You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A crowd share a toast at the Guinness Storehouse. Alamy Stock Photo

Goodbye to the new normal, but is everyone ready to go back to the old normal?

The government announced an easing of restrictions yesterday.

“I WOULDN’T GO that far.”

That was Tánaiste Leo Varadkar’s response when asked this week if he and the government felt the pandemic was soon to be over. 

It was a fair question, as Varadkar was announcing the public holiday he’d said the week previous would have been premature to unveil. 

Yesterday, Taoiseach Micheál Martin made it clear that the pandemic was not over but that the “emergency” phase had passed. 

“I want to be clear that the pandemic isn’t over – it will still require all of us to be vigilant,” he said. 

Globally, the pandemic is unlikely to be ‘over’ any time soon, such is the disparity of vaccine access in different parts of the world, but here we are lucky enough to be entering a new stage.

This stage is the unwinding of the restrictions on social mixing that have been in place in one form or another for most of the last two years. In its place is a system where Covid-19 becomes an endemic disease that will be managed like many others. 

This development has been made possible by the reality that, as cases have skyrocketed to levels never seen previously, there hasn’t been a comparable increase in hospitalisations or serious illness. 

The plans for the unwinding of restrictions were confirmed by the government yesterday, with most significant restrictions in fact ending from 6am this morning. Bars, restaurants and nightclubs are set for full return today as capacity and time limits are lifted. 

Mask-wearing in certain situations will remain for the time being but that will also be kept under review. 

But as Ireland begins to turn its back on the ‘new normal’ to which it has become so accustomed, will people be ready for the old normal all over again?

‘Behavioural lag’ 

“It will take time,” according Pete Lunn of the ESRI’s Behavioural Research Unit.

“What we’ve seen throughout this pandemic is a kind of public discourse that suggests that there is a clamour for restrictions to be lifted and for people to return to normal or to start being highly, socially active again.

“That has never been the case and it is not the case now. There’s always been a very vocal minority, who are super keen to be more socially active and to push back towards normal, but the majority of the population want to go more slowly than that and want to be more cautious than that.”

He adds that, throughout the pandemic, the ESRI has observed a “behavioural lag” between the time people are allowed to do something and when the public at large actually start to do it.

Partly this is down to caution but it’s also down to the nature of social activity and how it takes time for people to organise plans or simply get in touch. 

Opinion polls tracking people’s feelings on restrictions in Ireland have more often than not leaned on the side of caution. 

The Amárach Public Opinion Tracker has shown consistently over the past two years that people are more likely to say reopening is happening too quickly rather than two slowly. 

Significantly, this changed this week ahead of the government’s announcement.

PastedImage-55446 DEpartment of Health DEpartment of Health

Two years of conditioning about what’s safe and appropriate take a little time to disappear, and there’s also the fact that the risk posed by Covid-19 is not the same for everybody across society.

While vaccination and the Omicron variant have meant that the threat to the wider healthcare system is not as severe as earlier in the pandemic, risks at an individual level have not changed for some. 

For example, people who are immunocompromised will still be immunocompromised and must still take extra care. 

The reality that some people may be ready for the ‘old’ normal and that others may not is something that needs to be acknowledged and spoken about, Lunn says.

“There is no way to think about this that is the right way; there is no correct way to decide how much risk to take in life. And I think it’s just important to acknowledge that.”

It’s just human nature that we have some people who are more extroverted and outgoing and we have some people that are less so. What the pandemic does is it really kind of puts that squarely in front of us. It’s a situation in which those differences are exaggerated because of the threat. 

Worry index

Lunn points to the separate but similar research carried out by the ESRI and Amárach Research.

Both sets of surveys have tracked people’s overall feelings about where we are during the pandemic and the prevailing worry that exists. 

PastedImage-31360 Department of Health Department of Health

Amárach calls it the ‘Worry Index’ and asks people how concerned they are about Covid-19 on a scale of 1-10.

