You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

900 gardaí to help keep the peace at the G8 summit in Co Fermanagh

World leaders like Barack Obama, Angela Merkel, David Cameron and Vladimir Putin will attend the summit next month.

OVER 900 GARDAÍ have been assigned to patrol the Co Fermanagh border later this month at the G8 summit.

World leaders like Barack Obama, Angela Merkel, David Cameron and Vladimir Putin will all be in attendance at the summit at Lough Erne, Eniniskillen on 17 to 18 June.

Whilst there is no event taking place in the Republic of Ireland, the gardaí will be working with the Police Service of Northern Ireland to address any policing or security issues.

Peaceful protests

“While everyone has the right to peaceful, lawful protests, in line with the Human Rights Act, An Garda Síochána will act appropriately to ensure that there is no unnecessary disruption caused to the public by such a protest,” said assistant commissioner Kieran Kenny.

Any organisation intending to protest is requested to contact the gardaí in advance.

Gardaí have also advised motorists that there will be security checks in the areas of south Donegal, Leitrim, Cavan and Monaghan in the days leading up to the event.

However, Assistant Commissioner Kenny added that they are meeting with the local, farming and business community to ensure every effort is made to minimise disruptions to the community.

The gardaí will publish a full breakdown of expenditure after the G8.

Read: Mobile phone networks could be shut off during G8 due to terror threats>
PHOTOS: PSNI undergo riot training ahead of G8 summit>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

74 Comments
    Mute Donal Lynch
    Favourite Donal Lynch
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:40 PM

There’s money for that but not for clapped out cop cars

Mute dermot ryan
    Favourite dermot ryan
    Jun 5th 2013, 8:31 PM

Is this not a job for our Army?

Mute David Thompson
    Favourite David Thompson
    Jun 5th 2013, 8:32 PM

What army?

:-)

Mute cooperguy
    Favourite cooperguy
    Jun 5th 2013, 8:42 PM

I’d say it’s down to the impression that would give. They would prefer to keep security to civilians instead of armed soldiers unless things get out of hand.

Mute dermot ryan
    Favourite dermot ryan
    Jun 5th 2013, 9:41 PM

Seeing as there’s austerity and all that ; could we not just get 3D. pictures of Guards and post them along the border ; like what they are doing on the shop windows ?
    We wouldn’t have to tell anyone , sure if the shops look busy wouldn’t a poster of a Guard look brilliant as well!
    I have a 3D. cardboard cutout of Thor from the local video shop ; I could rent it out to the G8 if they want; Nobody is going to mess with Thor !

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:17 PM

Why do the Gardai have a role in this? If they want to have a secure border for this conference then the host country needs to secure it from their side at their expense.

Mute Julius Cafferky
    Favourite Julius Cafferky
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:31 PM

Our country would do anything to agree.
    Look at Troika policy!

Mute BRIAN KENNEDY
    Favourite BRIAN KENNEDY
    Jun 5th 2013, 5:12 PM

Unfortunately not all protester recognise that Fermanagh is in the north and may ( I stress may) exceed their right to protest by creating a breach of the peace or criminal damage etc. the Gardai are employed to prevent or detect breaches of the peace etc and that’s why they are on duty for the event. I do however have absolutely no problem with Kenny or shatter sending the bill to Cameron!

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Jun 5th 2013, 5:21 PM

Polar bear, but what if someone was coming from south of the border to cause harm?

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear
    Jun 5th 2013, 7:23 PM

That would be a problem north of the border

Mute dermot ryan
    Favourite dermot ryan
    Jun 5th 2013, 8:33 PM

very funny retort Polar ; “you made your bed lie in it “

Mute Mark O'Malley
    Favourite Mark O'Malley
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:26 PM

Won’t need to worry about car tax for a while so !

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Jun 5th 2013, 7:11 PM

So long as you don’t live along the border.

Mute BadDrivingIreland
    Favourite BadDrivingIreland
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:20 PM

900 garda wow I thought there was a shortage, criminals will have a field day.

Mute Trevor Lee
    Favourite Trevor Lee
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:25 PM

UK problem not ours, let UK pay our bill to keep them in the North

Mute Emmet McCarron
    Favourite Emmet McCarron
    Jun 5th 2013, 6:46 PM

Uk me hole… Im a proud irishman from fermanagh! Careful now.

Mute David Thompson
    Favourite David Thompson
    Jun 5th 2013, 8:04 PM

Take a look at the next note or coin you pull out of your pocket then.

