Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here's a sneak peek at the garda operation at the Eminem gig

Over 750 gardaí are on duty today at Slane where fans will face a number of searches before gaining access to the venue.

GARDAÍ ARE RUNNING a tight ship at the Eminem gig at Slane Castle today with a major security operation in place.

The picture above shows the set up in the control room where gardaí can view CCTV footage of roads and concert areas.

Revellers arriving at the venue will be met by stewards and gardaí who are checking for drugs, weapons and those bringing in their own alcohol, which is strictly forbidden. In total, ticketholders will be subjected to at least three searches.

MCD took out full-page advertisements earlier this week, telling fans to behave – and dress – appropriately and warning them that anyone arriving intoxicated would be refused entry.

There are over 750 gardaí on duty at the concert and they will be monitoring footage like this throughout the evening.

So far, the gig seems to be running smoothly with gardaí saying there are “no problems to report” apart from a few rain showers.

The man himself is due on stage at 8pm this evening.

- All images from An Garda Síochána/Facebook.

Related: “You won’t be drinking on the roadways of Slane” – Garda in charge of Eminem security>

More: Eminem fans given a safety checklist by concert organisers>

Read: 12 examples of Gardaí being sound at music festivals>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

65 Comments
    Mute Elmo
    Favourite Elmo
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:10 PM

Drove through Slane yesterday and it looked like an open air prison. Can’t imagine the locals have any time for these events.
    Also had the joy of stopping at a garage at the same time as a bus load of teens on their way to Slane and they were so drunk they couldn’t even make their way across the car park to the toilets and just went where they were standing. All of them managed not to spill the drinks they were still holding while doing it too, quite a skill. Can’t imagine a couple thousand more of them descending on a small town.

Mute Jim Brady
    Favourite Jim Brady
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:26 PM

To be fair, if I had to stand though a couple of hours of Eminem’s self-indulgent wannabe African American gangsta rap, I’d be getting pretty trashed too

Mute Whiskeyste
    Favourite Whiskeyste
    Aug 17th 2013, 5:10 PM

Its just Rap no need to bring race into it

Mute James Connely
    Favourite James Connely
    Aug 17th 2013, 7:05 PM

People have different tastes in music, get over it. It doesn’t affect you in any way whatsoever, don’t take it so personally. Surely you have other things to be worrying about.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Aug 18th 2013, 1:01 PM

And the main man, came out played six numbers and pissed off laughing all the way to the bank, our kids deserve better your lordship..

Mute John Madden
    Favourite John Madden
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:56 PM

Despite the fact that MCD are paying the Gardai it seems sad that 750 Gardai can be mobilised for one event and around the country in rural areas the communities are crying out for Garda cover..

Mute Grainne T
    Favourite Grainne T
    Aug 17th 2013, 5:45 PM

Gardai have been drafted from every station within 100 miles for this, and MCD is paying them for duties inside the venue. Security guards don’t have a power of arrest that’s why they employ gardai

Mute FDL_
    Favourite FDL_
    Aug 17th 2013, 5:29 PM

Hope they all enjoy the gig, lots of sad mouth bags on here who love to hate.

Mute Michelle Philpot
    Favourite Michelle Philpot
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:53 PM

What’s the chances of been stabbed at a Springsteen gig?
    Like attracts like.

Mute Keith Maguire
    Favourite Keith Maguire
    Aug 18th 2013, 3:19 AM

As far as I am aware, the only time there was major trouble at Slane was when Bob Dylan headlined.

Mute Monika Kalinska
    Favourite Monika Kalinska
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:20 PM

What’s the point paying for a gig if you’re not going to enjoy it?
    Last month Bon Jovi’s concert was full of youngsters drunk beyond imagination
    You need garda to control them Nobody wants to hear about fights and injuries due to lack of garda presence

Mute Darragh Mcnamara
    Favourite Darragh Mcnamara
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:34 PM

U need a heavy drink to listen to the likes of jon bland bovi

Mute gumbridge
    Favourite gumbridge
    Aug 17th 2013, 5:41 PM

It’s impossible to enjoy Bon Jovi in the first place, because of their unspeakable awfulness.

