You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AS IT HAPPENED: The first Leaders' Debate of the 2016 general election

Not a bit of fiscal space to be found.

FOR THE FIRST time since the general election was called, we were treated to all four leaders of Ireland’s largest parties being in the one room together. 

Enda Kenny, Joan Burton, Micheál Martin and Gerry Adams went at it in the TV3/Newstalk Leaders’ Debate. Colette Fitzpatrick and Pat Kenny were on hand to provide questions and to ensure they didn’t go all Conor McGregor on each other. 

They did last longer than 13 seconds…

Good evening! And welcome to TheJournal.ie‘s liveblog of the first leaders’ debate of the 2016 general election.

It’s Sinéad O’Carroll here, working away in our main HQ. Meanwhile, Political Editor Hugh O’Connell is in Ballymount at TV3′s much-lauded Sony HD studio. You can catch him on Twitter @TJ_Politics for the pre-game warm ups.

Our Deputy Editor Christine Bohan will also be bringing you the big stories (and some of the craic) on TheJournal.ie‘s Twitter @TheJournal_ie.

giphy Giphy.com Giphy.com

As I just mentioned, Hugh is in studio waiting patiently for kick off (it seems I’m already all-in on the sporting analogies tonight).

He has just informed us that Gerry Adams has arrived (in style).

That’s all four leaders safely in the building.

In case you haven’t been watching TV3′s promotions for this debate (more on that later), the moderators tonight are Collette Fitzpatrick and Pat Kenny.

We’re sure all of you are as excited about Pat’s return to the small screen – after his departure from UTV Ireland – as we are. But we did enjoy this from one of our commenters who is obviously referring to Enda Kenny’s longstanding refusal to take part in any show in which Vincent Browne is involved:

PastedImage-6610

Aside: This is the first time we’ve set eyes on TV3′s Red Rock.

0b82d17b-8cf5-4c8f-af45-f8cfbd6a510c

The auld lad? With the young one? Ah, that’s a lot for us to wrap our heads around pre-debate.

Back to the real world… kind of.

Gerry Adams has been answering Hugh’s questions:

1. Why did you bring the bus?

2. Why were you late?

3. Are you nervous?

His answers?

So, TV3 were understandably excited to land the first four-way between Kenny, Burton, Adams and Martin – four full days before the state broadcaster brings them all to Limerick for Claire Byrne Live.

Colette Fitzpatrick was literally running around the studio earlier while Pat Kenny was using football analogies of his own.

colette

She eventually found Pat, who said:

This is like a football match, I mean the manager or coach may have the grand plan and then the other team don’t play according to the rules. So we don’t know what to expect – that’s what I love about live television. It’s unfolding before us.

Will they come in meek and mild? Will they come in angry? Will they become more agitated as the night wears on? Or are they so tired from canvassing that they’ll put us all to sleep?

He also mused about whether tonight could spell the end for anyone’s aspirations to be the next Taoiseach?

Right, we’re off. The studio does look well, in fairness to them.

Oh by the way, we’ll be keeping an ear out for these words and phrases:

1. FISCAL SPACE
  2. 1916
  3. KEEPING THE RECOVERY GOING
  4. GANGLAND
  5. HOUSING
  6. IRISH WATER
  7. CAN I JUST SAY?

Lots were drawn to see who goes first but Pat makes clear that all microphones are on, at all times.

It’s ladies first and Joan Burton gets 60 seconds to talk about her working class background. She gets her key message across – Labour is part of that stability we keep hearing about from the government parties.

PastedImage-45170

Gerry Adams starts off with a cúpla focal and tries to take back the word chaos, describing the government parties.

He also gets the first mention of 1916 in, so scratch that off your bingo card.

Meanwhile, Micheál Martin took a sly dig at Fine Gael’s focus-group worked slogans, saying politicians have a duty to focus on issues rather than rehearsed phrases.

And now we’re into question time, starting with TAX.

In 60 seconds, Enda Kenny managed to get ‘keep the recovery going’ in FOUR times. Whatever your politics, that’s pretty impressive.

PastedImage-41956

What? We’re 10 minutes in and there hasn’t been an inch of fiscal space filled?

Even with all this money talk…

*faints*

The ‘young person’ is central to this debate.

Any ‘young person’ out there? You have been the catalyst for the first bit of argy-bargy between the leaders.

Joan says the job is the most important thing for you – and admonished Gerry for planning to allow your landlord to increase your rent.

Micheál Martin comes in with his “truism”. Governments do not create jobs, he says. They can create the conditions but not the jobs themselves.

Enda Kenny will argue that, given he was in Galway today taking credit for some 175 jobs in Loughrea. He also points to Martin and says that his party drove 250,000 of those young persons out of the country.

bring-it-gabrielle-union

DING! DING! DING! FactCheck time.

If you haven’t seen our ongoing GE16 series yet, we have been scrutinising various claims made by political parties and their candidates.

One of our previously checked ‘facts’ has just been used in the debate.

PastedImage-19816

“There were only 28 local authority houses built last year” – Gerry Adams

Well, is that true?

Verdict

Half-true: 28 is the number built in the first nine months of the year. We don’t have the final figure for 2015.

PastedImage-56874

See here for more details.

Colette has to try shut Joan up as she continues to talk about the economy while she is trying to ask about the healthcare system in Ireland.

She goes to Enda then and everything calms down. As he is known to do, he emphasises his words by pointing, rather than raising his voice.

enda

SO MUCH FINGER POINTING.

FINGERS

Micheál Martin, while going at it with Enda Kenny, has patted himself on the back for being the minister for responsible for the successful smoking ban.

Joan concedes he deserves credit for that one.

PastedImage-27879 RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

And a bit more argy bargy and finger-pointing.

Among all that fighting, we heard the words petty, silly and petulant. No arguments from viewers, we’d say.

Just the three?

Colette and Pat did try to get the four to concentrate on one topic and think of us at home trying to decipher what they’re on about.

Definitely a well-timed break in the broadcast now.

PastedImage-67763

Another fact, another check.

“Fianna Fáil drove 200,000 young people out of the country.” – Enda Kenny

Verdict

Depends on which Fianna Fáil term he meant, but Fianna Fáil oversaw net inward migration.

From 1997-2010, 276,800 people aged 15-24 emigrated.
From 2007-2010, the figure was 90,600.

However, net youth immigration into Ireland from 2002-2010 was 107,000. The same figure for 2007-2010 was 75,300

Wow, that was quick.

Back in studio now and we’re onto crime and security.

Obviously, the first question is to Adams about the Special Criminal Court. The Sinn Féin leader says his party’s stance on the matter comes from a social democratic position – and not because of any previous convictions of people connected to Sinn Fein.

He points out that Labour had a similar position to them about the abolition of the court.

