You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal

Gardaí to monitor public transport in bid to seize alcohol from underage Patrick's Day drinkers

Over 1,100 gardaí will police the capital on the day.

GARDAÍ WILL BE launching a serious crackdown against teenage drinkers this St Patrick’s Day and will be paying particular attention to those bringing alcohol onto public transport.

Each year, there are concerns over teenage drinking and it was decided to tackle the problematic behaviour at source and confiscate alcohol from those planning on drinking on the streets.

Officers from both the north and south central districts have been approaching off licences in the city warning them of their duties not to sell to those who are underage or to those they suspect of buying alcohol for minors.

As usual, you will be unable to buy alcohol in city centre off licences until 4pm. There will also be a heavy public order unit presence at usual flashpoints including Grafton Street, Henry Street and Parnell Street.

Heavy presence

Over 1,100 gardaí will police the capital on the day including members of the public order unit as well as uniformed officers and armed detectives.

Senior gardaí were urged this week to ensure that there is an increased garda presence. Other pleas, made by members of Dublin City Council at the Joint Policing Committee on Tuesday, include that gardaí maintain a high visual presence before, during and after the parade.

The news comes as it emerged that private security guards will help gardaí keep the peace in Temple Bar on Friday, after Dublin City Council opted to repeat the ‘robust policing’ approach it adopted in the area last year.

There will be manned barriers in and out of the area, and Merchant’s Arch will be restricted to one-way traffic.

There’ll also be a crack-down on on-street drinking, to make sure it’s kept to a minimum.

“There was an increase in Garda and private security in the area to manage the safe movement of pedestrians,” a Council spokesperson said in a statement.

Access to the area was controlled when required by the provision of manned access barriers at approximately 40 access points.

Drinkaware has warned against excessive drinking before the Patrick’s Day celebrations kick off. They urged people to keep track of how much they are consuming. They also urged consumers to pace their drinking.

A recent Healthy Ireland report stated that 14% of drinkers feel they should cut down on their alcohol consumption.

Drinkaware wants people to drink bottles instead of pints, finish a glass of wine before pouring another and to have a glass of water while drinking as alcohol dehydrates the body.

Read: Murder investigation launched into death of Irish woman in India >

Read: To our commenter community: Making your space a more inviting place >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

19 Comments
    Mute Yorkie1892
    Favourite Yorkie1892
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:55 PM

What a sad story! Fair play to the people in the council and hopefully people will attend. RIP

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 16th 2017, 10:01 AM

@Yorkie1892: Certainly more than you would expect from councils here who think nothing of homeless people dying alone. Everyone should be treated with the dignity that they deserve in my view, even council managers.

Mute Gillian Weir Scully
    Favourite Gillian Weir Scully
    Sep 16th 2017, 10:26 AM

@Yorkie1892: Perhaps better people were around before he died not after?

Mute Paul Foot
    Favourite Paul Foot
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:57 PM

So many emigrants died alone…and some who returned were classed as different¡ …

Mute Paul Jennings
    Favourite Paul Jennings
    Sep 16th 2017, 10:08 AM

@Paul Foot: yes, not like they would even recognise the ould country. Like the returning Vietnam veterans, none would receive a hero’s welcome.

Mute Paul Flood
    Favourite Paul Flood
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:08 PM

The time for making the effort to reach out and include him in the Irish community was when he was alive. This sort of gesture is false and is only self serving. Sorry but that’s the truth.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:39 PM

@Paul Flood:It is the truth, but was he a loner and did he isolate himself? Is there more to this story, we’ll never know and RIP.

Sep 15th 2017, 10:46 PM

@Paul Flood: Maybe he was? After all the council who didn’t know him are making this appeal…..

Mute John Joe
    Favourite John Joe
    Sep 16th 2017, 2:08 AM

@Paul Flood: well somebody is trying to right a wrong now Paul so let’s not throw it back in their face, what do you think.

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Sep 16th 2017, 12:14 AM

Very sad. Reminds me of the time I lived there. Met several older Irish. Often homeless and alone. The only thing they wanted from me was to hear a native accent and to talk of long lost home.

Mute Aine B-t
    Favourite Aine B-t
    Sep 16th 2017, 4:00 AM

@Paul Flood:
    We constantly reach out to the community in Manchester but if they don’t want to reach back sadly we cannot force them, we at CIAM just want to show our respect at his funeral & didn’t contact any press only posted on our facebook page.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 16th 2017, 10:07 AM

@Aine B-t: Fair play to you in Manchester, but don’t forget that this poor soul does have relatives regardless of how distant they are. A simple DNA test would prove that and might help bring closure to some families who are searching for loved ones.

