You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Line saying this will be Enda Kenny's last St Patrick's Day as Taoiseach removed from speech

Meanwhile, Kenny has said he will raise marriage equality with Mike Pence if he gets the chance.

Christina Finn reporting from Washington DC

A LINE SAYING this will be Enda Kenny’s last St Patrick’s Day as Taoiseach was removed from a speech Kenny is set to deliver tonight.

When asked about the speech in Washington DC earlier, Kenny played down the issue, telling reporters: “The speech that you got is not the speech that I’m delivering tonight.

“I’ve already explained to my own parliamentary party my intention and how I intend to go about that.”

Can’t watch the video? Click here.

Kenny has previously said he will notify Fine Gael of his timeline for stepping down as leader of the party when he returns home from his St Patrick’s week trip to the US.

LGBT rights

Kenny was also asked if he would raise LGBT rights issues with Vice President Mike Pence, who does not support marriage equality and previously called being gay a choice.

“I haven’t met Vice President Pence before but it’s the first time that we’ve ever had two vice presidents of Irish-American connection following each other in the White House.

“I know that the Vice President’s people come from both Sligo and County Clare and clearly immigration and the question of both comprehensive immigration, and also separate from that, the opportunity to have a bilateral arrangement in respect of E3 visas as piloted by Senator [Chuck] Schumer will certainly be of interest to me.”

enda2 Kenny at the American Institute for Peace in Washington DC today Niall Carson PA Wire / PA Images Niall Carson PA Wire / PA Images / PA Images

The Taoiseach said he would bring up the positive aspects of the same-sex marriage referendum passing in Ireland if the opportunity arose.

If I have the opportunity in talking to the Vice President I would be happy to say to him that the experience in Ireland was one of massive relief and release for people who were able to remove themselves from the limbo in which they’d lived for years.

“The following through by the government of the recommendation from the citizens’ convention was an expression of joy and enthusiasm and exuberance and that fact that, where politics really mattered, 80,000 young people came back to cast their vote in that and it was an extraordinary circumstance where that unbridled joy was evident in our people, so I would give him the Irish experience in that regard,” Kenny said.

The Taoiseach was also asked about MEP and former Ukip leader Nigel Farage earlier telling RTÉ’s Today with Sean O’Rourke Kenny should apologise for previously saying comments made by Trump were “racist and dangerous”.

Kenny told reporters he didn’t call Trump a racist, and said he doesn’t have to “answer to” Farage.

TheJournal.ie’s political reporter Christina Finn will be bringing you all the latest updates from Enda Kenny’s visit to Washington this week, including his meeting with US President Donald Trump on Thursday.

Stay up-to-date by following @ChristinaFinn8@TJ_Politics and TheJournal.ie’s Facebook page

Read: Nigel Farage: ‘Enda Kenny should apologise to Donald Trump for vile comments’

Read: Leaked returns show Donald Trump paid $38 million in tax in 2005

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

60 Comments
    Mute Francid Dooley
    Favourite Francid Dooley
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:39 PM

Any one notice the way the journal has changed, it was grate for getting a felling of what the rest of Ireland was thinking. Not any more they seem to want to control us now and take away our options, well for me it’s the end of the line I won’t be reading or using it anymore ..red thumb from me.

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:11 PM

@Francid Dooley: Bye

Mute sly dog
    Favourite sly dog
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:33 PM

@Francid Dooley: I think i’ll be joining you

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:47 AM

@sly dog: Bye

Mute Mac Dara Powell
    Favourite Mac Dara Powell
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:44 PM

That’s it for me no red thumb journal goodbye deleting your app.

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:48 PM

@Mac Dara Powell: This is…. not good.

Mute Ananya Sharma
    Favourite Ananya Sharma

Actually two lines where removed from his speech. The second read in response to the new journal update: Taoiseach Enda Kenny said ”The Journal acted entirely Inappropriately ” with regard to the removal of the red thumb option.

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:36 PM

Fight the red thumb purge. Needs an alliance of former sworn enemies on here – brexit and trump are mere sideshows compared to this travesty #solidarity #fakethumbs

Mute Joe Conlon
    Favourite Joe Conlon
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:41 PM

@Goldberg: Can somebody please tell me what the little blue circle means next to our names mean? I miss the red thumbs!

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:43 PM

@Joe Conlon: it means you’ve been commenting for 2 years…

Mute Joe Conlon
    Favourite Joe Conlon

@Kate Flaherty: Thanks Kate

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:46 PM

If I want up to date or properly spelt news I don’t use this site – its nothing without the red thumbs and the slagging

Mute Jon Gripper McKee
    Favourite Jon Gripper McKee

@Goldberg: I’ve red thumbed my last halawa article :’(

Mar 15th 2017, 10:31 PM

@Goldberg:
    Wally will feel good only getting ‘thumbs up’.

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:36 PM

Where’s Wally

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:42 PM

I suggest we stage a dirty protest in the city centre until the Journal red thumb button is brought back. C’mon people let’s make it happen, dirty bums for red thumbs.

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg

I’m with you brother – je suis thumb rouge

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:23 AM

This red thumb thing seems to be a big deal for a lot of people. Was it (and it’s green brother) actually taken seriously? I certainly never did

Mute Eoghan Hartery
    Favourite Eoghan Hartery
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:03 PM

Journal will be deleted in 5 mins. Ya cant even access rugby news anymore from the sections bar without having to download the 42 app. No red thumbs, only a green thumb. FFS. Goodbye, not missed.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:50 PM

Enda made no tough choices,he could have eased up on the poor,the low paid,and take more from those who could afford a decrease in salary but still live a luxurious life but he battered the poor into poverty.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:51 PM

@@mdmak33: kenny is more German than Irish,his treatment of his own people over the German financial surrender was nothing short of traitorous.Hospitals,transport, and justice etc have been decimated under his Walter Mitty leadership.

