You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Michel Euler/AP

An Taoiseach went on CNBC from Davos and said there's no chance of an Irish election in 2017

Asked whether there should be one, he said “not at all”.

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has told US news network CNBC that Ireland’s government is ‘stable’ and that there is no chance of an election this year.

Speaking from the World Economic Forum in Davos, Kenny was asked by CNBC International’s Steve Sedgwick whether Ireland’s government was stable.

“It is, and it means that you think differently,” Kenny said.

“It means that you reach out to other parties, that you hear other voices, that you work on a programme which is published, which is transparent and accountable and you sign deals with other parties on certain issues to keep government working in the interest of the people.”

The Taoiseach was asked twice whether he felt there should be an Irish election this year, with Sedgwick putting it to him that the Irish election showed the country’s electorate is angry along with other populations in Europe.

Not at all. The people voted in an election, and they gave their answer. The politicians responded to that, and we put a government together which is a minority partnership government.

Hard border 

The Taoiseach was also asked in detail about the Irish government’s priorities for the British EU exit.

He reiterated that both he and British Prime Minister Theresa May have agreed that they do not want to see a return to a hard border between the Republic and Northern Ireland. Kenny acknowledged there is not solution on this yet but said he was confident one would be found.

“In terms of the border, there will only be the one land border between the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland when Britain is removed, removes itself from the European Union,” he said.

But we’ve agreed that there will not be a return to borders of the past, customs posts along that border, and while this may present a challenge, obviously it’s a question to which we will achieve an answer.

Read: The British and German media reacted very differently to May’s speech >

Read: ‘The UK says it needs 50 new trade agreements straight away… Is that doable?’ >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

89 Comments
    Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:21 PM

In Davos talking to America. Lives in Ireland doesn’t talk to Ireland

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:23 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: Exactly Dave. Davos is the annual trip for kenny and noonan to state to the billionaires and vulture funds with a nod and a wink…”Relax lads, Fine Gaels got yer backs.”

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:34 PM

The media trying to start something with thoes qz

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:43 PM

Ah look at him calling the shots on EU borders, bless. Back to room now to jump up and down on the super king sized beds and a pillow fight with Noonan. These jollies are gas craic.

Mute Benjy Dempsey
    Favourite Benjy Dempsey
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:03 PM

“you sign deals with other parties on certain issues to keep government working in the interest of the people.”

Enda, do you mean like the deal you did with FF and the bogus Independents to assist Apple to dodge the €19 billion in taxes and interest that they owe to the Irish people?

Jan 19th 2017, 2:18 PM

I’m no Kenny fan but surely he has to talk Ireland up as being stable unlike Britain to be attractive to any relocating businesses?

Mute Benjy Dempsey
    Favourite Benjy Dempsey
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:25 PM

FF and the bogus Independents have just voted with the blueshirts to defeat the AAA-PBP anti evictions bill. The “independent” FF Ceann Comhairle used his casting vote to defeat the bill which was tied at 51-51.
    FF and FG will never be found wanting when the interests vulture funds, bondholders and corporate tax dodgers need protecting.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:28 PM

Seems Enid has been given the back room nod and wink from his coalition partners in FF, then they hypocritically make a farce of our Dail by standing up as opposition to those back room nods and winks.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 19th 2017, 3:28 PM

No harm telling the world the populist post-truth Looney Left hasn’t taken over our country just yet…

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jan 19th 2017, 6:20 PM

@Diarmuid…and Enda’s the way to carry that message?

Mute Niall Cassidy
    Favourite Niall Cassidy
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:14 PM

What arrogance.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:16 PM

Unless FF say so.

Mute Benjy Dempsey
    Favourite Benjy Dempsey
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:24 PM

Mickey Martin must have told him that they’ll let the FF and FG coalition run til 2018 anyhow.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:24 PM

FF wont back out of their deal to pass at least e budgets. They will wait until Brexit is completed and can blame FG for any economic fallout.

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:27 PM

Oh Yee of little faith Enda..

