You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Does this constitute 'throwing around' the flag? Mary Lou McDonald at a Dáil protest in 2010. Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

No more 'throwing around' our national flag, Sinn Féin TDs told

The party will debate a motion proposing the national flag “be shown due respect” this weekend.

SINN FÉIN WILL debate a motion calling on members to pay more respect to the national flag, when the party meets this weekend for its Ard Fheis.

The agenda for the two day meeting was launched this afternoon.

Some 2,000 delegates are expected at the event, in Derry – where guests for the weekend will include members of Greece’s ruling Syriza party and the Palestinian ambassador.

Amongst the motions to be debated, is the following, from the Piarais McCan Cumann, Tipperary:

This Ard Fheis proposes that our national flag should be shown due respect and not be thrown around by the party’s elected representatives and their supporters.

Labour TD Arthur Spring (who may well have spent the afternoon poring over the list of motions – we couldn’t reach him by phone this evening) said in a press release that it was a “long overdue display of maturity”.

A spokesperson for Sinn Féin said the motion would be discussed in the same manner as the rest of the proposals before the Ard Fheis.

You can read the full list of motions here.

Read: Mary Lou: I’ll take on Joan Burton any time, any place

Read: Who will you vote for in the next election?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

156 Comments
    Mute John O'donnell
    Favourite John O'donnell
    Mar 3rd 2015, 7:56 PM

Why do the need to debate this ? Plain and simple .. Don’t disrespect our National Flag.. Whatever the cause .

Mute John O'donnell
    Favourite John O'donnell
    Mar 3rd 2015, 7:57 PM

“They” —

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:17 PM

That includes writing slogans on it for sports, using it as a scarf and taking it out of your pocket during election results.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:29 PM

There’ll be plenty of flags at the Right2water protest on 21 march

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:30 PM

Well this is embarrassing – a small SF demo with less then 10 people and 5 Irish flags on display. # down with this sort of thing

http://images.csmonitor.com/csmarchives/2010/12/1208-Ireland-Financial-Crisis.jpg?alias=standard_600x400

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:36 PM

Bazalini – you looked so well in the photo – holding the flag !!!!

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:52 PM

Actually Baz was on the other side of the street holding a fine gael counter protest, they had EU flags and placards saying “yes to banker bailouts” and “cuts not jobs”.

(You’ll not report me for this harmless joke will you Bazza?)

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito

There is a protocol on the dept. of the Taoiseach’s website that sets out fully what is and is not appropriate to do with the flag. It would be great if everyone who owns a flag was familiar with it.

Mute Alan Ruane
    Favourite Alan Ruane
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:55 PM

If you want to know about our flag and show it respect maybe you should down to Waterford this weekend. http://www.1848tricolour.com/

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:13 PM

Good to see you’ve calmed the F**k down dermot; )

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:16 PM

Well this is embarrassing, a small fine gael demo with only a few flags flying….one touching the ground.

http://rexcurry.net/fine-gael-eoin-oduffy.jpg

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:18 PM

There is no fly touching the ground. #specsavers

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:22 PM

Flag
    #specsavers

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:33 PM

Bazalini – how do you know ? Were you at that recent Blueshirt gathering ?

Mute Ten Major
    Favourite Ten Major
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:46 PM

Balzalini, I am still waiting for you from another thread to name one, just one of Martin McGuinness’ peers that derided him for being a fan of cricket. You have had several days now to think one up. Instead of cheering on an Irish team or celebrating the unifying power of sport, you wasted the opportunity to have a totally unfounded go at a politician. Real classy, very sportsman like.

Mute Ten Major
    Favourite Ten Major
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:55 PM

More like there is something touching cloth there by the stench.

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Favourite Snorri Sturleson
    Mar 3rd 2015, 11:11 PM

Edna respects the flag no doubt, it is the people of Ireland he disrespects.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 3rd 2015, 11:54 PM

Who’s afraid of Sinn Fein – Protestants that’s who ! I wonder if they are involved in H.SB.C. or NAMA or the Upper Civil Service and media because the vilification of Sinn Fein is deeply rooted but not Ian Paisley funnily enough when he used to broadcast from Montrose !
    Just an historical observance – Is Wee Willie coming down to give the Fine Gael backbenchers the National Emergency that they are reported to be talking about ?