“That’s a lie, Deputy Adams, that is a direct line,” says an incredulous Joan Burton.

lie

Our Dan MacGuill is on the ball with his FactChecks.

Here’s another on tax rates and the US. 

PastedImage-67763

“Enda Kenny wants Ireland’s tax rates to be on a par with the US” – Micheál Martin.

Verdict

Mostly true.

In December, the Taoiseach told reporters:

One of the things we have to reach out to is to make personal tax rates competitive with Britain, and with Australia, and with Canada, and with the US.

See more here.

“For a man who is auditioning to be Taoiseach… it is an appalling proposal,” says Joan, speaking about Adams’s claim that jurors could go into witness protection programmes.

He denies saying this. He says he was just listing off ways other countries deal with similar organised crime.

Enda is staying quiet but Gerry is trying to get him to debate the various garda controversies that marred the government’s 2015.

But he’s stuck with debating Martin about past abuses. (Although Enda did politely put up his hand, indicating he might want to speak).

“Go away and catch yourself on,” is Gerry’s best retort to Martin.

It’s getting a bit livelier now.

“I’ve never crawled into the Dáil in my life,” another choice line from Adams after Martin says he “crawled” in to admit that there was historic cases of abuse with the Republican movement.

Oh and Enda is off.

It’s his favourite topic – telling Gerry Adams does not tell the truth. He speaks uninterrupted about the Troubles, gangland crime and the Sinn Féin president’s past.

The next topic is abortion, specifically the issue of women who have been given diagnoses of fatal foetal abnormalities.

After saying it should be de-politicised, he says that it takes time to change laws.

Colette is strong on the questioning here, not letting Enda sidestep on Fine Gael’s position.

“You’re not going to answer the question”? she says, cutting off his rambling.

LOVE/HATE gets a mention. Didn’t really expect that.

Pat Kenny reminds Micheál Martin that they were in government when the RTE drama premiered.

We just fact-checked Pat there, and he’s correct. The first episode of Darren et al aired in 2010.

PastedImage-48278

While the lads avoid the questions on abortion, Joan’s answer is more simple: Yes, Labour will look for a referendum to repeal the Eighth Amendment.

But, she swiftly has to dodge questions about Enda Kenny and Fine Gael’s position, given their cosy positions.

She does so by speaking ‘as a mother and as a woman’.

Enda says he is not uncomfortable talking about abortion, before moving on to words about the constitution, processes and reflecting society…

Pat then asks a difficult but succinct question:

If a constituent comes into your office who is in distress after having an abortion, who do you call first: the ambulance or the police?

Without skipping a beat, Enda says the ambulance.

Another break, another factcheck.

PastedImage-67763

“The government has closed 140 Garda stations” – Gerry Adams.

Verdict

Almost entirely TRUE. The exact number is 139.

See more here

Next up is housing…

Meanwhile, we’ve been discussing whether anyone is actually winning this debate.

Colette? Pat? Twitter has a different idea…

And there’s Fianna Fáil’s easy win of the night.

She tries to clarify what she meant by that, but didn’t get the opportunity so she’ll be dealing with that for the coming hours.

Colette tries to get Enda to say a few more words on housing, and again, the others are quiet as he talks. Is it his schoolteacher presence?

“You’ve got to build houses,” he says, multiple times.

enda 2

Let’s do this.

PastedImage-67763

“Fianna Fáil built 14,000 social houses, FG + Labour built 1,000″ – Micheál Martin.

Verdict

Half-true. Gives figures only for local authority housing.

From 2007-2010, 14,035 local authority and 6,345 voluntary and co-operative houses were built. A total of 20,380. From 2011 until September 2015, 1,328 local authority and 2,184 voluntary + co-operative houses were built. A total of 3,512.

“JUST STOP,” Colette almost-shouts.

This is what started that round of screaming.

Most of you at home are not impressed with the leaders’ inability to let each other speak.

Is this bit rehearsed from Enda and Joan?

She splits the room in  half, positioning herself and Enda has a team, telling Gerry to take the snide look off his face.

He gives her a simple Gerry smile back.

snide

I think there was actually a few of them in there…

Oddly, not a mention of that fiscal space.

After that remark from Joan Burton about Fr Peter McVerry not knowing all the government’s plans to tackle homelessness, the Trust has been tweeting.

PastedImage-67763

Here’s another we prepared earlier.

“The government opened up 2,500 vacant houses last year” – Joan Burton

Verdict

TRUE, but actually slightly understates the figure, which was 2,696. However, her claim that all those houses are now occupied does not have a verifiable factual basis. For more details, check out this article.

And we’re all done. That was a swift end to a 90-minute rollercoaster ride.

Not a massively illuminating debate. We’re no clearer on the various parties’ stance on the Eighth Amendment or who they’d go into government with.

Hugh’s off now to see how the leaders think they went.

Meanwhile, Gavin Sheridan is garnering your reactions on Twitter to all the big questions of tonight – how long did Enda spend on his hair? Is Pat’s tan real? The best dressed?

Check him out at @gavinsblog

We have one last FactCheck for the night. Going back to something Gerry Adams supposedly said about the Special Criminal Court.

PastedImage-67763

Gerry Adams said juries could go into witness protection – Joan Burton (and others).

Verdict

FALSE, but Adams may have left his position open to various interpretations. An Irish Independent transcript of last Sunday’s press conference does not show Adams ever explicitly calling for witness protection for juries, and not assenting when that specific proposition was put to him.

Q. So would you put juries into a sort of witness protection programme?

A: There are measures which can be used to deal with all of that …

Q. You said you’d send jurors into witness protection?

A: I said other administrations deal with this issue and deal with criminality of this kind without resource to Special Criminal Courts.

There’s still quite the buzz out in Ballymount as the post-match analysis continues.

Micheál Martin declared himself happy but Gerry declined to answer a question about whether he won the debate, simply asking back: “What do you think?”

There was still time to get one last dig in though.

Enda sticks to chat about TV’s debate-hosting skills after the show, commenting on the ‘ambience of the environment’.

But he also takes issue with how the 90 minutes went down.

We’ll leave it there as Ivan, Mick Clifford and Co. discuss why Micheál Martin was the winner tonight.

Hugh O’Connell will have more for us in the morning, as well Dan MacGuill our resident factchecker.

Next Monday, Claire Byrne is hosting a seven-person leaders debate which will also include Richard Boyd Barrett (Anti Austerity Alliance/People Before Profit), Lucinda Creighton (Renua) and Stephen Donnelly (Social Democrats).

We’ll be back for whatever that brings. We’d recommend earplugs.

e3d45962-da67-48a6-8076-f8bc317e2a04

And now we’ll bid you goodnight.

tumblr_ljj21zSsOZ1qixleeo1_500

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

257 Comments
    Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:36 PM

Would anyone else love to see Pat Kenny, just before he’s asks enda his first question, pull his face off Scooby Doo villain style, and it’s actually Vincent Browne underneath?

