You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
FRANCE HAS IDENTIFIED the second jihadist involved in the brutal killing of an elderly priest, as calls mounted for the prime minister and interior minister to resign after the latest terror attack.
Prosecutors named the assailant as 19-year-old Abdel Malik Petitjean, who was listed in June on France’s “Fiche S” system of people posing a potential threat to national security after he tried to reach Syria from Turkey.
Petitjean, whose face was disfigured when he was shot dead by police, had been harder to identify than his accomplice Adel Kermiche, also 19. Investigators confirmed Petitjean’s identity after a DNA match with his mother.
The two jihadists pledged allegiance to the Islamic State group in a video made before they stormed a church in the Normandy town of Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray on Tuesday and slit the throat of 86-year-old priest Jacques Hamel at the altar.
Unlike his accomplice, Petitjean never raised suspicions for radicalisation among his neighbours, and was unknown to police until last month when he tried to go to Syria.
Petitjean was born to a family of Algerian origin and lived in the quiet lakeside town of Aix-les-Bains in the shadow of the Alps, popular with visitors seeking thermal cures.
Djamel Tazghat, who manages the local mosque in the Aix-les-Bains suburb where Petitjean lived in social housing, said he recognised the young man in a video published by the Islamic State group in which the two pledged allegiance to the jihadist movement.
“I liked him a lot. We never had a problem with him at the mosque. No strange observations, he was always smiling… It’s incredible,” he said.
All the believers are shocked because he was known for his kindness, his calm. We never had any sign of radicalisation. What was going on inside his head?
Warnings of terror strike
Hamel’s funeral will be held in the stunning Gothic cathedral of nearby Rouen next Tuesday, the city’s Catholic diocese said.
The attack came as the government was already facing a firestorm of criticism over alleged security failings after the Bastille Day truck massacre in Nice that left 84 people dead two weeks ago.
The government has faced tough questions since it emerged that both church attackers had been on the radar of intelligence services and had tried to go to Syria.
A French nun greets a resident during a gathering in a town park for a solemn homage to the Fr. Jacques Hamel. Francois Mori
Francois Mori
Sparking particular ire was the revelation that Kermiche had been released from prison while awaiting trial on terror charges after his second attempt to travel to Syria.
He was fitted with an electronic tag — allowing him out of the house on weekday mornings — despite calls from the prosecutor for him not to be released.
Annie Geslin, who worked with Kermiche’s mother for many years, told AFP “he was the youngest child and had psychological problems”.
Sources close to the investigation said Petitjean “strongly resembles” a man hunted by anti-terrorism police in the days before the church killing over fears he was about to carry out an act of terror.
The sources said France’s anti-terrorism police unit UCLAT sent out a note four days before the attack — saying it had received “reliable” information about a person “about to carry out an attack on national territory”.
‘Government guilty’
A brief show of political unity at a mass attended by different faiths in Paris yesterday quickly dissolved as Prime Minister Manuel Valls and Interior Minister Bernard Cazeneuve faced fresh calls to resign.
“Even if the government is not responsible for the wave of terrorism, it is guilty of not having done everything to stop it,” Laurent Wauqiez, the deputy leader of the right-wing Republicans party, said in an interview with Le Figaro newspaper.
Manuel Valls and Bernard Cazeneuve must go because they refuse to take vital measures to fight Islamism. We need a new government, determined to act.
Meanwhile, President Francois Hollande responded to remarks by US Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump that “France is no longer France” as a result of the attacks.
Residents gather at a makeshift memorial in Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray. Francois Mori / PA Images
Francois Mori / PA Images / PA Images
“France will always be France, because France will never yield and because France is always the bearer of ideals, values and principles, for which we are recognised throughout the world,” Hollande said.
When you lower your standards, you are no longer what you are. That’s something that may happen to others, on the other side of the Atlantic.
The French government has said that everything possible is being done to protect citizens, while warning that more terror attacks are inevitable, after three major strikes and several smaller attacks in the past 18 months.
Hollande on Thursday confirmed plans to create a National Guard drawn from existing reserves, after the government previously urged “patriots” to sign up to become reservists.