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:18 PM

Enda suffering from delusions of relevance again, that’s adorable.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Jan 19th 2017, 5:14 PM

@ Diarmuid, He might be of relevance to you and the 23% of those that voted for he & his cronies but even after the obscene amount of money spent trying to buy the election he couldn’t put a government together. But sure don’t let that get in the way of your Shinner rant. Hope you have a nice day.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jan 19th 2017, 9:58 PM

@For Connolly: Enda is either an out and out liar or he actually believes what he is saying. Whatever which one he is its extremely worrying for the Irish people that this dick is in charge of the country.

Mute Derek mc keever
    Favourite Derek mc keever

That’s it so election it is 2017

Jan 19th 2017, 1:31 PM

It was aimed at the international audience, but when has this donkey got anything right?

Mute bings
    Favourite bings

@Adrian: You & oh sheeple stand up Have just insulted a donkey & a pinocchio moron with your comment regarding Enda How could you have you no consideration for the donkey & a moron!

Mute Thosj Carroll
    Favourite Thosj Carroll
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:36 PM

He thinks it’s easy for him to say no election when he’s not in Ireland. He knows majority of Irish people wants to rid him…and rightly so!

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:26 PM

OK so Enda has solutions to all the crises but just hasn’t told us yet, what a plonker. Does Noonan have anything stupid he wants to say from the safety of Greece.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:37 PM

You think Noonan’s in Greece. You think Greece is his safe place. Tell us again about the stupid.

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre

@Fiona Fitzgerald: My mistake Fiona, I did think Davos was in Greece, smart arse.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:29 PM

Seeing as he’s in a minority government and seeing as Mehole could cut the legs from under him at a whim, it’s a stupid comment for him to make. But then again Enda and stupid comments in Davos are to be expected.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Jan 19th 2017, 4:43 PM

Lazlo, the people gathered in Davos could buy Greece, between them, if they pooled their small change.

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:31 PM

Just watched this cringworthy interview that man is an embarrassment to Ireland and politics.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:38 PM

@Eddie Byrne: Enter Michael Flatley with a dose of Riverdance and they will melt like butter, it works every time.

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly

well at least he was honest when he said “it was a minority partnership govt” so much for ff in opposition, the arrogance of the idiot is astounding he actually thinks the people voted for him and his party, thats the laugh of the day….

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan

“It means that you reach out to other parties, that you hear other voices, that you work on a programme which is published, which is transparent and accountable and you sign deals with other parties on certain issues to keep government working in the interest of the people.”

Sorry but where’s he talking about here?

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:32 PM

Maybe he thinks he’s describing the HSE?

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jan 19th 2017, 7:00 PM

@Les Behan: This lying bollix has to go and go now.

Mute Oh Sheeple Stand Up
    Favourite Oh Sheeple Stand Up

Isn’t that ball 100% in Fianna Failures court and nothing to do with that pinocchio moron

Mute Craig Barry
    Favourite Craig Barry
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:35 PM

By the time the electorate is finished with you Enda you wont get a job in a post office

Mute Peter Carroll
    Favourite Peter Carroll
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:11 PM

But he will … him & his cronies all have nice little cushion numbers lined up courtesy of their friends who’s pockets they have lined for the last few yrs

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:26 PM

He won’t need Three good pensions why should he bother his arse he hasn’t up to now

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:40 PM

God love him, his lack of critical self awareness is endearing.

Mute B-bob
    Favourite B-bob

The shite hawk that he is

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:07 PM

In the interest of the country. Well listen to the people when they tell you no to water charges. Furthermore you once said no home should be taxed but you went ahead a did it anyway Edna!!! Sick to death of your bloody delusions Edna.

Mute Ger Majesty
    Favourite Ger Majesty
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:20 PM

Ah its only right to promote confidence and stability internationally

Mute Ciarán FitzGerald
    Favourite Ciarán FitzGerald
    Jan 19th 2017, 3:23 PM

@Ger Majesty: Exactly – US multinationals and FDIs create a massive amount of employment here and I cant criticize him for it. IN the post Brexit and EU meltdown world we need to protect our economy and jobs.

