You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gerry Adams got a hell of a grilling on this man's radio show this morning

Neil Prendeville fired some tough questions at the Sinn Féin leader, and his approach divided listeners.

prend1 Red FM Red FM

GERRY ADAMS WAS subjected to a robust interview by veteran Cork radio host Neil Prendeville this morning, with the Red FM presenter essentially throwing the kitchen sink at the Sinn Féin leader as he grilled him on his past and on his party’s current policies.

The presenter raised controversy after controversy over a 40 minute phone interview, as he pressed the Louth TD on his party’s ‘Gerry problem’ – asking whether it would be better for his colleagues if he stepped down from his leadership role.

Everything from the killing of Jean McConville and his alleged membership of the IRA to Sinn Féin’s handling of the Mairia Cahill case was brought up.

It’s the second time in less than a week that Prendeville has conducted a robust interview with a party leader. On Friday, he had a number of tense exchanges with Taoiseach Enda Kenny:

Cork's RedFM / YouTube

Towards the end of the interview, the broadcaster told Kenny and listeners:

Taoiseach, I’ve been put under fierce pressure by your people. They’re all standing behind me waving their hands and telling me to stop.

17/9/2015 Gerry Adams Sam Boal Sam Boal

Policy 

In his interview with Adams this morning, Prendeville also attempted to highlight the perception that the Sinn Féin leader is often sketchy on detail by repeatedly asking specific questions about areas like pensions and PRSI.

The conversation became heated as the host pressed the Sinn Féin leader on the sexual assaults carried out by his brother Liam Adams against his daughter Áine, the TD’s niece. The questioning focused on the timeline of events, and when Gerry had first known of the abuse…

Adams: There were a number of inquiries into all of these issues. And whatever my political opponents might want to make of this, the outcome of all of those inquiries was that I did nothing wrong. And God forbid, Neil, that you find an abuse situation in your own home. I just wish you well in trying to deal with it.

Prendeville: No I understand that, and it’s wrong of you to personalise it with me Gerry.
Adams: You’re personalising it with me.
Prendeville: I’m not, I’m talking about something that was on the record.
Adams: You’re talking about something that’s a deeply wounding family situation for all involved.
Prendeville: I understand that and there’s no point trying to turn it around and trying to make me the enemy, I’m just dealing with things that you’ve taken fire for.
Adams: I’m answering the question Neil don’t be so… You expect me to sit here thick-skinned listening to all of this and when I say I wish you well if unfortunately you have to deal with one of these situations, you get ultra-sensitive.
Prendeville: No I’m not, I’m just saying you’re personalising it against me.
Adams: And you’re not?
Prendeville: You’re the one that’s running for government.

Earlier in the interview, Prendeville had referred to Adams’ tenure as leader as Sinn Féin as “almost like a dictatorship” asking “is it ego that keeps you there?”.

Adams, before talking up the team he had build up around him, responded:

This isn’t really about me because if I’d any sense I’d go get a life.

He said he would remain in charge as long as his party wanted him to, and that he would place his name before his colleagues again at their next Ard Fheis in April.

Policy details 

Quizzing the Sinn Féin leader on policy details, he attempted to pin Adams down on issues like pensions and the minimum wage.

“Fianna Fáil will increase the state pension by €30 over five years. Will you match or better that?” Prendeville asked.

Pressed several times to answer with specifics Adams said ”we will do our very, very best to relieve the burden on elderly people”.

“You don’t have a figure though,” the host responded, cutting him off.

Asked about the minimum wage, Adams said his party would increase it before admonishing the presenter for his characterisation of the election, insisting that people are “not looking at this as if this is a horse race”.  

IRA membership 

When Micheál Martin’s comment to the Irish Independent that “of course” Adams was in the IRA was brought up, the Sinn Féin TD responded:

Well why doesn’t he go to the Garda Síochána and report me?

As the interview came to a close the presenter again grilled his guest on policy specifics, this time regarding business – with Adams arguing that Sinn Féin intended to introduce a suite of measures and insisting it was inappropriate to focus on just one.

Prendeville: Are you going to double PRSI for SMEs?
Adams: We are going to bring in a cocktail of measures – we’re going to get rid of upwards-only rents…
Prendeville: I didn’t ask you about upward-only rents I asked you about doubling…
Adams: Neil, please.
Prendeville: No you please, I asked you about…
Adams: Don’t be combative just for the sake of it.
Prendeville: I’m not being combative. I asked you are you going to double employers’ PRSI for SMEs and you went on about upward-only rents.

Allowed to answer, Adams said the party was “looking at this in the round”. He insisted that small and medium enterprises would be better off under Sinn Féin, referring to the current tax system as “very unfair and unequal”.

The interview generated a huge response online, with some praising Prendeville for his tough questioning and others maintaining Adams performed well under pressure.

