You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Varadkar tells Dáil that cost of garda overtime will be covered by next year's budget

Gardaí in Dublin had been told that “under no circumstances” is overtime to be incurred.

Updated 1pm

THE TAOISEACH LEO Varadkar has told the Dáil that the garda overtime bill for the month of December will be covered by next year’s budget.

However, due to a directive from Assistant Commissioner Pat Leahy, an overtime ban will still be in place in Dublin until next Monday.

In response to a question from Fianna Fail’s Micheál Martin Varadkar told the Dáil that any funding for overtime in December will be taken out of the 2018 budget as wages are not paid until the new year.

“I would have hoped garda management would have been aware of that,” he said.

Martin’s question came in response to an email from Leahy which told Chief Superintendents in the Dublin region that as of yesterday, “under no circumstances” is overtime to be incurred.

Leahy’s letter says: “No other overtime is authorised and any operations intended on an overtime basis are hereby cancelled.

Officers were told: “The Garda Budget for 2017 has been exhausted. All other operations, events, searches, arrest etc for the remainder of 2017 will be performed by the working units.”

A statement from the gardaí said that the budget for 2018 starts next Monday and from that day overtime will then be available to regional, division and district officers for policing delivery within the overtime budget allocated to them.

“All officers will be reminded of the clear need for them to stay within allocated budgets,” it adds.

However, as Leahy’s email outlines, the overtime ban in Dublin will remain in place until the 2018 budget becomes available next Monday.

Any update on the Dublin situation would likely be outlined in another email from the Assistant Commissioner.

‘It’s disgraceful’

Speaking to RTÉ Radio One’s Morning Ireland, the President of the Garda Representative Association (GRA) Ciaran O’Neill said that overtime being used to supplement numbers because there are insufficient numbers of gardaí servicing the State.

“Overtime is the cheapest form of policing and it has been used in the past to fill the numbers,” O’Neill said.

O’Neill called on Minister for Justice Charlie Flanagan to implement an immediate budget for An Garda Síochána to ensure that overtime isn’t cut.

With reporting by Christina Finn and Céimin Burke

Read: Gardaí in Dublin told overtime is cancelled because budget ‘has been exhausted’

More: Temperatures to continue to dip below freezing with widespread frost and icy patches

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

73 Comments
    Mute Peadár Ó'Cearnacháin
    Favourite Peadár Ó'Cearnacháin
    Jun 23rd 2022, 6:40 AM

Total waste of money…. Half of the kids can’t tie their shoelaces, never mind find a poling station

Mute Gavin Conran
    Favourite Gavin Conran
    Jun 23rd 2022, 7:19 AM

So we should deny the other half? Half the adult population doesn’t bother voting at all so by that logic it’s a waste of money allowing the rest of us to.

Mute Gerry campbell
    Favourite Gerry campbell
    Jun 23rd 2022, 7:51 AM

@Peadár Ó’Cearnacháin: Its Ridiclous,but shur anything to deflect attention from whats going on .

Mute Jim Casey
    Favourite Jim Casey
    Jun 23rd 2022, 8:07 AM

@Peadár Ó’Cearnacháin: exactly

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    Jun 23rd 2022, 8:46 AM

@Peadár Ó’Cearnacháin: Judging by some of the TDs us “adults” have elected over the years, and even more bizarrely, reelected, they surely couldn’t do any worse.

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Jun 23rd 2022, 9:24 AM

@Peadár Ó’Cearnacháin: and if it’s like the Brexit referendum in the UK, most of them won’t be arsed to drag themselves away from their PlayStations to vote.

Mute Stanley Marsh
    Favourite Stanley Marsh
    Jun 23rd 2022, 10:31 AM

@Peadár Ó’Cearnacháin: While I’m not sure on the reduction of the voting age I’d have to disagree with your view on young people.

Compared to my generation (secondary school in the 80s) they seem (generally) much more focused than myself and the vast majority of my peers.

While there’s always the temptation to lapse into ‘in my day..’ I have to say I’m generally very impressed with today’s youth.

