You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'Our worst nightmare came true': Colleagues of Garda Tony Golden in shock after killing

A young woman who was injured in the shooting remains in critical condition today.

Updated 22.09pm

Shooting in Omeath The scene in Omeath, Co Louth earlier today. Niall Carson / PA Niall Carson / PA / PA

IT’S BEING REPORTED that the State funeral of Garda Tony Golden will take place on Thursday afternoon.

Further details emerged this afternoon about the tragic killing of an on-duty garda and the shooting of a young mother in county Louth yesterday evening.

Speaking to reporters outside Dundalk Garda Station, Superintendent Gerry Curley said the 21-year-old woman had gone to Omeath Garda Station yesterday by appointment to make a statement about a domestic incident.

She was then accompanied by Garda Tony Golden and her father to a house in the Mullach Alainn estate to collect her belongings. The woman’s father remained outside and heard gunshots shortly after his daughter and Garda Golden entered.

He raised the alarm and local gardaí and emergency services responded.

Niall Carson / PA Niall Carson / PA / PA

“Tony Golden was found with a number of gunshot wounds which proved to be fatal,” the superintendent told reporters.

Garda Anthony Golden Garda Press Office Garda Press Office

Known to gardaí

A 24-year-old man, named as Adrian Crevan Mackin was also found with a fatal gunshot wound and the young woman who had earlier made a complaint to gardaí suffered serious injuries.

Curley said the woman, Mackin’s girlfriend and a mother of two young children, remains in critical condition in Beaumont Hospital in Dublin.

Local Green Party councillor Mark Deary knows the woman and said her condition stabilised overnight:

A young woman, her family are with her now. The wider family are up supporting her grandmother at the house. If they ever get over it’ll be a miracle but please God she’ll pull through.

Since news broke of the incident, it has emerged the man was known to gardaí and was on bail, having appeared in court in January on charges of being a member of an unlawful organisation. He is believed to have turned the gun on himself and taken his own life after shooting his girlfriend and Garda Golden.

The garda was based in Omeath Garda Station and lived in Blackrock, Co Louth. He was married with three young children and was described today by Garda Commissioner Noirín O’Sullivan as a “proud family man”.

She said the loss is “unthinkable” for his wife Nicola, for his children and their extended family.

O’Sullivan paid credit to the man’s colleagues for their professionalism at such a difficult time for them personally.

When a colleague is lost in such tragic circumstances they have to park the emotion, you know…

She said it had been very traumatic for officers who attended the scene, some of whom had also been at the scene of the murder of Garda Detective Adrian Donohoe over two years ago.

This evening the Commissioner visited the house where the tragic death of one of her colleagues took place.

Michelle Hennessy / TheJournal.ie Michelle Hennessy / TheJournal.ie / TheJournal.ie

Golden is the 88th garda to have been killed in the line of duty and Vice President of the Garda Representative Association toldTheJournal.ie that members of the force are in shock today.

Dangerous

Fine Gael councillor for Drogheda, Richie Culhane, who is a former member of the force, told Morning Ireland that the Louth division “still remains a very dangerous place to work”. He said gardaí working in border areas are still putting their lives at risk every day.

Responding to reports of the garda going to the scene alone, Culhane said this is a “very dangerous situation to place members of the force in”.

The councillor said further recruitment in the force is needed, particularly in border areas.

Councillor Mark Deary said the small, close-knit community of Omeath has been left “speechless” by the tragedy.

In the school carpark there just dropping the kids off at school and talking to our friends and neighbours about the most unbelievable invasion of violence, awful awful violence that has left a garda dead, the perpetrator himself dead and a young woman, a neighbour of ours, struggling for her life and we just pray for her and hope for a full recovery.

He described the incident as “an assault on us all”.

Read: On-duty garda killed in Louth shooting>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

94 Comments
    Mute JakeTheMuss7
    Favourite JakeTheMuss7
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:04 AM

Was on bail for terrorist offences and had a fireman.
    Wtf!

Mute Bernard Kilmurray
    Favourite Bernard Kilmurray
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:18 AM

A family with 3 young kids has lost their father because he went to work. This is the second time in this area.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:29 AM

The thing is the firearm, given the man’s background, was likely illegally acquired. The courts had to know that this was a risk if they allowed bail and took it anyway.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Oct 12th 2015, 8:52 PM

Poor man. He went out to do his work in the best way he could and like all our Gardai providing an invaluable service at what is often traumatic events for people. Truly a very difficult job. I guess we will have to think about how such a tragedy can be prevented in future and make whatever changes are needed. Our Gardai need protecting too.

