You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Two men to be charged after drugs worth €7 million seized in an international operation in Meath

A significant amount of cocaine and cannabis was found during two raids in Ashbourne.

1 Facebook / An Garda Síochána Facebook / An Garda Síochána / An Garda Síochána

Updated 10.10pm

GARDAÍ RAIDED TWO premises in Ashbourne yesterday afternoon, arresting two men and seizing cannabis herb and cocaine worth an estimated €7 million.

The Co Meath raids were orchestrated by gardaí from the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau and the Special Crime Task Force as part of an international operation.

The two men are set to be charged at 9am tomorrow morning at Trim District Court in connection with the seizure.

Speaking to RTÉ’s Morning Ireland this morning, Assistant Commissioner John O’Driscoll said that gardaí hope the seizure will be a “more significant disruption” than a normal raid due to the gardaí sharing information with other countries’ police agencies.

When asked whether gardaí are winning the war against drug crime gangs, O’Driscoll says “we will get on top of it if we continue in this unrelenting manner”, saying that they shouldn’t “sit back when we thought we may have dealt a major blow”.

O’Driscoll said Gardaí wouldn’t be identifying “any particular crime gang” involved in this raid, adding that “it may be a conglomerate of crime gangs” working together.

The two men who were arrested at the scene are  both aged in their 30s and are being detained under Section 2 of the Criminal Justice (Drug Trafficking) Act, 1996 at Ashbourne Garda Station.

3 Facebook / An Garda Síochána Facebook / An Garda Síochána / An Garda Síochána

2 Facebook / An Garda Síochána Facebook / An Garda Síochána / An Garda Síochána

The operation is ongoing and searches were stopped for the night.

O’Driscoll, who is currently at Europol’s headquarters in The Hague, said that Gardaí are continuing “to target a range of criminality associated with organised crime”.

O’Driscoll, who has charge of Special Crime Operations said that there was a particular emphasis ”on protecting life and tackling threat to life incidents, but also, on targeting the sale of drugs and other illicit products and, importantly, targeting the financial gain and money laundering involved”.

“As can clearly be seen, An Garda Síochána, through Serious Crime Operations, is engaged in activity on all three fronts in recent days.

Drugs Facebook / An Garda Síochána Facebook / An Garda Síochána / An Garda Síochána

“In particular, today the Garda National Drugs & Organised Crime Bureau has brought to fruition an operation targeting drug trafficking, which has an international dimension.

“This has resulted in a significant seizure of cannabis herb and cocaine and the arrest of a number of suspects. Action in this jurisdiction has been coordinated with action being undertaken by international law enforcement authorities”.

Minister for Justice Charlie Flanagan said that the seizure was the result of “a great deal of painstaking work” and congratulated all those involved in the operation.

The illicit drugs trade is a highly destructive international business and I am pleased to see An Garda Síochána continuing to partner effectively with law enforcement in other jurisdictions.

“The effective policing operation will prevent these drugs from reaching the streets and harming individuals, families and communities.”

With reporting from Sean Murray.

First published 8am

Read: Two men arrested in connection with Mayo killing

Read: Gardaí discover ‘elaborate’ cannabis growhouse at the house where man died in explosion

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

49 Comments
    Mute Justin Lawless
    Favourite Justin Lawless
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:07 AM

There’s a value in Irish-ness in international business. While I am as anti paddy whackery as could be, many nations envy the worldwide acknowledgement of our national day. An audience with the leaders of other nations is a nice reminder of our existence

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:50 AM

If only it did bring in business, if anything it just aids local politicians in the us, uk and Australia appease their Irish voters. You’re the business man, show us where there is an increase in business as a result of this participating in (what other countries see as) a binge drinking festival? Show me the business leader in Atlanta that wants to be in pictures with the guy from the cover of time (again hard, because he wasn’t on the cover of time in the us, only the UK edition). See this for what it is, a junket. Local Irish communities the world over from Stockholm to Singapore to shanghai to Santiago have been organising their own festivals for years just fine.

It’s not begrudgery, it’s seeing a waste of (our) money for what it is. Show me the part of a minister’s brief that is helped by p1ssing off for breakfast lunches and evening pints with the ambassador, and I’ll show you an opportunity to save some money. Show me the business benefit that a rural TD leading a parade in Abu Dhabi that would not be there already, and then it makes sense – but it doesn’t.

