You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

These are the 89 promises for you to hold the government to account on

The Programme for Government was launched today.

THE PROGRAMME FOR the new government was officially released today, 10-and-a-half weeks after the general election.

The 155-page document contains a massive number of commitments, pledges and promises that the Fine Gael-led minority government will pursue over the next five years.

If you want to read the whole document, it’s here, but we at TheJournal.ie have gone through it and picked out the key points.

The programme is broken into 16 chapters and here are the key promises.

1. Making Partnership in Democracy Work

• Relaxation of whipping arrangements across all parties
  • The concept of ‘good faith and no surprises’ will be central in new government.
  • The government will develop extended opposition Dáil time.

2. Ending the Housing Shortage and Homelessness

31/3/2016. Housing Forum Conferences Sasko Lazarov Sasko Lazarov

• 25,000 new homes built every year by 2020, with higher targets thereafter.
  • An Action Plan on Housing to be published within 100 days.
  • 18,000 additional housing units by the end of 2017.
  • 17,000 additional housing units by the end of 2020.
  • A new model of affordable rent by working with housing associations and local authorities to develop a “cost rental” option for low income families within the first 100 days.
  • Pledges to “end the use of unsuitable long-term emergency accommodation, such as hotels and B&Bs, for homeless families by, in part, delivering 500 rapid-delivery housing units”.
  • A new Help to Buy scheme for first time buyers.

3. Creating a Social Economy

• Eliminate the remaining Government deficit by 2018.
  • Get unemployment down to 6%.
  • New tax on sugar sweetened drinks.
  • Maintain Ireland’s 12.5% corporate tax rate.

4. Jobs and Rural Development

• Renewal of towns and villages to be ‘top priority’ for new minister.
  • 200,000 extra jobs by 2020 – 135,000 of which will be outside Dublin.
  • A broadband plan within 100 days.
  • “No town, village or parish to be left behind” when it comes to broadband – 85% of premises to have broadband in 2 years, 100% in 5 years.

5. Health

File photo:It is 'plausable' the HSE is manipulating patient waiting times RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

• The HSE will become a Health Commission, with hospital groups to become standalone statutory trusts.
  • A single all-party Oireachtas committee is to come up with a plan for health over 10 years.
  • A new independent patient advocacy service.
  • Another attempt to shift people away from emergency departments – by making GPs the frontline for ‘delivering chronic care’: getting GPs access to X-rays, ultrasounds, defibrillation etc.
  • Reduced prescription charges for medical card holders.
  • Beaumont to get a new emergency department (a new one is currently being designed for Galway Hospital, and Limerick, Drogheda, Wexford new EDs to open soon/next year).
  • Ireland to be tobacco-free (less than 5% of the population smoking) by 2025.
  • Opt-out register for organ donation by end of 2017.
  • Legislating for injection rooms.
  • Pressing ahead with plan to phase in free GP care to under 18s, and new dental health package for the under 6s.

6. Mental Health

• Tackling the access to crisis mental health care, especially through GPs.
  • An expert review of current status of response to mental health issues in Ireland will advise on how to increase 24/7 support.
  • Make sure every Emergency Department has a team of clinical nurse specialists in psychiatry to provide rapid response to cases of self-harm.
  • The subject of Wellbeing will be introduced to the Junior Cert in 2017.

7. Improving the Lives of People with Disabilities

• All means testing to be brought under a single national body so there is just one application process for services or entitlements.
  • An increase in Disability Benefit and Allowance, Carer’s Benefit and Allowance and Blind Person’s Pension.
  • New mobility scheme and personalised budgets with an individual with disability so they can shop beyond traditional service providers.

