You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The aftermath: "Nobody in the city can ever recall such severe flooding"

The combination of torrential rain, high tides and strong winds has caused major problems in Limerick city.

Large waves batter the coastal town of Lahinch in Clare (Niall Carson/PA Wire)

A MAJOR CLEAN-UP operation is under way after parts of the country were badly hit by severe flooding.

Strong winds coupled with high tides to cause flooding in many areas along the west coast, with Limerick particularly badly affected.

Sixty people had to be evacuated from their homes after flood water rose to several feet high in parts of Limerick when the Shannon burst its banks on Saturday. Several hundred other people had to be helped by emergency services and volunteer teams.

(Video: Shy Sports/YouTube)

City officials said that most of those evacuated from their homes spent the night with relatives while accommodation was provided for the remainder.

The flooding in the city was described as unprecedented; flood defences had been put in place but were unable to cope with the combination of torrential rain, high tides and strong winds.

Water levels remain high in the King’s Island area and the worst affected areas of the city have been cordoned off.

“Nobody in the city, not even the oldest resident of King’s Island, can ever recall such severe flooding,” said Limerick City and County Manager Conn Murray.

Civil Defence  help evacuate residents from St Mary’s Park, Limerick (Pic: Sean Curtin)

“We had our preparations made and had been working to shore up defences for days in the areas considered most at risk of flooding in the city and county but the volume of water was such that many of our defences were simply unable to cope”.

Murray said that many residents, particularly the elderly, had experienced a great shock.

“The tremendous public spirit shown by the people of Limerick city has been of great benefit to the state agencies including the fire and rescue service, the ambulance service and the Gardaí in trying to deal with the situation,” he said.

The orange alert national warning put in place by Met Éireann has now ended with today forecast to see strong winds but none as strong as the storm-force winds of the past 48 hours.

A dog makes his way home through a flooded street in Limerick city last night (Pic: Niall Carson/PA Wire)

Photos: Rescue efforts under way after severe flood emergency >

Read: Batten down the hatches: Storm-force winds batter the country >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

71 Comments
    Mute Theresa Carter
    Favourite Theresa Carter
    Feb 2nd 2014, 10:57 AM

Loving the dog pic :)

Mute James St John Smith
    Favourite James St John Smith
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:33 AM

People have their lives and livelihoods ruined and all people can comment on is a “cute” dog picture.

Mute Adrian de Cleir
    Favourite Adrian de Cleir
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:39 AM

But he is cute, and they haven’t had their lives ruined, just severely inconvenienced. I’m living here, and relatively, it’s fine.

Mute Celticspirit321
    Favourite Celticspirit321
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:48 AM

Ah James, my house got flooded but it is a cute dog. It’s not the end of the world

Mute Theresa Carter
    Favourite Theresa Carter
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:27 PM

James I usually comment on the obvious link to climate change but why bother!? Denial has let it get to this. Cute dog. Next time he may not be so lucky. May as well appreciate him now :)

Mute Richard Brogan
    Favourite Richard Brogan
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:31 PM

He is a lovely dog

Mute Joanne Andrew
    Favourite Joanne Andrew
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:40 PM

Theresa – climate change is not at fault, in so far as we are at the mercy of the weather. What is at fault is improper planning – building of flood plains, failure to provide & maintain adequate drainage, use of materials which prevent drainage etc

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:56 PM

Would be funnier if it was a cat.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:35 PM
    Mute Stephen McMahon
    Favourite Stephen McMahon
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:55 PM

I know that dog and he is a decent hard working sort who never drew the dole and never hurt nobody in his life. Ok he has many bitches around the city and has been known to go dogging but who hasn’t? Leave him alone. Politicians and bondholders blah blah blah

Mute Theresa Carter
    Favourite Theresa Carter
    Feb 2nd 2014, 3:12 PM

Joanne the changing climate is showing them up alright. Wonder how they plan to deal with the increase in these unwelcome weather events.

Mute Chris Doherty
    Favourite Chris Doherty
    Feb 2nd 2014, 5:31 PM

Joanne, too true, my son went to UL, one year part of the campus flooded, my son asked a lecturer why they built an a flood plane the reply he got was like a master card advert priceless. “because they didn’t listen to me” . we are extending our towns and cities far too much. Not only by building on flood planes but of green fields creating a run off that would normally be soaked u by the soil

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Feb 2nd 2014, 10:57 AM

Love the photo of the Jack Russell.

