You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gay Mitchell, pictured at the formal launch of his campaign at the Science Gallery in Trinity College yesterday. Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Gay Mitchell: "I will sign any bill that's constitutional"

Fine Gael’s Presidential candidate says he will sign any bill put before him – and insists he has no prejudice against gay people.

MEP GAY MITCHELL has insisted that he would sign any legislation that came before him if he were president, as long as he was convinced it was not in conflict with the Constitution.

Mitchell has also insisted that he does not “judge anybody” and does not hold any prejudice against gay people, in response to questions posed by listeners to RTÉ’s Today with Pat Kenny programme.

The comments specifically came after a question about whether he would be willing to sign laws that might require priests to break the seal of the confessional.

“I’m not aware of any proposal to break the seal of the confessional… in a practicable way, it wouldn’t be on,” Mitchell said, before adding:

If people are going into a certain priest and confessing regularly that they’re abusing children, you’ve got to halt that process and the Church has to find some way of dealing with that.

If he was satisfied that any law requiring the seal of confessional to be broken, or forcing other people to report knowledge of crimes, he said he would sign it.

Asked if he would act as the Grand Marshal of a Gay Pride Parade, if he was asked to do so in his capacity as head of state, Mitchell said: “I am a person who doesn’t judge anybody.

“I believe all human beings are born in the image and likeness of God, and that includes gay people and homosexual people.”

Mitchell said suggestions that he was not tolerant of others were “untruths” and that he was a “person who is totally inclusive”.

1916 centenary

Mitchell had earlier said, in response to questions by Kenny, that he was not sure if the government of the day “would be so disposed” in giving the President an active role in organising the 1916 centenary commemorations if Martin McGuinness was to be President at that time.

He added, however, that there was “nothing inhibiting that kind of work” on the part of the president, pointing to constitutional provisions which allow further powers to be conferred upon the president by law.

Mitchell also expressed interest in commissioning a report, “on what we can do as a nation” to counter the problems of suicide, “and then have the power to summon the Dáil and Senate to put it at the top of the agenda”.

He said the constitution allowed for this because it permitted the publication of “reports of the Oireachtas”, and not specifically the Houses of the Oireachtas – meaning the president, as an institution of the Oireachtas, could also publish a report of their own.

He had acted in similar ways while Lord Mayor of Dublin to push the limits of the limitations of his office, he said.

Discussing Ireland’s role in the European Union, Mitchell argued that Ireland had only ever gained full sovereignty when it joined the EU – because prior to that its interest rates and currency values were set by the British Chancellor of the Exchequer.

He described Dana – who has outlined her opposition to the introduction of a European constitution, and who has opposed a number of European referenda – as a “nice and a good person”, however.

Mitchell also denied that he had targeted other candidates, specifically Martin McGuinness, in his campaigning – asserting that he was merely being asked more questions about McGuinness’s candidacy than that of any other candidate.

Read: #Áras11 diary: Where the candidates will be today

More: Seán Gallagher is second candidate to reveal State board payments

Read: Government’s chief whip Kehoe confirms: McGuinness attack was me

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

52 Comments
    Mute gary power
    Favourite gary power
    Oct 4th 2011, 12:24 PM

Poor gay he hasn’t a hope in hell

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Oct 4th 2011, 12:30 PM

Someone should tell this Gay to go jump off a bridge ….. He couldnt tell the truth to save his life. he is in this campaign for one reason and one reason only. To stop Martin McGuinness, which in turn will guaranteee Higgins the post. We the Tax payers are paying half this crooks campaign fund … So we are in effect paying 350, 000 euro to listen to him for 4 weeks, along with very highly paid ministers from his own party, slag Martin McGuinness off ….. According to thi article, he isnt singling Martin McGuinness out ??? What a load of crap … And the Irish people know what he is doing … Do not treat us like fools …
    Bertie made suicide remarls too …. fo FF and FG are pretty much interchangable in their approach to Austerity as well as their casual phrases around suicide. And then the idiot has the gumption to say that he wants to try and reduce suicides in Ireland …. HERE IS A VERY SIMPLE WAY TO HELP REDUCE SUICIDES …. STOP CUTTING THE INCOMES the LOWEST PAID AND WELFARE RECIPIENTS in this country … You can be guaranteed it will help …. But thn again, i am not looking for a 250k job right now, along with expenses, free accomodation .. Why not ?? Because i dont live in an ‘IVORY TOWER MITCHELL’.

