Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Enda Kenny tells parliament that he is 'truly, madly, deeply European'

The Taoiseach also acknowledged European tensions as the Irish presidency comes to an end.

IN HIS FINAL job as part of Ireland’s presidency of the Council of Europe, Enda Kenny made an address to the European Parliament in Strasbourg today, highlighting the achievements of the past six months.

However, the Taoiseach also acknowledged the pressures of inter-European negotiations.

Commenting on a vote by Parliament tomorrow on the MMF (Multi-annual Financial Framework) agreement, he said:

“You know that the negotiations to this point were long and difficult and highly sensitive for both Council and Parliament. The result identifies the best way to ensure that the almost €1 trillion for MFF is released as soon as possible into the real economy.”

There were times when the council and parliament “differed sharply”, he added.

Times when it was so very difficult to make progress in the negotiations. Times when there was frustration and disappointment on both sides.

“But we refused to be daunted or remain divided. We built on the trust we had nurtured, on the relationships we had developed. We didn’t give up.  We kept at it. And because we did, we got there.”

According to Kenny, the outcome struck a balance of what was heard during negotiations.

“Not everyone in the Council was happy – something of an under-statement. But not everyone in the Parliament is 100% satisfied either!” he claimed.

Hitting more positive notes, the Taoiseach said he believes the Irish presidency bolstered the credibility of the European Union. Citing the banking union, CAP reform, digital agreements and youth unemployment initiatives, the Irish leader said Ireland followed through on its commitments and objectives.

“The signal that we now send to our struggling peoples, our struggling businesses and especially to our young men and women, is that yes – Europe is capable, Europe is competent, it is worthy your trust, it is deserving of our confidence,” he continued. “Because it can and does decide. It can and does deliver.”

Winding down his address, Kenny thanked Minister for European Affairs Lucinda Creighton for her “invaluable contribution”, adding that the presidency had been “good for Ireland”.

Today I am proud to say to the Parliament that I am – as the saying goes – truly, madly, deeply, European.

“I believe in the idea of Europe as ‘home’. And because I do, I believe as Europeans we do ourselves an injustice by failing to marvel at what we have made, and above all, what we have made together from the wreckage of war, atrocity, chaos.”

“Today we Europeans are what we must strive to be, very much a whole, very much one family. Our shared identity exists beyond the realm of mere economics or currency or money. It is in our literature, our music, our culture and above all our people. For we are the early generations lucky enough to be not merely ‘Europeans’ but European.”

Ireland now hands the presidency to Lithuania and Kenny is due to hold a bilateral meeting with the President of the European Parliament, Martin Schulz, ahead of a press conference this afternoon. He then returns to Dublin for the fist vote on the Protection of Life During Pregnancy Bill 2013.

Earlier: Taoiseach to boast about Irish presidency in Strasbourg today

Kenny: Bill will not ‘open floodgates to abortion on demand’

Dobrodošli! Croatia becomes the 28th member of the EU

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

125 Comments
    Mute Matt D
    Favourite Matt D
    Jan 17th 2024, 2:12 PM

Ryan as usual hasn’t a bulls notion. Buses dropping off the RTPI like flies, cancelled at last minute with no explanation, anti social behaviour at an all time high, no tickets being checked for fare evaders, a bus gate in the city centre not worth the name, zero policing of bus lanes. A parody of a bus network.

Mute maritoj
    Favourite maritoj
    Jan 17th 2024, 2:21 PM

@Matt D: I did notice an increase in tickets being checked both in the Dublin Bus and Luas over the past two years… Another issue the stops are brutal with several buses arriving at the same time or just driving past when there are too many. Buses turned into traffic is achieving the opposite of what a decent public transport network should do.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Favourite eoin fitzpatrick
    Jan 17th 2024, 2:48 PM

@Matt D: yes a poor public transport network because of 100 years of FFFG dismantling it and the Garda not enforcing rules of the road is all Eamon Ryan’s fault

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 17th 2024, 3:06 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: Well no, but still any ‘idea’ he has already happened in real cities 30 years ago. He’s not a man of vision, but then none of them are I suppose

Mute Matt D
    Favourite Matt D
    Jan 17th 2024, 3:18 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: yeah, you’re spot on. Seeing as he’s the minister with the relevant portfolio theres absolutely nothing he could do about it….

Mute Jason Memail
    Favourite Jason Memail
    Jan 17th 2024, 6:03 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: So if he suggests implementing something that has been tried and tested elsewhere, he has no vision? Damned if you do…. etc.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 18th 2024, 8:06 AM

@Jason Memail: Not quite, it should just be done, do we need to grandstand congestion charge in very central areas? Where is the high-speed train plan? the light-rail down every commuter M road? There isn’t one, but you are right it would be shot down by the lantern-jawed ‘stick in the mud’ attitude, should have said we’re not a people of vision

Mute Davidga Bennett
    Favourite Davidga Bennett
    Jan 18th 2024, 8:43 AM

@eoin fitzpatrick: can you not read …people need to be responsible particularly young people when driving when a speed sign says 60 drive at 60 simple

Mute Darren Rowan
    Favourite Darren Rowan
    Jan 19th 2024, 11:29 AM

@Matt D: These busses dropping off the RTPI screens/apps are “scheduled buses”. They were in the timetable but weren’t actually running that day because there was no driver to run the service. The road and bus stop infrastructure isn’t there to facilitate running a properly functioning bus service in Dublin. There are no faster journey times happening with the Busconnects plan. It’s a complete farce. Journey times are being dragged out by busses crawling along at 20-30kph on roads with 50-100kph speed limits and holding at timing points idling diesel fumes into the atmosphere increasing emissions. This is all being done at the request of Mr Ryan and his Green Party as a plan to encourage more people to take up cycling by making all other forms of transport slower than using a bike.