8. Children and Youth Affairs

Launch of GIY & innocent ' Children from Our Lady of Good Counsel in Drimnagh launch the GIY & Innocent Sow & Grow 2016 event in March. /Photocall Ireland /Photocall Ireland

• An independent review to take place of the cost of quality childcare in private and community settings – and ‘support’ introduction of subsidised high quality childcare for children from 9-36 months (but no detail of by how much and how and when).
  • New system to be introduced to support afterschool care for school-aged children – plan says this should be provided in school buildings.
  • Increase paid parental leave in the first year of birth.
  • Increase in home carer’s credit to benefit stay-at-home parents too.
  • Tackle child poverty by increasing community-based early intervention programmes.
  • PE to be brought in as a full subject available in the Leaving Cert.

9. Older People

• Increasing pension and living alone allowance.
  • Protecting older people and the Free Travel Pass.

10. Education

3/6/2015. Junior Certificate Exams Begin Junior Certificate take exams in Trinity School, Ballymun last year. Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

• €500 million for subventions including speech therapists and psychologists.
  • A three-year strategy within 100 days.
  • Increasing the mandatory schooling age to 17 and a new school completion plan.
  • Non-denominational schools to reach 400 by 2030.
  • An Education Ombudsman who parents can complain to on foot of a decision by a board of management.
  • No small school to close against parents’ wishes.

11. Crime Prevention, Justice and Equality

23/11/2009 New Criminal Justice Buildings RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

• Garda numbers to rise to 15,000 (no date by when).
  • Double the Garda Reserve.
  • Increased CCTV on roads and urban centres.
  • The Legal Aid Board will be able to compel criminals to contribute.
  • Public Defender system to be examined within six months.
  • Electronic tagging for those on bail at request of gardaí.
  • Violent home robberies may carry a mandatory sentence.
  • Post-release supervision of sex offenders.
  • A reform of Direct Provision.
  • Wage transparency will require companies with 50 or more to complete a wage survey.

12. Agriculture and the Marine

• Lowering the cap on the Basic Payments Scheme from €150,000 to €100,000.
  • Focus on the beef markets of Turkey and Egypt.
  • €300 million to improve and modernise the beef herd.

13. Climate Change

30/5/2014. Poolbeg Power Stations Sam Boal Sam Boal

• The plan says that Ireland should be “repositioned to give global leadership in this area”.
  • The new government will agree Ireland’s first statutory National Low Carbon Transition and Migration Plan within 6 months.
  • Establish a National Dialogue on Climate Change so that there’s much better engagement with citizens and communities about the energy policy decisions that affect them.
  • Work with local authorities to improve the carbon footprint of social housing, including the replacement of oil heating with other fuels such as natural gas or woodchip where possible.
  • Update the planning guidelines for wind farms within 3 to 6 months to offer a better balance between the concerns of local communities and the need to invest in indigenous energy projects.
  • Up to 8,200 hectares of new forest a year by 2020.
  • €430 million for flood mitigation initiatives to protect at-risk areas. This new government will spend more on flood relief over the next 5 years than has been spent in the last 20.
  • Voluntary property relocation scheme for properties which are affected by repeat flooding.

14. Investing in Society: Urban Regeneration

• Cut the cost of childcare, increase the number of subsidised childcare places and introduce a second free pre-school year.
  • Provide support for the Men’s Shed network.
  • Fund schemes to encourage disadvantaged young people and make them more employable.
  • Minister for Housing will ramp up the supply of private housing.
  • Minister for Housing will accelerate the delivery of the €3.8 billion on social housing.
  • Minimum wage increased to €10.50 per hour by 2021.
  • A new Working Family Payment that “promotes work over welfare” by supplementing, on a graduated basis, the income of a household.

