You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Leah Farrell
Fine Gael Think-In
Varadkar understands why people might be 'sceptical' that Fine Gael can solve the homeless crisis
The Taoiseach says his party does not lack compassion when it comes to solving the crisis.
1.39pm, 6 Sep 2018
TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has said he can understand why people might be “skeptical” that Fine Gael can solve the housing and homelessness crisis.
Making his comments at his party’s annual think-in taking place in Galway this year, he said the rise in the number of people in emergency accommodation cannot be described as progress.
In September last year, when the last party think-in was held, there were 8,300 people homeless. That figure now stands at 9,891.
This is Leo Varadkar’s second think-in as Taoiseach. His first inning got him in a bit of hot water when he was heavily criticised for comments he made to this website insisting that Ireland has “one of the lowest levels of homelessness” despite a record number of people living in emergency accommodation.
His remarks dominated the news cycle for the following two weeks.
This year’s theme for the party away days is “purpose” and “progress”, however when asked how the rise in homeless figures can be described as progress, the Taoiseach admitted it cannot.
I don’t think the rise in the number of people in emergency accommodation can be described as progress. It is evident to everyone we are still going in the wrong direction when it comes to emergency accommodation.
We are by no means in denial about that but it is something we are working on. Just like the economic crisis or the employment crisis it can take time for policies to work and for people to see those results in their communities and in their lives, but it is something we are determined to do.
Taoiseach Leo Varadkar tells @thejournal_ie that he can understand why people might be ‘skeptical’ that Fine Gael will solve the housing and homeless crisis pic.twitter.com/tAxbcaCBxs
During his speech at the party’s national conference last year, the Taoiseach said that only “cynical” people say that his party cannot solve the crisis, but when asked if he still believes that is the case, he replied:
Eh, I am not sure I would use the term cynical. I can understand why people are sceptical. If there was a quick fix solution to this problem I think other political parties would have put that forward.
He also utterly rejected the suggestion that Fine Gael lacks compassion in terms of dealing with the homeless crisis.
“I totally reject that,” he told reporters.
This is not a case of a lack of commitment or a lack of compassion.
In his speech to party members today, which, in a departure from last year, was closed off to the media this afternoon, Varadkar said:
All of us here fully appreciate the extent and depth of the housing crisis and the enormous challenge of homelessness. We all know it in particular from our work as constituency TDs. We know the individual cases and we see the bigger picture.
Let there be no mistake, Fine Gael believes firmly that every family should have a place to call home.
Fine Gael is the party of home ownership and it is our mission to ensure that home ownership becomes achievable and affordable again for many who today feel it is beyond their reach.
The Taoiseach also used his speech to thank the Housing Minister Eoghan Murphy.
“I want to commend Eoghan Murphy and all that he has done in the last year to improve a very difficult situation that was many years if not decades in the making,” he said.
Housing Minister Eoghan Murphy at the party's think-in in Galway Leah Farrell
Leah Farrell
Murphy has come in for heavy criticism over the summer, with Sinn Féin committing to putting down a motion of no confidence in the minister when the Dáil returns. However, it is not likely to result in his removal, as Fianna Fáil have said it will not support it.
While the Taoiseach said this year’s Budget will not be a housing budget, stating that throwing money at the situation will not necessarily solve it, he did point out what progresses he believes his government are making in the area.
While there is a lack of progress in terms of those in emergency accommodation, there is progress in other areas, such as new house builds, the beginning of rent stabilisation and a fall off in the number of rough sleepers, he said.
“The number of rough sleepers is down by about 40% and that is evident to people who walk around Dublin that there are fewer rough sleepers than there were than this time last year and that is because of Housing First [policy] and our partnership with the Peter McVerry Trust, which is working on that front.
“The number of new homes built – 4,400 new homes built-in the last three months – more than were built-in the entire year of 2010 – so I don’t think anyone can deny that progress. And if you look at official statistics when it comes to rent, the ESRI and RTB statistics – you see rent increases of about 2% over the past six months as opposed to double-digit increases we would have had in the past.
“So there are areas we do have progress in compared to last year – new homes, rough sleeping and the beginning to stabilise rents. We aren’t seeing that progress yet reflected in emergency accommodation, but we are going to keep working,” said the Taoiseach.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
It’s good to know the little darling are going into a state of the art facility at Trinity house. Nothing but the best for the “disadvantaged” while 20km up the road in the Lourdes hospital elderly people that worked hard all their lives wait 12 hours to be seen.
