You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE STANDARDS IN Public Office Commission (SIPO) has explained why it ordered Amnesty International to return a donation made by billionaire George Soros for its My Body My Rights campaign.
Sipo said current legislation governing donations to political groups forces those who receive donations over €100 to register as a third-party. The Electoral Act also bans foreign donations from an individual other than an Irish citizen who resides outside the island of Ireland – meaning Soros’ €137,000 donation did not meet the criteria for an acceptable donation.
The law also states that a “donation from a body corporate or unincorporated body of persons which does not keep an office in the island of Ireland from which one or more of its principal activities is directed” is also prohibited.
The ban has seen both sides of the abortion debate to agree on one thing – that the rules ought to be changed.
Yesterday, Colm O’Gorman, chief executive of Amnesty International said he wanted the laws changed.
He told the Today with Sean O’Rourke show on RTÉ: “We will consider every opportunity to challenge this decision. I have repeatedly made it clear that we will challenge this. We gave complete details to Sipo about the purpose for which we received this. We responded in detail and clarified the amount and what we were going to do.”
David Quinn of the conservative Iona Institute agreed with O’Gorman and added: ““I will join Colm in campaigning to change the Electoral Act, I am happy to see the Electoral Act changed, but, in the meantime, you’ve got to obey it and not hold yourself above it and there also there can’t be double standards in how organisations are treated as to how they go about trying to raise money.”
A spokesperson for Sipo explained that the purpose of these bans is to protect against interference by foreign individuals in Ireland’s domestic political processes, including elections and referendums.
Prohibited donations must be refused or returned.
Last year, Sipo received information that several Irish organisations had received donations from a foreign donor. At the time, it made inquiries and received assurances from the recipients that the donations were not for political purposes.
The commission’s spokesperson explained that it received information that the donations were for political purposes.
“The commission sought and received written confirmation from the donor that the funding was for explicitly political purposes. As it is the intent of the donor that determines whether a donation is a political donation, the funding very clearly fell within the Act’s prohibitions. The Commission has issued directives to the recipients to return the prohibited donations. ”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
109 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Declan B: You guys realise this is temporary right? It’s the way the Major describes the West Indian Cricket team…….. the version being removed is the unedited one:
1) It’s not because of the war
2) It’s about repeated use of the N word
3) BBC edited the offending scene in 2013
4) Cleese fully approved of it
5) Netflix & UKTV were airing unedited version
6) Edited version will likely be used in future
@Tricia G: Yeah totally… People are getting very hot under the collar about this when it’s always been happening. British media broadcasters removed lots of things that were offensive to Irish people from syndicated circulation in the late 80s / early 90s too.
It’s not censorship in the oppressive sense of the word, it’s creating an environment whereby people of colour can more readily identify with what they see on TV of an evening after a long day’s work. It also makes racist language less acceptable to us white people.
If people feel really strongly about wanting to see the version with the N word they can easily find it online I’m sure.
You’re right, John Cleese, Matt Lucas and David Walliams aren’t kicking and screaming about this action at all, quite the opposite.
People suddenly getting so bothered by this in the current climate of Black Lives Matter protests are revealing a lot of internalised racism. It’s fairly cringeworthy but one hopes it will be ultimately enlightening for all.
@Daniel O’Connor: My comment was removed. It wasn’t even flagged as possibly toxic nor could it be. Nice to see The Journal getting involved in the censorship business. How’s the donations appeal going , Journal ?
@Tricia G: The same N word that is used in countless Rap songs that seems to be ok because it’s Black people saying it. Ever watch The Wire? Nearly every episode of the five seasons someone is called the N word. Example “Put a bullet in that N’s head” but that’s allowed because it’s a Black person saying it I suppose..
@David Garland: think of it this way.
Imagine somebody from England saying the term “Bloody Paddy” to an Irish person, we see it as derogatory and rightly so.
Very different thing if one Irish person says is to another, it simply does not have the same meaning or level of offense.
If black people say the N word then that is their decision, but they didn’t create the word to begin with. It’s always been used as a derogatory term towards them from whites. Them using it allows them to “own” it and control it.
