You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Funeral with coffin at a cemetery via Shutterstock

Hundreds of families applying for grants to help cover high funeral costs

The Department of Social Protection is paying out more than €5 million every year to help people cover funeral and burial expenses for their loved ones.

SEVERAL THOUSAND FAMILIES every year are applying for a special grant to help them afford to bury their loved ones.

New figures from the Department of Social Protection show more than €5 million is being paid out every year to help cover funeral and burial expenses.  The average payout is around €1,300, having dropped slightly on previous years.

The funeral payment is made as a one-off ‘exceptional needs payment’ which people would not be able to afford on their weekly income. There is no automatic entitlement to the payment and the decision is made by the officer who administers the scheme.

The St Vincent de Paul Society and other groups working with people on low incomes have frequently criticised the opaque nature of funeral costs in Ireland and the difficulty in comparing prices during a difficult time for families. The average cost of funerals is estimated at between €3,000 and €5,000, but can rise to closer to €10,000 – especially in Dublin – when all costs are taken into account.

In response to a question raised by Willie O’Dea TD, Minister for Social Protection Joan Burton said that almost 4,000 payments were made in 2011 and 2012. A total of 1,810 payments have been made in the first six months of this year so far, which is on track to match the figures from the previous two years.

The Minister refused to rule in or out any plans to cut the grant in the upcoming Budget 2014. “With regard to my future plans for these payments, any changes to the scheme will be considered in a budgetary context,” she said.

Poll: Should families be banned from giving eulogies at funeral masses? >

Read: High-tech tombstones let loved ones ‘live on’ >

Read: ‘Burials without coffins’ could save families money >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

51 Comments
    Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    Jun 3rd 2017, 12:42 AM

I live in the city centre and frequently walk home late at night. It’s actually astounding the amount of people out there on the streets. I walked passed the GPO one night before Christmas, it was baltic out, and there must have been 50 or 60 people outside sleeping rough. Families and everything. More recently I have seen the Romanian lads on Henry Street in big numbers too. Only recently though. I think Brexit might have scared a few away from over the water and they feel safer in a European country?
    Whatever the reasons or solutions the whole thing is a shambles and a national embarrassment.

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Jun 3rd 2017, 12:46 AM

And they’ll all be up early in the morning… But Leo, Simon and the rest of the Irish Tories will continue to ignore them.

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Jun 3rd 2017, 1:01 AM

@DaisyChainsaw: yawn

Mute Vincent
    Favourite Vincent
    Jun 3rd 2017, 1:58 AM

@DaisyChainsaw: what is it? 4 % unemployment? Always someone else s fault.

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Jun 3rd 2017, 2:14 AM

@Vincent: Jaysus the Fraperoom is working overtime tonight. Nobody permitted to rain on the blueshite parade, eh?

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Jun 3rd 2017, 7:26 AM

@DaisyChainsaw: clearly homelessness globally is fine gael’s fault. Who knew they had such influence internationally to roll out their dastardly plans.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jun 3rd 2017, 7:50 AM

@alphanautica: Homelessness is the result of FG neoliberal policies. Varadkar is a committed neoliberal globalist. So yes, his plans are dastardly.

Jun 3rd 2017, 12:34 AM

Rough sleepers deserve so much more than this .. those sleeping in hotel rooms are safe , warm and cosy unlike these guys ..

Mute abcyz
    Favourite abcyz
    Jun 3rd 2017, 12:36 AM

@Suzie Sunshine: We got dead rats for pillow so we be ok. Thanks anyway

Mute john Appleseed
    Favourite john Appleseed
    Jun 3rd 2017, 9:45 AM

@abcyz: and the Internet obviously

Mute Linda Hughes
    Favourite Linda Hughes
    Jun 3rd 2017, 1:48 AM

This is not right at all levels, i know that there will be always a few people who are quite ok living on the street’s but this is horrible in this day and age in this country. ….. open up the churches and let them sleep there I’m sure God won’t mind nor would a few big men sit with them while they sleep so they know they are safe! Open up sports halls and do the same and then let them have a shower! I’m not very sure about charities too many people at the top creaming it.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jun 3rd 2017, 3:43 AM

@Linda Hughes: open up your own house too. 4% unemployment is really full employment. For some living on the streets as a lifestyle choice. Many have alcohol and drug dependency problems;also people homeless through having fallen on hard times;also some will not accept accommodation unless it is in the area of their choice. Many put themselves in deliberately precarious situations to “bribe” the authorities. Very few ordinary hard working people can arbitrarily choose where they and their families live; they have to budget and live within their means. This means often commuting fifty to seventy miles just to work. Draw an arc from Dundalk to Mullingar to Portlaoise to Carlow to Gorey and you will see what I mean. Less sympathy and more practicality might work. Address the why then solve.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jun 3rd 2017, 6:50 AM

@Micheal S. O’ Ceilleachair: It’s always their own fault, that’s the neoliberal mantra. Unreported by another side of this problem is those in homes, living under threat of eviction from banks, where every cent they have goes to the banks and leaves no money for food, light, or heat. 34 families in the Midland area received bags of non perishable food last night. Food donated by people and businesses. Over a hundred families, those who have the courage to seek help,are helped every week. One man who has been helped, is in hospital, unable to eat, his mind is so destroyed with the pressure and struggle of trying to live, he’s just can’t eat. He stated he would be happier if he was dead. He seems determined on that course. If he does comitt suicide, the reasons won’t be recorded, if FG gets their way the suicide won’t be recorded, “to spare the families” is the reason given. To keep the truth from the public is the real reason.
    FF destroyed the economy in the country. FG has destroyed society. That’s why there are these problems in the country. No other reason.