Mute Doey Walsh
    Favourite Doey Walsh
    Aug 17th 2013, 6:34 PM

Heres an idea
    Instead of Garda, just remove the drink altogether,
    or if it’s Kanye concert leave a rake of guns lying round and do the world a service

Mute Sam Rhodes
    Favourite Sam Rhodes
    Aug 17th 2013, 8:47 PM

Why are young people going to see Bon Jovi?

Mute ieoinu
    Favourite ieoinu
    Aug 17th 2013, 8:57 PM

Some sort of cruel punishment I reckon.

Mute Glangan
    Favourite Glangan
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:46 PM

Slane Gig aka how to be treated like cattle and pay for the privilege.

Mute BadDrivingIreland
    Favourite BadDrivingIreland
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:01 PM

Shortage of garda my ass.

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock

Well someone must have got a bo******** from a guard recently

Mute BadDrivingIreland
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:26 PM

750 is excessive

Mute Denis O Donovan
    Favourite Denis O Donovan
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:41 PM

1 Garda to 110 people seems reasonable enough to me.

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:45 PM

100 red thumbs out of the 700 gardai @ event. After all they have hi tec at hand of the tax payers

Mute Willie
    Favourite Willie
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:59 PM

WTF are you on about now Harry. I’ve read that several times and I can’t make any sense out if it.
    Your babble is getting harder to decipher.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Aug 17th 2013, 9:02 PM

Only around 4% of what Harry price make any sense at all. Of that 4% approx. 0.2% relates to reality or logic.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:35 PM

Search for drugs and weapons sounds sensible.
    I’m not sure you’re breaking a law carrying in alcohol though.

Mute Denis O Donovan
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:42 PM

You are. You can’t bring your own beer to a pub either.

Mute Jonathan Kennedy
    Favourite Jonathan Kennedy

Of course you’re not. Just like you’re not allowed bring your own drink its pubs/clubs. Same thing.

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:51 PM

little jim .. you can allways have it delivered to the station just like the shell/ job

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:58 PM

Rules are one thing, the law is a different thing altogether.
    The guards are employed by the state to uphold the law.
    Not someones rules, haven’t they got security for that?

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Aug 17th 2013, 6:09 PM

Security enforce the rule that prohibits patrons from bringing alcohol into the concert; Gardaí enforce the law that prohibits people from drinking alcohol in public.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Aug 17th 2013, 6:55 PM

Thanks sandbag.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Aug 17th 2013, 9:05 PM

See? Harry genius price.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Aug 17th 2013, 9:12 PM

Look!
    Slim shady just stood up!

I’d say it’s hopping in there right now.

Mute BadDrivingIreland
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:00 PM

Ah yeah big brother arrives at slane. Enjoy yourselves folks but we are watching. We don’t want you to have fun.

Mute Paul Nolan
    Favourite Paul Nolan
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:02 PM

U are a fool. Someone gets stabbed and u would be crying where was the gardai and why was there no cameras.

Mute Adam Power
    Favourite Adam Power
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:05 PM

Ye pure eejit.

Mute Mags Louth
    Favourite Mags Louth

On route I have seen a pool of sick along with beer cans on the hard shoulder and a pair of ladies knickers lying on the middle of the road. Somehow I think that this is related to Slane.

Mute Shanners
    Favourite Shanners
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:11 PM

People shouldn’t be getting stabbed in the first place. Shouldn’t be carrying drugs. Shouldn’t need to smuggle in alcohol due to extortionate prices inside.

Embarrassing that on the whole we can’t just behave normally at events that involve drink. Wouldn’t have to waste police time and resources.