15. Ireland and the World

1/9/2015 LE James Joyce Naval Ceremonies Sam Boal / RollingNews.ie Sam Boal / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

• Buy a new naval ship.
  • A 20-year strategy for the Irish language to increase the number of speakers every day and to make it more visible in Irish society.
  • Support EU/UN efforts to tackle radicalisation outside the EU’s borders

16. Political and Constitutional Reform

30/3/2016. Abortion Protests Issues Leah Farrell Leah Farrell

• Hold a referendum on Article 41.2.1 on a woman’s life in the home, Article 40.6.1 on blasphemy, Ireland’s participation in the Universal Patent Court, and giving the Ceann Comhairle constitutional standing.
  • A Citizens’ Assembly within six months to look at a limited number of issues (not just constitutional ones), including the Eighth Amendment, fixed term parliaments, and the possibility of ‘super referendum days’ with lots of referendums on one day.
  • Government to consider directly elected mayors in cities
  • New system to monitor committee attendance and participation.
  • More technical groups to be allowed to smaller parties and independents get a fuller role in the Dáil and on committees.
  • A new committee with TDs from each party and grouping to agree the Dáil’s weekly agenda.
  • No more guillotining of bills unless it’s urgent. The Attorney General will have to sign off on any proposals to guillotine a debate on a bill.
  • Votes to be held at fixed times to support family-friendly working arrangements, plus the introduction of abstentions.
  • Reforming the Budget.
  • Establish an Electoral Commission to a) examine voter registration process and see if PPS numbers could be used to automatically add people and b) look at ways to increase participation.

With reporting by Christine Bohan, Susan Daly, Isabel Hayes and Paul Hosford

Read: Fair play? New programme for government is promising equality for all

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 80 comments
80 Comments
    Mute Elaine Phelan
    Favourite Elaine Phelan
    Jul 29th 2021, 7:41 AM

The amount of litter everywhere is awful. We saw a guy in a car, with kids in the back, throw rubbish our his window at the weekend. What chance do we have when this is what kids see?

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 29th 2021, 7:59 AM

@Elaine Phelan: I was driving behind a lorry in Cork a while back. First of all the left overs of a burger was tossed out the drivers window. Next came the wrapping and finally the drinks container. He didn’t have the manners to bag it all and dispose of it at his next stop.

Mute Brendan Cooney
    Favourite Brendan Cooney
    Jul 29th 2021, 8:23 AM

@David Corrigan: any chance you got this on a dash cam which would have gotten the reg no? If so report it to the council who will post out an on the spot fine to the registered owner.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 29th 2021, 8:48 AM

@Brendan Cooney: Unfortunately I don’t have a dash cam Brendan. I couldn’t believe that people would do that kind of thing. Even worse, when they know there are drivers behind them. Shocking carry on.

Mute Larsen Cib
    Favourite Larsen Cib
    Jul 29th 2021, 7:46 AM

Buy EV for 100k and everything will become green and clean!!!!

Apart from the fact that the EV batteries will pollute environment more than euro7 diesels.

Mute Alan Biddulph
    Favourite Alan Biddulph
    Jul 29th 2021, 7:50 AM

@Larsen Cib: The beaches are littered with wipes, bottles, ear buds etc, I’ve yet to see one littered with Tesla’s.

Mute Brendan Cooney
    Favourite Brendan Cooney
    Jul 29th 2021, 8:21 AM

@Larsen Cib: not true. More #fakenews

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Larsen Cib
    Favourite Larsen Cib
    Jul 29th 2021, 8:44 AM

@Alan Biddulph: then go enlighten yourself on how lithium-oin batteries are being utilised before arguing with me.

Mute Larsen Cib
    Favourite Larsen Cib
    Jul 29th 2021, 8:48 AM

@Brendan Cooney: i wont waste time arguing with a person that has no idea what he is talking about. i would strongly suggest you as well getting the actual information on the EV battery utilisation
    ,break pad pollution and euro7 diesel.

Have a nice day.

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan
    Jul 29th 2021, 9:09 AM

@Larsen Cib: Surprised you didn’t call the two lads trolls for not agreeing with you as is your modus operandi.