Mute Gearóid MacEachaidh
    Favourite Gearóid MacEachaidh
    Jun 23rd 2022, 10:49 AM

@Peadár Ó’Cearnacháin: you obviously don’t know too many 16yos. Today’s teenagers are far more clued in than I was at that age in the 80s. Put it this way, if British 16 yos could vote they never would have ended up in the mess that is Brexit

Mute Stanley Marsh
    Favourite Stanley Marsh
    Jun 23rd 2022, 11:03 AM

@Gearóid MacEachaidh: Girls and sport…everything else was just noise in the background.

Mute Marcus Suridius
    Favourite Marcus Suridius
    Jun 23rd 2022, 1:11 PM

@Peadár Ó’Cearnacháin: Nonsense.

Mute Deborah Blacoe
    Favourite Deborah Blacoe
    Jun 23rd 2022, 6:55 AM

Nope.

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Jun 23rd 2022, 6:43 AM

Can’t drive, drink, smoke or have sex, but hey let them vote!!

Mute D. Memery
    Favourite D. Memery
    Jun 23rd 2022, 7:06 AM

@GClare: but they can work, pay taxes, engage in trade unions and be members of political parties, but hey, let’s not allow them to exercise the most basic democratic right

Mute Rmaybe
    Favourite Rmaybe
    Jun 23rd 2022, 7:49 AM

@GClare: 17 year olds can drive and have sex. They also study politics in school. Judging by thus thread there are plenty of 16 and 17 year old that can make a more informed vote that the “grown ups”

Mute Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Favourite Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Jun 23rd 2022, 11:21 AM

@GClare: They do have a vested interest in the future and some of them (probably a much greater proportion than among us channelised adults) think deeply and freely about it. The rest like most adults don’t.
    When I was 16 the future seemed to hold a nuclear fireball at twenty minutes notice so living for the present and enjoying today were at the top of the list and politics didn’t even register. I honestly did not expect to see 40 let alone 60 and that’s in the past now.
    Today is not the 1970s, today at 16 it is a long future that is expected and a complex world that’s hard to get started in they face.
    So yes give them a voice., maybe it will force us to pay attention to that problem.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 23rd 2022, 5:27 PM

@Steve O’Hara-Smith: Well put. I’ve no problem with more people voting.

Mute Mick McGuinness
    Favourite Mick McGuinness
    Jun 23rd 2022, 7:01 AM

No nothing wrong with the election age as it is. Bad enough most of the country won’t vote as it is so why get more pulled in who have no interest either way.

Mute Gavin Conran
    Favourite Gavin Conran
    Jun 23rd 2022, 7:20 AM

@Mick McGuinness: Whats the downside then?

Mute Rmaybe
    Favourite Rmaybe
    Jun 23rd 2022, 7:55 AM

@Mick McGuinness: why do you think young people have no interest. Politics and society is a widespread leaving cert subject.

Mute Anne Busher Collins
    Favourite Anne Busher Collins
    Jun 23rd 2022, 9:40 AM

@Gavin Conran: Sending them literature with taxpayers money. Sending them ballot papers keeping them on the registry, need I go on.

Mute Liz O'Neill
    Favourite Liz O'Neill
    Jun 23rd 2022, 8:45 AM

When I was 16 all I could think about were the latest chart toppers, whether I’d ever get a boyfriend, and getting my homework in on time. I had no life experience, no knowledge of politics and didn’t possess the mature reasoning skills that are vital to make important decisions. In short, I was just a kid.

Mute Peazel
    Favourite Peazel
    Jun 23rd 2022, 2:05 PM

@Liz O’Neill: did that change much once you hit 18?

Mute MrsWoman
    Favourite MrsWoman
    Jun 23rd 2022, 8:19 AM

Ehh no. In fact, I’d look to raise the legal voting age.

Mute Kieran Fitzgerald
    Favourite Kieran Fitzgerald
    Jun 23rd 2022, 9:13 AM

@MrsWoman: or better yet, have a maximum voting age. Let’s see how FFG get on without the grey vote.

