You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pádraig Flynn pictured in 2004 Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

FF minister Pádraig Flynn took £50k corrupt payment - Mahon

Bertie Ahern knew about the payment but did not ask his then-cabinet colleague about it for almost a decade, the Tribunal has found.

FORMER FIANNA FÁIL government minister Pádraig Flynn used a corrupt payment of IRL£50,000 from a property developer for his own benefit, the Mahon Tribunal has found.

The inquiry’s final report states that senior Fianna Fáil figures including Bertie Ahern knew about the payment to Flynn in 1989 – but did not question him about it until after the establishment of the investigation in the late 1990s.

Flynn, who was Minister for the Environment at the time, “wrongly and corruptly” sought the payment from developer Tom Gilmartin then “proceeded to utilise the money for his personal benefit”, the Tribunal found.

A substantial portion of the money was reportedly used to buy a farm in Co Mayo in the name of Flynn’s wife.

When giving evidence to the Tribunal in 2008, Flynn denied that he personally benefited from the payment.

According to the final report, Gilmartin believed – and was told by Pádraig Flynn – that the payment was a donation to the Fianna Fáil party rather than to Flynn himself. The payment was made on the understanding that Flynn would “ease or remove obstacles” in the way of Gilmartin’s planned Quarryvale development.

Senior Fianna Fáil figures

The payment, and the fact that Flynn had not passed it on to the Fianna Fáil party, were known about by senior Fianna Fáil figures, the Tribunal found. Bertie Ahern was told of the payment by Gilmartin in 1989, while then-Taoiseach Albert Reynolds was informed in 1992.

Current Fianna Fáil TD and social protection spokesperson Seán Fleming – then the party’s financial controller – had examined the party’s official accounts and found no record of the donation from Gilmartin.

The report found it “noteworthy” that Ahern did not contact Flynn over the payment until 1998 or 1999, after the Tribunal had been set up and following “media speculation”. It stated:

When in October/November 1990 (and indeed in 1992) senior personnel within Fianna Fail had essentially the same information (effectively from ‘the horse’s mouth’) the matter was not raised with Mr Flynn at that time.

Flynn served as a European Commissioner representing Ireland until 1999.

Liveblog: Mahon Tribunal rejects Ahern evidence>

More: Full coverage of the Mahon Tribunal, including timeline and who’s who>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

40 Comments
    Mute Martin M
    Favourite Martin M
    Oct 1st 2019, 10:45 AM

PEOPLE POWER! Well done to all in Oughterard, just goes to show what can be achieved by standing up to bully boy government tactics.

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:00 AM

@Martin M: Shame on all involved. Oughterard hang your head in shame

Mute Martin M
    Favourite Martin M
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:04 AM

@Shane Freeney: Yesterday figures revealed homelessness has toppes 10,000 people, with some working on the ground suggesting the real figure is closer to 14,000. It’s the government that should hang their heads in shame, not us.

See 43 more replies ▾
    Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:08 AM

@Martin M: That’s not an excuse its a different issue. I don’t know many homeless that were living in the middle of a war.

Mute Galwaygogo
    Favourite Galwaygogo
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:13 AM

@Shane Freeney: asylum centres in old hotels are the modern day mother and baby homes, more housing is key to none military like caging of refugees, people who see these buildings as the best way are to me racist and fascist. Sham on you.

Mute Martin M
    Favourite Martin M
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:17 AM

@Shane Freeney: Well they’re actually intrinsically linked as you’d expect our government to prioritise the plight of Irish citizens first. Also, these are not Syrian refugees fleeing conflict, they are of African decent. They are not fleeing persecution, in fact if you done some research you would be shocked to discover many hail from holiday resorts that are frequented by westerners.

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:58 AM

@Shane Freeney: A very large amount of the people protesting were the “rent a mob” ultra right wingers, not actually connected to Oughterard at all.

Mute Anorack Jack
    Favourite Anorack Jack
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:03 PM

@Shane Freeney: Are you for Direct Provision Centres? It appears you are..
    Would you not offer to take an asylum seeker or 2 into your home? Because you sound so compassionate and like such a good humanitarian.

Mute Vote4Pedro
    Favourite Vote4Pedro
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:08 PM

@Do the Bort man: how does a person go about renting them?

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:10 PM

@Anorack Jack: You might be surprised what I do and have done

Mute Liam Kelly
    Favourite Liam Kelly
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:16 PM

@Do the Bort man: Do you really belive that?

People really are affected by what those mad communists put out there.

Didn’t think people were that gullible.

Mute Chonky Racoon
    Favourite Chonky Racoon
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:22 PM

@Shane Freeney: they aren’t seeking refuge from wars. There’s definitely a very small percentage of refugees who are.. But the fact of the matter is, the overwhelming majority are chancers and economic migrants.

Mute Julia Lemona
    Favourite Julia Lemona
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:29 PM

@Do the Bort man: how do you know that? Were you on the picket line?

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:31 PM

@Chonky Racoon: They They They….. These are people the very same as us….

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:14 PM

@Martin M: spot on, another great day for the racists

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:16 PM

@Shane Freeney: You take them , start a petition , to get them in to your area . I sign it.

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:17 PM

@Chris Mc: You know you can apply to dept to hour an asylum seeker I’m your own home.

Mute Gazza Lazza
    Favourite Gazza Lazza
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:18 PM

@Anorack Jack: Would you not offer yourself to take some in?

