You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'I will never stop missing you': George Michael's partner found him 'peacefully in bed' after his death

The singer died peacefully at his home yesterday afternoon.

George Michael death George Michael on stage for Wham's last sell out concert at Wembley Stadium in London in 1986. PA Wire / PA Images PA Wire / PA Images / PA Images

Updated at 8.57pm

FELLOW MUSICIANS, POLITICIANS and LGBT campaigners have been paying tribute to George Michael, following the pop superstar’s death at the age of 53.

His partner, Fadi Fawaz paid tribute to Michael, saying that he found the singer in bed after passing away.

Details of Michael’s death emerged yesterday.

“It is with great sadness that we can confirm our beloved son, brother and friend George passed away peacefully at home over the Christmas period,” his publicist said in a statement last night.

Thames Valley Police said the ambulance service had attended a property in Goring in Oxfordshire, where the singer lived, at 1.42pm yesterday and a 53-year-old man was confirmed dead at the scene.

“At this stage the death is being treated as unexplained but not suspicious. A post-mortem will be undertaken in due course,” the police said.

Billboard magazine quoted Michael’s manager Michael Lippman as saying the singer had died of heart failure.

George Michael death People leave flowers outside George Michael's home. Stefan Rousseau Stefan Rousseau

George Michael death PA Wire / PA Images PA Wire / PA Images / PA Images

Singer Elton John published a picture of himself with Michael on his Instagram account.

“I am in deep shock. I have lost a beloved friend – the kindest, most generous soul and a brilliant artist,” the British star wrote.

Madonna posted a video of herself presenting Michael with an award and wrote: “Farewell my Friend! Another Great Artist leaves us.”

His former Wham! bandmate Andrew Ridgeley said on Twitter that he was heartbroken at the loss of his beloved friend.

elton Elton John Elton John

Michael was due to release a documentary in 2017 after a period of living as a virtual recluse in which he hit the headlines for a series of bizarre incidents linked to drugs.

Earlier this month it was also announced that producer and songwriter Naughty Boy was working with Michael on a new album for next year.

Michael was best known for his 1980s hits Last Christmas, Freedom, Careless Whisper and Wake Me Up Before You Go Go, but his career spanned more than three decades.

He won a string of awards including two Grammies and three Brits.

His last album Symphonica (2014) rose to number one in the charts.

Queen Official / YouTube

‘Talented soul’ 

Many tributes to Michael referred to other music world deaths in 2016, starting with David Bowie in January and including Status Quo guitarist Rick Parfitt who died on Saturday.

“2016 – loss of another talented soul. All our love and sympathy to George Michael’s family,” the band Duran Duran said on their official Twitter account.

Canadian musician Bryan Adams tweeted:

I can’t believe it. Such an incredible singer and a lovely human being, far too young to leave us.

Tributes poured in from outside the music world too.

Gary Lineker tweeted: “No, not George Michael as well. Another musical great leaves us this year. 2016 can just sod off.”

Star Trek actor and LGBT campaigner George Takei referred to some of Michael’s greatest hits in a tweet, writing: “Rest with the glittering stars, George Michael. You’ve found your Freedom, your Faith. It was your Last Christmas, and we shall miss you.”

Boy George, a 1980s contemporary of Michael’s, wrote:

“I am thinking of @GeorgeMichael‘s family, friends and fans right now. He was so loved and I hope he knew it because the sadness today is beyond words. Devastating.

What a beautiful voice he had and his music will live on as a testament to his talent. I can’t believe he is gone. I hope the Buddha will hold him in his arms. NMRK.

Tweet by @Nile Rodgers Nile Rodgers / Twitter Nile Rodgers / Twitter / Twitter

Tweet by @Mark Ronson Mark Ronson / Twitter Mark Ronson / Twitter / Twitter

Tweet by @Pet Shop Boys Pet Shop Boys / Twitter Pet Shop Boys / Twitter / Twitter

Tweet by @Meat Loaf Meat Loaf / Twitter Meat Loaf / Twitter / Twitter

Tweet by @Stonewall Stonewall / Twitter Stonewall / Twitter / Twitter

Drug charges, health scares

Michael was born Georgios Kyriacos Panayiotou to a Greek Cypriot father and English mother in north London in 1963.

He met Ridgeley at high school and the pair went on to form Wham! in 1981.

With their good looks, perma-tans, highlighted hair and hedonistic image, the duo captured the go-getting spirit of the age and fast became one of Britain’s biggest pop acts.

In 1985, Wham! became the first Western pop band to perform in China as the country was slowly beginning to open up to the outside world under reformist leader Deng Xiaoping.

