You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Enda Kenny takes a number of different positions on Zappone conversation

Kenny stated that he knew that Minister Zappone had met with Maurice McCabe before it became public information last week.

Updated 9.50pm

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has refuted the claim that he was made aware of the allegations of sexual abuse made against garda whistleblower Maurice McCabe before the airing of the RTÉ Prime Time programme last week.

Discussions continued until late this evening in the Dáil, and stayed fiery at times, as Kenny repeatedly said he did not know the information contained in the Tusla file on McCabe, and only became aware of their contents after the RTÉ programme.

The Tánaiste and Minister for Justice also said she was not aware of the allegations against Maurice McCabe, while Katherine Zappone appeared to corroborate the version of events which sees her telling Kenny she met the McCabes after the event.

When Gerry Adams asked the Taoiseach “when did [you] first become aware of this false allegation”, Kenny replied that he had answered the question before and that the question was “irrelevant to the central issue here” which was how to define and determine the truth surrounding the allegations of a smear campaign.

Kenny also sought to clarify the sequence of events regarding his meetings with Katherine Zappone, after an apparent contradiction in his account appeared earlier in the day.

Mea Culpa

Earlier, Kenny stated that he gave inaccurate information in relation Children’s Minister Katherine Zappone’s telling him she was going to meet with garda whistleblower Maurice McCabe.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Speaking today during Leaders’ Questions, Kenny said that Zappone had earlier not told him that she was going to meet with McCabe before their meeting, but that her office had contacted his office in relation to the meeting.

He had previously told RTÉ’s This Week on Sunday that Zappone had told him she would be meeting with McCabe.

The Taoiseach told the programme that as “Minister Zappone, who is doing a very good job, was meeting Maurice McCabe in a private capacity I simply said ‘do make sure you have a very thorough account of it’”.

Speaking today in the Dáil. Kenny corrected that statement. In response to a question from Fianna Fail leader Micheál Martin, he said:

“I might say mea culpa, because I am guilty here of not giving accurate information.

“I understood from thinking myself that she had asked me about meeting Sergeant McCabe in the first place.

It actually was her office that consulted with my officials, who told me. She is very clear that she did not tell me that she intended to meet Sergeant McCabe, but she did tell her official to tell my office, so I regret that.

Kenny then said that Zappone “did not tell me herself that she was meeting Sergeant McCabe”, but that:

She did tell me before the Cabinet meeting last Tuesday that she had met with him and they had discussed allegations that were false in respect of those given to Tusla.

Zappone said yesterday that she had informed the Taoiseach about false Tusla allegations to do with McCabe before they were aired publicly on Prime Time last Thursday.

Contradiction 

Despite owning up to making a mistake today, the Taoiseach later appeared to contradict himself about what he knew in relation to Tusla and McCabe. In response to a question from AAA-PBP leader Paul Murphy, he said:

“The Minister (Zappone) did not refer to any of the details of the discussion with the McCabes, the existence of a file in Tusla or the information contained in that file.

It is not true to say that I had any information about the existence of that prior to the Cabinet meeting in Government Buildings.

Murphy had previously said to Kenny that he was “well-known for having a casual relationship with the truth”.

He accused the Taoiseach of misleading the public.

“I mistakenly said…”

Speaking later on in the Dáil, Kenny sought to clarify his statements:

As I have said previously, I was aware of the meeting between the Minister, Deputy Zappone, and Sergeant McCabe but I was not aware of the details of, or the very serious and disturbing issues that arose at the meeting.
In referring to this last Sunday, I mistakenly said that I had spoken to the Minister, Deputy Zappone, prior to her meeting with Sergeant McCabe.
That comment was inaccurate. The correct sequence is that I was informed through officials in my office that the Minister intended to meet Sergeant McCabe and last Tuesday she informed me that she had met Sergeant McCabe.

It was announced today that a Tribunal of Inquiry would be set up into whether there was an organised smear campaign against Garda McCabe by senior gardaí.

