You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

"The Irish were sold as slaves" - Gerry Adams has spoken once again about THAT tweet

Adams caused uproar for posting a racially-charged tweet on Sunday night while watching Django Unchained.

23/04/2016 Sinn Fein Ard Fheis 2016 DAY 2. Picture sam boal sam boal

SINN FÉIN PRESIDENT Gerry Adams has spoken once more regarding the controversy surrounding a tweet he sent last Sunday evening while watching Quentin Tarantino movie Django Unchained.

Adams had, in his own words, been moved by the struggle of the eponymous civil war-era slave and had posted a tweet intended he says to draw parallels between the character’s struggle and that of the Catholic Irish in Northern Ireland during the Troubles and beyond.

However, he did so by using the ‘n’ word, and has been fighting a media battle on all fronts ever since.

Speaking today to The Ryan Tubridy Show on RTÉ Radio, Adams admitted that he had made his point “clumsily and inappropriately”, but that he stood by the “political point” he had been trying to make.

Tweet by @Gerry Adams Gerry Adams / Twitter Gerry Adams / Twitter / Twitter

“I had been canvassing (for the MLA elections) in Ballymurphy for an hour and a half. I’m not in Ballymurphy much at present, I was meeting a lot of people I hadn’t seen in a long time, and this brought back a background of memories of what happened there,” he said.

That evening I was babysitting. I don’t have Netflix myself, so I switched it on and came up with this movie, Django, which is very powerful and very violent. And that is the background to the tweet and the use of the ‘n’ word.
I was trying to make a political point, I was talking about my own community of Ballymurphy, as could be seen when I used the phrase ‘uppity Fenian’.

Adams repeated an apology for his use of the word, saying to do so was “silly and stupid”.

The whole thing was to make a political point, if I had left that word out would the tweet have gotten any attention?
I was paralleling the experiences of the Irish, not just in recent times but through the penal days when the Irish were sold as slaves, through the Cromwellian period.

Mandela

Adams’ comments regarding the Irish being sold as slaves are a reiteration of a claim he made on Sunday saying “50,000 Irish men and women were shipped as slaves to Barbados between 1652 and 1659″.

That claim was subsequently rejected by historian and slavery expert Liam Hogan who told TheJournal.ie that the figure of 50,000 is wrong and that the most credible estimates were 10,000 as indentured servants at most.

“The exploitation and dehumanisation of African people by Europeans in the Americas has no analogy in Irish history and this fact should be respected,” said Hogan.

Today, Adams was questioned about his relationship with Nelson Mandela, for whom he served as pallbearer, and asked whether or not the South African leader would have understood his tweet in the context in which it was used.

“Of course he would understand,” he replied.

He was hugely loyal. He was loyal to us in Sinn Féin because we were part of the anti-apartheid struggle. That’s why he refused to condemn armed struggle.

The Sinn Féin leader acknowledged that he has no issue with “anyone who was genuinely offended” by his tweet.

There are also those who are hostile to me and Sinn Féin who seize upon anything, and that’s my fault because I have given them an excuse.

Adams did admit that given the situation to live through again he would not have sent his infamous tweet.

“I certainly wouldn’t do it again,” he said.

I may have tweeted having seen such a powerful film, but I probably would have tweeted something else.

RTÉ Radio 1 / SoundCloud

Read: Body of newborn baby found at Bray recycling facility

Read: ‘I never want to go back there again’: Journalist Olivia O’Leary on her struggle with depression

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

258 Comments
    Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    May 4th 2016, 2:45 PM

get that man a JCB, it will make the diffing easier.

Mute Do the Bort man
    May 4th 2016, 2:48 PM

*digging, dam phone screen!

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Favourite Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 3:04 PM

What digging? He has apologies for using a politically incorrect term. Are we too mean to accept it? Or is the allegation that he is in fact racist, despite perhaps spending a lifetime fighting racism? To quote the Guardian newspaper on this story: “To judge Adams, who has a life’s work of internationalism and antiracist solidarity, by a single tweet borders on the grotesque.”

See 67 more replies ▾
    Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    May 4th 2016, 3:06 PM

Djorry – yet again – has shown himself as a clown, with mental issues…

Mute gus sheridan
    Favourite gus sheridan
    May 4th 2016, 3:08 PM

Do the Bort government mouthpiece I told you before, just go away ….dont forget to leave a place for your beloved racist joke teller Kenny in that hole!

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Favourite tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 3:10 PM

did you read the Washington post article on baron adams tyrone brit- ouch :D

Mute Diarmuid Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Lenihan
    May 4th 2016, 3:17 PM

No Tommy and I’d say not many on here did. You really need to find a new hobby other than trawling the Internet for things Jerry might or might not have said.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    May 4th 2016, 3:23 PM

“are we supposed to excuse this disgusting behaviour from an elected representative?”

Well you’ve seemed to excuse it in your beloved taoiseach, Difference being he used the phrase as part of a witty anecdote.

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    May 4th 2016, 3:26 PM

Witty anecdote! You getting dementia too, Jammin?

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    May 4th 2016, 3:28 PM

The Irish were more so indentured servants

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    May 4th 2016, 3:29 PM

Not a NCB just a bigger shovel .

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    May 4th 2016, 3:30 PM

Might want to switch on your sarcasm detector there ‘ger’……

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    May 4th 2016, 3:36 PM

Ger, you are obsessed with SF, every single article on here you tend to to link it to Sinn Fein, it’s getting a bit boring at this stage.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 3:38 PM

mask slips yet again on baron adams

Mute Do the Bort man
    May 4th 2016, 3:51 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael, he is digging because it happened on Monday, and the only reason is still be talked about in the media on Wednesday, is because Gerry keeps bringing it up.
    @gus sheridan, because I don’t like SF, I’m a government mouth piece? And no, I’ll stay around as long as I want :)

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    May 4th 2016, 3:58 PM

Ger and Tommy, 2 troll fools of the highest order. Say they hate Gerry and Sinn Fein yet they write the most comments on their articles. They recycle dull lines over and over again hoping that people respond so their tired lives are somehow improved with social contact, even if negative. Lads, don’t worry it’ll get better, eventually when you grow out of this phase you might realise that trying to be constantly outraged by a political party is a pointless way to spend your life.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    May 4th 2016, 4:01 PM

“the only reason is still be talked about in the media on Wednesday, is because Gerry keeps bringing it up.

Now you’re just being silly bort man

He was being interviewed by Ryan Tubridy on the subject. How is this Adams ‘bringing it up’ when its tubridy conducting an interview on the subject?

