You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Louise Ni Riain

Firefighters tackle overnight blaze in Temple Bar

The fire was at a disused building next to Oliver St. John Gogarty’s pub. There are no reports of injuries.

Updated at 7.55am

DUBLIN FIRE BRIGADE responded to a fire at a derelict building next to Oliver St. John Gogarty’s pub in Dublin’s Temple Bar last night.

The fire was at an disused telephone exchange building next to the busy night-spot, according to the fire service. It was initially reported by some outlets that the fire was at the pub itself.

The fire has now been extinguished.

There are no reports of any injuries, a garda spokesperson said.

It’s believed the fire was caused by an electrical fault.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

48 Comments
    Mute James J Mc Ardle
    Favourite James J Mc Ardle
    Jan 11th 2022, 8:09 PM

So before this drivers were prosecuted and fined because it with not safe to practice this, now it’s ok

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Jan 11th 2022, 8:25 PM

@James J Mc Ardle: I was thinking the same.

Mute Giles Wolohan
    Favourite Giles Wolohan
    Jan 11th 2022, 8:54 PM

@James J Mc Ardle: not because of delays its a shortage of drivers in the country wouldn’t be listening to ffg

Mute Philip Mckenna
    Favourite Philip Mckenna
    Jan 11th 2022, 9:14 PM

@James J Mc Ardle: Absolutely beyond a joke, told for years go over your hours is not safe, don’t drive tired you need minimum rest and if you don’t you’re gonna get fined and points on your licence, now sure its grand we need u now and everything we said before doesn’t count! Joke Gov/RSA are!

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Jan 11th 2022, 9:30 PM

@Philip Mckenna: It’s not so black and white. It doesn’t suddenly go from very dangerous to perfectly safe at a fixed number of hours per week. The original limit would have been set to minimise (not eliminate) accidents due to fatigue. That risk has to be balanced against the risk of food and medical supply shortages.

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    Jan 11th 2022, 10:21 PM

@James J Mc Ardle: exactly, if an accident happens due to this relaxation of the Safety rules, sue the RSA.

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Jan 11th 2022, 10:33 PM

@Ian James Burgess: it clearly states that health and safety still applies, drivers are still not allowed drive if fatigued.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jan 11th 2022, 10:44 PM

@Paul Clancy: how do we measure fatigue??

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    Jan 11th 2022, 11:14 PM

@Paul Clancy: and how will that work if the driver tells their boss they’re going home because they are tired

Mute SJF
    Favourite SJF
    Jan 11th 2022, 11:31 PM

@Philip Mckenna: as a doctor I feel ya. There are times I’ve been in work where I’m so exhausted from brutal never ending shifts that I feel unsafe. But if we don’t turn up then the team is down a doctor…this derogation of essential workers needs to stop.

Mute Jason Healy
    Favourite Jason Healy
    Jan 12th 2022, 7:42 AM

@Mjhint: with a ruler dummy.

Mute Gerrard
    Favourite Gerrard
    Jan 12th 2022, 9:29 AM

@SJF: getting 150k a year helps

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jan 12th 2022, 11:08 AM

@Jason Healy: not fat. Fatigue. You’re measuring the wrong thing. The luv ah jaysus.

Mute Jason Healy
    Favourite Jason Healy
    Jan 12th 2022, 7:18 PM

@Mjhint: ah right. Wrong thread sorry. I’ll put back on my pants…

Mute Brian Sherry
    Favourite Brian Sherry
    Jan 11th 2022, 8:00 PM

Making the people that do show up work harder and longer is not the answer. On any industry

Mute Hugh Morris
    Favourite Hugh Morris
    Jan 11th 2022, 8:07 PM

@Brian Sherry: there’s a shortage of drivers due to backlogs, lengthened journeys due to vat changes and brexit. What’s your short-term solution?

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Jan 11th 2022, 8:37 PM

@Hugh Morris: allow positive covid drivers with little or no symptoms to work.