What a thoroughly ignorant and uncivilised viewpoint! You know nothing about these kids or the ‘childhood’ they’ve had. Comparing the centre to a hospital is completely irrelevant. A society is judged on how it treats its most vulnerable. That includes how we treat our elderly as well as those who break the law.
Have any of the perverts who took joy out of bullying and stripping boys been caught and prosecuted?
Martin. Maybe you too would have an “ignorant and uncivilised viewpoint” if your property was beong constantly damaged or stolen by the “vulnerable” kids. Here a mad idea. Maybe the state should look after the people that actually work and contribute to society in the same manner as they do the disadvantaged.
Yes Darren, vulnerable. If you step back and look at the big picture you should see that your simple view that these often violent individuals, who have done terrible things, can’t be fixed with more violence and degredation.
Protect society, yes – but not at the cost of anyone’s dignity.
Mickmc – I’ve had lots of crime committed against me, I’ve had loved ones mugged, bikes, cars, motorbikes wrecked, house broken into, but STILL I would NOT stoop to violating a young person out of some kind of twisted revenge.
A civilised society will take a more mature and pragmatic view of all of this. I’m glad we have and that this institution has been closed. I’d still expect that anyone who has taken abusive action against these kids is dealt with. Just because they do terrible things does not make them terrible people.
Patlyndo thanks for your assessment. I will politely disagree with it. I am neither ignorant or naive thank you and I am well aware of how the world works. Unlike you however, I have given it a bit of thought and realised that more of the same will produce more of the same. Brutality begets brutality.
Patlyndo – I think you’re losing the run of yourself. Unnecessarily stripping a young man is perversion.
You then said that I had accused staff of all kinds of brutality. I didn’t. Are you forgetting that what I said is in black and white for everyone to read? So there’s no point in lying about what I’m saying.
Ok Martin
The building in st pats is covered in cameras so it should be no problem in catching these “perverts”. These “kids” target the most vulnerable in society. They rob the old of their possessions and bully vulnerable kids and that is why their locked up. They commit crimes such as murder, rape and robberies. Pedophiles have been locked up there. These kids where
Abandoned by their parents and they should be held responsible to. As for the cutting of the clothes it was only done in extreme circumstances. Would you rather a suicidal kid used track suit bottoms to hang himself?
I assume you’ve read the full report? And no I wouldn’t ‘rather a suicidal kid was left with clothes to hang himself’ and citing an extreme example to justify cruel treatment is a standard ploy.
Read the report. Why weren’t procedures followed as mandated by the inspector? Why were prisoners afraid of staff? Why were 18 year olds in solitary confinement? Clearly this has been considered serious enough to close the institution by those closer to it than any of us. But I’d still like to know that the system that makes staff behave in an inhumane way, or that facilitates inhumane staff, is fixed. And that those who are attracted to this kind of work for the wrong reasons are pointed out and removed. We’ve plenty of history of abuse of kids by the state and religion in this country. ENOUGH!
Orla (the writer of this piece)
I think this article is a disgrace and once again an attempt to blacking the name of the staff who worked in pats. Just so you know pats is not closing down. It will no longer house 17 year olds. Adults will be sent there under a different name of mount joy west. This government still deems the building good enough for adults. Not one member of staff has lost his/her job from this report. Strange ? But never mentioned in the articles. In five years time please research where the kids of obberstown are ? From experience I can’t predict the future but my guess will be in prison and possibly mountjoy west !!!!!
Are you still looking? By the way, your denial that you accused staff of all kinds of brutality kinda falls down when you then say:
“but STILL I would NOT stoop to violating a young person out of some kind of twisted revenge.”
It is the case that the drug culture that exists on the outside has carried on into all prisons, the problem in St. Pat’s was acknolwedged in the report as the worst.
The staff were dealing with violent, angry and aggressive drug addicted juveniles who would assault them with little or no provocation, or to get themselves put on 23 hour lockup because another prisoner wanted them dead due to a drug debt.
The visits became screened and when airport security was eventually introduced (forget which year) everyone wanted the “family” visits because there were no screens and this was a way to get drugs into the prisons.
