Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'This is illegal': EU launches legal proceedings against UK much to 'disappointment' of Boris

Maros Sefcovic delivered an update to a press conference this morning.

LAST UPDATE | 15 Jun 2022

THE EU HAS launched fresh legal action against the UK in retaliation over Boris Johnson’s plans to unilaterally scrap parts of Northern Ireland’s Brexit deal.

European Commission vice-president Maros Sefcovic said the UK’s move had “no legal or political justification”.

As well as new legal action for alleged failures to implement the Northern Ireland Protocol as it stands, Sefcovic confirmed that existing infringement proceedings which had been paused while UK-EU talks took place would now be resumed.

And he indicated further measures could follow if the UK pressed ahead with the Northern Ireland Protocol Bill, which will effectively rip up key parts of the deal signed by Mr Johnson and the EU in 2019.

At a press conference in Brussels, Sefcovic said the UK Government had set out to “unilaterally break international law”.

The plan would mean “breaking an agreement that protects peace and stability in Northern Ireland, an agreement reached together only three years ago”.

Sefcovic said: “Let there be no doubt: there is no legal nor political justification whatsoever for unilaterally changing an international agreement.

“Opening the door to unilaterally changing an international agreement is a breach of international law as well.

So let’s call a spade a spade: this is illegal.

The dispute could ultimately lead to a trade war, with tariffs or even the suspension of the entire Brexit deal between the UK and European Union.

Asked about potential further action against the UK, he told reporters in Brussels: “If this draft Bill becomes the law then I cannot exclude anything.

“But we are not there yet and we want to solve this issue as the two partners should, through negotiations, looking for the common ground and delivering for the people of Northern Ireland.”

As a first stage, the EU said it was mounting a “proportionate” response to the Government publishing its Bill on Monday.

The stalled legal action related to the UK’s unilateral extension of protocol grace periods in 2021.

Resuming the proceedings, the EU is issuing the UK with a “reasoned opinion” and giving it two months to respond. If the UK does not respond to the bloc’s satisfaction, it will refer the matter to the European Court of Justice.

The two new infringement proceedings announced on Wednesday relate to alleged UK failures around Sanitary and Phytosanitary (SPS) checks on agri-food produce entering Northern Ireland from Great Britain and also an alleged failure to provide the EU with data on the movement of goods across the Irish Sea.

The EU is issuing formal notices of action in respect of the two new infringement proceedings.

The bloc claims the SPS checks are not being carried out properly, with insufficient staff and infrastructure in place at the border control posts at the ports in Northern Ireland.

It says the UK is also not currently sharing the trade statistics data required under the protocol.

Irish reaction

Speking to reporters this afternoon, Taoiseach Micheál Martin said the latest news represented “a step up in response from the EU”. He called on the British government to hold talks with their European counterparts in a bid to halting any legal action. 

He said: “The EU is still available and wants to bring a resolution to issues arising from the operation of the Protocol through substantive negoatiations with the UK government. 

“That is the only logical and ratioanl way forward, in my opinion, is to commence these negotiations. I’d appeal to the UK government to engage in such negotiations.”

In London, Boris Johnson’s spokesman told journalists: “We are disappointed that the EU has taken this legal action today.”

And he insisted that European proposals to resolve the impasse were a “step backwards”.

Johnson’s government insists it is not breaking international law, citing a “necessity” to act to restore Northern Ireland’s power-sharing institutions.

With reporting by AFP and Garreth MacNamee

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 46 comments
46 Comments
    Mute ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Favourite ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Jun 21st 2021, 8:49 AM

OK

Mute EirePalestine
    Favourite EirePalestine
    Jun 21st 2021, 9:28 AM

Sioned Taylor looks more like a chaperone than a friend to me.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 21st 2021, 9:02 AM

At least she can get to or photoshopped in Spain

Mute Willie Penwright
    Favourite Willie Penwright
    Jun 21st 2021, 10:19 AM

@Paul: That suitcase gives the game away. Poor photoshopping job, as if princesses carry their own suitcases. I wonder who the “former Royal Navy member” is working for now and how they came to be ‘friends’.

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Jun 21st 2021, 9:13 AM

Several dozen children from multiple wives? Christ how many wives did he have?

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Jun 21st 2021, 9:41 AM

@David O Brien:

Multiple

Mute Buster Cat
    Favourite Buster Cat
    Jun 21st 2021, 10:41 AM

@David O Brien: 14 wives I believe

Mute Colin Heffernan
    Favourite Colin Heffernan
    Jun 21st 2021, 12:43 PM

@Buster Cat: all at once or did he have no more than 4 at any one time? Maybe he divorced wife number 1 just before marrying wife number 5 and so on and so forth?

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller
    Jun 21st 2021, 2:28 PM

@Colin Heffernan: The religion’s founder made a special rule for himself, so he could more than 4 wives. Maybe Sheikh Mohammed made a similar rule for humself.

Mute Seán Dillon
    Favourite Seán Dillon
    Jun 21st 2021, 8:58 AM

Sheikh Mohammed, a randy devi!.

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Jun 21st 2021, 9:16 AM

@Seán Dillon:

Whatever about that, Sheikha’s own life choices must be fully respected by her popular father.

Mute Willie Penwright
    Favourite Willie Penwright
    Jun 21st 2021, 10:13 AM

@Seán Dillon: It was love. He’s in love with himself.

Mute Mary N. Cooke
    Favourite Mary N. Cooke
    Jun 21st 2021, 1:10 PM

Don’t believe any of it tbh

Mute Hughie Lynch
    Favourite Hughie Lynch
    Jun 21st 2021, 8:57 AM

Must dig out pics of md holidaying in Spain

Mute Hughie Lynch
    Favourite Hughie Lynch
    Jun 21st 2021, 8:57 AM

@Hughie Lynch: *me

Jun 21st 2021, 9:50 AM

@Hughie Lynch: no need I can photoshop you there if you like any particular person you want to be seen with Elvis perhaps

Mute Derek Moran
    Favourite Derek Moran
    Jun 21st 2021, 2:41 PM

If only this much attention is given to the millions of women held in captivity around the world. Most not living in absolute luxury.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jun 21st 2021, 2:51 PM

@Derek Moran: weird angle given that nobody knows wjats actually going on in this instance. Also weird to give out about this kind of stories not being covered on one of those stories. Fact of the matter is the absence of a person is a very difficult story to cover for obvious reasons. New evidence equals new attention.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Jun 21st 2021, 8:04 PM

@Derek Moran: if news is only reported on the absolute worst case, bar none, we would have very little to read and comment on. Cop on.

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller
    Jun 21st 2021, 2:30 PM

Is there a photo taken from behind, so we can see what Ms Taylor is holding in her left hand?

Mute Shamel Jelupi Barron
    Favourite Shamel Jelupi Barron
    Jun 21st 2021, 2:27 PM

Funny I heard her death notice on mid West radio a while back.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Jun 21st 2021, 8:05 PM

@Shamel Jelupi Barron: is that a real radio station?

Mute Sue Kelly
    Favourite Sue Kelly
    Jun 21st 2021, 7:08 PM

Who??