Mute Melanie Keane
    Favourite Melanie Keane
    Jan 17th 2024, 2:33 PM

Alternative headline: Affordability to own and run a car at all-time low.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Jan 17th 2024, 3:08 PM

@Melanie Keane: I wish there were more people like you, who realise that using public transport is cheaper than owning and running a car.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Favourite eoin fitzpatrick
    Jan 17th 2024, 3:59 PM

@Melanie Keane: so how come there are so many houses with 2 cars and more and more cars on the road every year?

Mute Jen McC
    Favourite Jen McC
    Jan 17th 2024, 4:47 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: my guess is PCP and financing. I have 3 siblings, 2 of us have car loans, 2 have PCPs. 10 years ago it would have all been car loans which would have been harder to get.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 18th 2024, 8:09 AM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: One shoe never fits all, surprised to see it used as an argument.

Mute Darren Rowan
    Favourite Darren Rowan
    Jan 19th 2024, 11:03 AM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: A huge % of Irelands working population depend entirely on cars to get to work in a timely fashion. The network couldn’t carry them if they all decided to use public transport instead. For many of these drivers; their trip to work would take multiple times more by bus than by car or simply not be possible at all. Their life would be miserable.The vast majority of public transport workers have no option but to drive to work. Public transport is actually dependent on the car.

Mute Jen McC
    Favourite Jen McC
    Jan 17th 2024, 2:09 PM

I definitely use it more now, mainly because it’s €2 each way within the 90 minutes. I can promise you, however, the service in North County Dublin has not improved in the last few years.

Mute maritoj
    Favourite maritoj
    Jan 17th 2024, 2:19 PM

Imagine the increase if we actually had good connections and decent frequencies/reliable schedules across the island, a decent rural connection, plus extended timetables for night buses (I’m thinking of the airport and all those 6am flights that need of a taxi).

Mute Fred Coloe
    Favourite Fred Coloe
    Jan 17th 2024, 2:28 PM

@maritoj: No bus service will ever replace a taxi service. Prebook, fast and door to door!

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Jan 17th 2024, 3:54 PM

@Fred Coloe:
    Haha spot the taxi driver!

Mute Dave Grant
    Favourite Dave Grant
    Jan 17th 2024, 2:43 PM

People can’t afford to drive since we’ve been slaughtered with high fuel prices and green taxes. Hours extra spent on buses contracting all manor of flu viruses, stay classy FFG!

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Jan 17th 2024, 3:17 PM

@Dave Grant: Get vaccinated. Then you will be virtually immune to all manner of flu viruses.

Mute J M
    Favourite J M
    Jan 17th 2024, 3:52 PM

our population has also increased.

Mute jb
    Favourite jb
    Jan 17th 2024, 3:40 PM

Will never use bus eireann again in my life. In 2017 I was up at 5:30 to get bus from monaghan to dublin as needed to be in beacon hospital for 8 to get knee replaced. Bus pulls out and driver sticks head out window full sorry and drove off. After that said never again. Failed to get to beacon and hopped off home.

Mute Aisling Farrell
    Favourite Aisling Farrell
    Jan 17th 2024, 4:32 PM

Was at a game in the Aviva last Saturday and couldn’t believe that for the purposes of ‘crowd control’ the Grand Canal Dart station was closed, and all passengers were being directed back to the Lansdowne Road station. We must be the only country in the world that restricts public transport when there’s an event on.

Mute Jason Memail
    Favourite Jason Memail
    Jan 17th 2024, 6:13 PM

@Aisling Farrell: The world and their cat knows that GCD is closed on match days at the Aviva, which is because Lansdowne road station implements additional queuing systems on match days, and has the space to do so since it’s pedestrianised before, during and after the match. Despite the “only in Ireland” type of populist claim, you’ll see the same system implemented at many events across Europe, because it works.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 17th 2024, 3:07 PM

So Public transport use is up 25% AND the roads are clogged. lol

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Jan 17th 2024, 3:43 PM

Could the increase come from changing bus routes. Many people’s direct bus routes were changed resulting in them needing to get 2 buses to and from work

Mute Fiona Wyse
    Favourite Fiona Wyse
    Jan 17th 2024, 3:57 PM

I want what Ann is smoking.
    Berlin is a world leader in transport.
    Not Dublin.

