Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Sofi photo

The level of female start ups in Ireland has increased 600% since 2011

With 1,500 jobs on the way Richard Bruton has hailed Ireland’s entrepreneurs as ‘heroes’.

Updated at 14.10

2014 saw some 43 female-helmed start up Irish businesses funded by Enterprise Ireland (EI), an increase of 36 since the scheme first began concentrating on women in business in 2011.

The news was announced at a ceremony in Dublin Castle to celebrate the success of the 183 enterprises supported and funded by EI in the last year after a hugely competitive vetting process.

With 1,500 jobs to be created by these entrepreneurs in the next three years, the event brought together the various start ups and individual investors who may or may not have been looking to splash the cash.

Speaking at the event Minister for Jobs, Innovation and Enterprise Richard Bruton described Irish entrepreneurs as ‘the heroes of this recovery’.

“Entrepreneurs created 93,000 jobs in Ireland between 2006 and 2011, while the economy elsewhere shed some 400,000 employees,” he said.

Without those courageous souls we would have been looking at an even greater level of attrition in our enterprise base.

CEO of Enterprise Ireland Julie Sinnamon was similarly elated.

“I think it is quite an Irish thing that we don’t celebrate our entrepreneurs as much as we should, congratulating these 183 businesses is one of the highlights of the year for me,” she said.

I’m especially pleased that fully 23% of the enterprises we have funded this year are run by women, that’s almost three times the global average.
We’re in the departures lounge now after a difficult journey, now it’s time to take flight and soar.

IMG_0461 Stephen McNulty, CEO of Ambisense, one of the 102 high potential start ups present at Dublin Castle TheJournal.ie / Cianan Brennan TheJournal.ie / Cianan Brennan / Cianan Brennan

The 183 businesses funded in 2014 are split between 102 high potential start ups and a further 81 beneficiaries of Enterprise Ireland’s competitive start fund.

The entrepreneurships are dominated by the software and services sector with 67% categorised in that manner.  The remainder are split between engineering and cleantech, food and consumer products, and medical devices and pharmaceuticals.

A high potential start-up is a business based on technological innovation that will have sales of €1 million a year and employ at least 10 people within three years. They are export oriented and led by experienced teams.

Additional reporting by Cianan Brennan

Originally published at 7.54am

Read: This startup wants to help you find the cheapest phone deal possible

Read: Milking it: Dairy expansion to create 240 jobs

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

90 Comments
    Mute realgael
    Favourite realgael
    Feb 18th 2015, 6:51 AM

1500 jobs in the high tech sector, now that is very welcome indeed. well done to all concerned for making this happen.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Favourite Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:01 AM

Its good that 500 new jobs each year have been announced yes. However these types of jobs are not going to get the men and women on the dole that are in their late 40s and 50s off the live register and into decent paid jobs. This has a knock on effect on young people that live at home that can’t afford to move out because their money props up the house. Or in many cases blocks them from further study because of funding cuts/ inability to get loans.

Mute Jim Brady
    Favourite Jim Brady
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:16 AM

I’d say you’re great craic, Spider-Man

See 25 more replies ▾
    Mute CitizenSmith©
    Favourite CitizenSmith©
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:22 AM

He’s the kind of bloke that if he was shiting fivers he’d complain about the paper-cuts.

Mute Joe Brennan
    Favourite Joe Brennan
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:31 AM

These jobs will also have a knock on effect in the communities they are created enabling job creation for people with other skills. From more construction work, to more money spent in shops and bars all creating more indirect employment and helping those in their 40s and 50s that you mention Spiderman

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:36 AM

Spider-Man, you’re right this is really bad news. The government should resign immediately and we should get SF into power as they would probably creat 150,000 technology jobs.

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:44 AM

poor bitter trolls just hate job announcements as it doesn’t add up with their the country is n its knees when in fact its the fastest growing economy in europe thanks to the resent government. people like these real achievements over empty rhetoric

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:46 AM

Gill..its incredibly ironic you referring to anyone as a troll considering the hate filled comments you normally make.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:49 AM

Spiderman only makes the perfectly reasonable point about the age profile of those who are likely to work in these jobs.
    That’s not putting down the announcement, it’s just making an observation.

It would be great to hear of an initiative that would target those in more mature years.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:52 AM

Norman (my fellow troll) what do you think isn’t it like 50 shades of gov troll here today?