Mute Gavin Tobin
    Favourite Gavin Tobin
    Jul 29th 2021, 9:13 AM

@Larsen Cib: Average price of new car in Ireland is €33k, new EVs can be bought for this average price. EV batteries last twice as long as the design life of the vehicle they are not single use like a tank of petrol or diesel. EVs use their brakes so little than Audi released their latest EV with rear drum brakes. EVs brake pads last well over 100,000km because EVs use regenerative braking which uses the electric motors to return recovered energy to the battery. Brake pad pollution from EVs is a fraction of same from ICE vehicles. Euro7 is yet another con from the lying cheating diesel industry. DPF regen is the dirty little secret of modern diesels as they vent to atmosphere twice as often as manufacturers pretend #dirtydiesel vents to atmosphere every 400km with no filtration whatsoever

Mute Alan Biddulph
    Favourite Alan Biddulph
    Jul 29th 2021, 9:25 AM

@Gavin Tobin: Well said Gavin, I love when the likes of Larsen tell you to go educate yourself when he hasn’t a breeze.
    He’s probably still driving around in his smelly diesel thinking he’s saving us all from lithium leprosy or whatever he’s talking about.

Mute Mark V
    Favourite Mark V
    Jul 29th 2021, 9:27 AM

@Larsen Cib: The only misguided person here who clearly didn’t keep up is you:
    Studies clearly show that while the production of lithium Ion batteries and the disposal is very wasteful, it falls well short of the pollution caused by equal long term usage of combustion engine cars.
    In the near future we’ll see hydrogen fuel cell cars, less polluting again, but requires huge amounts of energy to create and the price will reflect this.
    Hence many experts are in favour of public rather than individual transport as the fast majority of people don’t need it on a daily basis.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Jul 29th 2021, 9:52 AM

@Larsen Cib: The world is full of plastic products that didnt exist when i grew up eg. mobile phones, ipads, wrapping, bottles, and toys – I remember toys made from steel. A huge increase in plastic clothes too all kinds of poly acryl etc. Regardless of fuel use f cars all of these plastic products are derived from hydrocarbons by processing oil. We have seen large increases in energy use, no surprise as billions of mobile phones that did not exist before are charged daily.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Jul 29th 2021, 10:00 AM

@Larsen Cib: An interesting video regarding lithium salt mining in Bolivia from DW:
    https://youtu.be/LZjiEggYglM

Mute Larsen Cib
    Favourite Larsen Cib
    Jul 29th 2021, 10:51 AM

@Gavin Tobin: ah the notorious EV propaganda troII.

Lithium-ion batteries are being made from rare and limited resources like nickel, cobalt, aluminum, and manganese. Some of which are bwing mined i Africa by African children , but thats not the case OF COURSE who cares about the children exploitation? We care about our batteries. The problem starts where there are shortages of material to create the battery if EV’s market grows.
    And if it grows and in 5-10 years when you are on 200k-300k km you will have to change your battery – 95% of which CAN NOT BE UTILISED , because there is no such technology to utilise them. It is going to be dumped and burned down which will create unimaginable damage to the environment.
    And since you are so smart , then you should know by now that a dumped battery contain toxic chemicals – including lithium cobalt, copper, nickel and sulfuric acids!!!! AND SINCE THERE IS NO technology to utilize the lithium-ion batteries – these toxic chemicals will go into the soil and contaminate the groundwater, and we are not even considering the burning.

Get your facts straight and go learn some scientific facts before posting nonsense.

Mute Larsen Cib
    Favourite Larsen Cib
    Jul 29th 2021, 10:57 AM

@Mark V: hydrogen fuel vehicles will be far less damaging than Electrical cars, that is for certain.

BY INTERNATIONAL COUNCIL OF CLEAN TRANSPORT(ICCT)
    Cite:

In the conventional car industry, according to a study from the international council of clean transportation (ICCT), 99% of lead-acid batteries (the ones running in fossil fuel powered cars) are recycled in the US. This is not the case for the lithium-ion batteries that have a very specific mix of chemical components and little quantities of lithium, which doesn’t make them an appealing market opportunity. For instance, in the EU market, in 2011, only 5% of lithium was being collected and the rest was either incinerated or dumped in landfills (this specifically doesn’t make electric cars greener at all), as it was not justified by price or regulations to recover it by hydrometallurgical processes.