Mute Robert LYNCH
    Favourite Robert LYNCH
    Oct 4th 2011, 12:43 PM

Where did you get your figures from: 350,000 euro? That would make Mitchell’s campaign 700,000 euro. Also, I was of the understanding that there was a limit on the amount that could be reimbursed. A maximum of 200,000 or 50% whichever is the lower figure.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Oct 4th 2011, 12:51 PM

Ronan, the Tax Payer, is paying for half of Higgins campaign also ….. They are in there to make Higgins look like the best candidate by mud-slinging the others …
    On the debate at the weekend, FG and Labour admitted they were spending >350k each … you can be damn sure they will go to the full 400k each … The Tax payer has to refund each of them almost 200k … If you add 200k and 200k, what do you get ??? So, in reality we are paying 400k of Tax Payers money to support the government mud-slinging all the other candidates … while Higgins keeps his mouth shut …. Their strategy is that by election day, so little attention will have ben paid to Higgins, he will be the most benign candidate for the electorate to vote for and therefore should be a guaranteed winner. And you and I are paying for this.

Mute Ronald
    Favourite Ronald
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:06 PM

Cal, FG nominated Mitchell weeks before McGuinness entered the campaign. What are you on about?

People like you, with crazy ideas and figures, keep me awake at night because I know you get to vote!

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:58 PM

Ronald McD: I know they did … But once there were more than 3 candidates in the fray, they (FG/Labour) would have put their heads together and come up with a strategy that they know will succeed … Which is the one they have embarked on. In reality, if there were only 3-4 candidates running, and no McGuinness, this would have been a totally different race. But the Government will obviously view this election as a referndum vote on their popularity. They MUST win, otherwise, the mask will slip from their faces, and the sheer desperation and disgust of the Irish people (through this vote) will give the people the impetus to protest against further cuts for the lowest income in this country. The Government are so frightened of this prospect, they will and are employing any means to stop this happening.
    Byt the way, i hoe youdont let this stop you sleeping at night.. I was under the impression that the followers of Gay have zero problems sleeping, as they are usually the richest people in this society, Bad conscience ??

Mute David Higgins
    Favourite David Higgins
    Oct 4th 2011, 5:08 PM

If you care so much about suicide, would you mind not encouraging Gay to jump off a bridge….

Mute Ronald
    Favourite Ronald
    Oct 4th 2011, 5:40 PM

I’ve tried stuffing my pillow will â

Mute Mark Dennehy
    Favourite Mark Dennehy
    Oct 4th 2011, 12:58 PM

He does know that he’s legally required to sign any bill that’s constitutional, right? That it’s unconstitutional for the president to do otherwise?

Mute Ronald
    Favourite Ronald
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:07 PM

Did you not read the headline? That’s what he said!

Mute Mark Dennehy
    Favourite Mark Dennehy
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:13 PM

I did read the headline. He said he’d sign any bill that was constitutional, as though that was a reason to vote for him.
    Will the next headline be “Gay Mitchell pledges not to travel faster than the speed of light if elected President”?

Mute Stewart Curry
    Favourite Stewart Curry
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:43 PM

Well technically he’s saying he needs to be convinced it’s not in conflict with the constitution. I’d like to know what legal qualifications he has to make this decision, and/or who will be providing constitutional legal advice to help him make these decisions.

Mute Mark Dennehy
    Favourite Mark Dennehy
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:53 PM

For legal advice Stewart, the President’s allowed convene the Council of State if he/she thinks if a bill is unconstitutional. If the Council agree it isn’t, or if the President is still unsure, then the President can send the Bill to the Supreme Court for a final decision. If the Supreme Court says it is constitutional, the President is required to sign it and the resulting Act can never be legally challanged as being unconstitutional thereafter.