@David Garland: it is absolutely okay for black people to use the N word if they so desire. Just as Irish people can use the word Paddy, women can choose to use the C word and gays can choose to use the F word. Not all language is for you, words have different values and carry different weight depending on who is using it and why.
@Lingwood: it’s not “Absolutely ok” for black people to use the N word and everybody else is considered a Racist for muttering it, even if it was 40 years ago. The actor Michael Richards who played Kramer in Seinfeld used the N word in one of his stand up shows years ago and he hasn’t worked since. Today black stand ups use the word all the time and that’s ok. If a Black stand up uses the word in one of his shows is it ok for white audience members to laugh at the joke or are only black audience members allowed laugh?
@David Garland: In the stand up scenario you are allowed to laugh along with other black people by a black person literally standing before you trying to to make you laugh. If you think that black stand up comedian is pandering to your specific racist sense of humour then you are mistaken, they are speaking to black people. The reason you laugh is because you know it is wrong for you to do so, a common trope in comedy. But that’s when a black person makes the joke. White people have used the N word for centuries to oppress, animalise and abuse black people and so have lost the right to use that word for the foreseeable future. Not you or I, of course, but white people in the name of white dominance and that legacy is still very much alive to the point where Irish people, once ourselves oppressed, now feel entitled to use a word with such a violent and oppressive weight behind it. What are so many Irish people doing on here, defending the use of a word that was never part of our culture to begin with? Cringeworthy.
@Tricia G: So you are in favor if censorship and getting things banned. People could you know, just NOT WATCH THE EPISODE! the character is an old, slightly senile, curmudgeonly war veteran. You are condoning the end of artistic freedom. Our future will consist of sanitized history, rewritten, book burnings, banning of all films and tv shows that offend, which will be a great, great many. It was a sitcom from 40 years ago and is still a classic for a reason. This is George Orwell and Ray Bradbury future here, and frankly, that is a fascist hellscape that i wouldnt want future generations to endure.
@Lingwood: Not defending it. You act like we are all DYING to use some word that frankly, i have never uttered in my life. The issue here is restriction of artistic freedom and censorship. The character in the show is old, senile and racist. These fictional characters are now meant to be deleted from history? And your little speech there about standup; how divisive can you get? and since when do you get to speak for black people, about what they will and will not tolerate? there is a Dave Chappelle sketch on racism, that is littered with the word, and im pretty sure he wants everyone to laugh at it, not just black people! you are basically SEGREGATING comedy, telling us white people what we can and cant laugh at. Oh the irony of it all, because, you know, youre the anti-racist, whereas the rest of us are all bigots.
@Fr. Fintan Stack: was thinking the same. Recently watched a video where a black man did one of those “reacts” videos on YouTube where he watches the racist sketch involving Ted mocking the Chinese. He was in stitches. Wonder if it was a blackface would he still think it was hilarious? People are generally intelligent and can accept it was a different time, however there will always be the outraged. Amazon Video (I think) still show classic cartoons but have a disclaimer at the start in relation to depictions and stereotypes, leave it at that. It will still stir up the same conversations.
@Daniel O’Connor: You can be damn sure they won’t pull any episodes of “Fr. “ Ted , especially in Ireland as it’s suitably anti Catholic ! No other section of society would have tolerated its insults and caricatures over the past years without a proactive response .
@Ian Breathnach: I wouldn’t be using a single black person’s reaction to single example of racial comedy as a catch all for how black people in general are affected by it. I’m gay and would of course laugh at homophobic jokes but more out of pity or incredulity than agreement. Putting a disclaimer at the start of a show is a better idea… but at the same time it’s a bit like, to use a somewhat obscure analogy, letting somebody scroll through your case of embarrassing old CDs and saying “oh all that 90s pop was just a phase!” or “don’t judge me on all the amateur heavy metal!”… there comes a time when it’s best to just throw it all out and make room for some fresh newness.