Mute windbag
    Favourite windbag
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:21 AM

Alien8 your a t!t………if a politician spends €100,000 on that “Junket” and mixes with buissnessmen to promote Ireland as a good place to do business and if only one of them comes here and pumps €10,000,000 into setting up shop here that’s money well spent in my opinion….. Go back to sleep you clown….

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:36 AM

A more apt name than mine… Where is this €10m investment then? Google all you want, but there is no return (apart from votes on both sides). Do you honestly think the head of InCode, Coca Cola or AT&T or any other Atlanta company is going to divert investment on the basis of getting a dinner with a politician. The terms are well known to business leaders of doing business in Ireland. Our politicians going to SXSW is as valuable as Enda at web summit – an industry joke. Show me the figures, and I’ll sit down, but there are none – and this week costs damn more than just €10k or whatever other figure you pick out of your ar$e.

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:39 AM

The IDA are one of the few Govt Agency’s I have respect for. They are absolutely world class. We will be watching Paul O’Connell and the lads line out for our country today, Martin Shanahan and his team do it week in week out..

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:19 AM

On fella on the Sligo peoples debate reminded us all we spend money on our Embassies in these countries to promote our existence, and likewise businesses in Ireland are pushing for their own export opportunities with or without a politician, the deal being the real acid test. The IDA and Enterprise Ireland spent 14 billion since the crash of 2008 on Trade and Employment. Are we really getting value for money from that when the majority of inward investment pays little corporation tax. Currently our VAT contributes more than these companies and of course who would want to come and live and work in Ireland when paying 1,600 euro in tax each year just to fuel the average car, given that this is still the 4th most expensive county to run one in !

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Mar 14th 2015, 11:14 AM

I think we should not be prostituting the nation on its national day

Mute Brendan Keegan
    Favourite Brendan Keegan
    Mar 14th 2015, 12:10 PM

You have a lot to learn. A certain minister went to China and he and all his pals sold horses that they owned. Irish got little.

Mute Kevin blue morgan
    Favourite Kevin blue morgan
    Mar 14th 2015, 12:19 PM

Windbag you sir are an ass

Mute Brendan Keegan
    Favourite Brendan Keegan
    Mar 14th 2015, 12:20 PM

I wish that these clowns did the business but the sad thing is they don’t. Is there one of them with a slight bit of style and presence. They are there for a good time and to hell with it. They are taking what they can. I travel all over the world and despite what the Irish thinks there are millions and millions of people that don’t know where Ireland is. Our tourist boards are a joke and are only concerned with places where Ireland is known. I have been in Vietnam , Malaysia and now in Tokyo and they people still don’t know us. The Irish bar I was in tonight had wonderful Guinness at 3 Euro a pint.They were selling “Britain is the Place” shopping bags . They guy behind the bar was a nice guy but he thought we were next to Australia. Sorry to tell they are the facts.

Mute windbag
    Favourite windbag
    Mar 14th 2015, 12:46 PM

You want the truth,You can’t handle the truth………there’s a lot of background work done to get the likes of Google , Facebook ,IBM ,Intel …..just to name a few to come and do business here …what do you think happens they just spin a bottle and wherever it Land’s they head for……business men love the whole dinner thing and speeches and all that so if that’s what it takes to make them come here then yes I am all for that….

Mute Barbara Newbury
    Favourite Barbara Newbury
    Mar 14th 2015, 1:31 PM

It is a pity that there are not more of our business people prostituting the nation abroad throughout the year in a positive way at trade and commerce shows rather than sending our councillors over to prop up the bars in New York for St. Patricks Day…no wonder people abroad do not take this country seriously.

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:12 AM

As long as politicians don’t start taking the p1ss and use tax payers money for business class flights, Michelin restaurants or 5 star hotels, I dont see the problem with it.

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:32 AM

Like say Mary Harney and her overseas hair-dos!

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:45 AM

Like Mary Lou and her 1st class flight to Australia. #doublestandards

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:50 AM

Paul…you know full well that was not at the taxpayers expense.

Mute Dane Tyghe
    Favourite Dane Tyghe
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:57 AM

@AL CA, Since SF doesn’t allow its deputies to be paid fully i think it is fair to assume part or all of Mary Lou’s lavish first class trip to oz was tax payer funded.