Mute liam
    Favourite liam
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:48 PM

I hope Gerry tells his story about how to deal with uppity journalists again, that went down brilliantly last time.

Mute Not Neo, not Trinity
    Favourite Not Neo, not Trinity
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:51 PM

“And when the Irish Independent condemned his actions as ‘murder most foul’ what did Michael Collins do? He dispatched his men to the office of the Independent and held the editor at gunpoint as they dismantled the entire printing machinery and destroyed it,” Mr Adams wrote.

Gerry supports the abolition of the Offences agains the State Act, the abolition of the SCC and the shoooting to death of journalists, specifically journalists employed by INM.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:54 PM

Oh, you mean the comment that the press council found had been taken out of context?

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/politics/Gerry-Adams-press-watchdog-complaint-over-Michael-Collins-speech-is-upheld.html

“The Irish Press Council has upheld a complaint made by Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams, who claimed that the Irish Independent had taken comments he made in a speech in late 2014 out of context.

At a fund-raising event in New York, Adams spoke of the actions of Michael Collins in 1916 when he held the editor of the Irish Independent at gunpoint. In the subsequent report of the speech, Adams believed that the Irish Independent had failed to clarify that the comments were made in reference to a historical event and were not a threat to the paper’s current editor.”

Feb 11th 2016, 9:00 PM

Even in historical context he laughed at sending gunmen out to shoot journalists.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:12 PM

You must like a good drama Not Neo. Bet you enjoyed the one where Enda said that he was warned to have the Army on standby in order to prevent a run on the banks.

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:12 PM

Maybe that’s why there’s no decent journalist left. Collins killed them all. What party did Collins belong to?

Feb 11th 2016, 9:14 PM

Fine Gael was founded in 1933, so it wasn’t them, if that what you are attempting to imply.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:22 PM

Michael collins was a member of Cumann na Ngaedhal.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:27 PM

Gerry Gerry Gerry

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:34 PM

I think you’ll find he was a member of Sinn Fein

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:37 PM

Gurry, Murton and Mury

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:07 PM

@gabby, on further investigation Cumann na nGaedhal was founded April 1923, so 8 months after Michael Collins was killed

Mute Bertram Copeland Rumfoord
    Favourite Bertram Copeland Rumfoord
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:37 PM

Take a night off For Connolly..Your comments are dull and predictable ..And not a single one of them were convincing.. Poor performances all round.. Burton shaded being the worst..

Mute gordon kennedy
    Favourite gordon kennedy
    Feb 12th 2016, 1:16 AM

True, then why do FG always claim Collins?! Then bang on about others hijacking this and that.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Feb 12th 2016, 4:22 AM

HIS comments are dull and predictable, “Bertram”. That is some joke considering the endless repetition of the same canards day in and day out by the nest of FG trolls here

Mute Bertram Copeland Rumfoord
    Favourite Bertram Copeland Rumfoord
    Feb 12th 2016, 8:00 PM

There’s no difference in any utterances of SF/Lab/FF/FG etc trolls on here Rashers

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:49 PM

Caaannnn iiii jusssssssssssttttttt saaaaaayyyyyy.

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:42 PM

Anyone coming in many moons ago would have brought stability! ! Joan is only short of licking Enda’s balls! !

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:28 PM

Their central argument is they were in when the economy got better. Think of how shallow that argument in by exploring how things would have gone if the 2007 election had come out differently.

If FG-Lab won in 2007, the crash would have happened on their watch (in fact given their history they probably would have been going to the polls well before 2011 when their govt collapsed) and FF would be cruizing to a majority right now everyone talking about how much disposable income we had during the Bertie era and how housing market was doing great, even as a bricklayer you could make decent money. One was unlucky enough to be in power at the wrong time, one was lucky not to be. Sure there were domestic mistakes made in property that mean we’d have had a downturn here even if there had not been a global crash but it would have been more like 2001, and quickly over.

No govt could have avoided a global crash it’s just not possible. So the thing to judge them on is things they do control, health, crime, housing, education, welfare reform…

Mute Ciaran OHalloran
    Favourite Ciaran OHalloran
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:13 PM

Would anyone mind if they just ignored Joan for the whole debate? Her voice is like nails on a chalkboard

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:30 PM

Burtons violin is out of tune,volume down when it looks like she’s going to whine,speak,I meant speak!

Mute Red Petal
    Favourite Red Petal

She’s a real life miss piggy only more painful to look at and hear from! Felt the need to speak over everyone because she’s not confident in what she’s saying

Mute Kevin Hall
    Favourite Kevin Hall
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:26 PM

I’m a young person. Fine Gael in their 2011 election manifesto stated that student contribution fees would not be increased. 5 years later, it’s up 50%.

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:37 PM

They acually said they’d scrap them up front and replace the system with a graduate tax you paid after you left, that would kick in at a certain income. Instead they hiked the fees then the minister in question supported a model where you have to pay full fees up front and not even a state backed loan.

Labour said they’d not even go into coalition with someone if water charges were on the table, that it was a ”red line issue”
    Both said they’d renegotiate the debt.
    Both said they’d do major constitutional reform.

Don’t buy any FG/Lab promises, fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me

Mute Kevin Hall
    Favourite Kevin Hall
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:02 PM

You’d wonder why Fine Gael have 29% and labour have 8%. I literally can’t fathom it.

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:20 PM

Simple: FG voters love austerity because they can afford it and because it hits what they perceive to be a slacker class that they are paying for.
    Lab voters (youth, students, non-douchebag middle class, working class) hate austerity.

Nobody expected FG to be cushy and cuddly, but Labour it’s meant to be just that. Would you have higher expectations in the sack for Tommy Bowe or Pascal Donohouge? So who’s gonna be more of a dissapointment if it’s not great?

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Feb 12th 2016, 12:02 AM

Going off a video piece the Irish examiner did the last day or two about 90% of UCC students are voting FG. Personally I think even that would be a big surprise for Enda

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Feb 12th 2016, 4:14 AM

Then they are crunts.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Feb 12th 2016, 1:44 PM

I remember those third level promises oh so well. Thats why anyone else is getting my vote, couldn’t afford final year and had to spend an extra year in a zero hour contract just to keep up.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:32 PM

Dont like FF but Martin is having a good debate as is Adams.

Mute Jarrett moon
    Favourite Jarrett moon
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:41 PM

It’s gonna be tropic..

Mute Noel Howley
    Favourite Noel Howley
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:09 PM

Enda: “who ya gonna trust..” Ghostbusters?

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran

OMG this debate is so embarrassing.

See 44 more replies ▾
    Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid

Shinnerbots, I will save you some time:

Gorry = good

Inda = bad

Mehole = bad

iPhone = bad

Feb 11th 2016, 9:36 PM

Adams kicking ass so far. Enda and Joan extremely flustered. Crime and security next. Should be lively.