Nevertheless, the more batteries that are out there, since the electric cars market is growing, the more interesting it gets to try to figure out how to recycle them or recapture rare earth elements.

Please go research 1st.

Mute Larsen Cib
    Favourite Larsen Cib
    Jul 29th 2021, 11:04 AM

@Damian Moylan: thanks for sharing , i will definitely take a look. EU EV propaganda makes people believe that all the resources are magically growing on a green trees. But only few actually research what is going on.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Jul 29th 2021, 11:07 AM

@Larsen Cib: This guy (engineer) presents a quite good comparison of EV’s. Interestingly the emmissions an EV produces during use depends on the method of electrcity generation. This is mapped in the U.S. Notably nuclear waste is not factored in and nuclear electricity is regarded as emmissions free.Emmissions are higher in states where coal fired power stations are still in use eg. Virginia, well worth a watch;
    https://youtu.be/6RhtiPefVzM

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Jul 29th 2021, 11:19 AM

@Larsen Cib: Yes, Li-ion batteries are an issue and solid state batteries are not there yet. The truth is 1. modern diesels are v low Co2 highly economical and ideal for longer rural distances 2. EVs have a role especially in dense areas like large cities where driven miles are low 3. Electricity availability/generation is an issue, in the future will probably be a mix of wind, gas (for when the wind dont blow). This MiT prof. thinks Liquid Metal Batteries might solve the electricity storage issue for intermittent electricity generation methods such as solar and wind. Quite a good video and discusses the issues too with Lithim-ion batteries and their unsuitability for electricity storage “on scale”,
    https://youtu.be/ZRyo0Nr7CrY

Mute David Spiteri
    Favourite David Spiteri
    Jul 29th 2021, 11:20 AM

@Larsen Cib: ehhhh no, ev battery’s can be recycled, melted down and used against and again or alternatively used as a domestic home battery storage at its end of life stage for the car, this is going to be a big thing in the not so distant future. If you’re going to talk shite, at least have some decent facts.

Mute Larsen Cib
    Favourite Larsen Cib
    Jul 29th 2021, 11:23 AM

@Damian Moylan: good food for an evening thought, thanks for the links.

Mute Brendan Cooney
    Favourite Brendan Cooney
    Jul 29th 2021, 11:30 AM

@Larsen Cib: because you don’t have any facts?

Mute Gavin Tobin
    Favourite Gavin Tobin
    Jul 29th 2021, 12:00 PM

@Larsen Cib: The metal mined in Africa by kids is Cobalt. The biggest use of cobalt is in the desulphurisation of diesel, kerosene & petrol.

If you cared in any way for kids down mines in DRC you wouldn’t burn diesel and then also emit its poisonous exhaust gasses at toddler level in our cities & towns.

BTW current batteries used by Teslas delivered to Ireland use non toxic Lithium Iron Phosphate which also don’t use any cobalt.

EV batteries last 20+ years not 5 to 10.

Everything you are spouting is easily debunked big oil nonsense.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Jul 29th 2021, 12:19 PM

@Gavin Tobin: There are issues with lithium based batteries though. The White Gold doumentary is pretty good,
    https://youtu.be/LZjiEggYglM

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Jul 29th 2021, 12:26 PM

@Gavin Tobin: EV batteries wont last 20 years. Gruber Motor Company are quite busy regenerating Teslas, https://youtu.be/GcpPyBYRDcM

Mute Alan Biddulph
    Favourite Alan Biddulph
    Jul 29th 2021, 12:34 PM

@Damian Moylan: My EV battery is 8 years old and has only degraded by 8%.

Mute Gavin Tobin
    Favourite Gavin Tobin
    Jul 29th 2021, 4:25 PM

@Damian Moylan: Na it is not good. Low on hard facts, high on emotion and utterly lacking in any balance.