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    May 4th 2016, 4:02 PM

For connolly stop stating facts, that’s not how this works here

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 4:05 PM

@Bort
    And if he said nothing more beyond his initial apology and explanation, he’d be giving free reign to an all too willing press to hammer him. As far as I can see, the blame does not lie with Adams for continuing to talk about it, but with those who continue to cynically use the opportunity to label as a racist a man who has been perhaps the most vocal anti-racism voice in Irish politics in living memory. Also worth remembering that his comments are being used to beat him in the six counties by those trying to make hay ahead of tomorrow’s election. Were the tweet ‘tweeted’ next week, those same people hammering him wouldn’t be quite so energetic. So he is hardly going to sit back and let them at it.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 4:09 PM

Shinnerbots out defending the indefensible yet again. internment would be a good place to start with dealing with racism, would be like a trip down memory lane for the baron

Mute rory conway
    Favourite rory conway
    May 4th 2016, 4:13 PM

He used the word ” n*****r “. He and he alone. Doesn’t matter who is interviewing him . He called all this on himself. He was the person who used the awful , racist word.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    May 4th 2016, 4:18 PM

Oh aren’t you just so precious rory. Words are nothing without their context.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 4:20 PM

if the baron had an ounce of decency he would immediately resign

Mute Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Favourite Vladimir Vasyectomy
    May 4th 2016, 4:23 PM

Gerry, – don’t worry about it, – haters gonna hate.
    Anyway, Enda Kenny was far more out of line with this, – http://www.theguardian.com/uk/2002/sep/15/world.race

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 4:25 PM

“Gerry, – don’t worry about it, – haters gonna hate.”

you do understand irony right :D

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 4:29 PM

are these vile comments covered under british law regarding hate speech? squeeky bum time for the baron

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    May 4th 2016, 4:30 PM

“Let he who is without sin cast the first stone”….

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    May 4th 2016, 4:32 PM

One use..of one word..makes one a Racist..? Im f-ucked so…

Mute socrates
    Favourite socrates
    May 4th 2016, 4:38 PM

No they weren’t, might want to take journal articles with a pinch of salt, as I’m assuming you got that phrase from one of their “opinion pieces”

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 4:39 PM

lets hope the british authorities investigate baron adams disgraceful comments. didnt he label half the community in his home country a shower of b******s recently too?

Mute simon
    Favourite simon

Funny reading all the outrage from these poor sensitive liberal guardians lol

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    May 4th 2016, 4:41 PM

Jesus Tommy, are you still on here spouting the same old drivel again. Does your mam not have any chores for you to do during the school holidays?

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    May 4th 2016, 4:57 PM

Caused uproar!! Yeah because it was a bank holiday and the media filled some space while putting Adams down! Mountain molehill crap again from a weak media.

Mute Dalian Martin
    Favourite Dalian Martin
    May 4th 2016, 4:57 PM

In all fairness, Comparing two things doesn’t mean somebody is saying they are the same. He was saying how both of them have been mistreated by the hand of another people. (This is like people being all politically correct and saying that GA thinks he’s the Irish equivalent of Nelson Mandela, even though he’s said many times before that he actually looks Up to him and regards Mandela as his personal hero.)

It was obviously a Wrong/foolish thing to say, but if he doesn’t deal with it Conclusively Now while it’s being brought up in the public eye, it will mean it’s more likely to be brought up again (and inevitably/naturally embellished) in the future e.g during debates, interviews, People’s day to day Conversations with one another etc
    - i.e he would ultimately be digging a much bigger hole if he doesn’t deal with it now.
    Damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2016/may/04/racism-gerry-adams-n-word-fetishise-bloopers-cumberbatch

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 4:59 PM

I think if recent years have taught us anything, and in particular the presidential election campaign of Martin McGuinness, it’s that the people of the south could learn an awful, awful lot from the six counties about moving on. The level of dragging up the past in relation to SF that goes on in elections in the south is nauseating. It’s at a level unionist politicians haven’t sunk to for at least the past ten years.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 4:59 PM

Above comment in response to James

Mute Stephen Duffy
    Favourite Stephen Duffy
    May 4th 2016, 5:01 PM

He really is making a fool of himself. Despite his language I don’t believe for one second that he’s racist but what he’s said since the incident is just downright embarrassing..

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    May 4th 2016, 5:04 PM

What ever happened to Diurmud?

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    May 4th 2016, 5:05 PM

The Irish were sold into indentured servitude in recent centuries but as the historian in the article states, in Cromwellian times, the Irish were captured for slavery in large numbers.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 5:07 PM

where do peace walls in that part of the UK fit with ‘moving on’ tyrone brit?

Mute Damien
    Favourite Damien
    May 4th 2016, 5:14 PM

Not true Shawn, Irish people where indeed sold for less than black people, this doesn’t take away from the fact black people where treated horrifically, but I suggest you read white cargo, the Irish where the first imported slaves to the Americas, Cromwell seen to this.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    May 4th 2016, 5:16 PM

Gerry did apologise and in my own opinion I don’t believe he is a racist and I do believe this story is being blown out of proportion.
    However, the reason it is is due to Gerry’s track record and his association with the IRA and his refusal to apologies or condone much more serious matters. People are lynching him because of his past and using this as an excuse

Mute tuigim
    Favourite tuigim
    May 4th 2016, 5:36 PM

He is very ill-informed here and offends without understanding the offence and that’s a problem.
    We all have a lot to learn but at this stage in history Sinn Féin needs a leader who understands global issues much better. The centerary of 1916, the world watching, Brexit in the news: it’s time for clarity, boldness, and credibility.
    Ní leor bheith ag caint ‘clumsily and inappropriately.’ Níos mó damáiste sa fhreagra aige thuas. Déan an rud ceart. Tabhair seans anois do dhuine nua, Gerry. Seo an t-am.

Mute tuigim
    Favourite tuigim
    May 4th 2016, 5:40 PM

Correction: centenary gml

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    May 4th 2016, 5:42 PM

Not a big story really, he probably had a glass too much and woke up in a hole with a shovel beside him.

Mute Seán Marlow
    Favourite Seán Marlow
    May 4th 2016, 5:49 PM
    Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 5:57 PM

but baron adams was no there representing the irish people, he would firstly have to be irish to do that.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    May 4th 2016, 6:35 PM

Tyrone, I thought that it was Sinn Fein living in the past. They even have a 1916 exhibition in Dublin to try and brainwash tourists of their bogus claims about their involvement in the rising.

Mute Do the Bort man
    May 4th 2016, 7:13 PM

@For Connolly, being silly? No, Gerry is being silly. Correct, he was asked about it on the radio, so why not respond with something like “I have retracted my tweet, as it caused offence to many people, which was not my intentions at all. I would again like to offer my sincere apologies to anybody that may have been offended by my remarks.” and leave it at that, there is no more new information there, and the media move on. However, saying Irish people were treated like slaves just adds fuel to the fire, and its not back in the media for at least another day.

Mute Do the Bort man
    May 4th 2016, 7:14 PM

*now back in the media

Mute Fintin Stack
    Favourite Fintin Stack
    May 4th 2016, 8:25 PM

@ForConnolly, I’ll tell you what…. why dont you pop into Dublin City Centre tomorrow and call out the word n#$ger on Grafton/Henry/O’ Connell St… If anyone rushes over to give you a slap, you can be rest assured that your context will safe your ass…..

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 8:54 PM

@Fintan

Except Adams didn’t stand in the middle of the street and shout “n*****”. He used the word in a historical context. As countless people do. Is Roddy Doyle a racist for saying “the Irish are the n*****s of Europe?”

Mute Fintin Stack
    Favourite Fintin Stack
    May 4th 2016, 8:58 PM

@Tir, He only broadcasted it to the whole world via Twitter…. And Roddy Doyle never said that. Stop making stuff up….