Despite the fireworks, the exchange ended in a civil manner.

Read: RTÉ will NOT be forced to let the Green’s into tonight’s leaders debate

Read: Enda: I’ve already ruled out Fianna Fáil 10 times – and I’m doing it again

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

140 Comments
    Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jan 13th 2015, 9:41 PM

The Irish politician is a social hoor…at the right price they’d jump in bed with anyone.

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Jan 14th 2015, 12:18 AM

And we all know who ends up getting screwed.

Mute Liam Dempsey
    Favourite Liam Dempsey
    Jan 14th 2015, 7:26 AM

What are we going do,put the same lot in again what ever way you want to mix them FG.LAB.FF.SF.PBP.INDS.and so on.Fair dues to the people who want to start a new party it will make it interesting, better to light a candle than cursing the darkness.

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Jan 14th 2015, 11:24 AM
    Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:53 PM

Both Lucinda’s ( Party A) and Shane’s (Party B) are both straight down the middle in terms of policy (of which neither has yet). Why can they all not join forces to make one super party. I mean they will broadly represent the same people so why not merge ? I could see a party with Ross, Donnelly, Hobbs, Creighton, Ming coming together to form a party and they would elect one leader. This party would also try to remain firm ally’s of the Independents. That is the way forward and I hope politics and policy don’t get in the way of making it happen.

Jan 13th 2015, 9:34 PM

Who cares to be honest once they slither in through the gates in Leinster house they all become the same regardless of the label they wore out side the gates.

Mute Charles J. Ahern
    Favourite Charles J. Ahern
    Jan 13th 2015, 10:39 PM

Well, why don’t you run for election and change all that?!

Mute Luke McDermott
    Favourite Luke McDermott
    Jan 13th 2015, 11:24 PM

Charles J. Ahern. Isn’t it true that you fought in the war of independence and signed off on the E-voting machines, all the while carrying on an affair with Terry Keane?

Mute Amused Bystander
    Favourite Amused Bystander
    Jan 14th 2015, 12:27 AM

Huh?

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 14th 2015, 11:26 AM

Because Charles that would involve doing something, most people would rather moan.

Mute One Human Being
    Favourite One Human Being
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:41 PM
    Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:48 PM

Charles, if you expect every citizen who has an opinion on anything to go into politics, who do you propose should do the hundreds of thousands of normal jobs that will then be left vacant?

Mute v39e84kK
    Favourite v39e84kK
    Jan 14th 2015, 6:34 PM

‘well why don’t you the world’ is the most overused trite defense imaginable. Should we be praising Hitler? ‘sure at least he tried some new policies’

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jan 13th 2015, 9:40 PM

They’re all hoors who’d sell their grannies to a harem for power. When push comes to shove, the orgy will happen.

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    Jan 13th 2015, 10:41 PM

All too true Daisy. As soon as they’re within striking distance of a chance of power and perks they’ll all be conveniently forgetting what they said before the election

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jan 14th 2015, 12:00 AM

The joke is that leadership of this country is not actually power.
    I guess you have to get elected before you fully realise that.

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Jan 13th 2015, 9:50 PM

Even the “independents” that are in the Dáil right now are under the illusion that they will be the people re-elected, and are already discussing who they might ally with..
    well there is news for all of you so called “independents that sat with closed mouths during 2014 – Is not only the 3 main parties that have to worry about their seats, it is quite a lot of you parasites as well.
    the Audacity of it! – you think that because you were “independent” somehow exonerates you from the last shower of clowns we have had for nigh on 30 years?
    Your silence on your watch might well get you into trouble, Beware of the new savvy Irish voter with the power of non sponsored state media,
    I think this next election will bring home a lot of home truths for both big parties and independents alike..
    let the blood letting begin…

Mute Mark Oliver Mitchell
    Favourite Mark Oliver Mitchell
    Jan 13th 2015, 9:32 PM

Id bet Joan will think… “that’s an awful expensive phone he has”

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Jan 13th 2015, 10:03 PM

Are still on xmas holidays ? They can’t wait to get back to fill in there expenses forms !

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Jan 13th 2015, 9:35 PM

I wouldn’t get into bed with Mary Lou (in the political sense)

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 14th 2015, 11:28 AM

Nor the physical sense.

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Jan 14th 2015, 11:35 AM

I’m assexual ,too

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Jan 13th 2015, 9:53 PM

For once I agree with Michael Healy r…they are presumptions

Mute Kevin Hall
    Favourite Kevin Hall
    Jan 15th 2015, 4:28 PM

Healy-Rae is everything wrong with irish politics. A nothing person, only in the Dáil because his father was. How the people of Kerry keep electing him I’ll never know. Then again, I’m from North tipp, and we all know the reptile that keeps getting re-elected there.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 13th 2015, 10:27 PM

Labour have decided to jump into bed with the P45′s.

