You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
UNIONS AT THE Electricity Supply Board are to conduct a ballot for industrial action in a dispute over pension arrangements.
Shop stewards in Dublin yesterday afternoon voted unanimously to ballot.
Speaking to TheJournal.ie today, Brendan Ogle, the secretary of the ESB group of unions said a special meeting will be held on Thursday to co-ordinate the ballot.
Matter of weeks
He said this is not something that will take a long time. “We are not going to drag this out over a few months, this will be done in matter of weeks,” he said.
Mr Ogle said the ESB has changed the company’s pension scheme from a defined benefit system to a defined contribution scheme.
“These changes were made without any agreement or consultation being made with the unions. It’s important they realise that the implications of this is very, very serious,” he said.
He said that the ESB is the largest pension scheme in the state and the ESB Defined Benefit pension scheme has existed since 1942.
Pensions
Mr Ogle said “the ESB are refusing to engage in any discussions. This is an organisation that has hundreds of millions in profits each year,” he said, adding that the unions understood that many people around the country are having difficulties with their pensions, but said the difference with the ESB is that unlike other employers that have changed workers pensions from defined benefit system to a defined contribution schemes, the ESB are making huge profits.
He said that 200 shop stewards were balloted yesterday and all unanimously voted to ballot workers, which he said “if that is an indication of the feeling on the ground, I would think that workers will vote to strike, but that is up to the members”.
He said if the ballot to strike was passed it would result in a nationwide strike of all ESB workers.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
There is no need to tip in Ireland, unless the food and service is exceptional then I rarely tip. This is not the states, everyone working in the restuarant is on at least the minimum wage.
@David Ronan: that’s nice of you. Most wait staff are paid barely the minimum wage. It’s nice if you to go spend your money to eat in a restaurant with your principal that despite you clearly affording to eat in a restaurant, that minimum wage is enough for them.
@David Ronan: in Ireland I tip 5 to 10 euro in a restaurant. Not in a cafe or bar. Here in the US it’s around 18% on everything. After a while it becomes habit. It’s just what you do.
@John B: your comment is somewhat ridiculous. Tipping exists because service staff, bell boys, bar backs, dish washers in the states earn less than minimum wage and are subsidized by tipping culture. This is not the case in Ireland.
@John B: plenty of people survive off minimum wage and don’t get tips outside of the restaurant industry. People shouldn’t feel guilty if they decide to spend their earned cash on a meal out and should be expected to give tips for average or poor service. Plus some places now include a service charge on top of their listed menu prices
@David: most commenters here seem quite stingy and mean. I always find it delightful in the US and elsewhere where staff rely on tips. They are genuinely pleasant and try to ensure you really enjoy your stay. It is of course because they rely on tips and cash is an excellent motivator. The wait staff in Ireland don’t know if one of you stingy lot will tip or not and therefore there is no motivation for them to be nice.
@David Ronan: Very true David. Where staff are paid a wage tipping is the customer paying twice for the same thing. I prefer the Scandinavian model where waiters will even return your tips and tell you that they are paid properly.
A US style tipping culture favors the bling gangster who is flashing cash everywhere. It is gauche.
@David Ronan: I agree, some of them charge ridiculous prices for their food and it wouldn’t feed a mouse. So now and then, I’d tip if they have been nice and served a reasonable sized meal. But other times, I expect my bill to cover all expenses and wages.
@John B: the motivation for them to be nice is keeping their jobs. I worked for over a decade in minimum wage jobs, no one tipped me, and I didn’t expect to be tipped because I was being paid. It shouldn’t be different for waiters or bar staff. If the service is great, I’ll tip. If not, why should I?
@John B, @Alan Scott, Actually, I used to work in the service industry when I was in school and college even before the minimum wage was introduced so I know exactly how it feels and how much they earn.
@David Ronan: in the USA there is a lower minimum wage for staff that can be tipped.
So tipping is a way to bring those staff up to and above minimum wage. Notwithstanding that, the business still has to go up the pay to the higher minimum wage for staff who haven’t Got enough tips.
In Ireland there isn’t a lower min wage for staff that can be tipped. This tipping is sheep copying their American friends but for the wrong reason. This then becomes a social norm and a way to demonstrate your own generosity to inflate ones ego
@John B: I tip but surely it’s up to an individual whether they rip or not, it’s a personal choice. So your mock outrage on the previous comment is not fair, it’s a free world, it’s his choice.
Also if you had a really bad experience, whether service or bad food, of course you shouldn’t be expected to tip.
Finally most staff except temporary
Summer staff generally earn above the minimum wage, unlike USA, an entirely different culture when it comes to eating out.
@Martin Fahy: “mock outrage”? I can assure you my blood pressure is normal and my face is a nice irish arctic white. But still it is clear the the journal commenters are a miserly bunch, I’m surprised they even eat at restaurants.
@John B: I should remember to start tipping most of the clothes shop workers too. They usually earn minimum wage. Must start tipping the guy I pay the petrol to too, sure he’s on minimum wage as well.
@cholly appleseed: cholly I recognize it can be challenging to differentiate between occupations where the face of customer service impacts on the experience. But for me, when I get home with a new jumper that I like, the face of the grumpy cashier won’t affect the enjoyment of my new clothes. Clearly this is very different in a restaurant where unpleasant service can ruin a good night out.
@John B: John, you do realise that when this “miserly bunch” spend the money they have worked for in any restaurant or cafe or whatever that they are already contributing to the staffs wages? If those same staff are unhappy with their wages they should get a different job, that’s what I did anyway.
@John B: most people who have meals out do so as a treat and are not all high earners Tip is the service they provide is good otherwise Don’t ,They get around €10 per hour and some but not all also get service charges too ,just because we might go to a restaurant doesn’t mean we have to pay twice
@John B: at least they are paid the minimum wage. So are thousands of others who are not left tips. Change jobs if you want to earn more. If enough waiting staff left, the pay rate would have to increase—it’s called supply and demand.