In other news the gov trolls are out early out of the boxes sprinting ahead of the real people of the nation voicing their views and opinions which is alien to the political system where people have to keep their opinions muted and behind the whip.

Give yourselves a bula bus guys.

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:53 AM

I have never posted a hate filled comment, talking complete gibberish yet again norman

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:54 AM

I wouldn’t worry too much about them tbh.
    I just enjoy rattling their cage.

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy

mrgillhouley, reality check, there were 358,672 people signing on the Live Register in January 2015, puts your 1500 jobs over 3 years into context, where will these jobs be?, Castleisland?, KIlbarrack?, Wexford?, somehow I doubt it, while any job announcement is to be welcomed, please, lets not loose the run of ourselves

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:55 AM

Gill…really seems someone in HQ must have hijacked your account when you were on teabreak so.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:59 AM

Thank you Tony that is my sentiment exactly. I didn’t condemn any of the jobs I think 500 jobs each year for the next three years is great. I did say that early on and out from Paul Carey the usual gov trolls failed to pick up on that. To point out for anyone that doesn’t know I commend the gov that does a good job for a job well done but if I see something I don’t like I am not going to hide my opinion or wrap it up in cotton wool for people that are paid a high price to do their jobs properly in the first place.

I have no doubt that eventually everyone will be out working but as you say an initiative is needed to get long term groups into proper employment. I genuinely don’t see what is dull about that or subject to online abuse. But sure the level of stupidity and ignorance on this thing reaches epic proportions.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:01 AM

Jesus..you can virtually hear the Enda brigade climaxing on this one.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:11 AM

Tony haha probably :)
    I was one of the first to comment on this article and they all just lit up the place. Someone should give David Attenborough a call the trolls are living together, mating, multiplying and becoming aggressive to opinions outside their own. It’s sad really that the little work the government does do is completely overshadowed by the people they send out to talk up the recovery and bash the electorate for not seeing it.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:22 AM

To be fair, you also have to take into account realfail’s previous “aren’t FG great” posts.

As many have said, 500 jobs a year is a bloody good thing, of course it is. But there are a few serious questions worth considering. The idea of saying these will be in the “high tech sector” – that’s quite simply to broad a term. Most of the time this translates to meaning related to IT – which can often mean that, like FB & Google, the start-ups may not be employing from within Ireland. There is also the likely age profile for such jobs. Perhaps there is an initiative somewhere that is targeting (likely) more mature age profiles, but I haven’t heard of any.

There is also the questionable strategy that EI seem to be fixed on for years – to be almost completely focused on export market. I know of several groups who are trying their absolute best to have some attention given to the development of FabLabs which globally have spawned many start ups and been valuable resources for social, educational, entrepreneurial and business support purposes.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:29 AM

Jerking off with one hand and typing with the other , multi tasking FG style .

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:30 AM

And in the mean time the Taoiseach is set to hold talks with the banks over the high level of repossessions that are happening a of late due to a bill his party forced through the Dáíl only a year or so ago.

As Tony says there is little or no detail on which exact sector nor age groups these jobs will cater for. Great yes that 500 were created well done Fine Gael and Labour. It is most welcome to hear such news. Well done. However this isn’t going to slow down the rate of repossessions by much because many of the people in that mess can’t get decent paid jobs.

But sure we were promised a smarter, leaner more accountable government at the last election weren’t we?

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:34 AM

I think it is really funny how anybody who has an alternative opinion to your own is a troll or a shill. There are some who are of course and there is one political party which is pretty naked in its use of supporters on social media. It is true that people in their 40s and 50s who have minimal qualifications are going to find it harder to get jobs. That is the way it was in the thirties, forties, fifties etc. But to whinge about that when yet another jobs announcement is made smells of gross negativity. Fact is youth unemployment is a much bigger issue and will be for years to come.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:42 AM

Well in fairness Real Gael and Paul Carey and perhaps a few others are known to be FG and/or LAB trolls. People have it coped at this stage Tom.

Youth unemployment is a massive issue but what happens if the banks pull the house from under the feet of people in their 40s and 50s?