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:02 AM

Well she didn’t pay for it Al.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:05 AM

As stated clearly at the time, as McDonald travelled in her capacity as party leader to promote SF overseas, the flight and expenses were paid for from party funds. If you have evidence to the contrary please post it here….

Mute Patrick Bateman
    Favourite Patrick Bateman
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:06 AM

@Beano – I don’t mind paying my tax money to put representatives of our country on business class flights for business, looks unprofessional and lazy if you arrive at the country in coach.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:13 AM

I don’t mind my tax money paying for Mary Lou to travel business class out of the country, I just object to paying to bring her back. Party funds partly come from the exchequer btw.

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:19 AM

Party funds which we as taxpayers unwillingly contribute to as the TD’s draw down their full salary take minimum wage for themselves and put remainder into party funds. So we did pay for her first class travel. Also why does she need to travel to Australia to promote SF? Just shows the difference, SF all about party government parties all about country.

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:19 AM

Champagne republicans, a real kick in the teeth for victims.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:29 AM

@patrick i think the powers that be should go away another day and stay in Ireland for St. Patricks day.

Mute martin.
    Favourite martin.
    Mar 14th 2015, 3:22 PM

Ahh beano do you think they are slumming it,
    Come on man.

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:02 AM

Begudgery is part of being irish

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:05 AM

Begrudgery and criticism is all SF and the left wingers do. Doing the hard work is left to others.

Mute Matthew Donoghue
    Favourite Matthew Donoghue
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:44 AM

Yeah paul its hard to look after all these golden circles and lobbyists for banks and international corporations, while keeping everyone else is paying ridiculously high tax rate and getting close to third world services.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin

You’re a sickening dose Carey.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:52 AM
    Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch

Al Ca – Enda Kenny has truly become a huge liability wherever he goes – his arrogance and ignorance levels are beyond the Richter Scale .
    Gladly , the good Citizens of Atlanta, have already found this out !

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:00 AM

Yet Kerryman FG are the largest party according to the latest opinion poll. #badweekforSF

Mute Dziadek Uncaged
    Favourite Dziadek Uncaged
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:03 AM

Kerry, has the ‘god of the cult’ moved any paedos South this week?

Mute mrs b
    Favourite mrs b
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:10 AM

Paul you speak of what you do not know. As per usual. Mary lous trip & flights were widely reported to have been paid by the very people she was visiting in Australia. In your attempt to try to slag SF, you only make yourself look bad.

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:15 AM

The point is she didn’t pay for it!!! Mary Lou is happy to be funded by others while promoting herself as the savior of the poor.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:18 AM

Are you attempting to claim that when the deputy leader of a political party travels on party business to promote said party, that they should foot the bill themselves?

Y’see, this is why the grown ups find the troll accounts laughable. They’re obviously from young party members who have no idea how things work in the real world.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:20 AM

Paul? she didn’t take it off the poor.

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:22 AM

Or from anonymous accounts depicting themselves as baby monkeys, real gravitas there jammy!

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:24 AM

Paul, those same opinion polls show that the current government is still a massive gulf away from having a majority of support from the Irish electorate.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:35 AM

So happy the world knows what Enda is like, hope it will make him think but i doubt it too busy filling his pockets. I hope they ask him loads of questions about how the people feel in how he governs Ireland his face will be puce.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:05 AM

Mary Lou’s trip was funded by the ‘party’… http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/mary-lou-mcdonald-defends-business-class-flights-for-gruelling-australian-tour-1.1926067
    Sinn Fein in turn is heavily funded by the taxpayer (as is every political party with TD’s)… Make what you want of that…

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:31 AM

Sometimes there is good reason to begrudge, how may of Irelands county councillors and CEO’s will be travelling to New York again for celebrations instead of supporting local parades at home.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:59 AM

Begrudgery is not part of being Irish, but it is part of being a Shinner.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 14th 2015, 11:10 AM

If fine gael, sinn fein, fianna fail and Labour are using taxpayers money for these trips why do their td’s return with expenses claims?

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Favourite David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 14th 2015, 11:18 AM

So critical analysis in Irish is “Begrudgery” is it??

BTW our politician sold Ireland Years ago.
    Didn’t you hear?