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:42 PM

Mehole is even making a show of Enda. Look how uneasy he is. Burton and Kenny have no credibility to take care of the people after the last 5 years. Mehole CAN’T be given power back that easy. Would I like to see Adams.? I’m not sure. The truth is there is no real choice here. This country is screwed if these are the top 4 politicians available to lead.

Feb 11th 2016, 9:44 PM

Joan keeps gesturing to Enda to back herself up when she makes a point. I’m mortified for Labour.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:50 PM

Just so much shouting….I’m just getting annoyed trying hear anything coherent.

Feb 11th 2016, 9:52 PM

Adams should ask Enda why his party helped cover up the biggest terrorist atrocity this state has ever seen, the Dublin and Monnaghan massacre.

Feb 11th 2016, 9:53 PM

Ah yeah, it was their mates the Tories.

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:53 PM

Martin is easy outperforming em all. Adams can’t defend his stance on the SCC. If you had no idea of his history you would think he seems like a lovely old statesman. Kenny is….Kenny. Burton is awful. Throwing in the FF/SF was dirty. So was the “don’t point your finger and intimidate me!”

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:56 PM

Joan is a bit hysterical, she seems all over the place.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:59 PM

Adams rattled.. Although none of them inspires me to vote for any of them.

Feb 11th 2016, 10:00 PM

That presenter is tearing them all a new one (not Pat).

Feb 11th 2016, 10:03 PM

I know her face. This girl chews you up and spits you out.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:04 PM

Joan Burton is crazy. Absolute crazy women.

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:04 PM

Hopefully the governments propaganda chanel debate is better then this garbage but I doubt it

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:05 PM

Channel

Mute Iúrach
    Favourite Iúrach
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:06 PM

Recommended watching:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=27UL3tZW1bk

The elite are scared of a certain debater, and not under threat of violence!

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:11 PM

Joan burton is a disaster.. Shes walking labour into oblivion.

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:15 PM

Enda is hardly there at all. The only time you hear him is when is butting in with stats while Michael Martin is talking. Joan telling lies to beat the band. Gerry.. Well his suit is fab. Michael is winning hands down. Oh noooooo another Fianna Fail govt.. ffs

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:16 PM

Joan and Enda – guess who’s wearing the trousers in that relationship!!

Mute jennifer
    Favourite jennifer
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:17 PM

Joan coming across very bad she can’t keep her big mouth shut. Sound bites sound bites
    Drone drone drone .

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:32 PM

Joan has put the final nail Into labours coffin after that performance

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:37 PM

Diarmuid..even you yes you..has to think that was a poor performance by the Toaiseach. I bet even you would have done better, and you’re a monkey.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:44 PM

Well all the commentators are saying kenny did v well.. Adams tanked.. Martin won bruton is a disaster.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:54 PM

What commentors said kenny did well? Burton saved him so many times and shes frunked.

Feb 11th 2016, 10:55 PM

The most important thing is that people make the effort to vote. The World is yours.

Mute socrates
    Favourite socrates
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:56 PM

I’ll be honest i laughed frequently at the start because the debate if you could call it that was such a cacophony of empty rhetoric sound bites and finger pointing (figuratively &literally) and then it dawned on me that these moronic , squabbling , self aggrandising sociopaths are running the country…none of them have a plan.

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:57 PM

Have to say that was rubbish, I’m down to the bookies to put a bet on SF & SF coalition. Moaning Joan put the last straw on labours back. Not one mention of the people, who have to vote. Personally I’m not voting for any of them. Same boring lies. Reality – under any of these muppets they will have iw privatised USC is here to stay, house tax here to stay, health is f$cked. Corruption is rampant and law and order non existent, they will pay the German banks and they will continue to screw every working person in this country. Remove the lot. We need a new party that is honest, not influenced by the wealthy and who looks after everyone equally.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:01 PM

Jeez….did you hear Kenny on the 8th(you could see it coming)…..”Just last week, I met a young woman….waffle waffle waffle”
    He’s met someone with every problem in the world….which we know is impossible as he spends most of his time hiding.

Feb 11th 2016, 11:03 PM

Adams won’t be around forever, no more than any of us. It’s all a distraction. We need to populate the planets and bring the word of God. Our God, a God of compassion and science. The real God.

Mute mick1
    Favourite mick1

Mehole has some brass neck !!! If finna fail get back into government after the mess that Bertie / cowen left then we are some gob shites !!!! I’d vote Sinn Fein before I’d vote for that lot at least they didn’t welcome the troika to clean up a wreckage !!!!!!!!!

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:04 PM

Make no mistake , as a limerick resident ,our city would be destroyed if the Shinners got there way and abolished the special criminal court putting . FACT

Feb 11th 2016, 11:09 PM

it’s a relay race, aliens came here before and our job is to pass on the baton of civilisation.. Makes sense and is logical. God is a scientist. Love is the fuel.

Feb 11th 2016, 11:14 PM

The idea being that we civilise ourselves before we attempt to spread the word.

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:24 PM

Mick FF/FG/LAB had nearly identical economic policies during the 2000s, so much so the IDA used to brag to foreign investors about it as a sign of stability.

It would not have made any difference if they were in power then. In fact you could have had a SF majority in 2007/8 it would not have made any difference. Even if they had undone the policies that exacerbated the crash’s effects like too may tax cuts and letting depository and investment banks mix, they’d have only made it less intense. It was not possible for any Irish govt to completely stop that crash were too open an economy for that. There is no point deluding yourself on this point because it will only cause you dissapointment later when you realize the party you switch to does not control every aspect of the economy either.

Mute mick1
    Favourite mick1
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:35 PM

Fianna failures are busy red tumbing!!

Feb 11th 2016, 11:48 PM

God is fantabulous. Not one politician has knocked here just a snakey leaflet-drop from this crew. These guys feed on fear.

Feb 12th 2016, 12:05 AM

Ordinary people like Shane Ross are gonna get voted for.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Feb 12th 2016, 12:10 AM

How many cases are pending in the SCC that have to do with criminality in limerick right now? Or why do you think would be destroyed without it?

Mute Tadhg O'Riordan
    Favourite Tadhg O'Riordan
    Feb 12th 2016, 12:21 AM

As a Limerick resident, no it wouldn’t

Mute Tadhg O'Riordan
    Favourite Tadhg O'Riordan
    Feb 12th 2016, 12:24 AM

You might as well look up “buzzword to distract people away from the fact that the government cut garda resources thus making it easier for criminal gangs to operate = scc”

Mute Mr D
    Favourite Mr D
    Feb 12th 2016, 12:26 AM

limerick city was destroyed a long time ago. nothing to do with sinn fein. in fact im sure if sinn fein get elected they will gve you a green area to keep your pie balds…

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Feb 12th 2016, 12:51 AM

Shinners be cray cray….