The same banks that were given legislation to repossess people’s homes by our government only a few years ago. What will happen is not only will you have middle aged people pushing up the backlog of the housing list but you will have the children and young adults in their twenties going with them. So it’s on par I think with a long term strategy to get young people into long term jobs to pay for the recovery that needs to really bite.

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:58 AM

I thought you were barred, although i do find you funny in a sick kind of way. Troll on

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Feb 18th 2015, 9:07 AM

@Mrgill

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Feb 18th 2015, 1:41 PM

When I see that phrase’on the way’don’t believe it. its government spin to boost their bullsh*t party remember all they do is lie.a vote for fg labour is a vote for slave labour..they are german lick ar#es.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Feb 18th 2015, 2:00 PM

A vote for ff fg labour is a vote for cheap labour for the boys.never forget

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 18th 2015, 4:58 PM

fastest growing economy in europe. thanks enda :)

Mute eimsley
    Favourite eimsley
    Feb 18th 2015, 11:53 PM

People don’t start businesses as an “initiative” to create jobs! God almighty, get out of the bubble

Mute Trevor Beacom
    Favourite Trevor Beacom
    Feb 18th 2015, 6:55 AM

A few weeks ago Limerick firm who announced 200/300 jobs over the next three years recently hired on the first 4 people last week. The minister was on hand for the photo opportunity that day. The 4 who started are jobridge.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:13 AM

I don’t know whether that is true or not Trevor but if the jobs situation is so great like the gov trolls and politicians spin time after time, then why is JB still alive and kicking/ how come they are advertizing so many skilled, unskilled and technical jobs?

Mute Vannin
    Favourite Vannin
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:21 AM

Three years being the magic number Trevor, maybe they think the next government will be able to pull it off what they couldn’t.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:40 AM

Job Bridge is good because it allows people who can’t get jobs because they don’t have experience an entry into the job market. It is a real issue for the hospitality business where it is difficult to get reliable staff so employers inevitably prefer to take someone who has shown they can hack it. It also gives you the chance as an employer to take someone on at low cost and if they are a fit for the job you can keep them and ramp up the pay and training. Sure people whinge about it – and there have been abuses – but it works.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:48 AM

Tom not singling you out here but why are Architects jobs being advertised then if that is the case?

The reason why I say that is that an Architect goes through 5 years of college with one or two years in many cases worked on top of that in practice in those 5 years. Then they do a minimum of 2 years graduate work experience before registering as an architect. These people have bucket loads of qualifications, skills and experience yet they are on an internship scheme designed for people with no experience or skills as you say, And it’s not just architects there are a range of other professions that are being plundered by JB.

It’s actually in the T&Cs of JB not to take experience into account but in my experience of JB it’s one of the things organizations ask about and take people on the scheme because.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:56 AM

Teacher vacancies have also appeared on jobs bridge ads, despite work experience already being part of the teacher training syllabus.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Feb 18th 2015, 4:45 PM

a lot of companies making claims to hiring but behind it all are firing in other areas, making cuts, outsourcing. don’t believe the s*** you read, trust me ; ) its all replacement and people are still emigrating.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:49 AM

These new employers are clearly just FG trolls, creating jobs in order to pander to the government’s job creation and business startup initiatives.

SF will put a stop to this nonsense with 50% increase in employer PRSI as soon as we’re elected to government. we need to keep the ordinary people down in the trenches where our message is most convincing.

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:59 AM

As yes SF the partitionist party, only partitionists would have opposing policies in both countries on this island. Thats Shinners for you screaming an all ireland party but yet are driving the partitionist agenda at every turn in relation to every single policy they have. SF policy alone ensures there never will be a united ireland as they have a split personality depending on which country they are in. Its irony on a level none of them would understand :D

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:11 AM

that’s because someday SF will be asked what their economic solution is to abandoning the 18 billion a year the UK gives NI to make it look functional. The great unanswered question. Will the Irish taxpayer have to pay for their undemocratic dream?

Gerry will just go all silent, start stripping off, whistle for his dog and walk towards his trampoline.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 9:08 AM

John yes there is a question over the shortfall in their budget and many of my friends in the North that are at college are giving out about austerity like policies of their government. Heaven forbid if they felt real pain like we have.