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Mar 3rd 2015, 11:59 PM

The Shatter Callinan axis of democratic government was a great loss to the back benchers. They would have so loved a national emergency. The loss big Phil also weakens the national emergency strategy. Still willy will do alll he can, Edna and Willie can babble in Ulster Scots as they plot the return to the father land.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Mar 4th 2015, 12:07 AM

And sure John Bruton the great Historian and former Taoiseach who wanted to tax children’s shoes was head of the I.F.S.C. – wasn’t Goldman Sachs and others in there doin’ the do …
    Phil Hogan ordered out the County Council workers to collect the property charge door to door !
    Power gone to the head of the beast ?

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini
    Mar 4th 2015, 12:13 AM

@renmajor. Bertie & Big Ian being 2, but there is an article on the SF bible An poblacht which also pokes a jeeb at him.

Sorry didn’t see ur post. Hope that helps

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini
    Mar 4th 2015, 12:14 AM
    Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Mar 4th 2015, 12:44 AM

Plenty of defaced flags at football matches being used to advertise pubs etc.

Mute Philip Murphy
    Favourite Philip Murphy
    Mar 4th 2015, 4:11 AM

Wind your neck in Hermes, just why have you felt the need to barb protestants? Paisley not vilified? Where and when was he ever not vilified in full until he and Sinn Fein became bedfellows?

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical

Its a flag, I would prefer if political parties had more respect for what it stands for rather then the flag itself.

Mute Russell
    Favourite Russell
    Mar 3rd 2015, 7:58 PM

I’d agree, that’s the real issue.

Mute Al Beebak
    Favourite Al Beebak
    Mar 3rd 2015, 7:54 PM

I guarantee to everybody that most of the rent a mob crowd out there don’t even understand what the green white and orange of our national flag represents.

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson

Ireland, peace and unionists.

Mute Ianwalsh79
    Favourite Ianwalsh79
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:08 PM

It literally means “Peace between Catholics and Protestants” I wonder if many from the Protestant faith know that?

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:08 PM

David nope! Try again

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason

Ian Walsh, are you saying Irish Protestants are less Irish? Some of our greatest Irishmen and women were of the Protestant faith.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:23 PM

Willie Fraser must be having a right ould chuckle at this

Mute Joseph Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Joseph Fitzpatrick
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:32 PM

Henry joy Mcracken ,Robert Emmet . Theobald Wolf tone etc etc who started the society of united Irishmen to free Ireland from british occupation you are so right Jason it would be good if some people could read some history.

Mute Big Yellow Crane
    Favourite Big Yellow Crane
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:59 PM

It didn’t come with an instruction manual but as there were Catholics on the side of William of Orange and Protestants amongst the United Irishmen and Young Irelanders the most coherent meaning for it is reconciliation between Royalists and Republicans.

Mute Joe Hill
    Favourite Joe Hill
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:06 PM

The Green- Nationalist/Republican
    The Orange- Unionist/Loyalist
    The White- Peace between them.
    It has nothing whatsoever to do with religion. Comments like that are a by-product of mis-information & propaganda peddled by various governments on both British & Irish sides to shift the real cause of the problem.

Mute shouldweallbe
    Favourite shouldweallbe
    Mar 3rd 2015, 11:24 PM

Davy Tweed for example.

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Mar 3rd 2015, 7:59 PM

There’s only one place for our national flag and that’s on a flagpole.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:06 PM

Hmmm so our armed forces will need it removed from their uniforms then??

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:16 PM

At least we don’t have trousers in the flag unlike our neighbours who abuse the ‘Union Jack’ in that way but I suppose that flag and abuse go hand in hand.

Mute ProudIrishRepublican
    Favourite ProudIrishRepublican
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:08 PM

I like Union Jack boxers, but only ones with skites on them.