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Feb 12th 2016, 4:08 AM

Are those the commentators in your head?

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Feb 12th 2016, 9:05 AM

Ah Jamie , I’d say the safest political move for Adams would be to “not” bring up cold blooded murder, even though as all his worshippers know, he was never in any organisation connected to cold blooded murderers .

Mute Ciaran OHalloran

Gerry and Michael are making a surprisingly good team. Burton is hopeless, She’s dragging Enda down

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:47 PM

Dragging enda down? Where to.

Mute Ciaran OHalloran

This debate is a disaster. Complete mess. Talking over eachother. Moderators have no control

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:38 PM

Moderators? Is that what they’re doing there?

Mute Éanna McClean
    Favourite Éanna McClean
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:40 PM

Micheal: Bail-out
    Joan: Sell-out
    Enda: Cop-out
    Gerry: Brits-out
    #leadersdebate

Feb 11th 2016, 10:34 PM

Let’s put the people first. For once.

Mute Éanna McClean
    Favourite Éanna McClean
    Feb 12th 2016, 8:53 AM

I was left very frustrated by all parties involved. None of them answered direct questions, perhaps exp when Adams was asked about the 8th Amendment. My point is this, how can the people decide who to vote for if the leaders of the parties cannot hold a civil debate.

Mute Cowboy Paddy
    Favourite Cowboy Paddy

Have FG/Lab in charge the last few years… They spend this whole debate blaming FF…

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:39 PM

The only person coming out of this debate with any credibility is Martin. The rest are blaming FF circa 2006 and Ferry is pulling money from his hole?

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony

Well it was FFs fault, we were afterall the only country to have a recession in 2008 while everyone else boomed around us. That’s how FG remembers it at least

Mute Eannán Monaghan
    Favourite Eannán Monaghan
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:58 PM

Most other western nations went through some form of a recession in the late 2000′s. It was a worldwide recession

Mute Armin Tamzarian
    Favourite Armin Tamzarian
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:02 PM

And who decided to give the blanket guarantee

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:25 PM

Worldwide recession with Spain, Portugal, Cyprus, Ireland and the US hit. England in the 70′s had the IMF in. Argentina, Iceland. Now China facing difficulty. We always see ourselves as downtrodden! It happens.

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Feb 12th 2016, 12:00 AM

@Armin just about every country made that mistake. The US passed a HUUUUUUUUUUGE bailout.

Personally, I think long term it would have been better for the world to let those banks fail because it would show no you can’t be bailed out at taxpayer expense to don’t take such insane risks next time, it would stop them doing it, and have been a powerful argument backing regulatory changes. But lets not delude ourselves, studies showed that doing it that way would have meant a recession twice as long and twice as deep, with 25% unemployment. It would have been the worst decade Ireland had ever experienced.
    They knew that as their advisers told them, those advisers also said restoring confidence with a blanket coverage of the banks books would ensure stability.

It was bad advice. It should have been conditional on only deposits being protected not risky investments, conditional on audits of their books and been tied with new regulations in the very same bill – but there was such a panic at the time, you had politicians inexperienced in finance who just wanted to put out the fire.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy

Local Property Tax goes to local councils…says Pat

Ehh no

It went to Irish Water along with the Road Tax

A vote for Fine Gael is a vote for Irish Water

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:39 PM

Great news finally see the chaff for the wheat!

Remember a vote for Fine Gael is a vote for Irish Water.

Not even a transfer for pro Irish Water parties.

Not even a transfer.

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:52 PM

Irish water is not an election issue

Feb 11th 2016, 9:01 PM

It is for 5% of people apparently.

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:08 PM

65% you mean

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:45 PM

Who owns that paper

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig

Looks about 65% from the thumbs up and down mate. Have a reality coffee.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:19 PM

Dear oh dear…

The crisis is over…..

Lol ECB heading for free fall as they speak.

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann

I’m selling my apartment now that I’m 100,000 up!!

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:47 PM

….indeed.
    Iceberg no2 the Chinese Markets
    Iceberg no3 the US student debt bubble
    Iceberg no4 the US commercial property bubble
    Iceberg no5 the derivatives market being bigger than the entire US GDP and v shaky
    Iceberg no6 the Obama JOBS ACT in the US Legalizing wonton fraud in areas that will make 2008 crash look like childs play
    Iceberg no7 the ”too big to fail” banks are much much bigger now than they were and so far two people are winning for President who don’t have a problem with that, or a plan for any of the other things mentioned above.

But who cares I’m Enda from Mayo, and de locel bypass is serted sure, she’ll be grand FG will get back in, sure wasn’t it Fianna Fail, not complex macroeconomic factors, that caused the crash and sure duh duh duh as long as FF aren’t in office nothing bad will happen duh duh duh
    3 years later, Enda in front of TV “and we can now confirm the failure of Citigroup will require a large bailout”

Enda at press conference “We have confidence there will be a soft landing, we will not need the IMF” (3 IMF guys on split screen in Dublin restaurant having lunch)

Mute Omar Batistuta
    Favourite Omar Batistuta
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:54 PM

Yea all the other countries are doing great on the debt clock!!

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:19 PM

The crisis is over Joan ? Don’t google Debt Clock Ireland whatever you do.
    #keepthespoofinggoing!

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:49 PM

Stop waving ur finger at me! Lol

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:35 PM

Kenny must have been the schoolboy bully he is speaking over everyone such IGNORANCE.

Mute Mel Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Mel Fitzpatrick
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:46 PM

Watching this debate you’d wonder how the f**k did Enda Kenny and Joan Burton get into power! Absolutely embarrassing.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:57 PM

It seems michael martin is coming across strongest, gerry getting bogged down on the scc and the other two cant string a sentence together between them unless they read from the script. What a mess we have on our hands for the next 5 yrs

Mute Mel Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Mel Fitzpatrick
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:59 PM

Totally agree, can’t believe I’d say it but Michael Martin is coming out by far the best

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:34 PM

In Endas case: DEFAULT. He didn’t get in on his own charisma or his parties own ideas, they only got in because their competition imploded by being unlucky enough to be in office during the biggest crash since the great depression.

In Joans case, her predecessor screamed about economic treason then bowed his head without negotiations to the same overlords, and broke all the per-election promises…..so they naturally had to get rid of him…so they could get someone in who could….continue to do all those exact same things..

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Favourite Richard Sweeney
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:24 PM

Not one of them is fit to represent us.

Feb 11th 2016, 8:33 PM

Excited? Well no because I do not see any leaders in that facial space. All a waste of time and tax payers money.