Mute Ann Buggy
    Favourite Ann Buggy
    Mar 14th 2015, 12:21 PM

Enda kenny condescending attitude towards the irish people is sickening more in there line stay at home and donate the cost of the trip’s to hospitals /homeless /and the hungry he’s not promoting the ordinary person in America

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Mar 14th 2015, 5:17 PM

@Dermot. That my friend is a very good question. Love some TD to answer it.

Mute Alan Gallogly
    Favourite Alan Gallogly
    Mar 15th 2015, 1:08 AM

Open your mind – it exists in other countries in different forms. Here in Australia it’s known as ‘Tall Poppy’

Mute The Artic Monkey
    Favourite The Artic Monkey

I have no problem with politicians going all over the world selling Ireland, it’s a fantastic opportunity to showcase our country. My problem is the calibre of buffoons that are selling it, some of them are just a absolute embarrassment and shouldn’t be let outside their parishes. Just my opinion.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:51 AM

Do you really think that, Martin Ferris, for example, would be an improvement? Or Gerry Adams, as Taoiseach, given recent revelations?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:15 AM

I love how the troll accounts are conducting their own little kangaroo court around here. Irony obviously isn’t their strong suit.

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:24 AM

The only jobs SF can aim credit for are “bank jobs” right jammy!

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:30 AM

Yes yes justin, better to shill for a party that robs people to pay banks, right?

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:32 AM

Well who do you suggest? Adams the “never in the ira” dont know where the rapists we moved are liar. Ferris the gun smuggler, McDonald of the no mind of her own, Pearse whose sums don’t add up etc etc

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:54 AM

So you don’t agree with me , ergo you are a shill for SF! Correct me if I’m wrong jammy just following your logic through, or are you per chance wrong. Its just the first thing you sling when you’ve been made to look pathetic lobbing opinions from your anonymous monkey headed account. Put up your face and name and maybe you’ll earn some respect.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Mar 14th 2015, 11:07 AM

So, in March 2017, when SF are in government (yeah, can’t wait!), they will send Martin Ferris, Aonghus O’Snodaigh, Dessie Elis. Michael Colreavy, and David Cullinane. They’ll do a great job representing Ireland.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Mar 15th 2015, 11:39 AM

Hopefully Sinn Fein’s ugly message that no member of the Royal Family is welcome at 1916 commemorations will send the right message that we are a backward looking nation, insecure in our ability to relate to our neighbours and diplomatically puerile.

World War II nations now, and for some decades, make great efforts to maintain friendship and diplomacy, for the good that comes from continued peace, cultural relations, trade and mutual prosperity.

Yet Sinn Fein wants Ireland to live in a cave, divisive and hating all around. And sees it as a reason for rapturous applause from the shinnerbots at the Ard Fheis. Really pathetic.

#SFnotfittogovern #SFnotfittorepresentirelandoverseas

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:17 AM

I am a big believer in these trips but it would be interesting if we could measure just how many jobs the trips create.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:26 AM

That’s an impossible goalpost as it is simply too difficult to keep track of it. Sure you might be able to follow the big announcements but it’s the SME’s hiring 1-10 people which will slip under the radar.

Mute Tracey Nally
    Favourite Tracey Nally
    Mar 14th 2015, 1:22 PM

Multi nationals come to ireland for our tax rates and educated work force. When they can get the same elsewhere at a cheaper rate they will move there. Welcome to globalisation in the 21st century.

Mute HULK SMASH!
    Favourite HULK SMASH!
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:09 AM

I think it’s because they do it while quaffing cognac and champers is what gets everyone’s goat up. Not to mention tax payer funded manicures and escort services ;)

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:43 AM

That’s pennies compared to what can be gained by investment.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:10 AM

Completely unfounded. Clown.

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:46 AM

Joe-Don’t make Hulk angry .You won’t like it when you make Hulk angry ><

Mute Theresa Kavanagh Connell
    Favourite Theresa Kavanagh Connell
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:14 AM

It’s tradition and it promotes ireland.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:34 AM

There are better ways of promoting Ireland through trade fairs, helping Irish companies to promote themselves abroad.

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:11 AM

I refuse to believe that the likes of enda kenny could bring business to the country.

Mute Bob Beaman
    Favourite Bob Beaman
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:16 AM

Corporations paying basically no tax is what brings them here. Enda is just the dope that offers it to them.