And yes I’ve offered before you start on that one.

Mute Gazza Lazza
    Favourite Gazza Lazza
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:19 PM

@Chonky Racoon: Any references to back up the claims you just made?

Mute Trevor Donoghue
    Favourite Trevor Donoghue
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:20 PM

@Shane Freeney: And yet there are many peaceful countries between ireland and there. Why risk their lives traveling so far? Honest question.

Mute Anorack Jack
    Favourite Anorack Jack
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:34 PM

@Gazza Lazza: Oh I already did that, saved her from poverty, she robbed me blind and fleeced the place. Tried reporting it to the GardaÍ but they didn’t want to get involved even though it was an illegal immigrant.
    I could’ve got myself into trouble for harbouring an Alien!
    Racism doesn’t come in to these issues, people need to be vetted and processed much quicker and then the chancers and thieves of which there are many should be booted out instantly when found out but instead we have the do gooder lefty libs who put the genuine asylum seekers at risk and to the back of the Q because of the opportunists.
    Get real and stop generalising when it comes to the true importance of this issue.

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:43 PM

@Martin M: Not asylum seekers fault that there’s homelessness. That’s squarely on FF and FG

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:44 PM

@Martin M: You’re spreading lies without proof. You have no idea where these people were coming from.

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:45 PM

@Anorack Jack: This is the most idiotic argument and people keep falling for it. Do you live in the Connemara Gateway hotel ‘Jack’? do you? Is somebody trying to put asylum seekers in your air BNB?

Mute Samhain Healy-Rae-Nua
    Favourite Samhain Healy-Rae-Nua
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:50 PM

@Martin M: Hi Martin. Can you please tell me how you know who was going to be placed in Oughterard and how you know they were “of African descent”; and also, what does being “of African descent” have to do with anything?

Mute Anorack Jack
    Favourite Anorack Jack
    Oct 1st 2019, 2:08 PM

@Do the Bort man:
    Ultra Right Wingers?
    Where’s your facts and how could you know intimately their political leanings?
    It seems like you’re making this land the ultra leftie lib wingers agenda that are making more of a political football out of this issue than those that you accuse.

Mute Anorack Jack
    Favourite Anorack Jack
    Oct 1st 2019, 2:30 PM

@Jessie Ginger: Do you agree with Direct Provision Centres? Sounds like a conflict of interest here.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Oct 1st 2019, 2:31 PM

@Shane Freeney: we are not talking of refugees being taken from Syrian camps – if we were, the government would be quick to tell us.
    While conditions in much of the world are indeed grim, it is beyond the capacity of European countries to offer alternative homes when we can’t even provide for our own working population.

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Oct 1st 2019, 3:37 PM

@Anorack Jack: Of course i don’t and i’m not stupid enough to conflate the issues. the protest was not about DP – it was about ‘DP in Oughterard’.

Ye all quickly changed the rhetoric when you realised the backlash against the racist comments… none of you care a single iota about where those human beings will live now that they wont be living in Oughterard.

Mute Anorack Jack
    Favourite Anorack Jack
    Oct 1st 2019, 4:00 PM

@Jessie Ginger: You’re Generalising and making sweeping judgements about people you know nothing about, that ironically in itself is a prejudice, the kind of bad principle you must disagree with yet demonstrate, it’s quite a double standard don’t you think?

Mute ➕The Gray➕
    Favourite ➕The Gray➕
    Oct 1st 2019, 5:18 PM

@Martin M:
    Exactly. Well done, their town, their choice.

Mute Kate Fogarty
    Favourite Kate Fogarty
    Oct 1st 2019, 5:30 PM

@Martin M: What power? They will symply be placed somewhere else, in much better conditions, at people’s expense. For example lot of them currently live in Clayton Hotel close to Dublin airport and none of them would prefer to change it for Oughterard.

Oct 1st 2019, 5:42 PM

@Shane Freeney: rubbish, there is always one

Mute Philip Howlin
    Favourite Philip Howlin
    Oct 1st 2019, 5:55 PM

@Shane Freeney: This is pure and simple a failed hotel operation trying to fill it’s rooms, regardless of who the occupants were, where they came from or under what conditions they had to endure.
    Hotels are not suitable accomodation on long term for anyone.

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 1st 2019, 5:58 PM

@Shane Freeney: On all even the kids who stood with their parents . Maybe shame on you and your little FG rant.

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 1st 2019, 5:59 PM

@Shane Freeney: Ask any one in north dublin or Clondalkin , plenty of war here .

Mute Angela Godfrey Maher
    Favourite Angela Godfrey Maher
    Oct 1st 2019, 6:17 PM

@Martin M: Really you bloody black hearted Racist

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry
    Oct 1st 2019, 7:14 PM

@Shane Freeney: do your research then judges

Mute Larry Brophy
    Favourite Larry Brophy
    Oct 1st 2019, 7:45 PM

@Gazza Lazza: 3673 applications in 2018. 2090 rejected.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Oct 1st 2019, 7:58 PM

@Shane Freeney: thankfully clowns like you are outweighed by us. Stay living in your city. The country is ruined from idiots like you. Get a job ya do gooder

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:20 PM

@Martin M: Now there’s an idea shift some of the homeless to Oughterard – Will they be all right lads!

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:22 PM

@Martin M: Ah Martin Is that because they are black – Shame on you!