Mute Gordon Gekko
    Favourite Gordon Gekko
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:19 PM

Its actually the Union Flag when used on land. The Union Jack is used at sea.

Don’t be jealous that they have much more original and attractive flag.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:51 PM

No its not, this has been cleared up before

Mute Ten Major
    Favourite Ten Major
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:58 PM

Gordon we prefer our flags less blood soaked here.

Mute Gordon Gekko
    Favourite Gordon Gekko
    Mar 3rd 2015, 11:12 PM

Much more Irish blood was spilled in defence of the Union Flag than the Tricolour.

The United Kingdom has been much kinder and fairer to Irish citizens than the Irish Republic has overall.

So in that case, feck the EU and rejoin the Union. Rule Britannia.

Mute Brian Fitzmaurice
    Favourite Brian Fitzmaurice
    Mar 3rd 2015, 11:21 PM

The Union Jack is not a flag, it’s a butchers apron

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Mar 4th 2015, 12:01 AM

Stick your fleg up your kyber pass.

Mute Gordon Gekko
    Favourite Gordon Gekko
    Mar 4th 2015, 12:28 AM

The Tricolour is the flag that divided the Ireland.

I would say “fleg” ever. Dublin born and raised, from a proud Anglo-Irish background.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Mar 4th 2015, 1:40 AM

Mostly conscripted, shanghaied or plain starved into British forces. Britian has been kinder have you ever heard of Cromwell, red leg slavery, penal laws, transportation to OZ, an Gort Mor, suppression and persecution of all things Irish. You have really got to be a FG/CnaG revisionist.

Mute Pauric Deery
    Favourite Pauric Deery
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:03 PM

Can’t get more disrespectful than draping it across the coffins of dead terrorists

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:11 PM

If it wasn’t for your so called “terrorists” we wouldn’t have the flag in the first place.

Mute Derek Smalls
    Favourite Derek Smalls
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:41 PM

Quite a few of them were dead paedophile terrorists.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:43 PM

Connolly, Pearse, Collins and the likes? Wow, you’ve an extensive knowledge of Irish history

Mute Derek Smalls
    Favourite Derek Smalls
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:07 PM

Todd, in case you need any reminding – it was dead nonces like this I was talking about.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/thousands-lined-streets-joe-cahills-4466816

Mute Derek Smalls
    Favourite Derek Smalls
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:10 PM

Adams described this disgusting freak as “a true friend”.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/british-spies-recruited-paedo-ira-4466798

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:19 PM

I would question your sources and their narrative to say the least. I was clearly talking about the “terrorists” of the founding of our state. But sure spin the conversation however you do choose

Mute Derek Smalls
    Favourite Derek Smalls
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:22 PM

You’re the one who started mentioning Connolly, etc., – not me.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:25 PM

Are you inferring Connolly was a Paedophile? Is it not true that Connolly died in the interests of the Irish people, to free them from oppression? Which in turn led to the creation of the tricolour? His book makes a good read. But there’s no pictures so it might not be to your liking

Mute Derek Smalls
    Favourite Derek Smalls
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:36 PM

No. As you already know, I didn’t infer that at all.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:46 PM

Pauric – Haven’t seen it over SAS coffins – have you ?

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:47 PM

Seeing as you seem to cite absolute fact in your comments below, I’ll take your word for it. So wise

Mute ProudIrishRepublican
    Favourite ProudIrishRepublican
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:10 PM

Any man who dies for Irish freedom deserves to have the tricolour draped on their coffin.

Mute Brian Fitzmaurice
    Favourite Brian Fitzmaurice
    Mar 3rd 2015, 11:30 PM

Todd the Irish Tricolor goes back to 184? Or other so it was around in 1916 , but not generally used

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Mar 4th 2015, 12:54 AM

Sorry I stand corrected. But I think you get my drift

Mute Blaine Gaffney
    Favourite Blaine Gaffney
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:43 PM

It sickens me to see some Sinn Fein supports throwing the Irish flag around at protests and election events. I mean they don’t even recognise the State which the flag represents.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:49 PM

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2009/10/03/article-1217569-06AF224C000005DC-181_468x313.jpg

Pat Cox, life long SF/IRA with his army of republican protestors.