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:18 AM

Who do you think has been doing exactly that?! Grow up

Mute Dane Tyghe
    Favourite Dane Tyghe

Ruairi, you refuse to believe that Enda Kenny and his likes could bring business to this country.

Since the action plan for jobs over 80,000 have been created, and over 27,000 of those have been created in 2014.

There you go, glad i could sort out that conundrum for you.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:11 AM

85,000 minimum wage job activation schemes zero hour contracts plus slavesbridge. They have merely turned ireland into a cheap labour bin for their mates while a multiple of that number fled the country seeking a living wage.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:34 AM

Dave, how many jobs were lost in the same period?

Enda Kenny and FG as a whole promised the electorate that, by the time of the next election, they would generate 100,000 net job growth. They may have created 80,000 jobs but around 60,000 were lost in the same period. They’ve now conveniently changed their rhetoric from “net job growth” to “new jobs”.

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett

I was under the impression Ireland was already sold. Germany is now the owner.

Mute Shane Denham
    Favourite Shane Denham
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:35 AM

It is just a big jolly up for 15 or so fools headin away. Why dont they send 15 buisness people away (the likes of michael o leary) and sell Ireland

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello

Good luck trying to get Michael O’Leary into the White House. They’ve never heard of him. Possibly they’ve never heard of Enda Kenny either, but they have to let him in because that’s how the world works.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:28 AM

I’m sure the Americans have heard of O’Leary, the man does make multi-billion euro purchases for aircraft from Boeing after all.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:23 AM

Boeing have heard of him, obviously. We’re talking about the White House though. They’re only interested in businessmen who vote, lobby or donate to election campaigns.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:24 AM

(Or business women)

Mute Duncan
    Favourite Duncan
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:02 AM

Comments are going to be good here.

Wait for it…….

Mute davedunne
    Favourite davedunne

Saint Patrick was a Welsh bloke

Mute Joe Conlon
    Favourite Joe Conlon
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:47 AM

Yes, but his granny was born in Ireland and under that rule he can represent us.

Mute Middle Class Cork
    Favourite Middle Class Cork
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:35 AM

Better headline would be:
    Ireland sells Ministers.

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:39 AM

Am I right in saying a TD is going to Ethiopia for St. Patricks Day, I wonder how that will be beneficial, and to Moscow as well. How are these beneficial, especially with current sanctions.

Mute Dane Tyghe
    Favourite Dane Tyghe
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:49 AM

@pjm. Ethiopia is earmarked as a fast growing economy which could be a huge market for the likes of Irish beef and dairy products in the future.

I would dismiss the short sighted negativity and applaud the prudence of building relationships with future economic power houses.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:45 AM

@pjm – the country doesn’t matter, we trade with nearly every country in the world and Ethiopia is one which has a lot of international development funds to spend on items that Ireland provides (services, consulting and infrastructure development). Don’t believe those trocaire boxes for one minute – Ethiopia is growing, although you can find poverty everywhere if it suits your brief. Now, will a TD going for a visit to Addis Ababa increase their spending? Unlikely, unless they have a very tight understanding of what we offer and what they need – now who are we sending?

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:25 AM

They’re clearly only going to Ethiopia for the sun, sea and fun times.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:19 AM

We do not need the annual Paddy’s day junkets to bring jobs here.

The educated english speaking work force and the lowest corporation tax rate in Europe does it all by itself.
    regrettably the only beneficiaries of little Ireland being little “Liechtenstein on the Liffey”, are our overpaid politicians, countless Quangoistas and public sector workers.
    The rest of us are fleeced to keep it all going.
    No normal country with so much industry would have to keep borrowing money every week from bondholders just to pay government employees and their pensions.
    The water taxes are a blatant attempt to turn a human right into an indigenous, semi state owned industry worth maybe 30 billion Euros in future years when polished up for sale to a multi national water company.
    Except the people have had enough.
    Let these new multinational companies contribute towards the new water treatment plants needed all over Ireland.
    you venal politicians have sucked the marrow from the bone.!
    http://i62.tinypic.com/au8r43.jpg

Mute Dziadek Uncaged
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:42 AM

Water blah blah noise

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:53 AM

You should be ashamed to use the name of a patriot to spout such uninformed rubbish!