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 9:12 PM

He didn’t just say “n*****” though. He used the term in a historical context. If you can’t see the difference, you are hardly qualified to be allowed comment. And Roddy Doyle did say that in his writing of “The Committments”. He was later asked about it in an interview on May 12th 1997, and remarked: “There is also a certain truth as Ireland, and all its members, represents a country that was a colony and it shares many worlds history (like Africa, Latin America). So Ireland never quite fits the European patterns: Ireland is different, is darker and the experience of a lot of Irish people who emigrated in the 19th century to America and late in the 20th century to other places was just to do work for the least pay. Overcoming the legacy of colonisation and becoming independent gives the idea that you are second wage, that you are a n*****. But primarily it is a joke, primarily there is also the intention to shock respectable people, who hate the idea that they, as Irish people, are n*****”. So is Roddy Doyle a racist?

Mute Fintin Stack
    Favourite Fintin Stack
    May 4th 2016, 9:16 PM

The word was never used in the movie! But to be honest Tir, I think you are a massive racist and a pox on our country!

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 9:28 PM

It was used in the book, written by Roddy Doyle: http://tinyurl.com/hkteexv And I just provided you with the quote where Doyle used the word in an interview. So is Roddy Doyle a racist?

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 9:32 PM

your cult leader would be so proud of you tyrone brit. defend, deflect but neer dead with the issue.

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    May 4th 2016, 9:42 PM

Tommy, link I thought you could use. http://www.amazon.com/Oxford-Dictionary-English-Angus-Stevenson/dp/0199571120. Anyway my main point is that while you feign to be offended, you spout ‘go back to your own country’ etc which is incorrect and ignorant. Adams is a TD and leader of the 3rd largest party in the Republic of Ireland. We all live on the island of Ireland, to be reunited within the next 25 years. Enda Kenny said the exact same word, links were provided but no response. Gerry owned it, apologised and explained the context then reiterated he was incorrect in using the word even in the context.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 9:50 PM

and then it will be another 25 year and another 25, meanwhile SF administer british rule in the part of the UK. and you wonder why everyone laughs at you clowns :D

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 9:58 PM

lol Gone all quiet “Fintin”? Got your arse handed to you and you’ve gone into hiding?

Don’t feel bad. Anyone who thinks there’s an ‘i’ in the name “Fintan” don’t have much brainpower to work with. Not your fault.

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    May 4th 2016, 10:03 PM

Classic Tommy, miss the salient point of the comment and focus on something you can try and get a rise from. While you might disagree, if our country didn’t have to deal with subjugated emasculated fools like yourself, we would have demanded our borrowed 6 counties back by now.

Mute Fintin Stack
    Favourite Fintin Stack
    May 4th 2016, 10:04 PM

Thats Father Stack to you boy! Confess to your racism and the lord may save your soul.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 10:08 PM

Nah it can’t be. Fr Stack’s first name is “Fintan”, not “Fintin”.

Mute Fintin Stack
    Favourite Fintin Stack
    May 4th 2016, 10:16 PM

Thats no way to talk to a priest! So much anger and aggression…. soo sad to see. Bless your cotton socks my lad. Ill have a with the Almighty to see if he can get Lifestyle to have a sale on Celtic jerseys (60% off ). That ok?

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 10:21 PM

i am very happy that ever shinner alive will die without a united ireland, that is just beautiful karma :)

Mute Do the Bort man
    May 4th 2016, 11:08 PM

” Anyone who thinks there’s an ‘i’ in the name “Fintan” don’t have much brainpower to work with”

What is the second letter in the word?

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    May 4th 2016, 11:09 PM

I am very happy that you are living on Irish soil

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    May 4th 2016, 11:11 PM

Come on Bort, poorly phrased but you know what he mean’t

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 11:52 PM

tyrone brit you are a gift that keeps on giving :D

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    May 5th 2016, 9:17 AM

Read the book ” to hell or Barbadas”

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    May 4th 2016, 2:45 PM

Just admit you f’d up Jerry, not that he ever admits to anything

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd

He said it was silly and stupid and that he wouldn’t do it again. Does he literally have to say I f’d up?

Mute Do the Bort man
    May 4th 2016, 2:53 PM

he should just stop talking about it, and let it blow over. The media are only reporting it because he keeps talking about it.

Mute Darren Murphy
    Favourite Darren Murphy
    May 4th 2016, 3:01 PM

‘Gerry

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    May 4th 2016, 3:06 PM

In fairness, he is being asked the questions by radio broadcasters. If he declines interviews it would be painted as him running away and not taking responsibility for what he said. Damned if you do…

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 3:07 PM

another day another idiotic comment from baron adams

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Favourite Andrew Corcoran
    May 4th 2016, 4:08 PM

Another day, same idiotic rhetoric from Vol. McDonagh :)

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    May 4th 2016, 4:34 PM

Jerry

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    May 4th 2016, 3:09 PM

He really, really needs to let this go. Clumsy use of language – should be lesson learned and move on. Just shut up about it.

The real story is least now we know what he has been doing for the last 9 weeks.

Absolutely nothing.

Babysitting.

Netflix.

Canvassing in a different jurisdiction.

Boring himself so stupid that he tweets racist obscenities (with the best intentions of course).

How much has he been paid by our state for the last 9 weeks to sit around watching films, not bothering to even try to form a Government?

Pathetic.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 3:16 PM

He had been working on the homelessness crisis above all other issues, Brinster. But don’t let the truth get in the way of a good yarn. In fact, a few weeks after the election, TD’s gathered in the Dáil and had a vote as to whether they ought to give themselves an extra 8 days off on holidays. SF, under Adams direction, were the only party to oppose this, and argued instead that the Dáil should be using the time to establish a Housing and Homelessness committee. That proposal had to be shelved for a full week mid-crisis, as the other TDs felt 8 days holiday were more important.

As for your “different jurisdiction” jibe, sorry to report to a freestate gombeen like yourself, but it’s all the same country.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 3:18 PM

can we not just kick that foreigner out of the country?

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings

The same country? You are mad tir…

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    May 4th 2016, 3:56 PM

Of it’s all the same country, then aren’t you a free stater gombeen too?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 4:08 PM

No, Jason. Free Statism is a mentality, not a label that fits everyone in Ireland. It’s a warped mentality of partitionism, arrogance, disloyalty to ones own and sheep-like political views and voting activity.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 4:11 PM

sometimes is best to just laugh at the knuckle dragging shinnerbots :D

tyrone brit giving history lessons and cant even read a map… tragic

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 4th 2016, 4:26 PM

Tommy, that’s more than a bit racist. Are you applying that to all foreigners?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    May 4th 2016, 5:02 PM

“tyrone brit giving history lessons and cant even read a map… tragic”

…says tommy…who think Adams needs a passport to travel to the Dáil from Co Louth.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 5:08 PM

that will be dependent on the brexit vote Al ;)

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    May 4th 2016, 5:26 PM

Why tommy…is Louth part of the UK now?

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 5:36 PM

no but belfast is :D

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    May 4th 2016, 6:41 PM

Tell us Tyrone how many MP,s will SF be sending to Westminster after the elections……

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    May 4th 2016, 7:56 PM

Tir it’s the only time I have ever agreed with you and disagreed with Tommy. There is no “free state” , it’s an scangers term term used by dissidents, ra heads, partionists and loyalists and others who want to seperate out our 2 juristicions. We have a republic and we have the north but its still a 32 county island nation that I hope will be as one at some stage. We live in a republic not a free state.

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    May 4th 2016, 7:58 PM

Tommy any northener has as much a part to play in our country as you do whether they ate from Wexford or Tyrone. Its called dual citizenship!