Mute Dan Mullins
    Favourite Dan Mullins
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:37 PM

They actually are. the Journal had a poll about a week ago asking who we’d like to see as next Taoiseach. It was the first time I actually realised that these 4 clowns were the only options for Taoiseach. Regardless of who wins the election, the people will lose

Mute Moderate Michael
    Favourite Moderate Michael
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:39 PM

Well, consider that we get the politicians that we deserve. So before you condemn the lot of them, condemn yourself first

Feb 11th 2016, 9:04 PM

I’d not vote for any of those Moderate. Would you ?

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:27 PM

Has anyone else noticed enda and micheal are practically wearing the same attire, just different ties. Hmmmm

Mute John Morrissey
    Favourite John Morrissey
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:33 PM

Enda needs to stop smirking, he looks like a naughty schoolboy!

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:33 PM

Its the approved new coalition uniform

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill

Enda and Joan are an absolute joke, interrupting the whole time with nonsensical statements and sound bites

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:43 PM

What I find odd is FG and Labour want to go into gov again together …but but but, they have different manifestos. Now how does that work.

Mute up3bs9LF
    Favourite up3bs9LF
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:14 PM

Jenni thats a great point.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni

I’ll bet enda doesnt do mondays debate on rte..anyone on?

Mute Ray Dempsey
    Favourite Ray Dempsey

Mr. Martin is kicking ass

Mute Derrick McGrath
    Favourite Derrick McGrath

Why is Joan even there, her whining is tough to take.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:12 PM

Joan looks fazed,she should retire/emigrate and enjoy the pension we gave her.Ding dong the ……

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:31 PM

The economy has turned around!

Don’t anyone mention the elephant in the room

http://www.nationaldebtclocks.org/debtclock/ireland

200 billion in debt

The banksters odious gambling debts foisted onto the back of the people which our grandchildren will still be paying off.

Fine Gaelnomics privatise the profits and socialize the debts!

A vote for Fine Gael is a vote for Irish Water.

Not even a transfer for pro Irish Water parties.

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:51 PM

200 billion is around equal to the GDP that is normal in most countries
    The important factor is the rate of growth at present out nation debt is stable down from 160% of the GDP.

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:40 PM

Don’t be abtuse enough to think what arse sits at what table in the cabinet room has any bloody bearing on the economy of Ireland. Were a small open economy we are flung with the tides, when the EU and US are doing well we do well, when they are doing bad we do bad. That simple
    The wall street crash happened under FGs watch just like the 08 crash under FF.
    Sure some specific policies FF had at the time made it worse, but those policies like banking deregulation and housing policy were also not only shared by FG but FG was in favor of things that would have made that property bubble way way way worse.

Do you really think having an empty suit like Enda in charge will protect us from the next crash like if the derivatives market tanks like a house of cards? or China blows up? or the US commercial property or student debt bubbles bursting? It won’t make any difference, you should vote based on domestic policy in education, crime, social welfare etc

Mute Omar Batistuta
    Favourite Omar Batistuta

Yes let’s decide the whole future of the country based on a yearly 150 euro bill. Don’t be worrying about the economy, health, infrastructure, taxes, jobs

Mute Éanna McClean
    Favourite Éanna McClean

Come on Gerry. Getting rid of the SCC a purely about getting Provos like Slab Murphy off the hook

Mute Gerard Doherty
    Favourite Gerard Doherty
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:50 PM

wonder will enda call in sick?

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:29 PM

Nope. Won it easily. Enda is the Barcelona of politics.

Mute Brian Heffernan
    Favourite Brian Heffernan
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:03 PM

I see Joan Burton is wearing FG blue.

Mute Anastasia
    Favourite Anastasia

Edna says the USC was a brought in before he because Taoiseach well why did he not get rid of it in year one

Mute Ciaran OHalloran

I don’t think Enda or Joan realise how little the average working person in the Republic struggling with austerity policies cares about what happened up North 20/30/40 years ago.

Mute Fred Coloe
    Favourite Fred Coloe
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:29 PM

Debate should have have a live audience!

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:56 PM

Kenny will stick to his pre arranged script. Burton will blame Sinn Fein, Adams and FF on anything when she doesn’t like a question. Gerry will spend his time NOT answering questions from his past and Martin will not be able to shut up and capitalise on the Tw1ts around him he will have to tell us how great he will be, yet we all know he suffers from Amnesia.

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas

Sounds about right.Thanks for the summary. I don’t have to watch it now!

Mute Barney r
    Favourite Barney r

Judging by his rambles, Enda is mic’ed up to a room full of his cronies and is repeating randomly or its the spirits of FF in the same room.

Mute james walsh
    Favourite james walsh
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:48 PM

Enda & joan like two rats cornered no where to go but scream & shout it’s all there fault, Enda Has to read off his notes to string two sentences together.
    Pathetic shower
    #nofgliebour

Mute P Quinn
    Favourite P Quinn
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:16 PM

Is Joan Burton’s job tonight to just shout over Martin and Adams? Seriously she won’t allow them to speak. Why is she allowed to get away with this? Disgraceful performance from FG amd Labour

Mute Derry Healy
    Favourite Derry Healy
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:28 PM

Bad, very bad debate. Winners
    1. M. Martin
    2 jerry adams
    3 enda
    14 Joan

Mute Ciaran OHalloran
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:30 PM

Agreed. Kenny and whatsherface were like that substitute teacher that couldn’t control the class

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:35 PM

“The crisis is over” squaked joan as the coffin lid was nailed shut on her political career.

Mute Éanna McClean
    Favourite Éanna McClean
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:46 PM

Gerry is getting mauled.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:26 PM

Can someone oil Joan please

Mute Luke Sarpish
    Favourite Luke Sarpish
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:59 PM

I’m off to the pub,recording it on sky plus. Ohhh is that too much for you Joan..We have turkey neck with bingo wings debating with a spineless chicken..KFCs anyone??

Mute Briannowcuddles Brian
    Favourite Briannowcuddles Brian

I think its time to let Gerry have a go of been leader no more water charges and property tax I will be able to afford to paint the outside of the house

Mute John Morrissey
    Favourite John Morrissey

Gerry is coming across quite well, followed by Michael, Joan and Enda not doing well at all.

Mute Louise McMahon
    Favourite Louise McMahon
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:25 PM

50,000 emigrated?? half a million emigrated!
    Less than 400 social houses built however over 10000 private houses for private landlords built?
    New SME created over 30,000 jobs for those unemployed
    FACTS

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott

So, people who have worked their asses off and wanted to buy an extra house should be denied? The country needs more landlords.

Mute Louise McMahon
    Favourite Louise McMahon
    Feb 12th 2016, 11:32 AM

The Irish people need more landlords? Are you dillusional or just need a history lesson? Many a foreign landlord took pleasure out of evicting Irish people out of their homes off the land and off the island, are you are encouraging another rebellion?Many tenants could also afford 2 properties at the price they are paying landlords, if only they were given financial equality and a rent cap, let’s face it some of the rental property is not worth half as much as what is being requested, refer to the property tax bracket for guidance?? !