The president said he hopes the guard, made up of volunteers from the police, paramilitary police and military, will be operational by early autumn.
ISIS targets innocent civilians indiscriminately, based on self-righteous fanaticism, taking no account of democracy, human rights or common decency. PIRA/SF on the other hand… eh…
If he wasn’t in the PIRA then why wasn’t he in it, he was persuading others his age to join them and constantly making excuses for their actions. He was no ordinary civilian.
Ha. That awkward moment when you realise you are now extreme left wing, a vehement water protester, and suddenly a born again liar or active denier of anything bad Gerry Adams….
Diarmuid, using the tag “PIRA/SF” just shows that you seem to be stuck in the same time warp as ISIS. If you ever get back (or even move forward for that matter) to the 21st century let us know.
“he was persuading other his age to join”? Really, that would have been a crime and he would have been arrested for it. He has never been arrested for that or anything else!
That’s right Adrian, he was a political activist, he grew up in what was virtually an apartheid state and struggled against injustice for most of his life, he could have just rolled over and accepted it but he didn’t!
The fact that Adams is incapable of telling the truth makes him illegible to become leader of this nation.
Was Rabbite right?
Do we, like gullible virgins, want to be lied to by saavy political alpha males? Do we want to believe their lies and let them use us as they will?
Or are we grown ups? Do we respect straight speaking, honesty and integrity.
It would seem by popular polls and the fabricated accounts of Gerry Adams, Kenny and Aherne that we are a nation of gullible juveniles – incapable of making grown up decisions for ourselves.
I think most of you have forgotten if you ever knew what it was to live in the north when practically the first question on any job application was “what religion are you” and if you answered Catholic most of the decent well paid jobs were closed to you.
To add insult to injury the B-Specials (if you don’t know who they are, google them) would come round every so often and break every window in the house and terrorise the occupants. If they were really cracking down those going 60 work sometimes weren’t sure when they left the house that they’d get back in one piece. I know because relatives of mine were refugees from Antrim in the 60s.
The one time Captain O’Neil even mentioned power sharing the Unionists went on strike and made all sorts of threats till power sharing was taken off the table. Then there was the Civil Rights March to Burntollet Bridge and the rest, as they say, is history.
On the other hand Diarmuid the IRA were fighting against an apartheid state where one side of the community were brutalized and other side was supported by the British government and eventually by fine gael and the independent newspaper group. Catholics need not apply, Catholics cannot vote and if you protested your house was broken into by the authorities and you were arrested without charge, just like it was in South Africa and the way it is today where the Palestinian people are being abused by the jewish state of israel. History is obviously not required when you make a comment Diarmuid
Adams is not the only one with copyright on inability yo speak the truth in Dáil Éireann. “Not a red cent”, “it is immoral to tax a man (or woman’s) home” etc, etc.
Brian Ward, you’re has hilarious as Gerry. PIRA and SF were two sides of the same coin. Armalite and ballotbox. You take up historical revisionism as a hobby?
@Paul Lane. There was huge inequality, which was generally resolved by the ’80s in NI. It didn’t need two more decades of PIRA/SF murdering innocent men, women and children with zero mandate from the nationalist people.
He grew up in a state where he could have done whatever he wanted, go wherever he wanted. Blacks in SA didn’t have those rights so how it can be described as an Apartheid state is beyond me. Adams and people like him made the nationalist communities more deprived than the unionists or the British ever could have.
Hiding under the bed maybe. Let others do the dirty work.
In similar circumstances, others have been called either liers or cowards.
Wouldn’t apply to the brave Jarry of course
Jopmarsy
Adams grew up in an environment that allowed thugs to obtain weapons and develop functional IEDs and wage war against people of the Protestant faith in a sectarian conflict that resulted in thousands of deaths and many more maimings.
Young Protestant males were murdered along the Border for no other reason other than to see their lands move into Catholic hands.
The economic damage caused by this sectarian conflict was so enormous it makes the current National debt look puny by comparison.
