You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Just yards from the lattés and those craft beer bars ... dozens upon dozens of needles

Every alleyway in the city is being used for injecting…

20150528_155810 N Lotts - behind Eden Quay Daragh Brophy Daragh Brophy

IT’S ONE OF those cloudy-but-sunny Dublin afternoons.

At a corner gastro-pub, €25 steak-on-a-stone is being offered for lunch. Around its tables, a scattering of tourists and office workers are sipping coffees and sampling pints of craft beer…

Just metres away, though – there’s a much grimmer scene being played out.

Grim, but equally as commonplace.

TheJournal.ie is on walkabout through the back-streets and alleyways of Dublin city centre with staff from the Ana Liffey Drug Project.

We’re around five minutes into our walk-and-talk when we see a slight figure dodge into the gutter – just behind a wheelie-bin.

His intent is obvious – and not particularly surprising… If you’re minded to look closely enough, you’ll spot needles and drug paraphernalia all over the cobbles.

20150528_162720 Discarded benzodiazepine packaging Daragh Brophy Daragh Brophy

Compared to the busy shopping streets surrounding it, this wide alleyway – running between Middle Abbey street and Eden Quay – doesn’t have a particularly high level of footfall. But it’s still very public.

As we talk, slightly further up, a garda car drives by on patrol – but the officers don’t see the drug-user… That wheelie bin has done its job.

Another Ana Liffey staff member is called out from their centre, just around the corner, to check on him.

As Paul Duff – the team leader with their new ‘Assertive Case Management Team’ observes – walking up with a journalist in tow won’t be doing the guy any favours.

20150528_162234 N Lotts on a weekday afternoon.

‘Every alleyway’

Every alleyway in the city is used for public injecting at some point in the week, director of the Ana Liffey centre, Tony Duffin, reckons.

However, it’s clear that some are more frequently used then others.

Across O’Connell Street, on the way to Liberty Hall, another laneway is littered with needles, citric acid packaging (which is added to heroin) and other drug waste.

It’s surrounded by tall buildings – and there are plenty of nooks and wheelie bins around to provide cover.

20150528_160615 Daragh Brophy Daragh Brophy

The ‘assertive’ team

Duffin and his organisation have been in the news a fair bit lately.

As you may have read on this website and elsewhere, they’re campaigning for the introduction of a medically-supervised injection centre for the capital, as a new way of tackling the decades-old problem of dangerous street-drug use.

That would require a law change – but so far, the newly-appointed drugs minister, Aodhán Ó Ríordáin, has been supportive.

Of course, that’s only one way the issue could be tackled – and this afternoon we’re out with Duffin and Duff to talk about their ‘assertive’ team, which has been up and running since last September.

“It’s very innovative. You wouldn’t find this happening in the UK as far as I’m aware,” Duffin says of the project.

It certainly doesn’t happen anywhere else in Ireland.

The Assertive Case Management Team works directly with the gardaí to find long-term solutions for people using drugs and sleeping rough on Dublin’s streets.

The HSE and Dublin City Council are also part of the project, along with ‘Housing First’ – which is backed by Fr Peter McVerry’s organisation and Focus Ireland.

Information is shared by the charities and agencies involved, Duffin explains. They work with around 40 clients – and case meetings are held every week to try and get people the help they need.

It’s an attempt by the agencies involved here to work in a joined-up way.

“What happens is – we’re walking the streets together, the Ana Liffey outreach worker and the guard, and we’re introducing ourselves as exactly that: ‘this is what we’re here to do – do you need assistance?’.

“Then, basically, you build up a relationship.

You sign people up in terms of shared information, and then the teams start working on whatever’s outstanding.

Video TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Operation Spire 

The project follows on from a number of garda-led efforts to crack-down on drug use and drug crime in the city centre area, particularly along the Liffey boardwalk and on O’Connell Street.

Hundreds of searches and dozens of seizures were made last year as part of Operation Spire, for instance - in just a single four-day period.

“Policing alone is not the solution to all of this,” Duffin maintains.

“The reason we started out last September was because people were coming to the attention of the guards through their criminal behaviour, their anti-social behaviour

The guards also know there are people here who are very vulnerable, so they wanted to work in this targeted approach to look for the longer-term solutions.

Adds Duff: “On a day-to-day level… Say for instance that chap down the laneway who was injecting, obviously we’d have to stand back and see…

But when we talked to him, maybe we’d discuss safer injecting. Maybe even the possibility of looking at a care plan to look at his needs.

Greening of the City O'Connell Street, the GPO and the Spire. Photocall Ireland Photocall Ireland

Of the 40 clients the team works with, most have drug problems, some are street drinkers – and all are either homeless or in long-term hostel accommodation. Many have mental health issues to deal with too.

The cases are always “very complex,” Duff says. Along with his street patrols “a lot of my day is spent accompanying people to other services”.