Mute Scobee Gough
    Favourite Scobee Gough
    Oct 12th 2015, 10:37 PM

The justice system in this country is broken, the criminals are laughing at the decent people of Ireland due to this lenient system. No free legal aid after 3 offences and 3 separate offences and your out. They may start building jails to put an end to this mess

Mute Nira Line
    Favourite Nira Line
    Oct 13th 2015, 12:55 AM

In three short years “republicans” have killed two gardai in cold blood in the same Louth area.

Mute cailín_bainne
    Favourite cailín_bainne
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:15 AM

Shocking! Awful news! The Guards don’t get the recognition they deserve. Thoughts are with his poor family. RIP

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:34 AM

This man went out to work yesterday & like most of us his wife/partner & family expected him home at a certain time, his children will never be read to or tucked in by him again & his wife will never be held by him. I keep saying the biggest problem our country faces is CRIME & this one issue must be addressed because we are nothing if not safe. My heartfelt condolences to this mans wife & children.

Mute Ghulam Mustafa
    Favourite Ghulam Mustafa
    Oct 12th 2015, 2:49 PM

It’s so sad.Nobody should be allowed to have guns. Don’t want to even think about the pain his family going through!! Rest in peace.

Mute Jo45
    Favourite Jo45

Bail laws need to be changed, even if that means a constitutional amendment. I’m all for innocent until proven guilty but some serious charges should be exempt from bail and focus should be on the judicial system being able to progress to trial promptly so ‘innocent’ people do not languish in prison on remand.

Mute Dan Higgins
    Favourite Dan Higgins
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:05 AM

Insane! RIP Garda!

My thoughts really do go out to his family, friends and colleagues!

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Oct 12th 2015, 10:15 AM

Cormac, where specifically are you getting that they were “ringing the Gardai over the whole weekend”? All the reports appear to say they called once and that the Garda who died was there in response to that call.

Mute tmwtbc
    Favourite tmwtbc
    Oct 12th 2015, 11:15 AM

Neal – Cormac hardly made it up. It doesn’t take a genius to work out that he is more familiar with the incident than the rest of us; perhaps he is from the area or knows those involved.

Mute colin
    Favourite colin
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:17 AM

On bail for terrorism offences? How can someone be granted bail in such circumstances?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:27 AM

Constitutional right if I remember correctly. The more apt question is why was the bail set low enough to be affordable to an obviously active and unstable dissident?

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Oct 12th 2015, 8:24 AM

Constitutional right me hole. There should be no bail for anyone charged with terrorism offences.

Mute colin
    Favourite colin
    Oct 12th 2015, 9:28 AM

16th amendment curtailed that right Jason. the court can refuse bail where it’s deemed unfit

Mute Techguy.ie
    Favourite Techguy.ie

countrys gone to fcuk – rip garda golden

Mute yaya bradley
    Favourite yaya bradley
    Oct 12th 2015, 8:16 AM

It irks me that noirin o sullivan spoke of the dangers “they” face, it should be “we” is she so far removed she has forgotten she too is a garda

Mute Denis O Donovan
    Favourite Denis O Donovan
    Oct 12th 2015, 5:27 PM

When do you think she was on the beat last? You think she was at all? But her wording makes it very clear how she sees herself imo.

Mute Terry McClatchey
    Favourite Terry McClatchey
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:44 PM

Her phrasing reflects an appropriate modesty that those on the front-line face greater physical risks than she does in a strategic role.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Oct 12th 2015, 10:41 PM

Denis…read her statement…similar to Edna’s,bland,PC,….”incident”,”tragic”,”sad”,as though they don’t want to offend the killers “community” by being “judgemental” and “knee jerk”….

Mute Aidan Humphries
    Favourite Aidan Humphries
    Oct 12th 2015, 9:27 AM

A guard on his own responding to any type of domestic dislike is outrageous. Only 4 guards in the entire station party on a border town.

There’s no doubt you could’ve had more working but the Govt cut the budget so badly that rural Ireland is essentially a police free state.

People are terrified in their homes and this is just a another very tragic example of what policing cut backs does

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung
    Oct 12th 2015, 10:28 AM

The government actually quote statistics that suggest removing rural garda stations has no immediate effect on crime. A response unit hundreds of kilometres away can do the job. Give criminals freedom to carry out crimes. We’ll pick them up on the M50.
    It’s genius isn’t it.

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Oct 12th 2015, 10:56 AM

well Tommy I know where I live that there has hardly been a weekend without car thefts, castle russling and buglaries. this area would have hardly had a buglary a year. the cutbacks are a disgrace. I prefer community policing any day.