Kenny taking false promises to new levels, he said we’d all be better off by the end of the program!

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:25 PM

Theme of the debate for Burton and Kenny , is waffle waffle blame FF waffle waffle

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:07 PM

Gerry didn’t do so well on the security section but mother of god Burton is painful

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:51 PM

Matt, he should have put in out there that the Irish Council for Civil Liberties, the UN, Amnesty also support its abolition.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:25 PM

How in the name of God has Joan Burton gotten into a position power. Complete psycho. Nutjob.

Mute Jamesweldon
    Favourite Jamesweldon
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:36 PM

Joans makin a show of herself . Like a mad auntie at a weddin

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og

FG lies

Mute Johnny Donohoe
    Favourite Johnny Donohoe

This live debate is gas. No idea who’s saying what

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon

We need VB chairing this debate, he’d sort Joan Burton and her interuptions out

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter

I just hope the Army Council has Gerry well briefed for this

Just hope that Enda’s handlers have taught him to string 2 words together Tweety…..

Mute Desmond Wisley
    Favourite Desmond Wisley
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:48 PM

Mammy and Daddy Taoiseach protecting Leo ,as Leo is tweeting madly at home from his arm chair telling everyone how good his parents are

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce

Where’s the Leader’s debate?
    All that’s on my screen is an unruly mob of reprobates on the brink of all out chaos.
    What time’s it on?

Mute Louise McMahon
    Favourite Louise McMahon

Real politicians are trained in how to debate..could a real politician please stand up?

Mute Barry Deegan
    Favourite Barry Deegan
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:10 PM

Why doesn’t pat stop them talking over each other..

Feb 11th 2016, 10:24 PM

An Taoiseach puts his hand up asks “Can I ask a question”… Gotta love leadership.

Mute The Artic Monkey
    Favourite The Artic Monkey

This is a shambles…

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

Agreed. I’m only seeing one statesman/woman on that stage. Loving how Adams is just standing politely back, watching them fillet one other.

Mute Ciaran OHalloran

Him and Martin are doing fairly well. Burton having her high pitched, whiny, swansong on stage tonight

Mute Grace o brien
    Favourite Grace o brien

Enda & Joan ‘ we did this we did that in the last five years ‘ – they did what Germany told them to do

Mute Charlie Fogarty

Jaysus Burton needs to retire….Consistent in her shielding of Kenny (who looks exceptionally slimy tonight) to be fair.

Actually thought Martin would come out the better but not to this extent. People forget. Might be a measurable move in the next polls….

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:23 PM

OH snap! Great burn from Gerry on Joan. Then shes brings up the North…

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig

Kenny: “fiscal space, secure recovery Blah blah blah stick to the script” Burton: IRA, special criminal court blah blah blah. Martin: we would be great in power, please forget the past. Gerry: will spend his time not answering questions about his past. Not exactly gonna be great TV.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:21 PM

Edna accuses Adams of “fantasy figures” on housing. Ha ha #2billion #fiscalspace

Can we afford to get rid of the USC? Ask then why? Who gambled away the countrys finances, and who’s screwing us now on higher taxation?

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper

Nah. Bullseye on Challenge TV for me – has questions that are actually answered… And a more likeable host …

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:56 PM

Ken, what number is that?

Cheers

Mute Jonathan Gildea
    Favourite Jonathan Gildea

will they control the damn debate, letting them talk over each other so nobody can hear whats going on…!!!

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power

God help us all!!!

Mute the phantom
    Favourite the phantom

Decent roads up north? A F off gerry !!!

Mute .
    Favourite .

Gerry arguing everything is better in the UK don’t believe him

Mute the phantom
    Favourite the phantom
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:35 PM

Ha ha – classic UK chap – coming to dublin claiming everything better back home

Mute Danny McLaughlin
    Favourite Danny McLaughlin
    Feb 12th 2016, 2:12 PM

It’s 140miles from M50 to home in Donegal.

I can drive the first 90miles in 1 and 1/2 hours.
    The final 50miles through the North takes me 2 hours.

Explain how the roads are better Gerry?

Mute John Gallagher
    Favourite John Gallagher
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:31 PM

Gerry Adams is some joke.. Made a fool of himself!!!

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig

Not as foolish as your pic. Only fooling yourself on the Roids.

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:03 PM

I am glad Kenny thought the threats to INM journalists were abhorrent. I am sure he sent Gemma Doherty flowers.

Mute Derrick McGrath
    Favourite Derrick McGrath
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:05 PM

When it came to crime, I’d say Enda, Joan and Micheal got that fuzzy feeling of excitement when white collar crime didn’t get a mention.

Every time Joan jumps in I get a little startled, her voice has a tone that raises the pitch.

Mute Eamonn coughlan
    Favourite Eamonn coughlan
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:19 PM

How can anyone vote for Joan Bruton? good god the other 3 are bad but she is disturbed.

Mute Paul MacNulty
    Favourite Paul MacNulty
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:20 PM

Bullshit bingo at its best.

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:55 PM

Ends asked about the 8th and 5 mind later still to answer

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:55 PM

Minutes

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:22 PM

He gave an honest answer. Then our left wing gave an even more muddy one….

Feb 11th 2016, 10:27 PM

Has he a ear piece then?

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:30 PM

If he doesn’t then what?? Omg. He won it hands down.

Mute Alfie Bonney
    Favourite Alfie Bonney
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:33 PM

Burton and Kenny are embarrassing, pair of spoofers

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:30 PM

Can someone give me a shout when the bikini and talent segments are coming up?

Mute Barney r
    Favourite Barney r
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:00 PM

You mean the Mexican president debate format.
    Http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yW7wK_0C5S0

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:43 PM

Wowwwwww

Mute Éanna McClean
    Favourite Éanna McClean

This is a joke. Joan Burton’s tactic is squeak about FF’s many failures of 5 years ago.

Mute Louise McMahon
    Favourite Louise McMahon

Irish families are on their knees, knee capped by poverty!

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:52 PM

I never thought I would say this “Kenny for Taoiseach, Pat Kenny”

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:57 PM

Looks like Ursla is a Kenny fan girl

Mute Alan Stephens
    Favourite Alan Stephens
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:26 PM

Is enda having an affair with Joan . They deserve each other. And pat Kenny is the matchmaker

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:45 PM

Jesus but if this is what’s we have to lead our country we’re fupped

Jaysus I sent the kids to bed early for squabbling with each other and they weren’t as bad as that shower.

Next interviewees please !!!!

Feb 11th 2016, 9:54 PM

Ahh, this is total bs, scripted questions and answers again, crap leaders debate.