We work towards resolving some of those needs, and we support them in relation to legal obstacles.

On the streets

People who work in the sector have reported an upsurge in violent incidents among rough sleepers in the city in recent months. Many of the attacks, because of their nature, go unreported to the gardaí.

Staff at food centres and other services have also been subjected to violence – including the Merchants Quay day service, which was was forced to close its doors for several days at the start of last month, as a result of a number of attacks.

There’s also been an increase in HIV cases among street drug-users this year – with 13 new cases in the capital prompting a HSE investigation.

There’s a possible link between the upsurge in HIV diagnoses and Mephedrone - the former headshop drug now widely-available in the streets, doctors and drug workers believe.

Also known as ‘snow blow’ – many heroin users are injecting the powdered drug. As more injections take place, the risk of HIV and other blood-borne diseases increases.

Head Shops To Close Dublin's headshops close - in 2010. Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

“It’s more available than what it was when the shops shut down,” one drug-user, who’s being helped by the Ana Liffey team, explains.

When the shops shut down it was only available off of very specific people. Now it’s more of an open drug.

“I inject it – which is something I thought I’d never see myself doing,” he continues.

“My daily routine consists of a bag of gear in the morning, maybe two or three bags of snow blow through the afternoon through to the evening, and then at the end of the night a bag of gear to come down.”

It’s actually more injecting than you’d think…. One bag of snow blow – I split into two bags.

20150528_162813 Dublin's Italian Quarter Daragh Brophy Daragh Brophy

Around another corner, there’s yet more evidence of the problem.

This is the worst site yet – just yards from the buzzing Italian Quarter area, near Jervis Street.

At this time of the day, the restaurants, cafés and small shops of the Quarter are just getting busy.

At other times, though – early in the morning, for instance – it would be much quieter.

Beside a metal fence, around 10 metres from the nearest café, the ground is once again littered with needles, citrus wrappers, soiled tissues and other now-familiar-looking waste.

20150528_162613

The litter – like the problem itself – is a bit like a grim version of one of those 1990s ‘Magic Eye’ photos.

Next time you’re in town – take a look for yourself. As many Dubliners already know – you don’t have to look very far.

Read: What can Ireland learn from a country that decriminalised drugs? 

Read: Injection centres could soon arrive in Dublin – would you agree with that?

Read: ‘Every alley way in Dublin is used for public injecting at some point’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

96 Comments
    Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Jul 6th 2017, 6:46 PM

If there’s no suggestion that the new incinerator has anything to do with the infestation of flies why mention it…….

Also businesses have had to close? Seriously, dramatic much?

Mute Bob Lynch
    Favourite Bob Lynch
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:05 PM

@Ian Breathnach: exactly! However The sewage treatment plant could be a possible source.

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:11 PM

@Bob Lynch: How dare you suggest that something well established in the area be the cause of this when clearly there is a controversial ‘monstrosity’ in Poolbeg that can be blamed.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:16 PM

@Ian Breathnach:live in ringsend and no businesses have closed. Further no flies.

Mute Ronan McDermott
    Favourite Ronan McDermott
    Jul 6th 2017, 8:51 PM

Because that’s a conclusion a lot of readers would come to .

Mute Sueann Moore
    Favourite Sueann Moore
    Jul 6th 2017, 10:29 PM

@Ian Breathnach: You can’t serve food with so many flies, both were catering businesses that ad to close. I’ve gone through 3 cans of pest spray since Monday in our house , the sticky fly paper is covered with them and despite all the windows and doors being closed , more seem to be getting in.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jul 6th 2017, 11:29 PM

@Sueann Moore: catering business in Ringsend? Theres 8 pubs, 1 spar, Lars shop. 1 butcher. Ladbrookes, tesco, pharmacy. 2 chinese take aways, a chipper, 2 barber, estate agent, hair dresser and a few places near the toll bridge. If there in your house its probably eggs hatching inside and living of fruit.

Mute Abe Brennan
    Favourite Abe Brennan
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:22 PM

How did the flies know there was a bathing ban on Sandymount Beach.

Mute the phantom
    Favourite the phantom
    Jul 6th 2017, 8:29 PM

Could it be all the dog poo the locals don’t bother cleaning up?

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:35 PM

I was wondering why there were so few flies around this year and now I know why. They’re all in Dublin.

Mute marcus connolly
    Favourite marcus connolly
    Jul 6th 2017, 6:44 PM

I’d love to be a fly on the wall at the next local residents meeting.
    Sorry just acting the maggot.

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Jul 6th 2017, 6:54 PM

@marcus connolly: buzz off with your puns

Mute Joseph Blocks
    Favourite Joseph Blocks
    Jul 6th 2017, 6:58 PM

@Rónán O’Suilleabháin: no flies on you!