Mute Diarmaid O'Riordáin
    Favourite Diarmaid O'Riordáin
    Oct 2nd 2019, 12:20 AM

@Galwaygogo: they’re asylum seekers not citizens you plank, they’re not due housing. This is a completely different issue to the housing crisis.

Mute Larry Roe
    Favourite Larry Roe
    Oct 2nd 2019, 7:54 AM

@Martin M: your grammer is shocking ,and your so called facts are out of the hole on your backside

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 2nd 2019, 4:45 PM

@Shane Freeney: What war ? , no one know were there from as they never arrived. They could be from Albania , South Africa , Gambia . Your Hysterics is pretty embarrassing for an adult Have you ever served in a war zone ? . I have .

Mute Matthew Handibode
    Favourite Matthew Handibode
    Oct 3rd 2019, 10:44 AM

@Martin M: Indeed, the amount of spinning going on from the government is shameful. Desperately trying to make those people out to be unreasonable racists. What they’re leaving out is that these hotels are mostly owned by people who have family or friends in the dail, and that they stand to make millions off letting a provision centre in.

Mute Mick Byrne
    Favourite Mick Byrne
    Oct 1st 2019, 10:51 AM

Congratulations to all involved, sadly this project will just move onto the next underutilsed tiger build. Stay vigilant people you don’t have to have this misguided EU policy forced upon you.

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:47 PM

@Mick Byrne: everyone involved is disgusting

Mute Anorack Jack
    Favourite Anorack Jack
    Oct 1st 2019, 2:37 PM

@Jessie Ginger: You condemn everyone involved as “disgusting” yet you consider yourself a compassionate humanitarian?
    Your good citizen principles appear to be at loggerheads with other those other humans who express a different view to yours so your own opinions actually happen to be a bit of an oxymoron.

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Oct 1st 2019, 3:38 PM

@Anorack Jack: I have zero issue with calling racists disgusting… i’m fine with that and don’t have to explain myself to you or anyone else like you.

Mute Anorack Jack
    Favourite Anorack Jack
    Oct 1st 2019, 3:55 PM

@Jessie Ginger: Your own self righteous views appear to be prejudiced, you are accusing someone or some people of something that they have not broken the law for, have any been charged with racism? let alone convicted, your own allegations are defamatory which it’s self is an offence, if you’re going to accuse and finger point from your high moral PC horse take a look at your own virtuous good self first.

Mute Jp Vaughan
    Favourite Jp Vaughan
    Oct 1st 2019, 5:45 PM

@Anorack Jack: Very well said.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Oct 1st 2019, 8:03 PM

@Jessie Ginger: hahahahaha another clown we have here. Thank heavens looneys like yourself are greatly out numbered

Mute Alan Fahy
    Favourite Alan Fahy
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:10 AM

Great! A victory for direct democracy. A defeat for the people-dumping money scam known as direct provision.

Mute Rosie
    Favourite Rosie
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:19 AM

Amazing how the Left Wing Liberals spew on here. Facts ~ Ireland can’t take in anymore immigrants. We are already on our knees, Brexit is coming, Health system in tatters, Agriculture . Homelessness [genuine] worst ever… It is easy to call people Bigots but Ireland has taken in more than enough and the Boat is sinking, to the brim.
    INTERESTING how the left wing politicians and those who bleat about Rascism live in houses that are not anywhere near these immigant centres, nor do they have any idea what it is like to live in an area where 1 in 6 is Irish. Get real !

Mute Charlie B
    Favourite Charlie B
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:23 AM

@Rosie: Genunine question….can you point me to a town in Ireland where there is 1 Irish person in every 6, please. I’d appreciate statistics and evidence that can be back up. Thanks.

Mute Martin M
    Favourite Martin M
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:25 AM

@Rosie: Well said Rosie, the leftie loons don’t like dealing in facts though. Instead they shout you down as being racist.

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mute Charlie B
    Favourite Charlie B
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:35 AM

@Martin M: Can I have those facts and statistics please….the reference to 1 person being Irish in every 6 is something that could be backed up by stats if true Id imagine. Thanks!

Mute Rosie
    Favourite Rosie
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:36 AM

@Charlie B: YES, where I live we have had a large influx of immigrants, I am not anti-Muslim, Anti-anyone, I am saying we cannot afford to put more people on a sinking ship. WE have done more than our bit.
    I can only conclude you are one of the people I mentioned in my previous post when you have to ask that question. There are 5 mosques within a small radius of where I live. I get on well with all immigrants but am not blind to the fact that I am often the only Irish person on a Luas carriage, that being in hospital 4 times this year, and with staff shortages, I got deadly infections. I note econimic migrants driving cars daily on my main road in burkas , [dangerous], There are now more immigrants where I live t han Irish people, and they are having baby after baby…. Call me a Bigot ~ nope I have good relations with same. It is the Govt. I blame, the boat is sinking and the fact u had to ask me that question shows you are naive, and live in an area wealthy enough not to have been affected .

Mute James Gannon
    Favourite James Gannon
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:42 AM

@Rosie: how many has Ireland taken in? Please enlighten all with this figure . What is this weight that is causing us to sink? Your 1 in 6 comment I’m sure is true.. However maybe in a London suburb, maybe in a Sydney or new York neighbourhood but not in Ireland.. Or maybe you can also enlighten us as to that location you bluster about?