With reporting from Sean Murray

LIVE: There will be a Tribunal into alleged smear campaign against Maurice McCabe

Read: Another garda whistleblower says Tusla investigation also opened in his case

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

121 Comments
    Mute Dave Crowley
    Favourite Dave Crowley
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:50 PM

To call this a farce would be an understatement.

Mute Dusty Mooney
    Favourite Dusty Mooney
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:05 PM

“I am guilty here of not giving accurate information” Or lying as it’s commonly known. The Garda senior management is a cesspit of corruption and FF and FG did their level best to hide this and protect their political enforcers.

Mute David Garland
    Favourite David Garland
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:29 PM

Only two weeks ago we had hundreds of Irish People down at the American Embassy protesting about Donald Trump, we also had the most popular TV show in the Country, The Late Late show give nearly an entire show to lambaste Trump.. Where are those people now I wonder..

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Favourite Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:01 PM

You organise it David, I’ll come

Mute Tommy D
    Favourite Tommy D
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:11 PM

Is there a public gathering either in support of Garda McCabe or at people’s disgust at the way this is being handled

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:17 PM

It’s really hard to admit that Enda telling alternative facts is more annoying than Joan or Mary Lou coming out with same cliches every day in their “constructive opposition”! So I won’t. I’m way more amused by our current situation/ agreement and want it to continue in the same manner.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:17 PM

The leader of the country tells untruths and is still in his job wow our voters make some choices for heads of government.
    He doesn’t even see fit to meet the McCabes but backs Sullivan

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:25 PM

Enda’s big plan is kick this down the road till paddy’s day break, then limp it home to the summer recess.

Mute Bejasus Bejorrah
    Favourite Bejasus Bejorrah
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:47 PM

That’s right gavin ..it’s all sinn feins fault …. people like you are a serious problem in this country. ..in fact I’d go as far as to say you are a traitor to Ireland …

Mute Irish Spider-Man
    Favourite Irish Spider-Man
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:54 PM

Lets have a riot….

Mute Dusty Mooney
    Favourite Dusty Mooney
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:02 PM

Tommy, There will be a general election soon and you can express your disgust with FF, FG and the bogus Independents then.

Mute john gorey
    Favourite john gorey
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:06 PM

Leave the can alone and kick Enda down the road

Mute Dusty Mooney
    Favourite Dusty Mooney
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:10 PM

David, Do you think the people who protested about Trumps bigotry are in favour of poisonous Garda corruption?

Mute john gorey
    Favourite john gorey
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:19 PM

Whats very upsetting is there are very highly paid advisors all paid above the threshold writing this absolute drivel to present to the irish people through the Dail.Are we forever to be taken for fools

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:25 PM

Why does Enda Kenny have an earpiece on in the Dail?

Feb 14th 2017, 8:55 PM

@watersedge: He needs help….

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:56 PM

Enda looks confused some of the time, quite a lot of the time. Those of you calling him a liar came swinging into the room, on the back of years of hypocritical name calling…cant have it both ways now. Either he is capable of lying. Or he is capable of sometimes tying his shoelaces.

Feb 14th 2017, 9:28 PM

@Gavin Scott: He uses Velcro for his shoes Gavin. Laces are way to complicated for him…..

Mute Horses for courses
    Favourite Horses for courses
    Feb 14th 2017, 10:02 PM

Kerry on Sunday’s he wears his big boy shoes with the laces,but we pay people to tie them up for him.So in the end he’s a very happy Enda…

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Feb 14th 2017, 10:53 PM

This basically sums up fg https://youtu.be/QTISOOjeH7M have a laugh lads

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Feb 14th 2017, 10:56 PM
    Mute Ronan McCann
    Favourite Ronan McCann
    Feb 14th 2017, 11:16 PM

It’s disrespectful to the term ‘farce’.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 11:24 PM

Enda Kenny is telling multiple lies somas to cover his tracks.

