You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'He was killed because he was a soft target. He is a victim' - Shock and sadness at murder of Eddie Hutch

Locals have spoken of crime in their area, and how they feel gardaí are powerless to change it.

PastedImage-8262

Updated 6.50pm

LOCALS LIVING AROUND Poplar Row, where Eddie Hutch was shot dead last night, have described him as a good man who was not heavily involved in the gangland scene.

It was quiet in the area this morning as people went about daily tasks, starting their commute to work and bringing their children to school. Some were only finding out there had been a murder as they passed by the cordon and asked the garda stationed there what was going on.

A father-of-five, someone who had lived in their community for a long time, had been shot dead in his home.

One local, who did not wish to be named, described Hutch, who worked as a taxi driver, as “a decent guy”, adding that he was “definitely outside criminality”.

The 59-year-old brother of Gerry ‘The Monk’ Hutch was not known to gardaí as a violent criminal. He had minor crimes against his name but was not currently active in the criminal or gangland scene.

One of his taxi customers, Daniel Doran, told TheJournal.ie that ‘Hutch was also a friend.

“He was a great taxi driver and a good man. He worked the rank on Parnell Street and would drive myself and my wife hundreds of times, many early trips in the morning to the airport.

“He always had a smile for everyone and even though we knew his brother was involved in criminality, we also knew Hutch (as we always called him) wasn’t.

He was ashamed of the criminality his name was associated with and didn’t speak of it.

“He was killed because he was a soft target. He is a victim, and I hope his murderer is brought to justice. He was a wonderful person.”

Doran said he would tell his Russian wife to ask for Hutch at the rank “because she knew as a woman alone in the car with him that he could not only be trusted but would make sure she got to the destination and in the door”.

He was better than a decent man, he was good man. I miss him dearly. I am saddened by this, I feel so bad for his children. He was a victim and I hope his murderers will be found and prosecuted with the fullest extent of the law.

Gary Gannon, a local general election candidate for the Social Democrats, grew up in the area and was at the scene this morning.

He said there was a “genuine sadness” and “a definite sense of fear” in the community.

The victim last night, he wasn’t known to be involved in any sort of criminality, he’s been around the north inner city for a long time.

Despite the picture now being portrayed of who Eddie Hutch Senior was, he became a victim in the escalating feud between the Hutch and Kinahan gangs. Many have suggested his door was knocked down last night because he was such a soft or easy target.

‘A changed world’

Local woman Kitty Behan spoke, as she waited for her bus, about “a changed world”.

It’s terrible to think they can just come out and shoot someone.

She did not know the victim, and like others in the area, she is not exactly surprised by the retaliation shooting.

Kitty is used to seeing crime around where she lives.

“You wouldn’t know what these fellas are up to. Up on the bridge, there’d be a lot of fellas selling [drugs] up there. One day last week the fellas were like a flock of pigeons, buying the drugs off them. Police can’t do anything about it, all they can do is take the drugs off them.”

Similarly, another man spoke of being mugged twice in the vicinity in the past.

“If they want to go off and kill each other, work away,” he commented, as he stood at the scene.

While everyone spoke of criminal activity in the area, they all stressed that this was not indicative of the type of people who lived there.

Gannon described it as an “incredibly decent working-class community where people work hard”.

And Kitty Behan was matter-of-fact about it: “No matter where you’re living, it’s all the same anyway. Sometimes it’s just bad luck.”

Read: Eddie Hutch shooting condemned as sign of “despicable inhumanity”

More: ‘Nothing substantive’ in rumours about shots being fired in Tallaght 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

107 Comments
    Mute James O Connell
    Favourite James O Connell
    Feb 9th 2016, 12:56 PM

I could be wrong but I get the feeling this guy was shot for the sake of his second name. Doesnt seem to have been involved with the level of drug dealing that the others are

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:32 AM

@ James O Connell

money lending is no better than drug dealing

intimidation is intimidation full stop

Mute Super Ted
    Favourite Super Ted
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:11 PM

I live in the City Centre, very close to where that shooting took place yesterday evening and I regularly see drugs being sold openly on the street. Drug pushers don’t have any fear of being caught because there is no visible Garda presence anywhere! It’s a free for all, get your brown in the centre of town, free delivery service available.