Mute Nora McElhinney
    Favourite Nora McElhinney
    Jun 23rd 2022, 8:46 AM

Most haven’t paid one cent in taxes, wouldn’t know an ESB bill if it hit them in the mouth, will never ever have a mortgage, depend on the bank of mom and dad, probably haven’t a clue what it is to go without and they want to give them the vote???? I wonder why!!!!!

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Jun 23rd 2022, 7:05 AM

Good to see a progressive bill like this but of course it will be voted down by FFG because they’ve well and truly lost the young vote. I think the voting age will ultimately come down but like many things we’ll need to wait for the grey vote to die off before we see change in this area.

Mute Jason Walsh
    Favourite Jason Walsh
    Jun 23rd 2022, 7:53 AM

@Declan Doherty: what we need to die off is the hard line ff and fg supporters

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Jun 23rd 2022, 8:02 AM

@Jason Walsh: I agree Jason. That’s the grey vote. The people who perpetually vote FFG because their fathers voted for them and because they’re too slow of mind and narrow in outlook to consider any alternatives. These people have held us back for too long and the sooner they all die off the sooner we can progress as a nation.

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Jim Casey
    Favourite Jim Casey
    Jun 23rd 2022, 8:09 AM

@Declan Doherty: ageism at its best. What go around come around

Mute Jim Casey
    Favourite Jim Casey
    Jun 23rd 2022, 8:11 AM

@Declan Doherty: the nazi party had a few programs to deal with greying populations

Mute Jim Casey
    Favourite Jim Casey
    Jun 23rd 2022, 8:12 AM

@Jim Casey: goes around comes around

Mute Mike Finnegan
    Favourite Mike Finnegan
    Jun 23rd 2022, 8:25 AM

@Declan Doherty: you must have been thrilled with the covid pandemic!

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Jun 23rd 2022, 8:33 AM

@Mike Finnegan: I don’t wish death on anyone Mick but it’s just an unfortunate reality that old people die just as it’s also a reality that old people perpetually vote for FFG.

Mute Jim Casey
    Favourite Jim Casey
    Jun 23rd 2022, 8:36 AM

@Declan Doherty: your dad must have had a strap but possibly could have used it

Mute Nick Caffrey
    Favourite Nick Caffrey
    Jun 23rd 2022, 9:20 AM

@Declan Doherty: @Declan Doherty: What an utterly asinine comment. Ageism doesn’t solve anything. The ‘grey vote’ whatever that is, doesn’t die off; you join it! There is a never-ending supply of people advancing in age.
    But you could solve it by euthanising everybody over 40, and then ‘removing’ people on their 39th birthday.
    Would that work for you? Who’d babysit your kids, though?

Mute Jim Casey
    Favourite Jim Casey
    Jun 23rd 2022, 9:26 AM

@Nick Caffrey: has kids …… jes……. I’m surprised anyone would have a kid with an attitude like him and an attention seeking stain like that

Mute Anne Busher Collins
    Jun 23rd 2022, 9:41 AM

@Declan Doherty: Hilarious. Yeah get rid of those who have spent 50 plus years working and paying taxes.

Mute Charmaine ☘ Irish
    Favourite Charmaine ☘ Irish
    Jun 23rd 2022, 10:27 AM

@Jim Casey: don’t mind him, he’s cabbaged after smoking a blunt

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jun 23rd 2022, 10:30 AM

@Declan Doherty: Agree with your comment concerning the gray vote…but convinced next election the gray vote will look hard and long at who will receive their vote. As for the topic at hand ,can’t see government backing on reducing the voting age…a lot of young people have seen their parents struggle, especially the cost of education, health, etc.

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Jun 23rd 2022, 10:35 AM

I never said anything about getting rid of or euthanising old people. I stated 2 facts. Old people die and old people tend to perpetually vote for FFG. I’m not sure why people take such issue with that. My kids are grown and happy thanks. My parents are also thankfully still alive but unfortunately they also continue to perpetually vote for FFG. As for the personal attacks and comments, well they say more about you then they do about me. Play the man, not the ball.