Mute Joanne Andrew
    Favourite Joanne Andrew
    Feb 2nd 2014, 10:56 AM

The cost of repairs in the council estates is going to cost Limerick City a fortune. Might be a good time to break up St Marys Park and move some people out of the city, I’m sure there are many NAMA properties in Limerick & Clare counties.

Mute Fintan O HEifernain
    Favourite Fintan O HEifernain
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:07 AM

Count pennies somewhere else, these are people who’s lives and homes have been wrecked. My thoughts are with them.

Mute Joanne Andrew
    Favourite Joanne Andrew
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:08 AM

St Mary’s Park is surrounded by water. It will flood again. Time for the council to cut its losses and look at alternative locations.

Mute Joanne Andrew
    Favourite Joanne Andrew
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:12 AM

People whose rented accommodation has been damaged. If the council have a option that is cheaper than futile repairs they should go for it.

Mute Ben Frank
    Favourite Ben Frank
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:29 AM

But you are forgetting about social segregation remember? You can’t just move these people willy nilly wherever there are houses. That would lead to uproar among people who want a peaceful life, and would surely lower housing prices further. It sounds a bit callous, but it is true

Mute Joanne Andrew
    Favourite Joanne Andrew

If people want to be able to choose where they live they should pay for it. If living off state funds they should be prepared to take what is offered. This is the way it works for those who work for a living

Mute Fintan O HEifernain
    Favourite Fintan O HEifernain
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:39 AM

Not everyone who lives in council housing is unemployed. That’s such a generalisation.

Mute Joanne Andrew
    Favourite Joanne Andrew
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:46 AM

I never mentioned not working. But if people want to choose where they want to live they need to either make decisions to make that happen, or live with the consequences of choices they have made which make it impossible.

Mute Joanne Andrew
    Favourite Joanne Andrew
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:49 AM

Fintan – regardless of employment status, if someone is in housing provided by the council they are living off the state. Putting a roof over your head is the single biggest cost of living. People renting privately & paying mortgages struggle to do this every day.

Mute Ben Frank
    Favourite Ben Frank
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:52 AM

You can still get plenty of state assistance while employed

Mute Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore
    Favourite Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:59 AM

Joanne everyone in the Dail, the Seanad and every civil servant is living off the state. Why are you targeting people who cannot afford to enter the property market and accusing them only of living off the state. Do you claim childrens allowance or any other state allowance or benefit? If you do you are also living off the state.

Mute Joanne Andrew
    Favourite Joanne Andrew
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:38 PM

Patricia – I get no benefits from the state and pay a marginal tax rate of 52%. Regardless, if the only benefit someone gets is the children’s allowance they are hardly ‘living off’ benefits. Where state handouts cover the cost of housing, and hence make up the majority of your income, you are living off the state at the expense of those who are not

Mute tooler doogan
    Favourite tooler doogan
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:47 PM

Joanne, are you getting dizzy looking down on everyone who ” lives often state”?

Mute tooler doogan
    Favourite tooler doogan
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:50 PM

Off(Feckin typo)

Mute Poonam Anil
    Favourite Poonam Anil
    Feb 3rd 2014, 6:20 AM

I’ve had a few shags in Lahinch

Mute Deirdre Bennett
    Favourite Deirdre Bennett
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:25 AM

Maybe the banks should bail those poor people out?

Mute Ben Frank
    Favourite Ben Frank
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:32 AM

Unfortunately, the banks are literally answerable to no one. They are the defacto rulers of this world, and they cemented that position when Barack Obama bent the knee to them in 2008

Mute Celticspirit321
    Favourite Celticspirit321
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:51 AM

No disrespect but why would banks bail out people in flooded homes? They would give them a loan for repairs or insurance would cover it. The government are the ones who should help

Mute Deirdre Bennett
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:04 PM

The Irish people helped the banks stay in business…..is there no way they can pull together and help those same people that kept them in their jobs. Some of those people were flooded before and may not even have insurance. Just a thought.

Feb 2nd 2014, 12:19 PM

That is true Deirdre. The Banks only take charity, they don’t give it. As for the Insurance companies they are just another gang of swindlers. They will not pay up either.

Mute Arpy O'hEigceartaigh
    Favourite Arpy O'hEigceartaigh
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:27 PM

Did you really mean “bail” or should it more aptly be “bale”

Mute Deirdre Bennett
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:40 PM

Sorry I meant Bale not Bail (I’m dyslexic)

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:02 AM

I’m in no way an environmentalist, however if we continue burning fossil fuel the way we do, in the future this could be a nice day in August for us.