Following years of speculation over his sexuality, Michael came out as gay in 1998 after being arrested for committing a ‘lewd act’ in the public toilet of a Los Angeles park.

It was the first of several incidents that were to overshadow his musical career in his later years.

He notched up police cautions for cannabis and crack cocaine possession and in 2010 was sentenced to eight weeks in jail after crashing his car into a London shop while under the influence of cannabis and prescription medication.

In 2011, he spent several weeks in hospital in Vienna after contracting pneumonia, later saying that he had been close to death.

There were fresh concerns in 2013 when he had to be airlifted to hospital after falling out of his chauffeur-driven Range Rover as it travelled at high speed on a motorway.

Tweet by @Ian James Lee Ian James Lee / Twitter Ian James Lee / Twitter / Twitter

George Michael death Michael performing at The Point in Dublin in 2006. PA Wire / PA Images PA Wire / PA Images / PA Images

© – AFP, 2016 with reporting from Daragh Brophy 

Read: Singer George Michael has died at the age of 53 >

Read: The 1,000 volunteers who ‘face peril on every call out’ >

View 92 comments
92 Comments
    Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Mar 3rd 2024, 1:44 PM

Didnt see much of Harris lately.Is there an election coming up or something.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Mar 3rd 2024, 3:07 PM

@Willie Marty: No its just that when they are under the cosh for whatever latest scandal they’ve caused they always send a Minister from a different portfolio out to explain, or if a female minister is on the news she is always flanked by two male colleagues.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Mar 3rd 2024, 3:28 PM

@Liz Dunning: We really need a rest from Fianna Fail especially Skearon, people are sick of the same faces, the perpetual scandals, enough is enough.

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Mar 3rd 2024, 3:56 PM

@Liz Dunning: I knew it wouldnt be long before the FFG cult followers would be on the case.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Mar 3rd 2024, 3:58 PM

@Liz Dunning: They seem to drag out Harris when the likes of Martin and Varadkar and other ministers run for cover. His ministerial record is a disaster…It’s his helpless took that they hope will appeal to people.

Mute micheal duff
    Favourite micheal duff
    Mar 3rd 2024, 4:10 PM

@Mr Inbetween: yeah senators on tv instead of a TD, says a lot about them.

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Mar 3rd 2024, 8:57 PM

@Liz Dunning: most of the FFG government usually hide out there with every scandel going on….the caves full id say

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Mar 3rd 2024, 11:32 PM

@Liz Dunning: why is he always sticking his nose into other departments ? Must be no work to do in higher Education

Mute D Farrell
    Favourite D Farrell
    Mar 4th 2024, 9:01 AM

@Willie Marty: Lately, Simon Harris has been developing apprenticeships to the extent that over 20,000 are now learning & earning. Access to the 60+ options is now part of CAO, which reduces some stress on students & families.

Mute colette byrne
    Favourite colette byrne
    Mar 4th 2024, 9:09 AM

@D Farrell: is that not his job. ????as minister for higher Education.

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Mar 3rd 2024, 1:44 PM

I wonder what croney friend fo Fianna gael it will be?

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Mar 3rd 2024, 1:46 PM

Another job for one of the lads or ladies or inbetweeners !! Was it advertised?

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Mar 3rd 2024, 9:44 PM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: Didn’t see it. Flog it anyway. I’d apply.

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Mar 3rd 2024, 2:32 PM

It’s NOT going to work! Trust has bolted and Ain’t coming back!!! Scrap the TV Tax! Time for Subscription!!! Enough IS Enough!!!

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Mar 3rd 2024, 4:10 PM

@Liz Dunning: @Liz Dunning: Better scrap it altogether, Liz.

We weren’t put in this planet to support a mouthpiece for FFG.

Nor to keep Golden Boys and Girls in the manner to which they have become accustomed.

If it must be kept, then make it subscription.
    And make it live within its means.

The rest of us have to.

By the way, which of the party’s expense accounts do you fall under?

Mute Donal Ronan
    Favourite Donal Ronan
    Mar 3rd 2024, 4:50 PM

@Liz Dunning: I have never heard anyone actually define what public service broadcasting is. Their explanation would be probably something like the shambles that is the referendum. None of them seem to be able to get a proper handle on explaining it.
    Pretty sure the definition of PSB is not the likes of ‘Fair City or Dancing etc.’

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Mar 3rd 2024, 5:23 PM

@Liz Dunning: Do you know what the So called State broadcaster is showing today apart from Repeats? Hitler..A Life in pictures! I mean WTAF??? You want it, YOU pay for it!!