Mute Richard Curtis
    Favourite Richard Curtis
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:45 PM

I agree I work I that area about twice a week and level of criminality is off the scale with no Garda presence at all!

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Feb 9th 2016, 2:13 PM

The lad who was shot dead at the hotel seemed to be at the higher level of organised crime. The Sunday World had pictures of him driving a jeep worth 200k.. Eddie Hutch it seems was still working as a Taxi Driver and had minor convictions years ago… As his neighbours said, he was a soft target..

Mute Coco Beware
    Favourite Coco Beware
    Feb 9th 2016, 2:21 PM

David Dickson you can’t tar them all with the same brush, i know fellas who have serious convictions and come from lovely families including garda members siblings

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    Feb 9th 2016, 2:48 PM

But I will in this case.

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    Feb 9th 2016, 6:42 PM

@Coco

Come on this whole family is from the deepest cess pit of society and the ones with lesser convictions were just a bit smarter than the rest.

I know where you coming from but the Hutch family is pure evil filth!

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:22 AM

@ Super Ted

yeah its the guards fault that people put poison up their nose and in their arm

will you ever wake up FFS

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:26 AM

@ david dickson

ireland is getting more and more like america

someone gets shot

the media tell us they are a victim etc

then anyone who tells the truth gets attacked online

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:30 AM

@ Stephen Dunne

calling him a runt because he told the truth

a truth that makes you angry for some mysterious reason

i don’t know why his comment put you in a rage but i bet the guards do

Mute Super Ted
    Favourite Super Ted
    Feb 10th 2016, 1:29 PM

Robert, I never said it was the Guards fault, you’re making a wild assumption. There is no deterrent for drug dealers because there is no coordinated approach between the Government, Gardai and Judiciary to effectively tackle the problem. Pathetic sentences handed down to repeat offenders because of mitigating circumstances such as, “your honour, he came from a broken home but is trying to mend his ways”. Drug dealing has now become a career move for young people because our spineless government have decided to turn a blind eye to criminal activities in the city.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Feb 9th 2016, 12:49 PM

“not heavily involved in the gangland scene”. Does that mean he was involved, but only a little bit, here and there?

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Feb 9th 2016, 12:54 PM

Yeah that is very vague….it’s the typical Irish response…”ah sure he is a grand fella”

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:04 PM

He was a “good” gangland figure

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:13 PM

“not heavily involved in the gangland scene” is what the person who wrote this included, lets look what is in actual quotes in the article:

One local said…. “a decent guy”, “definitely outside criminality”
    Social Democrat’s Gary Gannon, who grew up in the area: “The victim last night, he wasn’t known to be involved in any sort of criminality”

So unless the journalist has other information not included in the article it would seem there is not evidence to suggest he was involved in criminality at all, and the “journalist” should be ashamed of themselves and alter it immediately

Mute TheBull
    Favourite TheBull
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:15 PM

You mean like having 160k “resting” in his bank account?

Mute P-Anti Matter
    Favourite P-Anti Matter
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:27 PM

Which was transfered to rest in CAB’s bank account.

Feb 9th 2016, 1:33 PM

I know I wouldn’t have been sitting in my flat considering what happened over the weekend. What was he at…

Mute Papasmurf
    Favourite Papasmurf
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:41 PM

Well CAB successfully seized 156k he had in a bank account in his own name so whether he was “definitely outside criminality” is not even up for debate.

Mute Papasmurf
    Favourite Papasmurf
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:45 PM

*I missed the bull’s post there.

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Feb 9th 2016, 3:27 PM

Bull, now doubt he was involved in some way the past, but the article is about the local community reaction to last nights shooting. The author clearly states in the first sentence that “locals described him as a good man who was not heavily involved in the gangland scene” when that not the way he was described at all. Contrast this with the quotes of what the locals are quoted saying, and specifically the SD rep who described him as not involved in any sort of criminality. Therefore “not heavily involved” is the authors spin and should not be used to describe what the locals said about the man

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Feb 9th 2016, 7:54 PM

Is “Not heavily involved” the same as a wee bit pregnant or a wee bit dead?