Mute Stewart Curry
    Favourite Stewart Curry
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:56 PM

So what exactly was his point? “I will do the thing I have to do for my job”
    Wow – with that kind of inspirational talk and TWO different styles of posters for city smarts and country cred he must be the favourite to win!

Mute Mark Dennehy
    Favourite Mark Dennehy
    Oct 4th 2011, 2:01 PM

Yup, pretty much.
    It’s not the silliest thing I’ve ever heard him say though. I think that still goes to his (completely serious) proposal to have a squadron of jet fighters kept ready at Baldonnel in case Al-Quaeda were to hijack an airliner flying into or out of Dublin Airport in order to crash it into Leinster House or Áras an Uachtaráin.

Mute Paul Cunnane
    Favourite Paul Cunnane
    Oct 4th 2011, 4:44 PM

It doesn’t seem quite as silly when you realise that other candidates have said that they wouldn’t sign bills they disagreed with. At least he’s making it clear that he understands the role.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Oct 4th 2011, 12:59 PM

So god made us in his likeness…..

So what does god look like?

Anyone who believes this tripe cannot be taken seriously as he demonstrates that he cannot think for himself.

Mute Ronald
    Favourite Ronald
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:08 PM

And every idea or opinion you have ever held has been independently derived by yourself?

Mute Kevin Smyth
    Favourite Kevin Smyth
    Oct 4th 2011, 4:02 PM

If God made ALL of us. Did he not make the non-believers too?

Mute Kevin Cooney
    Favourite Kevin Cooney
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:22 PM

On same sex marriage “I don’t want to anything that weakens marriage” Gay Mitchell. I am not anti-gay? Pull the other one Mr. Mitchell you bare faced liar.

Mute ColinQuinn
    Favourite ColinQuinn
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:44 PM

Many homosexuals will agree that same sex marriage degrades the institution of marriage as a foundation of a stable family. Are they homophobic now?

Mute Mike Reid
    Favourite Mike Reid
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:55 PM

Colin I love how you ignore responses to your comments when you’ve clearly been proven wrong and jsut move on to annoying other people. Argue your point or go away.

Mute Shane Boyle-Simms
    Favourite Shane Boyle-Simms
    Oct 4th 2011, 2:53 PM

“Many homosexuals will agree that same sex marriage degrades the institution of marriage as a foundation of a stable family” – where did you get that information from please?
    I think you’ll find that some gay people do not agree with marriage as an institution and would not marry if they had a choice.Some people want full marriage and would marry if they were allowed to. Gay people can have different opinions you know ,after all we are humans.
    You’re dislike of gay people is obvious, with comments like : David and “partner” (why the inverted commas?) sipping cocktails in Greece.
    Whats that supposed to mean? straight people don’t sip cocktails in Greece?
    By the way what’s a gay lifestyle choice?
    I’d be very interested to know.

Mute Robert Power
    Favourite Robert Power
    Oct 4th 2011, 6:33 PM

“On same sex marriage “I don’t want to anything that weakens marriage” Gay Mitchell. I am not anti-anti-gay? Pull the other one Mr. Mitchell you bare faced liar”

At least he looking is at the issue squarely, and considering its long term social implications rather than making a knee-jerk decision based on the extreme lefty lobby.

Mute David McDermott
    Favourite David McDermott
    Oct 4th 2011, 6:55 PM

Exactly how will gay people getting married affect straight marriage??? Seriously you’s are nut jobs!

Mute Cecily J. Hoare
    Favourite Cecily J. Hoare
    Oct 4th 2011, 10:36 PM

Nobody EVER answers that question, David. There are plenty who will make the sweeping statement about how same sex marriage is an “attack” on traditional marriage, or a threat to it. They never say how. The assertion is never backed up. Just watch: all we’ll get are thumbs down and no response.

