You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
FACEBOOK BANNED 583 million fake accounts in the first three months of 2018, the social media giant has said, detailing how it enforces “community standards” against sexual or violent images, terrorist propaganda or hate speech.
Responding to calls for transparency after the Cambridge Analytica data privacy scandal, Facebook said those closures came on top of blocking millions of attempts to create fake accounts every day.
Despite this, the group said fake profiles still make up 3-4% of all active accounts.
It claimed to detect almost 100% of spam and to have removed 837 million posts assimilated to spam over the same period.
Facebook pulled or slapped warnings on nearly 30 million posts containing sexual or violent images, terrorist propaganda or hate speech during the first quarter of this year.
Improved technology using artificial intelligence had helped it act on 3.4 million posts containing graphic violence, nearly three times more than it had in the last quarter of 2017.
In 85.6% of the cases, Facebook said that it detected the images before being alerted to them by users, said the report, issued the day after the company said about 200 apps had been suspended on its platform as part of an investigation into misuse of private user data.
The figure represents between 0.22 and 0.27% of the total content viewed by Facebook’s more than two billion users from January through March.
“In other words, of every 10,000 content views, an estimate of 22 to 27 contained graphic violence,” the report said.
Referendum
In Ireland, the social media giant has come under scrutiny and pressure to be more transparent in the run up to Ireland’s referendum on the Eighth Amendment on 25 May.
Concerns over foreign groups buying Facebook ads to target Irish voters ahead of the referendum prompted the company to implement a ban on its platform to all foreign ads in relation to the referendum.
However, there have still been calls for increased regulation from government over social media campaigns and political advertisements.
In its report Facebook said that responses to rule violations include removing content, adding warnings to content that may be disturbing to some users while not violating Facebook standards; and notifying law enforcement in case of a “specific, imminent and credible threat to human life”.
Improved IT also helped Facebook take action against 1.9 million posts containing terrorist propaganda, a 73% increase. Nearly all were dealt with before any alert was raised, the company said.
It attributed the increase to the enhanced use of photo detection technology.
Hate speech is harder to police using automated methods, however, as racist or homophobic hate speech is often quoted on posts by their targets or activists.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
55 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Ah Pat Rabbitte, the politican who made election promises to the irish people but later admitted he was lying, the man that finally killed off the treacherous Labour party, nobody in the country wants to hear what that man has to say
@Adam: Didn’t he also say that in the semi states there was a race the the bottom? Family being employed 6 figure salaries for no qualifications – in laws spouses all employed and taxpayers money to silence those who highlight wrongdoing! The Government already know this is happening and yet act shocked- all semi states need to be examined abbd remember Minister knows what is going on!
@P Martin: directors in RTE have very little accountability on their spending.
And whether it is commercial or licence fee income it is all the same money, it is taxpayers, not theirs.
If there was ever a time for Pat Rabbitte to sit down and stay quiet, this is it. He had in his time attempted to do RTE DG’s dirty work and push for an increase in the TV licence fee which thankfully fell flat on its face. Either he was hoodwinked by their cap in hand bs, or he was in some way complicit. Either way, he’s wrong. A deeply forensic examination of the situation in Montrose is absolutely necessary to restore trust in the state broadcaster and crucially, it needs to be prompt.
@Jason Sweeney: utter drivel. And to cite Reith is …..a real sickener, coming from somebody whose own career has been driven by decidedly un-Reithian manoeuvres. I can’t ever remember his appearances as being either informative or entertaining and as for his attitude to the public, we’ll check his property based tax (no mention of income: is it any wonder Labour are in the bin
Pat Rabitte, chairperson of Tusla (another underperforming state body), and member of ESRI, must be great top-ups for your ministerial and TD’s pensions no doubt.
This is where I stopped reading:
“Nor is the self-flagellation at RTÉ helping matters. Entering its third week the controversy continues to dominate although the planet is overheating, warlords in Russia may be targeting a nuclear power plant and, potentially, there is an existential threat to the cervical check programme.”
