You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Shatter urged to comment on report of bugging at Garda Ombudsman office

A report today claimed emails, wi-fi and phone systems were hacked and a phone in a conference room at the building was bugged.

MINISTER FOR JUSTICE Alan Shatter has been urged to respond to a report today that claimed the Garda Síochana Ombudsman Commission (GSOC) headquarters in Dublin was bugged.

The Sunday Times reported today that a surveillance operation was used to hack into emails, wi-fi and phone systems at the Abbey Street building. It also claimed a speaker phone in a conference room was bugged.

Today, Fianna Fáil’s justice spokesperson, Niall Collins, said Shatter should “make an urgent statement” on the matter.

“GSOC performs an important role in oversight of the gardaí, with access to very sensitive material; indeed, in Fianna Fáil we have been making the case for extending and deepening the powers available to the commission,” he commented.

The idea that someone or some organization is engaged in covertly monitoring the ombudsman is deeply unsettling and risks undermining public confidence.

“The minister needs to come forward and explain whether he has spoken to the Ombudsman and whether he was aware of this surveillance,” he continued. “If he was, he needs to explain why on earth this was going on. If he wasn’t we need to get answers very quickly on who is responsible.”

A spokesperson for GSOC told TheJournal.ie they had no comment to make on the matter.

Read: Hackers steal more than 16 million email account details in Germany>

Read: Stolen credit cards may have been used fraudulently in Loyaltybuild breach>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

158 Comments
    Mute Euro McPúnty
    Favourite Euro McPúnty
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:07 PM

Name and shame them. So I can inspect them myself on the weekend.

Mute MrJohne
    Favourite MrJohne
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:08 PM

@Euro McPúnty: if there is solid evidence …name and shame

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Favourite John Brendan Mullen
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:56 PM

@MrJohne: name and shame me hole where is the shame in trying to make a few bob to sustain your family ? This panicdemic has yez all brainwashed. Anyone remember the Cheltenham hullabaloo or the Italian rugby fans ? Where was the massive outbreak after 20,000 people travelling in close proximity entered the country and Dublin in particular. Do the maths for jazes sake

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:58 PM

@John Brendan Mullen: btw, have they checked the Dáil bar yet. ?

Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore
    Jul 29th 2020, 9:01 PM

@John Brendan Mullen: That one flew right over your head.

Mute Thomas
    Favourite Thomas
    Jul 29th 2020, 9:06 PM

@John Brendan Mullen: That statement assumes all those infected would need to show symptoms.

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Jul 29th 2020, 9:15 PM

@John Brendan Mullen: Are you an ostrich – I know several people who went to Cheltenham and caught Covid and also infected friends

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Jul 29th 2020, 9:17 PM

@Joe Moore: nah, that was for Euro McPunty

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Jul 29th 2020, 9:23 PM

@Thomas: I’m simply pointing out that they probably all had it but had no symptoms. I’m a heavy smoker, and be jazes, I had a couple of tough weeks of it but I still want to go to the boozer. My test results today showed no more antibodies so I can catch it again apparently. I personally would prefer to live a normal life and if it’s the death of me, so be it.

Mute Bennett blaster
    Favourite Bennett blaster
    Jul 29th 2020, 9:25 PM

@John Brendan Mullen: have you found the joke yet?

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Jul 29th 2020, 9:40 PM

@Grainnewhale: Ostriches have brains so he couldn’t possibly be one.

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Jul 29th 2020, 9:42 PM

@Bennett blaster: of course I got Euros joke about inspecting the boozers himself. My reply was for Mr Johne for his solid evidence name and shame comments. Keep with the programme

Mute Barry Tallon
    Favourite Barry Tallon
    Jul 29th 2020, 9:47 PM

@Grainnewhale: Any winners?

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Jul 29th 2020, 10:27 PM

@Leonard Barry: Never said a truer word!