Evaporation of lithium from brine under a desert pales into insignificance when faced with the utter disaster the oil industry has already imposed like tar sands in Canada.

No crocodile tears from you on this one?

https://www.nationalgeographic.com/environment/article/alberta-canadas-tar-sands-is-growing-but-indigenous-people-fight-back

Mute Mark V
    Favourite Mark V
    Jul 29th 2021, 5:16 PM

@Larsen Cib: I stand by what I said about being outdated: you quoting figures from an US based organisation about the EU dated from 2011 should say enough about who should catch up mate.

Mute Diarmuid O'Braonáin
    Favourite Diarmuid O'Braonáin
    Jul 29th 2021, 8:56 AM

Single use plastics are destroying our planet. From the rivers to the seas to landfills. Coke and many of the the multinationals make billions every year from plastics. There should be a deposit scheme more cans and glass bottles. How much plastic goes for burning every year. Most of what we put in our recycling bins never gets recycled. We need to take a good look at ourselves.

We have the green party in power who have done nothing but rise taxes. There are some things we just can’t tax our way out of.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Jul 29th 2021, 10:10 AM

@Diarmuid O’Braonáin: Indeed a lot of stuff just gets mixed at the re-cycling centre. There is no system to re-cycle the product most in predominance – soft plastic. We had only ton cans and glass bottles when i grew up on a deposit scheme – and the drinks tasted better. Then the drinks companies got greedy and changed to single use plastic to reduce their production costs (drinks did not get cheaper). Without Government regulation plastic will continue to destroy the planet.

Mute Gavin Tobin
    Favourite Gavin Tobin
    Jul 29th 2021, 10:50 AM

@Damian Moylan: answer some of the biggest plastics producers also happen to be some of the biggest oil producers.

“Top 10 Plastic Resin Producers” https://polymerdatabase.com/Polymer%20Brands/Plastic%20Manufacturers.html

Mute GaMran
    Favourite GaMran
    Jul 29th 2021, 12:30 PM

@Diarmuid O’Braonáin: the problem starts with people buying the plastic wrapped stuff. No one forces anyone to do so but people are selfish expecting recycling to be better,taxes be better,the government to act faster JUST to acomodate our everlasting need for things things and more things. People justify anything as long as its wrapped up in a lie we telp ourselves. the pollution will noy stop until people stop buying shit they dont need for reasons they make up.Cause why would we be the problem,how is it our responsibility, china is the main polluter right so why should the irish suffer…oh god,we heard them all at this stage. The matter of fact is if you grew up appreciating the natural world,have wonderful memories of unpolluted seaside, mountain tracks without coke bottles then you understand what you are missing. Also,lots of debate about EV here today. The thing is, unless you are fully educated on the science behind it,you probably got second hand info on any of this. We are chasing the next solution to everything. As if solar and wind will solve the problem. As if they are made from no energy input and no material. Instead of becoming more energy efficient ourselves we rely on the production of billions of things that eventually will expiry and will end up a big rubbish pile. This whole choosing to look for any other solution but to change ourselves and be aware of our responsibility is soo outdated now, and hard to believe we as a species have still not learnt anything. We think we are bloody intelligent but looking at people arguing about which type of car is better is misses the point.

Mute GaMran
    Favourite GaMran
    Jul 29th 2021, 12:42 PM

@GaMran: also,Portmarnock beach clean???? Maybe I care too much, but the rage I felt looking at the amount of rubbish left behind in the last while. Its just so sad that the place you want to escape to when you have a crappo day is basically as dirty as a pissy lane in dublin is so so soul destroying..

Mute Diarmuid O'Braonáin
    Jul 29th 2021, 1:24 PM

@GaMran: Very simplistic view to put the onus back on the people. This needs to be done at a govt level, Think about it. How many plastic bottles are littered all over the world that were produced by coke? Coke say its the peoples fault but the solution to the problem is simple. Go to the source and make coke use cans and glass with a deposit scheme so that these products make their way back to coke to recycle. The coke govt lobbyists do not want this to happen as its gonna hit their profits. Its all about the bottom line.

