You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

UTV Ireland

See you real soon: Enda promises ministers will appear on UTV Ireland

Have you been missing the sight of Cabinet members clashing with Pat Kenny on national TV? … Right, just us then…

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has said Cabinet ministers will be taking part in programmes on UTV Ireland when it launches in the New Year.

“It’s up to everybody, members of Government and everybody else to be able to avail of the opportunity to attend at UTV to debate and discuss the issues of the day and what it means for the people of the country,” the Taoiseach said today, as he opened the station’s new studios.

In that sense, you’ll actually be playing a fundamental part and will play a fundamental part in informing people so that their decisions and their views will be communicated  as the country moves ahead.

The Docklands-based broadcaster is due to go on air on 1 January.

News staff have been in-situ at the station’s Macken House HQ for the last few weeks carrying out internal test broadcasts.

Alyson Comyn and Chris Donohoe will anchor UTV Ireland’s weekday news broadcasts ‘Ireland Live’ and ‘Ireland Live at 10′.

Pat Kenny will also present a show.

Read: Pat Kenny announces he’ll be joining UTV Ireland>

Read: Yoink! UTV Ireland have poached editor of RTÉ’s Six One>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

41 Comments
    Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Dec 11th 2014, 7:37 PM

Mr Kenny the man who hasn’t got the balls to face an old man like Vincent Brown.
    He can’t lie straight in a bed.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Dec 11th 2014, 8:02 PM

Vincent Browne what has he ever done?? I’m no fan of Enda but it’s easy for VB to sit on his chair and judge.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Dec 11th 2014, 8:38 PM

Yep just like the electorate – how dare they judge him on his 5-point plan and record of delivering zilch!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 11th 2014, 9:39 PM

Tom he’s an interviewer and TV presenter, that’s what they tend to do “sit on a chair and ask questions”. Vincent though has a habit of going off script unlike RTE presenters.

Mute Derek Trotter
    Favourite Derek Trotter
    Dec 11th 2014, 10:09 PM

That’s his job …

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Dec 11th 2014, 7:43 PM

Appear on tv3 taoiseach. No you don’t have the balls to face Vinny b

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    Dec 11th 2014, 7:58 PM

@thetruth

TV3′s news and current affairs coverage is a joke. There is no bulletin on TV3 on Saturdays, Sundays and bank holidays.

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Dec 11th 2014, 8:09 PM

I did not specifically mean tv3..just vinny b… it would be spectacular

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Dec 11th 2014, 8:47 PM
    Mute Gabriel Holmes
    Favourite Gabriel Holmes
    Dec 12th 2014, 12:25 AM

The only thing good on Tv3 with balls is VB like it or lump it

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Dec 11th 2014, 7:36 PM

As long as they control the questions !

Mute JournalStasi
    Favourite JournalStasi
    Dec 11th 2014, 7:50 PM

Pfft Edna yella belly won’t go on

Mute KeiKe
    Favourite KeiKe
    Dec 11th 2014, 8:51 PM

Sure he can’t even write his own speeches

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Dec 11th 2014, 9:23 PM

Probably can’t write his own name

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 11th 2014, 9:37 PM

Ah be fair lads he said ministers he wasn’t talking about himself.

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Dec 11th 2014, 7:42 PM

Enda Kenny and all government ministers will be appearing on Crime line UTV Ireland………

Mute jim bob
    Favourite jim bob
    Dec 11th 2014, 7:54 PM

Is DOB a shareholder in UTV ?

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Dec 11th 2014, 7:57 PM

Jaysis wouldn’t ye know he is…fancy that

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Dec 12th 2014, 12:25 AM

I`m sure DOB will have a say in what`s covered,Chris Donohue is signed up for UTV Ireland, reason enough for me to avoid

Mute Dan Higgins
    Favourite Dan Higgins
    Dec 11th 2014, 7:48 PM

Could Joan Burton appear with a pixilated face please? Sick of seeing it…

Dec 11th 2014, 8:39 PM

Enda on TV debating? Will never happen.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Dec 11th 2014, 7:56 PM

New outlet for there lies and spin.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Dec 11th 2014, 8:22 PM

There lies, here lies.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 11th 2014, 9:41 PM

Whenever I see the grammar police I slowly say “there,their,dear”.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Dec 11th 2014, 10:07 PM

Norman, where’s “they’re”? And dear? That doesn’t even sound the same! Poor auld Norman. There, their, they’re! ;)

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 11th 2014, 10:14 PM

Three not enough for you,you’re every bit as pedantic as Mr Lyons, I’d say the two of ye would be great craic on a night out.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Dec 11th 2014, 10:19 PM

Ah here, Norman. Did ya not get the winkie? I couldn’t really care. Thought you’d have gotten the dig the way it was intended. Oopsies!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 11th 2014, 10:28 PM

Brian sorry,yeah I should have reread before I posted no offence meant or taken.Even Patrick Lyons(tap solyns or whatever anagram it is this week) takes my comments in the manner they’re made just banter with no offense intended.

Mute Davy Boy
    Favourite Davy Boy
    Dec 11th 2014, 7:43 PM

No doubt Their will be a celebrity Td/ Minister show lots of fun

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Dec 11th 2014, 10:02 PM

Thanks for the heads up Enda now I know for sure UTV is going to be an even bigger pile of steaming shite as RTE.

Mute Robert Lester
    Favourite Robert Lester
    Dec 11th 2014, 9:04 PM

Sure you know whatever show he gos on it will be heavily scripted with lots of back patting with no really hard questions. More or less no worth watching as if he were to be grilled asked the hard questions he’d stutter and stammer into oblivion and his minders wouldn’t allow that, unless he’s being set up…..

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Dec 11th 2014, 9:01 PM

Really Enda, a channel you can’t control.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Dec 12th 2014, 12:08 AM

Sure Dennis O’Bs little boys appearing on UTV for a little chat with Pat the poodle…..effing riveting I’m sure.

Mute benny dowling
    Favourite benny dowling
    Dec 11th 2014, 9:22 PM

Ministers ..tv..soon .maybe an election is im the offing

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Dec 12th 2014, 1:21 AM

I think that when Kenny is talking about ministers appearing on utv he may be taking about the next government. Gerry Christmas and Mary Lou year

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Dec 12th 2014, 1:14 AM

It’s great that ministers will appear on ute will they have to answer questions honestly or will they ruin the airways with the crap they’ve been getting away with for year’s and will enda take part in a real debate. Time will tell

Mute Louise O Callaghan
    Favourite Louise O Callaghan
    Dec 11th 2014, 9:27 PM
    Mute Jim Cantwell
    Favourite Jim Cantwell
    Dec 11th 2014, 9:03 PM

Oh SF are shaking in their jack boots
    The middle class muppet is coming

Mute proudirishcalini
    Favourite proudirishcalini
    Dec 11th 2014, 10:57 PM

Shouldn’t it be UTV the Republic of Ireland

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Dec 12th 2014, 12:26 AM

@proudirishcalini

“Ireland” is the constitutional name of the Republic.

Mute Krystian Brzezowski
    Favourite Krystian Brzezowski
    Dec 11th 2014, 10:23 PM

Everyday I’m passing this by and untill the Utv sign went up I though that they have finally build some nice restaurant there as we badly need something like that in The Point part of Docklands and unfortunately it’s just another broadcaster :(((((