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Mar 14th 2015, 11:56 PM

18 versus 18 thumbs,multiplied by one hundred thousand,implies a civil war between the prosperous and the not so prosperous.
    We are in an era of huge civil disobedience.
    There has to be a big turnout of voters come the next election..
    if not, the “golden circle” in Irish society will triumph.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Mar 15th 2015, 12:01 AM

I am proud to bear the name of a patriot who died for principles, which are, regrettably, light years,beyond your conception of justice,Mr Mc Nulty.

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:31 AM

The annoyance comes from the fact that we have a whole Foreign Affairs Dept, a whole Diplomatic Corps, the likes of the IDA, FAS (what was FAS), Failte Ireland, on top of Embassies & Consulates, all set up to promote Ireland, carry out trade missions, establish the Irish brand. There isn’t a need to send a minister overseas as well, never mind that it’s a minister for a day or two. Either the Ministers do amazing work, in which case fire the rest of the ambassadors and overseas missions, or its a load of böllïx and ministers are trying to justify a free holiday for themselves.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin

Should we not be inviting foreign politicians here?

Mute Middle Class Cork
    Favourite Middle Class Cork
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:00 AM

I agree but when I suggested that to a former minister, I was told that it would constitute a ‘world summit of sorts’ like a G8 meeting or similar. That apparently would attract the anti-brigade, combine those style of protests and the way violence generally erupts at them, with St. Patrick’s day parades around the same area and you’ve got the potential for a disaster on your hands.
    I was told if we invited one head of state to Ireland for the celebrations we would have to invite them all.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:05 AM

I asked a minister that myself and he didn’t give as good a reply, he talked about weather.
    Cheers for that reply, makes perfect sense.

Mute Paid_Shill
    Favourite Paid_Shill
    Mar 14th 2015, 1:08 PM

I’d say a large meeting would cost more than sending politicians away – security, accommodation, etc.

Can’t we just enjoy a weekend where we don’t have any ministers in the country? It’s so nice and quiet without them?

Mute Cathal Flood
    Favourite Cathal Flood
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:38 AM

Selling Ireland ….. Good
    St. Patrick’s Day….. Unique in world
    Standard of Politicians …. Poor
    But we voted them in, teachers, doctors, publicans , . Political party ideology based in 1920s Ireland.. Where are the graduates from politics, economics, law, etc etc. You wouldn’t let a bus driver plumb your house because his dad was a plumber . We need professional politicians, trained ,
    We expect a gas fitter to be certified, surely we can ask if a person has a desire to run the country that they be qualified to do so.
    Then maybe we can have a proper choice at election time.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:18 AM

A lot of people here would like a host of new ministers in 2016 visiting countries such as Iran, Columbia, N Korea etc. All new ministers would be wearing suitable attire such as: combat jacket; combat trousers; green shirt and tie; webbing; military haversack, beard and black beret. This would show the world the new Ireland with its new world view.

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:25 AM

Che Guevara dress up competition is it?

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:33 AM

Lyons – aka – Multiple false names/titles.
    Gerryphobia Virus at 8.30am and we are speaking about the current Ministers abroad Selling Ireland for St. Patrick’s Day ???
    Best take your meds you pure Eegit !!!

Mute Dziadek Uncaged

Kerry man; ready to pounce, haunting the journal for a mere whiff of something about Dear Leader Gerry, the paedo protector.

Mute Keith O Dowd
    Favourite Keith O Dowd

More muck from FG’s premier propaganda outlet, TheJournal.ie. Not even hiding it anymore

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:04 AM

Not as good as SF at hiding things….like peadophiles.

Mute Keith O Dowd
    Favourite Keith O Dowd
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:30 AM

Yes, because propaganda and peados are sooooo alike here. Well done you Paul, broke the internet with that ‘chip on shoulder’ comment!

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:36 PM

Mr O Dowd, firstly; how can you refer to Mr Carey as having a chip on his shoulder, when he makes correct references to Sinn Féin as being paedophile protectors? Within the past week alone, your cult leader has admitted to knowing about abuse cases within SF/IRA which were perpetrated by their own republican paedophiles, not to mention administering their ‘own’ type of justice to these depraved individuals? Based on Mr Carey’s comment, which was in response to yours, it’s fairly evident that your response was purely reactionary, without any basis of a coherent argument or point. Mr Carey made a valid point; last week, SF/IRA were calling for Mary Lou to be the next female Taoiseach, yet, when Mairia Cahill was in Dail Éireann, Mary Lou giggled and laughed at her testimony and she disrespected her – not to mention the fact that Gerry himself has lied on national television during the course of the past week, and, both he and Mary Lou have gone to ground since yesterday because of this latest inconvenience for them. You need to learn how to think for yourself.