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:41 AM

is that the same Diarmuid Martin who said it was very unfair the way Larry Murphy was treated after he left prison?

or was it Brian DArcy ?

either way,.. pedo church hypocrites

Mute Sabrina (^_^)
    Favourite Sabrina (^_^)
    Feb 9th 2016, 3:18 PM

I live 2 minute’s from his house. He has often picked me and my nan up to take me to the hospital. He was a quite man from what I know of him. He always helped me in with my oxygen and bag’s. I don’t really care what other people say about him, he was always nice enough to me and me nan.

Mute Val Rossi
    Favourite Val Rossi
    Feb 9th 2016, 5:45 PM

He sounds dreamy

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    Feb 9th 2016, 6:50 PM

@Sabrina

So because he was nice to you he must be a decent man?

Strange logic!

I’m sure his brother or his sons were nice to some neighbours as well, it means absolutely nothing!

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Feb 9th 2016, 7:09 PM

She didn’t say he was a decent man. She said he was always nice enough to her and her Nan. No need to jump down her throat, you moron. She’s speaking off personal experience. Which is more than you have.

Feb 9th 2016, 7:09 PM

Matt , Sabrina never actually said he was a decent man .

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    Feb 9th 2016, 7:21 PM

@Conor

Ha ha pit bull calls me a moron, getting a bit nervous about all that nice man and decent fella crap is getting ripped apart piece by piece?

Anyway nice man, decent man not a big difference! Who cares if he’s been nice to his neighbours it doesn’t mean a thing! Many serial killers have been described as nice and caring by neighbours and work mates.

Mute Joe Smith
    Favourite Joe Smith
    Feb 9th 2016, 7:38 PM

Matt did you know the man ? You seem gleeful this man was murdered, shot several times in the head in his home. Think about it for a moment, the act itself, the brutality of it. Because family members of his are involved he was was killed, it’s sad beyond words, anyone who knew him says he was a likeable kind working man but you don’t care because his family are criminals. ….. enough said

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    Feb 9th 2016, 7:56 PM

@Joe

I already said he probably didn’t deserve it, he wasn’t a major player and probably inactive. However laundering money for the family does not exactly make him a saint either and all that decent fella, good/nice man crap getting on my nerves!
    And I’m not happy about someone getting shot in his home but a family that lives by the sword dies by the sword if he would have cut loose all ties with his brother, sons and cousins he wouldn’t have been a target and if my kids are ruthless criminals I have some responsibility as a father! 1 bad apple in the family comes down to the individual but almost the whole family you can see a pattern.

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    Feb 9th 2016, 8:02 PM

@Suzie

Nice man, decent man not much of a difference!
    Anyway how the man treated his neighbours is completely irrelevant to assess his level of involvement in the family business!
    A certain Ted Bundy was described by neighbours and colleagues as nice, helpful and likeable.

Mute Pedro II
    Favourite Pedro II
    Feb 9th 2016, 8:03 PM

Matt, it’s one thing to troll the comments section of a random news article but it is something altogether different to troll an article where someone has lost their life.

You can hide away behind your fake profile, like many of us here, but you can’t hide away from the rotten person you evidently are.

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    Feb 9th 2016, 8:24 PM

@Pedro

Not trolling nothing just giving my opinion you don’t have to agree with it!

You can stick your sanctimonious crap up your backside!

You can hide behind your fake account but you cannot hide being a moron!

Mute Joe Smith
    Favourite Joe Smith
    Feb 9th 2016, 8:44 PM

Matt look up the word compassion, then look at the man’s picture, think about what the people that actually knew him said about him, then think about what happened to him, having his ife so violently stole. I just find it both extremely sad and blood boiling at the same time. Try and have some compassion or are you as cold as his killers ?

Mute Pedro II
    Favourite Pedro II
    Feb 9th 2016, 8:46 PM

There’s a difference between being sanctimonious and being correct.