Mute Stiles
    Favourite Stiles
    Mar 3rd 2024, 2:32 PM

DEFUND RTE!

Mute Ron Collins
    Favourite Ron Collins
    Mar 3rd 2024, 2:51 PM

In the interest of transparency how much taxpayer money is the chair of the board compensated and how much of an expense account would they have?

Mute Donal Ronan
    Favourite Donal Ronan
    Mar 3rd 2024, 4:51 PM

@Ron Collins: On the news today, the figure of €30000 was mentioned.

Mute Foxy
    Favourite Foxy
    Mar 3rd 2024, 4:47 PM

RTE is not a public service broadcaster.
    Didn’t the government have a few foreign people over to lecture to us about our security and NATO.
    It was held in 4 counties and without attending, the only way to see or hear was the internet. If like the government told us it was very important, why didn’t our Public Service Broadcaster air it ?

Mute Michael o connor
    Mar 3rd 2024, 2:40 PM

The unholy troika of fianna gael, the Catholic church and RTE!

Mar 3rd 2024, 4:13 PM

@Liz Dunning: @Liz Dunning: That’d be why they tried to give control of that new hospital down Vincent’s way into the control of the Church?

Despite the repeated outcries.

You should work for the russians, Liz.
    Or US Republicans.

You have the same acquaintance with the truth.

Mute Ultimate Warrior
    Favourite Ultimate Warrior
    Mar 3rd 2024, 4:19 PM

@Michael o connor: yeah, it will be far better under Sharia Fein

Mute Michael o connor
    Mar 3rd 2024, 4:34 PM

@Ultimate Warrior: well the Sinaloa Gaels don’t seem to be making a go of it!

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Mar 3rd 2024, 5:58 PM

@Liz Dunning: You mean like the sweetheart deal made by FF and the religious orders concerning the crimes committed by the Church. The Church and their political wing in FFG have not gone away.

Mute Deadman Walking
    Favourite Deadman Walking
    Mar 3rd 2024, 5:38 PM

Harris we hope you do this crountry a big favor and step down .

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Mar 3rd 2024, 3:32 PM

Is the rumour that it will be Paul Reid tru?

Mar 3rd 2024, 4:15 PM

@Padraig O’Brien: Why not that chap that messed up Dun Laoghaire Rathdown and DCC?

Mute Michael o connor
    Mar 3rd 2024, 4:35 PM

@Padraig O’Brien: ya. See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil!

Mute Martin Finnerty
    Favourite Martin Finnerty
    Mar 3rd 2024, 6:59 PM

If Paul Reid gets the RTE Chair gig. Cronyism at its worst.

Mute Quinny
    Favourite Quinny
    Mar 3rd 2024, 4:34 PM

RTE and this Government is the new , Duffy’s Circus . Clowns the lot of them!!

Mute Ann neylan
    Favourite Ann neylan
    Mar 3rd 2024, 5:05 PM

Just read the Tayto Park article… It’s definitely worth a read…. unfortunately, comments are closed.

Mute Lewis Armstrong
    Favourite Lewis Armstrong
    Mar 3rd 2024, 4:33 PM

Let’s not forget those that insulted and abused those of us calling for RTE to be defunded the last few years. Hypocrites now calling for it

Mute Ultimate Warrior
    Favourite Ultimate Warrior
    Mar 3rd 2024, 2:02 PM

A national broadcaster is the bedrock of a functioning democracy, I welcome this development wholeheartedly

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Mar 3rd 2024, 2:21 PM

@Ultimate Warrior: Bahhhaa haha ha haha. You’re Funny!!!

Mar 3rd 2024, 4:14 PM

@Ultimate Warrior: You mean, like TASS?

Mute Fran Mooney
    Favourite Fran Mooney
    Mar 3rd 2024, 9:32 PM

PSB does this include the journal,another part of the propaganda machine

Mute dotsy62
    Favourite dotsy62
    Mar 3rd 2024, 10:40 PM

Well done Journal,as usual closing comments on GENOCIDE.

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Mar 3rd 2024, 10:54 PM

Can anyone honestly look at the headlines these days and tell me we aren’t fkd?

Mute michael hamilton
    Favourite michael hamilton
    Mar 4th 2024, 11:38 AM

Simon (18 previous covids) Harris. A great educated man.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Mar 3rd 2024, 9:43 PM

Poison chalice.

Mute gregory pym
    Favourite gregory pym
    Mar 4th 2024, 9:02 AM

Wonder which FFG mate is owed a dig out or thank you for services rendered lol. They are going to be a stalking horse.