Easy for a man firmly established on the public-money gravy-train to tell the rest of us to look over there. Would you ever fvck off.
I’m pretty sure Pat Rabbitte wanted to change the tv licence into a media licence, pretty sure he was thinking ahead, not too sure many young people have much interest in RTE but he knows everyone uses smart phones, tablets, laptops and other media devises.
He’s the wrong man to try and convince the general public of that, and he’s dead wrong too. We’ve been steamrolled by RTE for decades who ran rampant with the licence money and made sure other broadcasters got as little as possible. He’s siding with the bad guy all for a bit of self serving publicly. Take a hike Pat, you don’t serve the general public you never did.
RTE has been stuffed with Union and Labour supporters for decades. Since this former Workers Party/Democratic Left/Labour man telling us to not look too closely at RTE, we should give his opinion the adequate weight it deserves. None.
As Minister, he got the eircode system changed so it identified every dwelling individually, even in apartment blocks where it was only necessary to identify the front door of the building, so that each unit could be targeted for a TV licence or broadcasting charge.
Pat you clearly miss not been part of a Pac committee member,The Irish people have had enough of politicians that swings their versions to suit themselves,Coveney’s brother last week had been asked very few questions by politicians of his involvement in the flop christmas show..I wonder why he wasn’t grilled by politicians as hard as other RTE representatives.Why aren’t politicians been grill for their part of overseeing RTE.Isn’t that what Minister Martin and predecessors and their, over paid advisors are there for…
“If RTÉ has traditionally been weak in home-produced drama it has certainly made up the deficit in the last few weeks.” Your first sentence shows how little you realize this issue is. The very reason people regard RTE content to be not as good as our neighbour’s is because money that should have been put toward funding and nurturing new talent, creating better content and gaining the trust of the people who fund it has instead gone toward greedy, talentless execs that hoard money for themselves, wasting it on flipflops and tickets to the rugby.
Well, well, look what just climbed out from under a big slimy rock ! Actually, you’re right for once – we don’t need all these toothless committees looking into the criminal antics at RTE, we just need An Garda Siochana to do their jobs. But hey, this is sleazy Ireland, not Star Wars – we NEVER use the force ! Back on the gravy train with you (the source of your myriad of taxpayers pensions), otherwise you’ll miss the champagne and smoked salmon course.
From the same politician who defended the Government’s decision to not burn the senior foreign bondholders which is why we’re all still paying USC charges.
Coming from one who was full of Sh— years ago Pat is proving he hasn’t changed.Now that we’re in the mode lets turn towards the political system which would probably make RTE look like a well oiled machine if you started digging into it’s finances ..unvouched this,allowance for that,security,chauffeurs,helicopters,private jets, first class travel…and thats only scratching the surface.
Where is the Revenue investigation in all this ?is it one rule for RTE while the poorest in society pay. Also pay for the Banks and nothing for it except no health service because all the money is going to politicians, Bankers and RTE celebrities, People make you’re own mind up and change this with a vote
Rabbitte ..more Blueshirt than the Blueshirts..Labour’s way or Frankfurts way…we know how that worked out, Under no circumstances will the junior bondholders be paid…Water charges…media licence..Little wonder the so called Labour Party has gone the way of the PDs
BTW, I hope de Wabbite read what the Judge who hears the Licence Fee cases had to say. Needless to say he’s NOT a happy man. It’s in the Irish Mirror, if anyone is interested.
Why this brown stain is still relevant? In that as usual he fails to serve the people but instead wants a continuation of the rotten status quo. Run Rabbitte Run (and don’t come back).
Overkill! God!. Gardaí should have been brought in. There is obviously more to come out. Imaging having a car for five years. Did he get it serviced himself?. Did he declare it as benefit in kind. He didn’t have expenses allowed on this car and he travelling all over the country commentating on matches. Something doesn’t add up.