Mute Foxys Bicycle
    Favourite Foxys Bicycle
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:15 AM

so this act of nature that’s happened god knows how many times over millions of years even before humans is our fault
    I like conspiracy theory’s as much as the next guy but FFS Michael that’s the wackiest one I have heard yet and I have read some of David Ickes books

Mute Fool Hunter
    Favourite Fool Hunter
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:25 AM

Farmers that get EU grants should allow their land to be flooded upstream instead of clearing streams, dredging streams and putting in drainage that shoves the flood problem somewhere else. Farmers do actually have some blame in floods. The EU environment agency have caused natural flooding along small rivers in England and Germany with help from farmers. This stopped flooding of towns downstream. The fields were left fallow for the winter anyway and the farmers were also in receipt of grants.

Mute King Olaf
    Favourite King Olaf
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:27 AM

This has got more to do with poor town and flood planning than anything else. Even if flooding and rising sea levels is a result of fossil fuel burning, it is not something new that we are only hearing about now. The Irish government and councils won’t get up off their arse and rectify the problems caused by building on flood plains and lack of construction of flood defences, It doesn’t even start there though because of the shite they have go through with the EU on budgets, there isn’t very much funding provided to planning for the future.

At the end of the day flooding isn’t going to get better anytime soon, and large scale use of fossil fuels isn’t going anywhere either. I think that if the government is going to let companies like Shell exploit our gas and oil resources we should at least increase taxation on what they get so we can provide money to invest in infrastructure to defend against the results of climate change.

Mute Ben Frank
    Favourite Ben Frank
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:30 AM

It is hard to accurately predict what future weather patterns will be like, but you can be sure that if it is beside the coast, it will probably be underwater

Mute Theresa Carter
    Favourite Theresa Carter
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:32 AM

@michael. I didn’t know whether to green or red thumb your comment. What is an environmentalist?

Mute Deirdre Bennett

Hey Foxy, climate change is exactly why the flooding and extreme weather is happening far more regularly. Watch this documentary, it really opened my eyes to the extent of damage us humans have inflicted on the world. But watch and judge for yourself,

http://youtu.be/SWRHxh6XepM

It’s terrible for those people whose homes have been destroyed. I can’t imagine the heartbreak and worry they are going through. I hope something is done to protect them from this happening again.

Mute Miss Filed
    Favourite Miss Filed
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:37 PM

I agree David Icke is a bit on the loony fringe! I prefer the scientific approach myself, as epitomised by the IPCC process. It is understood that warm air holds more moisture – on the massive level of regional and global weather, this translates into more intense storms with heavier rainfall or snowfall. This is a basic of meteorology – we all know that warmer climes are prone to the kind of storms and hurricanes we don’t get in temperate climes. That’s why climatologists said that storms could get more intense because of global warming, and indeed we have seen that across the globe.

So while, because of the complexity of global weather patterns it can be difficult to prove that a particular event is linked to warmer air, I know what I think – you only have to turn the telly on!

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:37 PM

Sea levels are not a cause for alarm.1 mm a year in the middle oceans is hardly a disaster.

“During the past centuries, the present and the near-future sea level changes have been and will be dominated by three main variables; glacial eustasy, thermal expansion and redistribution of water masses, all of which can be handled as to rates and amplitudes. Today, the contribution of ice melting and thermal expansion seems to be in the order of 1 mm/year (10 cm/cy). It surely has to be well below 10 cm/year (or 1 m/cy), which was the mean rate of glacial eustasy at the maximum rate of ice melting after the Ice Age. Thermal expansion may amount to 1 mm/yr in the open oceans, decreases with depth towards the coasts, and will always be zero at the shore. Redistribution of water masses (horizontal eustasy) is another prime factor. The present rate of sea level changes lies between ±0.0 and +1.0 mm/yr (higher rates represent local effects or mistakes), and is likely to remain so for the next century.”
    From
    Nils-Axel Mörner completed his Ph.D at Stockholm University in Sweden with postdoctoral studies at Western University in London, Canada. He was the head of Paleogeophysics & Geodynamics at Stockholm University. He was an IPCC author and has published more than 500 papers in reputed journals and several books. He has presented some 550 papers at international conferences. He is a world expert on sea level changes.