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Jan 17th 2024, 3:24 PM

Public transport is brilliant where I li e, even got rid of the car. Even a direct bus to Dublin Airport. 25 Euro with the Leap Card. Okay you have to plan your journeys , brilliant though, hop in , plug in the mobile , free listening all the way, drivers are brilliant. City Busses are rammed, so doing something right, hopefully with more buses to come on stream service will improve more. Should ban all cars from city centre, or at least introduce a congested charge

Mute Darren Rowan
    Favourite Darren Rowan
    Jan 19th 2024, 11:11 AM

@Peter Byrne: So, you’re lucky transport suits you where you live so screw those who it doesn’t suit with congestion charges? Most of the congestion I encounter driving thru the city( in busses I drive) is caused by too many buses being rammed thru too few narrow streets and appalling traffic light sequencing. Then there’s all the self centred cyclists who think this is all about me getting ahead of everyone. They never let busses in or out of a bus stop. They’re complete narcissists.

Mute Doherty
    Favourite Doherty
    Jan 17th 2024, 4:31 PM

Inspite of the usual 64 express Galway Derry delays and the occasional locked bathroom, I was becoming a regular happy bus user until…………
    on a Sat morning around 10:30, the bus driver stepped down to the sidewalk, let everyone on but me, then told me the bus was full…even though I was first in line and the bus was most definitely not full!
    So am back to driving and enjoying the predictability of it all! Have seen a bus driver do that to a tourist at Knock airport from inside the 64 bus with lots of empty seats but he wouldn’t let her board….no clue why! end of random rant

Mute Jason Memail
    Favourite Jason Memail
    Jan 17th 2024, 6:07 PM

@Doherty: It’s possible to book a seat on a bus, so empty seats need to be kept for pre-booked people joining at stops along the way. If you were first in line of a queue but weren’t let on while the people behind you were, you either hadn’t reserved a seat while they had, or you need some training in how a queue works.

Mute Doherty
    Favourite Doherty
    Jan 17th 2024, 7:33 PM

@Jason Memail: Not sure about the training comment!
    No i had not pre booked a seat and neither had the last man that successfully boarded pre booked and who was clearly further back in queue!….
    Agreed Yes, just to be sure to be sure, I should have prebooked even for an early morning Saturday trip to Galway…..

When on the bus on an other trip to Galway when the lady tourist was refused boarding at Knock airport, there was ample empty seating all the way to Galway City center!..

As I was a weekly regular on the 64, I have seen a full bus situation where the driver got up and walked to the back of the bus to count empty seats, then boarded who he could but left several people on the sidewalk in Claregalway because the bus was actually full!

Mute Mike 100
    Favourite Mike 100
    Jan 17th 2024, 4:40 PM

Tram frequency has gone down the toilet over the last few years. Always disruption. Trams dirty and the displays on the platform don’t match the app, and neither represent actual reality of tram arrival time.

Mute Aloweilly
    Favourite Aloweilly
    Jan 17th 2024, 3:00 PM

Bring in uber.

Mute Chris O'Brien
    Favourite Chris O'Brien
    Jan 17th 2024, 3:26 PM

So something like a 6th of all work journeys across the state.

2.7M people work daily in Ireland. 63% (1.7M) of them commute daily. That’s 3.4M commuter journeys a day.

3.4M x 300 days is 1 billion 20 million commuter journeys annually in 260 days.

Last year we had a total (365 days) of 300m public transport journeys.

Compared to 1 Billion 20 Million commuter journeys. Excluding weekends, and on a 300 day (total) year.

Imagine if the other 90% of the country had public teansport.

Mute Brendan McGowan
    Favourite Brendan McGowan
    Jan 17th 2024, 10:08 PM

There’s a serious capacity issue, in Galway at least. The 4.45pm bus from Galway city to Leitir Mealláin, which serves the whole of Cois Fharraige, had only 2 seats remaining by the time it reached the FIRST bus stop in the city this evening, leaving a half dozen people – young and old – stood in the cold. The 5.15pm bus was full by the time it reached Salthill, leaving a group of secondary school students stranded in the cold and dark on the Prom, the driver stopping at every subsequent stop to tell people they had to wait for the 6.15pm bus. And this the new and improved service.

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Jan 18th 2024, 1:03 AM

Obviously the huge jumps in numbers using public transport from 2022 to 2023 were dur to emerging from the covid pandemic. Numbers are up 5% from 2019 so up a bit. Ultimately we didn’t build metros or dart underground’s or more LUAS lines. All the things that were slated to be completed years and years ago. What do we then expect when trying to muddle through without any of that? Not enough, buses, phantom buses, late buses, sardine can LUAS at peak times etc. etc. it will take a couple of decades to get it right IF everything goes according to plan from now on which it probably won’t.

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Jan 18th 2024, 1:37 AM

Nothing but whingers on here. Nothing will ever be good enough. They don’t even realise that they are a flock of sheep.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 18th 2024, 8:11 AM

@Sun Rise: Guide us, wise Shepherd…

Mute Brendan Fitzsimons
    Favourite Brendan Fitzsimons
    Jan 18th 2024, 4:29 PM

With the population rising by 5% last year this is hardly surprising.

The public transport is worse than ever for even more people.