Mar 3rd 2015, 8:54 PM

The Tricolour represents a Republican Ireland, where Nationalist and Unionist freely live side by side in peace and enjoy parity of esteem. Liberty, fraternity, equality. The 26 is not the Republic. An Irishman from Antrim is every bit as entitled to cherish the Tricolour as one from Kerry.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:04 PM

Blaine….did the picture I put up also disgust you?

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:29 PM

No fear of the tricolor seen at a FG election celebration anyway, half of them like Heather Humphreys and John Bruton are closet unionists anyway. By the way the flag represents all of Ireland, not just this state, but of course a little blueshirt like yourself would ignore such a fact!

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:39 PM

Typical FG you just can’t help yourselves , you all have no sense of self awareness , you’re all slogans and 5 point plans with nothing behind them or loyalty to the people , you’ve done your damage now we will damage you .

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:03 PM

Blaine any comment on the latest crony appointments that your nepotism riddled party have made, this time with a third of all new judge appointments being dye in the wool blueshirts?
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/a-third-of-nominated-judges-are-linked-to-fine-gael-26831846.html

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:15 PM

Here PJM – say nothing about the SF ombudsman & AG up in Belfast. Jamie Bryson will be having a canary

Mute Blaine Gaffney
    Favourite Blaine Gaffney
    Mar 3rd 2015, 11:30 PM

A little fact for you. Sinn Fein played no part in the 1916 Rising, the establishment of Irish State, or the transition from Free State into the Republic of Ireland. Therefore they have no right to claim the flag of the Republic of Ireland and it’s people.

When their public representatives have the respect to call this country the Republic of Ireland and not the 26 counties, my attitude may change.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 11:38 PM

Blaine….I put a picture up of Pat Cox and his cohorts waving our flag around after we were cajoled into surrendering more sovereignty.
    Do you find it disgusting?

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Mar 3rd 2015, 11:44 PM

Blaine – You are like a long playing record repeating over and over this obvious fact of History .
    Have you a real point to make ?
    The Republic was formally declared ( as a 26 County State ), 25 years after the Civil War finished !
    We are not as yet a United Island / Ireland .
    That may , or may not come about in our lifetime . But at least now , it’s inevitable .

The fact that we have now a truly 32 County Political Party , widely established again , is a hugely positive sign of our times – uniting the hearts and minds of the people of our whole Island of Ireland.

Good times ahead , Blaine !

Mar 4th 2015, 12:43 AM

A little fact for you, this country has 32 counties.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Mar 4th 2015, 7:27 AM

island has 32 counties and two very distinct countries. that is the way it shall remain for eternity and that suits everyone fine

Mute Dáibhí Buitléar
    Favourite Dáibhí Buitléar
    Mar 4th 2015, 8:59 AM

Lol or 33 counties if ye count Boston

Everyone has their own take on the flag, or flags in general. People will either respect the flag or they won’t, you can’t demand people behave in a certain way.

When our government decided to lower the flag as a mark of respect for the late Saudi King, they disrespected it.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:10 PM

The tacky plastic tricolour hoodies by that group of water protestors was a step too far. Were they shinners or AAA ?

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:19 PM

Lot of shinners on here didn’t even know there is protocol surrounding the Flag. Sad times

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:53 PM

Davey Keogh says hello.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Mar 3rd 2015, 11:50 PM

Who is Davey Keogh? And why does he say hello ?

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:05 PM

Will the Greeks be discussing how they epically failed in Europe on getting 50% of debit gone!

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:25 PM

I have seen the way shinners abuse the flag at election counts, disgusting! About time they called on their supporters to treat it with respect.

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:33 PM

Going to have to give you a warning there. You are not allowed to disgusted at SF supporters in here. Their multiple aliases will be along to red thumb you to F**k shortly

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:44 PM
    See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú

Bazalini I wouldn’t worry about that, sure didn’t I get blocked from Martin Ferris’s page the other day for having the temerity to compare SF with Syriza and fairy tale economics. Not that I can blame Martin; the PR guru for him doesn’t like dissent even democracy takes a hiding.