The real vulnerable prisoners were the new ones who were going back and forth to court – these were the target of the hard men, who would threaten them to get drugs at the court and bring them in internally – if not then they would be beaten up.
You have absolutely zero clue of what went on in that or any other prison and anyone who takes what drug addicts, liars and thieves tell them at face value are fools.
“Drugs and contraband in St. Patricks (p.28)
Illegal drugs and contraband are a problem in all prisons. It appears that the problem is worst in St. Patricks. St. Patricks forms part of the larger Mountjoy Complex and is situated in a densely populated urban area.
Drugs and contraband get into prisons in a number of ways of which the following are the most common:-
• By being thrown over the perimeter walls into the yards.
• By being brought in by prisoners’ visitors.
• By being brought in by prisoners. This can be on their persons or internally.
• By being brought in by persons working in the prison or providing services to the prison.
I have been informed that the vast majority of drugs and contraband come in over the walls.”
Proof of the chronic drug problem in St. Pat’s.
“1.3 A combination of, inter alia, weak management, the culture in the prison, the
inattention to human rights norms, prisoners on protection and the prevalence
of drugs means that St. Patricks has not lived up to the mission statement of
the Irish Prison Service.
1.4 Paragraph 1.3 is not to be taken as an indictment of the vast majority of
officers who, in the course of their work, show respect to and
understanding of the prisoners in their care. They act in a professional
manner when at times circumstances can be very challenging.”
Proof that the vast majority of staff acted in a professional and caring manner showing respect to prisoners – the TINY minority should have been NAMED AND SHAMED AND SACKED – but the truth is that the regime was from management in the full knowledge of the Department of Justice.
The hard truth is that the staff worked in extremely tough conditions with angry violent drug addcited young men – and the had no support from management or the department of justice.
They are now taking the flack for the failures evn though the report has actually exonerated the VAST MAJORITY.
You are agreeing with me on the key point: “the TINY minority should have been NAMED AND SHAMED AND SACKED”
Have they been?
I’ve friends who are prison officers and they start out with great intentions and are brutalised by the system. It’s not a job I would wish on my worse enemy.
I know that most are decent, and that SOME are not. That’s what I’ve been saying.
“You are agreeing with me on the key point: “the TINY minority should have been NAMED AND SHAMED AND SACKED”
No, we are not agreeing – you tarnished all staff based on the report which clearly exonerated the vast majority.
“Have they been?”
No – and that is the KEY POINT – where are they? They have not been arrested, investigated, named or sacked and that brings me back to this part of my post which you conveniently ignored:
“but the truth is that the regime was from management in the full knowledge of the Department of Justice.”
The Judge didn’t like the regime, he alludes to “some” staff (tiny minority), yet you have to remember that this is based purely on allegations from prisoners – and I guess they wouldn’t lie eh?
Martin
I’ve worked there. Feel free to ask any questions ? As for feeling scared of staff what do you think a 17 year old is going to say ? These kids hate their parents, teachers, social workers guards and officers. There is cameras every where in the building. As for the report not one officer was asked his/her opinion on anything by the judge. So straight away it’s one sided. I can tell you a lot of faults with that building but abuse was not one if them. What you do with the 18 year old ? Mix him in the general population of the prison ? I can think of two if my head and one was there because he gave the guards info and the other was a pedophile. These guys would be killed if they mixed. As for feeling scared how do you think I feel working on a landing with 40 prisoners on my own ??? There is two sides to this. I have read the report and it upsets me that that people who don’t know me can judge me and compare me to the vile priests of this country. I have a kid for christs sake. I suggest you read the independent reports done by the visiting comitee. There an independent group! And can be quite critical and positive about prisons.
Minister for justice Alan shatter would not let theirs be released as it differed from the judges ??? He isn’t corrupt is he ??
And yes I agree with you anybody found abusing their position should be sacked. In a job that employs 3000 plus you think there won’t be bad eggs? Common sense will tell you that but that’s not exclusive to the prison service. The very people that run our country abuse their positions and I’m sure somebody in your job does. I work in an adult prison now and they are far easier places to work. I have nothing but respect for the staff who worked in
Pats, officers, teachers, social workers medical professionals etc etc these kids had the worst possible life’s and failed by all adults in there life’s and when 250 get together and add drugs thrust me it was one horrible place to work.