Supermarkets have a lot to answer for so do the multinationals. They use plastic and lots of it so they can make more money. If you have ever done a shop then the recycling bin is full. It cannot be avoided.

Then we also have the waste companies not actually putting in an effort in making people separate the waste. Like in other countries they have 7 or 8 different bins to segregate everything. In Ireland we have 2, maybe 3 if you live in the countryside.

My last rant is about Carboard. Amazon make a fortune and millions of trees are cut down every year to produce cardboard. There needs to be a better solution as this is not sustainable. How much of this cardboard is recycled and how much is burned? How much ends up in landfills. Think about coffee cups? How much ends up in landfills? No one seems to care and the green party’s policy seems to be to increase taxes, no innovative solutions.

Mute GaMran
    Favourite GaMran
    Jul 29th 2021, 2:26 PM

@Diarmuid O’Braonáin: fair points there and I was not arguing with the above whatsoever. Just pointing out the simple fact that we all are responsible. If at least some of us would stop buying plastic bottled coke,Coca Cola wouldnt produce them.Theyd be forced to make a real fast change because their money is on the line. Every multi’s response to the public demanding change is a forced lie about their efforts to be better. What I was pointing out is that any of us can vote and change things with how we decide to spend our money. Yes,it be fantastic if we all call them out and tell these organisations to change. This will take a few years or decades -depending on how big of a deal it is. To them its not urgent.
    But…my point is that I can change how much I spend on plastic,will I buy a new iPhone everytime one comes out,do we need 2 cars in a family,being concious about what I buy and spend my money on. It doesnt make me simplistic, just aware. I still live a very normal modern life,but I do believe in starting the change now,even if its on a micro scale I and you and all of us can start making small changes.. Not on years and decades.

Mute GaMran
    Favourite GaMran
    Jul 29th 2021, 2:30 PM

@Diarmuid O’Braonáin: also regarding your comment about Amazon,again I agree with you. I think that the people in charge,have not been creative enough to ask these questions you have wrote above..the problems arent discussed enough,questions asked and solutions uncovered..

Mute Diarmuid O'Braonáin
    Jul 29th 2021, 5:30 PM

@GaMran: ah I know it’s very disheartening in fairness. There is so much we could do to make the world a better place but there is no urgency. People or governments. Some are trying but it’s a drop in the ocean compared to what needs to be done.

Mute GaMran
    Favourite GaMran
    Jul 29th 2021, 5:38 PM

@Diarmuid O’Braonáin: yes,its hard to find the line between doing things right and living in constant anxiety. But its good to have the conversation going and also seeing that there are people who care;) whatever way we want to fix it. As long as we want to fix it.

Mute Madra
    Favourite Madra
    Jul 29th 2021, 7:47 AM

I saw a chap throwing a babies nappy into the sea. I pulled him aside but he wasn’t having any of it. He tried to kick me so I left.

Mute GaMran
    Favourite GaMran
    Jul 29th 2021, 12:13 PM

@Madra: wow. Fair play to ya

Mute John Mitten
    Favourite John Mitten
    Jul 29th 2021, 8:20 AM

Sea Shepherd Ireland arrange beach cleans to try help alleviate some of the build up. Anyone can volunteer to help. The Facebook page is active and worth joining if you want to keep up to date.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/774810780041261/

Mute GaMran
    Favourite GaMran
    Jul 29th 2021, 12:33 PM

@John Mitten: thanks John:)

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Jul 29th 2021, 7:49 AM

The volunteer beach cleaners sh

Mute Mary Paget
    Favourite Mary Paget
    Jul 29th 2021, 9:21 AM

They found the remains of a whale in courtown Harbour a bicycle whale