You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A screengrab from the doxxing forum.

Moderators of Irish online forum have had their personal information leaked after deleting hate speech

The practice, known as doxxing, is not specifically addressed under Irish law but can be illegal in certain circumstances.

MODERATORS OF THE biggest Irish internet forum have had their personal information leaked online for banning users who posted content which broke rules banning hate speech and racism.

Around a dozen of the moderators on Boards.ie have had their names, addresses and phone numbers shared on websites which have been set up to look like replicas of the forum.

Warnings have been posted on Reddit – one of the most popular forums in the world -about the behaviour in the last 10 months citing a “group of disgruntled, banned users from Boards.ie [who] have set up a forum for making fun of the site”.

A spokesperson for Boards.ie said it was “not acceptable” for someone to “publish personal information about moderators on other websites for the explicit purpose of encouraging or facilitating the trolling of these moderators”.

According to a number of users on both Boards.ie and Reddit, the new forum has been attempting to post personal details of those who have disagreed with their opinions online.

“They use information you’ve posted on the site to try and figure out who you are in real life, where you’re from, photos etc and post it alongside your Boards username,” a post on Reddit read.
Boards.ie has more than 340 voluntary moderators who monitor more than 10,000 comments that are left on the site every day.

Hate speech

Many of those who have been targeted have removed and banned comments from right-wing posters who have been attacking Islam and making homophobic remarks.

The practice, which is known as doxxing, is not specifically addressed under Irish law but can be illegal if specific information such as phone numbers or other sensitive data is leaked online. Other potential legal breaches by doxxing can include incitement to hatred. This law prohibits “actions likely to stir up” violence against a person or a group of people.

In one instance seen by TheJournal.ie, internet users posted details of one Boards.ie user on another online forum. The user mocked up the official Boards.ie logo and subdeck which, when altered, read: “Boreds.ie/Now Ye’re Stalkin’”. This is a play on the real slogan of Boards.ie, which is “Now ye’re talkin’”.

Details on where the man went to college and where he grew up were readily available. Users were also advised to “stay tuned” as photographs were to be published soon.

“This is both unfair and ultimately self-defeating,” Boards.ie said in a statement.

boredsfinal A screengrab from the doxxing forum.

“People want to be able to share their thoughts and opinions with other like-minded people, they want to be able to discuss and debate the things that interest them online.

“However the majority of people want to be able to do so where certain basic standards of deceny and good behaviour apply, where online bullying and clearly offensive, disturbing and inappropriate content is not tolerated.”

Not everyone will agree with the decisions made by moderators, the statement said, but the decisions are made with the best interests of the Boards.ie community at heart.

“And if anyone wants to challenge those decisions there are well-established mechanisms to raise such issues, right up to management level.”

How to avoid being doxxed is a hot topic of discussion among those who consider themselves part of an online community.

There are currently calls to make doxxing illegal in the UK. Writing on Slate, Nick Thieme wrote that intentionally or recklessly re-identifying individuals from anonymised data would be banned.

According to the UK bill’s statement of intent, the purpose of the laws is to “enhance protections by allowing citizens much greater control of their own data.

Alongside strengthening individuals’ rights, we will offer further clarity and certainty to businesses whilst they continue to collect, share and process personal data – in so doing maintaining the UK’s world-renowned culture of innovation, promoting economic growth and cementing the UK’s position as a global leader in the digital economy.

At the end of last year, the then-Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald  said she had received approval from the Cabinet over the Non Fatal Offences Bill which seeks to address the dissemination of revenge pornography and stalking.

The proposed laws also sought to make posting abuse from fake social media profiles a form of harassment. However, this would not extend to doxxing.

The new laws are expected to be implemented when the Dáíl returns after the summer break.

Note: Journal Media Ltd has shareholders in common with Boards.ie 

Read: Revenge porn perpetrators to be jailed under new laws >

Read: Police missed a number of chances to catch paedophile Ian Watkins, report finds >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

117 Comments
    Mute Paddy Mac
    Favourite Paddy Mac
    Oct 10th 2014, 2:28 PM

Meanwhile two tayto vans seen speeding into rear of rte studios!