Mute Oh Sheeple Stand Up
    Favourite Oh Sheeple Stand Up
    Jan 19th 2017, 3:53 PM

@Ciarán FitzGerald: So we should put up with a moron driving the country in to the ground in the hope we get FDI? It is pure theft the moron is bringing in and nothing else

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:49 PM

Sure did you hear him in the Dail yesterday when Robert Troy dared was asking questions about Shane Ross and Bus Eireann? Defending the Minister for not doing his job properly and treating him like a little baby or something with the “you’re being very hard on him” crap….too bloody they’re hard on him. He really is a spineless coward.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:19 PM

Oh yes there is

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:39 PM

The yanks really do like listing to total bullshtters enda really has a place in their hearts

Mute KrusadingKarl
    Favourite KrusadingKarl
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:54 PM

It must be great to have a job where you can drop the ball in soooo many areas and still enjoy job security. And with a smile on your face!! I’m in the wrong line of work. Its so counter intuitive given Irish people are by and large a proud and fair people.

Why do we allow this to continue?

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:50 PM

I saw Him on the news, his hair appeared very gingery colour. Is he after putting colour in it.. He looked like a fox.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:33 PM

Many Americans still believe in lepraucauns so it shouldn’t be too hard to persuade them that Europe and brexit UK can’t survive without us.

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:23 PM

Once the vote was far, even with the current shambles of a government, there was zero possibility of an early election. Yes we expected and got a lot of fake posturing from the parties and independents. However neither the indos nor the big parties will want to dig into their pockets again to pay for an early campaign and thus they will milk it for a couple of years to restock the coffers first.

Mute Cranium
    Favourite Cranium
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:54 PM

Surely you mean dig into our pockets?

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:00 PM

Cranium, a bit of both. The bigger parties get funding, but still need to fundraise. A lot of the indos need to spend personal funds to supplement fundraising. But yes, either way the ordinary man pays.

Jan 19th 2017, 2:53 PM

Seriously, i dunno what these guys kenny and noonan are doing at the world economic forum.
    From the state of the irish economy, its clear they know nothing about economics.
    They have nothing to offer and if some “outsiders” advise them to do something with the Irish economey, it’s obviously gonna be in the best interests of the “outsiders” and not the irish people.

Jan 19th 2017, 4:11 PM

Thye’ll say they’re there to drum up business for Ireland but they didn’t seem too bothered when they lost the tech billionaires and the web summit from Dublin.
    So we have to conclude they’re only there on a taxpayers paid junket!

Mute David Hanlon
    Favourite David Hanlon
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:05 PM

Kenny’s days are numbered because of his lack of a plan for Brexit. Watch as FF position Micheal Martin as a credible authority on Brexit and produce a semblance of a plan, they’ll go to the country citing Kenny’s incompetence as the reason, for the good of the Irish people or whatever justifying nonsense you’re having yourself.

Mute Roger Poles
    Favourite Roger Poles
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:13 PM

@David Hanlon:Michael brought in the troika I suppose you voted for Bertie

Mute David Hanlon
    Favourite David Hanlon
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:14 PM

@Roger Poles: that’s quite the leap of logic there Roger….

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:02 PM

Since Inhertiance Tax was amended for farmers in the last budget (and there’s a report about changes to the Fair Deal scheme for farmers in today’s newspapers) and with FF ahead in the last poll…..I wonder why FG are attempting to shore up their core support if there isn’t an election on the mid-term horizon?

Mute Fred Johnson
    Favourite Fred Johnson
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:29 PM

For Gods sake, put the border up. It’s not a big deal and people will get used to it. If the people of Norway and Sweden can put up with a hard border despite being genetically almost the same tribe, then the Irish and the British planters in Ireland can certainly live with a hard border between them.

The majority of the Unionist population voted for Brexit. The consequence of that is a hard border, they certainly don’t need Dublin swanning in on their behalf keeping them half in the EU. As for the Catholic population, majority there want NI to remain in the UK. If they want to think of themselves as British, then they need to accept the results of a British vote.

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:40 PM

Fred Johnson. The majority of people in the north voted against brexit.

Mute Fred Johnson
    Favourite Fred Johnson
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:31 PM

@ray.farrelly:

A UK – wide vote. London and Scotland overwhelmingly voted to remain but doesn’t mean they will. If the Northern Catholics are happy to use the NHS and work in the British public sector, then they need to accept the results of a UK wide vote.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 19th 2017, 9:47 PM

@Fred Johnson: 635,000 votes would have kept Britain inn the EU. There is a rural revolt throughout Britain against the wind energy policy being forced on them. I worked very hard to muster that protest into a no vote against the EU. I believe it worked.