Mute Charlie B
    Favourite Charlie B
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:43 AM

@Rosie: I only asked for stats and facts…..you assume I’m” one of those people”…..Kinda says more about you than anything…Thanks for your response… you are entitled to think and believe what you want. Im not naive….looking for facts and stats proves that…but thanks….you’ve mugged yourself right off here Rosie

Mute Darren B
    Favourite Darren B
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:48 AM

@Rosie: that is the biggest load of horseshit I’ve ever read. Considering there’s only 10 mosques in Ireland and two are in Galway and the other two are in the northeast you must live in Dublin. Is 6 mosques too much for a city of almost 2 million?

“I get on well with all immigrants but am not blind to the fact that I am often the only Irish person on a Luas carriage.” – do you profile everyone you meet in day-to-day life? Why don’t you put the headphones in, Kindle on and mind your own business like everyone else?

“being in hospital 4 times this year, and with staff shortages, I got deadly infections” – you’re still alive. Be thankful. And staff shortages have nothing to do with infections like MRSA, it’s your generation that have serious antibiotic immunity.

“I note econimic [sic.] migrants driving cars daily on my main road in burkas , [dangerous]” How do you know they’re economic migrants. And how do you know they’re dangerous driving?

“There are now more immigrants where I live t han Irish people, and they are having baby after baby” – lies

“the boat is sinking and the fact u had to ask me that question shows you are naive, and live in an area wealthy enough not to have been affected” – I live in the poorest postcode in Ireland.

Mute Eamonn O Connell
    Favourite Eamonn O Connell
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:03 PM

@Rosie: Rosie nothing against immigrants just not in Ireland

Mute Manbackonboard
    Favourite Manbackonboard
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:07 PM

@Rosie: That’s hilarious. There’s no such town in Ireland. How did you come to that conclusion? Maybe you looked in a cafe in a town your were passing through and saw 6 customer and only 1 had white skin?

Mute Manbackonboard
    Favourite Manbackonboard
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:10 PM

@Rosie: How many of the nurses and doctors that treated you weren’t Irish. Did you refuse treatment from the non Irish? You very much of “I’m not racist as long as they don’t live in my town, go to my school or get treated in my hospital”

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:20 PM

@Martin M: Stead on there Martin. I always vote left and yet I am totally opposed to these direct provision centre scams for reasons of undermining the local labour market to integration and assimilation concerns. This is not a right versus left issue and I think it is divisive enough without throwing petrol on it.

Mute stephen darling
    Favourite stephen darling

@Charlie B: Tyrellstown near Blanchardstown . Balbriggan also. Many parts of Ashbourne

Mute Charlie B
    Favourite Charlie B
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:30 PM

@stephen darling: Thanks Stephen,again I’m just looking for stats and facts to back up these claims, and none have been provided…..I live beside Blanch….its a mixed race community for sure but in no way, shape or form is there only 1 Irish person in every 6. I think any intelligent person can admit Rosie has had a ‘mare here, regardless of your view on this issue.

Mute Dublinguy2013
    Favourite Dublinguy2013
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:47 PM

@Rosie: I’ve never read such crap in my life. You’re full of lies and you sound like an absolutely disgusting person. I’m much rather an immigrant than someone like you any day.

Mute Anorack Jack
    Favourite Anorack Jack
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:47 PM

@Rosie: Well said Rosie, I’ve heard the far left loonies be selective about who should get preference when seeking asylum, I never heard them calling to take in the Yazidis from the Sinjar mountain during the genocide there in 2014 by Islamic psychopaths.
    it’s always healthy looking Muslims they want ‘saving’ for the optics but the likes of the Coptic Christians in Egypt can be burnt out of their homes and go to hell for all they care.
    it’s a political agenda with that lot not a humanitarian one, they’re all just mouthpiece virtue signallers.

Mute Charlie B
    Favourite Charlie B
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:39 PM

@Anorack Jack: WELL SAID ROSIE!!!!I JUST FOUND A HISTORY BOOK TO VIRTUE SIGNAL WHILE ACCUSING OTHERS OF THE SAME THING!!!!!! Bore off Jack, go back to Mattress Mick in your taxi you melt.

Mute Samhain Healy-Rae-Nua
    Favourite Samhain Healy-Rae-Nua
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:54 PM

@Rosie: Wow!

You’ve a great imagination, Rosie, and a great future as a fiction writer!

Mute Mary Dunphy
    Favourite Mary Dunphy
    Oct 1st 2019, 2:04 PM

@stephen darling: Some statistics on Balbriggan. Population 2002 – 10,294. Population 2006 – 15,559. Population 2016 census – 24,611 of whom 28% are non nationals. The 28% does not include those children who were born to non nationals and as such are Irish citizens. Balbriggan is a multicultural town and has residents not alone from the EU but also countries all over the world. Granted many former residents of Mosney Camp have been relocated to Balbriggan and this could explain the high percentage of non nationals.

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Oct 1st 2019, 3:40 PM

@Rosie: on it’s knees because of people voting repeatedly for the same… FG FF and the likes of Noel Grealish

I have lived near DP centres BTW and there were zero issues.And yes i’m still bleating about racism because that’s what this is.

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 1st 2019, 6:00 PM

@James Gannon: Pop on a night train in Balbrigian some time . Count them.