“In all of my reports to date I have reported on what I have found in prisons and
left comment to others. However, I would be in dereliction of my duty if I
did not say that locking up 16 and 17 year old children for 23 hours a day
offends against all that should be expected of a civilised society in the 21st
Century. “
Martin
I agree with that it’s absolutely brutal 23 hr lock up. I ask you is it ok to lock a 25 year old up for 23 hours a day ? It happens in every prison every day in this country … The prisoner places themselves on 23 hour lock up because they are afraid of other prisoners. They go there for protection reasons and sign on themselves. Ever seen what a gang of prisoners do to somebody their after ??? They slice them up like me and you would do to out Christmas diners. We are horribly understaffed. I have to go in and break these fights up with a risk of knowing it could be turned on me. We have established that the judge, yourself and myself disagree with 23 hour lock up especially for 16/17 year olds. Now can you suggest a solution ? Remembering you need government funding and buildings large enough ????
“In September 2009 I encountered a number of prisoners in individual
cells on accommodation landings. These prisoners had been involved
in a riot in the prison and had lost 56 days privileges and were in effect
in solitary confinement”
September 2009
“Four prison officers were assaulted at St Patrick’s Institution, after attempting to carry out a drugs search.
One of the officers received a broken nose, and the others cuts and bruising in the assault, which involved a group of prisoners.”
November 2009:
“ANOTHER full-scale riot has been narrowly averted at an Irish prison.
This time the location was St Patrick’s Institution for young offenders in Dublin, where violence erupted at the weekend.
Two rival gangs at the institution for young prisoners squared up to each other on Saturday night, the Herald has learned, resulting in a melee in the jail at 7.30 pm.
Hell
Prison officers trained in “control and restraint” tactics were deployed, while staff at Mountjoy were placed on stand-by, as fears mounted that the situation could deteriorate.
However, the situation was brought under control by local staff.
Prison sources said that members of two factions “beat the hell” out of each other before order was restored.
Individuals involved in the weekend violence are now likely to face disciplinary measures. According to sources, the most worrying aspect of the trouble is that the problems at St Patrick’s, which accommodates younger prisoners aged 16-21, now mirror what is happening in the wider prison population.
Last Saturday’s disturbances follow a riot at Mountjoy Prison in October, involving 70 inmates, which left prison officers injured.
St Patrick’s accommodates around 210 inmates, with one section for juveniles up to 18 and another for older youths, aged up to 21.
One in three of approximately 60 inmates aged 16-18 are “protection” prisoners, revealing the prevalence of the divisions created by gang culture within the lower and younger levels of crime in the capital.”
-” The Visiting Committee at St Patrick’s Institute for Young Offenders said the prison was being run in “an efficient, fair, safe and a humanitarian way”.”
This article and the implications in it (swallowed easily by the likes of Martin, who could have written the report himself as the prisoners would have seen him coming a mile off), is outrageous and as is often the case, the “journalist” hasn’t bothered to look at other reports or even sought to seek the other side for a fair and balanced piece.
You’re labouring under the misapprehension that I am not aware of the difficulty in dealing with these individuals. You’re running away with yourself in your assumptions and in interpreting what I said.
We are in Ireland. Famous for green fields, welcoming people and child abuse. We have had numerous scandals, and it is absolutely right to ask the questions about treatment of these children and young adults EVEN when they are crazy headcases who’d kill you as soon as look at you.
So I asked the question about inappropriate stripping. The report didn’t fill me with confidence about the diligence around log / journal keeping. The solution is more money. We can spend on tax breaks for the film industry and we can spend on the banks, we can spend tens of millions on consultants, this is far more important.
We can also have very regular checks to make sure that people, very often under extreme pressure, don’t forget that they’re still dealing with kids.
I completely understand that it’s a terrible job but I absolutely and utterly agree with shining a light on any institution in this country where children are held and on the systems that are in place to deal with them.
Yea, whatever Martin mind you don’t back into something there with all your back pedalling – you ought to be ashamed of yourself and the allegations on decent hard working staff.