As of last week, the average was at 5.5 – but Lunn says what’s more illuminating than the average is the contrast between various people. 

You have a huge variation in it. You have a substantial amount of the population, about a quarter typically, scoring it at any time 8-10. Then you’ve got another quarter that will be down at 4.

Lunn adds that while some of this variation is down to the age of people, the effect of age “is actually only very small”.

“It’s much more to do with people’s individual psychology,” he explains.

“I think what that tells us is that there’s great diversity and there is a danger of tension between people. We have to, I think, be accepting of each other in that regard.

“It is perfectly reasonable for some people to be more frightened of this disease than others and for some people to be more cautious than others. That is perfectly reasonable.”

The Amárach research also provides glimpses into people’s future intentions, but whether that behaviour comes to pass remains to be seen.

For example, 50% of people say they will continue to wear a face covering in public after Covid-19, with 70% saying they will continue to socially distance while queuing.

But Lunn says he would be “wary” of such predictions as people have a habit of “projecting into the future what they do now”. 

Speaking yesterday on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, sociologist at Mary Immaculate College Limerick Prof Niamh Hourigan pointed to the experience of the SARS outbreak in south-east asia and how that led to lasting behavioural shifts. 

“It’s very interesting, if you look at Hong Kong after the SARS outbreak, which is a long time ago, but in that society you saw patterns of mask wearing remain in place for a very long time afterwards and indeed it still continues today,” she said. 

So I don’t think by any means we’re going to see a flip in the broader group of Irish society into kind of a massive party or a blowout. But I think certainly in some groups, and I think particularly for young people, there is a pent up sense that they’ve lost two years. 

Legal restrictions

3910 Garda Checkpoints A garda checkpoint in February 2021.

The unwinding of restrictions also means the government must let go of emergency powers that would have seemed scarcely believable in any other context. 

For a significant period during the pandemic it was not permitted to be too far from one’s home for non-essential reasons. At times, it was even illegal to go to the airport to leave the country without a reasonable excuse.  

Such extraordinary measures have lapsed, but rights groups have insisted that the State must also recognise that they should not return without proper oversight and consultation. 

Liam Herrick of the Irish Council for Civil Liberties (ICCL) says the return to normality should also mean a return to legislating in the normal way.

He points to the emergency powers that were given to the Minister for Health to make laws without the approval of the Oireachtas in the spring of 2020.

These powers have been renewed four times and are currently set to lapse at the end of March. Herrick says they should not be extended again. 

“What we’re seeing this week about businesses and the ending of certain business restrictions, the phrase that’s being used is normalisation, a return to normality, and we think that is the right way to think about this.”
It’s not that things were perfect before the pandemic by any stretch of the imagination but that certain basic standards and norms need to be respected.

“We do have to have a serious conversation about how we manage emergencies in the future, have a proper legal regime in place which properly considers human rights and also maintains democratic oversight.”

The need for a conversation was acknowledged by the Taoiseach yesterday when he was asked by The Journal whether a human rights assessments on the legislation used was required. 

“On the relationship between public health restrictions, legislation and human rights. That’s always a tension,” Martin said. 

But we have to remind ourselves that this is a once in 100 year event. So it’s not willingly or with any degree of enthusiasm that a government imposes restrictions on people. It’s not a popular thing to do it I can assure you. These are things we would normally never even contemplate

Martin argued that the very fact that government has now moved to remove restrictions “so quickly” demonstrates its “good faith” in taking the decisions when it did. 

He added: “But yes, we will evaluate this from a human rights perspective. I think that’s important as part of the wider evaluation of how we conducted ourselves in during the pandemic.”

Covid certs

The ICCL acknowledges that, from a civil liberties perspective, most of the incursions on those rights that were justified by the pandemic were removed even prior to yesterday. 

The two that remained were Mandatory Hotel Quarantine and Digital Covid Certs for entry into hospitality. 