Mute Carol C.
    Favourite Carol C.
    Sep 16th 2017, 2:50 PM

@Chris Kirk: Not necessarily, Chris. He may not have any living relatives. He may not have wanted them around either. We’ll never know.
    @Aine B-t a kind gesture,,,not enough of this in the World. Well done.

Mute femo
    Favourite femo
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:50 PM

Sad, I had a friend Healthy, No cigarettes, No alcohol, Sporty, just died in Boston in his room alone.
    We should be More Human Rights, than Animal Rights minded.

Mute Jennifer D
    Favourite Jennifer D
    Sep 15th 2017, 11:48 PM

@femo: let’s just be more caring full stop

Mute James Kearney
    Favourite James Kearney
    Sep 16th 2017, 6:50 AM

A very humane gesture informed by moral conscience. It’s what keeps civilisation knitted together. Was recently in Manchester and could easily sense that the city has a heart and good community ties.

Mute Gar Kelleher
    Favourite Gar Kelleher
    Sep 15th 2017, 11:28 PM

Poor man. I’d make it if I could. :(

Mute Barney r
    Favourite Barney r
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:38 PM

If he owned anything tell next of kin to get out of Solicitors office and turn up at funeral.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Sep 15th 2017, 9:58 PM

At the risk of sounding like a dick…. It’s not like he’s going to know if anyone turns up or not…

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:02 PM

@David: you do

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:09 PM

@Liam Doyle: if the Irish are a community how come he died alone?

Mute Mr D
    Favourite Mr D
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:11 PM

@David: True, but it’s more for us (the living) nobody knows what the future holds but I think most of us would want someone to attend our own funeral

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:20 PM

@Liam Doyle: I agree Liam. Sad story. To have no-one expected to attend the funeral implies that he must have been very lonely while alive. It’s a good thing the council are doing and may bring other Irish people overseas together to prevent this type of thing. To be lonely is one of the worst feelings imo

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:22 PM

@David: When you are gone all you have left is your legacy and your memory, if he didn’t do anything big with his life he only has the memory, and how he’s sent off, when that is all thats left there should be some dignity in it, to honor that a life has ended

If we only cared if the person themselves knew what we were doing we could just cremate all bodies without any funeral or memorial services.

Why do we give ex-Taoiseachs a gun salute and a flag draped casket? It’s to honor the life, they may not know, but it still shows respect for the life that was lived.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:43 PM

@David: At the end of my Death notice, I will say. If you didn’t care when I was alive, Don’t come to my funeral!

Mute Brendan Hughes
    Favourite Brendan Hughes
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:52 PM

@Ryan Carroll: dead right. We are bound by a moral duty to honour the passing of one of our own. Poor man is not even getting to have a wake.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Sep 15th 2017, 11:02 PM

@Ryan Carroll: that’s fine, id much prefer to be respected while I was living, and have one person, preferably a priest, press play on the AC DC CD, and have highway to hell blare through the crematorium as the flames go up.

Mute CahirMcCullagh
    Favourite CahirMcCullagh
    Sep 16th 2017, 12:23 AM

@David: not only do you sound like one,

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Sep 16th 2017, 2:08 AM

@David: your lack of understanding of “community” makes the self assessment in you’re comment correct

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Sep 16th 2017, 6:02 AM

@Boganity: what “community” do you speak of? The man died alone. Nobody gave a shit while he was alive, so why would they give a shit now? Are you going to fly to Manchester for the funeral? No, I didn’t think so. I pointed out the obvious fact that he’s not going to know one way or the other. Are they taking his religious beliefs into consideration? Do they even know? Get off that high horse.

Mute Red hurley
    Favourite Red hurley
    Sep 15th 2017, 10:47 PM

Reminds me of this.

https://youtu.be/SXlPSXuJFDQ

Mute Martha Kelleher McElhone
    Favourite Martha Kelleher McElhone
    Sep 17th 2017, 5:07 PM

Thank you to The Council of Irish Associations in Manchester for this kind deed. I have just read all the comments on this, most were beautiful and thoughtful but a few others were thoughtless and based on ignorance. We do not know how this man started out in this world which would affect how he lived his life or how many people he helped throughout his life and perhaps his need to be alone in the end. Come on Manchester Irish, don’t judge this man, give him the benefit of the doubt and attend his funeral if you can.!

Mute Seamus Browne
    Favourite Seamus Browne
    Sep 17th 2017, 11:28 PM

This world is for the rich the rich seduce the poor and it’s same old story no one really gives damn