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Oct 12th 2015, 11:23 AM

Me too Margaret. After so many robberies and plenty around the district I know us elderly and disabled live in fear. Fear at home and fear if we go out. So far it us twice at home and three times out. No replacing is my advice so when they come there is nothing for them as much as possible.

Mute shane mc gee
    Favourite shane mc gee
    Oct 13th 2015, 6:07 AM

4 covering different shifts.

Mute Floodzie
    Favourite Floodzie
    Oct 12th 2015, 9:47 AM

No-one should be granted bail for terrorism offences.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Oct 12th 2015, 10:26 AM

Only problem with that, is that you end up like America, where the police and prosecutors now routinely terrier-related laws to put away, for many years, kids who have been found with some hash in their car.

Mute paul farrell
    Favourite paul farrell
    Oct 12th 2015, 9:07 AM

Serious questions to be asked sending an unarmed guard into a house were a known ira member was … All gardai should be armed

Oct 12th 2015, 9:43 AM

if there was phonecalls made to the gardai that this man had a gun , then why was the garda sent out to investigate on his own ?

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Oct 12th 2015, 11:25 AM

Should have been a car full. It will not bring back this brave young man, husband and father. Many mourn for for this lad. Something must be done to ensure none of the lads are put in this situation anymore, do something to honour this boy.

Mute David Peate
    Favourite David Peate
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:29 AM

coward

Mute Benny benson
    Favourite Benny benson
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:36 AM

So sad (rip) condolences to Garda,s family colleagues and friends

Mute rod
    Favourite rod
    Oct 12th 2015, 9:06 AM

hope the murderer rots in hell. rip to the poor young garda!!

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:16 AM

He went there alone to a domestic and knowing what was to happen. Gardai should not be working alone. This needs to be looked at going forward. It’s no good now but will be in the future.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:26 AM

When you go to a domestic dispute, you don’t expect to be shot at by an angry terrorist on bail. Wouldn’t have made much of a difference if he was there with support as the regular Gardaí are unarmed and unable to respond to live rounds.

Mute cormac o connell
    Favourite cormac o connell
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:28 AM

Thye gardai knew exactly who they were dealing with. They were getting phone calls all over the weekend from the womans family telling them that he was dangerous. he was out on bail as well for fire arms offences

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:31 AM

I left out the word NOT knowing what was to happen. Apologies.

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:36 AM

How do you know all this. sounds like you are victim blaming rather than just say it as it is, the $cum murdered two innocent unarmed people. absolute coward

Mute cormac o connell
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:39 AM

I know it because its on the front of the Indo this morning

Mute cormac o connell
    Oct 12th 2015, 7:39 AM

He killed himself so only one innocent person was murdered….

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 12th 2015, 8:17 AM

Cholly is probably referring to older reports. It was initially reported that the wife and Garda Anthony Golden were fatally shot as well as the gunman however it is now known that the wife is in stable condition in hospital.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Oct 12th 2015, 9:33 AM

I’m glad to hear she is stable. Hopefully she’ll pull through.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Oct 12th 2015, 9:40 AM

I feel sorry for members of the Gardai pulling their own safety at risk because the government fails to recruit enough people into the force. It is a fact that in some regions members are expected to do a huge amount overtime to make a decent wage and therefore keep the force undermanned.

Oct 12th 2015, 9:46 AM

why were the provisions that should be put in place when dealing with a suspected armed man ?

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Oct 12th 2015, 10:53 AM

considering the number of assaults and killing involved in domestic abuse, and the high emotions, I would have thought it would be one of the most dangerous events to get involved in , regardless of the perpetrator’s background. if it was known the perpetrator was after being released on arms charges I really cannot understand why a decision to allow an unarmed garda intervene was allowed.

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Oct 12th 2015, 11:28 AM

Is there no end to the goings on? I am sorry fir this young woman indeed, her recovery will be all the more painful as she has lost her husband. I hope the kids are coping.

Mute Mary Goretti Pettitt
    Favourite Mary Goretti Pettitt
    Oct 13th 2015, 8:40 AM

DITTO

Mute Gaz
    Favourite Gaz
    Oct 12th 2015, 11:02 AM

They do a lot for the community and you get little toe rags putting up videos at the protest of the water meters trying to make them look bad in every way. Rip to that young man and woman and hopefully their families will have the strength in this hard time

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Oct 12th 2015, 10:11 AM

Dreadful absolutely disgusting murder by IRA psychopath.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Oct 12th 2015, 10:45 AM

The shooter would have been 4 years of age when the IRA signed up to the GFA.