Mandatory Hotel Quarantine is technically still in force but no countries are designated to it. Digital Covid Certs are no longer be required from today, remaining only for international travel. 

The ICCL had this week written to CMO Dr Tony Holohan arguing that needing a Digital Covid Cert to get into a a pub was no longer proportionate or necessary. 

“It’s not clear to us at this stage what the purpose of the Covid cert system is, particularly in the Irish context where we have had such a successful vaccine take up,” Herrick told The Journal before yesterday’s announcement. 

Vaccines

Of course, while vaccine uptake in Ireland has been significant, there is a danger of complacency in the context of ongoing boosters or even yearly jabs. 

Part of the reason for Ireland’s successful uptake was relatively long and severe lockdowns here compared to other European nations, with people eager to do what they could to end the pandemic. 

But what if the carrot of lifting lockdowns or entering pubs is gone, will people still be so eager to get vaccinated? 

“It’s a good question, but we just don’t know what we’re going to be dealing with,” Lunn says. 

He points to the possibility, or even likelihood, of other variants and says that Omicron  at least showed that people are reactive when they need to be.  

“There’s been a really steady, strong increase of the proportion of people getting the booster. That’s partly happening just because people get more familiar with the idea, they get more comfortable with the idea and more people they know have got it, but it’s also just a response to the wave.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

67 Comments
    Mute Mark Trudgeon
    Favourite Mark Trudgeon
    Jan 22nd 2022, 7:51 AM

I hope companies and government will allow people to continue to work from home if possible or at least allow a hybrid model. This will help towards a better work / life balance. I would hate to start having to sit in traffic 3 hours + a day again.

Mute Nomad
    Favourite Nomad
    Jan 22nd 2022, 8:20 AM

@Mark Trudgeon: I hope so too. WFH was the only good thing to come out of this pandemic. Let’s keep it for those who want it.

Mute Gavin Lynam
    Favourite Gavin Lynam
    Jan 22nd 2022, 10:04 AM

The city needs to be busy to recover, get the bus

Mute Why Biscuits
    Favourite Why Biscuits
    Jan 22nd 2022, 10:12 AM

@Mark Trudgeon: I’ve said it all along it was the p#xy work from homers wanting this to continue and it has been proving now you’s haven’t stopped whinging since yesterday hahaha

Mute Joeber Wallace
    Favourite Joeber Wallace
    Jan 22nd 2022, 10:17 AM

@Gavin Lynam: Not everybody lives in the city or even Dublin for that matter, which I assume is where you are referring too.

Mute Why Biscuits
    Favourite Why Biscuits
    Jan 22nd 2022, 12:07 AM

Not until they unmask our kids

Mute Vonvonic
    Favourite Vonvonic
    Jan 22nd 2022, 12:40 AM

@Why Biscuits: Why yes!!! Unmask the children!!! Thats all I have left d@mmit. That’s all I have left!!!!

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Jan 22nd 2022, 12:43 AM

@Why Biscuits: quack

Mute Vonvonic
    Favourite Vonvonic
    Jan 22nd 2022, 12:48 AM

@Why Biscuits: Misery loves company.

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Jan 22nd 2022, 12:53 AM

@Vonvonic: ever hear of covid passports..
    Thought not!

Mute Vonvonic
    Favourite Vonvonic
    Jan 22nd 2022, 12:58 AM

@Hear me now: “Thought not!” Where do I go with that? My son’s Godfather is a Covid denier. I’m going to do the best I can over the next while to make sure we’re all OK. There are more important things. I hope you’re OK too man. Give up the ghost.

Mute alan hickey
    Favourite alan hickey
    Jan 22nd 2022, 2:11 AM

@Vonvonic: well I’d like to get into hospital to see my sister who had a stroke because of the booster.. still nobody aloud visit into hospital

Mute Vonvonic
    Favourite Vonvonic
    Jan 22nd 2022, 3:04 AM

@alan hickey: Truly awful. What would you have us do?

