You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gardaí close Dublin street after van catches fire

The fire occurred this morning but the road will be closed for much of the afternoon so the debris can be cleared.

Helen Cosgrove Helen Cosgrove

GARDAÍ HAVE SAID Baggothrath Place, off Merrion Row in Dublin is closed for traffic this afternoon as a clean-up takes place, following a large fire in a van earlier today.

The fire broke out just before 11.20am this morning and Dublin Fire Brigade attended. A spokesperson said it was “not a protracted incident, it was straightforward”.

A member of the public in a local office told TheJournal.ie that they had to close up all their windows as the “smoke was quite toxic” but the fire service spokesperson said there were no dangerous substances in the van.

“A car fire will generate a lot of fumes and gases anyway,” they explained. No one was injured in the incident.

Gardaí said the street will be closed to traffic for the afternoon:

Read: Four fire units are fighting a blaze in Bray town>

VIDEO: A firefighter’s view as he tackles a terrifying house blaze>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

20 Comments
    Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Nov 10th 2016, 9:14 AM

Irish radio had a left wing nut from the US on this morning discussing how Trump might nuke a country he does not like. She claimed he would be by himself at certain times and could launch before anybody notices….I mean come on? It would be funny if they weren’t so serious. Are people this stupid?

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Nov 10th 2016, 9:31 AM

@John Reese: Are people that stupid? Yep .. Sure millions voted for a Billionaire they think will look out for the little man…stupid

Mute Lamb
    Favourite Lamb
    Nov 10th 2016, 10:11 AM

A bully that ruined businesses on many Joe Soaps and they think he will help them? It’ll be worse than ever.

Mute Reagan Smash
    Favourite Reagan Smash
    Nov 10th 2016, 8:17 AM

I dont which is better. The fact that Trump won against all odds, or that liberals now have to fulfill their promise to move to Canada

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Nov 10th 2016, 8:26 AM

They’re the same fools who say they’ll take in immigrants/refugees but would run if they had to. Clowns are all talk so best to just ignore them!

Mute Reagan Smash
    Favourite Reagan Smash
    Nov 10th 2016, 8:32 AM

I disagree, Paul. Now is the best time to confront and mock the far left. They are like a wounded animal, lashing out in anticipation of their imminent demise. They would love for us to ignore them. Well they may get used to it. The tables have turned for the foreseeable future.

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    Nov 10th 2016, 9:08 AM

@Reagan Smash: So, You think Trump is better , better than what ? You think you’ve won because the Liberals are defeated ? Yes , I agree things needed to change ,unfettered immigration is a mistake , Sweden tells us that . I agree that the elites do need a “realignment” but at what price ? It seems your hatred for the “liberal agenda” permits you to follow ( billionaire , elite , egomaniac) who got elected by lying to white middle-aged men about bringing back industries that will never return to the US . Heavy industry is not going back , ever . Some tech companies will go back if he reduces the Corp tax but they won’t be going to Flint Michigan or Ohio .So have your anti-liberal hero ,he who is openly backed by the KKK, a man that moves on women like a bitch even though he thinks the Latins are the rapists , a moan who mimic people with disabilities ,a man who admires Putin (now the world’s second most dangerous man ), a man who will expose the world to an expansionist Russia by dismantling Nato. A man that will drive Islamic moderates to extremism . A man who with real intellectual limitations , a man who runs beauty pageants and fancies his own daughter. Well, have at it , good luck with your new leader . Hopefully , you will get to move to the US and fill the void left by the fleeing celebrities

Mute Darren Varley
    Favourite Darren Varley
    Nov 10th 2016, 12:33 PM

And still tensing he was more appealing to Americans than Hillary Clinton, what does that make her?

Mute eoghanoc
    Favourite eoghanoc
    Nov 10th 2016, 2:36 PM

Amen – well said

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:31 AM

He essentially has 12 months to get stuff done, if not midterm elections will see a shift in the Senate

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Favourite Mr Snuffleupagus
    Nov 10th 2016, 8:44 AM

The end of the Clinton dynasty and watching her self entitled supporters cry through the election night was something I’ll always cherish and hold close to my heart. They were so, so sure they had it in the bag, and along come those nasty working class voters to have their say too. That was a wake up call if ver I saw one. You don’t own the presidency, now ain’t that something.