You don’t know the deceased and you appear to have ignored all reports – including that of the Garda – which indicates that this man was not actively involved in crime. However you continue to argue the case as if this man’s death was the result of his own choices? I think you need to look again at who is the moron in this situation.

Let’s have a look a what you have said so far –

- You’ve compared him to a serial killer
    - You’ve stated that he “probably” didn’t serve it (as if “probably” was something good??)
    - You’ve stated that he lived by the sword
    - Your “1 bad apple” comment insinuates that he was the same as the others in his family

All this is three comments.

Again – the Garda have already confirmed that this man was not actively involved in crime. However you continue to argue an almost “there’s no smoke without fire” argument without supplying any evidence to back it yourself up.

It’s funny that you described me as being sanctimonious (definition: being morally superior to others), given that you have completely cast judgment on this man, with no evidence other than the assumption that, given his family, he’s probably guilty of something. If anyone is being sanctimonious my friend, it is you.

Time to get down off that high horse.

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    Feb 9th 2016, 9:04 PM

@Joe

He helped his brother laundering money, fact!

I’m sure he knew of his kids crimes, his cousins crimes and his brothers crimes, so not actively involved doesn’t mean he was a saint!

Not saying he deserved it but an innocent victim he is not, nice guy or not he knew what was going on and he did not cut ties with his family!

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:36 AM

@ Sabrina (^_^)

remember that movie The General

martin cahill gave money to struggling mothers

he was a quite man, he was nice enough

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:39 AM

@ Matt Beaumont

reminds me of that race bull sh-t

Trayvon Martin, Mike Brown, Freddie Gray all shot

glorified because it would sell papers etc

Mute Kj bar
    Favourite Kj bar
    Feb 9th 2016, 12:57 PM

He was obviously easy to get at and that’s why they went for him, although not involved in the dispute he has paid the price for his surname.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Feb 10th 2016, 2:17 AM

People with criminal records should not be allowed drive taxis.

Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Feb 9th 2016, 12:59 PM

This decent guy crap is disgraceful. The same can be said about Whitey Bolger. He fed many families in South Boston, Mafia Dons have been known to be generous to the poor but they are killers and money launderers.. This man was not investigated by CAB for putting too much money in the collection box mass

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:06 PM

The guards were out in force last night and yet they couldn’t protect him. What chance have they of protecting 12 jurors when jerry abolishes the non jury courts?

Mute Joe Smith
    Favourite Joe Smith
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:07 PM

It seems this man was shot because they couldn’t get his brother not for anything he was personally involved in. Might be hard to believe but you are dealing with absolute toe rags.

Mute Eamonn Hughes
    Favourite Eamonn Hughes
    Feb 9th 2016, 7:08 PM

Other countries manage it, why can’t we? There are many measures to protect juries available.

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Feb 9th 2016, 7:24 PM

What other countries??. Is intimidation and murdering only an Irish treat?

Mute Jonnybannon
    Favourite Jonnybannon
    Feb 9th 2016, 7:33 PM

Sounds like maryloos bullshit

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Feb 9th 2016, 7:34 PM

And the SCC is the measure this country has chosen! It is also supported by the vast majority of people living here so I guess it should stay.

Mute Pedro II
    Favourite Pedro II
    Feb 9th 2016, 8:14 PM

Phil -

A bank account, that although was in his name, was seized while investigating his brother. There were also accounts set up in his sister and mothers name…. AND IT WAS 16 YEARS AGO.

Nobody is claiming that this chap had a clean record to his name but it’s widely report by all – including the Garda themselves – that he’s was not involved in criminal activity and that he was most likely targeted because he was an easy hit.

If you are going to make such statements about someone who was brutally murdered only 24 hours ago, at least have the decency to afford a bit of respect for the deceased by being accurate in your summary .

Mute Seamus Flynn
    Favourite Seamus Flynn
    Feb 9th 2016, 8:33 PM

@Eamonn Hughes “Other countries manage it, why can’t we? There are many measures to protect juries available.”..Such as and where?