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Jul 29th 2020, 10:30 PM

@Barry Tallon: Just a few intensive care cases – can hardly be described as winners

Mute Sean Buckley
    Favourite Sean Buckley
    Jul 29th 2020, 10:42 PM

@John Brendan Mullen: Yes they had Barley Sandwiches and Soup of the Day was The Cream of Sumyunguy

Mute William Walsh
    Favourite William Walsh
    Jul 29th 2020, 11:47 PM

@John Brendan Mullen: You are spot on John Brendan. I’m living in Cork City where the test centres have closed. Yet thousands of idiots are walking around everywhere wearing face masks. The radio announcements are brainwashing and terrorising people all day, everyday. The remnants of the virus is in Dublin where two thirds of the population reside. The virus does not affect my mental health but the government restrictions and the misguided idiots wearing face masks, / chin straps sure as hell does. When will there be transparency and accountability from our politicians? Particularly the ones not in government?

Mute Paul Doyle
    Favourite Paul Doyle
    Jul 29th 2020, 11:51 PM

@William Walsh: less than a third of the population reside in Dublin, get your facts right. P.s buy some masks

Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    Aug 3rd 2020, 8:52 AM

@John Brendan Mullen:

Your memory is clearly impacted.

Mute Rory Browne
    Favourite Rory Browne
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:12 PM

What is the logic behind serving food with drinks? How does that make it safer?

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:14 PM

@Rory Browne: apparently it’s to stop people pub crawling. You’re not going to head to another pub after a meal just to eat another meal.

Mute Conor Farrell
    Favourite Conor Farrell
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:18 PM

@Rory Browne: It doesn’t. Only places that serve food can open. By law (Intoxicating Liquor Act 1962), in order for an establishment to be counted as such a place, it needs to serve a meal worth 5 shillings, which is 9 euro.

In short, it’s so pubs can be counted as a restaurant for the purposes of Covid-19 restrictions.

Mute Mocheolthu
    Favourite Mocheolthu
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:43 PM

@mr magoo: then why the 1hr45min time limit? That encourages people pub crawling instead of staying in one pub. Their policies don’t make any sense.

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:50 PM

@mr magoo: soup in one boozer, sandwich in the next one, coffee to wash it down in the third and ice cream in the fourth.

Mute Alan Carthy
    Favourite Alan Carthy
    Jul 29th 2020, 9:04 PM

@Rory Browne: it cause pubs ask could they reopennas restaurants n so why have to serve food

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Jul 29th 2020, 10:57 PM

@Rory Browne: you totally missed the point restaurants are open with certain rules and restrictions and owners of licenced premises are allowed to open as restaurants and comply with the same rules as restaurants.

Unfortunately there are some in Ireland who cannot drink responsibly and more who cannot act responsibly when drinking in pubs and these pubs should remain closed and those acting irresponsibly now or in the past, owners, managers, staff and customers are the ones responsible for the pubs being closed.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:18 PM

Just let ALL the Pubs open, that way there will be plenty of place for distancing .

Mute Paul Navin
    Favourite Paul Navin
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:41 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: I agree, you should see Westport this evening and indeed the last few weeks. Those few establishments open are rammed with large Q’s outside. Totally undermining the objective

Mute Fran O'Keeffe
    Favourite Fran O'Keeffe
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:14 PM

If there all breaking the rules which they are and no cases of covid from the pubs/restaurant what’s the problem open the pubs

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:12 PM

Close them. end of!

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir
    Jul 29th 2020, 9:15 PM

@Jonnie Marre: I agree. Evidence all over the world pointing to bars being major factor in covid transmission. Feel bad for the owners and workers but that is the reality. Government should do more financially to help them. They didn’t hesitate pumping billions into banks.

Mute James Hayes
    Favourite James Hayes
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:13 PM

Either close them all or open them all simple as. It’s a useless rule anyway.

Mute OhToBeARossie
    Favourite OhToBeARossie
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:41 PM

I sat in a pub last week the only 1 opened in a large enough town there was every type of lad and lassie in it that wouldn’t mingle if all the pubs were open and the food didn’t stop them from fighting.
    Having everyone in 1 pub is far worse than a few in several pubs.

Mute Bennett blaster
    Jul 29th 2020, 9:30 PM

@OhToBeARossie: as long as they don’t knock my pint over I’ll spectate. Nice to have live entertainment

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Jul 29th 2020, 9:04 PM

At this stage they should just let pubs open. Its about a lot more then the few people just wanting to get drunk. Many bars in smaller areas will never open their doors again at this rate, not to mention jobs lost. The figure in Dublin alone was really high. A lot of Ireland is smaller communities where the local bar really is the only outlet for some people. Maybe it should be different, but its a reality for a whole lot of people. Its splitting hairs at this stage looking to see if people ate something or not.