Whats disgusting is your attempt to score political points off the tragic death of a Garda.

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Oct 12th 2015, 3:18 PM

We’re Jammin would Ya ever get lost defending Sinn Fein and the IRA. Sicko

Mute Thomas Clarke
    Favourite Thomas Clarke
    Oct 12th 2015, 3:20 PM

it is truly disgusting that SFs only concern is the cult

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Oct 12th 2015, 4:18 PM

at least you’ve stopped pretending to be polite Dane but it was ok any of us used to your tireless rants recognise you for the schizophrenic troll you are

Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    Oct 12th 2015, 10:56 AM

That Fine Gael councillor for Drogheda, Richie Culhane was on radio this morning , he was using this tragic death to make political points, bloody disgrace he actually said the garda should have known with the knowledge that he was charged with membership of IRA that would have been an indication that the garda wouldnt have gone there on his own for obvious reasons

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    Oct 13th 2015, 12:10 AM

Philip would it not make perfect sense that where an individual has been identified as a member of a dangerous dissident group and as a dangerous person linked with terrorist offences that no garda should be expected to enter alone into a volatile situation with such an individual present. A very high risk situation. Their personal safety has to come first. Disgraceful that they are so short staffed they are putting their lives at risk to do their job.

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Oct 12th 2015, 4:29 PM

One common thread of all thes horific cases recently including Tipperary last week – ” OUT ON BAIL”. Most members of our high paid judiciary should hang their heads in shame.

Mute Adrian Igoe
    Favourite Adrian Igoe
    Oct 12th 2015, 12:10 PM

Terrible tragedy.

Instead of splashing the budget cash on nice to haves why don’t the government Reinstate the local garda, put money back into local stations that were closed. This is happening all to often.

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung
    Oct 12th 2015, 10:23 AM

Sounds like an emotionally charged domestic dispute. His republican links are of secondary importance.
    Could have happened anywhere, anytime.
    I suppose Enda and Joan will be blaming Gerry Adams in Dail Eireann this morning and asking him
    ‘Mr.Adams. Why weren’t you there to intervene and stop this murder?’

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Oct 12th 2015, 10:35 AM

Tommy where do you think he got the gun?

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung
    Oct 12th 2015, 10:43 AM

Many different sources open to him.
    Obviously having republican links that option was there.
    As far as we can ascertain this was an emotionally charged domestic dispute which spiralled out of control.
    Some people seem to inferring that it was the assassination of a member of the Gardai by the IRA.
    Nonsense.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Oct 12th 2015, 10:53 AM

“Tommy where do you think he got the gun?”

So Jane are you telling us ALL illegal firearms come from the IRA? You need to contact the Gardaí with this explosive (excuse the pun) information.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 12th 2015, 11:04 AM

Illegal firearms are widely available throughout Europe. Thanks to the collapse of the Iron Curtain and especially Yugoslavia there’s now a large number of former Warsaw Pact weapons floating around on the black market.

Knowing his background, I wouldn’t imagine it would be very hard for him to source a firearm.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Oct 12th 2015, 11:50 AM

Exactly Jason because of his background it was possible for him to get a gun. There are many men and women beating their partners on a regular basis but they don’t have the access to firearms that this lad had. I think that’s why his background is important and it also points to a total disregard for law and order.

Oct 12th 2015, 12:10 PM

Tommy this was not a domestic dispute, it was domestic abuse. He had the gun, he was threatening her all weekend, he thought it was ok to shot her and the brave Garda that no doubt was trying to protect her. No dispute here just what a 24 year man with a gun wanted and now that poor family with 3 children under the age of 8 have to live with. I hope the woman who was shot pulls through. RIP brave Garda Golden.

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung
    Oct 12th 2015, 1:01 PM

If that’s the case then why was one unarmed Garda sent to the scene to deal with the situation?
    An armed response unit should have been the reply.
    Lack of Garda resources?
    Poorly managed situation?
    Of course the Garda Commissioner will spin her way through the crisis ignoring the reality that the buck stoops with her.
    Same old same old…..

Oct 12th 2015, 1:32 PM

Absolutely agree. There has to be some responsibility taken from those higher up. No Garda should be on their own when responding to such a call. I thought that would have been a given.

Mute Pronnsias McCarthaigh
    Favourite Pronnsias McCarthaigh
    Oct 12th 2015, 1:45 PM

A mate of mine a Garda said that calling out to domestic incidents are the worst and he dreaded them.