That aside when East Germany rejoined West Germany and the many times the Jews flooded into Israel in droves nobody saw it as a deal breaker in terms of finances. Like these examples if a time ever comes where it is seen as the right thing to do we should do it. NI is a British country now but if it ever professes the desire to be part of the Republic we should take steps to integrate them whatever the cost. Historically, geographically and socially we are linked but in saying that the situation at the moment is brilliant and it’s great the way there is prolonged peace.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:15 AM

Is this the real life?
    Is this just fantasy?
    Caught in a landslide,
    No escape from reality

Mute Nick Caffrey
    Favourite Nick Caffrey
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:20 AM

The Mercury’s rising. ..

Mute David Wall
    Favourite David Wall
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:46 AM

I’d like to see Enterprise Ireland’s remit to include start ups serving the domestic market also, not just focus on the export market.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:56 AM

Absolutely, and it would be nice to hear them be more specific on what these jobs are. High tech is a ridiculously broad term

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:23 AM

Jim its not about craic its about real world things. Jobs are important to people but the people for many is that decent paid jobs seem to allude all but those with high tech education. At least for the moment until the market gets flooded with grads and a lot of the bigger companies move to cheaper countries with lower cost bases.

Mute Helen Gorman
    Favourite Helen Gorman
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:38 AM

Some people don’t want jobs but keep their benefits have to be seen to be doing the right thing. Yes it would be great to get all the people off the jobridge but the reality is a whole different story. There’s plenty of jobs for everyone it just might not be exactly what they want to be doing

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:40 AM

I hate that everybody here is suddenly referring to Social Welfare as “benefits” just because they saw a Channel 4 series.

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:42 AM

‘There’s plenty of jobs for everyone’ so nearly 350k just have high expectations so.
    So unemployment crisis is over good to know.

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Feb 18th 2015, 7:42 AM

The glass is always half empty Spider-Man. Accept this for what it is – good news. The overall numbers in work have risen significantly to close to the 2008 figure of 2,000,000 and no they are not all on job bridge.

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley

glass half empty those clowns would smash the glass :D

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:05 AM

No of course not all of the 2 million are on JB you plank. Nobody ever said that lmao.

What people are trying to say is that the figures are being massaged by internships, ce schemes, part time job schemes, education and training. When you go through the figures and sow them together it paints a very different figure than the media/ gov spun one. But the higher that figure goes up I suppose that also means more jobs are actually being created in the midst of all those plastic/ made up jobs.

Paul and Mrgill try not to come across like 2 men one cup whatever you guys do anyway…. :)

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:12 AM

Clearly you don’t get sarcasm. Also could you make your point without calling me a plank? Hardly mature and the sign of someone under pressure.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:18 AM

I reserve the right to call you or anyone I like anything I like under jest. Now if you don’t like that Paul go do me and 99.9 percent of people a favor and get feked.

Yet again you have no response to any of my very valid points which again means you have changed the subject. Do yourself a favor and believe the tribe you write before you write or just don’t bother debating it. It’s really simple and if you tried it you wouldn’t end up with egg on your face mo chara.

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:26 AM

Spider-Man you will give yourself ulcers at this rate. Cheer up and be more positive. 1,500 new quality jobs created. It is good news.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:36 AM

500 new jobs over 3 years or 1500 jobs as you say. But sure doesn’t 1500 new jobs have a nice ring to it regardless of whether they come online in reality or whether there is a timeframe attached.

Paul the only thing that is giving me an ulcer is listening to political celebrities and their cronies telling me that left is right, right is left, up is down, down is up, right is wrong, wrong is right and that it’s okay for me to have this and that as long as the people don’t have. And that is the sum total I’d say about how a lot of people out there feel Paul and you can deny and deflect and spin away from the facts or you at FG HQ can face facts that people are not happy with your record to date. People are watching you guys and we are not liking your arrogance, spin, vitrol towards the concerns of the people that matter in this country.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:46 AM

I have known Irish people to turn down bar work and cleaning jobs because they think it is below them and others deciding that a forty minute bus journey to work is too long. Not too many immigrants have those problems. There are jobs there as Helen said.

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:46 AM

Spider-Man this may surprise you, I am not in FGHQ and I am not even a member of FG. I will however vote FG in the next election. Who will you vote for? Also what policies (not objectives) would you like to see the government implement with regard to employment?