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:47 AM

Gerry and Eddie Hutch

Whitey and Billy Bulger

Liam and Gerry Adams

one is a convicted criminal the other is a decent guy

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Feb 9th 2016, 12:51 PM

Decebt Guy – pass the sick bucket

Mute Muiris O'Daltuin
    Favourite Muiris O'Daltuin
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:24 PM

He didn’t say decebt guy. The man said he was “a decent guy”. Pass the dictionary.

Feb 9th 2016, 2:22 PM

You should go to the doctor if you’re not feeling well , Paul .

Mute Daniel Doran
    Favourite Daniel Doran
    Feb 9th 2016, 5:20 PM

Eddie Hutch was the salt of the earth, a really good person, did no harm to anyone, you should take those words back because you’re speaking ill of the dead there, he was no gangster.

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 9:13 AM

@ Muiris O Dolt

one less criminal makes us all safer

Good Riddance

Mute Fiachra Ahern Esq
    Favourite Fiachra Ahern Esq
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:30 PM

Drug related crime was allowed get out of hand by the Gardai in Dublin. It’s being dealt and used all over the city and can been seen by everyone . Yet nothing was done for years and still nothing is being done.

The damaged has been done by a lax attitude by the Gardai. This then adds to the attitude towards the gangs.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Feb 9th 2016, 2:37 PM

The Gardaí have their hands tied by the fact that every single judge will listen to the “my client is reformed now as he has a six-week-old daughter to take care of” type of bullshit and then let them off (i.e. suspended sentence).

Mute David Emmanuel
    Favourite David Emmanuel
    Feb 9th 2016, 4:57 PM

Lax attitude? At any given time there at 6 gardai scheduled for duty in pearse st stn to deal with a large area in the centre of the capital. They’re under-manned, under-resourced, under-paid, with morale riding low.
    If you want to point a finger of blame point it squarely and francis fitzgerald and her immediate predecessor for refusing to adequately supply the force with the resources needs to deal with such issues. And come polling day make a change.

Mute Mike McAllen
    Favourite Mike McAllen
    Feb 9th 2016, 5:06 PM

It has nothing to do with resources. The Gardai still have more resources than they had 10 or 15 years ago. Unfortunately many of those resources are sitting on their arses behind desks, and that’s the fault of Garda management.

One wonders how many more murders the Gardai will be able to get away with blaming on a lack of resources?

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Feb 9th 2016, 7:34 PM

You put your finger on it Mike. A recent report estimated that there were about 1500 gardai behind desks who could and should be redeployed to policing. Why do we waste so much tax payers money on putting recruits through training in order to have a large volume of them pushing pens behind desks instead of using their training to catch bad guys? A garda receives 104 weeks (2 years) training at a cost of €9200. Do we want to put recruits through this to ultimately have them filling out passport forms? Hire civilians to do the desk work and get the gardai out on the beat.

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Feb 9th 2016, 7:41 PM

The Garda Inspectorate report said there are well over a 1,000 gardai that can be moved from desk duty to out in the streets almost immediately. Bear in mind this report was by police from other jurisdictions so it really highlights the wastage going in in Ireland when it comes to an Garda Siochana. Before the gardai management start going on about resources why the hell don’t they get all those gardai sitting around out in the beat. Until then this resources issue is a load of crap and the government and top garda management are to blame for not reorganising the force. 20 gardai could go a water meter protest with the same amount of protestors yet I’d be surprised if this amount were patrolling the city centre in Dublin at any one time.

Mute Raymond Power
    Favourite Raymond Power
    Feb 9th 2016, 7:51 PM

Norway has the same population as ireland and 4500 police officers less.it is also not the utopia many think.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Feb 9th 2016, 7:53 PM

Leave DOB alond , just cause he has won his case, you know the one that has been postponed until AFTER the election.

Mute Raymond Power
    Favourite Raymond Power
    Feb 9th 2016, 8:03 PM

To clarify…norway has 8000 police officers.

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:52 AM

maybe if Eddie butter wouldn’t melt Hutch created as many jobs as DOB then the gardai would be more eager to protect him 24 7

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    Feb 9th 2016, 12:50 PM

Enough already, when is the J storm coming?