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Favourite Mr Snuffleupagus
    Nov 10th 2016, 8:51 AM

@Mr Snuffleupagus:

When George W won the presidency, I found it to be one of the most depressing political chapters of all. I couldn’t watch or listen to him throughout his presidency and if and when he came on the radio or TV I’d have to immediately reach for the dial and turn him off. The exact same thing would have happened for me if Clinton had won. What a horrid yoke she is.

At least with Trump there might be some entertainment value. I’ll wait a few weeks before the hyperbole calms down.

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Nov 10th 2016, 8:22 AM

The media. A bunch of stupid losers trying to console themselves with name calling.
    Suck it up liberal lefties everywhere! Trump won !!

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    Nov 10th 2016, 8:29 AM

Please john. Trump won you need to understand that is now happening in the US and tat the changes will be on the card tables.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Nov 10th 2016, 8:20 AM

Bet Newsweek are feeling fools now for their business decision on having their President Clinton shipped, ready to sell.
    A national recall went out Wednesday for the special “Madame President” issue of Newsweek that was prematurely shipped to stores and newsstands across the country.
    Now have to do trump.

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    Nov 10th 2016, 9:11 AM

For the way he was treated by mainstream media you have to give it to Trump for his tenacity, and sheer doggedness, for his refusing to be bullied, he is like a persistent terrier at the heels of the establishment, refusing to let go, he has upset the status quo and that can only be a good thing, what a year 2016 turned out to be full of surprises, as Burke so eloquently put it last night now it’s our turn to drain the bog!!

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Nov 10th 2016, 1:17 PM

@Kate Flaherty: In Ireland, it`s more like draining the cesspool .

Mute Warthog
    Favourite Warthog
    Nov 10th 2016, 9:05 AM

Isn’t it an eyeopener to see just how much the lefty liberal crowd only like “democracy” when it puts them on the winning side. This is the same bunch that want you to “shut-up” and for you not to be able criticize their demand for things like open borders, mass migration, abortion on demand etc. This bunch is full of bigots, fascist, feminazis and misandrists! The whining and the negativity from the majority of the media in relation to DT becoming the next US President is astounding! Our 4th estate is and has been letting us down for years as it has been taken over by lefty liberal agenda leaning moguls! They really need to get over themselves and for the benefit of the young in this country start being more positive about what life is and for what the future holds.

Mute Eoin Mulhern
    Favourite Eoin Mulhern
    Nov 10th 2016, 9:31 AM

For the past day I heard from Twitter, Facebook, Newspapers, TV shows and more that Trump is , “Racist”, “sexist” “next Hitler” for the Thousand time . Talk about an Overreaction.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Favourite Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Nov 10th 2016, 11:17 AM

Trumps election is the equivalent of Kerry people voting for the Healey Raes, ie we’ll show those fcukkers in Dublin/Washington

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    Nov 10th 2016, 10:16 AM

Is it just me, or does his eldest son look also like the character in americian psycho?

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Nov 10th 2016, 11:48 PM

The press is bias but that bull sells?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 11th 2016, 9:32 AM

Well when 75% of the American electorate didn’t vote for him it seems they know exactly who their market is

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Nov 12th 2016, 1:30 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: They were and are bias towards Clinton for her to win, he is an arrogant big mouth git but he is the lesser of 2 evils. The things reported about Hillary and what she did to protect Bill over the years showed to me that she was in my view a sociopath. The press were for Hillary and many supported her because she was a woman and that was where they left it. They never really investigated the dark side of her and the fact is that side would turn you to stone. 9 out of the 10 top weapon manufacturers supported her as did the Saudis… The killing of the rape victims pets did me and leaving them on their doorsteps only proved to me that normal women don’t do that to rape victims, or do they?
    Anyway, Trump wouldn’t have won if Hillary didn’t do what she did to Sanders, the desire for power can be self destructive?

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Nov 12th 2016, 1:32 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: How did he win then, to condemn him is to condemn those who voted for him and he got the votes because he was not Hillary, is that talked about???

Mute George Brown
    Favourite George Brown
    Nov 10th 2016, 8:31 PM

This presentation of media bias has mostly tame examples. I think it strawmans the perspective that the media paints Trump and his supporters as morally bankrupt bigots. There’s no essential retrospective on what the media did during the campaign.

As if to say “ah yeah… there was some bias, but it mostly wasn’t anything phenomenal. Just typical stuff. Maybe some fringe media were very biased against Trump, that’s all.”