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:45 PM

Facebook Page I mean.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:53 PM

Waving the flag at election and referendum results is disgusting, you’re right.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:08 PM

Report anyone else today bazanini?
    You’re some boy to talk about multiple aliases…

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú

I agree that was a mistake to disrespect the flag at the referendum result.

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:33 PM

Proinsais I didn’t see you on the Ireland rugby match reports at the weekend complaining about the Irish flag been waved around. i wonder why, oh yeah you can’t have a dig at SF, you are a sad hypocrite!

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:39 PM

SF misuse the flag for political purposes. They purport to be more Irish and patriotic than everyone else, when the reality is the opposite.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:55 PM

Proinsias – I’ve seen your Party abuse it too – but mostly the Party that you are a Member of itself – You have disgraced your voters and The Irish Nation , by your sell outs and Election lies !

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:00 PM

Proinsias The same man who told us all on The Journal.ie , that there were only a “few hundred” at a huge IW March in Tralee, some months ago and has yet to apologise to us all, for his huge porky pie then ?
    IPhone Joan and Rabbitte attract some beauties around them .

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:14 PM

Eddie I have told you on numerous occasions that I’m not a member of any party. Secondly I passed by the march you of which you accuse me of understating the numbers and I was generous in my estimate of 200, you have offered no evidence (other than I spoke to a Garda, perhaps you did) of the numbers attending the March, the local papers of that week did not give numbers either but all of them stated that the attendance was substantially less than the previous one.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:26 PM

Proinsias – All of the News most certainly DID give the the numbers attending – both online and the printed versions , Radio Kerry also commented.

But you argued til midnight sticking to your 200 – like a spoilt child !

How do you react to a further fact that there were 242 seated Delegates at your Leader iPhone Joans address to her Party & The Nation on Saturday night in The INEC Centre in Killarney . While nearly a 1,000 Marched to there protesting her presence in Killarney .

Why ? Are you suddenly denying your support for The Labour Party ?
    Have you seen the light at last – or are you still in denial ?

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:49 PM

Eddie, how come you have not posted any links to the numbers attending the March, if they’re online they should still be available. I can only go with what I saw with my own eyes which I generously estimate to be 200.

I am totally indifferent as to the numbers that watched the Labour leaders speech, I didn’t watch it myself!

As for the 1,000 you state were outside the INEC protesting that is only one tenth of what was estimated to attend. Also I just googled INEC protest and 2 figures appear the IT says 500 and the Journal shows 300!

As for denial the only thing I deny is being a member of any party.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Mar 3rd 2015, 11:16 PM

Proinsias – So you are denying that you are a SUPPORTER of The Labour Party too – that was my Question ?

Mute Proinsias O Foghlù
    Favourite Proinsias O Foghlù
    Mar 3rd 2015, 11:26 PM

I am not a member of or cheerleader for any party! However that does not being in favour of some of their policies. I like some FF, FG, Labour and perhaps even some SF policies.

Mute Ten Major
    Favourite Ten Major
    Mar 3rd 2015, 11:27 PM

Proinsias, Syriza is very different to SF both in structure, organisation and to a degree in policy. Most of what you hear about them in Ireland or indeed Britain is half baked, inaccurate or downright lies. What they have in common with SF is they are both broadly on the left and they both attract voters that feel betrayed by established parties who they feel are making them pay for debt they never benefited from. If Syriza fail, have no doubt we will see the rise of fascism in Greece & it will not stop there. Maybe you would welcome that but I don’t.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Mar 3rd 2015, 11:48 PM

Proinsias – great to hear that you are at last breaking out of your Labour Party straight jacketed bias – I don’t blame you – they have disgraced themselves and most of all, The Party of Connolly and Larkin .

Well done .