And all for what……..with the Union more firmly established than ever before with Adams supporting it and Sinn Fein with its Military Wing now helping Her Majesty to administer the Privince.
PS I don’t have anything complimentary to say about the Loyalist side either.
Mary, it’s funny, every time Adams alleged IRA membership comes up, people try to explain why young men in the north might have felt the need to join up and why it might have been justified. I have no issue with that, in fact I do understand why people joined up at the time.
That’s not the point when it comes to Adams though. The point is that Adams denies he was ever in the IRA. So the question for everyone is, do you believe him?
He couldn’t do anything he wanted, couldn’t get proper housing or jobs, gerrymandering was rife, Catholics were second class citizens in their own country, it was a Protestant state for a Protestant people, but not anymore!
Wouldn’t have been any war if there had been no discrimination, a lot of Catholics were murdered by Protestant thugs, just thought I would mention that as you forgot to, the Catholics will be the majority within the next 3 years and they will decide if Northern Ireland remains in the UK.
@Jopsmarshy. Indeed. The SDLP did a great job achieving equality by democratic means, while SF/PIRA, with no mandate, murdered innocent men, women and children.
@mary. It may surprise you to learn Mary that most of us in ROI do not come from Norniron. In fact the biggest irritant in our lives is having to put up with the consequences of your community’s “pot calling the kettle black bullshit”
Just to be clear, most people really don’t give a s**t about the North.
Speak for yourself there Mr. Palmer. Out of interest I hope you have no plans to celebrate the 1916 centenary because the signatories would turn in their grave if they heard your attitude towards the North.
A lot of Catholics were murdered by Protestant thugs, fair enough. A lot of Catholics were also murdered by Catholic thugs, a lot of protestants were murdered by Catholic thugs too.
Catholics will be the majority in the next 3 years?? If you think this comes down to a simple sectarian headcount then you are naive beyond words. Clutching at straws in typical republican fashion.
Yes Glen, I get that, do you not get that he’s making a joke on his other claim not to have been in the IRA. I know the subtleties would be lost on you glen!
Yes Norman, the British negotiated with him in the 70′s because of his vast experience as a “barman” now don’t be annoying me with trite nonsense about Adams not been a senior IRA commander.
Norman in your opinion, why do you think the British negotiated with him in the 70′s when he wasn’t even a leading figure in SF at the time? Simple question, what do you think, can you answer without going off on a tangent.
Justin for whatever reason , he had the ear of the IRA and that helped bring about peace.As to his membership he has denied it and despite the best efforts of British and Irish law enforcement it at the moment remains unproven.
Now as I said if you have proof give it to those that require it .
‘For whatever reason ‘is all I can say unlike you I don’t make assumptions. I’m not privy to the decision making process of the British authorities or their reasons for dealing with Adams.
So it’s Friday, which is always great, best part of the weekend, in a great mood, and then I see the the bitter crywank sad acts frothing over a joke, and I’m like, this is gonna be a great weekend! Diarmuid, Justin and Sarge, I owe yee one.
In Northern Ireland there are countless examples of innocent people being shot indiscriminately by the British Army – but they are not terrorists – they’re the “army” …
ISIS don’t do blinding just beheading.
Comparing Water protesters with a blood thirsty religious group was appalling. The TD in question ,if he had any morals would realise the honourable thing to do would be to resign.But I referred to a TD so no honour,no resignation.
Rónán Duffy, would you please explain exactly what you mean by your comment….
“That clears that up, anything else we should know Gerry?”
Because to me it seems like a very poor attempt at humor, or just plain simple sh.it stirring by someone that is intellectually unable to come up with a viable a story..
Niall have you seen what they do to women that they capture? The sell them as slaves. They encourage sexual violence as a weapon of war. You on the other hand seem to think that it is a viable weapon of politics.
@padraic probably stay in (or under) the bed just like “he who was never a member of the IRA” obviously did when his community was being attacked . Because if he wasn’t a member, what was he doing? Perhaps GCHQ knows….