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:53 AM

Thomas money is always going to be a factor. If you travel to the city each morning for work it can cost e50-65 in circa/ week depending on where you live. When you take lunch and travel to the bus/train station into account that can be another e10-30. For a lot of the jobs out there at e8.65 an hour for 30-40 hours it isn’t going to pay the rent, car, bills and have money left over for food let alone some thin screed of social life. Hence why the DSP says “suitable employment” in it’s T&Cs.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:57 AM

350k Thomas as Helen says? Jobs for everyone.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 9:00 AM

Paul good for you. I wish you well with that. In terms of who I am going to vote in. I am not affiliated with any party but I am looking at Indpendents. I like what Shane Ross is talking about. I am also weighing up Sinn Féin and Fianna Fáil in my local area and trying to look past many of the things I don’t like about those parties.

I know I will get a lot of stick but let’s look logically at this. For decades we had growth in this country under FF. Yes they messed up the country and that may/ probably will be a dealbreaker for me and the people in my area but people really have to take account of the “fact” that under Fine Gael and Labour i.e the “Dreamteam” a right and left divide has opened up. This never happened under FF. People never knew what class warfare was until Enda Kenny got in. This is why I think Ireland needs a mix of FF, SF, and Indpendent grouping to move the country slightly left and reign in the increasingly right policies of this gov.

But hey that is just me. I will be abused for my opinion but when things iron out it probably will be the way things will go.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Feb 18th 2015, 9:13 AM

No Norman not 350 thousand jobs but I didn’t claim that. And spider all those costs also apply to immigrants. Plus they often don’t have the family and friend networks. Mostly the problem is they get more in total on the welfare than they do working. It is a rational choice. What I find appalling is that there are some Irish people who will do these jobs abroad, get paid less, but live simply and save money but in Ireland would not be seen dead doing them.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 9:21 AM

In terms of policies I would like to see an increase in third level funding or at least an easier system for parents and students to navigate because the SUSI system is not fit for purpose. This increase could be focused on key areas of growth or projected growth.

I would like to see postgraduate funding return. The private loan system is hard to get into especially if the graduates parents aren’t working and let’s face it e6500 k upwards a year is a lot of money that only the wealthiest can afford.

I would like to see Jobbridge if it is kept after the G.E to include a weekly commitment of e100 per week by each employer to reward anyone that takes that takes up the scheme and/ or a shortening of the length from 6 or 9 months to 3 or 6 months,

I would like to see less Ce Schemes/ Gateway/ Tús where people do the work for the council for x amount of money for 2-3 years and would rather see those people in actual council jobs for that same x amount of money.

I would like to see a genuine effort to get different age groups of people into decent paid work. We have FIS for people with children. I honestly don’t see why we can’t give long term unemployed e100-150 of the e350-500 that they get off the state to take up minimum wage employment. Surely a reduction in the spend would be a good thing?

I suppose to cover this and other things like affordable childcare to get people back to work we could cut the automatic entitlement of families to Children’s Allowance and State Pensions. Instead a salary cap at x amount could be brought in and that e6k per year tax free per child could go to better more targeted use.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 9:31 AM

Thomas hate to break it to you but the majority of Irish people that went abroad got better money vs the same job here regardless of the type of jobs available. That is a fact.

I know a few Polish people that explained their situation quite well to me. In Poland you get hammered with taxes on very low income vs when they come to Ireland and live they have a far higher income but less money taken out of their salary.

Thomas I am not disagreeing with you but you have to remember that we are on the back of a massive recession where wages have not come up to meet the living costs of people. People have mortgages, rents and debt that low paid work will not ease no matter what way you look at it. I personally would love if we could shove square pegs into round holes and make e50 in e500 notes but it’s just not possible. You do whatever makes sense.

If a cleaning job comes along that is paying double what a better job gives you then yes there is something wrong with the person that will not take up that cleaning job. But these cleaning jobs that pay better than other jobs are not there. Look up the ads they are looking for cleaners 2 hours here and there in most cases. The reality is that e16-20 isn’t going to feed someone Thomas will it?

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Feb 18th 2015, 12:59 PM

Thank you Spider-Man for getting back to me. I don’t disagree with any of your policies there. I also strongly believe that education and work experience are crucial. I don’t know what the cost of all that would be but it would be an investment.
    I also agree with your views on Shane Ross and even FF. However I do not agree that FG created a class divide and based on what SF have said about economic policy (& there in Dail antics) I would let them anywhere near government. Share Ross would not work with them either.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Feb 18th 2015, 4:47 PM

its going to get very interesting over the next year or two. the truth will be revealed.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Feb 18th 2015, 4:52 PM

spider man is spot on, oh lordy when will people wake up. its gone beyond hilarious now at this stage.