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Jun 23rd 2022, 10:43 AM

@Declan Doherty: Meant to say play the ball not the man obviously..

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Jun 23rd 2022, 11:36 AM

@Jim Casey: first you mention Nazis and then using a strap on a child, one wonders what’ll be next from you.

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Jun 23rd 2022, 11:54 AM

@Declan Doherty: the party you support use to be very good at dieing off people that had a different opinion. Lucky for you most of the kids today don’t understand what the political Wing actually stood for.
    Its no wonder you want to die off the people who lived through it.

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Jun 23rd 2022, 1:43 PM

@Chris Mc: You’ll have to tell me who I support. I’ve canvassed for the social democrats in the past but I wouldn’t say I support them. I support candidates, not parties. Party loyalty is like a cancer in politics and serves nobody well. Just because someone wants FFG out of power, doesn’t mean they support SF.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Jun 23rd 2022, 6:17 PM

@Declan Doherty: what a statement when u say the grey vote are u including all the ( grey)Coloured Brigade because U will be waiting a long time

Mute Jim Casey
    Favourite Jim Casey
    Jun 24th 2022, 8:01 AM

@Michael Burke: using a strap on Doherty as he was to get rid of old people and yes he seems like one from that German party. Why not contextualise my comment or else refrain from standing up for a nasty comment made

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Jun 23rd 2022, 8:56 AM

I tought that after the referendum on children, anyone under 18 is classed as a child.

Mute Anne Busher Collins
    Jun 23rd 2022, 9:38 AM

NO NO NO

Mute Mike Finnegan
    Favourite Mike Finnegan
    Jun 23rd 2022, 8:12 AM

So what has Thomas Pringle got against 14 and 15 year olds?

Mute David Meredith
    Favourite David Meredith
    Jun 23rd 2022, 7:37 AM

This is a welcome and progressive move and I hope it happens. People have made dismissive and cynical remarks about young people in previous comments. That is precisely why 16 year olds need the vote. To make them more visible. To give them the responsibility to think about what kind of society they want to live their lives in and to act on it. Cynicism is easy, and lazy. Engaging positively with the political process (in the broadest sense – including protest) to effect change is a more difficult choice.

Mute Deborah Blacoe
    Favourite Deborah Blacoe
    Jun 23rd 2022, 9:09 AM

@David Meredith: social media is the place where a lot of sixteen year olds live. The latest trend which those children are taking part in on TikTok? Boys ripping clothes off girls for fun in “pseudo machoism”. They are not ready to vote.

Mute Nick
    Favourite Nick
    Jun 23rd 2022, 10:43 AM

another job for mommy to do in her giant size suv. You gotta be joking.. our 16 yer olds havent a f-k-n clue where or what seanad eireann is never mind whats supposed to be going on in it…piss approaching boiling point.

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Jun 23rd 2022, 9:19 AM

FFG need more cannon fodder as the current voters are walking away from them in droves.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Jun 23rd 2022, 6:20 PM

@Jack Cass: That will be happening also if SF or whoever else is in so don’t kid yourself

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Favourite Teresa O'Halloran
    Jun 23rd 2022, 9:18 AM

Ffs

Mute Ross Mc Gann
    Favourite Ross Mc Gann
    Jun 23rd 2022, 9:45 AM

We tax their wages, they should get a vote. All the auld wans in the comment section think they have the right to vote in people who will make decisions for the country when they won’t be around long enough to see the impact.

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Favourite Teresa O'Halloran
    Jun 23rd 2022, 12:04 PM

@Ross Mc Gann: let’s give votes to the babies in nappies cause let’s face it, anyone over fifteen is an”auld wan” LOL!

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Jun 23rd 2022, 6:22 PM

@Ross Mc Gann: the auld wans will be around for a long time what 16 year old is paying Tax ?

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Jun 23rd 2022, 7:38 AM

That will be the end of FFG, who thinks up this stuff.

Mute Gearóid MacEachaidh
    Favourite Gearóid MacEachaidh
    Jun 23rd 2022, 10:47 AM

If you can work and contribute to the economy at 16 you should be allowed to vote.