Mute Janette Revitup Laffan
    Favourite Janette Revitup Laffan
    Feb 14th 2017, 11:25 PM

People gathering at a lot of Garda stations this Saturday at 6pm.

Mute Ollie O'Brien
    Favourite Ollie O'Brien
    Feb 14th 2017, 11:37 PM

Jayus ! Kamasutra Kenny, more positions than a schizophrenic crackwh0re

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Feb 15th 2017, 12:29 AM

The people of Ireland should march to Dail Eireann and show there support as he seems to have no support from the A G S I WHERE DO THE STAND IS WITH THE GOVERNMENT WHO GAVE THEM A PAY RISE OR THERE MEMBER WAKE UP BOYS OR IS PROMOTION MORE IMPORTANT

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 15th 2017, 12:41 AM
    Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 15th 2017, 12:55 AM

@Irish Spider-Man: Won’t work as there is too much flouride in the water lol.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 15th 2017, 12:57 AM

@watersedge: He had stitches as it looked under his black eye over a week ago now, is it a tin can cyborg?

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 15th 2017, 12:58 AM
    Mute Francais Williams
    Favourite Francais Williams
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:58 PM

Am I missing something here…he lied on the national airwaves on Sunday? Is that correct? And when Zappone came back she wasn’t taking the fall? Is this the what happened?

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:19 PM

Bit presumptuous to call it a lie, it could have been an alternative fact!

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:20 PM

Fine Gaelers dont lie they just have no capacity to memorise important facts.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Feb 14th 2017, 10:15 PM

Christ. Just……..Christ.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Feb 14th 2017, 10:59 PM

@Brinster: so brinster are you still a fg cheerleader.

Mute David Dickenson
    Favourite David Dickenson

He was caught rapid. He could not even get the apology out of his mouth in English.

Feb 14th 2017, 6:15 PM

@David Dickenson:
    He was speaking Mayo-naise

Feb 14th 2017, 6:53 PM

He’s done huge damage to his reputation. Yuge.

Feb 14th 2017, 7:25 PM

@Deborah Behan: Enda has a reputation? Since when?

Mute Mike O'Sullivan
    Favourite Mike O'Sullivan
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:20 PM

Kerry, a bad reputation is still a reputation.

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:53 PM

Inconceivable that FF has not demanded the resignation of the Minister for justice, the Garda commissioner, and the Minister for children…..

Mute Wesley Moore
    Favourite Wesley Moore
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:11 PM

@Peadar Ó Gréacháin: Purely because they’d be shooting themselves in the foot.

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:26 PM

@Peadar. FF are cute hoors waiting and watching from the opposition benches while Enda and FG continue to shoot themselves in the foot. They will not bring the government down until they are confident they have the numbers to get back into power themselves.

Mute Damien Aulsberry
    Favourite Damien Aulsberry
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:58 PM

@Peadar Ó Gréacháin:

Not at all Peadar when you realise FF are cut from the exact same cloth. All Martin cares about is getting a comfortable majority next time. He couldn’t care less about Garda McCabe or the Irish people. Both FF and FG are party first country second. A cancer in our society.

Mute Eoin Mulhern
    Favourite Eoin Mulhern
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:52 PM

Enda do Ireland a favour a step down. An embarrassment to this country.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:01 PM

He’s a lying shoite hawk…

Mute William Blackall
    Favourite William Blackall
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:06 PM

@Eoin Mulhern: Sorry I pressed the wrong button, I agree wholeheartedly with your commemt

Mute john gorey
    Favourite john gorey
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:30 PM

Jesus help us if he’s left to do the negotiations for brexit and what drivel he will come back to us with.The prime minister and the justice minester telling bare faced lies to the nation,no wonder the country is in the state its in

Mute john culhane
    Favourite john culhane
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:58 PM

well said john

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE

Can he explain what happened in space of 16 minutes today.
    Enda couldn’t even give the same story in the dail today. He gave completely different answers to Martin than he did to Paul Murphy about the same question.. unbelievable .
    https://mobile.twitter.com/gavreilly/status/831521106221740033