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:45 PM

Enda Kenny arriving to the Whitehouse is the equivalent of Father Stone heading to Craggy Island for his summer hols.. You can just imagine Trump wanting to talk about Women and American Football and Kenny sitting there with nothing to say..

Mute danielplainview
    Favourite danielplainview
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:40 PM

People can say all they want about enda but I think hes ultimately a decent guy. When you consider the fck up of a country ireland was in 2009 and where we are now (Economy improving, gay marriage is legal, people actually respect our country again) he has done a good job. If it werent for those tough choices we could still be like greece right now. Years from now he will appreciated as a good leader

Mute Stephen Hynes
    Favourite Stephen Hynes
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:42 PM

Nobody respects Ireland

Mute Mistawez
    Favourite Mistawez

@danielplainview: Red thumb.

Mute danielplainview
    Favourite danielplainview
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:58 PM

Well they should. We are standing on our own two feet. We are self-sufficient again. We have an incredible culture. Why wouldnt we be respected?

Mute Alan Richard Scott
    Favourite Alan Richard Scott
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:02 PM

@danielplainview: i agree with you on that. best leader in years and a role model for other eu leaders. yes there have feck ups in the past but enda kenny has got this country running again.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:18 AM

How sad that bitterness seems to be a badge of honour for some. I think Ireland is a great place and getting better all the time. If more people spent their energy for positive betterment than negative belittlement then it would be even better again!

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen

Bet the sneaky hure is sweating with the thoughts of meeting Trump,the Soldiers from his Atm story will be there just in case a plant pot goes for him.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:01 PM

This is rubbish. Reading this on the old app and everyone just has green thumbs. How does that reflect the views of the readership? FREE THE RED THUMB

Mute James
    Favourite James

@Anne Marie Devlin: Suggest we start reporting comments instead of red thumbing until they get the message…

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:17 PM

No red thumb = no fun

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:45 PM

@james. Good idea

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:27 AM

Or upgrade and join us? (I actually still have the red option but who cares if it is used or not… there was always a predictable pattern anyway given the outraged thought police on here when presented with an alternative opinion to their own solely correct one)

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen

LOL! I’d say leo loved finding that out. If anyone in FF had the sense they were born with they’d pull the plug over the water charges and go to the people, before FG have a chance to choose a new leader and do a PR blitz.

Mute Emmet O'Keeffe
    Favourite Emmet O'Keeffe
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:47 PM

‘Kenny told reporters he didn’t call Trump a racist,’
    Must have been the Yank he met outside the American Embassy.

Mute Audrius Neviera
    Favourite Audrius Neviera
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:53 PM

Sorry, just checking my years on this app

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33

Should see his interview explaining his racist remark about Trump,he made a real fool of himself.everyone knew he would mess up except enda.

Mute Aoife Red
    Favourite Aoife Red

@@mdmak33: what did he say

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:57 PM

@mdmal33. Not as bad as his interview supporting Noonan. It was like Spicer explaining trump’s latest tweet.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:27 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: noonan should be locked up at this stage for his Nama vulture fund assistance,a leader with ballz is badly needed.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:07 PM

Reporter asked him is Trump racist ,enda mumbled,waffled,and said a person using racist WORDS does not make them a racist.Made a clown of himself.

Mute sean smyth
    Favourite sean smyth
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:52 PM

I still have red thumbs

Mute Markonline
    Favourite Markonline
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:16 AM

Me too, what’s the story? Do most people just let apps automatically update themselves without approval or something?

Mar 16th 2017, 12:46 AM

Seems like it! Could be a lot on desktop though. Anyone recommend good news apps?

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:29 AM

Terrible news journal – sounds like you are down about 14 readers. Will someone pls think of the advertisers.

Mute Max Johnson Powers
    Favourite Max Johnson Powers
    Mar 16th 2017, 11:14 AM

@Markonline: I updated with approval.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:33 PM

Not liking this new journal. Its rubbish.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:07 PM

Sure why should he resign? Didn’t they all say what a wonderful Taoiseach he is, and how fortunate we are to have the benefit of his International experience? Leo and Simon aren’t ready ready to lead just yet! They can’t even handle asking him to stand down, how could they handle Merkle or Maye?

Mute George Murphy
    Favourite George Murphy
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:47 PM

Trump will realised this chap is a donkey and in return will put a travel ban on the Irish

Mute Liam Jones
    Favourite Liam Jones
    Mar 16th 2017, 3:58 AM

Deleting app till red thumbs come back.

Mute Dylan McKane
    Favourite Dylan McKane
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:51 PM

Fake news?

Mute Low tax + small govt
    Favourite Low tax + small govt
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:08 PM

Cue jaws theme

Mute Donnchadh Cassin
    Favourite Donnchadh Cassin
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:47 AM

Just do one kenny!

Mute Des Doran
    Favourite Des Doran
    Mar 15th 2017, 9:52 PM

Who cares

Mute Get Ta France
    Favourite Get Ta France
    Mar 16th 2017, 8:55 AM

Embarrassment Kenny

Mute Matthew O'Kane
    Favourite Matthew O'Kane
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:36 PM

next conservative pinnate please, pop goes the enda. David Cameron was just as satisfying :)

Mute Keith Byrne
    Favourite Keith Byrne
    Mar 16th 2017, 6:53 AM

Fook the red thumbs! I got red thumbed out of it yesterday glad they’re gone!!