Mute Anne Busher Collins
    Jun 23rd 2022, 9:43 AM

Will this need a Referendum to change the constitution? Will be voted down.

Mute Marcus Suridius
    Jun 23rd 2022, 1:19 PM

@Anne Busher Collins: It literally says in the article that a referendum will be needed, people give out about kids voting but jaysus we’ve adults that can’t even read a few paragraphs so in my eyes the kids couldn’t be any worse than some voters we have now.

“He said one avenue to reducing the voting age was to extend the franchise for local elections first, followed by a referendum on reducing it for general elections.”

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 23rd 2022, 5:31 PM

@Anne Busher Collins: Ask any child and they will find the answer for you. Or read the article above go cúramach!

Mute Tom Keane
    Favourite Tom Keane
    Jun 23rd 2022, 8:59 AM

Give the kids a chance to run the country, they couldn’t do much worse than the clowns we have presently.

Mute Maria Mcphillips
    Favourite Maria Mcphillips
    Jun 23rd 2022, 2:49 PM

No absolutely not. They are not interested in politics, dont know there own names at 16.Totally irresponsible of our government to even debate it.

Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Jun 24th 2022, 5:04 AM

Just another bit of pointless pageantry for the distraction of the masses.

Politicians tell barefaced lies to get elected and forget those promises once they are elected, even the pretence of the will of the people being carried out by their elected representatives is no longer maintained, instead they openly serve corporate interests above all else and are unrepentant in doing so, so it really doesn’t matter who votes in an election, when the very premise of democracy itself has been eroded to the point of farce.

Mute François Pignon
    Favourite François Pignon
    Jun 23rd 2022, 11:50 AM

Reduce the ageto vote to 13 i say. Kids are better informed and smarter than their parents these days.

Mute Marcus Suridius
    Jun 23rd 2022, 1:17 PM

@François Pignon: Well that’s a bit far now isn’t it, 16 is a good median age id say. 13 is not an age we should allow people to decide things for the country.

Mute Marcus Suridius
    Jun 23rd 2022, 1:13 PM

The government wont support this because they know 16 year olds wont vote for them because they’re doing f all about the climate, there’s a generation of angry kids around the globe who are gonna hammer establishment parties when they get the chance to vote.

Mute Cllr Chris Pender
    Favourite Cllr Chris Pender
    Jun 23rd 2022, 8:03 PM

It’s simple really, no taxation with out representation. They work and pay taxes they deserve a say in those that influence how those taxes are spent.

Mute Adam Hurley
    Favourite Adam Hurley
    Jun 23rd 2022, 2:31 PM

We allow 16 and 17 year olds to work and pay taxes, don’t see what the problem of them voting is.

It’s the older generation who have voted the same way for the same parties for the last 100 years, maybe their competence should be questioned.

Mute Darragh J Delany
    Favourite Darragh J Delany
    Jun 25th 2022, 10:43 PM

@Adam Hurley: no representation without taxation eh? That sounds promising. Let’s restrict voting to those who pay more into the state’s coffers than they get out. That would cut SF’s aspirations off at knees (or more accurately above the neck) ;-)

Mute Andre le Flohic
    Favourite Andre le Flohic
    Jun 23rd 2022, 12:38 PM

good god ! please can we come back to earth ? If you are american citizen you can drive a car at 16 and kill your neighbour , become a soldier and be killed in any country at 18 but you cannot drink alcohol before 21 ! where is the logic there ? In france you can vote at 18 and marry at 18 but at 16 if your son needs to be hospitalized he will be in a ward for adults while if your parents agree he can freely buy a gun of categories A and B ! where again is the logic ? In japan you can drink and smoke if you are over 20, but you can marry at 18 ! where once again is the logic ? Knowing that many teenagers smoke cannabis (https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-37419072) or worse use cocaine (https://www.hrb.ie/news/press-releases/single-press-release/article/media-brief/) don’t you think honestly that refusing them the right to vote is not a bit hypocritical ?