You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/RollingNews.ie

Leo Varadkar makes Fortune's 40 under 40 list

Varadkar came in at number five on the list.

AN TAOISEACH LEO Varadkar has made Fortune 40 Under 40 list of the most influential young people in the world.

Varadkar came in at number five on the list.

He is among such illustrious company as Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg (number 3), tennis champion Serena Williams (number 7) and French president Emmanuel Macron (number 1).

Varadkar becoming Taoiseach has sparked huge international interest, with Time Magazine featuring him in July on the cover of their European edition.

In its entry for Varadkar, the influential Fortune Magazine describes him as “Ireland’s youngest leader in centuries”.

The full entry reads:

“Ireland has long defined mass emigration. Yet remarkably, its new Prime Minister is the son of a Hindu immigrant from Mumbai.

This former doctor is Ireland’s youngest leader in centuries, not to mention its first-ever openly gay one – no small detail in his devoutly Catholic country.
Varadkar dismisses all that as irrelevant. Far more crucial is his ability to protect the Celtic Tiger against economic disaster when Britain exits the E.U. in 2019, and guarding Ireland’s low-tax deals with tech giants.
Many are rooting for his success.

While the Celtic Tiger may have already come and gone before his time as leader, it’s clear from the features and articles that Varadkar is still getting a lot of attention worldwide.

The full entry can be viewed here.

Read: Pat Hickey’s lawyers asked Oireachtas committee to not discuss Rio Olympics

Read: Got an email from Revenue today? Be careful as it could be a scam

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

117 Comments
    Mute John Dennehy
    Favourite John Dennehy
    May 10th 2024, 1:33 PM

Harris saying the GAA needs to listen to the grassroots, if only Harris would do the same and stop taking all his advice from PR advisors and self serving NGOs and start listening to the people who he is supposed to be representing.

Mute Dramafree 2023
    Favourite Dramafree 2023
    May 10th 2024, 2:16 PM

@John Dennehy: Ah john give him a chance, a month into the job. He will be gone soon either way, hard to be particularly motivated knowing that I am sure!

Mute Finn Barr
    Favourite Finn Barr
    May 10th 2024, 1:37 PM

‘listen to the grassroots’ lol, that’s rich coming from the head of a government that:
    A: is not wanted
    B: tries to constantly decieve, manipulate and ignore everyone outside it’s own bubble.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    May 10th 2024, 2:04 PM

@Finn Barr: I’m no fan of FF or FG, but thankfully we live in a democracy. People like you would do well to remember that your views are not shared by the vast majority of people in Ireland.

Mute Finn Barr
    Favourite Finn Barr
    May 10th 2024, 2:14 PM

@Anthony Curran: June 7th, Curran

Mute Michael Lyons
    Favourite Michael Lyons
    May 10th 2024, 1:32 PM

What about you listening to the grassroots in ireland

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    May 10th 2024, 1:29 PM

There have always been a section of irish society that value a commodity like money above what really matters,

Mute Vinny Hughes
    Favourite Vinny Hughes
    May 10th 2024, 3:01 PM

This is an absolute scam by the GAA so receive tax payers funding use it to charge tax payers to watch the games.
    Seriously GAA!

Mute Longlin
    Favourite Longlin
    May 10th 2024, 1:29 PM

How did people manage in the days where it wouldn’t be until the all ireland semi final or final that games would be televised? I know it’s convenient to watch on TV but it’s bound to be impacting attendance, and these are way down on what they used to be.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    May 10th 2024, 3:41 PM

@Longlin: Longlin:Other factors above TV impacting on attendances..The back-door started the slide and all this round robin malarkey also takes from the do or die element of games, which given ya might get knocked out in the 1st round or semi final of a provincial championship.. ya made sure you were there ! The game of handball,sorry football, has gone pure muck, surprised people still watch it tbh.. hurling is hot on its heels..the practical professionalisation of the game has seen an ever increasing dependence on fitness, size and strength.. if I wanna watch 30 lads trying to bash the bejaysus out of each other I can watch rugby.. skills in both codes are being squeezed out of the game.. blanket defences , sweeper systems etc etc zzzzz and everybody taking it sooooooo fkn seriously.

Mute Gerry Kelly
    Favourite Gerry Kelly
    May 10th 2024, 1:41 PM

Under pressure from the club players the GAA have compressed the entire championship into barely 3 months
    Therefore there are large numbers of games every weekend & therefore RTE cannot possibly cover them all
    GAAGO are hardly charging a king’s ransom – the REAL issue is that the new season is a dog’s dinner

Mute Pip morgan
    Favourite Pip morgan
    May 10th 2024, 1:50 PM

I don’t mind GAA go it’s an excellent service but their choice of matches to show on it is terrible.