Well Martin you referenced officers as perverts. As an officer I feel I have a right to defend myself. If I ever saw somebody committing a peverted act I would report them straight away as I’m sure you would in your profession and life in general. I totally agree with you they are kids and regardless of their crimes deserve a chance. I’m happy there gone from pats for various reasons. In my opinion pats failure was to have an adult regime implemented with kids and should of been looked at a long time ago. Hopefully oberstown can provide this. I ask you in reference to the report has the judge not failed them kids by not getting the guards involved ? Would genuinely like your opinion on that .
Also remember that prosecution is utmost last resort for these minors, and a number of steps have been taken to avoid that occurring .. Nothing vulnerable about these ‘kiddos’, more government expenditure needs to go towards caring for the elderly who have paid their taxes and actually contributed to this country rather than take away from it .
Little b astards don’t care for anything. Fine mammy and daddy for the trouble they get into. Stop it from Social welfare payments, watch petty crime drop. Hit the parents in the pocket. Where it hurts.
A lot of people with tight budgets get involved in petty crime due to their lack of income, if you stop money from their payment it would increase petty crime further and possibly lead to more serious offences
Todd – I strongly disagree that tight budgets are an excuse or reason for crime. We were poor as churchmice growing up but knew that stealing or hurting anyone else was wrong. We were lucky to have a good moral foundation. And coming from a deprived area, or alcoholism in the family etc. are all contributing factors but not an excuse. Ultimately we must all take responsibility for our actions.
I’m know plenty of people do but there are also plenty of people don’t. Take for example a young person who is homeless, you’ll do anything to survive. They can’t get welfare because they don’t have an address and the don’t have an address because they don’t have welfare. What are the alternatives for people? Couple this with a multitude of other complex issues. Although you may be detached from this reality, this is a way of life for an ever increasing amount of young people in this fantastic state of ours
I’ve nephews who’d probably be on your list. Daddy is dead and mammy has done everything she can for them. BEGGING the eastern health board and HSE for psychiatric help after the dad died on his motorbike because the kids were not dealing with it well. Pleading with schools to help him because he has fairly severe OCD and learning problems. And now terrified because drug pushers are calling to the door saying he’ll be killed if he doesn’t pay them and that they’ll kill his brother or mother if he goes to the police.
I know what I’m talking about here and the idea that you can fix everything by heaping a fine on the person who has given ever waking breath to try to help is lazy thinking at best and deeply insulting at worst.
My gut reaction is to lock these little thugs up and throw the key down a deep drain. However the reality is that they end up back living in society when they get out, and I’d rather that at least some of them were in some way rehabilitated and less of a threat to decent people.
I’ve worked with a few young lads who’ve done short stints in it and the majority of them make a change when they came out of Pats. You still have the odd few who will continue about their ways but most seem to be shook by the experience
Good decision. A worthwhile institution seemed to lose its way and the reported treatment of children was sub-human at times. Whether the kids could ever be rehabilitated is a moot point. The institution was set up to try to chart a different course for kids in trouble and ended up failing us all badly. We are better than that.
Sub human? See will you have the same opinion when the teenager kicks the crap out of a pensioner you know or kills a dog, they deserve fuk all. Do it the American way. They get the basics for life. That’s all filth deserve.
That attitude offends me as much as the actions of these kids. Young and stupid I can deal with, older and stupid is hard to excuse. Have a bit of humanity, man.
I rather dreaded reading the comments to this article. The hang ‘em all gang are out, no surprise. They are kids for God sake, being “inappropriately stripped”. If this was a Catholic boys home the place would have been closed years ago. Get ready for a Prime Time 15 years from now. Yes, I know their behaviour is beyond unacceptable, but you can work with kids stopping them turning into adult criminals. But it’s harder if they are being “inappropriately stripped”.
David, don’t be to surprised by the “hang em high brigade” on thejournal, these same people think it’s ok for the Garda to beat the living day lights out people protesting against IW, if you treat people like dirt that’s exactly how they will behave.
David
When put in black and white print cutting clothes of looks shocking. The honest truth is you have a kid who has taken pills is now in a state of depression as the high wears off. He’s cutting himself ( self harm ) as he thinks how shit his life is. Parents big time let him down and he’s now stuck in poxy prison. He’s brought to a medical supervised cell where staff can keep an eye on him. He refuses this the whole time and refuses to take his clothes off and put on a poncho type garment. The reason the clothes where taken off is so he doesn’t hang himself. It’s a horrible situation and having worked there something I know all staff hated. But what was the alternative ? This practise was approved at the highest level and the ministers for justice know about it.