If he grew the beard a bit longer, lost the glasses and got himself one of those fancy head scarfs then I’d be be a tad suspicious, but for now he’s just plain ould Gerry.
So does that mean the massive irish movement on the streets are all members of an extremist group? The attempt to divide the largest mass movement of irish people in a generation who are opposed to the selling off to private interest and direct taxation of our water supply by painting us as murders and rapist will not work in fact it is acting as a rallying call. If irish water is not abolished there will be further civil unrest and if Kenny and the boys in the dail bar refuse to listen to the people they represent they will directly cause huge damage to our society.
Big push on the 10th to show it’s more then am extremist Muslim group that has an issue with the monstrosity that is the quango irish water !
We don’t like ISIS, we don’t like the IRA and we don’t like SINN FEIN.
And we don’t trust Gerry Adams or any of them for that matter.
Get in the bin all four of you. You belong together.
Kevins a Fianna Fail man. So, although the ‘we’ in his comment don’t like or trust the IRA, his former party leader was happy enough to try supply them with weapons back in the 70s.
@Martin Byrne. The 90.1 percent of the people who didn’t vote for SF in 2011 don’t like you. You are not the biggest party in Ireland, you got 9.9% of the vote where it matters and no amount of RTE supported spin can change that fact
Troll,s are all over this story like a rash it seems to have unleashed the anti G.Adams wing of the troll army. If your masters spent as much time trying to run the country as you lot do on Shinner bashing maybe we wouldn’t be in this mess. Wishing you all the best in your retirement from the troll army.
People like you Brendan who comment on any comment you don’t agree with. It’s like a carpet bombing of the comments section sometimes with the anti-SF lot.
ChArle Rex thank god I never had the problem that Gerry Adams had over his brother or many other families and I take from your disgusting comment neither have u but I know one thing family bond is a very strong thing and not one of us know what we would do in their shoes I would hope I’d do the right thing and report them but this is the point not one of us know till it happen now go away and try to score point on something less hurtful to a lot of people
Why did members of the current government cover up for the rape and abuse of thousands of children by the Catholic Church ? Got any proof that Gerry knew about his brother? I’ve got plenty to prove my accusations Now back in your box troll.
Kool, I’d rather gerry addressed the issues maryloo deflected skillfully then read his ‘hilarious’ tweets. Any other leader of a party would be out of a job now. Luckily shinners are very forgiving of their deified leader.
The Catholic Church, the IRA, UDA, Sinn Fein etc. are all the dirty fcukers who represent our little society and in the centre is Gerry – tweeting sh%te.
Kool – nicely deflected. As I explained to a different shinner recently, it’s happened in my wider family but we didn’t find out till after the monster had died. I’d have dragged him to a garda station in a heartbeat. So yes, to answer a poster below this, I do know how I’d react on this situation. If you are happy to call important questions ‘point scoring’ that’s on you and your faux hurt. I’m not.
Now now. He’s the one who brought up the cover up of abuse on a completly unrelated subject in an effort to play the what aboutery card.If he wants all cover up allegations investigated lets start with the ones we actually have evidence for not the ones we wish we had evidence for.
I think is a absolute disgrace the lack of respect a lot of people have for Mr Adams. Yet ye fools have voted in fool after fool to run our country. Ye may think ye are smart and clever but ye are actually brain washed sheep. I can’t guarantee ye will see the light someday because ye probably come from a long line of sheep. But the light is coming
Not even close. At most, the PIRA killed 2000 in 31 years. ISIS have killed over 8000 civilians in Iraq in the first eight months of this year. Stop spouting random bullcrud…
Course he wasn’t in the IRA he just became pen pals with the convicted IRA killers of Garda Jerry McCabe while they were in prison then decided he’d go visit them in prison as you do…
Irish researchers discover proof that Roman gladiators fought with large animals
1 hr ago
Courts
Trial underway for Dublin man charged with murder of girlfriend while on holiday in Spain
16 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 175 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 117 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 155 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 121 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 87 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 88 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 42 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 143 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 67 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 83 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 90 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 52 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 28 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 107 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 76 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 57 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 96 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 77 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say