Mute Jack F
    Favourite Jack F
    Jun 5th 2013, 8:43 PM

David, someone’s government does not define who someone is. An Irishman, by definition, is someone who is a native of Ireland. Not the Republic of Ireland. An Irishman is someone who comes from the island of Ireland, regardless of the government controlling them.

Mute David Thompson
    Favourite David Thompson
    Jun 5th 2013, 9:11 PM

He said “UK me hole”, Fermanagh is a part of the UK last time I checked.

I’m not disputing his nationality.

Mute dermot ryan
    Favourite dermot ryan
    Jun 5th 2013, 10:36 PM

Perhaps Emmet was referring to the United part ; considering Northern Ireland was an area where the “crown’s” forces were actively involved in terrorist activities , like shooting their own “subjects” , then again maybe not .
    I am referring to Bloody Sunday, and the supply of official crown weapons to terrorists and the released documents that suggest MI5 were not adverse to continuing the troubles (referring to the TG4 documentary that highlighted this issue).
    Then again maybe he isn’t

Mute David Thompson
    Favourite David Thompson
    Jun 6th 2013, 12:34 AM

Dont mention the reasons why British forces stayed in NI for 38 years though, that would just wreck a good old republican yarn.

If the British were shooting their own subjects then surely the republicans were also shooting their own countrymen at places like Kingsmills when they lined 11 Protestant civilians up against a minibus and murdered them. Republicans claim we are all Irish after all regardless of orange or green. Obviously orange and green mattered that day in 1976.

Mute dermot ryan
    Favourite dermot ryan
    Jun 6th 2013, 1:47 AM

to balance my comment above David I will say that Charlie Haughey as a gun-runner should have been completely excluded from Irish Political life, ;
    Where were the U.N when it came to the North?
    Rebels or revolutionaries , whichever way you look at it have no legitimate claim to a duty of care to the people of the countries in which they operate.
    The queen and her soldiers/police force did ; There’s a hell of a difference between a group of self-righteous individuals killing people and the government of the day killing citizens its supposed to protect .
    Or to put it another way; why didn’t the army shoot the rioters in England when a serious threat to public safety was posed on the “mainland” last year ?
    Is Assad any worse than the paratroopers on Bloody Sunday ? He’s shooting extremists , the british shot what they claimed are “British” Catholic extremists while on a civil rights march !
    It’s a legal argument , not a they did this and the others did that argument ; who let the genie out of the bottle? ; Paratroopers did!
    But its in the past now so that’s where it should stay, but don’t be surprised if people who witnessed atrocities on both sides still harbour ill will towards each other ; it’s still going on here in the Republic today , but more subtly through party politics!
    Try to balance in your argument ; the British forces only “stayed ” in the North but the Republicans “murdered” protestants ………. that’s bordering on incitement, in my opinion, but I know that that is probably not your intention!
    The reason I didn’t mention the reason as you put it was because your comment seemed to me to be one-sided so I provided the other side,
    you left out Omagh, Greysteel, the Miami showband, the bombing in dublin and wexford etc.
    Kingsmill was an atrocity as were the birmingham bombings as was gibraltar and the bombings in German Barracks , but let’s leave the in the past …no?

Mute David Thompson
    Favourite David Thompson
    Jun 6th 2013, 9:07 AM

No the past cannot be left behind by people like myself when the politicians here are arguing about it on an almost daily basis.

I understand that Birmingham and Greysteel were atrocities like Kingsmills but I dont know how you made the connection to Gibraltar, them other atrocities resulted in civilians being murdered on a grand scale while Gibraltar was three terrorists who were shot while on a murder mission. Theres no comparison in my opinion.

And unlike the paramilitaries the British security forces showed great restraint here, they had the capacity to murder 1000′s but we all know that was never going to be their intention. It was a vicious little conflict with the army and police being daily targets so at least try to understand why the discipline broke down at times, they can still hold their heads up a lot higher than any terrorist group that was active here or indeed is still active.

Mute Daniel Dudek Corrigan
    Favourite Daniel Dudek Corrigan
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:06 PM

Who’s paying for it?

Mute Paul Matthews
    Favourite Paul Matthews
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:10 PM

We are, no doubt.

Mute drogcol
    Favourite drogcol
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:13 PM

Democracy down the barrel of a gun

Mute Jason Healy
    Favourite Jason Healy
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:16 PM

Knowing our government we are probably paying for the whole thing north and south

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin
    Jun 5th 2013, 5:01 PM

Im trying to understand irony. If the citizen who contributed to the cost of funding the Gardai (thru taxes), and said gardai were to beat a citizen over the head , while trying to protest this G8 , is that Ironic?