Jails are horribly under staffed and riddled with drugs. In all honesty because of this report people who where locked up in pats probably will be able to sue the state because it’s in black and white.
People change Martin and working in a prison and the things you see has to change you. I hope the prison officers you know aren’t capable of the vile things people have suggested on this article like the acts of the Catholic Church committed on the vulnerable people of this country. That report was a one sided report and not a balanced account. I understand your opinions and respect them but like I said read the visiting comitees report. Would you not think it’s suspect when Alan shatter would not alow them to release it at the same time as the judges ??? Prison officers change because they witness the bad things that happen in a jail between prisoners and the high level of corruption at management level.
Derek that would be a case of a child being appropriately stripped. I do understand that dealing with offenders, even young ones, who may be a danger to themselves or others that sometimes has to happen. However, the reports into this place have made it clear that has not always been the case. There is good custodial practice and there is abuse.
Ok David
I agree with ya you have appropriate and inappropriate ” stripping ” . So the inappropriate stripping in the report should be brought to justice. Why haven’t they ? Serious question ? I’m a prison officer and would be horrified to think my work colleagues would in appropriately search prisoners. These cells where prisoners are placed all have cameras and are logged into journals so if a prisoner felt he was treated in appropriately it wouldn’t be hard to trace it back. Prisoners told the judge this in one on one interviews. As a judge and man behind this report did he not fail these kids by not getting the guards involved ??? Please answer my questions
A friend of mine is a prison officer in Canada and I agree with you that it is an immensely important and hugely demanding job. Friends of Paul have been assaulted, traumatized and driven to all forms of desperation. This I understand. As for your question on justice, which I agree is appropriate and serious, I can’t answer. But, let us speak truth here, how often are people with the right backing held to account in Ireland?
David
Completely agree unfortunately in Ireland with the right backing a blind eye is turned. Officers are average workers who live average lives. Although a government Job that’s about it. Nobody on the prison floors has any backing from higher places. If only ! It might reflect in my wages !(joke) ! If the minister for children/justice could of sacked an officer they would have but the simple truth is this was a fictional report with no evidence to back it up. If a judge can’t find evidence it simply doesn’t exist. This government simply wanted the kudos that go with ending the practice of imprisoning minors. I for one am happy with this but disgusted how average working officers where left to take the blame.
All I have to say is that that Prison staff are well shot of them. These so called “Children” are now someone else’s problem.
When a few Dept of Education staff (those responsible for them now) are hospitalized dealing with them I wonder will the likes of Emily Logan etc be calling the those staff thugs, bullies etc.
Martin. You seem to have a problem with strip searches. Then maybe you can tell us how you would search say a 6 foot 15 stone 17 year old that has a shiv secreted between the cheeks of his backside. Or drugs sown into his underware?
“A CHILD WAS handcuffed while being restrained at a detention centre for children, an inspection found.
The inspection of Oberstown detention campus by the Health Information and Quality Authority (HIQA) took place in autumn last year, and said reference was made to the young person’s physical strength, in a plan that mentioned the handcuffing incident.
The head of care told inspectors that there was no formal review of the incident but that they reviewed the CCTV, that 5-7 staff were involved and that the restraint was “all over the place”.
Not always safe
The inspection found that children were “not always safe” there, because best practice was not always implemented.
Children were, on occasion, separated from their peers in locked rooms for long periods of time and it was “not always apparent that other interventions had been tried”.
In the 12 months prior to the inspection, there were 758 occasions when children were on their own in their bedrooms, protection rooms or other rooms and HIQA said this “did not demonstrate that single separation was used as a last resort”.
Protection rooms were used in Trinity house, where a child was locked in small room without natural light, while in other units children spent time in single separation in locked time out rooms, in their bedrooms or in activity rooms
There were a variety of reasons for the use of single separation including threats of suicide, being under the influence of drugs or concerns relating to threatening behaviour.
One child was locked in a room for 83 hours and 45 minutes over four days.Another spent 23 hours and 30 minutes over a two day period in dingle separation, excluding sleeping time, because staff were concerned the young person had prohibited items and would not give them to staff. Shorter periods of single separation were also recorded, such as periods of 30 minutes when a child was smoking in school.”