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:35 AM

Carey caught spoofing again – never fails to amuse me. Poor chap has a massive aversion to facts but possibly that’s because he lives in an alternate universe.
    He really is the epitome of the far right looney.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:38 AM

No other country in the world gets this global exposure the world over for 1 day.
    The cost is miniscule in comparison to the benefits.
    Begrudgers need to grow up, see the bigger picture…

Mute Robbie Curran
    Favourite Robbie Curran
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:14 AM

They do in their hole sell Ireland. Just another Jolly Up at the taxpayers expense.

Mute Trevor Curley
    Favourite Trevor Curley
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:59 AM

The corrupt traitors off to foreign lands on the backs of the Irish people

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:07 AM

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=1650379598518670&id=1545240672365897

The people of Atlanta are being informed by the people of Ireland about Kenny .

Mute mrs b
    Favourite mrs b
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:13 AM

I reckon people wouldn’t mind as much if they weren’t staying in the fanciest hotels, eating the fanciest meals, etc etc.. They could do these trips for less but since it’s all on the taxpayer, they just put arm and all in.

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:28 AM

Anyone who has travelled on business will tell you it is far from fun. Tight schedules to keep, multiple people to meet and lots of briefing to be done before hand. Late nights and early mornings and no time to be anything but charming and affable. Also a requirement to look well groomed at all times

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:42 AM

If you’re looking to get somebody to invest in your country you need to inspire confidence, not the ability to spot a cheap place for lunch.

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:48 AM

Whose jobs will they secure?
    Ministers don’t sell anything. They have been known to give things away, look after mates, lie to the people and bury their heads in the sand.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:48 AM

I’m guessing sinn fein won’t be sending anyone anywhere if they manage to squeeze into government?

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:58 AM

Breakfast with a bellend,they are very easily impressed.

Mute Tony Cox
    Favourite Tony Cox
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:09 AM

Ireland was already sold to the Germans a long time ago.

Mute itzme
    Favourite itzme
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:15 AM

Maybe enda could bring up the subject of that child abuser gibney over dinner, now that he has a new found interest in such matters

Mute Keith O Dowd
    Favourite Keith O Dowd
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:34 AM

TheJournal.ie comments section is like a weird Stanley Kubrick masquerade ball where everyone hides behind pseudonyms and alias’s. Just without the sexy element.

Will never understand the spinelessness of people who hide behind their comments online, get some nuts folks.

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:32 AM

Well said Keith, I have the utmost respect for people I disagree with but put their name and face to comment. The rest are cowardly, even those I agree with.

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:47 AM

I would agree with you,Keith :) Twitter is great,though .No nasty personal messages :)

Mute Paul Fanshawe
    Favourite Paul Fanshawe
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:06 AM

Yeah sure, I agree. Let’s trade on the paddywhackin image if it brings investment. We’re not an industrialized nation so inward investment is vital for our prosperity. We’ll have the last laugh.

Mute Tom Barry
    Favourite Tom Barry
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:42 AM

I wonder was there some type of kangaroo court that set free the bankers,regulators and previous Ministers who willfully brought this Country to its knees. Our present Justice system didn’t seem to have any say in it???

Mute Carlow Wexford
    Favourite Carlow Wexford
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:46 AM

Ugly bowl! It used to be a beautiful Waterford or Dublin or Tipperary cut-glass bowl. This thing is like a goldfish bowl!

Mute Peter Kavanagh
    Favourite Peter Kavanagh

Did anyone make any sense out of the paragraph commencing ‘Business leaders our IDA … ‘ ?
    Perhaps it is part of a speech to be used on one of these junkets – lots of words that don’t make any sense.
    Baffled ……

Mute Wacky Races
    Favourite Wacky Races
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:10 AM

St Patrick’s Day is our national holiday all these leaders like Barak Obama should be coming over here to me the politicians going abroad is like waking up the day of your birthday and all your family and friends text you to see if your coming to their house so they could wish you a happy birthday

Mute Ray Dunne
    Favourite Ray Dunne
    Mar 14th 2015, 11:07 AM

It’s money well spent. It is a great opportunity to sell Ireland overseas and we really do need it.