Mute Kevin Corry
    Favourite Kevin Corry
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:15 PM

That precisely why I would not vote for you Gay! Your so deluded…you would sign anything.

Mute tom stamp
    Favourite tom stamp
    Oct 4th 2011, 12:42 PM

ah gay said he shared his birthday with bobby sands. if he cant get that right what hope has he!

Mute Kevin Cooney
    Favourite Kevin Cooney
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:26 PM

“I will sign any bill that’s constitutional” Gay Mitchell – “But, would you trust a man that put his political career higher than his conscience?” Rocco Buttiglione (Gay Mitchell’s homophobic Italian MEP friend) Mitchell cannot have it every which way!

Mute ColinQuinn
    Favourite ColinQuinn
    Oct 4th 2011, 12:56 PM

Well done Gay on laying out your stall on behalf of the decent people of Ireland. This country is at a crossroads, do we want a foreign gunman in the Aras, who will drive away investment and be divisive, a man with an “alternative” lifestyle whose presidency will be a tabloid fest “David and “partner” sipping Mojito’s on holidays in Greece”. This is a Catholic country, lets have a candidate that reflects the Christian ethos of respect and sharing.

Mute Simon McGrath
    Favourite Simon McGrath
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:01 PM

A foreign gun man seriously

Mute ColinQuinn
    Favourite ColinQuinn
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:08 PM

Simon. Did you not have a Geography teacher in the comprehensive?

Here is a map of Great Britain. Look at where the border stops or is it that you think we are British as well?

http://i.infoplease.com/images/muk.gif

Mute Jason Doyle
    Favourite Jason Doyle
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:21 PM

You cant really say we are a catholic country in this day and age.

Mute Jonathan Hayes
    Favourite Jonathan Hayes
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:25 PM

Your just as deluded as Mr Mitchell himself, tut tut

Mute Colin Toner
    Favourite Colin Toner

I see your giving a wee geography lesson there Quinn, lets give a wee political lesson. Just before I begin the new president, like those before have a duty to be the Guardian of the Constitution.

Our Constitution states in Articles 2 that everyone born on the Island of Ireland have the right to be part of the Irish Nation……..”the birthright of all the people of Northern Ireland to identify themselves and be accepted as Irish or British, or both, as they may so choose, and accordingly confirm that their right to hold both British and Irish citizenship is accepted by both Governments and would not be affected by any future change in the status of Northern Ireland.”

This give Martin Guinness, as an Irish Citizen, every right to run for the Irish Presidency.

Your remarks that we are a Catholic Country also needs addressing………and what better place to refer to then our beloved constitution, Ireland guarantees freedom of worship, and forbids the state from creating an established church, the special position of the Catholic Church was removed from the constitution in 1973.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Oct 4th 2011, 2:01 PM

Colin, do you beleive teh same as your friend Gay, that there are only 22 counties in this country ? Which other 4 did you give away this time ???

Mute emercait23
    Favourite emercait23
    Oct 4th 2011, 2:04 PM

"alternative lifestyle"

What’s alternative about being gay? We have most of the same rights as straight people. If you ask me, the bigoted straights are the only ones who live in an alternative way!

And Gay Mitchell is certainly not the man I want to have deciding my right to legally marry the woman I love.

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Oct 4th 2011, 2:47 PM

Keep talking, Colin, please! The more gobshites like you talk the less chance “Straight” Mitchell has of being elected :D

Mute Brian Kelleher
    Favourite Brian Kelleher
    Oct 4th 2011, 3:38 PM

@ColinQuinn

“foreign gunman” – Mary McAleese is from the North. Invalid point.

“alternative lifestyle” – If your beloved Gay doesn’t have a problem with it, does that mean you have a problem with Gay and as such will not be giving him your vote?

“Catholic country” – implying that we are 100% Catholic. I’m not, therefore we are multicultural as not everyone is a Catholic. Never mind the Protestants, Presbyterians, muslims, Jews, Sikhs, Hindus, Buddhists, Secular Humanists and Atheists.