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Oct 10th 2014, 2:30 PM

Destroyed in a controlled manner? Was fire involved? Hope no one inhaled

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Oct 10th 2014, 9:00 PM

So rte have used our licence money to buy drugs….now I have seen it all

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Oct 10th 2014, 2:43 PM

Dobbo was seen last night begging for skins outside the chipper in Donnybrook…

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Oct 10th 2014, 2:29 PM

Typical RTE… taxpayers’ money going up in smoke

Mute NoNeed4cryptoGreed
    Favourite NoNeed4cryptoGreed
    Oct 10th 2014, 2:53 PM

Seen this last night, very good tutorial.

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Oct 10th 2014, 2:48 PM

How much did he pay online ? We need to know the ins and out’s of this.Will this online system put local dealers out of business. Look, lets face it , drugs being delivered to RTE staff is hardly a new development. Besides the whole world is aware of Silk Road ect.I don’t really see what a report on RTE is going to achieve other than give a tutorial on how to shop online.

Long live The Dread Pirate Roberts!!! Arrrrrgh!*joking*

Mute CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Favourite CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Oct 10th 2014, 2:46 PM

Eammon Dunphy snorted it.

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Oct 10th 2014, 3:57 PM

That’s showbiz baby!!

Mute CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Favourite CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Oct 10th 2014, 4:06 PM

”You just cant get good cocaine in this town”

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Oct 10th 2014, 2:36 PM

My advise would have been to split it between Enda and Joan and chill them the feck out!!

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Oct 10th 2014, 2:55 PM

Who needs Tor when you can just nip down to O’Connell Street any time of the day? My friendly face slashed drug dealer is always happy to see me. Not a Guard to be seen for miles….

Mute Rocky Raccoon
    Favourite Rocky Raccoon
    Oct 10th 2014, 3:11 PM

Buying hash off a lad on O’Connell street? That’s as bad as buying steak from Tesco’s.

Mute Charles Doran
    Favourite Charles Doran
    Oct 10th 2014, 6:41 PM

You mean horse from tesco.

Mute Charles Doran
    Favourite Charles Doran
    Oct 10th 2014, 6:46 PM

Surely you mean horse.

Mute inproperganda
    Favourite inproperganda
    Oct 10th 2014, 2:42 PM

where can one order this wonderful medicine… any links?i

Mute buzzbaron
    Favourite buzzbaron
    Oct 10th 2014, 3:52 PM

silkroad6ownowfk.onion

Mute NoNeed4cryptoGreed
    Oct 10th 2014, 3:59 PM

You need to get your gritty little paws on some bitcoin first..

Mute buzzbaron
    Favourite buzzbaron
    Oct 10th 2014, 4:53 PM

https://bitcoin.org/ sorts those gritty little paws out ;-)

Mute Roisín Marsh
    Favourite Roisín Marsh
    Oct 10th 2014, 3:04 PM

Correct me if I’m wrong but isn’t it the “deep web” and not the “dark net.” I thought the dark net was a group of computers on a private connection where as the deep net is for sites such as the one shown which will not come up through ordinary search engines.

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Oct 10th 2014, 3:30 PM

Thats why you really shouldn’t put too much faith in RTE reports on this kinda thing.

Mute NoNeed4cryptoGreed
    Oct 10th 2014, 5:52 PM

It’s the same thing. You need TOR to access dark net. To access a site on the dark net the address should end with .onion

Mute NoNeed4cryptoGreed
    Oct 10th 2014, 5:53 PM

Must end .onion

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Oct 10th 2014, 2:58 PM

“Not that we’d ever suspected them anything — an RTÉ spokesperson confirmed this afternoon that the product was destroyed in a controlled manner, in keeping with programme guidelines.”