If any political party in power did not seize this moment to promote Ireland they would be condemned as being complacent and lazy. It’s the least that would be expected and more money should probably be invested in.

Mar 14th 2015, 2:02 PM

Great interview this morning on skynews with english economist about “irelands great economic recovery”. He said basically, its a two tier economy, with the gov getting credit internationally for paying back the gov debt, while the ordinary people in irealnd are stuck with huge debt and many more years of austerity. Makes me sad that an english economist tells it like it really is, while the irish media is full of this gov spin bull about economic recovery.

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:18 AM

On fella on the Sligo peoples debate reminded us all we spend money on our Embassies in these countries to promote our existence, and likewise businesses in Ireland are pushing for their own export opportunities with or without a politician, the deal being the real acid test. The IDA and Enterprise Ireland spent 14 billion since the crash of 2008 on Trade and Employment. Are we really getting value for money from that when the majority of inward investment pays little corporation tax. Currently our VAT contributes more than these companies and of course who would want to come and live and work in Ireland when paying 1,600 euro in tax each year just to fuel the average car, given that this is still the 4th most expensive county to run one in !

Mute Brenda Kane
    Favourite Brenda Kane
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:19 AM

Since when is St. Patrick’s Day called Paddy’s Day or even St. Patty’s Day? A pity…

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 14th 2015, 10:40 AM

Half the world calls it by one or both of those affectionate nicknames. And yet nobody dies.

Mute Francie Doherty
    Favourite Francie Doherty
    Mar 14th 2015, 11:42 AM

Jobs for the boys.

Mute Foxtrot Hotel
    Favourite Foxtrot Hotel
    Mar 14th 2015, 11:17 AM

We send them off for business more then anything. Nothing wrong with that.

Mute Peadar Flanagan
    Favourite Peadar Flanagan
    Mar 14th 2015, 12:29 PM

I think a better impression would be made around the world if we were known for taking care of our elderly and children .Every day we hear of medical cards been taken from children with disabilities and cancer .The elderly left lying on hospital trolleys for days .This situation does not seem to bother our political leaders .All that matters to them is the gravy train that is Irish politics .These junkets are a symbol of the rottenness of Irish politics .

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Mar 14th 2015, 11:56 AM

Why do we need looking after by Noonan? Are we seen as children?

Mar 14th 2015, 1:36 PM

Why the begrudgery you say because they are spending tax payers money for a state paid holiday for themselves and it is not the government who decides what trade comes here as that is up to the ECB as imports and exports have to be calculated in order to not put stress onto the Euro. So in the Eurozone trade discussions for the smaller nations as in the U.K. AS WELL are done by an E.U. trade committee without those nations involved in the committee. So in fact Ireland can not go looking for trade without the permission of the E.U. because of the Euro not being ours to control but the ECB’s?
    That is why there seems to be only one type of job coming here and it is for those under 30 who went to college to answer phones and to hit keyboards, where is the real jobs as in manufacturing that would create growth, lower borrowing and create exports o wait a minute we can’t do anything without Merkel’s say so, the Troikas, the IMF or Frankfurts?
    It doesn’t say much that this government only looks for work here like this for 1 week out of 52 either lol. But who says this government cares more about its citizens than for the plutocracy in the E.U.

Mar 14th 2015, 1:39 PM

PEOPLE WHO CARE FOR AUSTERITY DO NOT CARE FOR JOBS, full stop.

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Mar 14th 2015, 12:41 PM

The ministers do not sell Ireland inc around the world. They do as they are told.

If these servants cared about jobs they would not have allowed the remarks of a certain judge to go unpunished and several companies then up and left.

Its all a pretence and most people are seeing the truth now.

Its all showmanship for the elections.

A time is fast approaching where we return to our old ways and not needing to be minded like children by TD’s

We will govern ourselves in communities like in the past and it will cost nothing.

We wil have all our human needs taken care of with money divided fairly. No hierarchial “benefit” system. So lots of savings to share out.etc. etc

Mute Declan J Foley
    Favourite Declan J Foley
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:48 PM

The reason many object is that St Patrick’s Day is the nations National Day. They c an be anywhere in the world on any day, but the National Day is when every government Minister should be in Ireland.