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    Oct 12th 2015, 2:52 PM

Tommy, I could be wrong but my understanding of the article gives me the impression that he wasn’t responding to a call but was accompanying the lady to her house to collect belongings and was then ambushed inside by that coward. It is common practice to escort people to collect belongings and certainly wouldn’t be possible to have an armed response unit for each one.

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung
    Oct 12th 2015, 8:15 PM

@Mick.
    I stand corrected.
    Thanks.

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung
    Oct 12th 2015, 8:15 PM

The article has been updated since this morning.

Mute Carlovian77
    Favourite Carlovian77
    Oct 12th 2015, 10:59 PM

Deborah, you really have no idea how it works in the real world. There is simply not enough members stationed in Omeath and plenty of other rural areas too I might add that would allow members go out in pairs etc. It is not possible to inform people calling the Station that you can’t deal with their call as there’s not enough members working – it just doesn’t work like that. As for Tony attending the call on his own – it’s shocking to say but if two members attended that particular call chances are we’d be reading about the deaths of 2 members. Tony was ambushed, he didn’t stand a chance – being armed or unarmed makes no difference in this case, in my opinion anyway.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Oct 12th 2015, 11:09 PM

Carlovian….I think you are right.cold blooded ambush.

Mute Retired Fireman
    Favourite Retired Fireman
    Oct 12th 2015, 2:42 PM

May he rest in peace

Oct 12th 2015, 4:23 PM

that girl’s father must also be in terrible shock , walking in on that and seeing his poor daughter .

Mute Integra-Ted
    Favourite Integra-Ted
    Oct 12th 2015, 3:34 PM

I hope there is an increase in resources sent to the border areas, no Gardai to work alone, and the ERU to be on patrol so they are available to ordinary Gardai…

A good shake down of the listed addresses of those associated with terror gangs, search there known locations for guns…

Mute Always Right!
    Favourite Always Right!
    Oct 12th 2015, 3:38 PM

RIP. Poor family Bullet proof vests should be mandatory tho

Mute Thomas Clarke
    Favourite Thomas Clarke
    Oct 12th 2015, 11:13 AM

RIP

Mute Gerard Walsh
    Favourite Gerard Walsh
    Oct 12th 2015, 3:14 PM

RIP, Thoughts and prayers with his family

Mute Mary Goretti Pettitt
    Favourite Mary Goretti Pettitt
    Oct 12th 2015, 10:49 PM

Time to hit the road and impress on the Government the need to reopen the closed Gardai stations and there is a population outside the cities that need protection from from such vile heartless CRIMS. Too long the rural and farming population have been treated as second class citizens and totally disregarded as to what our needs are when it comes to our safety and provision of work which is always centred on city folk. Time to make this mamby pamby Government know we will no longer be treated as second class Irishmen. and Women.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Oct 12th 2015, 11:19 PM

But what about Alan Shatters “smart policing”???? That will eliminate the need for all those obsolete stations…SMART POLICING going forward…a good test for any of these phrases ” rolled out” by our intellectual superiors is to ask..what is the opposite to- – - – -

Mute AntiTreeHugger
    Favourite AntiTreeHugger
    Oct 13th 2015, 12:40 AM

Your articles state that he was killed. The Garda wasn’t killed. He was murdered. Murdered in cold blood. Unarmed. Killed indicates some form of possible accident. This was a Terrorist s€um murdering and unarmed man.

Mute Sean Wong
    Favourite Sean Wong
    Oct 12th 2015, 5:05 PM

As the background of the fireman is well known to Guardia, why was only one Garda sent? I also don’t know if the garda is armed?

Mute Tomasz Kuchnik
    Favourite Tomasz Kuchnik
    Oct 13th 2015, 11:46 AM

RIP brave Garda – fault is with sick system that allows people with convictions / links to terrorism function in society. how many more? I Hope Garda family gets looked after, I know it means little but my best sympathies.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Oct 13th 2015, 8:05 AM

The question is not that he had a gun. It is where did he get this gun? Hope Garda Forensics can get the answer. These foolish dissidents should be locked up, they are a pollutant on our society.

Mute rosebud
    Favourite rosebud
    Oct 13th 2015, 2:23 AM

My condolences go out to the wife and 3 children that have been deeply affected and left with no father. Things definitely need to change in order to protect people. Why was 1 police officer sent out to deal with this alone as i dont believe any police officer should deal with domestic disputes alone. Due to the risk of violence to all and the recent criminal history of person. Lone working should not happen with high risk people or unarmed police. Especially if it was known to garda that he had possession of fire arms before.