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne

We have alot of eggs in one basket which is worrying as the IT industry will eventually re adjust itself. It happened 2002 and it will happen again. We need to be more diverse and less exposed to one industry .

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:50 AM

It doesn’t improve with repetition.

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne
    Feb 18th 2015, 11:13 AM

There is a bug in the journal app not my fault.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Feb 18th 2015, 4:51 PM

theres a bug in many apps, they update them for new os systems then forget the older os systems lol, hoping people will run out and buy new phones. seriously apps are so frustrating, i can see it going away.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Feb 18th 2015, 10:24 AM

Even slaves have “jobs” any idea when pay and conditions will improve for the ordinary worker.

Mute Vannin
    Favourite Vannin
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:17 AM

“Three years” AGAIN, why’s it always three years, where’s the jobs that are needed now?
    Don’t get me wrong, any jobs going is a good thing, but this promising jobs in the far future stuff is just kak

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:19 AM

You are going to get god’s amount of abuse for spotting something very valid Vannin. You raise a credible point and every troll on this thing is going to light on you!!

Mute Vannin
    Favourite Vannin
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:27 AM

Ah Spidey, you got love the Trolls, got to make them happy as they’ve been very quiet with SF being top of the polls, hits them like the winter vomiting bug, poor little things :-)

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:41 AM

Because by that time the public will have forgotten about it when it dosen’t happen , they think that a press conference last week in croke park announcing help for the “regions ” is some how going to help stem rural emigration or help rural businesses thrive without broadband , or reverse rural decline , thats not being negative its telling the truth , empty sound bytes and promised future jobs are utterly dishonest ,any one who cheerleads for the people announcing this rubbish should take a long hard look at themselves.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:49 AM

Because Vannin it takes time to get a business up and running and ramp it up to full capacity… And in case you missed it these are not jobs paid by the Government.

Mute Vannin
    Favourite Vannin
    Feb 18th 2015, 9:12 AM

Thomas, Enterprise Ireland is a government agency, which implies “run by the government”.
    And as the jobs only exsist as a potental, why are they being advertised as real.
    Sounds very much like all the other “Next three years”, although one did say five.
    A job is only a job when its available, not as a “promise”.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Feb 18th 2015, 9:15 AM

But Cannon the jobs are not in Enterprise Ireland.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Feb 18th 2015, 9:15 AM

Vannin… Predictive text

Mute Vannin
    Favourite Vannin
    Feb 18th 2015, 9:58 AM

No worries Thomas, its the whole three year thing that bugs me, it’s all spin and it just gets peoples hopes up, before the smack in the teeth.
    If the jobs are there great, but even a few jobs now would be better, even realistic start-up ones, where as more than likely half of the “potental” ones will have gone to the wall by three years.
    We can all say everything will be grand in three years, but they were saying that (funnily enough) three years ago.

And it’s always three years.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Feb 18th 2015, 4:54 PM

3 year promises, can we keep an eye on them all and gauge them cos in 3 years time there won’t be a word about this unless so… might put the harness on them for pulling figures out of their hol*s. most of them will have failed by then anyway, 70% usually. ah well…

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne

We have alot of eggs in one basket which is worrying as the IT industry will eventually re adjust itself. It happened 2002 and it will happen again. We need to be more diverse and less exposed to one industry .

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:27 AM

FG up early today .

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Feb 18th 2015, 9:17 AM

FG folks work for a living… It is a fairly regular pattern that has us on early and the layabeds coming on stream with coffee and fags from 11 onwards

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 18th 2015, 9:33 AM

Having a job doesn’t make you any better than anyone else. The fact that you lorded that over Deco shows you as petty, immature and not a very good human being to say the least.

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Feb 18th 2015, 8:53 AM

Potential is written all over this, i hope it happens but with this Gov, i’ll believe it when its confirmed.

Mute Arthur Pewty
    Favourite Arthur Pewty
    Feb 18th 2015, 6:51 PM

Fair play girls!