Mute Epgenetics29 Declan Christoph
    Favourite Epgenetics29 Declan Christoph
    Jan 11th 2022, 8:39 PM

@Hugh Morris: pay a proper base level wage, pay proper over time for hours above 45 hours, give time proper time off for hours worked not annual leave based time off, pay drivers for taking a day to do Cpc training or pay for the training, The list is endless but time and time again we see haulage association members becoming TDS and councillors and blocking any such fare wage proposals. The price of rent in Ireland is one of the many causes for European drivers heading home as they are finding the wages offered at home are as good as it is here but the cost of living; food, rent etc is much cheaper. This is a short time measure but seems an over reach and could lead to a serious accident with a hgv. An extra 25 hours driving over a two week cycle is madness. Better to fast track the modules of training leading up to a test, Cpc training modules etc. To many of these modules are useless and repetitive. Cost of getting a hgv licence has risen from 1000€ to nearly 2100€, who can afford that? Only in Oct it was said there wasn’t a shortage?

Mute Philip Mckenna
    Favourite Philip Mckenna
    Jan 11th 2022, 9:17 PM

@Epgenetics29 Declan Christoph: Havent done a cpc that wasn’t absolutely pointless and I have to pay a fee and lose a days wage for the privilege!

Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Jan 11th 2022, 9:23 PM

@OConnelj: good thing drivers don’t interact with anyone during the course of work. Only the warehouse at the start, the customer at the end and every time they need to fuel.
    Great solution there!

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Jan 11th 2022, 10:05 PM

@Philip Mckenna: So repeating the same subjects every 5 years with nothing new added as the legislation hardly ever changes is ok?
    It’s like sending kids to school and they repeat the same subjects over and over.

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Jan 11th 2022, 10:15 PM

@Colm O’ Shea: i think everybody with little or no symptoms should be allowed to work. Not just truck drivers. What do you suggest we do, considering covid is with us for good?

Mute TrollsRrealpeople2
    Favourite TrollsRrealpeople2
    Jan 11th 2022, 8:27 PM

Either it’s safe or not. If it’s safe for all road users for these drivers to work under these conditions, why was it changed in the past.

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Jan 11th 2022, 9:34 PM

@TrollsRrealpeople2: Nothing is either “safe or it’s not” everything carries a certain level of risk. For example, define safe? No accidents on the road? Or below a certain number? If you’re going to say it’s either safe or it’s not, then you have to define “safe”. And if you make no changes to the driving hours, what about the risk of food and medical shortages?

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jan 11th 2022, 9:42 PM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: Well when we are fined on the side of the road or in court we are given a lecture about how unsafe it is for driving over our hours and we have to listen to this $hit.

Mute TrollsRrealpeople2
    Favourite TrollsRrealpeople2
    Jan 12th 2022, 8:29 AM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: You look at the reason why the number of hours we’re changed in the first place. Was it to prevent those doing the job from making loads of cash or was it to reduce fatigue on the driver, which in turn reduced the risk of an incident. (Make it safer) As for the other issue. We’ve a defence force with plenty of qualified HGV drivers. Get them delivering. Safety must be the priority.

Mute Derek Anderson
    Favourite Derek Anderson
    Jan 11th 2022, 8:48 PM

Not only putting the drivers at risk but every other road user as well. Really playing dangerous games with this.

Mute Mark Healy
    Favourite Mark Healy
    Jan 11th 2022, 9:19 PM

Outrageous that any body with the word ‘Safety’ in its name would countenance this. 56 hours a week is 8 hours driving for every day of the week. Try it some time and tell me that you’re not falling asleep at the wheel by day 3.

Mute ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Favourite ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Jan 11th 2022, 8:45 PM

If you listen carefully you can hear the clink of magnets been removed up & down the country

Jan 11th 2022, 8:58 PM

@⚡ Seánie ⚡: very good :)

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jan 11th 2022, 9:44 PM

@⚡ Seánie ⚡: I’m afraid you’re late to the party.Magnets are not what’s used now as modern trucks won’t allow it. Its far more sophisticated now. Its get the obd dongle out.