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 8:53 PM

citezen would have vote, people from the UK part of this island, rightly have no say in the affairs of this country. two countries, one island

Mute UndieGrundy
    Favourite UndieGrundy
    May 4th 2016, 2:47 PM

The gift that keeps on giving. He just doesn’t know when to shut up. He’s going to end his career if this keeps up. The Washington Post ran a scathing headline and account of him.

Gerry Mandela strikes again. The black IRA human rights leader. Is it cos youse black Gerry?

Mute Danny Nash
    Favourite Danny Nash
    May 4th 2016, 2:54 PM

I genuinely think the guy is losing the plot very slowly. Goes to show that votes rule the roost and you can be a complete muppet ala the boys in Kerry, Mick Wallace, Ming Fla etc

Mute Sciathán Ceart
    Favourite Sciathán Ceart
    May 4th 2016, 2:57 PM

This is what early onset dementia looks like.

Mute joe o hare
    Favourite joe o hare
    May 4th 2016, 5:30 PM

True look at the number of halfwits who still vote f.f and f.g/uvf after the number of times they have bent the ordinary decent people of Ireland over and shafted them. Brain washed halfwits.

Mute joe o hare
    Favourite joe o hare
    May 4th 2016, 5:33 PM

Don’t f.g/uvf still have links with the kkk and other far right groups, sure wasn’t Michael noonan that far up Donald trumps hole he got lost.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 5:38 PM

noted joe. but does any of that gibberish change what baron adams said?

Mute Philip foster
    Favourite Philip foster
    May 4th 2016, 2:46 PM

ADAMS IS 100% correct the English TYRANY and treated Irish Catholics as sub human slaves

Mute Eamonn
    Favourite Eamonn
    May 4th 2016, 3:12 PM

Adams is correct. The Irish were sold into slavery and that’s historical fact. Go read a history book. It might not fit with the FG narrative that the English were actually all sound and just a bit misunderstood.

Mute tommy macdonagh

the IRA army council should have a word with their stooge

Mute gus sheridan
    Favourite gus sheridan

Tommy mcdonagh..you are a sad narrowminded little nonentity, toddle along….

Mute tommy macdonagh

shinnerbots out defending the indefensible yet again, just shows how morally bankrupt SF/IRA supporters are, not that we needed reminding

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings

Why don’t you, gus?

Mute Larry Smierciak
    Favourite Larry Smierciak
    May 4th 2016, 3:32 PM

Esmonn, the Irish also ran much of the slave trade throughout the Caribbean so as always on both sides of the problem.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 4:03 PM

racism isnt funny gone fishing, neither is your vile post but that says alot about you and your ilk. the mask is off the shinners….

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle

Tommy, you’re the biggest racist and hatemonger seen on the Journal comment threads for a long time. You drip your bile on to your keyboard so great is your stench of hatred.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 4:43 PM

mask is off dave isnt it….. I made no racist comments, baron adams done that all on his own and tat is why you shinnerbots are livid. excellent article in the independent on your ilk today

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 4th 2016, 4:55 PM

Tommy, what mask? I’m not livid. I’m just countering your raging naked hatred. Advocating the removal of foreigners, or the deporting of them is racist. You’ve done it more than once in this thread.
    The Spindo?? Who gives a flying one what Dennis pays to be printed.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 5:44 PM

you will need a bigger shovel soon dave, keep digging :D

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    May 4th 2016, 6:26 PM

Tommy and Cummings are the same person..

May 4th 2016, 11:58 PM

Tommy your daft…

Mute Fred west
    Favourite Fred west

Everyone aboard the outraged train ,good sheep .

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power

Well he should stop trying to pull the wool over our eyes

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles

If it was anyone else I’d say stop digging.

But Adams is so good at it. I’d give him a spare shovel if I could.

Mute Eamonom
    Favourite Eamonom
    May 4th 2016, 2:49 PM

I have a question. Oliver’s Army by Elvis Costello (a song about military conscription of the working class by ruling elites) has the line “one more trigger, one more widow, one less white n!gger” white n-bomb was commonly used as a shirt hand for nationalist working class in the 70′ and 80′s. That song has been played constantly on ad’s promoting Costello upcoming gig in Dublin. So the question is why is it okay for Elvis Costello to make the reference but not Gerry Adams?

Mute UndieGrundy
    Favourite UndieGrundy

Cos Elvis Costello didn’t sanction the deaths of 3,000 people. Guess who did?

Mute Nicola King
    Favourite Nicola King
    May 4th 2016, 2:58 PM

Who?

Mute Eamonom
    Favourite Eamonom
    May 4th 2016, 3:12 PM

Cool Regina Doherty replied to my post!!!

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael

@Undie

Who sanctioned the deaths of 3,000 people?

May 4th 2016, 5:59 PM

Cromwell.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

Lets be brutally honest here. Was the tweet ‘racially charged’? Possibly. Was it composed as an act of racism, bigotry or the like? No. Even FGFM yesterday had a former FG minister exclaim that Adams is not racist.

Clumsy? Yep. Ill though out i.e. trying to put across a fairly complex comparison in 140 charachters or less? Yep.

Racist?

No.

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    May 4th 2016, 3:08 PM

So is it OK for a possible future Taoiseach to use racially charged words ?

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster

It didn’t seem to hinder Enda.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    May 4th 2016, 3:11 PM

Is the article about Enda ?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 3:11 PM
    Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 3:13 PM

can we not just deport it?

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 3:14 PM

washington post has a great article on adams racism

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler

Tir. I have read the article again and it is definitely not about Enda. Why do you think it is OK if Enda uses racially charged words ?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 3:46 PM

The article also didn’t discuss the possibility of Adam’s suitability of being a future Taoiseach. So since YOU brought up the topic, then I ask again:

If using the “n-word” in a tweet referencing historical context makes that person unsuitable as a Taoiseach, then does telling a racist joke including the use of the “N-Word” make a person a suitable candidate for Taoiseach?

Mute James O Brien
    Favourite James O Brien
    May 4th 2016, 3:48 PM

For Connolly, how is it not bigoted to compare the situation of Catholics in 1960/70s Ireland with those of slaves who were killed in their hundreds of thousands, kidnapped from their homes and forced to work as slaves for generations, the effects of which are still felt today. He is a bigot by definition of the word for not understanding why those two situations are different.

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    May 4th 2016, 3:58 PM

I’m not sure where you are coming from. Are you saying because Enda Kenny used a racially charged phrase in the past it is OK for Gerry Adams. I’m not a Gerry Adams supporter but as leader of SF I do recognize he could be Taoiseach one day and I was asking one of his supporters is it OK for a potential future Taoiseach to use racially charged words.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 4:22 PM

I have not once stated that it’s OK for anyone to use the term he used. Yet in his defence, he was using it in the context of historical discussion rather than in an attempt to be derogatory. That is the absolute key point. So my question to you then, is that you implied his tweet makes him unsuitable to be a Taoiseach. So if that is your view, do you think it is suitable for Enda Kenny to be Taoiseach given that he has previously use the same word, not in a historical context, but in order to tell a racist joke in public?

Mute tommy macdonagh

how are you getting on at defending racism tyrone brit?

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    May 4th 2016, 4:29 PM

So let me get this right . You think Gerry Adams was wrong to use a racially charged word. But you will defend him anyway….