Mute abcyz
    Favourite abcyz
    Jun 3rd 2017, 12:35 AM

Well Leo, what you going to do? Is it all their own fault? Is your Indian connections, the men ,women and street children’s predicament their own fault too?

Mute Vincent
    Favourite Vincent
    Jun 3rd 2017, 1:57 AM

@abcyz: dope

Mute abcyz
    Favourite abcyz
    Jun 3rd 2017, 10:08 PM

@Vincent: U enjoy Leo’s policies u dope u?

Mute Jackson Bollovks
    Favourite Jackson Bollovks
    Jun 3rd 2017, 10:45 AM

I don’t give a penny to beggars, Irish, Roma or whatever, there are plenty of reasons people end up on the street but there are also plenty of supports if people want to help themselves. If they were to offer a free accommodation/house in Sligo, Donegal or Leitrim, free counselling and support and welfare, they turn their nose up and would say no. Because they’d rather stay in Dublin with their mates, their dealers, the scene and the coin they make every day is worth far more.

Mute Dermot Keogh
    Favourite Dermot Keogh
    Jun 3rd 2017, 1:34 AM

We now have a vadkar steering this ship o my god let me get off

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 3rd 2017, 9:19 AM

@Dermot Keogh: cheerio.

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Jun 3rd 2017, 10:06 AM

This may sound stupid but would it not be a good idea if all the charities who are set up to deal with the homeless, people dealing with addiction all got together & sat down. They could then together decide what to do. They all have good ideas but why not pool their ideas. I realise that some of the people at the top won’t be needed so they will lose their jobs but it’s charity not a business. Why not work together & sort out this mess as the local councils are doing nothing. The gov officials are doing nothing. The suggestion from all the politicians seem to be “let’s build more houses.” As i’ve said before “open up all the boarded houses the council have on their books” There is no requirement to rip out everything in a house unless its wrecked. This is what councils do before they give out houses. I know some people who work in the local housing dept. They state that there are good kitchens, wardrobes, bathrooms which are ripped out & the exact same put in. A total waste of money but councils. There are some houses that are wrecked by the tenants but they should be left in the house in its condition & if they move out they should go to the bottom of the list. If you have no respect for what your given then you don’t deserve it.

Mute Ian Moloney
    Favourite Ian Moloney
    Jun 3rd 2017, 8:11 AM

Irish definition of hypocrisy? A previous privileged overpaid RTÉ DJ mocking these unfortunates every morning on national radio while snorting cocaine himself behind our backs.

Mute Vic's Burd
    Favourite Vic's Burd
    Jun 3rd 2017, 10:03 AM

I love how the keyboard warriors are quick to blame the government and the likes. This was an issue in the 70′s; 80′s; 90′s and 00′s – it will always be an issue. Regardless who is in charge.

This article talks about several volunteer teams walking around with tea/coffee/soup – I’m starting to think that they aren’t solving the problem, they are aiding it. If people don’t get tea served on the street – it might make them go into the hostels; the cafes and the other places to get tea.

Stop the street teams for a while and put them in the hostels and the shelters instead: see if that brings down the numbers on the street?

Mute Ann Birney
    Favourite Ann Birney
    Jun 3rd 2017, 10:59 AM

@Vic’s Burd: I’m one of these volunteers in an outreach charity. At 10.30 last night I phoned the DCC freephone to try to get beds for 2 people. The automated voice was on a loop saying there were no beds left. I called every 5 minutes until 11.05. At that time there were still no beds left and I could opt to queue on the line to speak to a person. I was 46th in the queue! The 2 people said thanks but not to bother anymore. We gave them sleeping bags and food. No more we could do for them. Despite assurances from government spokespersons that there are sufficient beds for everyone in the system, the experience on the ground proves different. To all doubting Thomases, spend 1 night with any outreach service to inform yourself of the reality.

Mute Patricia Wormald
    Favourite Patricia Wormald
    Jun 3rd 2017, 12:22 PM

@Ann Birney: you guys are doing a great job.keep up the good work
    You are giving up your free time.to help other.
    As the saying goes.by the grace of god go.i

Mute Dermot Keogh
    Favourite Dermot Keogh
    Jun 3rd 2017, 1:35 AM

We are doomed

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Jun 3rd 2017, 3:32 AM

Wat u complaining about

Mute Jane Yazicioglu
    Favourite Jane Yazicioglu
    Jun 3rd 2017, 10:11 AM

This is an apsolute disgrace for Ireland all the talk about taking in refugees trying to look good for who look after your own people first then talk about refugees.