Of course the staff are to blame, just as they were in Pat’s……………………………
I remember about 15 years ago having my arm broken by one of the vulnerable young boys with a sweeping brush because he slipped on a floor that was being mopped by another prisoner and that prisoner laughed at him.
I also remember being off work for 11 weeks in plaster because of that.
I also remember the CICT paying compensation of 11 weeks wages and an amount for pain and suffering because one prisoner laughed at another.
I presume you know that the CICT is funded by the taxpayer (you).
Vulnerable young boy at his best behaviour here and YOU pay for the consequences.
For there to be charges .there has to be proof not hearsay from a one sided offering from someone who is incarcarated by the state . If you knew the facts behind the judges report and how the information was gleaned you would know the ‘children ‘ took him for a fool and spin him yarns that would be best sellers . In the report of the visiting commitee tells a diffrent story (which you obviously havent read ) you have no idea of any of the prison rules regulations and controls .dont talk about things you dont know about .
Your a keyboard warrior and are happy to spout your accusations from behind your screen . Very quick to judge without the full facts ..i just hope that there isnt a citizen depending on your fair and unbiased verdict …
Niall, because prisoners officers or people in authority in this country would never tell lies or cover up abuse never ever did it happen come out darkness Niall.
Unfortunately Martin decided to jump in with an uneducated opinion on the subject matter with a “down with this sort of stuff ” attitude and when his opinions where challanged he kept referencing the problems but had no answers to the problems. As mick Jordan said we as staff on the floor level are best of with out children in our workplace . There is still 13 17 year olds in w/field so hopefully they’ll be moved to obberstown soon to. I have nothing but sympathy and respect for the staff there.
God bless them ….
Yep, fully agree Derek, it’s easy to cast blame onto staff when reports are presented in the way the journalist decided to present it – it sounds so bad when you mention “kids”.
I know plenty of prison staff, not just officers and I can tell you that I take my hat off to them. I have also been involved in other studies in the general area of prisons and what is clear to me is that the drugs issue seems to be a side issue and not the main issue.
Pat’s was utlilised in the 80′s which coincidentally was when the drugs problem exploded in Dublin. The truth is that no-one knew then how to handle the out of control teens and they still don’t.
Pat’s was a temporary solution which was the best solution – see the article I posted about Oberstown in Feb this year.
These “children”, for the most part, have already been through the system, the Gardai know them by name since they are 9 or 10, their parent’s have begged for their children to be taken into care as they can no longer deal with them and most often have other younger children in the house that they don’t want affected or following in the footsteps of their older brother (rarely sister).
They come from all walks, but mostly working class Dublin, I have sat in court and seen working mums cry at judges to help them.
By the time a “child” gets to Pat’s it is not unusual for them to have 20 or 30 convictions (or more) and they have burnt all their bridges with family and the childrens court – incarceration is the only option.
I also recall being present in court when a 17 year old “kid” appealed his 6 month prison sentence (at the expense of the taxpayer) and a Garda from Crumlin providing statistics to the court to show that since the “kids” incarceration, crime in his area had decreased by 60%.
The staff I know who have been left injured after assaults, some unable to return to work ever – and yet we have one sided views which imply serious crimes by staff in the prison – where they have been given no platform to challenge these allegations – disgusting.
I beleive that the staff are delighted that the problem has been moved, they did fear that it would take the murder of one of them for something to change – now as Mick has said – it’s someone else’s problem.
Patlyndo
Thanks for that , you obliviously have a great understanding of the realitys of modern Ireland and how bad it can be in certain parts. I worked in pats for a few years and it was the most stressful time if my life. I know people can say quit the job but when you have a family to provide for you have to accept these challanges. Working now in an adult prison is very differnt to pats and a lot less stressful. As mick said it’s somebody else’s problem and I’m thankful that prison officers don’t have to face it no more. The very fact is it’s still a problem. The likes of Martin etc can tallk all they want about things they no nothing of because that’s easy. The problem is still the problem it’s just been passed to somebody else.
It’s seen as fully acceptable that the people of this country are being robbed everyday by this government it’s super quangos, banks & developers and now we are going to have to give our PPSN to the Garda in case we owe an €80 fine, yet NAMA were able to write off €300m for developers and Bernard McNamara gets to build IW’s new HQ after leaving behind €1.7 billion in debts, but then these people wear suits not tracksuits so it’s ok.