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:43 PM

It is instructive to note that over the past century and a half of ever-increasing fossil fuel utilization and atmospheric CO2 buildup, the frequency of the most intense category of hurricanes in the Northeastern Gulf of Mexico has been lower than it was over the prior five millennia, which speaks volumes about the climate-alarmist claim that continued anthropogenic CO2 emissions will lead to more frequent super cyclones and hurricanes.”

Lane et al. (2011)

Mute Miss Filed
    Favourite Miss Filed
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:55 PM

Well he is a long retired elderly gentleman no longer working in his area (paleogeophysics), and he is in a tiny minority with his views on sea level rise. His claim that sea levels are not rising has been criticised for ignoring correctly calibrated satellite altimeter records, all of which show that sea levels are rising.

Mind you, perhaps we should listen to him as he is also a big advocate of “dowsing”!

I do think that his work being included along with the 800 or so scientists who contribute to the rigorous IPCC process does show the openness and inclusivity of that process. Unfortunately, in my view on reading the evidence, his observations have been rebutted by others in his own field and other fields related to this matter.

Here for example is what the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Center of the USA says:
    “Local communities are growing more concerned about the effects of sea-level rise with global warming. To assess local sea-level rise, the NOAA Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services maintains a National Water Level Observation Network of 200 stations throughout the United States. Using at least 30 years of data from 117 of these locations, NOAA analysts calculate relative sea-level trends. The relative sea-level trends for about half of these stations are above 2 mm/yr, which is above the IPCC current global sea-level rise estimates.”

Mute Miss Filed
    Favourite Miss Filed
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:04 PM

Ipsum, I cannot believe what you have said about the frequency of intense hurricanes. You must be aware that climatologists predicted (and not even with high certainty so why act like you caught them out when they admit their predictions are not 100%) anyway, they predicted more intense storms, NOT a greater frequency of storms – they specifically said not more storms! D’uh!

Who is yer man Lane anyway?

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:08 PM

Surely fans of sea level alarmism must wonder why their guru Al Gore bought a $7million plus beach-front house ?

Mute Miss Filed
    Favourite Miss Filed
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:15 PM

I suppose the other thing is that not all scientists are working on the same things – they are not a homogenous body! So like your friend Lane, others are also working on this to try to find evidence – here’s a link to papers that find evidence of the link between global warming and increased intensity of storms etc. http://www.skepticalscience.com/extreme-weather-global-warming-intermediate.htm

But as I said you cannot say “They” said anything until you have a consensus on this link from the long and rigorous processes of the IPCC that everybody has signed off on, and the IPCC have not as far as I know said anything about this.

So thankfully a lot of highly qualified scientists are studying this area and the results should be interesting…

Mute Miss Filed
    Favourite Miss Filed
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:48 PM

I don’t really care about Al Gore, and for me sea level rise is not the most scary aspect of all this by a long shot. It is the fact that what we are emitting now will continue to have an effect for hundreds of years, and once we reach tipping points we do not really know what the domino effects could bring.

No, what we appear to be suffering now (eg more intense storms and flooding, life-threatening and record-breaking heat in Australia, massive forest fires, mind-boggling ever-worsening drought in California) are just the very beginning and the tip of the iceberg.

When we start to get the feedback loops and domino effects – that is when the sh1t will really hit the fan and sea level rises, although they will be severe for some major cities, will likely be the least of our worries. Feeding ourselves in this brave new world will be the real challenge – and nobody will be exempt from the effects.

Mute Niamhs
    Favourite Niamhs
    Feb 2nd 2014, 3:20 PM

That’s one happy dog – I hope his house didn’t get flooded.

Mute Noel Otley
    Favourite Noel Otley
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:33 PM

Where is Pat Cox in all this? Not long since he was proud to be a Limerick man: come on, Pat, cannot your EU mates provide relief funds to the city?
    The City Manager could appoint another mate to the post of distributing the money!

Mute Maria
    Favourite Maria
    Feb 2nd 2014, 3:10 PM

Give him a chance, would you? It’s just happened! He’s not God.

Mute Luke Hyde
    Favourite Luke Hyde
    Feb 2nd 2014, 3:36 PM

Orange status is in place. Please look at http://www.met.ie for details. There could be serious problems again tomorrow morning in cork, kerry and the west coast due to extremely high tides, south east gale force winds and heavy rain due to push in over the country over night and early tomorrow morning. High tide in cork on monday morning is at 07:47am and potential flooding is possible. Please if your living in flood prone areas please take precautions.