Jan 13th 2015, 11:14 PM

I have no time for anything to do with Michael Healy-Rae …

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Jan 13th 2015, 10:40 PM

A lot off TD’s won’t have political employment next year particularly FG and that minor party (I can’t use their name) as they are an insult to working people..

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 13th 2015, 10:54 PM

Define “working people”!

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 14th 2015, 11:28 AM

Working people is an oxymoron: they don’t work, never worked and have no intention of working.

Mute Telbar Comuta
    Favourite Telbar Comuta
    Jan 13th 2015, 10:15 PM

I don’t really buy the idea that it’s presumptuous because they don’t know if they’ll be reelected. Isn’t the point that they put themselves to the electorate as a group who might actually get into government as a group? This will have a bearing on whether or not people vote for them.

Jan 13th 2015, 11:12 PM

The fact about ANY T.D. in my view is that they will always do what the party tells them and they do this in the hope of becoming a minister and the reason comes down to money in my view, an over paid wage and a ridiculous pension.

Mute James Keane
    Favourite James Keane
    Jan 14th 2015, 12:54 PM

Donnelly is the most credible and realistic independant TD there is. This is a significant blow to Ross et al.

I just hope Donnelly doesn’t fold and join the plebs in FF, FG or SF. He is far too good to be stuck with those clowns.

Mute William Murphy
    Favourite William Murphy
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:35 PM

James I could not agree with you more,with ref to next election, surly we now have a situation where ” The Devil you don ‘t know is better then the devil you do know” We know what we have had over the decades, so it is worth taking a chance, after all could a collection of independents do any more damage then the main stream?

The damage is already done, so we have nothing to lose.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Jan 13th 2015, 10:16 PM

I was about to launch my new True Republican party, but given the negativity on here, it might be better I don’t. It seems like we’re all better off just watching other people step up.

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 14th 2015, 11:29 AM

Comrade, Sinn Fein are the only true republicans.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Jan 14th 2015, 12:26 PM

Not sure where Donnelly’s coming from.Catherine Murphy says the new alliance is centre right and that’s where I would have put him.
    It annoys me when people make statements and then don’t elaborate. Why won’t you be joining Stephen, what’s the deal breaker? It’ll give the electorate some perspective.

Mute Frances Faller
    Favourite Frances Faller
    Jan 14th 2015, 11:16 AM

One thing all politicians have in common is expenses so if they form the expenses party then they will get plenty volunteers.

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    Jan 14th 2015, 11:17 AM

I find myself agreeing with a Healy-Rae.

This disturbs me.

Mute Stephen Gregg
    Favourite Stephen Gregg
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:32 PM

A National Government is the better option, one TD, one vote open and transparent so that the people who voted for them can judge them on their record. This forces the elected to stick by their promises more closely.

I get sick to my stomach watching the ‘Opposition’ (Fianna Fail) give out about the state of the health system when it’s Michael Martin we have to thank for the HSE and lest we not forget the 64billion white elephant on our shoulders.

Mute John Farrant
    Favourite John Farrant
    Jan 13th 2015, 11:03 PM

Running scared

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:18 PM

‘Radical’ politics in Ireland = the same old faces changing the whip system a bit.

Mute Aindriú de Domhain
    Favourite Aindriú de Domhain
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:33 PM

Here we go, bickering among the independents. Get it together guys, quit with the petty spats, or you’ll look like a joke by the next election.

Mute James Brophy
    Favourite James Brophy
    Jan 14th 2015, 11:10 AM

Great photo of Stephen Donnelly and Shane Ross at the start of the article.

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:45 PM

And so does the electorate not more of the same cronies,spouting crap,we want change,but the right kind of change,and of course abolish Irish Water is first thing on the menu

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Jan 13th 2015, 10:24 PM

At first glance of the thumbnail pic I thought it was Angus young.
    Said crap, gigs off! !!

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:34 PM

Some people are just not cut out for the possibility of governing, and to be put in a position where they would actually have to take decisions and make choices! They would prefer to be hurlers on the ditch, forever.

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:01 PM

Donnelly needs to link up with the Trots and get them to join in with Shane Ross, Lucinda, and the rest in a proper policy led alternative based on honesty and integrity in politics to give to give us a fresh coherent start, making a complete break with the past. We need ideas though for a name for the new outfit.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:28 PM

Why would you link Creighton with honesty and integrity? She’s done nothing but prevaricate since she left FG.

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Jan 14th 2015, 8:40 PM

That’s not fair. Lucinda has only had 18 months so far to figure out her policy positions. It will take her at least another year to reach agreement with all the other independents never mind having to think up a name for the party.

Rome wasn’t built in a day.

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Jan 14th 2015, 9:15 PM

Booooooorrrrrrriiiiiiiiinnnnnnngggggg……..