Yeah Cocaine is more their thing!

Mute steve white
    Favourite steve white
    Oct 10th 2014, 2:37 PM

buying a bit of hash from overseas by post via tor is that really practical?

Mute Derek Coughlan
    Favourite Derek Coughlan
    Oct 10th 2014, 4:19 PM

Assured quality, good prices, large variety of strains with info on each of potency and type of high, expedient discreet delivery and top notch customer service. Also many sites sell medical cannabis in tinture or resin form, far cheaper and exactly the same as Staivex. The whole system works on integrity and reputation so the sellers cant be nicer to you as bad reviews are bad for business.

Mute Flash Gordon
    Favourite Flash Gordon
    Oct 10th 2014, 2:51 PM

I’d say most of the researchers smoked it because of all the sh 1 t on TV !

Mute Martin Kavanagh
    Favourite Martin Kavanagh
    Oct 10th 2014, 4:44 PM

:) destroyed in a series of small fires

Mute Allan O'Shea
    Favourite Allan O'Shea
    Oct 10th 2014, 5:47 PM

It really shows how out of date our drug laws are. We cannot hold back the tide when you can get it delivered to your door as easy as that. Enforcing drug laws is impossible and a new approach is required to better our society.

Mute Barry Ryan
    Favourite Barry Ryan
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:56 PM

I have not had some brown for years! Would love one for old times sake. Nothing but weed around now. Thanks RTE, …. now where did you buy this?

Mute Cathal O'Donoghue
    Favourite Cathal O'Donoghue
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:36 PM

I’m hungry. I don’t know why.

Mute jb
    Favourite jb
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:41 PM

wow……ground breaking …zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz………………is it over yet ?…………..zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Mute Joseph Nolan
    Favourite Joseph Nolan
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:01 PM

GIVE ME BACK MY STUFF I KNOW I O YOU 10 EURO RTE YOUR MY MAIN DEALER COME ON HAND IT UP

Mute Jeffrey McMahon
    Favourite Jeffrey McMahon
    Oct 10th 2014, 10:16 PM

Come to think of it I did see a lot of people in fancy suits and dresses heading towards the IFSC last night.

Mute jb
    Favourite jb
    Oct 10th 2014, 8:58 PM

could RTE pass on the contact ?

Mute bigdealexport
    Favourite bigdealexport
    Nov 28th 2014, 8:17 AM

We are Discreet Suppliers and we do ship through Out the USA at very
    reasonable prices.See Available strains Good for Pain, cancer, insomnia .

*Green Crack::::::::::::: Grade: AA
    *Sour Diesel :::::::::::::::Grade: A+ Top Shelf
    *Grand Daddy Purple ::::Grade: A
    *Sensi Star x ak47 :::::::Grade: AAA
    *Afghan Kush :::::::::::::Grade: A
    *Northern Lights #5 ::::::Grade: A+
    *Lemon drop:::::::::::::::Grade: A+
    *Purple Kush:::::::::::::::Grade:A+ Top Shelf
    *OG Kush ::::::::::::::::::Grade:A++ Top Shelf
    *Purple-urkle::::::::::::::Grade: A
    .girls scout cookies clones

HASH OILS FOR SALE
    Deliveries 24/7 everywhere!!!! very clean smelling, awesome taste and
    VERY potent hash oil. purged for hours so no impurities left. used
    stainless steel tubes.

Black oil,
    Indian oil,
    red oil,
    honey oil,
    cherry leb oil
    Afghani oil
    Organic Hemp Oil 16 fl oz Liquid
    Kosher Organic Cold Pressed Hemp Oil 8 OZ
    Hemp Oil Essential Fatty Acid
    WAX OIL
    BUTANE OIL
    And we sell at :

Our oils are goods for pain,cancers,insomia and others diseases.
    TEXT:(908)248-2182.

Mute Paul Farrell
    Favourite Paul Farrell
    Oct 10th 2014, 11:07 PM

They sold it to bob marley