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Jun 5th 2013, 5:26 PM

Don’t be silly. Most of the protesters at these things don’t have jobs to pay taxes

Mute Liam Lyons
    Favourite Liam Lyons
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:37 PM

Why do people protest at Barack Obama? He likes visiting Ireland and he smiles a lot

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:51 PM

Smiling is my favourite!

Mute joe dangermouse
    Favourite joe dangermouse
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:59 PM

The joker smiled a lot too!

Mute ieoinu
    Favourite ieoinu
    Jun 5th 2013, 5:13 PM

Hate to break it to you but the Joker isn’t real.

Mute Aziza
    Favourite Aziza
    Jun 5th 2013, 6:28 PM

Neither is Obama just an actor and a puppet! A character that everyone has fallen for, charming and funny. I fell for it, but look at what the man is doing , he is worse than bush. If the joker was real he wouldn’t come close to the character that is Obama.

Mute Marilyn Maroney
    Favourite Marilyn Maroney
    Jun 5th 2013, 8:15 PM

Hey don’t talk about my neighbor like that!! He’s good

Mute Marilyn Maroney
    Favourite Marilyn Maroney
    Jun 5th 2013, 8:19 PM

Plus O’bama is Oirish

Mute Patricia Mc Cann
    Favourite Patricia Mc Cann
    Jun 5th 2013, 5:09 PM

I would imagine no matter what country the G8 summit is held , if it Borders another both ” sides” Police would be involved.

Mute ieoinu
    Favourite ieoinu
    Jun 5th 2013, 5:18 PM

The majority of the world doesn’t know that Northern Ireland is different from the Republic. We potentially could gain out of positive media reports out of this and likewise suffer from negative press. The type of people that protest at these events do so for the sake of rioting nothing more.

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Jun 5th 2013, 5:23 PM

Most of the leaders and delegates at the meeting are staying in the republic.

Mute Patricia Mc Cann
    Favourite Patricia Mc Cann
    Jun 5th 2013, 5:30 PM

When the queen visited Sky News focused on a tiny protest and angled the camera is such a way to make it look like the whole street was protesting. No doubt the same will happen here. Certain news channels like to make us look bad no matter what the positives are.

Mute Coddler O Toole
    Favourite Coddler O Toole
    Jun 5th 2013, 5:53 PM

The type of people who set up new twitter accounts to make false allegations against those exercising their legitimate democratic right to protest are pathetic, nothing more.

Mute Aran Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Aran Fitzpatrick
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:25 PM

I am still waiting for an article that lists reasons why we should protest at it..

Mute Kev O Dowd
    Favourite Kev O Dowd
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:42 PM

Lots of people aren’t too fond of the idea that the leaders of 8 of the most powerful countries getting together to see how to run the world. Many others just want a chance to set a police car on fire.

Mute cooperguy
    Favourite cooperguy
    Jun 5th 2013, 8:48 PM

Kev, the same people would complain about a lack of “joined up thinking” if the leaders didn’t get together. Most of the real decisions are made at the G20 now anyway

Mute Killian Lynch
    Favourite Killian Lynch
    Jun 5th 2013, 6:22 PM

Do people not understand that protesting and rioting are not the same? People can protest, they just can’t burn cars or throw bricks.

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Jun 5th 2013, 5:13 PM

Wouldn’t look good if some loolas from the Republic were to do something terrible during this conference. Surprising how anything negative results in cancellation of holidays by foreign nationals.
    Why don’t theses meetings take place in some secure army base in the US or one of the participating countries or in an underground venue in some remote corner of the world?

Mute Peadar O'Grady
    Favourite Peadar O'Grady
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:35 PM

To help keep the peace? Is this journalism? Why not to help maintain war? Each of them is or has been involved in one: Af-Pak, drones, Syria, Lybia etc etc. If you take all the deaths due to US/UK imperialism in the middle east and compare them to all the terrorist attacks on the west you are talking thousands to one. A proportionate response in the media would be something to strive for?

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:18 PM

So will the Gardaí be north of the border or not…….

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:53 PM

I replied to this, where did my reply go?

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:54 PM

Did the journal delete it because I had figures quoted by another news agency but not used in their article?

Mute PunchUinFACE
    Favourite PunchUinFACE
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:19 PM

Protest, yeah right, not within 15 miles of the place

Gangsters all!