Mute Derek Smalls
    Favourite Derek Smalls
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:34 PM

This is great.
    After years of Sinn Féin/IRA hijacking the Tricolour at the funerals of dirty $cumbag terrorists, they’re starting to think about showing the flag some respect.
    A good news story.
    Now all they need to do is get Adams and McGuinness to retire and we can really start to take Sinn Féin seriously as a truthful and forward-thinking party.
    Adams won’t be pushed out until after the 2016 gig so it’ll be another while yet..

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason

When they talk about the national in Derry, Northern Ireland, which one are they referring to? The tricolour or the flag of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland?

Mute Dziadek Uncaged
    Favourite Dziadek Uncaged
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:07 PM

Kerryman and ‘were jamming’ are going to have exploding heads…

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:15 PM

They were talking about the Irish flag, you should read the piece before commenting.Q

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:18 PM

They’re busy recharging their laptops in an Insomnia after a busy day on the Journal grinding out their message of hate, hope and free honey for all.

Mute Dziadek Uncaged
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:19 PM

Dermot, where? Article says a national flag? Not country specific.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin

Sf’s ard fheis story with a picture of a tricolour and they’re discussing a national flag…..I’m not republican but I’m fairly certain it’s not the union flag they’re worried about.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:24 PM

As the Ard fheis is an all ireland event, im going to come to the conclusion it’s the irish tricolour they refer to.

Mute Dziadek Uncaged
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:33 PM

The event is been held in Great Britain though..

Don’t mind the Russian troll boys.

Mute The whistler
    Favourite The whistler
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:45 PM

It’s not being held in Great Britain, see if you can figure out why, there’s a good chap.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:46 PM

Held in co.Derry which is in northern Ireland which is part of the UK, not part of great Britain.

Mute Dziadek Uncaged

Derry, which is not in the republic.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:29 PM

Did you eat a map for tea?

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:38 PM

Dziadek – Ce he Kerryman ?

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:43 PM

Dziadak – Se Seachtain Na Gaeilge – ta an Ard Fheis Sinn Fein i nDaoire , ins na se Contae , an bliain seo !

An bhuil tu ag dul , tu fein … A Chara ?

Mute Dziadek Uncaged
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:50 PM

Ni hea. Ni Maith liom Sinn Fein.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:57 PM

Why the red thumbs? This is a statement of fact!

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Mar 4th 2015, 12:24 AM

*Doire

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Mar 4th 2015, 7:21 AM

SF hold their meeting in londonderry says it all really

Mute Dáibhí Buitléar
    Favourite Dáibhí Buitléar
    Mar 4th 2015, 9:02 AM

Its Derry eejit not fekin London any think

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius

The flag is hollow without our own currency. What does it mean anymore when we sold our independence so cheaply. Those who have died for the flag and independence may as well not have bothered as we are lambs not lions.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason

When the flag was raised for the very first time the punt didn’t even exist, currency does not equate to a flag.

Mute john murphy
    Favourite john murphy
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:49 PM

Good aul Shinners, focusing on the big issues of the day. I look forward to the day they learn how to use a calculator and can bring some ideas on clearly less pressing issues like the country’s finances, health system etc to their little gatherings

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly

Like fg ff lab pd gr , have enlightened us and freed our country and made it prosper since independence , oil gone , gas gone , fishing gone , nice try with water ,we are taking care of the water issue thats out of your control now .

However praise where praise is due theres one thing all these septic parties excell at and that is exporting our young people.
    Shame on the supporters of these parties that have sold us out for decades for the scraps from the table of the EU .

Mute john murphy
    Favourite john murphy
    Mar 4th 2015, 8:08 AM

And you seriously think Sinn Fein would do a better job, who are you kidding? They don’t have the mentality for power.

Mute Etheric Projection
    Favourite Etheric Projection
    Mar 3rd 2015, 7:55 PM

The flag is symbolic. Like an idea it is immortal.
    Neither the desecration or destruction can take away it’s true meaning.
    I don’t care what someone does with a piece of cloth that they own – it is their right to so with it as they please.