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 4th 2016, 4:34 PM

Tommy, you’ve advocated it more than once in the last hour or so. You must need another box of tissues at this stage.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 4:46 PM

I’m defending him against accusations of racism. Use of that word doesn’t define the user as racist. It all comes down to context. To again quote a column in the Guardian yesterday: “To judge Adams, who has a life’s work of internationalism and antiracist solidarity, by a single tweet borders on the grotesque”.
    Roddy Doyle said ““The Irish are the n*****s of Europe”. Is Roddy a racist?
    John Lennon said ““Woman Is The n***** Of The World”. Was he a racist?

So, again, context is everything. Are you trying to argue that using “the n-word” in a historical discussion context is equally as bad as using it to tell a racist joke? Perhaps answer my question. If you believe Gerry Adams using the term in a historical context makes his unsuitable to ever be Taoiseach, do you think it is suitable for Enda Kenny to be Taoiseach given that he has previously use the same word, not in a historical context, but in order to tell a racist joke in public?

Mute Dalian Martin
    Favourite Dalian Martin
    May 4th 2016, 4:47 PM

In all fairness, Comparing two things doesn’t mean somebody is saying they are the same. He was saying how both of them have been mistreated by the hand of another people. (This is like people being all politically correct and saying that he thinks he’s the Irish equivalent of Nelson Mandela, even though he’s said many times before that he looks Up to him and regards Mandela as his personal hero.)

It was obviously a wrong/foolish thing to say, but if he doesn’t deal with it Conclusively Now while it’s being brought up in the public eye, it will mean it’s more likely to be brought up again (and naturally embellished) in the future e.g during debates, interviews, People’s day to day Conversation etc
    - i.e he would ultimately be digging a much bigger hole. Damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2016/may/04/racism-gerry-adams-n-word-fetishise-bloopers-cumberbatch

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 5:11 PM

tyrone brit says baron adams isnt racist so that settles it :D

keep digging :D

Mute tuigim
    Favourite tuigim
    May 4th 2016, 5:44 PM

‘Shinners’ is a derogatory term that falls into hate speech as it unfairly paints all members of a group in a negative way. Do you have anything to contribute apart from name-calling, Tommy?

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 5:53 PM

mary lou mcdonald described herself as a shinner when she was busy buying prawns, she even went on to explain what a shinner was. are shinners the only ones allowed use the term shinner?

Mute Pat Gorman
    Favourite Pat Gorman
    May 4th 2016, 3:02 PM

If what Adams means by slaves is “Indentured Labourers” so were English people enslaved.
    An Indenture Labourer was indeed serving a life sentence of servitude.
    But their offspring or families were not slaves…..unlike the offspring of black slaves.
    Adams is an idiot.

Mute Lamb
    Favourite Lamb

No there were Irish slaves too as well as indentured servants. You need to read “To Hell or Barbados”

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    May 4th 2016, 6:15 PM

And indentured servants were treated worse especially coming towards the end of their terms as servants a lot were worked to death as it cost the “owners” nothing.. whereas the African Slaves were more expensive.

Mute James O Brien
    Favourite James O Brien
    May 4th 2016, 3:33 PM

Adams talk of loyalty says a lot about him. Absolute loyalty is not a good trait. Standing beside someone no matter what they do is not a good trait. If people were less loyal we would have a lot less bloodshed in the world because people would stand up for the morals they believe in, not the people they believe in.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 3:41 PM

standard procedure in any cult

Mute Sean Johnston
    Favourite Sean Johnston
    May 4th 2016, 2:51 PM

I want to know what Spike Lee thinks.

May 5th 2016, 12:29 AM
    Mute Peter Mc Hugh
    Favourite Peter Mc Hugh
    May 4th 2016, 3:27 PM

Dammit Gerry…you had one job…ONE job! Stop fecking talking and trying to explain! As you should have learned from watching the messers Kenny and Bruton, if you’re explaining, you’re losing.

Apologize, and move on. Stop trying to explain.

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack

What an idiot , I am delighted he is staying head of sf

Mute JJ Halford
    Favourite JJ Halford
    May 4th 2016, 3:14 PM

Ha ha! Keep digging Gerry. You Ballymurphy Digger!

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    May 4th 2016, 3:44 PM

I am not a SF supporter but this guy is a total idiot. The only reason that he is still head of SF is because they are all idiots.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 3:53 PM

Yeah, it’s probably nothing to do with the fact that he brought them form barely existent, to being now the largest political party in the country (32 counties).

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    May 4th 2016, 4:00 PM

Have you ever considered a hobby Leo Lowebrow. Your stressing out too much man. I recommend uninstalling the Bigot App from your head

Mute joe o hare
    Favourite joe o hare
    May 4th 2016, 4:03 PM

And he brought thesis counties from a unionist dominated sectarian state let with no hope of unification for the Irish to a state with shared power and all Ireland bodies on the verge of unification. Great work considering only 40 or 50 years ago catholics were being burned out of their homes by loyalists in a bid to creates 100% protestant state. Some achievement considering they were a minority fighting not only loyalists but their supporters in the British and Irish governments.

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    May 4th 2016, 4:11 PM

I’ve talked to loyalists and even they have acknowledged how sophisticated and successful the Republican strategy is.

Mute Oisin Gilmore
    Favourite Oisin Gilmore
    May 4th 2016, 5:24 PM

Far from an idiot. Expert at strategy.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 6:01 PM

expert at strategy? really? where is his united ireland?

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Favourite Andrew Corcoran
    May 4th 2016, 8:11 PM

Where’s your fleg timmy? Where’s your sectarian state? Where’s your march down Garvaghy and Ardoyne? Chippity chip timmy, chippity chip.

May 4th 2016, 11:56 PM
    Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    May 4th 2016, 3:07 PM

the man is a fool.

he needs to step aside.

end the cult

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle

It’s always funny to see the usual moaners for every political article to adopt a “nothing to see here, move along” approach when it comes to Jarry.

Mute tommy macdonagh

their moral highground doesnt extend to their own cult…

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 4th 2016, 4:16 PM

So, Rochelle. What is there to see?

Mute Fintin Stack
    Favourite Fintin Stack
    May 4th 2016, 7:38 PM

@Rochelle, Stick to supporting a sh$te rugby team. Your talents are otherwise wasted!

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    May 4th 2016, 3:33 PM

Anyway the Irish weren’t slaves: http://www.thejournal.ie/readme/irish-slaves-myth-2369653-Oct2015/

Were British convicts acting as indentured servants in Australia also slaves?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 4th 2016, 4:46 PM

Damocles, James 11 sold 30,000 Irish prisoners to the Virginia plantations in 1625. He wrote a Proclamation requiring all Irish political prisoners be sent overseas and sold to English settlers in the West Indies.

Mute Lad
    Favourite Lad

Who gave a shit then, who gives a shit now, move on.

Mute 6ljJQRRU
    Favourite 6ljJQRRU
    May 4th 2016, 4:48 PM

This is the problem with Sinn Fein – they see everything through the eyes of nationalism. Nationalism is a dangerous and obsessive thing and it’s touted as something to be held in high esteem.

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    May 4th 2016, 4:55 PM

This is the problem with FG/FF – they see everything through the eyes of bankers. Saddled us with generations of debt. I would love to see our people that have been forced to leave this country being given a vote at General Elections, the blue shirts couldn’t stomach that one

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    May 4th 2016, 4:53 PM

Gerry’s next movie is Schindler’s List.