Mute Kevin Conway
    Favourite Kevin Conway
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:18 PM

But the fact is that these things are happening so these measures are necessary. This is the way our culture has evolved unfortunately.

Mute Denis O Donovan
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:40 PM

You’re the only troll here lad.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch

If your selling, I’ll give you a fair price for the knickers?

Mute Simon O'Donnell
    Favourite Simon O'Donnell
    Aug 17th 2013, 5:18 PM

Don’t sell Harry too short. He be trolling too!

Mute Danny Fox
    Favourite Danny Fox
    Aug 17th 2013, 6:38 PM

Harry gets all stuttery when he gets excited and any article on here about gardai excites poor harry. He just can’t help himself.must have a horn for all the blue lights. Harry do what the nice nurse tells you and take the nice tablets. There’s a good boy

Mute Maria Carroll
    Favourite Maria Carroll
    Aug 17th 2013, 8:10 PM

My son is at Slane, he says its extremely rough, and no security in sight in the crowd. They will be leaving early:(

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Aug 17th 2013, 11:09 PM

If you cannot take alcohol into the event, why is it sold inside ? I understand the pure profit motive – i.e. greed – but not selling alcohol would, surely, reduce the likelihood of trouble. Or am I missing something ?

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Aug 17th 2013, 5:44 PM

It should be free into Slane castle and grounds we the Irish people own it not Henry Mountcharlie,I bet I will get a load of serfs dissagreeing with me,but I spoke with historians including Slim fat koogan and they all agree with me.

Mute ieoinu
    Favourite ieoinu
    Aug 17th 2013, 8:46 PM

How do you make out that we the Irish people own it?

Mute Ciara O' Brien
    Favourite Ciara O' Brien
    Aug 18th 2013, 2:31 AM

Sure you head on up there and tell him that, let us know how ya get on!!!

Mute Steve501
    Favourite Steve501
    Aug 17th 2013, 5:48 PM

Why go to a concert pissed? Then again that’s the only way I could listen to rap

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Aug 17th 2013, 5:08 PM

Hope the lads got the BT sports package

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:56 PM

This article looks like a warning

Mute Suzanne Kenny
    Favourite Suzanne Kenny
    Aug 17th 2013, 5:24 PM

What a shocking waste of valuable resources.

Mute Kevin Conway
    Favourite Kevin Conway
    Aug 17th 2013, 7:20 PM

Do you want another repeat of Swedish House Mafia?

Mute Sue Lawlor
    Favourite Sue Lawlor
    Aug 17th 2013, 6:34 PM

All jealousy let dem enjoy d concert ugh cheer da f*ck up?

Mute Byyys
    Favourite Byyys
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:35 PM

I wanna know the cost behind this operation and whos paying for it… taxpayers I suppose??!

Mute Rob Mackey
    Favourite Rob Mackey
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:40 PM

mcd u twonk

Mute Louise Keogh
    Favourite Louise Keogh

Hopefully MCD if not then it’s a joke cos their security do f*** all

Mute Denis O Donovan
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:42 PM

Promoters pay for security at events like these including any extra gardai on overtime.

Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Favourite Nuffsaid Thatsall

MCD pay for it.

Mute chateau nove de pope
    Favourite chateau nove de pope
    Aug 17th 2013, 4:13 PM

What colour were they ?

Mute paulknockshop
    Favourite paulknockshop
    Aug 17th 2013, 7:38 PM

750! Jeez ..thats a lot of doughnuts.

Mute Alan Kelleher
    Favourite Alan Kelleher
    Aug 17th 2013, 8:17 PM

Is that all you’ve to add? Least whitty remark of the week. Hang your head in shame.

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Aug 17th 2013, 6:28 PM

It’s no SHM!!! Come on. Why all the fuzz?

Mute dominic
    Favourite dominic
    Aug 18th 2013, 8:08 PM

Lot a fuss about a guy whose diction is way below par