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Oct 1st 2019, 6:48 PM

@James Gannon: take a wander around ikea any weekend you will find it difficult to hear an irish accent…

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Oct 1st 2019, 7:15 PM

@Martin M: the word racist is so out of date. Reality bites

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Oct 1st 2019, 10:32 PM

@Martin M: Martin how many coloured people walked with you in protest at Direct Provision in Oughterard, or were you too busy trying to keep them out!

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Oct 1st 2019, 10:36 PM

@Martin M: and your a FAT racist!

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Oct 1st 2019, 10:38 PM

@Eamonn O Connell: We are a nation of immigrants!

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:36 PM

@James Gannon: your living in a little bubble obviously.

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:38 PM

@Darren B: I know exactly what you mean. People living in ivory towers don’t have a clue

Mute Seanboy
    Favourite Seanboy
    Oct 2nd 2019, 5:32 AM

@Charlie B: ballyhaunis

Mute Adam O'hEidhin
    Favourite Adam O'hEidhin
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:08 PM

The fact the government made direct provision exempt from the planning permission in 2015 tells you all you need to know about the viability of these projects.

Normally a project like this will only be granted planning permission if it has adequate local services and amenities for the people who will be in it and the locals already there. This centre and many like it fail on every single item. Not only that but they removed the ability for the locals to object through the planning permission process which is crazy as we are supposed to live in a democracy.

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Oct 1st 2019, 10:41 PM

@Adam O’hEidhin: Sure the building is there already why would you need Planning Permission. Change of use would hardly apply!

Mute Adam O'hEidhin
    Favourite Adam O'hEidhin
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:43 PM

@Grainnewhale: It is being used to house assylum seekers that are completely dependant on public services and the Irish tax payer. A holiday maker would bring money and jobs into the area. That’s quite a drastic change in use if you ask me. As they say don’t ruin a good story with the truth! Big wake up call for the looney left today. Irish people are awake.

Mute Mike Conway
    Favourite Mike Conway
    Oct 1st 2019, 4:02 PM

Fantastic news, well done to all in Oughterard.

Mute Willy Mc Bride
    Favourite Willy Mc Bride
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:05 PM

FFG need please their head patters in Brussels.
    The whole issue will secretly be moved elsewhere quietly. Greece moving people out. Leo and co , the big boys moving them in. FFG care less for issues outside the pale.

Mute Leo Lalor
    Favourite Leo Lalor
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:08 PM

The government are in place to listen to the people not as FF FG do imposing their PC ideology in small towns and villages throughout the country to appease Merkel and Company who laugh at us while our country and culture is being destroyed .

Mute padr4
    Favourite padr4
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:25 PM

Through their dignified protest and silent march the people of Oughterard have highlighted the inhumane Direct Provision system introduced as a sticking plaster but still in place two decades later, in so doing they have resisted the attempted hijacking of the campaign by the hateful hard left and the untrue slurs of the equally hateful hard left, who will now have to take their battles elsewhere,

Mute Aidan Mccullough
    Favourite Aidan Mccullough
    Oct 1st 2019, 6:13 PM

I live not too far from Mosney and have experienced asylum seekers.Generally,they have a bad name and are considered spongers.

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:25 PM

@Aidan Mccullough: So there are no Irish spongers.

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:06 PM

Another blatant obvious lesson the DoJ and government should learn from , what are the chances though or will they just look for another unsuitable local and try and sneak it in without consideration for the consequences for the locals.
    I am all for a proper asylum seekers system but currently it’s a mess

Mute J. Reid
    Favourite J. Reid
    Oct 1st 2019, 5:53 PM

The Government shouldn’t be “disappointed”. This is called democracy. They (the Government) should learn to respect it. We do not live in a command economy or authoritarian state.

Mute Clanrickard
    Favourite Clanrickard
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:09 AM

Wacist! Bigot! Islamophobe! Straight from the trendy lefty play book. Shout out names rather than engage. People don’t like being played for fools.

Peej
    Mute Peej
    Favourite Peej
    Oct 1st 2019, 10:58 AM

Absolutely disgraceful, why are the government giving into these far right xenophobic whack jobs. Especially after the Irish Times and multiple independent sources exposed a certain group of people from gaslighting this entire situation at a town hall meeting in Oughterard where a TD was recorded spewing a hateful anti immigration rhetoric, granted the local community had concerns but it was completely over run by the anti immigration far right. This toxic attitude toward immigration needs to change.

Mute Rocky Loveridge
    Favourite Rocky Loveridge
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:26 AM

@Peej: ah yes the Irish Times article that did nothing to address the locals concerns, it just implied under a thin layer of contempt that they were simple locals being misled by far right boogeymen.

You’re another man with nothing to contribute, just labels for locals.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:28 AM

@Peej: You are easily upset. You should put more of your energy into forcing our government to provide more adequate facilities for those people instead of just dumping them onto Irish towns and villages and let them deal with it.

Its time you and your peers cop the feck on and grew up.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Brendan Gordon
    Favourite Brendan Gordon
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:30 AM

@Peej: I agree with you about the hijacking of the cause by right wing elements, but this is a good result, the town is not a suitable location in any way. Shoving asylum seekers into rural towns with poor infrastructure is not helpful for anyone.