If he can’t help himself but tweet some anti Semitic slur afterwards, he can always say that many Good Republicans were imprisoned by the British and so he has a right and a licence to empathise with Jewish history by using derogatory slurs.

Mute Killian O'Hara
    Favourite Killian O'Hara
    May 4th 2016, 4:36 PM

Irish people are laughable about our own history.

Take any excuse to belittle our own plights.

Mute joe o hare
    Favourite joe o hare
    May 4th 2016, 3:55 PM

I can’t get offended on behalf of another race who weren’t offended. I was however offended by the leader of f.g/uvf calling me a paddy. The halfwit enda then went on to offend me more by proclaiming that I like to be kept informed while then keeping us in the dark. Would the the leader of f.g/uvf like to explain why the then f.g/uvf government of the free state give the British the green light for the Dublin and Monaghan bombings or explain why when the gardai near the border stopped the car as it was travelling home afterward and the men arrested, they where able to give the name of a high ranking garda, who was contacted and they were let go on their merry way.
    Well go on enda “paddy” would like to know.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 4:04 PM

its good to laugh at knuckle draggers like you :D

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    May 4th 2016, 4:18 PM

……the hate is strong in this one. Poor Tommy the Truffle Pig. Can’t stick to the topic. Can’t post under his own name. Can’t accept our day is coming. Your embarrassing yourself kid

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 4:23 PM

poor shinnerbots are having a rough time of it, plebs sent out to defend the barons racist remarks

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    May 4th 2016, 4:40 PM

Very good. You should be rallying support for your minister of healths new disaster of a hospital. Instead like a true FG clone you’ve your Truffle Pig snout in a tabloid story. Tut tut Tommy

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 4:44 PM

its your minister for health too :)

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    May 4th 2016, 4:49 PM

You know exactly what I mean. Hide behind your humour ;-)

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    May 4th 2016, 6:22 PM

I’m seriously thinking that tommy is actually Willie Frazer

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    May 4th 2016, 4:19 PM

He really needs to stop digging that hole, he’s likely to fall into it.

Mute Alan Ball
    Favourite Alan Ball
    May 4th 2016, 3:52 PM

I do not believe Adams is a racist, but he certainly could consider the social medias ability to react to any comment that may be vague or unclear.I am no fan of Adams but the Twitterati lynchmobs are pathetic in the extreme. Kenny’s joke was no slip of the tongue, nor was it a missuderstanding. It was a joke with a racist theme….period.

Mute CuzzyRah
    Favourite CuzzyRah
    May 4th 2016, 5:09 PM

We were sold as slaves and the Irish experience over 800yrs can be compared to the African experience. I absolutely despise the West Brit so clearly alive and well in Irish people.

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    May 4th 2016, 5:23 PM

I know of no other nation with such sub servants who hold so much deference to a foreign power. Perhaps people like Leo Lowebrow and Tommy The Truffle Pigs great great grandmothers suffered “Prima Nocta” it’s the only viable explanation

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 5:45 PM

and you shinnerbots wonder why a united ireland is only a pipe dream, keep digging :D

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    May 4th 2016, 5:54 PM

And you hide behind an executed leaders name. Your new master Micheal Martin will destroy your blue shirts boy scout picnic, just watch :-)

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 6:04 PM

leader? the leadership qualities in 1916 were abysmal, pathetic in fact. if there was even an ounce of leadership it wouldnt have been the complete shambles it was, it was over before it started. leadership :D

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    May 4th 2016, 8:00 PM

A tiny band of rebels held the mighty empire at bay. Their response was the usual brit act of killing an ant with a sledgehammer. However manners were soon put on the invading British army in the War of Independence in which the British acted disgracefully. But I’m sure you ok with that and your Red Thumb Commandos

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 9:05 PM

held the empire at bay…. really? im all ears…

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    May 4th 2016, 3:16 PM

Least said, soonest mended.

Mute Michael O'Connor
    Favourite Michael O'Connor
    May 4th 2016, 3:49 PM

I hear you’re a racist now father…

Mute Christopher Millar
    Favourite Christopher Millar
    May 4th 2016, 3:42 PM

It said one time in English pubs no blacks on irish so yes I get it by the n word but much

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    May 4th 2016, 4:21 PM

Shut up FFS!!! Let it go Jarry!!!

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    May 4th 2016, 3:42 PM

Tommy. According to your logic an IRA army council member is a resident in Dáil Éireann and another is joint first minister up north. Go have a cup of tea and a few jaffa cakes and let that fact sink in to your Truffle Pig head.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 9:13 PM

i wear the loathing of you and your ilk with absolute pride :)

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    May 4th 2016, 4:36 PM

Gerry was always secretly against the ‘Brit’s Out’ slogan of his supporters.

He just had to go along with it to get elected. That wasn’t racist either.

Mute dorothy giselsson
    Favourite dorothy giselsson
    May 4th 2016, 6:50 PM

Irish people were not slaves in the Caribbean. They were indentured workers, bonded labourers who at the end of their indenture were free to live as they wished, a freedom that would never granted to a bought and paid for slave. It’s a great bit of anti -Brit propaganda for the Shinners to trot out and perpetuate the myth.

Mute Bigarse O'Brien
    Favourite Bigarse O'Brien
    May 4th 2016, 8:17 PM

The Irish WERE bought and sold and for less than black people. Do your research before sprouting fairy tales!

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    May 4th 2016, 10:39 PM

And the Irish sent to the Caribbean were indentured servants, not slaves. No fairy tale.

True, life was awful for an indentured servant (but then life was crap for prisoners in general) but this was a huge difference from being a slave. For one, indentured servants were still classed as persons in the yes of the law – if you killed an indentured servant you would be guilty of murder. Killing a slave on the other hand would be classed as destruction of property.

Mute Oisin Gilmore
    Favourite Oisin Gilmore
    May 5th 2016, 1:54 AM

Nope many were chattel slaves it was the 17th century, you’d get your tongue cut out for speaking gaelic.

Also many Irish women and African males were forced to mate together in order to produce valuable progeny. The practice was so wide spread that laws had to be passed to outlaw it.

The term “mulatto” specifically refers to the children of African and Irish slaves.

Mute Fintin Stack
    Favourite Fintin Stack
    May 4th 2016, 5:21 PM

Just let it go Gerry. You are a stupid man!

Mute Martin Gallagher
    Favourite Martin Gallagher
    May 4th 2016, 5:48 PM

@Stack. Not so stupid as to have helped an end to political/sectarian violence in Northern Ireland.

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Cllr Malachy Quinn
    May 4th 2016, 6:28 PM

You may want to check out Percy St, west Belfast 1969 & North Belfast 1969 burnings by loyalists abetted by RUC & B Specials on the Internet – this prior to the reforming of the IRA in 1970.

Mute An_Beal_Bocht
    Favourite An_Beal_Bocht
    May 4th 2016, 6:36 PM

So Gerry was responsible for the peep o day boys of 250 years ago as well?? That’s some feat

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    May 4th 2016, 6:45 PM

Aye he saddled up next to Cromwell to form the British republic.