@Lingwood: what about the Simpsons, Apu was cancelled because a guy made a you tube video saying it was offensive. But I would say the most lampooned group are the Irish with literally dozens of instances of stereotyping scenes in it. Doesn’t offend me, still a top show. There are people now that watch things looking to be offended, that is the issue.
@Pauline Gallagher: To quote word for word from Braveheart:
Run, and you’ll live… at least a while. And dying in your beds, many years from now, would you be willin’ to trade ALL the days, from this day to that, for one chance, just one chance, to come back here and tell our enemies that they may take our lives, but they’ll never take… OUR Fr TED!
@Thomas Harrington: oh sorry, I haven’t seen the show since quite some time.
However, Basil is always confused and all over the place. It wasn’t about calling all Germans Nazis it was just his incapability to get anything right.
@8-Bit-Relic:
In Spain, when Fawlty Towers was broadcast and dubbed, Manuel became Mexican, as the Spanish stereotype was not recognisable to the Spanish. When he became Mexican, they could laugh at the stereotype. Don’t forget the ‘Oirish’ builder episode. Everyone gets satirized. Basil is a particular type of eccentric Englishman; he couldn’t be anything but English
Think things are going too far at this point. Fawlty towers are classic comedies which are still funny today. What is next. Will we end up like George Orwells 1984 where books are outlawed and any that are found are burned.
I’m white and I’m Irish and I’m really offended by the episode of Fawlty Towers where David Kelly is portrayed as a stupid Irish builder called O’Reilly… NOT !! A bit of clear thinking and calm needs to restored !!
@Gary Culleton: I have not one scintilla of doubt that there are Irish people who would, if they saw it, call for it’s removal… scary stuff. A 6 minute appearance that attained absolute legendary status on both sides of the pond
@Gary Culleton: what about a few episodes of the Simpson’s. There’s some serious stereotypes on there. Not in the least offended but I would say a few of them will be in the firing line. I think Apu is gone anyhow.
@Gerry McHugh: Manning was particularly one sided though. Vulgar without a trace of irony. Jingoistic. Not too many jokes about himself or the English.
We are so PC now. Should we stop showing food commercials because of the millions dying around the world from hunger. The word is just full of hypocrisy, there is so much more evil going on that is ignored because it’s not fashionable.
@Heisen berg1: We’ll be left with winning streak and nothing else, hard to get offended at that unless there are some colours on the wheel you find offensive because of their monetary value.
@Craic_a_tower: ah ffs. I don’t use it myself out of fear of offending. But the people who are supposed to be most offended by that word use it all the time.
That sir, is nuance.
In the case of faulty towers, one of the funniest shows ever made for tv, the joke is that the colonel who said it is a complete idiot.
@Craic_a_tower: The nuisance of using the N word is that it will get you in trouble (and rightly so). The nuance of using the N word in FT is that it sends up the character of the major. There are people like him in the world and it is poking fun at them. FT was of it’s time and you couldn’t make it now without major changes but the jokes were always on the characters.
@Will: Here in Ireland we used to ban books until the 1960s – Joyce, Beckett, Orwell etc all banned. Only Old Moore’s Almanac, the Church catechism, Bible and Peig were allowed! :)
@john doe: Black people are allowed to use the N word… they have the right to take ownership of a word that has been used to oppress them for centuries. White people have lost the right to use that word by their actions. (maybe not you or me but white people in the name of white power have abused black people to the point where certain language is now off limits to all of us for the foreseeable future)
Its getting to be ridiculous now… yet they allow video games and television programmes continue to condone disgusting levels of violence… They fill the spots vacated over recent years by new comedy shows that cant be politically correct.
The comedy value isn’t in what Major Gowen says, it’s that his character says it and that there are people like that. Major Gowen is the joke. I re-watched the scene and it made me feel uncomfortable that he uses the n word, but isn’t that the point, to poke fun at people like him.