Peej
    Mute Peej
    Favourite Peej

@Rocky Loveridge: it’s a fact that they were misled by the people that hijacked their townhall meeting. If they weren’t misled by the “far right boogeymen” as you say, then why was the entire campaign ran by a very well known far right racist. (not going to use names here because we all know they love an opportunity to scream defamation). Why were there people at the townhall meeting that don’t live in the town let alone have any connection to it only to spread falsities about the people that would be housed in the direct provision centre? Where did the money come from for the big professionally printed banners, t-shirts, placards, flyers? Not just the Irish times that highlights this but people that had actually attended the meeting where a certain TD was recorded giving a racist speech.

Mute Adam O'hEidhin
    Favourite Adam O'hEidhin
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:48 AM

@Peej: No resources, no plan and no access to jobs. Social problem nuke bomb in the making.

Politicians made direct provision centres exempt from planning permission / public consultation in 2015 as anyone with half a brain knows a town like this in the west of ireland doesnt have resources to support their own let alone a large group of war victims. But there is big money in these centers so they just try to steamroll the locals and try and build it on the sly.

Well done to these people who stood up to corrupt Fianna Fail Fianna Gael trying to make a quick buck a the expense of not just the people of Galway but the war victims as well.

Mute Rocky Loveridge
    Favourite Rocky Loveridge
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:50 AM

@Peej: ok pal. On what aspects were they misled? Did the dastardly far right manage to convince the poor native savage in Oughterard that they do actually have enough doctors, schools and local amenities.

Your hatred for these people are their legitimate concerns only strengthens their resolve. Well done to all the locals for remaining firm

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:12 PM

@Rocky Loveridge: His hatred for anything and everything outside of “tree hugging activities” is pretty alarming in my opinion. Basic cop on and understanding the local issues with such facilities seems beyond some people.

Mute Paul White.
    Favourite Paul White.
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:13 PM

@Peej: Your comment is ignorant and baseless.

Mute Adam O'hEidhin
    Favourite Adam O'hEidhin
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:26 PM

@David Corrigan: Basic cop on and understanding is something the average liberal doesn’t possess these days. No understanding of basic facts and figures. But a great selection of words to describe people who have facts and figures – ‘racist’ ‘bigot’ xenofobe’ etc…the looney left thing is really getting old now.

Mute Anorack Jack
    Favourite Anorack Jack
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:49 PM

@Peej: Virtue Signaller, take in a Family in need if you’re such a good citizen yourself.

Mute Anorack Jack
    Favourite Anorack Jack
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:50 PM

@Adam O’hEidhin: Spot on.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:55 PM

@Adam O’hEidhin: They really do get on my nerves at this stage. I am all for fair play and helping people but I get sick to the back teeth of listening to brats who are “outraged” at everything. I suspect the most of them don’t even understand what they are outraged at!

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:56 PM

@Peej: A whole town is far right , the town’s that accepted them must be far left . With your logic.

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Oct 1st 2019, 3:44 PM

@Rocky Loveridge: locals ‘concerns’ were xenophobic… nothing the government can do about the nasty opinions ye hold

Mute Pickles
    Favourite Pickles
    Oct 1st 2019, 6:01 PM

@Jessie Ginger: you’re some knob.

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Oct 1st 2019, 6:42 PM

@Peej: Xenophobic, racist, bigot, far left, facist, all words straight from the PC Manual. Would it be possible for you to compose a sentence without using them? I doubt it.

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:27 PM

@Peej: Oh well, if it’s in the Irish Times, it must be true!

Mute Do the Bort man

There is only one group of people to blame here, our current government. The idea of dumping vulnerable people in rural hotels, with no plans to integrate them into the local community is just idiotic. Of course the locals were going to have many questions when there was talks of a direct provision centre being opened, however their questions were met with silence by the elected TDs, but they were given fearful answers from right wing groups. You can copy and paste what has happened in Oughterard to Rooskey in Leitrim, Bray in Wicklow, and probably more towns and villages in the future. If Oughterard was to have taken in 5 families, with a clear plan as to how they would have been integrated/educated and accommodated, and that plan communicated to the local community, I don’t believe there would have been a problem.

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Oct 1st 2019, 2:39 PM

The system of direct provision is a shameful way of washing our hands of the refugee problem by hiding them away in rural areas. What happened to the direct provision center they proposed for Ballsbridge? The locals protested and the plan was scrubbed. Are the residents of Ballsbridge a bunch of far right racists? According to the standards of ignorant leftists in this country, they are.
    The people of Oughterard were dead right to protest this center. Fair play to them.
    Former and current refugees living in this area of the country have been at pains to praise the area and say how welcome they feel. I think they would know better then most people commenting here.
    It’s up to the government to come up with a more humane way of treating refugees. Direct Provision is a failed policy.

Mute Mike Conway
    Favourite Mike Conway
    Oct 1st 2019, 7:41 PM

I imagine alot of the lefties on here would feel very different if they were told a direct provision centre was opening near them!

Mute Leo Lalor
    Favourite Leo Lalor
    Oct 1st 2019, 7:22 PM

People have had enough of being bullied .

Mute Shem
    Favourite Shem
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:31 PM

I wonder how many attendees of that civic action will turn their attention to put a round the clock pressure on the Gov to house homeless in that abounded hotel?? I predict ZERO !

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Oct 1st 2019, 3:44 PM

@Shem: ZERO

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 1st 2019, 6:02 PM

@Shem: You do stupid well.

Mute Keith O'Reilly
    Favourite Keith O'Reilly
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:09 AM

The best thing you can say is at least they didn’t try and burn it down this time.

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:54 PM

@Keith O’Reilly: Best t Bing you can say is , a whole town stood together.