Feb 2nd 2014, 11:53 AM

God frequently demonstrates his willingness to give free water to the poor. Now it is up to the new conglomeration of money grabbers in Irish Water to do the same thing. Why should poor people subsidise the rich by paying charges that were implemented to save the Banksters.

Mute King Olaf
    Favourite King Olaf
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:01 PM

If this is god giving “free water” then he can keep his charity.

Feb 2nd 2014, 12:14 PM

Olaf, don’t be so ungrateful. How would you sail your ships and invade other lands if there was no water?

Feb 2nd 2014, 12:33 PM

Morm you do Harrp on sometimes. Credit where credit is due. Where is Stephen Fry? I prefer his avatar.

Mute Foxys Bicycle
    Favourite Foxys Bicycle
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:52 PM

I doubt the average joe has even heard of HAARP

Mute King Olaf
    Favourite King Olaf
    Feb 2nd 2014, 3:08 PM

Well Patricia there seems to be plenty of hot air around these parts, so probably by balloon.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Feb 2nd 2014, 4:37 PM

ANGELS DON‘T PLAY THIS HAARP

Mute Neil White
    Favourite Neil White
    Feb 2nd 2014, 6:25 PM

Dogfish?

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:20 PM

The poles swapped in the Moon

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/science/video-sun-has-flipped-upside-down-as-new-magnetic-cycle-begins-9029378.html after christmas .

its known to cause weather disruption.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Feb 2nd 2014, 12:21 PM

* sun .

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:06 PM

As P. Gosselin put it “Today we know a huge body of historical observations shows there is a pronounced relationship between cold winters in Europe and low solar activity. Moreover there’s a huge body of persuasive evidence, comprising mainly proxy datasets, that show the phenomenon is not regional, but global.”
    Even the biased BBC is coming around to reality. “The BBC starts by telling its viewers that the current solar maximum “is eerily quiet“. Solar physicist Professor Richard Harrison says the sun hasn’t been this quiet in 100 years and that the current activity mirrors the activity of the 17th century – the Maunder Minimum, the time of the dreadful Little Ice Age. What we have here is the BBC telling viewers to associate low solar activity with potential cold.

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:24 PM

Almost all the models from the “97%” have been flat out wrong. And all because they omit the influence of the sun, should believe the 97% who are wrong, or the 3% who are proven right.? Will we get another ‘Maunder Minimum’ ?only time will tell.

Mute Miss Filed
    Favourite Miss Filed
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:27 PM

Pierre Gosselin!!! You cannot be serious!!! He is not a climatologist. He is an engineer who blogs!
    As for the sun, do you not think climatologists and all of the other thousands of earth scientists who contributed to the last IPCC report are not a bit more capable than Mr. Gosselin or yourself in understanding the role of the sun in all of this!!! And they have shown that the sun is not the cause of the recent fast rate of warming of our planet.

The sun has been in a cooling phase for the last 35 years – god help us when it starts to heat up again.

Mute Miss Filed
    Favourite Miss Filed
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:34 PM

As regards the models of the 97% of scientists who support manmade climate change, firstly the models have been surprisingly accurate, and secondly you are not admitting that models admit openly their level of confidence in their own accuracy and are developing over time.

However, it is absolutely untrue that science relies on models to demonstrate the fact of global warming and that this is related to CO2 emissions – that is proven by hard scientific observations and evidence.

If you are going to go against the huge body of work that has contributed to this consensus, then you had better provide some very good evidence to back up your view.

Mute Miss Filed
    Favourite Miss Filed
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:39 PM

The link is to a NASA video – NASA are well aware of the effects of the sun and how this needs to be taken into account when considering climate change, as is every other serious scientist working on the climate. NASA fully supports the view, from sound evidence, that CO2 emissions are the only possible explanation for the unprecedented rate of global warming in recent times – they have really looked into this and the evidence is there – the rate of rise of CO2 and the rate of rise of global warming match!!!

The sun has been in a cooling stage for the last 35 years by the way, whatever about right now, and over the last 35 years global warming has continued to rise.

Mute Won Hung Loh
    Favourite Won Hung Loh
    Feb 2nd 2014, 3:57 PM

I doubt if any of the Dundon family were out helping otjers. If they were out at all it would be helping themselves to any goods to be found in abandined houses.

Mute alpha_chaarlie
    Favourite alpha_chaarlie
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:48 PM

The place needed a good wash anyways so no real harm done.