The (former) Director General is the one who knows the answers to the key questions regarding the payments to Tubridy, why they were sanctioned and why they were concealed in the manner they were. So, it’s about time she comes out of hiding to face the music. She has little else to lose now having lost her job and her reputation in the broadcasting sector. Tubs and Kelly have decided to brazen it out and tell their side of the story in the hope of gaining some small measure of redemption. Dee should do likewise and ought to be compelled to if not willing to do so voluntarily.
Pat Rabbitte is correct but unfortunately, because he is Pat Rabbitte, people will find excuses not to heed him. Bu please, don’t throw out the baby with the bathwater . Ask yourselves the question,” why isn’t there a public enquiry into the shenanigans in the children’s hospital contract”.?
There are many serious issues happening but are being glossed over, so why all this fury and righteousness over this issue, rest assured something else is being covered up.
I refuse to read this article, on the basis of i don’t read or listen to liars who break promises, and then openly admit it.
However i feel compelled to leave a comment
How torn am I today.
Much of the commentary is ill informed. Most of it comes from a particular political direction.
RTE is poorly managed at the higher levels and substantial change is urgently needed.
A staff member who negotiated a car for himself for the last five years would need his tax status checked and the big fish is Late Late in offering his presence before a Seanad Committee . He knew years ago that his published salary was wrong and entirely caused by his presence as a car salesman on behalf of his main employer!
Both should resign immediately.
Wait till all the fiddling going on by highly paid employees in our 3rd level educational institutions comes out..not to mention the ridiculous salaries paid to admin staff in the hse..it’ll curl your toes
Wait till you hear the lame excuse Tubridy will come up with next week, he has had a long time to think about his excuse, solicitors in his ear as well, sure why didn’t he make a statement already if he has nothing to hide, stop the kidding, irish people don’t buy that fake friday night persona anymore, you can have all your upper class buddies come out 8n your defence, but you don’t fool the irish public anymore, R yan T ubridy E nestled
!!!
I agree with Pat Rabbitte. All these inquiries are ridiculous. He did give me a good laugh too. Do the TDs on these committees have the tight to humiliate staff from RTE in public. They are all on big expenses and there aren’t many saints in Dail Eireann.
This clown is not trusted by the people so why is he given air time. I can’t stand the green party because of the mess they are creating in Ireland. But at least you could say they are sticking with their election mandate unlike Labour Party whom sold out the irish people. Never forget this folks and never let them into power again.
Pat the rabbit with two bs and two ts. One would almost think that the author of this piece was not the bloated supercilious windbag who consistently gaslit the electorate throughout his political career. He never did manage to “rock the foundations of the state”, but he sure managed to bag himself multiple platinum state pensions!
If this was R Murdoch, he would sign off -Assas sinate him ‘he’d say’, in the media term of course. Do you think ‘Marty, Ian Dempsey, that Go b shite Tiernan and the unlikable rest would be viable in any other place on Earth. Or on TV?
RTE NEEDS to be turned into subscription, I never watch it. I like RTE news though and that’s free without that awful APP, THEY KNOW, the first year and it will fall apart -They know that no one will sign up for Tubs or Marty, GAA can f e ck off 2, Robbers needs Garda Investigation into the funds.
Begod and I thought he was dead! Is this the oleaginous Pat Rabbitte(two b’s and two t’s, no less!) who signed away our natural resources, who made a brass ball of the Labour(ahem!) party, who admitted that he lied (what a surprise!). Pat, if you read this please go away, enjoy your pensions, and as a fellow Mayo man I can see the “Bucko” coming through and recognise said “Bucko” for what he was and continues to be! No class Pat!
Pat is right of course, excessive institutional raging is never a good thing.
He asks what will be left of RTE when we’re finished picking the carcass?
He would be more correct to point out that the ongoing external enquiries came into being because RTE was already being treated as a carcass from within.
The damage had already been done.
Explainer: What is a tariff and why has Trump just slapped a 20% one on EU goods?
Updated
7 hrs ago
Live Blog
Trump hits EU goods with 20% tariff and rails against foreigners 'pillaging' US
Updated
7 hrs ago
Live Blog
Trump hits EU goods with 20% tariff and rails against foreigners 'pillaging' US
Updated
7 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say