Mute Alan Carroll
    Favourite Alan Carroll
    Jun 5th 2013, 5:47 PM

Why is this thing being held in a very nationalist county of Northern Ireland? Fermanagh was always a nationalist county, even at the time of partition. Why not hold it in Antrim where the unionists actually exist in large numbers and will want to see the “UK” Prime Minister and thousands of policemen from England.

Mute stupidlambu
    Favourite stupidlambu
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:58 PM

God damn disgrace it isnt our responsibility for fuc* sake.

Mute Bobby Murray
    Favourite Bobby Murray
    Jun 5th 2013, 5:03 PM

We have become a subservient nation and a gutless subservient people!

Mute Lou Brennan
    Favourite Lou Brennan
    Jun 5th 2013, 5:53 PM

What is all this bull$*#¥ about. G8 leaders sitting around waffling about doing this and doing that while banqueting till all hours.
    Let them do it in a bunker in Switzerland and save the ordinary people a load of hassle and expense.
    It’s all ego and posturing and guess what, very little done to save the world

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:29 PM

Whooo Scary guards

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Jun 5th 2013, 4:10 PM

Hopefully they have some backup plan. The British army might be needed.

Mute Aidan O'Donovan
    Favourite Aidan O'Donovan
    Jun 5th 2013, 8:12 PM

I’m sure if this was being held in Maastricht say, Belgian and German police would be involved in security, enough of the “what’s it got to do with us!” nonsense

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Jun 5th 2013, 5:55 PM

Can anybody please tell me why the Irish Rebublic has to provide 900 gardaí to help keep the peace at the G8, which is taking place in another country?

Mute Alan Carroll
    Favourite Alan Carroll
    Jun 5th 2013, 9:15 PM

It’s taking place in Fermanagh, ye know the picturesque county beside counties Donegal, Cavan, Monaghan and Leitrim.

Calling Fermanagh “another country” sounds so… weird from an Irish person. Are you British?

Mute me
    Favourite me
    Jun 5th 2013, 9:45 PM

Different Government.. Different police force … Different Laws .. Different currency .. different flag .. yep that sounds like a different country to me

Mute Alan Carroll
    Favourite Alan Carroll
    Jun 5th 2013, 10:59 PM

Said the east German to the west German. And we know how that turned out.

Mute phunkyboy
    Favourite phunkyboy
    Jun 5th 2013, 6:53 PM

We should send some paper gardai to match the shop fronts in eniskillen , god forbid it begins to rain .

Mute Michael G O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael G O'Reilly
    Jun 6th 2013, 12:10 AM

Let the UK government pay for all the security !!!

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Jun 5th 2013, 11:09 PM

One garda 900 narrrrrdai

Mute n49martin
    Favourite n49martin
    Jun 6th 2013, 12:10 AM

I don’t think the hardline unionists will be happy to see members of a foreign country (Eire) entering into their Part of the UK, similarly a large part of the Free State population would object if 900 PSNI officers were sent to the Republic.

Mute David Thompson
    Favourite David Thompson
    Jun 6th 2013, 12:42 AM

The Gardai wont enter NI, they’ll be watching their own side of the border to make sure nothing gets across. Its a task they do daily anyway, just not on this scale or in such a concentrated area. The fact the border is there could benefit would be attackers or somebody intent on being a nuisance, both forces working together will prevent that.

Mute Chief PP In TeePee
    Favourite Chief PP In TeePee
    Jun 5th 2013, 5:01 PM

Is that paul caffrey in the photo?

Mute Steve Burton
    Favourite Steve Burton
    Jun 5th 2013, 6:21 PM

Someone should organise a flashmob to go there and sing “red and black” and “Do you hear the people sing” from Le Miserable!

Mute James Brody
    Favourite James Brody
    Jun 5th 2013, 8:16 PM

how can the garda enter a foreign country ?

Mute Tim Lawson
    Favourite Tim Lawson
    Jun 5th 2013, 6:17 PM

Are the two Gardai in the middle actually super secret undercover RTE reporters?

Mute n49martin
    Favourite n49martin
    Jun 6th 2013, 12:28 AM

The chap on the right hand side of the f/male guard reminds me of Bertie.

Mute SilentFugitive
    Favourite SilentFugitive
    Jun 5th 2013, 6:23 PM

Ye can forget about protests if these Guards are going http://youtube.com/watch?v=8v9BpPnbWU8

Mute dermot ryan
    Favourite dermot ryan
    Jun 6th 2013, 12:11 AM

I once heard that the easiest way to live in a fascist State is to pretend it doesn’t exist , or was it control a fascist State …….ah the memory is going.