We are slowly turning into the US where tipping is almost becoming mandatory. Tipping should be the exception rather than the rule where you show you appreciation for an exceptional service. It should never be expected by staff and their wages shouldn’t depend on it.
Once when I was in the US, I genuinely forgot to tip a bellboy who helped move our luggage a few meters into a lift. I was promptly reminded by him that tipping is expected. There are a lot of good things about America but can we please not emulate their tipping culture?
@Tweety McTweeter: I totally agree, when I was last in US I met this young Irish girl working in a restaurants for $5:00 a hour, this was a pretty good restaurant, her was not that good an only could survive the work along with her tips. we are paying for a service that have to pay their workers, not exploiting them.
I’m in a minimum wage job where we don’t get tips, so it has to be really good service for me to tip someone who’s getting the same or higher wage than me.
It would depend on the service, entirely. I’ve been in places where you don’t even get offered water, or a cofffee etc. when you sit down. Then they leave you sitting there for 15 minutes and don’t take any sort of order. I’ve walked out of places like that too.
If they want a tip – they should earn it and it shouldn’t be a given. If you don’t get a tip then read between the lines, it’s because the service wasn’t that good.
However, I’m quite happy to leave 25% tip or more if the staff are polite, the service is good, and the food is properly prepared (not reheated shite from the day before – as there is a difference between reheated food and freshly cooked).
@kevin: I’d be happy to tip in either circumstance, however, if the service was particularly bad or either not chilled to the correct temperature then the tip calculator begins to slide towards zero. I just hope the person delivering the champagne does so with gusto and a smile rather than contempt and hatred. After all if i can splash the cash on Champagne then the server should know that I have more money than sense and be prompt and polite to ensure they receive a larger cash reward for perpetuating the job they were hired to do.
@Pat Redmond: it makes about as much sense as tipping a waiter. I do tip and usually 10% but it’s just habit and basically expected. I still will but when you think about it, it’s not nessessary.
I never understood why people leave a % of the bill. IF I tip I leave a fiver, if there is a service charge, I don’t leave anything. This is not America where the tips are your wages.
Tipping is as annoying as unpaid internships. Both culturally forced norms that allow employers to underpay (or not pay) their staff. Tipping especially is the company saying ‘pay for your meal or your hotel room or other service, then help us pay the wages of our staff.’
It would be nice to be able to go out for a meal,but most family’s cannot afford it.struggle to get through the week and put food on the table at home.before anyone starts,I’ve been working from 12 yrs of age, consistently all my life.
When you think about it, the concept of tipping as they have it in the US makes no sense. Basically, as well as paying for the service from the business (a restaurant in this ase), you are also making a contribution to one of the business’s main expenses (the wages it pays its staff). Is there any other sector where this occurs? Why should the buyer be doing this? Business expenses are for the business to take care of. Not you.
I would tip only if the service was exceptional for some reason.
Fair play to that Australian rapper, ‘Buoys in the Hood’ stuff right there. To be honest, I don’t believe in tipping I just leave a kinder egg after every meal.
Nobody is getting an automatic tip from me. When it is included on the bill I won’t eat there. And yes I do ask when booking a table.
Only if I get a great service will I give a tip and I am happy to say that I do most times I eat out however some staff clearly don’t want to be there and this shows in the service they give so I give them nothing.
I always tip the staff, even in take-aways, before my food comes up, also I tip bar-staff,
They work hard unsociable hours & I feel they deserve tips, just like staff in fancy restaurants.
Treat them with respect, & they treat you in a similar manner.
Good feelings all around…
More absolute nonsense, like other poster said THIS IS NOT THE USA, where some restaurant staff work for tips only, there are loads of people of people in Ireland on the minimum wage and don’t work in an industry where they get paid tips to top up there wages, go get yourself a better job if u need more money or work a second part time job, and another posters comment where they state that somehow because I can afford to eat out I am morally obliged to top up some strangers weeks wages, what complete bullshit
If the food is up to scratch I consider tipping. Whether I do or not depends on the quality of service. If the service is above par, prompt, and the staff courteous and friendly, I tip generously, a minimum of 10%. If it’s exceptionally good and if the staff are prepared to go the extra mile, I increase the tip substantially.
you lot on here, what a tight ungreatful bunch of miserable t w a t s every time you leave a restaurant or cafe and dont tip staff always comment to each other about you and will always remember the non tippers. as usually most people are nice and do leave something
@David Cullen: lol u pompous ass, do u think we that don’t tip really give a shite if the restaurant staff “COMMENT” about us, and what have I to be go grateful for, I went into a restaurant ordered a meal and paid for it, it is up to the owner of the restaurant to pay his/her staff,they are not my problem, they are there to serve me and get paid by the restaurant owner, I owe them absolutely NOTHING, NOT 1 CENT
Shower of tight arses !, I tip all the time if the service is good from the person serving. Waiting jobs are one of the toughtest jobs to do running around 9 hours at most and not proper breaks especially in the hotel industry. I did it many years ago and I respect anybody who works in that industry.
The reason tipping started was because the Americans always tip barman or waitress because their wages would be very basic and the tips make the wage so the harder you work the better the tip if you have a lazy waitress or barman and you are not providing a service they will let you know with the tip .
Over €13m spent by OPW on controversial Cork flood defence scheme before construction begins
Conor O'Carroll
3 hrs ago
Knock airport
Fresh appeal for information after cyclist dies from injuries sustained in hit and run
4 hrs ago
Courts
Three men jailed for 'cruel and depraved' rape of woman they encountered in Dublin nightclub
14 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say