Mute Mark G
    Favourite Mark G
    Jan 11th 2022, 9:56 PM

The extra few hours won’t make much difference. I for one won’t be doing those hours.!! Not for the sh!£e pay that’s out there. Some drivers are stretched to the maximum as it is. Bring the wages back to a good standard..

Mute Hugh Morris
    Favourite Hugh Morris
    Jan 11th 2022, 10:06 PM

@Mark G: deal with it

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Jan 11th 2022, 10:16 PM

@Hugh Morris: Have you ever drove a truck ? Worked 15 hour days ? Early starts 1am overnight trunking etc, Or the fact that the people who enforce/make the rules work a 40hr week mostly Monday to Friday.
    Then there is the pay and conditions which has being eroded over the last 14 years since the recession, Big named companies well known in Ireland hiring drivers via agency zero hour contracts.
    No OT or shift allowance weekend etc just a flat rate of pay, Lads I know left the industry 10 years ago, And haven’t looked back.

Mute Hugh Morris
    Favourite Hugh Morris
    Jan 11th 2022, 10:26 PM

@Dave Byrne: yes

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Jan 11th 2022, 10:59 PM

@Hugh Morris: So you are happy to work extra hours, And as another poster mentioned get fined for going over hours last week but when the derogation kicks in it’s OK.

Mute Hugh Morris
    Favourite Hugh Morris
    Jan 11th 2022, 11:02 PM

@Dave Byrne: make hay while the sun shines

Mute David Saunders
    Favourite David Saunders
    Jan 11th 2022, 10:59 PM

So should any driver who has been done in the past be exonerated now that its deemed not so dangerous anymore

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jan 11th 2022, 9:33 PM

That has to be one of the most ridiculous moves I’ve heard of in ages. Last week they would be prosecuted for doing it, now they are allowed do it. They need to find another way around this.

Mute OnlyHereForTheComments
    Favourite OnlyHereForTheComments
    Jan 11th 2022, 9:52 PM

@Joe_X: Isn’t that how law changes generally work? i.e. previously something was not allowed/allowed but since the change, it is/isn’t?

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jan 11th 2022, 10:10 PM

@OnlyHereForTheComments: yes, but are changes to the laws usually to make things safer for those the law is directed at, and those around them, In this case, the drivers and the other road users about them. This just seems like a retroactive step to me.

Mute Tony O Neill
    Favourite Tony O Neill
    Jan 11th 2022, 10:40 PM

Change the regulations when it suits.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jan 11th 2022, 9:48 PM

Ah so it’s time to put her on the magic so and all legal. Wink wink nudge nudge. I presume the extra hours will be double time.

Mute Darek Warzecha
    Favourite Darek Warzecha
    Jan 12th 2022, 6:15 AM

Try to explain to the French man on the side of the road if France when you’re stopped for tacho check. Try to tell him that rsa said I’ll be grand with those reduced breaks.

Mute Jason Healy
    Favourite Jason Healy
    Jan 12th 2022, 7:46 AM

@Darek Warzecha: I’d imagine it’s just internal haulage.

Mute John Colgan
    Favourite John Colgan
    Jan 12th 2022, 4:53 AM

The option of volunteer Army drivers has not been mentioned, or retired drivers, to increase supply without increasing the risk to lives and property.

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Jan 12th 2022, 9:09 AM

@John Colgan: Army drivers would need a digi card and tbe retired lads wouldn’t bother getting back into an industry,Were the T&C have gone downhill.

Mute Jonathan
    Favourite Jonathan
    Jan 12th 2022, 8:19 AM

I get a kick when driving the motorway and a lorry I’m overtaking is swerving slightly, And there he is on the phone!