Mute Kevin Thompson
    Favourite Kevin Thompson
    Jan 22nd 2022, 5:53 AM

@Why Biscuits: the masks will be gone in 5 weeks, young primary kids don’t have to wear them

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Jan 22nd 2022, 9:04 AM

@Vonvonic: lol

Mute Mgt
    Favourite Mgt
    Jan 22nd 2022, 9:14 AM

@Why Biscuits: and completely abolish the
    vaccine passports.

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil
    Jan 22nd 2022, 11:48 AM

@Why Biscuits: masks will be gone by the end of February. The covid Karen’s won’t like that.

Mute Gavin Linden
    Favourite Gavin Linden
    Jan 22nd 2022, 12:33 AM

I somewhat get that the ERSI undertake surveys in some form of a scientific manner but every time I’ve heard that guy deliver results on Irish peoples attitude to restrictions at a particular time I could not help thinking WHO did they actually survey.
    Their reported results of attitude always gave a direct opposite to anybody I worked with, socalised with and more importantly live with. I have a very varied range of interactions in several locations in Ireland and I could still not honestly say I’ve found any that would concur with their findings.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Jan 22nd 2022, 1:14 AM

@Gavin Linden: I have too and most people I know have been very supportive of following the guidelines.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Jan 22nd 2022, 8:17 AM

All great except the return to office malarkey. We’ve proven WFH is more than adequate for many as a better option to commuting for hours to an office in Dublin. Expect a great resignation if businesses stubbornly refuse to be flexible with remote working.

Mute Paul O Connor
    Favourite Paul O Connor
    Jan 22nd 2022, 5:39 AM

Great news. We do need 1 more restriction though. Stop media with this daily numbers rubbish. People get this virus we know that we don’t need to be bombarded with the daily numbers. Time to move on. Can’t wait to throw my cert in the fireplace.

Mute Kevin Thompson
    Favourite Kevin Thompson
    Jan 22nd 2022, 5:52 AM

@Paul O Connor: just stop reading them if you don’t want to know

Mute Paul O Connor
    Favourite Paul O Connor
    Jan 22nd 2022, 7:35 AM

@Kevin Thompson:
    I don’t read them Kevin but there are people around me that I care about that get terrified when they read certain numbers. They can’t leave the 6 one news until the numbers are read out and then cancel gigs or other social arrangements as the no’s are “too high”. I think it’s unnecessary paranoia. And I’m not a covid denier or anti vaccer I’m triple jabbed and will be 1st in line to get any booster asked of me but I think if we’re safe enough to open everything up as we are from today let’s stop with the no’s. The thing here is we all thought this virus was temporary but now it’s clear it’s with us indefinitely time to just deal with it. Telling everyone how many people have it won’t change that it just causes unnecessary panic and stress for some people.

Mute John Devine
    Favourite John Devine
    Jan 22nd 2022, 8:06 AM

@Paul O Connor: don’t worry, they will massage the numbers down soon enough

Mute Doreen Murphy
    Favourite Doreen Murphy

@Paul O Connor: I would have been very aware and concerned about case numbers all along during the pandemic. However, I know case numbers are not indicative of risk of serious illness at the present time as do most people I know. I’d still like to know the stats if available. I suspect the really nervous will relax a bit when/if hospitalisation continues to fall. It will just take a bit of time, as the article points out.

Mute Paul O Connor
    Favourite Paul O Connor
    Jan 22nd 2022, 10:14 AM

@Doreen Murphy:
    Completely agree Doreen. Maybe just do the no’s weekly maybe instead of daily. If I’m in hospital because I broke my arm falling off a bike and happen to have Covid I’m not in hospital because of Covid I’m there to fix my arm and hopefully the Covid I have won’t interfere with the health system.