Mute Anto Curran
    Favourite Anto Curran
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:13 PM

If the answers are not prepared for him Enda will fail miserably.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:52 PM

I’ll make the comparison again. Even a member of the Trump administration resigned today for being economical with the truth. Kenny invented alternative facts. Kellyanne Conway simply gave the phenomenon a name

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:48 PM

Conway came up with a new one today ‘That’s one characterisation of events’ she said, when being questioned about the circumstances of the Flynn resignation.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:54 PM

Fine Gael lost 22 last time they will get toasted proper next time

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:01 PM

@Tony Hartigan: Somehow we have to keep their partners in coalition, FF, out as well.

Mute Horses for courses
    Favourite Horses for courses
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:02 PM

Kenny says,”I am guilty here of giving inaccurate information” Also known as lying through his b#llox.Cringey at this stage…

Mute saoirse janneau
    Favourite saoirse janneau
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:54 PM

Personally I think Zappone is naive. She probably told him verbally about each meeting and the outcome without a following it up with an email. She didnt cover herself and Enda is hanging her out to dry. Given that her involvement began at the end of january she is by no means the main character in the the sequence of torrid events that have been going on for 4 years plus.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:05 PM

Saoirse, you’re right. I said yesterday, these people don’t consider themselves ‘told’ about something unless they srein told formally, with a paper trail.

Mute Shane Murphy
    Favourite Shane Murphy
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:00 PM

Shatter must be pissing himself

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:57 PM

Here’s another fine Gael mess you’ve got us into.

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:04 PM

Everyone is lying. A public inquiry or they need to go .This would be farcical in Bulgaria or Romania ,the latter are out on the streets calling for an end to corruption right now. Sick ideology is running this state.

Mute Pa Cantillon
    Favourite Pa Cantillon
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:49 PM

Yuck.

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:29 PM

If there were any worthwhile leadership in waiting in FG it would step up now and tell Kenny he has to go. He is an embarrassment. Lying through his teeth to save his skin while McCabe is hung out to dry.

Mute Derek ODwyer
    Favourite Derek ODwyer
    Feb 14th 2017, 11:59 PM

@Symbolism: No sign of Leo!

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:18 PM

Sorry, but it is time for government to go, lying, lying, lying, then amnesia, HSE and Tulsa also allegedly brought into equation, two bodies we are supposed to trust, how can anyone believe these two organisations have made correct decisions about anything. Our best bet at the moment is to have a national government with no old school participating in it. Michael D should have the power to call the shots here. Absolutely unbelievable !

Mute Pa Cantillon
    Favourite Pa Cantillon
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:49 PM

Shytehawks

Mute una nolan
    Favourite una nolan
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:53 PM

Judge Judy would have this sorted out in no time,and save the country millions !!

Mute Tony Ornery G
    Favourite Tony Ornery G
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:14 PM

I met a man holding 2 pints, who used to be in the “Army ATM” Corp. You know him, the lad from “Retrospective Recapitalisation” Land, he tells racist jokes, a bit of a “Special Case”
    https://trickstersworld.com/2016/04/14/endas-rump/

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:58 PM

I can’t believe that kenny is accusing someone of having a “loose relationship with the truth”…. Coming from a proven liar and fantasist that is rich. He wouldn’t know the truth if it bit him .

Mute Francais Williams
    Favourite Francais Williams
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:23 PM

I think it was Murphy who said that kenny has a casual relationship with the truth…if the above article is correct…the statement would seem to be so after the RTE broadcast on sunday

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:12 PM

I know Enda is quite a keen cyclist and he specialises in back peddling.

Mute John Deed
    Favourite John Deed
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:52 PM

Go enda and bring zapper and Frances and Noreen too. Ur all a disgrace to Ireland. Shame on u all.

Mute Anastasia
    Favourite Anastasia
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:28 PM

Why are these still in government

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:30 PM

I am asking the exact same question , Why indeed.