Mute Kevin Fahey
    Favourite Kevin Fahey

You should be very proud of yourselves from now on it will be drive through that town no stop

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:51 PM

@Kevin Fahey: Watch your speed.

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Oct 1st 2019, 3:45 PM

@Kevin Fahey: Agreed. I will not be going to the pub owned by one of the organisers any more… shame on him

Mute Anorack Jack
    Favourite Anorack Jack
    Oct 1st 2019, 4:12 PM

@Jessie Ginger: I’m sure they’re really worried about that.

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Oct 1st 2019, 7:17 PM

@Jessie Ginger: they’ll really miss your business

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:26 PM

@Kevin Fahey: All inbred!

Mute David Reilly
    Favourite David Reilly
    Oct 1st 2019, 8:07 PM

Can anyone tell me, why does the government have to keep trying to get these provision centre open, when all it causing is problems for the local people, why not put try putting 1 family of asylum seekers in different towns all around the country, would be a lot easier with less back lash from the community.

Mute Darren B
    Favourite Darren B
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:01 AM

Shameful bigots. They’d prepare an empty town with a few whites then a thriving town.

Mute Devilsavocado
    Favourite Devilsavocado
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:24 AM

@Darren B: genuine question Darren, what are all the people that would of been placed in the hotel going to do down there?? Is there work for them?? Is there schools for children?? By the way I think we should take in immigrants, but the town of Oughterard from what I can see is in the middle of nowhere with the nearest city almost 30km away. Does it not seem a bit strange to put them in a place where they will have literally nothing to do but wander around all day in boredom?? That can’t be good for them or the town,, would you agree with that??

Mute my name
    Favourite my name
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:31 AM

@Darren B: you’ve done a fair bit of looking down your nose at others on here Darren.

Mute Darren B
    Favourite Darren B

@Devilsavocado: so should the town be vacated if it’s that bad then? There’s no reasoning with you people at all!

Mute Brendan Gordon
    Favourite Brendan Gordon
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:37 AM

@Devilsavocado: Agree. A good outcome resulting from some genuinely concerned locals and some genuinely awful bigots. It’s a pity that most of the discourse arising from this will more likely be hateful fear mongering than how we can better accommodate vulnerable immigrants in a way that can work with local communities instead of putting more pressure on them.

Mute Devilsavocado
    Favourite Devilsavocado
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:52 AM

@Darren B: You people???? What the hell is that supposed to mean? You say you are a proud liberal, but you don’t seem to give a damn about the people of oughterads concerns. You just prefer to label them with vile terms like bigots, racists, or xenophobes. The town seems to be big enough to support its tiny population, I’m wondering how many that were born there have had to leave and live outside their birth place just to seek decent employment. People like you give liberals a bad name, to hell with anyone who has a different opinion to yours,, you say people should be ashamed, I say you should look in the mirror…

Mute Do the Bort man

@Darren B: Dig deeper into it Darren, this was never about the government helping out the immigrants, or was it to the benefit of Oughterard, it was just a box ticking exercise for the government to take in X number of immigrants. What town/village’s local services can handle a 30% population increase overnight? Where would their kids go to school? Would the heath care facilities in the area be improved? What job opportunities would the immigrants have, and how would they be integrated? None of these questions were actually answered by the government, the right wing nuts answered it for the locals, and filled them with fear. If the government actually had a plan in place, then they would have addressed the locals genuine concerns, however its clear they didn’t actually have a plan at all, and the chances are that the hotel would have become a glorified ghetto, which would have been a disaster for everyone involved.

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:53 PM

@Darren B: How is that white hate working out for you ?.

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Oct 1st 2019, 4:07 PM

@Darren B: It’s ‘prefer’ and you are an outrage junkie. Anyone with an ounce of common sense can see that Direct Provision is a failed policy and is actually inhumane to those caught in it’s net.
    Adding 250 people with no right to work to a small remote town of 1500 is ludicrous.

Mute Anorack Jack
    Favourite Anorack Jack
    Oct 1st 2019, 4:18 PM

@Darren B: White Shaming? You must be embarrassed to be one yourself poor Snowflake.

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Oct 1st 2019, 6:49 PM

@Darren B: Most locals would have land or be employed on farms. Why would they leave their homes?

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Oct 1st 2019, 7:31 PM

@Josh Hanners: it’s hard to know where to begin to answer such a stupid and ignorant question.
    Most locals in Oughterard and much of the west of Ireland are accustomed to their offspring leaving the area and frequently leaving Ireland to get work.
    (This might seem peculiar if you live on the dole in Dublin and depend on the Corpa to get you a house near yur Ma).
    Most don’t work on farms and if you paid any attention to recent news reports you would know it wouldn’t provide a living if they did.

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:46 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: I must say your post quite leaves me at sea. I replied to B Darren who said the people of Oughtererd should vacate the town. Your rant, apart from making assumptions about me which are totally false, is an idiotic exercise in inanity.

Mute Anorack Jack
    Favourite Anorack Jack
    Oct 2nd 2019, 12:38 AM

@Thomas Sheridan:
    Ahh good stereotyping, you forget to mention inner City Dubs living on battered sausages.

Mute Owen Lynch
    Favourite Owen Lynch
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:08 AM

New owners deal back on the table.

Mute Anto H
    Favourite Anto H

Intollerance 1 Compassion 0

Noeo Grealish TD will be delighted those ‘spoungers’ won’t be allowed into town.

