. Even more upsetting are the FF supportive messages in the comments section here!

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:31 PM

Its going to be interesting to see what he polls like in the next election. Nobody voted for Fianna Fails Stephen Donnelly last time round, after all.

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Feb 2nd 2017, 6:06 PM

@For Connolly: Don’t be coy, Jammin. You used to tell us that Donnelly was the best politician in the Dail. Do you still think so?

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:52 PM

More proof ,if it were even needed that you can’t believe a word out of a politican’s mouth.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:39 PM

I have to laugh at the comments here saying he is this, that & the other. He is a career politician that couldn’t give a toss about you,me or anyone else but himself and the trough that is the taxpayer. They will swear on their kids lives that they will do everything but once in office they will do nothing , not even 10% of what they promise. I wouldn’t trust one as far as I could throw a ton of steel and believe one less. People say I am cynical but I have yet to be proven wrong. These people are career wasters that wouldn’t know a days work if it bit them on the arse.

Mute Nollaig Kelly
    Favourite Nollaig Kelly
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:38 PM

Another one who speaks with forked tongue

Well done on losing your support

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:31 PM

All about the money,thinks FF will be in government .

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke

Sad to hear this hope he loses next time out

Mute Brendan Glynn
    Favourite Brendan Glynn
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:56 PM

If it wasn’t for FF’S mess he probably wouldn’t a TD to-day now he’s TC (turncoat ) He does not now represent the people who voted for him In principle he should go back to people and then he’ll find out if is to be a true ‘soldier of destiny’??

Mute Padraig Corcoran
    Favourite Padraig Corcoran
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:41 PM

As least Trump is doing what he said he would do. Let’s take to the streets in protest!!!

Mute Joan Doran Kennedy
    Favourite Joan Doran Kennedy
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:25 PM

The Irish electorate deserve everything they get, populist politics live on!

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:34 PM

This is irish politics. sinn fein moving left and right at the same time. what next aaa/pbp uniting with rena?

Mute Pa Cantillon
    Favourite Pa Cantillon
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:44 PM

@Patrick Gough:Wha?

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly

Patrick Gough.do try an stay on topic this has nothing to do with Sinn Fein. You government mouthpiece.

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:53 PM

I’m not a government mouthpiece

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

There’s a lot of disappointed people about. It was coming. You were had.

http://www.thejournal.ie/stephen-donnelly-fianna-fail-independent-td-eamon-gilmore-1219708-Dec2013/

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:51 PM

It’s politics. The word politics comes from the Greek poly= many tics= blood sucking parasite

Mute Todd Hebert
    Favourite Todd Hebert
    Feb 2nd 2017, 2:28 PM

WTF is *ANYONE* a member of as political party? WTF does anyone vote for party candidates? Every elected official who is a member of *ANY* party should be voted out of office and an independent voted in! Party politics is, by nature, not in the interest of those being governed, but it’s in the interest of the party that is in power. This nonsense adjust be ended!

Mute Ollie Golden
    Favourite Ollie Golden

Fantastic addition one of the outstanding TD’s in the Dáil

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:45 PM

@Ollie Golden: I don’t remember you referring to him as outstanding when he referred to FFs, your partys, incompetence ollie.

Hypocracy much?

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Feb 2nd 2017, 2:43 PM

Irish politics is still more about personalities than about policies. It is more about spin than about substance. It is more about promise than about product. It is more about talk than about action. Irish political philosophy is an oxymoron. Still and all I wouldn’t choose to live in the current political realities of USA or North Korea.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Feb 2nd 2017, 7:00 PM

@Garreth Byrne: You can’t do anything with the Irish. Stay at home on poling day. You are only encouraging them

Mute Rossa O Brien
    Favourite Rossa O Brien
    Feb 2nd 2017, 3:49 PM

What a toaster

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:08 PM

Good to see him join a party that has some hope of governing: takes courage to have actual responsibility rather than mouthing off from the sidelines.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:54 PM

Ah, this is a good decision by an intelligent man.He has always been a bright, straight talking member of Parliament. He can see that FF is the correct place to be, especially now with a lot to them other malcontents getting itchy.

Mute Richard Parker
    Favourite Richard Parker
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:07 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: I’m not sure how you come to the conclusion that Fianna Fáil is the correct place to be for a ‘bright, straight talking member of parliament’? Because as far as I see, Donnelly would literally be the first…

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey

@Richard Parker; Ah yes, He recognised the party that is making the most progress. He has made a good decision to get away from those malcontents. He was never one to just knock for the sake. Of knocking like them gang, he will do well.

Mute Shane Murphy
    Favourite Shane Murphy

Seems to me he sees the importance of a strong voice to deal with Brexit and Fine Gael have not stepped up to the mark.
    He ain’t gonna be heard as an independent so in one sense I actually admire him
    He’s not stupid my any means and is willing to perhaps sacrifice his career by joining fine fail to make sure we are not screwed over by brexit

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Feb 2nd 2017, 12:45 PM

@Shane Murphy: by joining fine fail you think he his willing to sacrifice his career to make sure we are not screwed over by brexit. Don’t think joining the fine fail who happily screwed over the country and people it represents time and again is going to do much… He has just happily joined the screw over parties willingly…

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:10 PM

Shane, or he’s making a play for the golden ticket, maybe the real reason he didn’t sit on the banking inquiry is because he had always planned to enlist, destinies child.

Mute Liam John Bradshaw
    Favourite Liam John Bradshaw
    Feb 2nd 2017, 2:29 PM

Sure the Dogs on the street knew it! Best of luck to him, I’m in his constituency. FF will benefit with his joining the party!

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Feb 2nd 2017, 6:51 PM

I cant bear to watch politicians on TV. Stay at home and don’t vote

Mute Myles Fleming
    Favourite Myles Fleming
    Feb 2nd 2017, 8:59 PM

The logic of Ireland knows no bounds. Fu(k/ng unbelievable.

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Feb 2nd 2017, 1:17 PM

it seems stephen has disappointed some of his supporters and friends in the media this morning, a lot of wailing and gnashing of teeth here and elsewhere, not to mention semi-hysterical hissy fits, lmao! for the rest of us though….

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Feb 2nd 2017, 2:38 PM

He’s a politician. what do you expect. He wants power. he’s not a natural hurled on the ditch.

Mute Michael Wynne
    Favourite Michael Wynne
    Feb 2nd 2017, 10:31 PM

I HAD a lot of respect for independent Stephen Donnelly and for a “Social Democrat” to jump to Fianna Fáil is beyond belief…But Gilmore was spot on in fairness to him. I just hope the people of Wicklow and East Carlow let this guy know their feelings over this because I doubt very much if he ran under the Fianna Fáil banner at the last General Election that he would be currently employed as TD for the region!

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Feb 2nd 2017, 2:03 PM

If his vote means removing Harris and doyle from government people will still probably choose him at the ballot box.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Feb 2nd 2017, 9:14 PM

And I thought the world couldnt get any more grim,Eamon Gilmore has been proved right!!!