Mute Anne Kelly
    Favourite Anne Kelly
    Feb 9th 2016, 12:56 PM

Its absolutely bucketing down snow here….& starting to stick.

Mute Gerard Carey
    Favourite Gerard Carey
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:06 PM

Where’s “here”?

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:12 PM

Where is here?

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:22 PM

Lapland

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:22 PM

Over there, on your left.

Mute Donal O Neil
    Favourite Donal O Neil
    Feb 10th 2016, 7:17 PM

Behind the sofa near the fireplace

Mute Daniel Doran
    Favourite Daniel Doran
    Feb 9th 2016, 5:14 PM

Eddie was a solid gold guy. One off the nicest taxi drivers and a decent fella who always had a smile for you. This is disgusting and obviously a reprisal killing. It’s one thing for them to be killing each other but Eddie wasn’t a gangster. Many mornings he’d drive me and wife to work, always smiling and joking. God dammit this just isn’t right.

Mute Daniel Doran
    Favourite Daniel Doran
    Feb 9th 2016, 5:23 PM

A drug dealer?!? You’re off you’re head the poor man’s taxi barely fit to work out of, and at times he wa soft the road for a stretch due to repairs. If he was a drug dealer (and he wasn’t) he would have had to have been the worst drug dealer ever. You have no idea who or what you’re talking about.

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Feb 9th 2016, 7:24 PM

So Daniel, CAB confiscated 160k from him in error?

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 9:05 AM

@ John B

the truth is refreshing

Mute Herewegoagain
    Favourite Herewegoagain
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:48 PM

Michelle you are truly a great comedic writer. I love the bit about it was quiet this morning as they went about their daily commute to work . Fantastic well done

Mute Martin Nolan
    Favourite Martin Nolan
    Feb 9th 2016, 4:55 PM

So the government will send in 40 Gardai to protect water meter installers from peaceful protesters but a hotel which has a well publicised meeting of many well known criminals has a Garda presence of ZERO. Nice to know our leaders have their priorities right

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:35 PM

So long as these criminals keep killing each other, I don’t care.

Mute Papasmurf
    Favourite Papasmurf
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:43 PM

Plenty of total innocents have been killed due to misidentifying targets.

Mute Live Long
    Favourite Live Long
    Feb 9th 2016, 2:08 PM

There also killing each other over the highly profitable drug trade that has Dublin City looking like a Walking Dead backdrop. So yeah, plenty to care about.

Mute Mindyourown
    Favourite Mindyourown
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:37 PM

Yeah he was ‘An Ordinary decent drug dealer’. Lovely fella I’m sure

Mute Ciaran Penrose
    Favourite Ciaran Penrose
    Feb 9th 2016, 3:24 PM

Tell us how you know he was a drug dealer.

Mute Ciaran Penrose
    Favourite Ciaran Penrose
    Feb 9th 2016, 3:27 PM

You know he was a dealer? Tell us how.

Mute 父 Sean 父
    Favourite 父 Sean 父
    Feb 9th 2016, 4:51 PM

I think Ciaran wants to know how you know he was a dealer

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    Feb 9th 2016, 6:47 PM

@Ciaran

Does money laundering for his drug dealing sons and brother qualify him as a criminal in your opinion?

Mute Selina Farell
    Favourite Selina Farell
    Feb 9th 2016, 3:18 PM

Tramps talking about a 58 yr old man who was a very nice man so if ur son or cousin does wrong means it’s OK for you to b killed morons all same comment on this

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Feb 9th 2016, 3:53 PM

And his kids ? I don’t know the man but as a parent he failed. Yes?

Mute Mindyourown
    Favourite Mindyourown
    Feb 9th 2016, 4:01 PM

Selina, you hurt my feelings. ….not. Xxx

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 9:15 AM

@ Selina Farell

” a very nice man ”

did the Criminal Assets Bureau confiscate his money by accident ??????

Mute Eamonn Hedderman
    Favourite Eamonn Hedderman
    Feb 9th 2016, 2:33 PM

Is he involved in crime? Is he not involved in crime? Don’t try and make the killing a little bit more justifiable by trying to determine if he was involved in crime. No one has the right to take someone else’s life via a bullet especially when at times innocent people get dragged into it.