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:52 PM

@marcus connolly: live there and theres no issue
    Chris is talking shite

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jul 7th 2017, 1:33 AM

@Joseph Blocks: could be the ointment!!!

Mute Dave Sherman
    Favourite Dave Sherman
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:09 PM

If had lots of flies in my house, the last person I would call would be the local counsellor.
    I would just buy fly killer. Lots of snowflakes out there.

Mute Sueann Moore
    Favourite Sueann Moore
    Jul 6th 2017, 10:42 PM

@Dave Sherman: Both Tescos ,both hardware shops and local shops all sold out in Ringsend & Sandymount all week. Finding the source of infestation is a rational step. Councillors have more access to info

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jul 6th 2017, 10:51 PM

@Dave Sherman: why use fly killer? Why not use your bare hands ye snowflake. I do it with my eyes closed. On a serious note though stop using that phrase, i see it in just about every online “debate” and its tiresome.

Mute Graham Bolton
    Favourite Graham Bolton
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:01 PM

Bastarsd are everywhere

Mute Liam Dempsey
    Favourite Liam Dempsey
    Jul 7th 2017, 12:21 PM

@Graham Bolton: All flies are love babies,they don’t marry. They won’t let me use bast***s.

Mute Heather White
    Favourite Heather White
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:23 PM

I think there has been an increase everywhere I’m not in Dublin and never had flies coming into house or being everywhere in garden had a few bumblebees but not flies black and green ones everywhere can’t eat outside, BBQ, or have pool out for kids over them

Mute sean
    Favourite sean
    Jul 6th 2017, 10:02 PM

@Heather White: that’s nature for ya

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Jul 6th 2017, 9:12 PM

Global warming: every 0.25 % increase in average temperature encourages 5x more fly larvae to hatch.

By 2020 the whole place will be covered in them unless we can recruit more bats, birds and frogs with long sticky tongues to inhabit our suburbs.

Mute Brendan Deegan
    Favourite Brendan Deegan
    Jul 6th 2017, 9:18 PM

Think the flies looking for the cheap tents in D4

Mute Noel Madden
    Favourite Noel Madden
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:28 PM

Where is Rinsgend???

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:43 PM

@Noel Madden:

It’s near where 3,000 homes are now planned for development…at The Irish Glass Blue Bottle site made infamous during Celtic Tiger era on amount borrowed for its acquisition!

Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Jul 6th 2017, 8:08 PM

@Rory J Leonard: No there just normal flies, not. Blue bottles

Mute Kieran Hurley
    Favourite Kieran Hurley
    Jul 6th 2017, 8:57 PM

@Noel Madden: co perineum

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jul 6th 2017, 11:20 PM

@phil: You win.

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Jul 6th 2017, 11:54 PM

Leo should declare a no Fly zone over ringsend.

Mute Perry2016
    Favourite Perry2016
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:24 PM

Definitely Aliens

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Jul 6th 2017, 6:25 PM

cavanta?

Mute Benny Dowling
    Favourite Benny Dowling
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:03 PM

It’s probably to do with the waste incinerator

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jul 6th 2017, 8:00 PM

@Benny Dowling: sure the heat, being beside the liffey or the sewage treatment plant have nothing to do with it.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:39 PM

Something big is dead and the flies are coming from the corpse. Had about 500 flies in my parents house when there was a dead rat under the floor. So so many flies

Mute A H
    Favourite A H
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:58 PM

@Veronica: is it Kay-Tee from Fair Citeeee? Did they find hur yeh’?

Mute Rondon
    Favourite Rondon
    Jul 6th 2017, 8:45 PM

Those Flygrants might be just off the ferry, or a floater seeking a better way of life

Mute Dave Hogan
    Favourite Dave Hogan
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:42 PM

No rent crisis in ringsend.

Mute The Jacket
    Favourite The Jacket
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:39 PM

Dont live in ringsend so i couldnt give a flying fu(k. Thats it. I’ll grab my jacket!

Mute Gearoid MacDomhnaill
    Favourite Gearoid MacDomhnaill
    Jul 7th 2017, 10:25 AM

I live in Dublin 3. There was loads of flies in our apartment. One day my wife said in jest “there’s so many, we’ll have to start charging them rent” I laughed initially but then I thought why don’t I. I put it to them, however, at Dublins current rent prices the flies up and left so problem solved.

Mute Patrick j Brady
    Favourite Patrick j Brady
    Jul 6th 2017, 9:30 PM

It’s the incinerator….

Mute Keith Grant
    Favourite Keith Grant
    Jul 7th 2017, 2:35 PM

Very poor journalism, the paragraph about the incinerator makes absolutely sweet F A sense, you might as well say the Aviva stadium is relatively close

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Jul 7th 2017, 1:38 AM

It’s the dog shite on pathways!!

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Jul 6th 2017, 10:41 PM

Don’t ever kill a spider