Mute john gorey
    Favourite john gorey
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:37 PM

Because they are being propped up by michael martin and co who would like you to believe that they give one toss about sgt mc cabe and his family,does anyone believe they do?

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:07 PM

Because it’s Valentine’s Day and nobody else will partner with Kenny and Martin.

Feb 14th 2017, 8:17 PM

@Anastasia: Because their enjoying the gravy train and we Irish are very servile. If this happened in France there would be riots on the street.

Mute Anastasia
    Favourite Anastasia
    Feb 14th 2017, 10:05 PM

Flynn in the USA tells one lie and is forced out why oh why do they get away with here politicians,bankers,builders the list goes on and on

Mute Cathal Mac Einri
    Favourite Cathal Mac Einri
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:48 PM

Do we really want this lying fool representing us on Brexit?

Feb 14th 2017, 7:22 PM

@Cathal Mac Einri: In fairness Cathal he is only producing alternative facts……

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:00 PM

Can you imagine the tragic comedy Shakespeare could make out of this farce were he alive today.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy

Sean Spicer must have given advice on how to not tell the truth. Despicable government and back benchers.

Mute tippertoday
    Favourite tippertoday
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:43 PM

Awful stuff from all areas shameful carry on . Guards, ministers , the culture of rot is now endemic . So depressing for the youth of Ireland . Backbone , integrity , basic kindness and truth are nowhere in those at the top . Is all of Ireland chasing the euro . Power corrupts , truly

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:48 PM

Neither zappone, fitzgerald nor kenny have any credibility left and should resign. A right bunch of liers.

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:02 PM

He said, she said tripe!

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 15th 2017, 12:22 AM

@Paul Culligan: Must be near election time them, when he acts like this?

Mute Liam McGowan
    Favourite Liam McGowan
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:03 PM

I am sorry….I lied….I resign.Is that not the normal procedure elsewhere?
    Not in Eire. Charley, Bertie and now Enda are testament to that.

This is the new?? way of doin’ politics. Paddy likes to know nothin’.

Bye Enda. Bye FG. Bye FF.

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:11 PM

Where are all the blueshirt diehards today. Your silence is deafening.

Mute Liam John Bradshaw
    Favourite Liam John Bradshaw
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:49 PM

Kenny, he’s been caught by the B’ollix & he’s trying to maneuver his way out. Micheal Martin is letting Me Kenny dig his own grave!

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:01 PM

What a prize .rick he really is. He has to be the worst leader this country has ever had. Even the dogs on the street know that. Him and his government have just went from one clusterphuck to another. They should all do the decent thing and resign.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 10:10 PM

Taoiseach Enda Kenny knew about the vile campaign against Sergeant McCabe and the Taoiseach did nothing about it and indeed enabled it to continue.

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:29 PM

Remember If you voted FG of FF in the last 10 years, you are the problem not the clowns that put themselves forward.

Use you vote wisely next time.

It’s just one big scandal after the next with this ramshackle government.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:36 PM

What’s with the who told who what?
    Government protocol is to correspond in writing.if you need to inform a fellow minister of something important, it needs to be put in writing for the sake of FOI records.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:41 PM

It’s called lying enda.

Mute Kevin Barry
    Favourite Kevin Barry
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:44 PM

They are in government because of the electorate, in 2,3 or how many more months time it takes to go back to the country.
    What will happen?
    These muppets without one or two that have been caught and sacrificed will return to power and do exactly the same things over and over. Do you? Could you trust them after this ?

No absolutely not but the majority of them will be re-elected and the Patsy’s that got caught will have to sneak off to Europe with a big fat pension, or retire in the bleedin lap of luxury.

Mute Hilary McDuffy
    Favourite Hilary McDuffy
    Feb 14th 2017, 6:53 PM

It’s a bit like the man he meet with the two pints,

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 15th 2017, 12:21 AM

@Hilary McDuffy: Just Kenny’s トラ・トラ・トラ or Tora! Tora! Tora! moment?