I see the world in 20/30years we wont be able to laugh in public or it will be seen as racist by who is looking at us all these comedies are about jokes and laughing i blame the pc brigade and its only going to get a lot worse
@Giles Wolohan: When I see the world in 20/30 years they won’t even care about stuff like this as the full impact of the climate crisis will see tens of millions of climate refugees on the move, wars over access to precious water supplies etc. They’ll envy us for the relatively small stuff that used to trouble us in 2020.
The whole point of that scene is when the Major uses those words, Basil Faulty looks disapprovingly at him, dismisses him, and gets back on with what he is doing. That is the context, and it was correct at the time when some people still used that language.
You may as well pull the whole thing then. That episode is no worse than the racial and xenophobic treatment of Spanish waiters, and don’t get me started with the negative stereotypes of the Irish. I’m outraged that they pulled that episode and not the one portraying the Irish as stupid yet conniving builders. Ffs, the whole thing is a satirical take on British xenophobia
Does nobody understand the meaning of satire? It doesn’t promote racism or celebrate it, shows like Fawlty Towers or the Father Ted episode shine a light on the ridiculousness of racism. Are they going to remove the episode of Fawlty Towers where the Irish builder is depicted as workshy and inept? I mean, come on, where does it end? Where has the world’s sense of humour gone to? Is anyone even actually calling for these things to be removed or is it bandwagoning?
@Fon_Ellard: The Inbetweeners, Little Britain, League of Gentlemen and Mighty Boosh have all been pulled in some way off the internet in the past 2-3 days. This new, sensitive world has no sense of humour because humour is often based on making jokes about others and then having it bounce back on the viewer. I dread this trend of self seriousness.
So now every episode of every comedy ever shown on tv will be scrutinised in detail to see if any offence was caused. Should we as Irish start kicking up then where certain comedians or comedy shows portray the Irish as drunken Irish or as leprechauns or thick ole paddy. Surely this all constitutes as racism towards Irish.
Anyone remember the debate between Monty Python and the Bishops over the film, The Life of Brian? Those bishops didn’t even watch the damn film before condemning it.
Isn’t it funny and strange that it is the left that has taken on the mantle of those small minded bishops and their zeal to cancel or erase anything that offends them.
The mentality is the very same even if they come from opposite ends of the social spectrum.
@Denis White: good article in an English newspaper today. ( a paper I usually call the daily xenophobe , but I read it as it has got good sports coverage) The article was about the slavery in Qatar during stadium builds for the world cups and where many have not got paid for months and 1400 have died during these builds. I have read more on this and it’s strange that a bigger deal is not made about this nations human rights issues and FIFA being complicit in all this. It’s no less shocking than what has gone on in the US and it’s been going on for a long time. Just a by the by, not trying to change the subject.
I hearby proclaim today Day 0 for the TV and Movie World. From this day forth no TV show or movie made prior to June 12th 2020 will be aired for fear that someone will be offended. All new TV shows and Movies will be subject to strict testing by a panel containing at least 1 person from every nation, ethnic background, skin colour and sexual orientation in the world. If I have excluded any grouping from this list I am sorry for offending you.
Oh ffs…The show satirises EVERYONE: German stereotypes, Irish stereotypes and particularly English stereotypes. Basil is the biggest clown in the show. Should we all hide in a bunker (with Trump?)
Media should focus on the person exactly who is complaining about it and help them understand it’s not a political show, it’s a comedy making fun of a racist bigot. This pandering to the perpetually offended is tiring.
@Craic_a_tower: Do you mean the one with the black doctor? I don’t watch TV much but have these on DVD. In that episode the joke is entirely on Basil Faulty. The doctor is the adult in the room.
@Maria Hickey-Fagan: Oh right. I must dig the disks out of the garage and re-watch them. I’d imagine I won’t be the only person doing that after this article.
It is only a word….. it is a racial slur and can e quite offensive…..people should be able to use this word if it is used in the context of debate about its usage.
It is more commonly used by black people and it seems acceptable when one black person calls another black person N_____.
Why is this contradiction allowed….
I understand the historical association of the word in the English language but it is a translation of a Spanish word…
Do these people not hear the same word come from Snoop Dog and samuel l jackson in some films ? Why is it ok in this context and not ok in film and comedy that were recorded decades ago…. the more this word is suppressed the more it will seep up negatively.