Mute Michael Patrick Newell
    Favourite Michael Patrick Newell
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:15 PM

I’m assuming we have the necessary resources and personal to be dealing with actual crimes, cos it seems to me like with the hospitals when covid hit and every other medical condition was pushed to the side, that the gardai seem to be told to focus on people not wearing masks and monitor pubs…..id like to see how the numbers are balancing when it comes to investigating and tackling actual crime as well

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:16 PM

They’ll be demanding to pump the contents of our stomach next . No food no PUP. Go quarantine as you didn’t take the antidote .

Mute AOL
    Favourite AOL
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:48 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: That’s exactly where we are heading at this stage. My body my choice will be a historical term that means nothing in a couple of years

Mute Sid
    Favourite Sid
    Jul 29th 2020, 10:30 PM

@AOL: nonsense, from the pair of ye.

Mute AOL
    Favourite AOL
    Jul 30th 2020, 8:50 AM

@Sid: Good one Sid

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:43 PM

Wait until they announce the pubs wont open till the 24th…world war 3 pending.

Mute Aonghus O Flaherty
    Favourite Aonghus O Flaherty
    Jul 29th 2020, 9:16 PM

Open all the pubs…..ffs

Mute George McCarthy
    Favourite George McCarthy
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:47 PM

It’ll be Jan before the pubs open. Mark my words. U heard it here first..fact. the government are on hols now for the next couple of months. We’ll be into flu season,.then into the festive season..not a hope in 2020.

Mute conriel
    Favourite conriel
    Jul 29th 2020, 9:10 PM

@George McCarthy: Well let’s hope you’re wrong, If the government don’t find more ways of generating revenue this country and lot of its people will see more difficult times.

Mute Peter Murphy
    Favourite Peter Murphy
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:35 PM

What about Camden Street there are a few pubs open there 2 mins from Kevin Street Garda Station and I doubt very much if they are selling food.

Mute Ollie kehoe
    Favourite Ollie kehoe
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:24 PM

There’s a pub in Carlow that’s gets the food from the chippers next door and is brought in from the back ally way. You can stay as long as you want how are they let get away with it

Mute WiseUp
    Favourite WiseUp
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:29 PM

@Ollie kehoe: What are the chips like ?

Mute OhToBeARossie
    Favourite OhToBeARossie
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:38 PM

@Ollie kehoe: snitches get stitches.

Mute AOL
    Favourite AOL
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:49 PM

@Ollie kehoe: Most importantly, is the Guinness decent?

Mute Bennett blaster
    Jul 29th 2020, 9:27 PM

@Ollie kehoe: I’m surprised more pubs don’t do it, would get more people back to work and generate more tax revenue.

Mute Sarah Clifford
    Favourite Sarah Clifford
    Jul 29th 2020, 10:56 PM

@Ollie kehoe: sounds like a good spot fair play to them feeding their punters

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:33 PM

No danger them out catching real criminals, pathetic

Mute Paul Cahoon
    Favourite Paul Cahoon
    Jul 29th 2020, 11:08 PM

Amazing how €9 can prevent you from contacting covid. Strange indeed

Mute OhToBeARossie
    Favourite OhToBeARossie
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:37 PM

Any of them in roscommon asking for a friend how likes drink but not food.

Mute adrian j aungier
    Favourite adrian j aungier
    Jul 29th 2020, 8:30 PM

A hotel in North Swords paying lip service to the regulations. If your face fits your in, if it dosen’t your not. Dropped hundreds of euro there never again

Mute Siobhan Mc Garrell Mackenzie
    Favourite Siobhan Mc Garrell Mackenzie
    Jul 29th 2020, 11:36 PM

And what is going to happen to these pubs… just because you have eaten something …does this stop you getting Covid19!!

Mute Denis Smyth
    Favourite Denis Smyth
    Jul 30th 2020, 2:08 AM

That’s what happens when you don’t pay them off

Mute Elizabeth Eccles
    Favourite Elizabeth Eccles
    Jul 30th 2020, 8:50 AM

biggest load of BS …food or pint makes no difference with covid you get it or you don’t ….food is not going to make any difference I would love to know what eegit thought this one up …

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jul 30th 2020, 10:12 AM

They’re not looking too hard, obviously.