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    May 4th 2016, 7:10 PM

FG is like putting their hand in the fire and enjoying it. So if you invite the neighbours round for say tea. Then they decide not to leave, in fact they set up shop in your house, you’d be ok with that. Of course you would, like the sub serviant weasel you are. You and your ilk are the reason this country is the way it is. Bowed with cap and hand is your mantra

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 9:11 PM

this country is fantastic shane all 26 beautiful counties :)

you are your ilk wont change that :)

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    May 4th 2016, 9:25 PM

Your repeating yourself, new material please Truffle Pig. You better believe it will change, and your right I’m travelling around the country they are beautiful. Great pride seeing our counties decked out in tri colours. There’s most definitely a rejuvenation in Republicanism

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 9:45 PM

any day now united ireland so, its absolutely hilarious listening to you shinnerbots and your delusions :D

suddenly our national flag mean republicanism? oh please do tell shinnerbot i could do with a laugh

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    May 4th 2016, 9:52 PM

I’m done toying with you at this particular juncture, you may have the last comment…………………………

May 5th 2016, 12:34 AM
    Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    May 4th 2016, 4:30 PM

http://www.indymedia.ie/article/60528

At least Sinn Fein are doing something about the racism in the party. No other party has a Charter Against Racism.

Sinn Fein should be applauded, as always.

Mute Richard Powell
    Favourite Richard Powell
    May 4th 2016, 3:41 PM

Funny watching you all put forward your OPINIONS as fact… The n word is just one of those words that should have been lost to time back when the civil rights movement was gaining momentum in the states. But black people kept it alive and turned a derogatory term into one of many meanings. I worked with an African dude a while back and he was big into his rap music. He’d be singing the words out loud and every now and then the n word came up and I asked him if I was walking down the street with my headphones on singing along to some rap and I sang the n word, and he was walking by and heard me, would he have a problem? He said yeah, it’s a black thing. I said that’s Bulls@$t. I would just be singing the lyrics to a song. I wouldn’t be saying it in a demeaning or derogatory way. But that was his take. I mean, Gerrys a dick, should have retired years ago, did he mean to use the word in a derogatory or demeaning way, no, he used it to make a point. But because of our understanding, rightly or wrongly, of who gets to use the word and who doesn’t, it turns out like this. But newspapers gotta sell copies I suppose…

Mute Oisin Gilmore
    Favourite Oisin Gilmore
    May 4th 2016, 5:22 PM

He’s 100% correct.

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    May 4th 2016, 5:23 PM

The irish were slave owners and overseers in the carribean

May 5th 2016, 12:33 AM

But many Slaves became slave owners???

Mute Oisin Gilmore
    Favourite Oisin Gilmore
    May 5th 2016, 1:47 AM

I think you’ll find those Irish were of the “Scots-Irish” variety. There were also African slave owners and Native American slave owners.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 4th 2016, 4:51 PM

There is an argument that racism is being used as suppression, oppression, and to stifle debate. Looking at the FG trolls use of it, there is a point to the argument.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 5:47 PM

how is defending the indefensible going for you shinnerbots?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 4th 2016, 7:53 PM

Tommy, wonderful, it’s a joy to see how obsessive your hatred has become. I take huge comfort in the fact that Gerry and others must be succeeding in bringing an end to the corruption in politics in the cesspool of Ireland. There is no other excuse for your naked hatred and trolling of people’s comments. Go easy, or the paramedics will be calling on you. But Enda being Enda, they might not get to you on time. Can’t say i’d be to sad.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 4th 2016, 9:13 PM

your dead right dave, i hate racism as does all decent people

Mute Blind Faith
    Favourite Blind Faith
    May 4th 2016, 11:54 PM

Tweety McBeardyFace is desperately trying to save face by defending his use of the ‘N’ word as if it was some sort of misinterpreted moral good deed, in reality, he was just being a dick (that’s why he deleted it so quickly). The best thing he could do is shut his big gob about it.

Mute Andre Carboni
    Favourite Andre Carboni
    May 4th 2016, 5:15 PM

I saw him in town once and I said hi to him. He didn’t say hi back but he did smile at me. I wasn’t annoyed as he seemed very busy. Seems like a genuine guy.

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    May 4th 2016, 7:16 PM

Wow! Have you ever considered writing a book about your experience? It might even attract the attention of hollywood.

May 4th 2016, 11:32 PM

http://www.globalresearch.ca/the-irish-slave-trade-the-forgotten-white-slaves/31076
    “From 1641 to 1652, over 500,000 Irish were killed by the English and another 300,000 were sold as slaves. Ireland’s population fell from about 1,500,000 to 600,000 in one single decade. Families were ripped apart as the British did not allow Irish dads to take their wives and children with them across the Atlantic. This led to a helpless population of homeless women and children. Britain’s solution was to auction them off as well.

During the 1650s, over 100,000 Irish children between the ages of 10 and 14 were taken from their parents and sold as slaves in the West Indies, Virginia and New England. In this decade, 52,000 Irish (mostly women and children) were sold to Barbados and Virginia. Another 30,000 Irish men and women were also transported and sold to the highest bidder. In 1656, Cromwell ordered that 2000 Irish children be taken to Jamaica and sold as slaves to English settlers.”

May 4th 2016, 11:36 PM

The Civil Rights movement in N. Ireland was similar to the African American civil rights movement and that is true…
    But the above link stands for the following as well… “Many people today will avoid calling the Irish slaves what they truly were: Slaves. They’ll come up with terms like “Indentured Servants” to describe what occurred to the Irish. However, in most cases from the 17th and 18th centuries, Irish slaves were nothing more than human cattle.

As an example, the African slave trade was just beginning during this same period. It is well recorded that African slaves, not tainted with the stain of the hated Catholic theology and more expensive to purchase, were often treated far better than their Irish counterparts.

African slaves were very expensive during the late 1600s (50 Sterling). Irish slaves came cheap (no more than 5 Sterling). If a planter whipped or branded or beat an Irish slave to death, it was never a crime. A death was a monetary setback, but far cheaper than killing a more expensive African. The English masters quickly began breeding the Irish women for both their own personal pleasure and for greater profit. Children of slaves were themselves slaves, which increased the size of the master’s free workforce. Even if an Irish woman somehow obtained her freedom, her kids would remain slaves of her master. Thus, Irish moms, even with this new found emancipation, would seldom abandon their kids and would remain in servitude.

In time, the English thought of a better way to use these women (in many cases, girls as young as 12) to increase their market share: The settlers began to breed Irish women and girls with African men to produce slaves with a distinct complexion. These new “mulatto” slaves brought a higher price than Irish livestock and, likewise, enabled the settlers to save money rather than purchase new African slaves. This practice of interbreeding Irish females with African men went on for several decades and was so widespread that, in 1681, legislation was passed “forbidding the practice of mating Irish slave women to African slave men for the purpose of producing slaves for sale.” In short, it was stopped only because it interfered with the profits of a large slave transport company.

England continued to ship tens of thousands of Irish slaves for more than a century. Records state that, after the 1798 Irish Rebellion, thousands of Irish slaves were sold to both America and Australia. There were horrible abuses of both African and Irish captives. One British ship even dumped 1,302 slaves into the Atlantic Ocean so that the crew would have plenty of food to eat”

May 4th 2016, 11:43 PM

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slavery_in_the_British_Isles
    “From the 17th century until well into the 19th century, transportation to the colonies as a criminal or an indentured servant served as punishment for both major and petty crimes in England and Ireland.”