This word would have died out in the 1990s as white people gradually ceased using it but it has been kept alive by black people….. they cannot have it both ways….
The word is only wrong to use when it is used to hurt another persons feelings….
It is the film Resovoir Dogs which was shown on TV last night Film 4. I have no problem with it.
This pc world is impossible to navigate thanks to those who jump on each word that they find offensive. The journalists and politicians dont help with the constant promotion of these people and do not exhibit the leadership they should and tell them to cop on. History is history and if anti racist laws were enforced and people educated this would not be a huge hoopla but they the protesters would find something to be offended by. ALL LIVES MATTER should be the call
What about the clearly racist, episode with David Kelly, as the lazy, drunk irish builder who didn’t know what he was doing!! Using the N word is obviously worse for historical reasons but where is the line?
I wonder will ever TV show and movie that slags off the Irish be removed from history. I loved been away from home and having a good laugh at my own expense.
One of my favorite comedies is Parks and Recreation. Leslie Knope makes several misguided remarks to Tom Haverford because of his Indian ethnicity. The comments are in no way racist, she loves Tom. But this will be next. It will be banned. This is insane.
@Pauline Gallagher: a bit like the Indian character i from India in the Big Bang Theory he gives himself a right doing off, and I’ve always questioned it myself….. I’m not even sure the actor is from India or American with Indian heritage….
@Paul O’Sullivan: the jokes in Parks and Rec are so funny, but a little at the expense of his heritage Leslie says: ‘Youre not from here are you?’ ‘No, im from South Carolina’, Leslie says ‘ and you moved there from —’
‘My mothers Uterus!’ Leslie: ‘how did you get the name haverford? ‘i chose it because funny sounding muslim guys dont make it far in politics’ leslie says: ‘um..what about Barack Obama?’ Tom gets annoyed and says, ‘yes if i knew some guy named Barack Obama was going to be elected president of the Unites States i wouldnt have changed it’. Another joke has her referring to him as a little brown pony, which he mutters ‘totally uncalled for’ but its all in such sweet, gentle humour, if its misconstrued as racist, then the protesters are cracckpots.
Maybe we should just set up a country where normal people from any race culture etc. Can go and leave the perpetually offended to ruin the rest of the world. Idiots!
You guys realise this is temporary right? It’s the way the Major describes the West Indian Cricket team…….. the version being removed is the unedited one:
1) It’s not because of the war
2) It’s about repeated use of the N word
3) BBC edited the offending scene in 2013
4) Cleese fully approved of it
5) Netflix & UKTV were airing unedited version
6) Edited version will likely be used in future
To all the white people whining about their right to use the n-word…you can’t. Why don’t you try dropping the n-word the next time you’re with a coloured person and see how it goes for you? A black person can…they are taking ownership of the word. Your experiences do not qualify to use it. Unless you’re born a visible minority in a country your experiences are completely non-transferable. You don’t get it. Although the episode is amusing and I wouldn’t edit it, for balance you should also watch ‘Fire in Babylon’ to see what the West Indians really thought about the British at the time…
@Bountyop: it is a word I can use it if I want in an academic discussion if I want….I can use it as long as I am not using it to insult a black person….
@Paul O’Sullivan: You go on and use it then in your ‘acadaemic’ discussion and see how it goes for you…it sounds quite petulant when you whine, ‘I can use if I want’. Good luck with your acadaemic discussion and publication
@Bountyop: if you are not up to the discussion you should leave now, but we will be discussing issues that some people will find offence, but we hope you can internally overcome the subject matter and see it for what it is intellectual conversation…. what is wrong with adopting this principal….. ??
Sinn Féin says Verona Murphy has until end of the week to resign or face a no confidence motion
38 mins ago
Paris
Woman tells court she was groped three times by French actor Gerard Depardieu
8 mins ago
speaking time row
Michael Lowry says he was telling Paul Murphy 'to sit down with my fingers'
25 Mar
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say