You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Eagles of Death Metal want to be the first band back on stage at the Bataclan

“I cannot wait to come back to Paris. I cannot wait to play,” singer Jesse Hughes said.

eag1 Members of the Eagles of Death Metal speak to VICE. VICE VICE

CALIFORNIA BAND EAGLES of Death Metal want to be the first group to play the Bataclan theatre when the Paris venue reopens after the November attacks targeted their gig.

“I don’t want to spend my life trying to appease assholes I want to spend my life smiling with my friends and entertaining them,” Jesse Hughes, the band’s vocalist, told Vice in an interview.

“I cannot wait to come back to Paris. I cannot wait to play. I want to come back. I want to be the first band to play in the Bataclan when it opens back up,” he said.

“I was there when it went silent for a minute. Our friends went there and died. I’m gonna go back there and live.”

Gunmen attacked nearly simultaneously targets across Paris on November 13, killing 130 people, 89 of them at the Bataclan.

The band sat down for a full interview with Vice.com in Los Angeles after returning to America following the carnage.

You can watch the full video here:

VICE / YouTube

They each detailed the instant decisions they took to save their lives, and the horrors they saw as the gunmen emptied round after round indiscriminately into the crowd.

The band had been due to perform across Europe until December 10, but has put on hold all further concerts. A number of French fans have appealed on them online to return to play.

“We don’t really have a chance. We have to finish the tour,” said Josh Homme, the band’s co-founder, who was not in Paris.

“We have a song called ‘I Love You All The Time’. If you’re a country artist, if you’re death metal, if you’re a DJ, it doesn’t matter, cover that song and we’ll donate the publishing (royalties),” he told Vice.

© AFP 2015

Read: Newborn baby found at church nativity scene

Read: ‘It is graphic. It is violent. It is chilling’ – Police release footage of officer shooting black teen 16 times

View 25 comments
25 Comments
    Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Nov 26th 2015, 7:58 AM

That’s the right attitude! Never concede to the tropism agenda to terrorise. I admire the response.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Nov 26th 2015, 8:05 AM

Never concede to the terrorist agenda.

Mute Joe Arthur
    Favourite Joe Arthur
    Nov 26th 2015, 10:16 AM

It’s pretty cool all right!

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Nov 26th 2015, 10:30 AM

Fair play to them, although I never heard of them before the Bataclan incident……

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Nov 26th 2015, 1:47 PM

I watched the documentary last night.. And there was something not right about it, it was like they were payed to act, crocodile tears, I don’t know the interview didn’t seem sincere one bit

Mute Al
    Favourite Al
    Nov 26th 2015, 7:50 AM

Middle finger to Daesh.

Mute Andy Lane
    Favourite Andy Lane
    Nov 26th 2015, 9:11 AM

At the Olympia gig, Jesse addressed the crowd to make sure everyone was looking after each other, thanked the security guards for keeping everyone safe towards the end, and as always was grinning, joking and being the brilliantly fun frontman of a band that embody nothing but a good time. Such a dreadful thing to happen to any band and any audience, but they really are the antithesis of everything that happened in the Bataclan. It’s great to see them willing to come back like this.

Mute ian110664
    Favourite ian110664
    Nov 26th 2015, 8:15 AM

I’ve always had a lot of respect for Jesse Hughes but for him and the band to insist that he plays the first show at The Bataclan when it reopens is outstanding. Incredible people.

Mute Shannyn Brody
    Favourite Shannyn Brody
    Nov 26th 2015, 9:21 AM

Eagles of Death Metal will be around for many years to come, ISIS will not

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Favourite Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Nov 26th 2015, 8:07 AM

Bravo Eagles…..

Mute Cormac Harrington
    Favourite Cormac Harrington
    Nov 26th 2015, 9:10 AM

This is true unbeatable spirit. Well done lads

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Nov 26th 2015, 9:36 AM

Tough to watch that. Can only imagine what they saw and went through

Mute James Halford
    Favourite James Halford
    Nov 26th 2015, 9:07 AM

Very upsetting. It’s amazing they all got out alive.

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Nov 26th 2015, 11:49 AM

When I first saw Jessie Hughes reaction when the shots fired, the way he just stood there when everyone else was ducking or running I thought God, he’s not phased at all but looking at that video I can see he was and is still very affected by it. I read recently that in life-threatening situations, around 75% of people are so bewildered by the situation that they are unable to think clearly or plot their escape. They become mentally paralysed. If it wasn’t for friends helping each other a lot of others may have died as these men said. Very hard to watch and hear what happened to them.

Mute Festival floozie
    Favourite Festival floozie
    Nov 26th 2015, 11:38 AM

Heartbreaking interview. Horrendous stuff. My thoughts are with them and anyone effected by this awful, mindless tragedy.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Nov 26th 2015, 10:00 AM

Can musicians go five minutes without giving in to the impulse to make everything about them? To their credit, at least they held out longer than Bono before speaking out.

Mute Andy Lane
    Favourite Andy Lane
    Nov 26th 2015, 10:07 AM

I think you’ll find most interviews with musicians will be about them. This one is actually an exception as it’s about a terrorist attack.

Mute Ruth Rogers-Corbally
    Favourite Ruth Rogers-Corbally
    Nov 26th 2015, 10:50 AM

I think in all fairness they have as much of a right as any other survivor to tell their story from that night.

Mute Grigori Rasputin
    Favourite Grigori Rasputin
    Nov 26th 2015, 12:21 PM

Neal, they were physically there at the massacre. They saw their friends and fans shot down. Everyone who was killed or injured in the theatre was there to see the band. And you don’t think they should speak about it? It’s amazing that you have no problem commenting on every second random article posted here, yet think that this band are somehow self-centred in talking about this.

Mute Barry O'Donovan
    Favourite Barry O'Donovan
    Nov 26th 2015, 11:03 AM

So emotional interview

Mute Banana Rama
    Favourite Banana Rama
    Nov 26th 2015, 12:02 PM

@Neal Ireland Hello
    Spectacular point-missing there. I’d say you’re great craic at parties.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Nov 26th 2015, 4:10 PM

Since the dimebag incident most american bands first instinct when shots go off is to exit the stage quickly, their stage security would be drilled on this procedure also. To imply cowardice is silly.

Mute Finbarr O'Connell
    Favourite Finbarr O'Connell
    Nov 26th 2015, 1:11 PM

Legends

Mute Juan Carr
    Favourite Juan Carr
    Nov 26th 2015, 12:11 PM

Jesus he was the first man out the door.said nothing Droped the mike and ran. And now fist man back. Lol

Mute Huey Johnson
    Favourite Huey Johnson
    Nov 27th 2015, 5:55 AM

Bring back the Twin Towers and charlie Hebdo also!