Feb 14th 2017, 7:20 PM

Enda said “I understood from thinking myself”

talking about alternative facts……

Mute Mike Holmes
    Favourite Mike Holmes
    Feb 14th 2017, 5:57 PM

Thankfully we signed the Lisbon Treaty which should see these civil war military cops disbanded and a police force appropriate to a European civilian state (neutral) commissioned in our modern time. This is the end of Irish civil war politics and their respective parties. Experience says hard to kill a bad thing, optimism insists it couldn’t possibly get any worse unless they rejoin the commonwealth.

Mute Willy Malone
    Favourite Willy Malone
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:02 PM

Enda lying. Why are people surprised ☺

Mute mrmeade
    Favourite mrmeade
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:18 PM

He’s some man for the spoofing. Only this time it’s far more serious. He should call an election NOW

Mute Pj Berry
    Favourite Pj Berry
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:50 PM

Wouldn’t lie straight in bed

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Feb 14th 2017, 10:18 PM

Michael Martin and his Fianna Fail party are every bit culpable as this disastrous government for blackening Sgt. McCabe. May I remind every Fianna Fail deputy it is not in their remit to decide when an election is required. This is the most disgusting and serious cover up since the foundation of this Republic.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Feb 14th 2017, 10:21 PM

What I do know Fine Gael are toast after this. Who are they protecting ?

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 11:58 PM

@Tony Hartigan: you have put your finger on it.

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:20 PM

Mental reservation and alternative facts. If u want to be a good liar you need a good memory….otherwise you are a pathetic liar. All liars are reprehensible especially when they destroy lives. Mea Culpa doesn’t change anything.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 14th 2017, 9:54 PM

Taoiseach Kenny is unfit to be Taoiseach.

Mute Declan Murtagh Sr.
    Favourite Declan Murtagh Sr.
    Feb 14th 2017, 7:58 PM

A lie can travel a 100 times around the world,and still come back and bite you on the arse.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:04 PM

Mea culpa !!!!!!
    I’d say it wasn’t the first time

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Feb 14th 2017, 10:19 PM

Who is Michael Martin PROTECTING ?

Mute Billy Big Ballz
    Favourite Billy Big Ballz

such silly sausages

Mute D'Murph
    Favourite D'Murph
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:06 PM

He presented alternative facts. Seems to be on trend these days :)

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Feb 14th 2017, 10:22 PM

The only one missing from this farce is the Office Cat…..who probably knows EXACTLY what happened….The worm on the end of a fisherman’s hook twists and turns to escape…and that other little worm, The Schoolteacher from Castlebar, is no exception. Lord Acton put it fairly concisely: “Power tends to Corrupt, and Absolute Power corrupts Absolutely…..”

Mute Joe Doyle
    Favourite Joe Doyle
    Feb 14th 2017, 10:05 PM

Liar

Mute Emmet O'Keeffe
    Favourite Emmet O'Keeffe
    Feb 14th 2017, 10:28 PM

It was like the Kama Sutra of politics in there today.

Mute A Random Guy
    Favourite A Random Guy
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:28 PM

Ah lads it just slipped auld kennys mind lads…give this gentleman a break…..

Feb 14th 2017, 10:34 PM

@A Random Guy: Kenny has a mind?

Mute Sandra Clifford
    Favourite Sandra Clifford
    Feb 14th 2017, 11:14 PM

Lying sleveen

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Feb 15th 2017, 12:14 AM

The office of taoiseach has been disgraced by this imbecile.

Mute ger o' dwyer
    Favourite ger o' dwyer
    Feb 15th 2017, 12:26 AM

If this shambles happened in the UK there would have been immediate resignations but our clowns refuse to go and will continue to lie and spin in their own interests. They have no interest in the truth about Maurice McCabe, it is all about self preservation. They should all hang their heads in shame.

Mute xor
    Favourite xor
    Feb 15th 2017, 12:52 AM

pinocchio kenny caught out again or maybe it’s kenny mitty!