Had the EU listened, there might not have been a Brexit

Mute Michael Clinton
    Jan 19th 2017, 3:43 PM

I wonder if the forking gobsheen ever actually takes his head out of his anal orifice to see what is happening in the real world , this utter clown only managed to less tha 23% of the electorate (that bothered to vote) to support him. Anything his party touches disintegrates and nobody believes or trusts them. Surely he realises he and his buddies are a “cluster of ****” and that outside his lackies & cronies nobody has any faith in them.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Jan 19th 2017, 3:23 PM

Lieing little ten faced person of questionable parentage.. And as for the other slob “ten bellies, four faces” noonan !!!!!.

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:43 PM

you sure he’s not related to Arlene Foster?

Mute Willy Malone
    Favourite Willy Malone

Must a confided with Mehole to make such a statement. …FF have more to answer than FG… JOKE..

Mute Neal, not Neil.
    Favourite Neal, not Neil.
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:53 PM

Caught rapid, Enda.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:16 PM

FF will decide when GE will be,as endapendents hold out for bigger pensions.

Mute Pharmyco
    Favourite Pharmyco
    Jan 19th 2017, 3:42 PM

Like that time Michael Fish was asked if there was going to be a hurricane

Mute J.Hanley #IRExit
    Favourite J.Hanley #IRExit
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:28 PM

Enda Kelly? Who dat?

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:23 PM

Judas goat ,shame on you.

Mute _doesnotcompute
    Favourite _doesnotcompute

Hard Brexit, Hard Border, hard headed men in the Kremlin and White House

What a time we live in

Mute Peter Fox
    Favourite Peter Fox
    Jan 19th 2017, 4:36 PM

When is going to implement the five point plan?

Mute Tony Dunne
    Favourite Tony Dunne
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:45 PM

We all have our dreams and wished for 2017,

Mute Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Favourite Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Jan 19th 2017, 5:20 PM

His arrogance is outstanding

Mute Roger Poles
    Favourite Roger Poles
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:09 PM

All ye gob shites giving out about Kenny I’m no fan but the alternative is Michael and the failures that made shite of this country so cop on paddy public look at the broader picture

Mute _doesnotcompute
    Favourite _doesnotcompute
    Jan 19th 2017, 2:12 PM

@Roger Poles: You know you can make your point without insulting the opposition, right?

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jan 19th 2017, 7:11 PM

@Roger Poles: Sorry roger but most people are giving out about Kenny and ff, you see there is no difference. People are seeing the broader picture

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Jan 19th 2017, 6:26 PM

I wonder what the only gay in the village Leo the loin has to say about this

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 19th 2017, 9:20 PM

Davos, where the brown envelope is king, makes me wonder is Kenny having a wad of euros with him to meet those elite there?

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Jan 19th 2017, 6:06 PM

The two things I have never been able to recognise are Enda Kenny and illegal borders in Ireland. Both are not compatible with this island, never were, never will be.

Mute Conor Rock
    Favourite Conor Rock
    Jan 19th 2017, 1:35 PM

Can you provide the quote where the Taoiseach says there’s no chance of an election this year as its not in the article?

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Jan 19th 2017, 8:15 PM

Their still trying to find any sort of intelligence within endas brain so give them a chance like….

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 19th 2017, 9:43 PM

Voting is a dirty habit, you are only encouraging, them stay at home.

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Jan 19th 2017, 6:46 PM

Sounds like he is doing his job of portraying Ireland as a stable and attractive place to do business while at Davos so why is everyone complaining? The Irish economy has prospered under two governments he has led by his handling the coalitions carefully.

Mute Craig Barry
    Favourite Craig Barry
    Jan 19th 2017, 7:21 PM

@winston smith: Tell that to the thousands of homeless families and the folks left on trollies in hospitals.

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    Jan 19th 2017, 9:16 PM

Australia to seek post-Brexit free trade deal with Britain, says Mathias Cormann; 40,000 job losses forecast in Ireland due to Brexit (ABIX-Roy Morgan)

Corman is Australian Finance Minister