What the GAA needs to look at more than anything especially in a condensed season is ticket prices.

20 quid for league game
    20 quid for provincial Championships
    25 quid for All Ireland Series.

Since the beginning of February it’s approaching nearly 400 quid spent going to games when petrol, tolls and food are all counted in.

No game apart from Finals and Semi finals should be more than 15 quid. League games should be a tenner.

Mute brendan C5
    Favourite brendan C5
    May 10th 2024, 2:02 PM

@Pip morgan: will if ya want to bring the cost down, drive a diesel car don’t go through the tolls and bring your own sambos and a flask of tea or coffee. But better still just watch it on the TV or listen to it on the radio.

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    May 10th 2024, 1:27 PM

Harris you must support the GAA and farmers.

Mute Finn Barr
    Favourite Finn Barr
    May 10th 2024, 1:56 PM

@Sean Money: Some chance of that. He wouldn’t even listen to his own constituents in Newtownmountkennedy.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    May 10th 2024, 2:01 PM

@Finn Barr: He listens to anyone who doesn’t go around burning other people’s property, threatening the Gardaí and calling all immigrants rap!sts and paedoph!les.

Mute Finn Barr
    Favourite Finn Barr
    May 10th 2024, 2:10 PM

@Anthony Curran: Mr Rigsby listens to nothing only his own echo chamber and open-border NGOs

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    May 10th 2024, 5:00 PM

@Finn Barr: oh yes he is like Rigsby. Like a dirty little man.

Mute John Manahan
    Favourite John Manahan
    May 10th 2024, 2:52 PM

“So many people tomorrow will want to watch that Munster Final” …. except its not a Munster final

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    May 10th 2024, 5:36 PM

A lad whos party didnt listen to the voters and wasted 23 million on a pointless referendum, lecturing anyone on not listening is some hypocrisy

Mute Derek O Gorman
    Favourite Derek O Gorman
    May 10th 2024, 7:35 PM

Text book grab all association

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    May 10th 2024, 4:05 PM

Every other sport charges and I bet many of those complaining about GAAGO have Sky Sports. If you dont want to pay to watch a gaa match at home, go to the game, or become a member of your local GAA club where you can watch it for free

Mute Furious George - The Wasp
    Favourite Furious George - The Wasp
    May 10th 2024, 4:13 PM

@Peter Byrne: other sports have professional players. Not sure how many club games you go to but they cost money to see as well

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    May 10th 2024, 10:38 PM

@Peter Byrne: Peter you’re clearly not a sports person .. because that’s hogwash.. if you want to watch underage GAA sure.. but you do know that clubs charge for senior and junior hurling/football games..? not withstanding the fact that as mentioned this ‘amateur ‘ organisation has been funded to the tune of 100s of millions by the taxpayer ..This is pure greed ..and needs to be brought to an abrupt halt ! They wanna put pay walls up fine.. but they can whistle dixie for funding from the taxpayer so..

Mute Brian Smith
    Favourite Brian Smith
    May 10th 2024, 6:38 PM

I SEE THAT THERE ARE COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE TRANSMITTING OF GAA GAMES./
    WELL DID YOU KNOW THAT THE IRISH GOVERNM,ENT HAVE PROMISED THE GAA (A SECTARIAN SPORT) TAXPAYERS MONEY TO REDEVELOP CASEMENT PARK IN BELFAST .THE GAA SHOULD GO TO THE NORTHERN IRELAMD GOVERNMENT OR DOWNING STREET FOR THIS MONEY. THE MONEY PROMISED BY THE EIRE GOVERNMMJENT SHOULD BE PROPERLY USED TO PROVIDE HOUSING FOR THE HOMELESS PEOPLE .SINCE THE GAA IS SECTARIAN THEY SHOULD GO TO THEIR MASTERS NAMELY THE RC CHURCH FOR A HANDOUT.

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    May 10th 2024, 6:34 PM

So long as kerry wins Sam we will be happy.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    May 11th 2024, 11:15 AM

Cash Payments under the table to Club & Inter County Managers has destroyed Volunteerism in the GAA, it’s now all about what everyone can gain out of it, financially & politically. Govt, GAA & most esp Revenue have turned a blind eye to the loss of Millions in undeclared Cash to the Exchequer over decades. An Inter county manager with a nil success rate is getting €100K, top of the range Merc, fuel card, credit card for expenses & meals & room with a leading hotel group, none of which is declared, he is also a successful businessman. Local clubs paying €20K plus to outside managers that move on a year later. I personally know one club manager now on his 12th club, his love is not GAA, it’s money. Greed has led to volunteers leaving in droves, will never change now.

Mute Mike Dunne
    Favourite Mike Dunne
    May 11th 2024, 5:44 AM

IPTV is the way to go.