The comments on this are appalling theses are children …. ” lock them up and throw the key down a deep drain” …. Sure that worked out well for us in ireland with the madaline laundries Irelands biggest discrace and we have people here with still no compassion im embarresed to call myself irish when i read comments like this …
They didn’t end up in St. patricks for J walking . When you suffer at the hands of some these little shits then you might change your tune. I have no problem if it was a dog eat dog world but if I even looked in the wrong direction at one of these tossers they would run up to the Gardai.
Jay
St pats was a prison for 16/17 year olds. It practised the same practises as adult prisons. I know because I’ve worked in both and currently still do. St pats was covered in cameras and what went on daily can be seen. The visiting committee ( an independent group ) put out reports on prisons every year. I honestly suggest you read them as they are unbiased in their views. I personally feel pats should no longer be used for 16/17 year olds as it can’t offer the activities needed to stimulate 16/17 year olds but not because of a mag laundries type situation was happening.
It’s only my word but I promise no abuse occurred in there. The regime was the same as adults and that’s where the problem was. I suggest you do some research on the subject and not just read one article on the journal before making your mind up. Ask yourself the question why has nobody been sacked? It’s 2015 and majority of the same staff are still working there. It’s because there good at their job.
@derek. I knew a young lad who went there in the early 80′s. He came back home in great form, He loved it there. He came back telling all us other kids how much fun he had there swimming every day etc. and said how much he wanted to go back. Even at that young age I wondered if it was a good idea that a place you went for doing wrong, was much more exciting than being at home. Saying that now, I don’t think he was ever ‘reformed’ by it. I heard years later that he was in prison in england at one stage :/ .
Fortunately I can’t tell ya about prisons in the 80′s as I was only a wee boy myself. I guess this lad was spinning you a yarn, while it might of been better than home life I doubt swimming lessons where on offer. From what I hear prisons where more disciplined in the 80′s than they are today. As for reform I don’t think prisons will ever reform a person. They do however provide a break from the harsh realitys of their lives. 3 meals, school, doctors dentists etc etc etc
I suggest you read that comment again Jay Thompson. You referenced a comment and left out everything after “however..,”: he was actually saying the opposite to what you infer.
We did a school tour years ago to this prison and mount joy. The women’s prison was actually rather nice and female prisoners could walk around etc. they even openly engaged with us students. The men’s mount joy was one of the scariest places I have ever been too. I will never forget the horrible smell either. Ugh. We didn’t see a single prisoner as the men were only allowed out for something small like an hour a day or something. The boys prison wasn’t suitable for much tbh.
Regardless of what crimes a person has committed, a prison officer should not be allowed to bully and harass them / deny them visits etc. at the end of the day, these lads are in state care, they are minors and the state shouldn’t be taking their duty to care for them lightly.
I don’t believe the prison camps should be a holiday camp but also should not be a bullying ground. Maybe we should look at ways to reduce the amount of prisoners who reoffend. Stopping drugs coming into the prisons would be great too, we were told by the prison officers that babies would have heroin in their nappies to get it into the prisons. Sheer madness.
Claire just to clarify some of your comments…Prisoners in the male Mountjoy prison General population have at least 8 hours of out of cell activity they can avail of..yard, gym, school, workshops…It is not a prison camp..Secondly the staff that work in these institutions do so under very trying conditions..as the media has reported “for once” over the last number of weeks..Yes.young people have been let down..but it’s not the prisons that have failed them..its the system..social welfare, child protection. .etc..Prison is and should be the last resort..Unfortunately that seems was the only recourse.
You didn’t see any prisoners in the male prison as you are only allowed to conduct tours in the male prisons when prisoners are locked up at dinner time women have a much more relaxed regime
Long and short of it, it’s a prison, it’s not supposed to be nice. It’s supposed to make the little scambags never want to end up in such a place again.
Mick O'Dwyer, legendary Kerry GAA manager and footballer, has died aged 88
Updated
2 hrs ago
Live Blog
EU will try launch US tariff negotiations with Lutnick tomorrow, Commissioner says
Updated
25 mins ago
As it happened
Trump hits EU goods with 20% tariff and rails against foreigners 'pillaging' US
Updated
13 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say