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indentured_servant
    “Indentured servitude was a labor system in which people paid for their passage to the New World by working for an employer for a fixed term of years. It was widely employed in the 18th century in the British colonies in North America and elsewhere. It was a way for the poor in Britain and the German states to obtain passage to the American colonies.”
    It was harsh slavery sold under a lie.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    May 5th 2016, 12:21 AM

nice rant shinnerbot

May 5th 2016, 12:42 AM

You love being on here and getting the red thumbs???

Mute Adrian Martyn
    Favourite Adrian Martyn
    May 5th 2016, 4:24 PM

The ‘article’ you quote has being shown to be a pack of lies, Michael. It’s a American white-wing racist propaganda, not Irish history. And its so-called author ‘John Martin’ does not seem to exist. Even Irish Central – “America’s number one news website for Irish news with over 3.5 million readers a month” – eventually took it down, because its not true. Opinion is not fact. Are you really happy to let our history be so abused?

https://www.academia.edu/25013836/The_Irish_in_the_Anglo-Caribbean_servants_or_slaves

“The reluctance to differentiate between indentured servitude and perpetual chattel slavery in these contexts gives succour to ahistoricaltypes, such as neo-Nazis, 9/11 Truthers and White Nationalists. Their propaganda includes a conspiracy theory claiming that historians avoid calling indentured servants ‘slaves’ for political reasons. They protest that historians are not to be trusted and that one should avoid reading ‘biased history books’ about slavery, as they have covered up the ‘truth’.”

“Those inculcated have been persuaded to ignore contextualised history. In an op-ed piece for the Dublin-based thejournal.ie, the three authors of this article were attacked with comments claiming that our ‘white guilt’ was compelling our research agenda. Other accusations of ‘denial’ are intended to have a chilling effect on this debate by co-opting the loaded language usually reserved for Holocaust denial.”

“It is pertinent to point out that Michael Hoffman II (a Holocaust-denier) and the Barnes Review
    (a Holocaust-denial journal)endorse the ‘Irish slaves’ meme,which does not differentiate between indentured servitude and perpetual chattel slavery.”

May 5th 2016, 11:37 PM

Under Elizabeth 1 I believe they did the same to the Germans, promised them a new world and when got them there used them as slaves to pay for their travel as in ship building?

Mute Adrian Martyn
    Favourite Adrian Martyn
    May 6th 2016, 6:38 PM

All English attempts to establish American colonies during the reign of Elizabeth I (1558-1603) ended in failure. No Germans were involved, as they were not her subjects.

On top of that, white European Christians were not enslaved because you had to be a black, African, pagan, to be a slave. That had being the case since the 1400s, and is the basis of the colour bar.

Not one of the historians who have rebutted the ‘Irish slaves’ myth deny the Irish had a rough deal – on the contrary all of them have gone to some trouble to document the very real political, sectarian, and ethnic disabilities they suffered. That’s their job as historians – to give an honest account of the past.

What is hard for many to grasp – such as yourself, I suspect (just like myself, once upon a time) – is that actual slavery was a whole other world of bad compared to anything the Irish suffered. Many of the Irish (not all!) might have being the lowest form of white people. But that still put them put them above black people. If you can spare the time, please read “If the Irish ran the world : Montserrat, 1630-1730″ by Donald Akenson. Failing that, read Liam Hogan’s work here https://www.academia.edu/9844492/Directors_Cut_Critique_of_Sean_OCallaghans_To_Hell_or_Barbados and here https://medium.com/@Limerick1914/the-imagery-of-the-irish-slaves-myth-dissected-143e70aa6e74#.dn6dnu2cw

If you care about our actual history, instead of racist American stereotypes, please give the above a read. Tolerating this racism is unrepublican and abuses Irish heritage.

May 7th 2016, 4:47 AM

The English under Elizabeth 1 were advertising in Germany with a leaflet that British navy would take them to start a new life in Germany, which ended up with Germans working for the British navy building ships for them, how can history be racist?
    http://www.eyewitnesstohistory.com/passage.htm

Mute Adrian Martyn
    Favourite Adrian Martyn
    May 11th 2016, 3:31 PM

But the link you have says nothing about Elizabeth I. She died in 1603. The British navy did not exist in her lifetime. The events in the link are from the 1740s and 1750s. And notice that it barely quotes from Gottleb Mittelberger’s book … Almost all of what you read is not his words, but someone else’s.

May 12th 2016, 1:08 AM

But wasn’t the British navy not a fleet of fishing ships at the time and that is one reason then that she ordered people to eat fish on a Friday?

Mute eamon mcloughlin
    Favourite eamon mcloughlin
    May 4th 2016, 6:45 PM

Moral of the story is just watch the damn movie and keep your thoughts to yourself.

Mute simon
    Favourite simon
    May 4th 2016, 4:32 PM

The only mistake he made was the apology

Mute Camel Productions
    Favourite Camel Productions
    May 4th 2016, 6:37 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nzSawYmZkLM

This is the trailer for the documentary ‘Frederick Douglass and the White Negro’ by Camel Productions telling the story of the 19th century black icon and his escape from slavery, leading to refuge in Ireland on the eve of the Great Famine. The film focuses on the powerful influence Ireland had on him as a young man. It also explores the turbulent relationship between African Americans and Irish Americans in general. http://www.camelproductions.net/frederick-douglass-and-the-white-negro/

Mute Ollie
    Favourite Ollie
    May 4th 2016, 9:36 PM

Gerry Trump

Mute Mary McMahon
    Favourite Mary McMahon
    May 5th 2016, 1:23 AM
    Mute Pat.F.
    Favourite Pat.F.
    May 4th 2016, 4:31 PM

Racist

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    May 4th 2016, 6:39 PM

What kinda stuff does gerry drink.

Mute dorothy giselsson
    Favourite dorothy giselsson
    May 4th 2016, 9:03 PM

Ditto.

Mute J.Hanley
    Favourite J.Hanley
    May 5th 2016, 3:07 PM

Robert King, a member of the Black Panthers and surviving member of the ‘Angola Three’ spent most of his life in solitary confinement after being wrongfully convicted of murder.
    In 2001 when his conviction for murder was overturned he spoke to CNN wearing a Celtic jersey. He is a big fan and said that the football shirt “represents oppressed people”, like himself, and revealed that he has been to Celtic Park a number of times to watch them play.

http://www.balls.ie/football/celtic-jersey-cnn-angola-three/296710

So maybe Gerry has a point. After all the Catholic Civil Rights marches in Northern Ireland in the 60′s were inspired by the African-American Civil Rights Movement in the US.
    http://alphahistory.com/northernireland/northern-ireland-civil-rights-movement/

I didn’t see the original tweet but I assume he was comparing the term House n**** to the term uppity Fenian or something along those lines. You can say what you like about Adams but one thing he is certainly not is racist. He was after all given the great privilege of being part of the Guard of Honour for Nelson Mandela’s funeral. And there are some parallels here. Ireland was after all the only Western European country that was a colony so when Adams said yesterday he doesn’t especially identify as white he is just echoing the sentiment behind that famous line in the Commitments that “the Irish are the blacks of Europe”. It’s the reason why when I read Frantz Fanon on the psychological effects of colonialism, even though I am white, because I am Irish I can totally get where he is coming from.

Mute Mucky Micky
    Favourite Mucky Micky

Gerry for president! !