Mute Robert Trump
    Favourite Robert Trump
    Feb 10th 2016, 9:11 AM

@ Eamonn Hedderman

” No one has the right to take someone else’s life ”

the CAB is the criminal assets bureau

criminal
    ˈkrɪmɪn(ə)l/
    noun
    noun: criminal; plural noun: criminals

a person who has committed a crime.
    “these men are dangerous criminals”
    synonyms: lawbreaker, offender, villain, delinquent, malefactor, culprit, wrongdoer, transgressor, sinner; More
    young offender, juvenile delinquent;
    felon, thief, robber, armed robber, burglar, housebreaker, shoplifter, mugger, rapist, fraudster, swindler, racketeer, gunman, gangster, outlaw, bandit, terrorist, bioterrorist, narcoterrorist, ecoterrorist, cyberterrorist, agroterrorist;
    yakuza;
    informalcrook, con, jailbird, (old) lag, lifer, baddy;
    informalyardbird, yegg;
    informalcrim;
    informallighty;
    informaltief;
    rhyming slangtea leaf;
    informalcracksman;
    malfeasant, misfeasor, infractor;
    archaicmiscreant, trespasser, trusty, transport;
    rarepeculator, defalcator
    “she struck up a friendship with a convicted criminal”

adjective
    adjective: criminal

relating to crime.
    “he is charged with conspiracy to commit criminal damage”
    synonyms: unlawful, illegal, against the law, illicit, illegitimate, lawbreaking, lawless, felonious, delinquent, culpable, villainous, nefarious, corrupt, fraudulent; More
    indictable, punishable, actionable, unauthorized, unsanctioned, outlawed, banned, forbidden, interdicted, proscribed;
    wrong, bad, evil, wicked, iniquitous;
    informalcrooked, shady, dirty;
    informalbent, dodgy;
    malfeasant
    “they were found guilty of criminal conduct”
    antonyms: lawful
    Law
    relating to crime as opposed to civil matters.
    “a criminal court”
    informal
    (of an action or situation) deplorable and shocking.
    “he may never fulfil his potential, and that would be a criminal waste”
    synonyms: deplorable, preposterous, shameful, reprehensible, disgraceful, inexcusable, unforgivable, unpardonable, unacceptable; More

Mute Eamonn Hedderman
    Favourite Eamonn Hedderman
    Feb 10th 2016, 4:45 PM

What’s your point?

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Feb 9th 2016, 7:20 PM

Funny all these so called gangsters are always decent people.Gimme a break

Mute Myk_Oval_Balls_nRyt
    Favourite Myk_Oval_Balls_nRyt
    Feb 9th 2016, 8:28 PM

Ugh the typical Irish attitude, “Ah sher he was only a soft criminal” or the “He was lovely to me”. Fxck right off, he a convicted criminal none the less.

Mute Darren Tully
    Favourite Darren Tully
    Feb 9th 2016, 1:18 PM

Phil, if you have enough evidence to back your bribery and corruption claim, why have you been keeping it to yourself until now?

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Feb 9th 2016, 9:00 PM

U know what it’s a sad day no matter what RIP Eddie

Mute Benny Dorm
    Favourite Benny Dorm
    Feb 9th 2016, 8:53 PM

And there was Edna blaming republicans. Idiot.

Mute Orla Murphy
    Favourite Orla Murphy
    Feb 9th 2016, 10:23 PM

Keep the armed guards on the street and crime will decrease. Or is that too obvious?

Mute Sandra
    Favourite Sandra
    Feb 9th 2016, 10:50 PM

Who are we up for ? I am up for the monk.

Mute Bernard Doyle
    Favourite Bernard Doyle
    Feb 10th 2016, 8:08 AM

Nice man or not no one deserves to be taken out like that RIP Eddie

Mute Patrick Lawlor
    Favourite Patrick Lawlor
    Feb 10th 2016, 3:13 AM

Any murder is senseless.