Mute Joeber Wallace
    Favourite Joeber Wallace
    Jan 22nd 2022, 10:22 AM

@Paul O Connor: I agree, they can put them on an government website or something and report again if necessary but the nature of the media in this day and age is to get attention more than anything so if they think people will tune in then that’s what they will advertise.

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr

I’m delighted for everyone but I will be proceeding with caution. I’m feeling quite anxious but hopefully everything will work out.

Mute Why Biscuits
    Favourite Why Biscuits
    Jan 22nd 2022, 10:17 AM

@Anna Carr: go back to bed Anna

Mute Joeber Wallace
    Favourite Joeber Wallace
    Jan 22nd 2022, 10:35 AM

@Why Biscuits: The opinion of someone who hides behind an avatar of delicious bourbon biscuits is not worth consideration.
    Reveal your true identity, on this day of governmental unshackling.

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Jan 22nd 2022, 11:58 AM

@Why Biscuits: I was thinking of doing that actually. I’m really tired today for some reason.

Mute Christopher Byrne
    Favourite Christopher Byrne
    Jan 22nd 2022, 6:24 AM

Happy days. Long overdue because of our Sub Saharan healthcare system. What are the covid hypochondriacs going to do? They love a good lockdown. Should have happened at least 6 months ago of not longer. Anyway looking forward to no masks and no certs for anything. Its not over in ly eye’s until both are fully lifted in all settings and for all travel

Mute Munster1
    Favourite Munster1
    Jan 22nd 2022, 8:57 AM

@Christopher Byrne: nearly 4 thousand died in the US yesterday because of covid, meatloaf being one. If it wasnt for the boosters we wouldn’t be in this position.

Mute Brian Burns
    Favourite Brian Burns
    Jan 22nd 2022, 10:27 AM

@Munster1: wasn’t for the mild variant you mean

Mute James Fox
    Favourite James Fox
    Jan 22nd 2022, 12:10 AM

What’s Tony going to do

Mute Paul Tao
    Favourite Paul Tao
    Jan 22nd 2022, 12:27 AM

@James Fox: Continue being the CMO, as he was before..?

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Jan 22nd 2022, 12:44 AM

@Nicole: I think he was better at saving lives in fairness.

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Jan 22nd 2022, 1:21 AM

@GrumpyAulFella: Nope, Tony, will look for another avenue to wage his personal vendetta against the hospitality industry. He’s been actively and openly against the ‘pub’ industry anyway for almost 15 years, or maybe more. He closed the hospitality industry down last Sept/Oct when he came back from leave, for no reason when the deputy had announced he was going to open fully as cases were in the single and/tens per day.

Mute Sam Kendlin Hobbs
    Favourite Sam Kendlin Hobbs
    Jan 22nd 2022, 1:28 AM

@GrumpyAulFella: Would you trust him to run a cancer screening scheme? Difficult for hundreds of women and their families to see him lionised over the past two years

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Jan 22nd 2022, 9:08 AM

@Nicole: I still defend Tony. He trusted a lab to do their jobs conscientiously and carefully but he was let down. He wasn’t single handedly responsible and I think he’s being very unfairly treated with this tragic situation with ppl constantly making nasty remarks.

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Jan 22nd 2022, 9:47 AM

@Anna Carr: The person (i.e.: the manager) is always the one that is ultimately accountable, in any business. There were no repercussions on him and that is where the pain and deaths lay from the Cervical Cancer debacle.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Jan 22nd 2022, 10:11 AM

@Alan Wright: if you really think about it, how is he going to continue to wage a vendetta against hospitality? It was the government who decided to close hospitality and it was the Dail that voted to reopen it last Summer with SF being the only party to vote against that. The fact remains that his decision making saved thousands of lives here. It could have been worse, we could have been the UK.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jan 22nd 2022, 12:43 AM

Timed to perfection by mr Martin tonight wasn’t it. The whole 21st January and 1919 war of independence. Politics at its best. But at least we’re now free.