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:20 PM

Enda killing it. Very impressed by the so-called village idiot. He has my vote. Streets ahead in terms of honesty and overall knowledge. His answer on the abortion issue showed his loyalty to honesty and transparency. Legend.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:15 PM

Even though I didn’t watch this mess, it is literally impossible for your statements to be true, Gavin – and everyone knows it.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Feb 12th 2016, 9:59 AM

YFG Rashers.. you can’t expect the truth from any of them.

Feb 11th 2016, 10:21 PM

Scaremonger about the term recovery and promise the kitchen sink to pensioners and families…
    Why is no one talking about forcing the unemployed to do a Momentum program that I did where I and many many others had to work 37.5 hours a week for 12 weeks to be entitled to get my dole… felixvitae.wordpress.com

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:29 PM

Thank Christ that’s over,

Mute Shane Walsh
    Favourite Shane Walsh

It’s beyond cingeworthy

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper

Joan might get a job on Xpose after she is turfed out. Idiot.

Mute Tom Mcshane
    Favourite Tom Mcshane
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:19 PM

God bless us all. I cant believe Martin is doing best

Mute Pablo Lord
    Favourite Pablo Lord

I’m definitely voting independent

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:49 PM

I was hoping for debate bingo

Cool idea, but there’d be no winner!

Mute IrishGravyTrain

Yeah Journal. Where is the Bingo.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:01 PM

What’s this, Pat Kenny joined Newstalk?

Mute James Onedin
    Favourite James Onedin
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:40 PM

No way! Since when?

Feb 11th 2016, 11:35 PM

BBC News from London stated that the two that accused Adams od the disappearance of Jean McConville, had it in for Adam because of the Good Friday Agreement and they even wanted to become leaders of S.F. themselves. Both of them thought they could reclaim the N. Ireland through violence and hated the Good Friday Agreement, this was stated by the BBC London News political correspondent. Politics is a very dirty game.

So Micheal Martin got it wrong…

Mute Scott
    Favourite Scott
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:51 PM

https://youtu.be/y_NrCRhkcd8

The above YouTube link sums up Enda well

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo

Burton was embarrasing, the woman is deluded

Mute Kellyanne Ross
    Favourite Kellyanne Ross
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:31 PM

Well that was depressing oh the choices the choices who shall I vote for . If they would have just stopped acting like 5 year old and actually let somebody finish a point than maybe I would have got something out of it all or be at least a bit more informed in what are their policies

Mute byrne3g
    Favourite byrne3g
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:15 PM

I think Pat Kenny is winning this debate

Feb 11th 2016, 10:43 PM

Mehole was trying to fight Moany and Inda on his right and Grizzly on his left while trying to appear middle of the road, trouble with middle of the road is you get hit from both sides.
    #bertiesmate

Mute orla
    Favourite orla
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:10 PM

At one point Joan was screeching, over Martin, and Enda, and I just laughed..she was like Mario Rosenstock playing Joan Burton, He definitely got her down to a te .

Mute THE BIG LAD
    Favourite THE BIG LAD
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:39 PM

Moany joany is goiny !

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:51 PM

Thank you Journal, for your sacrifice and for doing this so I didn’t have to. No offence, but the whole exercise appears to be meaningless and designed to fill some empty space in the schedules.

Mute Ciaran OHalloran
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:28 PM

Woah.. That was terrible

Mute Ursus Major
    Favourite Ursus Major

This live blog is stupid, incoherent and is stultified by twitterings, and not necesserily in that order !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Why did Kenny act the eejit by welcoming the press to TV3′s studio, it wasn’t his place??? What a crazy thing to do?

Mute Old Gordon
    Favourite Old Gordon

Amazing on the anniversary of 1916, we have 90 minutes advertising why those hundred years were probably in vain with the calibre of leadership on offer. Joan, hopeless; Enda, looking at the ink on his arms; Martin, not appawling and Gerry, anonymous.

Mute Joe Smith
    Favourite Joe Smith
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:07 PM

Why aren’t you there ?

Mute Paul MacNulty
    Favourite Paul MacNulty
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:32 PM

What a load of political shite, TV3 would have done better to transmit a decent film.

Mute Len Brennan
    Favourite Len Brennan
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:44 PM

Where’s loopy lucy?

Mute James Onedin
    Favourite James Onedin
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:38 PM

And in unrelated news, BummyDrummy is on his way home from the States. The State Pen must have been a bit too ncomfortable for him.

Mute Jarrett moon
    Favourite Jarrett moon

It’s Connor McGrenda. Boom boom.
    I’m going back to my piles. More entertaining

Mute Robbie Farquharson
    Favourite Robbie Farquharson
    Feb 11th 2016, 9:18 PM

The Irish peoples 2016 Election song

Bit of Paul Weller!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k5HfOipwvts

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:45 PM

We’re not spoilt for choice politically speaking in this country are we… It’s depressing how untrustworthy our politicians are, especially those four.

Mute Dwayne Jordan
    Favourite Dwayne Jordan

How can anyone take Micheal Martin and FF seriously after they created the mess were in!

Mute 3A's
    Favourite 3A's
    Feb 11th 2016, 8:58 PM

As I was out canvassing people kept shouting.”Enda Kennys Army..Enda Kennys Army”..fist pump…that will get us all going.

Mute Dwayne Jordan
    Favourite Dwayne Jordan
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:05 PM

How can anyone take Micheal Martin or FF seriously after they created the mess were in!

Mute Grace Jeaney
    Favourite Grace Jeaney
    Feb 12th 2016, 12:24 AM

These people are paid huge salaries, expenses, and will retire on pensions that beggar belief. They are out of touch with their electorate. The debate was a point scoring exercise which only served to show how poor the are at their job. Our hospitals need more beds, nurses and doctors. Our education system for third level is crippling families who don’t qualify for a grant. And in 2016, people are sleeping in doorways in freezing weather. They should lead by example, the lack of humility shown by them is shameful.

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:01 PM

Even the theme music is uninspiring

Mute 3A's
    Favourite 3A's

There is a myth yawning is contagious. .my dogs will never forgive me..

Mute John Morrissey
    Favourite John Morrissey

SCC…here we go…

Mute D H
    Favourite D H

So pat kenny is asking questions on the safety of jurists in high profile criminal cases just after stating that none of the pending cases in the scc have anything to do with gangland crimes

Mute Anthony Costello
    Favourite Anthony Costello
    Feb 11th 2016, 10:39 PM

Kenny was in command of the debate throughout. The presenters nor the other candidates failed to interupt him. He was clear and concise and the audience saw that at home.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:16 PM

Rot.

Mute Louth Noises
    Favourite Louth Noises
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:12 PM

Gimpfest

Mute Michael Cahill
    Favourite Michael Cahill
    Feb 11th 2016, 11:30 PM

This is what 1916 achieved, opportunists chancers and gombeens, banana republic