Shame

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:58 PM

@Anto H: Do you live there , oh wise one.

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Oct 1st 2019, 2:42 PM

@Anto H: You think it’s good policy to add 250 people who are not allowed to work into a town with just 1500? Does ‘out of sight, out of mind’ sound like a good policy to you?
    That’s what direct provision is all about.

Mute Anto H
    Favourite Anto H
    Oct 1st 2019, 4:14 PM

@Will: Hi Will. I think these people need help. The town of Oughterard has turned them away when they needed it. The local TD called them spoungers and has still yet to be reprimanded for it by Leo and his gang. They’re not the only town who’s done this, eg. Rooskey. Other areas have helped even when stretched. The point is they’d have a better life in Oughterard, Rooskey, etc than what they have now, it’s everyone’s duty to help them out.

Pints on Grealish tonight

Mute Anto H
    Favourite Anto H
    Oct 1st 2019, 4:28 PM

@Will: I also feel very sorry for the kids who would have benefited from the schools, sports clubs and interaction with other kids that they won’t get now. Its a sad day to not be able to give them these things even though we were able to

Mute Anorack Jack
    Favourite Anorack Jack
    Oct 2nd 2019, 10:22 AM

@Anto H: Do you think Direct Provision centres are a good thing now all of a sudden like Mosney?
    Funny how all the same Far Left wing so called Liberal ‘good citizens’ have been campaigning against the immoral DP centres in the Republic for years now but are up in arms going out of their way to try shame the people of Oughterard for not wanting a DIrect Provision Centre!
    Make up your minds, your ‘outrage’ lacks consistency and looks confused without any semblance of sincerity in principle and credibility now.

Mute Adam O'hEidhin
    Favourite Adam O'hEidhin
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:42 PM

It is being used to house assylum seekers that are completely dependant on public services and the Irish tax payer. A holiday maker would bring money and jobs into the area. That’s quite a drastic change in use if you ask me. As they say don’t ruin a good story with the truth! Big wake up call for the looney left today. Irish people are awake.

Mute Paul Dooley
    Favourite Paul Dooley
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:32 PM

Noel grealish shame
    They couldn’t have done it without you

It’s a long long road
    Best wishes my friend

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:27 PM

@Paul Dooley: What goes around comes around – remember!

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:38 PM

They have given into hateful right wing lies… shame on Oughterard

Mute Mike Conway
    Favourite Mike Conway
    Oct 1st 2019, 4:20 PM

@Jessie Ginger: Yea, I’m sure you would be delighted with a provision centre near you.

Mute Wade Wilson
    Favourite Wade Wilson
    Oct 1st 2019, 7:41 PM

As the world is watching tourists won’t visit there now. When the town complains they are getting no assistance and the local economy is collapsing don’t expect anyone to support them not even the racists who are done with them now and aren’t going to be any help.

Mute Damien Mc Padden
    Favourite Damien Mc Padden
    Oct 1st 2019, 8:22 PM

@Wade Wilson: I doubt that tourists are reading Irish local news stories that regularly. I also suspect that the tourists that do visit Connemara do so for its unspoilt landscape and its inhabitants’ singular homogeneity.

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Oct 1st 2019, 10:12 PM

@Damien Mc Padden: Yes and the sign should read “Welcome to Oughterard – Racist Capital of Ireland” – yes you’ll wake up some morning and Banksy will have been there!

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 2nd 2019, 10:26 AM

The Parties are afraid of losing votes over this . So I imagine a new plan will come soon . An Anti immigration party I would imagine will do very well in the Next election. As the traditional ones just are not listening.

Mute Aindriú Ó Searcaigh
    Favourite Aindriú Ó Searcaigh
    Oct 1st 2019, 7:05 PM

@Kevin Fahey: probably the same gang of people as we saw in Roscommon a few months ago. No mandate, not elected by the people.

Mute Nowa Huta
    Favourite Nowa Huta
    Oct 1st 2019, 7:38 PM

@Aindriú Ó Searcaigh: im sure you would only be thrilled to have a direct provision centre on your door step. I bet you are another one of those people on here who scream racist and other outrageous comments yet you live in your own little suburban paradise and want it kept that way

Mute Conor Noonan
    Favourite Conor Noonan
    Oct 1st 2019, 10:49 AM

I swiped left on this story !!!!

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 1st 2019, 5:43 PM

After organising extra doctors , buses , extra school places . Information booklets to let the local people of the village know the long term plan. Yeah right ha ha ha

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 2nd 2019, 1:06 PM

An anti immigration party should do well in the next election. Well done FG.

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 1st 2019, 8:57 PM
    Mute Angela Godfrey Maher
    Favourite Angela Godfrey Maher
    Oct 1st 2019, 6:18 PM

What a load of BLACK HEATED RACITS

Mute Alan Fahy
    Favourite Alan Fahy
    Oct 1st 2019, 6:48 PM

@Angela Godfrey Maher: Sorry, what are you talking about? RACITS! Maybe you mean “rabbits”. Oh, now I get it – a load of rabbits in black heat. I think you have the wrong article here, dear. You obviously meant to reply to the one about the bunnies in mating season.

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:16 PM

@Angela Godfrey Maher: Who ? , if a non white complains about non whites are they racist ?

Mute Tony Moore
    Favourite Tony Moore

There coming to a village near you ha ha .