Mute Russell
    Favourite Russell
    Mar 3rd 2015, 7:58 PM

although the symbolic purpose behind the flag failed

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:11 PM

Sounds a lot like “We don’t like that flag at all, so we’ll tell you when and where to display it, so we can pretend to respect it”.
    This is the real sinn fein, who don’t give a hoot about Ireland, republicans or any sense of nationalism.
    They want to remove any symbol that makes them stand out from the other parties i.e. lab/FF/FG/’FFG’, so the sheep will vote them into power.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:20 PM

Probably, but didn’t fine gael say they were going to reclaim the flag from those protesting, it’s not theirs to “reclaim” no more than it’s sf’s to claim.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer

Wrap the green flag round me boys.

Mute Russell
    Favourite Russell

I don’t understand why this is an issue..

Mute graham hunt
    Favourite graham hunt
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:35 PM

Sinn Fein spending some time debating the real issues…..

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:06 PM

Syriza? Good. Let the Shinners be associated with failure. It’ll remind people of who not to vote for next year. As Suriza falls apart over the summer it’ll go really bad for the Shinners to be associated with them. Fine with me.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:37 PM

Suriza?
    I’ve been pronouncing it chorizo.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:41 PM

Call them what you like. They’re going to crash and burn in the summer and the Shinners would do well to stay the hell away from them. They are politically toxic and the fractures are beginning to show already. SF should have nothing to do with them if they have any sense. But it appears they don’t.

Mute Shane Denham
    Favourite Shane Denham
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:38 PM

Proinsias im wit u as i have never seen FF/FG/lab supporters waving d flag

Mute Catherine O'Connor
    Favourite Catherine O'Connor
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:50 PM

The tricolor was designed by a Waterford man, Thomas Francis Meagher. Pity it took well over 160 odd years for his city to recognise that.

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:17 PM

Derek wash your hands before you type any more comments plus did your mother leave your dinner outside your bedroom door for you

Mute Shane Denham
    Favourite Shane Denham

Smalls ur a big man calling them those names hiding behind ur screen. Wud u hav d balls 2 say ur comments 2 fellas face 2 face

Mute Derek Smalls
    Favourite Derek Smalls
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:46 PM

No. Because I’d be knee-capped. Duh.

Mute Shane Denham
    Favourite Shane Denham
    Mar 3rd 2015, 8:50 PM

So ur a big brave man in ur bedroom posting comments like dat

Mute Justin Gabriel
    Favourite Justin Gabriel
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:32 PM

Up offaly :-)

Mute Shane Denham
    Favourite Shane Denham
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:32 PM

Smalls the IRA are no longer

Mute Shane Denham
    Favourite Shane Denham

Smalls just remember theres always ways of tracking things

Mute Derek Smalls
    Favourite Derek Smalls
    Mar 3rd 2015, 9:20 PM

Is that a threat from yourself or the IRA?
    Just curious?

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:22 PM

Great to see that such pressing issues are at the forefront of political discussions, never mind that our rights as citizens have been trampled on through bailing out banks and charge after charge to pay for it, and cutbacks meaning your grandmother gets to spend days on a trolley. O no the main thing they want us to focus on is the flag. If anything thay have disrespected our flag by allowing it to be associated with crass mismanagement of Ireland.

Mute Alan Browne
    Favourite Alan Browne
    Mar 3rd 2015, 10:35 PM

Seriously!!!! Who cares wants done with it. Care about the people of the country not flipping logo (which is all it is).

Mute Tony Mcgregor
    Favourite Tony Mcgregor
    Mar 4th 2015, 3:04 AM

It’s against the Law to desecrate the National Flag

Mute Fergus Flanagan
    Favourite Fergus Flanagan
    Mar 4th 2015, 3:12 AM

Jaysus, leave the flag as it is. No need for protection, it’s a flag. A piece of cloth. In the republic it’s never abused in a vindictive fashion. Sure yobs and whatnot might drape themselves in it, but for them its a symbol of their heritage no matter how misguidedly they use it.

If you start entrenching so much symbolism in a piece of cloth, you start dealing with the bullshit flag issues that ensue.