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Jan 22nd 2022, 1:23 AM

@Paul Gorry: Ye know, it is a great day in Irish history, but tonight’s announcement does smack of a political angle, surely with the downward trend he could have announced this on Wednesday, but waited till today.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jan 22nd 2022, 1:35 AM

@Alan Wright: This me point Alan. Thursday the original time of announcing said restrictions. But NPHET apparently sent over to many pages and the lads in power hadn’t the time to read them..Anyway that’s what politicians do nothing ever changes.

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Jan 22nd 2022, 2:09 AM

@Paul Gorry: Yeah, no I know and agree. I think it’s a bit despicable by MM to use and reference 1919 in his speech today. A few weeks ago, MM was holding Michael Collins’ memorabilia and I thought then also, our current (and weakest leader, ever) touched items from one of our best and bravest hero’s of Ireland’s. Poor hero’s of 1916.

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    Jan 22nd 2022, 11:17 AM

@Paul Gorry: True. Delighted with the great news in the speech but no need for over-egging the whole this time last century thing!

Mute vanc
    Favourite vanc
    Jan 22nd 2022, 9:26 AM

The reason numbers are down is no one is getting tested, none is isolating as a result of the change in policy- why would you log your positive antigen test? For what purpose? So people are not getting PCR tests and people are not logging antigen tests therefore numbers are down. If I had covid and didn’t know, why would I test? Covid still rampant in the community with thousands of positive cases daily but not being recorded. Another variant arrives and we will be back to lockdown. When will the Pfizer anti viral pill being rolled out which kills the virus….

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Jan 22nd 2022, 8:36 AM

Elbows and fist pumps my a r s e! Are we allowed shake hands again????

Mute Golden Steph
    Favourite Golden Steph
    Jan 22nd 2022, 9:27 AM

@Tony Harris: please no

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Jan 22nd 2022, 11:05 AM

@Golden Steph: [sad face]

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil
    Jan 22nd 2022, 11:52 AM

@Tony Harris: yes, you can do as you wish,

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    Jan 22nd 2022, 9:38 AM

I sneezed in a shop this morning and everyone scattered…. People are still a bit edgy !

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Jan 22nd 2022, 11:04 AM

@Max Power: Scattered hahahahaha, love that phrase!

Mute Genera L Consensus
    Favourite Genera L Consensus
    Jan 22nd 2022, 9:19 AM

I love an aul lockdown

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Jan 22nd 2022, 9:06 AM

Be careful with Micheal Martin everything is balanced & white with him , he could close everything down for Patricks day

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Jan 22nd 2022, 9:07 AM

@trebloc01: black and white

Mute Vonvonic
    Favourite Vonvonic
    Jan 22nd 2022, 2:56 AM

I’m genuinely sorry about your delusions.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Jan 22nd 2022, 10:11 AM

Micheal will be back in a few weeks to frighten the zhite out of us again

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Jan 22nd 2022, 10:12 AM

@trebloc01: he loves dramatics

Jan 22nd 2022, 8:41 AM

It’s going to be a lot quieter around here when all the restrictions are lifted. Cold turkey for some

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Jan 22nd 2022, 8:56 AM

@John: Nah, had enough turkey over Xmas.

Mute ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Favourite ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Jan 22nd 2022, 9:21 AM
    Mute Ronan O Connor
    Favourite Ronan O Connor
    Jan 22nd 2022, 10:25 AM

Hopefully at least one missile hits Cork City

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Jan 22nd 2022, 10:31 AM

Close the pubs!, there, I’ve said it.

Mute Maria Clery-Breen
    Favourite Maria Clery-Breen
    Jan 22nd 2022, 10:42 PM

I’m dreading kisses and hugs from my Spanish neighbours,,,I enjoyed a bit of distance

Mute Liadan
    Favourite Liadan
    Jan 22nd 2022, 10:48 PM

A lot of countries u cant sue for it. It’s just a limitation of screening. There was no high error rate in our system. Cant catch all cases. People don’t understand what happened.