“Candidate that reflects the Christian ethos…” – Gay Mitchell doesn’t, in fact he claims to bear no prejudice and show no discrimination towards the 10% of the population that are gay. This is in direct contradiction with the word of God/Allah/Yahweh/Jehova in the Old Testament, as well as (most probably) his Asheera not to mention his “rival god” Ba’al too. Gay Mitchell doesn’t reflect this nebulous “Christian ethos” you refer to.

Logic’d.

Mute Stephen Madden
    Favourite Stephen Madden
    Oct 4th 2011, 3:38 PM

Colin, if you are going to so smart as to direct people to maps then you might want to learn the difference between Great Britain and the UK first. Northern Ireland is in the latter, but not the former. Also, I think you’ll find the Good Friday agreement and our own constitution define people like Martin McGuiness & Mary McAlese as Irish. That referendum was ratified by over 95% of the population in 1998. If you have a problem with that, then you have a problem with democracy.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Oct 4th 2011, 5:30 PM

don’t feed the troll, back under your bridge Colin.

Mute John Butler
    Favourite John Butler
    Oct 4th 2011, 5:11 PM

Gay Mitchell demeans himself as do Fine Gael in reverting to the discredited divisions of the civil war . Martin McGuiness , Whatever his past , has proved himself a peacemaker by his deeds, and an honest man by not taking for himself , all the money he could claim as an MLA . Integrity like this is rare and beautiful and should be recognised and prized .

Mute Simon McGrath
    Favourite Simon McGrath
    Oct 4th 2011, 1:39 PM

Comprehensive hahahahaha

Mute Michael Campbell
    Favourite Michael Campbell
    Oct 4th 2011, 4:48 PM

I use to like him but his attitude towards McGuimess has put me of him

Mute Colin Toner
    Favourite Colin Toner
    Oct 4th 2011, 2:07 PM

Ken the role of the president is largely ceremonial, an ambassador for the country, to promote every aspect of our country on the international stage, a cushy number in reality. However with the current rambling going on in our country and in the EU, we are seeing a greater number of changes to law and peoples rights. Sometimes being done to suit certain political agendas. Our President is elected to represent the people and to uphold the constitution, they have a right to refer a bill to the supreme court, or even better to the people by way of referendum. He/she may call upon there own appointed counsel for advice, but in the end he/she has absolute discretion.

Mute Ken Mc Fadden
    Favourite Ken Mc Fadden
    Oct 4th 2011, 4:57 PM

I agree with all that you have said, but the media is asking the candidates questions that are really for the Taoiseach of the day, and in truth all the spoofing candidates are spouting is really just playing to the gallery, Dana was by far the worst, her catholic church defence sank her so low i think Dana International has better chance

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Oct 4th 2011, 5:11 PM

What bullshit! Let’s all try it for a day. Try judging no-one for an hour even. Doesn’t work! Sorry Gay – usual bull! Vote Norris!

Mute Tim Kearney
    Favourite Tim Kearney
    Oct 5th 2011, 4:15 AM

Well Gay …. You made some asshole out of yourself in the debate … Bottom of the class with Dana … :-) ..

Mute Rory Mc Closkey
    Favourite Rory Mc Closkey
    Oct 4th 2011, 8:33 PM

Of course the cretin would sign any bill put before him, the govt is fg, he is fg, what the hell, do we expect him to have a brain as well?

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Oct 4th 2011, 7:34 PM

"….confessing regularly…" Is he having us on? I never realised he was such a deep and profound fool!

Mute Ken Mc Fadden
    Favourite Ken Mc Fadden

I will not vote for gay mitchell, but not because of this statement, the bills he will be asked to sign will be shaped and brought by a government who got a massive mandate from us the people in recent general election, at least gay mitchell is being honest, he could play to the gallery like dana did on late late, but sensible people know this is not the role of a president.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Oct 4th 2011, 5:28 PM

Wait up…”massive mandate from us the people”…?????
    they got a mandate on the back of what they WERE going to do not for what they ARE doing